Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1977 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1977 Chicago Cubs

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1976 / 1978

81-81, Finished 4th in NL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Herman Franks (81-81)
GM: Bob Kennedy (Hired 11/24/1976), Scouting Dir: Vedie Himsl
Scored 692 runs, Allowed 739 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 76-86

Ballparks: Wrigley Field · Attendance: 1,439,834 (5th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 111, Pitching - 112 · one-year: Batting - 113, Pitching - 114

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1976 / 1978 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 81-81, Final Rank:4, GB: 20.0
Days in First62last on Saturday, Aug 6, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 72last on Aug 6, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead8.5last on Wednesday, Jun 29, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind20last on Sunday, Oct 2, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50025last on Tuesday, Jun 28
Most Games under .5002last on Saturday, Apr 30
Longest Winning Streak8Monday, Jun 20 to Tuesday, Jun 28
Longest Losing Streak7Saturday, Sep 10 to Saturday, Sep 17
Most Runs Allowed21Wednesday, Apr 27
Most Runs Scored23Tuesday, May 17
Longest Game (innings)18Wednesday, Aug 10
Times Shutout by Opponent13 
Times Opponent Shutout10 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 81 81 692 739 .500
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 46 35 411 402 .568
Road 35 46 281 337 .432
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 7 9 56 77 .438
May 21 7 168 112 .750
June 19 8 111 86 .704
July 14 17 135 172 .452
August 11 19 127 152 .367
September 9 19 92 132 .321
October 0 2 3 8 .000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 54 35 409 381 .607
Second Half 27 46 283 358 .370
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 72 74 614 661 .493
ExtraInning 9 7 78 78 .563
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 25 21 196 192 .543
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 14 22 174 242 .389
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 7 5 66 47 .583
CIN 7 5 55 50 .583
HOU 6 6 66 62 .500
LAD 6 6 41 38 .500
MON 10 8 75 84 .556
NYM 9 9 74 80 .500
PHI 6 12 74 106 .333
PIT 7 11 55 68 .389
SDP 7 5 82 63 .583
SFG 9 3 50 41 .750
STL 7 11 54 100 .389

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 7 boxscore CHC NYM L 3 5 0-1 5 1.0 Seaver Burris Lockwood 2:25 D 39,937 -
2 2 Saturday, Apr 9 boxscore CHC NYM L 6 8 0-2 5 2.0 Espinosa Todd 2:45 D 17,848 --
3 3 Sunday, Apr 10 boxscore CHC NYM W 5 2 1-2 4 2.0 Reuschel Matlack Sutter 2:08 D 14,102 +
4 4 Monday, Apr 11 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 6 2 2-2 4 1.5 Bonham Twitchell 2:16 N 17,578 ++
5 5 Wednesday, Apr 13 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 3 1 3-2 2 1.0 Burris Lerch Sutter 2:10 N 16,434 +++
6 6 Friday, Apr 15 boxscore CHC @ NYM W 8 4 4-2 2 0.5 Reuschel Lockwood 2:21 D 6,148 ++++
7 7 Saturday, Apr 16 boxscore CHC @ NYM L 1 4 4-3 2 0.5 Espinosa Reuschel 1:50 D 11,423 -
8 8 Sunday, Apr 17 boxscore CHC @ NYM L 0 6 4-4 4 1.5 Seaver Bonham 2:05 D 35,337 --
9 9 Monday, Apr 18 boxscore CHC PHI L 1 3 4-5 4 2.5 Lerch Burris Reed 1:54 D 3,777 ---
10 10 Tuesday, Apr 19 boxscore CHC PHI L 5 7 4-6 4 2.5 Christenson Krukow Garber 2:55 D 2,413 ----
11 11 Saturday, Apr 23 boxscore CHC CIN W 2 1 5-6 4 2.5 Bonham Zachry Sutter 2:13 D 14,454 +
12 12 Sunday, Apr 24 boxscore CHC CIN W 7 1 6-6 4 1.5 Burris Fryman 2:31 D 18,651 ++
13 13 Tuesday, Apr 26 boxscore CHC STL W 4 1 7-6 3 0.5 Reuschel Rasmussen 1:59 D 6,245 +++
14 14 Wednesday, Apr 27 boxscore CHC STL L 3 21 7-7 4 1.5 Denny Krukow 2:34 D 9,248 -
15 15 Friday, Apr 29 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 2 3 7-8 4 2.5 Fryman Bonham Eastwick 2:10 N 34,452 --
16 16 Saturday, Apr 30 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 0 8 7-9 5 3.5 Billingham Burris 2:15 N 26,774 ---
17 17 Sunday, May 1 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 4 1 8-9 5 3.5 Reuschel Zachry Sutter 2:16 D 46,418 +
18 18 Tuesday, May 3 boxscore CHC HOU W 9 0 9-9 4 3.0 Burris Richard 2:05 D 1,795 ++
19 19 Wednesday, May 4 boxscore CHC HOU L 4 5 11 9-10 4 4.0 Forsch Sutter McLaughlin 2:58 D 3,044 -
20 20 Thursday, May 5 boxscore CHC HOU W 8 7 10-10 4 3.5 Reuschel Bannister Sutter 2:14 D 3,645 +
21 21 Friday, May 6 boxscore CHC ATL W 7 2 11-10 3 3.5 Krukow Capra Reuschel 2:19 D 3,405 ++
22 22 Saturday, May 7 boxscore CHC ATL W 11 4 12-10 3 3.5 Burris Niekro 2:27 D 22,877 +++
23 23 Sunday, May 8 boxscore CHC ATL W 6 3 13-10 3 3.5 Bonham Leon Sutter 2:04 D 10,450 ++++
24 24 Monday, May 9 boxscore CHC @ HOU W 6 1 14-10 3 3.0 Reuschel Andujar Hernandez 2:30 N 7,424 +++++
25 25 Tuesday, May 10 boxscore CHC @ HOU W 11 5 15-10 3 3.5 Krukow Bannister 2:34 N 7,070 ++++++
26 26 Wednesday, May 11 boxscore CHC @ HOU L 2 8 15-11 3 4.5 Richard Burris 2:37 N 5,436 -
27 27 Friday, May 13 boxscore CHC @ MON W 5 3 16-11 3 3.0 Bonham Warthen Sutter 2:34 N 12,591 +
28 28 Saturday, May 14 boxscore CHC @ MON W 6 3 17-11 3 3.0 Reuschel Rogers Sutter 2:10 D 14,208 ++
29 29 Sunday, May 15 (1) boxscore CHC @ MON W 4 3 18-11 2 2.5 Burris Stanhouse Sutter 2:31 D 0 +++
30 30 Sunday, May 15 (2) boxscore CHC @ MON W 4 2 19-11 2 2.5 Krukow Brown Reuschel 2:44 D 31,186 ++++
31 31 Monday, May 16 boxscore CHC SDP W 9 6 20-11 2 2.0 Todd Shirley Reuschel 2:57 D 6,992 +++++
32 32 Tuesday, May 17 boxscore CHC SDP W 23 6 21-11 2 2.0 Bonham Griffin Hernandez 3:01 D 9,838 ++++++
33 33 Thursday, May 19 boxscore CHC @ ATL L 0 6 21-12 2 2.5 Niekro Reuschel 1:51 N 8,923 -
34 34 Friday, May 20 boxscore CHC @ ATL W 13 4 22-12 2 1.5 Burris Collins 2:51 N 11,451 +
35 35 Saturday, May 21 boxscore CHC @ ATL W 9 3 23-12 2 0.5 Moore Leon Sutter 2:44 N 11,842 ++
36 36 Sunday, May 22 boxscore CHC @ ATL L 2 5 23-13 2 1.5 Messersmith Bonham Easterly 2:26 D 7,635 -
37 37 Tuesday, May 24 boxscore CHC MON L 4 5 13 23-14 2 2.5 Kerrigan Hernandez Alcala 3:39 D 10,248 --
38 38 Wednesday, May 25 boxscore CHC MON W 7 3 24-14 2 2.0 Burris Warthen Sutter 2:50 D 9,088 +
39 39 Thursday, May 26 boxscore CHC MON W 1 0 25-14 2 1.5 Krukow Rogers 1:48 D 7,893 ++
40 40 Friday, May 27 boxscore CHC PIT W 4 2 26-14 2 0.5 Bonham Candelaria Sutter 2:27 D 14,593 +++
41 41 Saturday, May 28 boxscore CHC PIT W 6 3 27-14 1 up 0.5 Reuschel Rooker Sutter 2:35 D 34,779 ++++
42 42 Sunday, May 29 boxscore CHC PIT W 3 2 28-14 1 up 1.5 Hernandez Gossage Sutter 2:38 D 39,517 +++++
43 43 Monday, May 30 boxscore CHC @ STL L 0 14 28-15 1 up 1.5 Falcone Krukow 2:24 D 25,241 -
44 44 Tuesday, May 31 boxscore CHC @ STL L 0 6 28-16 1 up 1.0 Denny Bonham 1:58 N 17,036 --
45 45 Wednesday, Jun 1 boxscore CHC @ STL W 4 3 13 29-16 1 up 1.5 Hernandez Schultz 3:16 N 21,383 +
46 46 Friday, Jun 3 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 0 5 29-17 1 up 0.5 Rooker Burris 2:20 N 20,152 -
47 47 Saturday, Jun 4 boxscore CHC @ PIT W 4 3 30-17 1 up 1.5 Krukow Reuss Sutter 2:20 N 26,202 +
48 48 Sunday, Jun 5 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 4 5 30-18 1 up 0.5 Jones Bonham Gossage 2:51 D 51,580 -
49 49 Monday, Jun 6 boxscore CHC LAD W 3 1 31-18 1 up 1.5 Reuschel Hooton Sutter 2:23 D 13,168 +
50 50 Tuesday, Jun 7 boxscore CHC LAD W 10 4 32-18 1 up 2.5 Burris John 2:40 D 19,491 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 8 boxscore CHC LAD L 2 4 32-19 1 up 2.5 Sutton Krukow 2:19 D 18,276 -
52 52 Thursday, Jun 9 boxscore CHC SFG W 1 0 11 33-19 1 up 3.0 Sutter Moffitt 2:29 D 9,772 +
53 53 Friday, Jun 10 boxscore CHC SFG W 3 1 34-19 1 up 3.0 Reuschel Knepper 2:15 D 12,642 ++
54 54 Saturday, Jun 11 boxscore CHC SFG W 5 3 35-19 1 up 4.0 Hernandez Lavelle Sutter 2:24 D 32,411 +++
55 55 Sunday, Jun 12 boxscore CHC SFG W 6 5 36-19 1 up 3.5 Sutter Lavelle 3:05 D 27,038 ++++
56 56 Tuesday, Jun 14 boxscore CHC @ SDP W 6 5 12 37-19 1 up 4.5 Moore Fingers 3:12 N 15,801 +++++
57 57 Wednesday, Jun 15 boxscore CHC @ SDP W 2 0 38-19 1 up 5.0 Reuschel Owchinko 1:58 N 14,931 ++++++
58 58 Thursday, Jun 16 boxscore CHC @ SDP L 6 8 38-20 1 up 5.0 Shirley Burris Spillner 2:33 N 10,748 -
59 59 Friday, Jun 17 boxscore CHC @ LAD W 7 3 39-20 1 up 6.0 Sutter Wall 2:25 N 52,487 +
60 60 Saturday, Jun 18 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 1 2 39-21 1 up 6.0 John Bonham 2:07 N 45,655 -
61 61 Sunday, Jun 19 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 1 3 39-22 1 up 5.5 Sutton Hernandez 2:32 D 44,174 --
62 62 Monday, Jun 20 boxscore CHC @ SFG W 10 9 12 40-22 1 up 5.5 Moore Cornutt Reuschel 3:57 N 4,344 +
63 63 Tuesday, Jun 21 boxscore CHC @ SFG W 8 2 41-22 1 up 6.5 Krukow Curtis Renko 2:26 N 17,610 ++
64 64 Wednesday, Jun 22 boxscore CHC @ SFG W 4 2 42-22 1 up 6.5 Bonham Halicki Sutter 2:05 D 7,000 +++
65 65 Friday, Jun 24 boxscore CHC NYM W 5 0 43-22 1 up 7.0 Reuschel Koosman Hernandez 2:23 D 26,624 ++++
66 66 Saturday, Jun 25 boxscore CHC NYM W 5 4 44-22 1 up 7.0 Burris Apodaca 2:28 D 33,130 +++++
67 67 Sunday, Jun 26 boxscore CHC NYM W 5 2 45-22 1 up 7.5 Krukow Matlack Sutter 2:12 D 36,698 ++++++
68 68 Monday, Jun 27 boxscore CHC @ MON W 4 3 46-22 1 up 8.5 Bonham Alcala Sutter 2:24 N 14,197 +++++++
69 69 Tuesday, Jun 28 boxscore CHC @ MON W 4 2 10 47-22 1 up 8.5 Reuschel McEnaney Sutter 2:20 N 18,955 ++++++++
70 70 Wednesday, Jun 29 boxscore CHC @ MON L 0 5 47-23 1 up 8.5 Brown Burris 2:08 N 13,249 -
71 71 Thursday, Jun 30 boxscore CHC @ STL L 1 2 47-24 1 up 7.5 Eastwick Hernandez 2:11 N 29,493 --
72 72 Friday, Jul 1 boxscore CHC @ STL L 1 3 47-25 1 up 6.5 Dierker Krukow Eastwick 2:20 N 33,593 ---
73 73 Saturday, Jul 2 boxscore CHC @ STL L 3 10 47-26 1 up 5.5 Falcone Bonham 2:19 N 50,340 ----
74 74 Sunday, Jul 3 boxscore CHC @ STL W 4 0 48-26 1 up 5.5 Sutter Rasmussen 2:14 D 42,885 +
75 75 Monday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore CHC MON L 3 19 48-27 1 up 4.0 Brown Burris 2:59 D 0 -
76 76 Monday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore CHC MON L 6 7 48-28 1 up 4.0 Atkinson Reuschel McEnaney 2:53 D 31,641 --
77 77 Tuesday, Jul 5 boxscore CHC MON L 8 9 48-29 1 up 3.0 Bahnsen Krukow McEnaney 3:23 D 9,780 ---
78 78 Wednesday, Jul 6 boxscore CHC MON W 8 6 49-29 1 up 3.0 Bonham Stanhouse Sutter 2:50 D 23,854 +
79 79 Thursday, Jul 7 boxscore CHC STL W 2 0 50-29 1 up 3.0 Reuschel Dierker 2:12 D 27,864 ++
80 80 Friday, Jul 8 boxscore CHC STL W 7 6 51-29 1 up 4.0 Reuschel Eastwick Sutter 2:51 D 27,088 +++
81 81 Saturday, Jul 9 boxscore CHC STL L 3 4 51-30 1 up 4.0 Underwood Renko Carroll 2:39 D 33,424 -
82 82 Sunday, Jul 10 (1) boxscore CHC STL L 3 8 51-31 1 up 5.0 Forsch Bonham 2:48 D 0 --
83 83 Sunday, Jul 10 (2) boxscore CHC STL W 4 3 52-31 1 up 5.0 Sutter Hrabosky 2:24 D 40,038 +
84 84 Tuesday, Jul 12 boxscore CHC @ NYM L 2 4 52-32 1 up 4.0 Matlack Reuschel Lockwood 2:15 N 8,093 -
85 85 Wednesday, Jul 13 boxscore CHC @ NYM W 5 2 53-32 1 up 4.0 Burris Koosman 2:40 N 14,626 +
86 86 Friday, Jul 15 (1) boxscore CHC @ PHI L 2 4 53-33 1 up 2.5 Christenson Bonham McGraw 2:12 N 0 -
87 87 Friday, Jul 15 (2) boxscore CHC @ PHI L 2 9 53-34 1 up 2.5 Lonborg Krukow 2:21 N 61,177 --
88 88 Saturday, Jul 16 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 9 8 54-34 1 up 3.5 Broberg Reed Sutter 2:55 D 35,095 +
89 89 Sunday, Jul 17 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 2 4 54-35 1 up 2.5 Carlton Burris McGraw 1:58 D 36,338 -
90 90 Thursday, Jul 21 boxscore CHC ATL W 4 3 12 55-35 1 up 2.5 Reuschel Camp 2:59 D 20,895 +
91 91 Friday, Jul 22 boxscore CHC ATL W 1 0 56-35 1 up 3.5 Reuschel Ruthven 2:01 D 17,026 ++
92 92 Saturday, Jul 23 boxscore CHC ATL L 4 5 56-36 1 up 2.5 Camp Reuschel 2:48 D 26,224 -
93 93 Sunday, Jul 24 (1) boxscore CHC HOU L 6 10 56-37 1 up 1.0 Pentz Burris Sambito 2:39 D 0 --
94 94 Sunday, Jul 24 (2) boxscore CHC HOU L 4 6 56-38 1 up 1.0 Niekro Moore 2:46 D 25,963 ---
95 95 Monday, Jul 25 boxscore CHC HOU W 9 7 57-38 1 up 1.0 Hernandez Lemongello 2:46 D 14,577 +
96 96 Tuesday, Jul 26 boxscore CHC CIN W 3 0 58-38 1 up 1.5 Reuschel Norman 2:03 D 38,113 ++
97 97 Wednesday, Jul 27 (1) boxscore CHC CIN L 2 6 58-39 1 up 2.0 Soto Krukow 3:19 D 0 -
98 98 Wednesday, Jul 27 (2) boxscore CHC CIN W 5 1 59-39 1 up 2.0 Renko Capilla 2:17 D 41,105 +
99 99 Thursday, Jul 28 boxscore CHC CIN W 16 15 13 60-39 1 up 2.5 Reuschel Billingham 4:50 D 32,155 ++
100 100 Friday, Jul 29 boxscore CHC @ HOU L 0 1 60-40 1 up 2.5 Niekro Bonham 1:49 N 23,208 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Jul 30 boxscore CHC @ HOU L 3 11 60-41 1 up 1.5 Sambito Reuschel 2:45 D 42,916 --
102 102 Sunday, Jul 31 boxscore CHC @ HOU W 4 1 61-41 1 up 2.0 Burris Richard 1:57 D 20,094 +
103 103 Monday, Aug 1 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 6 7 61-42 1 up 1.5 Borbon Reuschel 2:55 N 35,385 -
104 104 Tuesday, Aug 2 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 5 2 62-42 1 up 2.5 Hernandez Soto Roberts 2:30 N 34,091 +
105 105 Wednesday, Aug 3 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 3 5 10 62-43 1 up 1.5 Borbon Hernandez 2:45 N 38,505 -
106 106 Friday, Aug 5 boxscore CHC SDP L 8 11 62-44 1 Tied Tomlin Burris Fingers 2:58 D 17,985 --
107 107 Saturday, Aug 6 boxscore CHC SDP W 10 5 63-44 1 Tied Bonham Jones Reuschel 2:33 D 21,146 +
108 108 Sunday, Aug 7 (1) boxscore CHC SDP L 6 8 63-45 2 0.5 Owchinko Krukow Spillner 2:46 D 0 -
109 109 Sunday, Aug 7 (2) boxscore CHC SDP W 9 4 64-45 2 0.5 Renko Shirley 2:46 D 30,099 +
110 110 Monday, Aug 8 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 6 7 64-46 2 1.0 Jackson Reuschel 2:35 N 25,802 -
111 111 Tuesday, Aug 9 boxscore CHC @ PIT W 4 1 65-46 2 0.5 Burris Reuss Hernandez 2:11 N 28,341 +
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 10 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 1 2 18 65-47 2 2.0 Demery Broberg 4:56 N 32,831 -
113 113 Friday, Aug 12 boxscore CHC PHI L 3 10 65-48 3 3.5 Carlton Reuschel 2:27 D 28,849 --
114 114 Saturday, Aug 13 boxscore CHC PHI L 7 10 11 65-49 3 4.5 Reed Giusti Garber 3:24 D 27,126 ---
115 115 Sunday, Aug 14 (1) boxscore CHC PHI L 2 10 65-50 3 6.5 Christenson Krukow 2:02 D 0 ----
116 116 Sunday, Aug 14 (2) boxscore CHC PHI L 2 4 65-51 3 6.5 Lonborg Renko Reed 2:34 D 33,351 -----
117 117 Tuesday, Aug 16 boxscore CHC PIT W 6 5 15 66-51 3 6.5 Hernandez Demery 4:40 D 24,039 +
118 118 Wednesday, Aug 17 boxscore CHC PIT W 4 2 67-51 3 5.5 Reuschel Rooker 2:26 D 29,786 ++
119 119 Thursday, Aug 18 boxscore CHC PIT L 6 7 67-52 3 6.5 Reuss Burris Tekulve 2:33 D 24,027 -
120 120 Friday, Aug 19 boxscore CHC LAD W 6 2 68-52 3 6.5 Krukow John 2:20 D 23,031 +
121 121 Saturday, Aug 20 boxscore CHC LAD W 5 4 69-52 3 6.5 Hernandez Hough Giusti 2:44 D 27,095 ++
122 122 Sunday, Aug 21 boxscore CHC LAD L 1 5 69-53 3 7.5 Rhoden Lamp Rautzhan 2:29 D 26,174 -
123 123 Monday, Aug 22 boxscore CHC SFG W 3 2 70-53 2 7.5 Reuschel Barr Hernandez 2:23 D 19,085 +
124 124 Tuesday, Aug 23 boxscore CHC SFG L 3 4 13 70-54 3 8.5 Williams Reuschel 3:42 D 23,347 -
125 125 Wednesday, Aug 24 boxscore CHC @ ATL L 3 4 70-55 4 8.5 Collins Hernandez Campbell 2:34 N 4,649 --
126 126 Thursday, Aug 25 boxscore CHC @ ATL L 6 8 70-56 4 8.5 Ruthven Bonham Davey 2:52 N 4,164 ---
127 127 Friday, Aug 26 boxscore CHC @ SFG W 5 2 71-56 3 7.5 Reuschel Barr Sutter 2:28 N 4,719 +
128 128 Saturday, Aug 27 boxscore CHC @ SFG L 1 7 71-57 3 7.5 Knepper Burris 2:30 D 6,587 -
129 129 Sunday, Aug 28 boxscore CHC @ SFG L 1 4 71-58 3 7.5 Halicki Roberts 2:11 D 21,622 --
130 130 Monday, Aug 29 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 1 4 71-59 3 8.5 John Krukow Garman 2:32 N 34,345 ---
131 131 Tuesday, Aug 30 boxscore CHC @ LAD W 4 1 72-59 3 8.5 Reuschel Rau Sutter 2:15 N 40,663 +
132 132 Wednesday, Aug 31 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 0 5 72-60 3 9.5 Rhoden Burris 2:27 N 35,934 -
133 133 Friday, Sep 2 boxscore CHC @ SDP L 0 5 72-61 3 10.5 Jones Krukow Fingers 2:04 N 10,717 --
134 134 Saturday, Sep 3 boxscore CHC @ SDP L 1 4 72-62 3 11.5 Spillner Reuschel 2:17 N 10,970 ---
135 135 Sunday, Sep 4 boxscore CHC @ SDP W 2 1 73-62 3 10.5 Burris Spillner Sutter 2:28 D 15,506 +
136 136 Monday, Sep 5 boxscore CHC STL W 4 2 74-62 3 10.0 Roberts Rasmussen 2:03 D 33,982 ++
137 137 Tuesday, Sep 6 boxscore CHC STL L 1 3 74-63 3 10.0 Underwood Hernandez 2:15 D 9,600 -
138 138 Wednesday, Sep 7 boxscore CHC MON L 2 4 74-64 3 11.0 Bahnsen Reuschel Stanhouse 2:10 D 3,768 --
139 139 Thursday, Sep 8 boxscore CHC MON W 3 2 10 75-64 3 11.0 Sutter Kerrigan 2:39 D 2,841 +
140 140 Friday, Sep 9 boxscore CHC NYM W 10 8 76-64 3 11.0 Sutter Apodaca 3:06 D 3,983 ++
141 141 Saturday, Sep 10 boxscore CHC NYM L 2 7 76-65 3 12.0 Lockwood Moore 2:59 D 16,256 -
142 142 Sunday, Sep 11 boxscore CHC NYM L 3 7 76-66 3 13.0 Myrick Reuschel Lockwood 2:54 D 21,404 --
143 143 Monday, Sep 12 boxscore CHC @ STL L 9 11 76-67 3 14.0 Sutton Sutter 3:04 N 22,976 ---
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 13 boxscore CHC @ STL L 1 3 76-68 3 14.0 Forsch Burris Falcone 2:10 N 10,353 ----
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 14 boxscore CHC @ MON L 2 3 12 76-69 3 14.0 Atkinson Giusti 3:25 N 5,235 -----
146 146 Thursday, Sep 15 boxscore CHC @ MON L 4 5 76-70 4 15.0 McEnaney Sutter 2:50 N 7,369 ------
147 147 Saturday, Sep 17 (1) boxscore CHC @ NYM L 4 5 76-71 3 16.0 Apodaca Reuschel 2:47 D 0 -------
148 148 Saturday, Sep 17 (2) boxscore CHC @ NYM W 4 3 77-71 3 16.0 Hernandez Lockwood 2:40 D 5,963 +
149 149 Sunday, Sep 18 (1) boxscore CHC @ NYM W 6 3 78-71 3 15.5 Reuschel Todd Sutter 2:26 D 0 ++
150 150 Sunday, Sep 18 (2) boxscore CHC @ NYM L 0 6 78-72 3 15.5 Swan Krukow Myrick 2:43 D 5,191 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 20 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 2 4 78-73 4 16.5 Carlton Bonham 1:53 N 32,103 --
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 21 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 2 0 79-73 3 15.5 Burris Lerch Sutter 2:29 N 31,512 +
153 153 Thursday, Sep 22 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 5 3 80-73 3 14.5 Reuschel Lonborg Sutter 2:45 N 20,709 ++
154 154 Friday, Sep 23 boxscore CHC PIT L 0 2 80-74 3 15.5 Rooker Hernandez Gossage 2:13 D 3,757 -
155 155 Saturday, Sep 24 boxscore CHC PIT L 3 7 80-75 4 16.5 Forster Broberg Jackson 3:13 D 14,970 --
156 156 Sunday, Sep 25 boxscore CHC PIT L 0 4 80-76 4 17.5 Candelaria Reuschel 2:13 D 17,815 ---
157 157 Monday, Sep 26 boxscore CHC PHI W 10 7 81-76 3 16.5 Moore Kaat Sutter 2:19 D 3,679 +
158 158 Tuesday, Sep 27 boxscore CHC PHI L 9 15 81-77 4 17.5 Christenson Bonham 2:42 D 4,606 -
159 159 Wednesday, Sep 28 boxscore CHC PHI L 2 5 81-78 4 18.5 Lerch Krukow Brusstar 2:15 D 5,116 --
160 160 Friday, Sep 30 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 1 3 81-79 4 19.0 Candelaria Reuschel 2:09 N 8,507 ---
161 161 Sunday, Oct 2 (1) boxscore CHC @ PIT L 1 5 81-80 4 20.0 Jones Burris Jackson 2:03 D 0 ----
162 162 Sunday, Oct 2 (2) boxscore CHC @ PIT L 2 3 81-81 4 20.0 Gossage Lamp 2:12 D 20,418 -----
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1976 / 1978 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits