Comments on: Rulebook Corner: Who gets the win? This and that about baseball stats. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:01:55 +0000 hourly 1 By: Neil L. Wed, 10 Aug 2011 23:38:07 +0000 @143
JA, thanks for the link.

Mr. Vangilder, please continue to post in BR. Your perspective would be a great addition to our discussions.

By: John Autin Wed, 10 Aug 2011 19:22:22 +0000 J.L. Vangilder -- I hope you don't mind my posting this ABC news feature on you:

By the way, my late daddy lived a couple miles from Zephyr Field, on Tullulah between Airline and Jefferson Hwy. in River Ridge ... Looks like it's plenty hot in Metairie today -- I hope that press box is air-conditioned!

By: Charles Wed, 10 Aug 2011 16:06:15 +0000 @ 134 and 136

It happened on in the majors on Sept. 9, 2010 @ posting 36. The starting pitcher left with the score 4-3 in his favor after 5 and 1/3 innings and nobody on. Simon enters the game in the eighth with his team ahead 8-7 and the score never changes, but he gets the win.

I will not doubt you when you say that in your league you cannot do this.

By: J.L. Vangilder Wed, 10 Aug 2011 16:04:07 +0000 Ok let;s look at the infield single or triple. I am sure the final was made
by the Ellias sports bureau. So things happen that just don't fit the rules.
i would have gave him a triple.

I am the OS for the New Orleans Zephyrs. AAA of the Flordia Marlins.
Next year will be my 20 year with AAA.

I want to check the box on that game with Pirates. will let you know

By: Neil L. Wed, 10 Aug 2011 02:58:33 +0000 @134
J. L. Vangilder, are you permitted to say what team you officially score for?

By: Johnny Twisto Tue, 09 Aug 2011 21:33:08 +0000 J.L, can you also look at this topic about the Brendan Ryan play last week.

It looks like it was officially scored a fielder's choice. As I wrote at post 25, it doesn't seem to fit the definitions of a fielder's choice. How would you score it, and can you identify the rule(s) which apply?

By: Johnny Twisto Tue, 09 Aug 2011 21:28:14 +0000 J.L., but it looks like 10.17(b) deals with selecting the winner when the SP does not go 5. 10.17(c) seems to address games like the subject of this thread. Would you say that 10.17(c) *could* apply to this game, but in practice that rule is just never enforced?

Also, how do you explain the game linked in post 19, where Tekulve gets the win, though it looks like Bedrosian is the pitcher of record and Tekulve would ordinarily get the save?
Is that just a complete rarity?

Thanks for the responses. Getting the opinion of an official scorer is useful.

By: J.L. Vangilder Tue, 09 Aug 2011 21:04:26 +0000 Sorry I did not answer your question from post 88. The rule would only
apply to instances when the starting pitcher did not qualify for the win
because he left the game too soon,

Look at rule 10.17 (a) 2 I know this is hard to believe but the truth
about it and that is way it has called for the last 50 years.

How many people would understand that the rule book has 36 pages
that just apply to the Official Scorer.

By: J.L. Vangilder Tue, 09 Aug 2011 20:55:57 +0000 You would not believe what the coaches ask me to do at the AAA level.

Again let me explain that MLB stats would not let me give the win
to any pitcher other than the pitcher of record. I am also sure that
same would apply in the big leagues. why don't you go on the Ellias
sports bureau site and pose that question??

By: Johnny Twisto Tue, 09 Aug 2011 18:49:01 +0000 That's not responsive to post 88.

It also seems hard to believe a AAA pitching coach would worry that much about his middle reliever who blew a lead not getting a win, when one of his other pitchers did get the win.