Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1971 Schedule and Results

1971 Washington Senators

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1970 / 1972

63-96, Finished 5th in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Ted Williams (63-96)
GM: Bob Short, Farm Dir: Hal Keller
Scored 537 runs, Allowed 660 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 65-94

Ballparks: Robert F. Kennedy Stadium · Attendance: 655,156 (11th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 93, Pitching - 95 · one-year: Batting - 92, Pitching - 94

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1970 / 1972 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 63-96, Final Rank:5, GB: 38.5
Days in First2last on Wednesday, Apr 28, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 3last on Apr 28, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead0.5last on Monday, Apr 5, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind38.5last on Thursday, Sep 30, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5004last on Wednesday, Apr 28
Most Games under .50033last on Thursday, Sep 30
Longest Winning Streak6Wednesday, Jun 30 to Monday, Jul 5
Longest Losing Streak8Sunday, May 16 to Sunday, May 23
Most Runs Allowed12Friday, Jun 25
Most Runs Scored15Monday, Jul 5
Longest Game (innings)21Friday, Jun 4
Times Shutout by Opponent21 
Times Opponent Shutout10 
Walkoff Wins8 
Walkoff Losses5 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 63 96 537 660 .396
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 35 46 268 296 .432
Road 28 50 269 364 .359
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 12 10 81 82 .545
May 6 19 66 120 .240
June 9 18 80 127 .333
July 16 12 114 95 .571
August 13 18 117 122 .419
September 7 19 79 114 .269
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 34 52 278 373 .395
Second Half 29 44 259 287 .397
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 57 87 481 604 .396
ExtraInning 6 6 48 48 .500
Shortened 0 3 8 8 .000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 24 23 147 146 .511
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 15 21 148 192 .417
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 3 13 39 78 .188
BOS 6 12 73 98 .333
CAL 8 4 44 28 .667
CHW 2 10 39 63 .167
CLE 11 7 88 64 .611
DET 4 14 38 71 .222
KCR 3 9 31 47 .250
MIL 6 6 34 32 .500
MIN 6 5 41 44 .545
NYY 11 7 65 70 .611
OAK 3 9 45 65 .250

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Monday, Apr 5 boxscore WSA OAK W 8 0 1-0 1 up 0.5 Bosman Blue 2:45 D 45,061 +
2 2 Wednesday, Apr 7 boxscore WSA @ BAL L 2 3 1-1 4 0.5 McNally Cox 2:06 D 36,423 -
3 3 Friday, Apr 9 boxscore WSA NYY W-wo 5 4 10 2-1 2 0.5 McLain McDaniel 2:15 N 25,079 +
4 4 Saturday, Apr 10 boxscore WSA NYY L 0 6 2-2 3 1.5 Stottlemyre Shellenback 2:05 D 6,412 -
5 5 Sunday, Apr 11 (1) boxscore WSA NYY L 0 1 2-3 3 1.5 Kline Bosman 2:12 D 0 --
6 6 Sunday, Apr 11 (2) boxscore WSA NYY W 4 3 3-3 3 1.5 Knowles Aker 2:27 D 24,358 +
7 7 Monday, Apr 12 boxscore WSA BOS L 7 10 3-4 3 2.0 Culp Janeski Tatum 2:25 N 7,392 -
8 8 Tuesday, Apr 13 boxscore WSA BOS L 3 5 3-5 5 2.5 Siebert McLain Lyle 2:11 N 12,154 --
9 9 Wednesday, Apr 14 boxscore WSA BOS W 6 5 4-5 4 2.5 Knowles Bolin Janeski 2:42 N 4,286 +
10 10 Saturday, Apr 17 boxscore WSA @ CLE W 5 3 5-5 2 2.5 Bosman Hargan Knowles 2:26 D 5,108 ++
11 11 Sunday, Apr 18 (1) boxscore WSA @ CLE W 4 0 6-5 2 3.0 McLain McDowell 2:37 D 0 +++
12 12 Sunday, Apr 18 (2) boxscore WSA @ CLE L 0 1 6-6 2 3.0 Dunning Cox 2:07 D 11,400 -
13 13 Tuesday, Apr 20 boxscore WSA @ NYY W 7 2 7-6 2 2.0 Shellenback Peterson 2:24 D 6,851 +
14 14 Wednesday, Apr 21 boxscore WSA @ NYY W 9 6 8-6 2 1.0 Janeski Aker 2:52 D 5,415 ++
15 15 Friday, Apr 23 boxscore WSA MIL L 0 4 8-7 3 2.0 Parsons McLain Sanders 2:29 N 17,149 -
16 16 Saturday, Apr 24 boxscore WSA MIL W-wo 5 4 9-7 3 1.0 Pina Sanders 2:30 N 6,597 +
17 17 Sunday, Apr 25 boxscore WSA MIL W-wo 3 2 10 10-7 3 1.0 Grzenda Ellsworth 2:44 D 9,780 ++
18 18 Monday, Apr 26 boxscore WSA MIN L 2 7 10-8 3 1.0 Perry Shellenback 2:32 N 3,931 -
19 19 Tuesday, Apr 27 boxscore WSA MIN W 2 0 11-8 2 1.0 McLain Blyleven 2:05 N 7,971 +
20 20 Wednesday, Apr 28 boxscore WSA MIN W 4 3 12-8 1 Tied Grzenda Perranoski 2:34 N 3,804 ++
21 21 Thursday, Apr 29 boxscore WSA CHW L 4 5 12-9 3 1.0 Bradley Knowles Kealey 2:57 N 3,681 -
22 22 Friday, Apr 30 boxscore WSA CHW L 1 8 12-10 3 1.5 Johnson Janeski 2:29 N 6,502 --
23 23 Saturday, May 1 boxscore WSA CHW L 3 5 12-11 3 1.5 John McLain Forster 2:29 N 12,073 ---
24 24 Sunday, May 2 boxscore WSA CHW L 1 3 12-12 3 3.0 Wood Knowles Romo 1:53 D 8,684 ----
25 25 Tuesday, May 4 boxscore WSA @ MIL L 0 2 12-13 3 4.0 Parsons Bosman 2:04 N 3,857 -----
26 26 Wednesday, May 5 boxscore WSA @ MIL L 3 4 12-14 3 4.5 Lockwood McLain Sanders 2:13 N 4,769 ------
27 27 Friday, May 7 boxscore WSA @ MIN W 6 5 13-14 3 5.0 Riddleberger Corbin Knowles 2:41 N 7,646 +
28 28 Saturday, May 8 boxscore WSA @ MIN L 2 9 13-15 4 6.0 Kaat Bosman 2:37 D 9,091 -
29 29 Sunday, May 9 boxscore WSA @ MIN L-wo 5 6 10 13-16 5 6.0 Corbin McLain 2:58 D 28,980 --
30 30 Wednesday, May 12 (1) boxscore WSA @ CHW L 0 5 13-17 5 7.0 Bradley Bosman 2:33 N 0 ---
31 31 Wednesday, May 12 (2) boxscore WSA @ CHW L 5 9 13-18 5 7.0 Kealey Grzenda Horlen 2:29 N 7,333 ----
32 32 Friday, May 14 boxscore WSA DET W-wo 3 2 14-18 5 7.0 McLain Patterson 2:29 N 18,694 +
33 33 Saturday, May 15 boxscore WSA DET W-wo 4 3 15 15-18 5 6.0 Lindblad Timmermann 3:35 N 6,237 ++
34 34 Sunday, May 16 boxscore WSA DET L 4 5 15-19 5 6.5 Coleman Riddleberger 2:28 D 7,293 -
35 35 Monday, May 17 boxscore WSA CLE L 3 6 15-20 5 7.5 Dunning Bosman Hennigan 2:43 N 3,186 --
36 36 Tuesday, May 18 boxscore WSA CLE L 3 7 15-21 5 8.5 McDowell McLain Colbert 2:14 N 5,690 ---
37 37 Wednesday, May 19 boxscore WSA BAL L 1 4 15-22 5 9.5 Palmer Thompson 2:11 N 6,833 ----
38 38 Friday, May 21 boxscore WSA @ DET L 0 1 15-23 6 11.0 Chance Janeski Scherman 2:06 N 25,833 -----
39 39 Saturday, May 22 boxscore WSA @ DET L 1 3 15-24 6 11.0 Zepp Bosman Kilkenny 2:29 D 24,342 ------
40 40 Sunday, May 23 (1) boxscore WSA @ DET L 0 5 15-25 6 12.0 Lolich McLain 1:55 D 0 -------
41 41 Sunday, May 23 (2) boxscore WSA @ DET L 0 11 15-26 6 12.0 Cain Thompson Niekro 2:26 D 53,337 --------
42 42 Monday, May 24 boxscore WSA @ BOS W 8 6 16-26 6 11.0 Grzenda Bolin Lindblad 2:38 N 14,331 +
43 43 Tuesday, May 25 boxscore WSA @ BOS W 6 5 11 17-26 6 10.0 Cox Koonce Lindblad 3:09 N 13,760 ++
44 44 Wednesday, May 26 boxscore WSA @ BOS L 2 3 17-27 6 11.0 Culp Janeski 2:01 N 13,526 -
45 45 Thursday, May 27 boxscore WSA @ BOS L 2 6 17-28 6 12.0 Peters Bosman Lee 2:26 D 14,995 --
46 46 Friday, May 28 boxscore WSA KCR L 0 5 17-29 6 13.0 Wright McLain 2:05 N 4,139 ---
47 47 Monday, May 31 boxscore WSA CAL W 4 0 18-29 6 11.0 Riddleberger Murphy Cox 2:26 D 13,289 +
48 48 Tuesday, Jun 1 boxscore WSA CAL W 6 5 19-29 6 10.0 Bosman Maloney Lindblad 3:01 N 3,675 ++
49 49 Wednesday, Jun 2 boxscore WSA CAL L 1 2 8 19-30 6 10.0 Wright McLain 1:37 N 3,606 -
50 50 Friday, Jun 4 boxscore WSA OAK L 3 5 21 19-31 6 11.5 Segui Shellenback Roland 5:19 N 6,159 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Saturday, Jun 5 boxscore WSA OAK L 1 6 19-32 6 12.0 Hunter Bosman 2:47 N 6,221 ---
52 52 Sunday, Jun 6 boxscore WSA OAK L 1 8 19-33 6 13.0 Blue McLain 2:24 D 40,246 ----
53 53 Tuesday, Jun 8 boxscore WSA @ KCR L 2 4 19-34 6 14.0 Splittorff Cox Abernathy 2:18 N 13,207 -----
54 54 Wednesday, Jun 9 boxscore WSA @ KCR L-wo 4 5 19-35 6 15.0 Burgmeier Lindblad 2:40 N 9,242 ------
55 55 Friday, Jun 11 boxscore WSA @ CAL L 2 4 19-36 6 16.5 Wright McLain LaRoche 2:07 N 8,445 -------
56 56 Saturday, Jun 12 boxscore WSA @ CAL W 3 2 20-36 6 15.5 Bosman Hassler Lindblad 2:30 N 12,836 +
57 57 Sunday, Jun 13 boxscore WSA @ CAL W 5 2 21-36 6 15.5 Cox Maloney 2:44 D 20,051 ++
58 58 Tuesday, Jun 15 boxscore WSA @ OAK L 2 8 21-37 6 15.5 Dobson Janeski 2:01 N 8,392 -
59 59 Wednesday, Jun 16 boxscore WSA @ OAK L 1 5 21-38 6 16.5 Blue McLain 2:05 N 19,893 --
60 60 Friday, Jun 18 boxscore WSA BOS W 8 5 22-38 6 17.0 Bosman Siebert Pina 2:36 N 9,420 +
61 61 Saturday, Jun 19 boxscore WSA BOS W 2 0 23-38 6 16.0 Brown Culp Cox 2:06 N 8,954 ++
62 62 Sunday, Jun 20 boxscore WSA BOS L 3 4 23-39 6 17.0 Bolin Pina 2:16 D 19,884 -
63 63 Monday, Jun 21 boxscore WSA BAL L 2 7 23-40 6 18.0 Dobson McLain 1:54 N 5,106 --
64 64 Tuesday, Jun 22 (1) boxscore WSA BAL W 8 6 24-40 6 18.0 Lindblad Boswell Cox 2:37 N 0 +
65 65 Tuesday, Jun 22 (2) boxscore WSA BAL L 0 2 24-41 6 18.0 Jackson Shellenback Dukes 2:14 N 11,072 -
66 66 Wednesday, Jun 23 boxscore WSA BAL L 5 7 24-42 6 19.0 Palmer Bosman Richert 2:17 N 7,867 --
67 67 Thursday, Jun 24 boxscore WSA BAL L 1 6 24-43 6 20.0 McNally Brown 2:19 N 5,765 ---
68 68 Friday, Jun 25 boxscore WSA @ NYY L 2 12 24-44 6 21.0 Kline Broberg 2:25 N 13,261 ----
69 69 Saturday, Jun 26 boxscore WSA @ NYY L 0 4 24-45 6 20.5 Stottlemyre McLain 1:49 D 11,221 -----
70 70 Sunday, Jun 27 (1) boxscore WSA @ NYY W 2 1 25-45 6 19.0 Grzenda Bahnsen Pina 2:27 D 0 +
71 71 Sunday, Jun 27 (2) boxscore WSA @ NYY W 8 0 26-45 6 19.0 Shellenback Kekich 2:06 D 41,173 ++
72 72 Monday, Jun 28 boxscore WSA @ BOS L 4 10 26-46 6 19.0 Bolin Cox Tatum 2:43 N 21,000 -
73 73 Tuesday, Jun 29 boxscore WSA @ BOS L 2 6 26-47 6 20.0 Lonborg Broberg Lyle 2:26 N 25,024 --
74 74 Wednesday, Jun 30 boxscore WSA NYY W-wo 2 1 27-47 6 19.5 McLain Stottlemyre 1:50 N 8,747 +
75 75 Thursday, Jul 1 boxscore WSA NYY W 3 1 28-47 6 18.5 Shellenback Kekich 2:00 N 3,775 ++
76 76 Friday, Jul 2 boxscore WSA @ CLE W 6 3 29-47 6 17.5 Bosman Lamb Lindblad 2:53 N 12,087 +++
77 77 Saturday, Jul 3 boxscore WSA @ CLE W 4 3 30-47 6 17.5 Brown Foster Grzenda 2:37 D 4,849 ++++
78 78 Sunday, Jul 4 boxscore WSA @ CLE W 9 4 31-47 6 17.5 Broberg Dunning 2:35 D 11,264 +++++
79 79 Monday, Jul 5 boxscore WSA @ CLE W 15 6 32-47 6 17.0 Lindblad Hargan Riddleberger 2:29 D 13,813 ++++++
80 80 Tuesday, Jul 6 (1) boxscore WSA @ BAL L 2 6 32-48 6 17.0 McNally Shellenback 1:48 N 0 -
81 81 Tuesday, Jul 6 (2) boxscore WSA @ BAL W 3 2 33-48 6 17.0 Cox Jackson 2:23 N 11,349 +
82 82 Wednesday, Jul 7 boxscore WSA @ BAL L 0 4 33-49 6 18.0 Dobson Bosman 1:59 N 10,685 -
83 83 Thursday, Jul 8 boxscore WSA @ BAL L 3 7 33-50 6 19.0 Cuellar Brown 2:08 N 8,093 --
84 84 Friday, Jul 9 boxscore WSA DET L 0 1 11 33-51 6 20.0 Coleman Cox Scherman 3:15 N 12,800 ---
85 85 Saturday, Jul 10 boxscore WSA DET L 2 4 33-52 6 20.5 Lolich McLain 2:17 N 11,536 ----
86 86 Sunday, Jul 11 boxscore WSA DET W-wo 4 3 10 34-52 6 20.5 Riddleberger Timmermann 2:48 D 10,674 +
87 87 Thursday, Jul 15 boxscore WSA CHW W 8 3 35-52 6 20.5 Bosman Wood Cox 2:34 N 7,526 ++
88 88 Friday, Jul 16 boxscore WSA CHW L 0 2 35-53 6 20.5 John Broberg 2:16 N 6,671 -
89 89 Saturday, Jul 17 boxscore WSA MIN L 3 5 35-54 6 20.5 Corbin Shellenback 2:46 N 7,124 --
90 90 Sunday, Jul 18 boxscore WSA MIN W-wo 3 2 36-54 6 20.5 Cox Perranoski 2:25 D 9,850 +
91 91 Monday, Jul 19 boxscore WSA MIN W 5 2 37-54 6 20.5 Brown Perry Lindblad 2:15 N 5,317 ++
92 92 Tuesday, Jul 20 boxscore WSA MIL W 5 1 38-54 6 19.5 Bosman Lopez 2:42 N 3,887 +++
93 93 Wednesday, Jul 21 boxscore WSA MIL W 6 1 39-54 5 18.5 Broberg Pattin 2:37 N 7,313 ++++
94 94 Thursday, Jul 22 boxscore WSA MIL L 0 2 39-55 6 19.5 Lockwood Shellenback Sanders 2:17 N 5,585 -
95 95 Saturday, Jul 24 (1) boxscore WSA @ CHW L-wo 5 6 10 39-56 5 20.0 Johnson Grzenda 3:11 D 0 --
96 96 Saturday, Jul 24 (2) boxscore WSA @ CHW W 5 3 40-56 5 20.0 Lindblad Hinton 2:46 D 10,397 +
97 97 Sunday, Jul 25 (1) boxscore WSA @ CHW L 1 5 40-57 6 20.0 Wood Bosman 2:27 D 0 -
98 98 Sunday, Jul 25 (2) boxscore WSA @ CHW L 6 9 40-58 6 20.0 Horlen Brown Johnson 2:34 D 24,318 --
99 99 Tuesday, Jul 27 boxscore WSA @ MIN L-wo 2 4 40-59 6 21.5 Haydel Lindblad 2:52 N 7,939 ---
100 100 Wednesday, Jul 28 boxscore WSA @ MIN W 7 1 41-59 6 21.5 Gogolewski Perry Grzenda 3:08 N 10,139 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Friday, Jul 30 boxscore WSA @ MIL W 3 2 42-59 5 21.5 Bosman Lopez Lindblad 2:34 N 9,224 ++
102 102 Saturday, Jul 31 boxscore WSA @ MIL W 4 3 43-59 5 21.5 Cox Sanders 2:46 D 15,166 +++
103 103 Sunday, Aug 1 (1) boxscore WSA @ MIL L 3 4 43-60 5 22.5 Slaton Shellenback Sanders 2:17 D 0 -
104 104 Sunday, Aug 1 (2) boxscore WSA @ MIL L 2 3 43-61 5 22.5 Lockwood Gogolewski 1:49 D 10,032 --
105 105 Monday, Aug 2 boxscore WSA @ DET L 7 11 43-62 5 22.5 Timmermann Cox 3:29 N 12,423 ---
106 106 Tuesday, Aug 3 boxscore WSA @ DET W 4 2 44-62 5 22.0 McLain Niekro Cox 2:42 N 22,171 +
107 107 Wednesday, Aug 4 boxscore WSA @ DET L 1 2 44-63 5 23.0 Lolich Bosman 2:10 N 30,410 -
108 108 Thursday, Aug 5 boxscore WSA CLE L 1 7 44-64 5 23.0 Colbert Thompson Farmer 2:45 N 4,694 --
109 109 Friday, Aug 6 boxscore WSA CLE W 7 3 45-64 5 22.0 Gogolewski Hargan 2:18 N 8,211 +
110 110 Saturday, Aug 7 boxscore WSA CLE W 7 0 46-64 5 22.0 Broberg Paul 2:13 N 5,202 ++
111 111 Sunday, Aug 8 boxscore WSA CLE L 2 6 46-65 5 22.0 Dunning McLain Hennigan 2:28 D 13,921 -
112 112 Tuesday, Aug 10 (1) boxscore WSA KCR L 2 9 46-66 5 23.5 Fitzmorris Bosman York 2:50 N 0 --
113 113 Tuesday, Aug 10 (2) boxscore WSA KCR L 1 3 46-67 5 23.5 Hedlund Thompson Abernathy 2:29 N 6,409 ---
114 114 Wednesday, Aug 11 boxscore WSA KCR L 0 1 6 46-68 6 24.5 Splittorff Gogolewski 1:10 N 2,799 ----
115 115 Thursday, Aug 12 (1) boxscore WSA KCR L 0 2 46-69 6 25.0 Wright Shellenback Burgmeier 2:09 N 0 -----
116 116 Thursday, Aug 12 (2) boxscore WSA KCR W 2 1 47-69 6 25.0 Broberg Nelson Cox 2:38 N 5,477 +
117 117 Friday, Aug 13 boxscore WSA CAL W 4 0 48-69 5 25.0 McLain Messersmith 2:02 N 4,928 ++
118 118 Saturday, Aug 14 boxscore WSA CAL W 2 0 49-69 5 24.0 Thompson Wright Lindblad 2:24 N 4,011 +++
119 119 Sunday, Aug 15 boxscore WSA CAL L 3 4 10 49-70 5 24.0 Queen Lindblad Clark 3:02 D 6,895 -
120 120 Tuesday, Aug 17 boxscore WSA OAK W 8 1 50-70 5 24.5 Gogolewski Odom 2:13 N 8,847 +
121 121 Wednesday, Aug 18 boxscore WSA OAK W 10 3 51-70 5 24.5 Broberg Dobson 2:28 N 8,146 ++
122 122 Friday, Aug 20 (1) boxscore WSA @ KCR W 6 3 52-70 5 23.0 McLain Fitzmorris 2:43 N 0 +++
123 123 Friday, Aug 20 (2) boxscore WSA @ KCR W 8 2 53-70 5 23.0 Bosman Wright 2:25 N 11,523 ++++
124 124 Saturday, Aug 21 boxscore WSA @ KCR L 5 8 53-71 5 24.0 Hedlund Thompson Burgmeier 2:39 N 8,489 -
125 125 Sunday, Aug 22 boxscore WSA @ KCR L 1 4 53-72 5 25.0 Splittorff Brown Burgmeier 2:14 D 12,502 --
126 126 Tuesday, Aug 24 boxscore WSA @ CAL L-wo 1 2 53-73 5 26.0 Wright Broberg 2:09 N 9,004 ---
127 127 Wednesday, Aug 25 boxscore WSA @ CAL W 5 4 54-73 5 26.0 McLain Allen Grzenda 2:20 N 7,114 +
128 128 Thursday, Aug 26 boxscore WSA @ CAL W 8 3 55-73 5 26.0 Lindblad Fisher Cox 2:29 N 6,221 ++
129 129 Friday, Aug 27 boxscore WSA @ OAK L 2 6 55-74 5 26.5 Odom Gogolewski 2:17 N 4,739 -
130 130 Saturday, Aug 28 boxscore WSA @ OAK L 6 10 55-75 5 27.0 Dobson Thompson Knowles 2:20 D 7,414 --
131 131 Sunday, Aug 29 (1) boxscore WSA @ OAK L 3 4 55-76 5 28.0 Blue Broberg 2:07 D 0 ---
132 132 Sunday, Aug 29 (2) boxscore WSA @ OAK L 0 9 55-77 5 28.0 Hunter McLain 2:08 D 24,977 ----
133 133 Tuesday, Aug 31 boxscore WSA @ NYY W 6 5 56-77 5 27.0 Lindblad McDaniel 3:13 N 8,950 +
134 134 Wednesday, Sep 1 boxscore WSA @ NYY W 2 0 57-77 5 27.0 Gogolewski Kline 2:01 D 8,467 ++
135 135 Thursday, Sep 2 boxscore WSA @ NYY L 1 11 57-78 5 27.0 Bahnsen Shellenback 2:20 N 7,461 -
136 136 Friday, Sep 3 boxscore WSA BAL L 2 4 57-79 5 28.0 McNally Broberg Watt 2:20 N 7,761 --
137 137 Saturday, Sep 4 boxscore WSA BAL L 2 6 57-80 5 29.0 Palmer McLain 2:12 N 7,909 ---
138 138 Sunday, Sep 5 boxscore WSA BAL W 5 3 58-80 5 28.0 Bosman Cuellar 2:15 D 9,623 +
139 139 Monday, Sep 6 boxscore WSA DET L 0 3 58-81 5 28.5 Lolich Gogolewski 2:16 D 7,348 -
140 140 Tuesday, Sep 7 boxscore WSA DET L 2 3 11 58-82 5 29.5 Scherman Lindblad 3:02 N 2,369 --
141 141 Wednesday, Sep 8 boxscore WSA DET L 3 5 58-83 5 30.0 Kilkenny Broberg Whillock 2:36 N 2,973 ---
142 142 Thursday, Sep 9 boxscore WSA @ BAL L 2 4 58-84 5 31.0 Palmer McLain 1:50 N 5,601 ----
143 143 Friday, Sep 10 boxscore WSA @ BAL L 1 7 58-85 5 32.0 Cuellar Bosman 2:04 N 13,443 -----
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 14 (1) boxscore WSA @ CLE L 1 3 58-86 5 31.5 Colbert Gogolewski 1:54 N 0 ------
145 145 Tuesday, Sep 14 (2) boxscore WSA @ CLE W 8 6 20 59-86 5 31.5 McLain McDowell 6:15 N 2,639 +
146 146 Wednesday, Sep 15 boxscore WSA @ DET L 2 4 59-87 5 31.5 Coleman McLain 2:19 N 8,066 -
147 147 Thursday, Sep 16 boxscore WSA @ DET L 1 3 59-88 5 32.5 Cain Bosman Perranoski 2:36 D 4,621 --
148 148 Friday, Sep 17 boxscore WSA BOS L 7 10 59-89 5 32.0 Bolin Cox 3:26 N 3,856 ---
149 149 Saturday, Sep 18 boxscore WSA BOS W 6 1 60-89 5 31.0 Gogolewski Brett Grzenda 2:14 N 3,671 +
150 150 Sunday, Sep 19 boxscore WSA BOS L 3 4 60-90 5 32.0 Moret Broberg 2:15 D 4,834 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Monday, Sep 20 boxscore WSA CLE L 1 3 60-91 5 33.0 Foster McLain Hargan 2:04 N 1,743 --
152 152 Tuesday, Sep 21 boxscore WSA CLE W 9 1 61-91 5 33.0 Bosman Hand 2:30 N 1,311 +
153 153 Wednesday, Sep 22 boxscore WSA CLE W 3 2 62-91 5 33.0 Gogolewski Colbert Grzenda 2:27 N 1,458 ++
154 154 Friday, Sep 24 boxscore WSA @ BOS L 0 4 62-92 5 34.5 Moret Broberg 2:28 N 14,351 -
155 155 Saturday, Sep 25 boxscore WSA @ BOS L 3 6 62-93 5 35.5 Curtis McLain 2:17 D 19,126 --
156 156 Sunday, Sep 26 boxscore WSA @ BOS L 1 8 62-94 5 36.5 Lonborg Bosman 2:35 D 15,240 ---
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 28 boxscore WSA NYY W 4 2 63-94 5 37.0 Grzenda Bahnsen 2:15 N 3,242 +
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 29 boxscore WSA NYY L 3 6 63-95 5 38.0 Stottlemyre Shellenback 2:07 N 4,003 -
159 159 Thursday, Sep 30 boxscore WSA NYY L *V 7 5 9 63-96 5 38.5 2:38 N 14,460 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1970 / 1972 Schedule and Results