Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1997 Schedule and Results

1997 San Francisco Giants

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1996 / 1998

90-72, Finished 1st in NL West (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Dusty Baker (90-72)
GM: Brian Sabean (Promoted 9/30/1996), Farm Dir: Dick Tidrow, Scouting Dir: Bob Hartsfield
Scored 784 runs, Allowed 793 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 80-82

Ballparks: 3Com Park · Attendance: 1,690,869 (11th of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 98, Pitching - 98 · one-year: Batting - 97, Pitching - 97

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
News & ViewsThinkFactory
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1996 / 1998 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 90-72, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First123last on Sunday, Sep 28, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 137last on Sep 28, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead6last on Sunday, Jul 6, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind2.5last on Sunday, Aug 31, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50019last on Saturday, Sep 27
Most Games under .5001last on Tuesday, Apr 1
Longest Winning Streak9Wednesday, Apr 9 to Sunday, Apr 20
Longest Losing Streak4Saturday, Sep 13 to Tuesday, Sep 16
Most Runs Allowed19Wednesday, May 7
Most Runs Scored17Friday, Sep 26
Longest Game (innings)14Friday, May 9
Times Shutout by Opponent4 
Times Opponent Shutout9 
Walkoff Wins9 
Walkoff Losses7 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 90 72 784 793 .556
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 48 33 377 387 .593
Road 42 39 407 406 .519
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 17 7 94 76 .708
May 14 14 123 151 .500
June 16 13 142 146 .552
July 12 15 136 151 .444
August 16 13 161 146 .552
September 15 10 128 123 .600
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 51 36 383 401 .586
Second Half 39 36 401 392 .520
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 78 69 699 727 .531
ExtraInning 11 3 76 65 .786
Shortened 1 0 9 11.000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 23 17 177 171 .575
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 18 23 239 300 .439
Inter-League Play
SplitWLRSRAWP
Inter-Lg 10 6 82 90 .625
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ANA 3 1 25 14 .750
ATL 4 7 39 48 .364
CHC 6 5 59 54 .545
CIN 7 4 50 39 .636
COL 8 4 64 49 .667
FLA 6 5 37 43 .545
HOU 8 3 38 42 .727
LAD 6 6 43 72 .500
MON 5 6 60 74 .455
NYM 8 3 51 42 .727
OAK 2 2 18 26 .500
PHI 8 3 67 50 .727
PIT 3 8 47 62 .273
SDP 8 4 97 62 .667
SEA 3 1 20 26 .750
STL 3 8 50 66 .273
TEX 2 2 19 24 .500

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 1 boxscore SFG PIT L 2 5 0-1 2 1.0 Ruebel Rodriguez Ericks 3:04 D 41,996 -
2 2 Thursday, Apr 3 boxscore SFG PIT W 7 5 1-1 3 0.5 Fernandez Cooke Beck 3:25 N 8,099 +
3 3 Friday, Apr 4 boxscore SFG NYM W 6 4 2-1 3 0.5 Rodriguez Jordan Beck 3:00 N 8,380 ++
4 4 Saturday, Apr 5 boxscore SFG NYM W 2 0 3-1 2 0.5 Roa Manuel Beck 2:28 D 13,768 +++
5 5 Sunday, Apr 6 boxscore SFG NYM L 2 4 3-2 4 0.5 Bohanon Gardner Franco 2:26 D 15,073 -
6 6 Monday, Apr 7 boxscore SFG PHI W 4 3 4-2 4 0.5 Estes Maduro Beck 2:56 N 7,525 +
7 7 Tuesday, Apr 8 boxscore SFG PHI L 1 2 4-3 4 1.0 Leiter Fernandez Bottalico 2:47 N 6,260 -
8 8 Wednesday, Apr 9 boxscore SFG PHI W 3 0 5-3 3 1.0 Rueter Munoz Beck 2:09 D 7,617 +
9 9 Sunday, Apr 13 (1) boxscore SFG @ NYM W 5 1 6-3 2 0.5 Gardner Clark 2:42 D 0 ++
10 10 Sunday, Apr 13 (2) boxscore SFG @ NYM W 7 6 7-3 2 0.5 Estes Jones Beck 3:18 D 21,981 +++
11 11 Monday, Apr 14 boxscore SFG @ NYM W 3 2 8-3 1 Tied Rodriguez McMichael Beck 2:51 N 12,001 ++++
12 12 Tuesday, Apr 15 boxscore SFG @ PHI W 8 4 9-3 1 Tied VanLandingham Munoz 3:25 N 12,099 +++++
13 13 Wednesday, Apr 16 boxscore SFG @ PHI W 6 5 10 10-3 1 Tied Poole Harris Beck 3:05 N 12,109 ++++++
14 14 Friday, Apr 18 boxscore SFG FLA W-wo 5 4 11-3 1 up 1.0 Henry Nen 3:30 N 10,518 +++++++
15 15 Saturday, Apr 19 boxscore SFG FLA W 3 2 12-3 1 up 2.0 Estes Saunders Beck 2:19 D 16,197 ++++++++
16 16 Sunday, Apr 20 boxscore SFG FLA W 2 0 13-3 1 up 2.0 Fernandez Fernandez Beck 2:38 D 24,514 +++++++++
17 17 Tuesday, Apr 22 boxscore SFG ATL L 0 4 13-4 1 up 1.0 Maddux VanLandingham 2:31 N 18,404 -
18 18 Wednesday, Apr 23 boxscore SFG ATL W-wo 4 3 14-4 1 up 1.0 Henry Embree 2:37 D 17,050 +
19 19 Friday, Apr 25 boxscore SFG @ HOU L-wo 4 5 14-5 1 Tied Wagner Roa 2:37 N 26,705 -
20 20 Saturday, Apr 26 boxscore SFG @ HOU W 2 0 15-5 1 Tied Estes Holt 2:17 N 36,837 +
21 21 Sunday, Apr 27 boxscore SFG @ HOU W 3 2 16-5 1 up 1.0 Fernandez Reynolds Beck 2:33 D 22,316 ++
22 22 Monday, Apr 28 boxscore SFG @ STL L 2 5 16-6 1 Tied Benes VanLandingham Eckersley 3:15 N 21,803 -
23 23 Tuesday, Apr 29 boxscore SFG @ STL L-wo 7 9 16-7 1 Tied Fossas Beck 3:05 N 23,527 --
24 24 Wednesday, Apr 30 boxscore SFG @ PIT W 6 1 17-7 1 Tied Gardner Lieber 2:00 N 10,073 +
25 25 Thursday, May 1 boxscore SFG @ PIT L 2 3 17-8 2 1.0 Cooke Estes Rincon 2:38 D 10,507 -
26 26 Friday, May 2 boxscore SFG CIN L 2 6 17-9 2 1.0 Schourek Fernandez 2:47 N 11,959 --
27 27 Saturday, May 3 boxscore SFG CIN L 1 3 17-10 2 2.0 Smiley Rodriguez Brantley 2:50 D 18,149 ---
28 28 Sunday, May 4 boxscore SFG CIN W-wo 2 1 10 18-10 2 2.0 Beck Brantley 3:04 D 26,287 +
29 29 Monday, May 5 boxscore SFG MON W 4 2 19-10 2 1.0 Gardner Perez Beck 2:17 N 8,966 ++
30 30 Tuesday, May 6 boxscore SFG MON L 3 10 19-11 2 2.0 Martinez Estes 3:13 N 7,904 -
31 31 Wednesday, May 7 boxscore SFG MON L 3 19 19-12 2 2.0 Juden Fernandez 3:19 D 9,598 --
32 32 Friday, May 9 boxscore SFG CHC L 3 5 14 19-13 2 1.5 Bottenfield Roa 4:57 N 10,309 ---
33 33 Saturday, May 10 boxscore SFG CHC W 4 2 20-13 2 0.5 Rueter Telemaco 2:40 D 17,074 +
34 34 Sunday, May 11 boxscore SFG CHC W 11 5 21-13 1 up 0.5 Gardner Foster Henry 3:25 D 22,951 ++
35 35 Tuesday, May 13 boxscore SFG @ CIN W 4 1 22-13 1 up 0.5 Estes Burba Beck 2:46 N 17,828 +++
36 36 Wednesday, May 14 boxscore SFG @ CIN W 4 2 10 23-13 1 up 1.5 Beck Remlinger Rodriguez 3:21 N 16,404 ++++
37 37 Thursday, May 15 boxscore SFG @ MON L 7 8 23-14 1 up 1.0 Telford Tavarez Urbina 3:30 N 11,907 -
38 38 Friday, May 16 boxscore SFG @ MON L-wo 13 14 23-15 1 up 0.5 Urbina Beck 3:46 N 22,365 --
39 39 Saturday, May 17 boxscore SFG @ CHC W 4 1 24-15 1 up 1.0 Gardner Telemaco Beck 2:25 N 34,309 +
40 40 Sunday, May 18 boxscore SFG @ CHC L 3 5 24-16 1 up 1.0 Wendell Tavarez Adams 2:38 D 37,598 -
41 41 Monday, May 19 boxscore SFG @ CHC L 4 15 24-17 1 up 1.0 Trachsel Fernandez 3:04 D 23,134 --
42 42 Tuesday, May 20 boxscore SFG COL W 6 3 25-17 1 up 2.0 VanLandingham Bailey Beck 2:30 N 12,431 +
43 43 Wednesday, May 21 boxscore SFG COL L 7 10 25-18 1 up 1.5 Ritz Rueter Reed 2:54 D 12,268 -
44 44 Thursday, May 22 boxscore SFG COL W 7 2 26-18 1 up 2.5 Gardner Thomson 2:41 D 10,811 +
45 45 Friday, May 23 boxscore SFG STL W 2 0 27-18 1 up 2.5 Estes Morris 2:18 N 17,661 ++
46 46 Saturday, May 24 boxscore SFG STL L 3 9 27-19 1 up 2.5 Benes Roa 2:43 D 18,303 -
47 47 Sunday, May 25 boxscore SFG STL L 3 9 27-20 1 up 1.5 Stottlemyre VanLandingham 3:03 D 21,929 --
48 48 Monday, May 26 boxscore SFG HOU W-wo 4 3 28-20 1 up 1.5 Tavarez Lima 3:09 D 16,059 +
49 49 Tuesday, May 27 boxscore SFG HOU W-wo 5 4 10 29-20 1 up 2.5 Beck Wagner 3:18 D 8,437 ++
50 50 Thursday, May 29 boxscore SFG @ ATL W 4 2 30-20 1 up 2.5 Estes Smoltz Beck 2:53 N 38,844 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Friday, May 30 boxscore SFG @ ATL L-wo 2 3 30-21 1 up 2.5 Wohlers Henry 3:14 N 45,181 -
52 52 Saturday, May 31 boxscore SFG @ ATL W 6 4 31-21 1 up 2.5 Poole Borowski Beck 3:16 N 46,445 +
53 53 Sunday, Jun 1 boxscore SFG @ ATL L 3 4 31-22 1 up 1.5 Bielecki Poole Wohlers 2:35 D 46,501 -
54 54 Monday, Jun 2 boxscore SFG @ FLA L 2 4 31-23 1 up 0.5 Leiter Gardner Nen 2:53 N 18,962 --
55 55 Tuesday, Jun 3 boxscore SFG @ FLA W 9 1 7 32-23 1 up 1.5 Estes Fernandez 2:12 D 22,764 +
56 56 Wednesday, Jun 4 boxscore SFG @ LAD L 1 5 32-24 1 up 1.5 Martinez Foulke 2:51 N 30,357 -
57 57 Thursday, Jun 5 boxscore SFG @ LAD W 5 4 33-24 1 up 1.5 VanLandingham Valdez Beck 2:55 N 30,487 +
58 58 Friday, Jun 6 boxscore SFG ATL L 5 9 33-25 1 up 1.0 Byrd Roa 3:20 N 16,948 -
59 59 Saturday, Jun 7 boxscore SFG ATL L 2 5 33-26 1 up 1.0 Maddux Henry Wohlers 2:16 D 30,440 --
60 60 Sunday, Jun 8 boxscore SFG ATL W 5 3 34-26 1 up 1.5 Poole Smoltz Beck 2:44 D 36,689 +
61 61 Monday, Jun 9 boxscore SFG FLA W 7 4 35-26 1 up 1.5 Foulke Rapp 2:36 N 10,699 ++
62 62 Tuesday, Jun 10 boxscore SFG FLA L 0 9 35-27 1 up 1.5 Brown VanLandingham 2:21 D 10,257 -
63 63 Wednesday, Jun 11 boxscore SFG FLA L 3 6 35-28 1 up 0.5 Helling Rueter Nen 3:12 D 10,118 --
64 64 Thursday, Jun 12 boxscore SFG @ TEX W 4 3 36-28 1 up 1.5 Gardner Oliver Beck 2:23 N 46,507 +
65 65 Friday, Jun 13 boxscore SFG @ TEX L-wo 5 6 36-29 1 up 1.5 Wetteland Rodriguez 3:08 N 44,168 -
66 66 Saturday, Jun 14 boxscore SFG @ ANA W 10 3 37-29 1 up 1.5 Roa Watson 3:21 N 27,875 +
67 67 Sunday, Jun 15 boxscore SFG @ ANA W 4 1 38-29 1 up 2.5 VanLandingham Dickson Beck 3:28 D 30,404 ++
68 68 Tuesday, Jun 17 boxscore SFG SEA W 4 3 39-29 1 up 3.5 Rueter Fassero Beck 2:37 N 40,024 +++
69 69 Wednesday, Jun 18 boxscore SFG SEA W 4 2 40-29 1 up 3.5 Gardner Lowe Beck 2:17 D 33,234 ++++
70 70 Thursday, Jun 19 boxscore SFG LAD W 5 2 41-29 1 up 3.5 Estes Astacio 2:43 N 18,112 +++++
71 71 Friday, Jun 20 boxscore SFG LAD L 7 11 10 41-30 1 up 3.5 Worrell Henry 3:43 N 33,976 -
72 72 Saturday, Jun 21 boxscore SFG LAD L 0 11 41-31 1 up 2.5 Candiotti VanLandingham 3:05 D 46,937 --
73 73 Sunday, Jun 22 boxscore SFG LAD W 4 2 42-31 1 up 3.5 Rueter Park Beck 2:42 N 36,749 +
74 74 Monday, Jun 23 boxscore SFG SDP L 6 11 42-32 1 up 3.5 Bruske Gardner Hoffman 3:26 N 11,731 -
75 75 Tuesday, Jun 24 boxscore SFG SDP W 4 1 43-32 1 up 3.5 Estes Jackson Beck 2:15 D 10,192 +
76 76 Wednesday, Jun 25 boxscore SFG SDP W 14 7 44-32 1 up 4.5 Rodriguez Ashby 3:37 D 11,605 ++
77 77 Thursday, Jun 26 boxscore SFG @ COL L 6 7 44-33 1 up 3.5 DeJean Foulke Leskanic 3:31 N 48,301 -
78 78 Friday, Jun 27 boxscore SFG @ COL W 6 3 45-33 1 up 4.5 Rueter Thomson Beck 2:25 N 48,225 +
79 79 Saturday, Jun 28 boxscore SFG @ COL L 2 9 45-34 1 up 3.5 Ritz Gardner 2:29 N 48,273 -
80 80 Sunday, Jun 29 boxscore SFG @ COL W 7 4 46-34 1 up 4.5 Estes Bailey 3:04 D 48,384 +
81 81 Monday, Jun 30 boxscore SFG @ SEA W 8 6 10 47-34 1 up 4.5 Beck Charlton Henry 3:10 N 41,231 ++
82 82 Tuesday, Jul 1 boxscore SFG @ SEA L 4 15 47-35 1 up 4.5 Moyer VanLandingham 2:54 D 48,313 -
83 83 Wednesday, Jul 2 boxscore SFG OAK L 1 8 47-36 1 up 4.5 Johnson Rueter Groom 2:31 D 26,506 --
84 84 Thursday, Jul 3 boxscore SFG OAK W 6 4 48-36 1 up 5.5 Creek Rigby Beck 2:35 N 47,719 +
85 85 Friday, Jul 4 boxscore SFG COL W 4 0 49-36 1 up 6.0 Estes Wright Beck 2:48 N 41,566 ++
86 86 Saturday, Jul 5 boxscore SFG COL W 2 1 50-36 1 up 6.0 Tavarez Munoz Beck 2:40 D 34,148 +++
87 87 Sunday, Jul 6 boxscore SFG COL W 7 0 51-36 1 up 6.0 Gardner Burke 2:45 D 28,252 ++++
88 88 Thursday, Jul 10 boxscore SFG @ LAD L 0 11 51-37 1 up 5.0 Park Rueter 3:09 N 42,942 -
89 89 Friday, Jul 11 boxscore SFG @ LAD L 2 6 51-38 1 up 4.0 Nomo Foulke Worrell 3:06 N 46,869 --
90 90 Saturday, Jul 12 boxscore SFG @ LAD W 8 5 52-38 1 up 5.0 Tavarez Worrell 3:07 N 53,792 +
91 91 Sunday, Jul 13 boxscore SFG @ LAD L 3 9 52-39 1 up 4.0 Reyes Estes 3:08 D 51,730 -
92 92 Monday, Jul 14 boxscore SFG @ SDP L 3 5 52-40 1 up 3.0 Jackson Creek Hoffman 3:19 N 22,056 --
93 93 Tuesday, Jul 15 boxscore SFG @ SDP W 16 2 53-40 1 up 3.0 Rueter Ashby 3:07 N 28,539 +
94 94 Wednesday, Jul 16 boxscore SFG @ HOU L 1 8 53-41 1 up 3.0 Hampton Foulke 2:45 N 24,522 -
95 95 Thursday, Jul 17 boxscore SFG @ HOU W 3 1 54-41 1 up 4.0 Gardner Holt Beck 2:33 D 29,955 +
96 96 Friday, Jul 18 boxscore SFG @ STL L 5 6 54-42 1 up 4.0 Stottlemyre Estes Eckersley 2:39 N 31,326 -
97 97 Saturday, Jul 19 boxscore SFG @ STL L 7 8 54-43 1 up 3.0 Frascatore Henry Eckersley 3:16 N 37,795 --
98 98 Sunday, Jul 20 boxscore SFG @ STL W 9 2 55-43 1 up 3.0 Rueter Benes 2:44 D 35,073 +
99 99 Monday, Jul 21 boxscore SFG @ STL L 2 7 55-44 1 up 3.0 Morris Foulke 2:59 N 30,567 -
100 100 Tuesday, Jul 22 boxscore SFG PHI W 8 5 56-44 1 up 3.0 Gardner Spradlin Beck 2:41 N 12,630 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Wednesday, Jul 23 boxscore SFG PHI W 16 4 57-44 1 up 4.0 Estes Leiter 3:21 D 14,591 ++
102 102 Thursday, Jul 24 boxscore SFG PHI L 4 7 57-45 1 up 4.0 Gomes Roa Bottalico 3:23 D 13,520 -
103 103 Friday, Jul 25 boxscore SFG PIT L 2 5 57-46 1 up 3.0 Schmidt Rueter Loiselle 3:03 N 14,236 --
104 104 Saturday, Jul 26 boxscore SFG PIT L 3 10 57-47 1 up 2.0 Loaiza Creek 3:34 D 25,962 ---
105 105 Sunday, Jul 27 (1) boxscore SFG PIT W-wo 6 5 13 58-47 1 up 1.5 Henry Wilkins 4:03 D 0 +
106 106 Sunday, Jul 27 (2) boxscore SFG PIT L 7 10 58-48 1 up 1.5 Cordova VanLandingham 3:18 D 38,866 -
107 107 Tuesday, Jul 29 boxscore SFG NYM W 5 2 59-48 1 up 1.0 Estes McMichael Beck 2:34 N 14,949 +
108 108 Wednesday, Jul 30 boxscore SFG NYM L 2 5 59-49 1 up 0.5 Reed Tavarez Franco 2:41 N 15,234 -
109 109 Friday, Aug 1 boxscore SFG @ CIN W 8 7 60-49 1 Tied Alvarez Mercker Beck 3:01 N 25,636 +
110 110 Saturday, Aug 2 boxscore SFG @ CIN L 1 5 60-50 1 Tied Tomko Gardner 2:17 D 23,266 -
111 111 Sunday, Aug 3 boxscore SFG @ CIN W 8 3 10 61-50 1 up 1.0 Hernandez Shaw 2:59 D 21,272 +
112 112 Monday, Aug 4 boxscore SFG @ CIN W 9 1 62-50 1 up 1.5 Rueter Carrara 2:36 N 17,930 ++
113 113 Tuesday, Aug 5 boxscore SFG @ CHC W 8 2 63-50 1 up 1.5 Tavarez Patterson 2:53 N 32,259 +++
114 114 Wednesday, Aug 6 boxscore SFG @ CHC W 7 4 64-50 1 up 2.5 Rapp Mulholland 2:46 D 26,942 ++++
115 115 Thursday, Aug 7 boxscore SFG @ CHC L 3 6 64-51 1 up 1.5 Gonzalez Alvarez 3:08 D 24,510 -
116 116 Friday, Aug 8 boxscore SFG @ MON W 4 0 65-51 1 up 1.5 Gardner Perez 1:53 N 16,223 +
117 117 Saturday, Aug 9 boxscore SFG @ MON L-wo 1 2 65-52 1 up 1.5 Martinez Hernandez 2:39 N 20,296 -
118 118 Sunday, Aug 10 boxscore SFG @ MON W 6 3 12 66-52 1 up 2.5 Tavarez Valdes Henry 3:33 D 24,170 +
119 119 Monday, Aug 11 boxscore SFG CIN L 4 7 66-53 1 up 1.5 Mercker Rapp 2:43 N 19,086 -
120 120 Tuesday, Aug 12 boxscore SFG CIN W 7 3 67-53 1 up 2.5 Alvarez Tomko Hernandez 3:05 D 15,890 +
121 121 Wednesday, Aug 13 boxscore SFG CHC L 5 6 67-54 1 up 1.5 Gonzalez Gardner Adams 3:04 D 17,357 -
122 122 Thursday, Aug 14 boxscore SFG CHC W 7 3 68-54 1 up 1.5 Estes Tapani 2:48 D 16,949 +
123 123 Friday, Aug 15 boxscore SFG MON W 6 2 69-54 1 up 2.5 Rueter Johnson 2:37 N 15,877 ++
124 124 Saturday, Aug 16 boxscore SFG MON L 5 8 69-55 1 up 1.5 Hermanson Rapp Urbina 3:15 D 25,345 -
125 125 Sunday, Aug 17 boxscore SFG MON W 8 6 70-55 1 up 2.5 Henry Paniagua Beck 3:03 D 28,759 +
126 126 Monday, Aug 18 boxscore SFG @ PHI L 3 12 70-56 1 up 2.0 Beech Gardner 2:52 N 15,478 -
127 127 Tuesday, Aug 19 boxscore SFG @ PHI W 9 5 71-56 1 up 2.0 Estes Leiter 3:13 N 17,379 +
128 128 Friday, Aug 22 boxscore SFG @ PIT L 2 3 71-57 1 up 1.0 Cooke Rueter Loiselle 2:14 N 18,562 -
129 129 Saturday, Aug 23 boxscore SFG @ PIT L 4 6 71-58 1 Tied Loaiza Darwin Loiselle 3:15 N 42,502 --
130 130 Sunday, Aug 24 boxscore SFG @ PIT L 6 9 71-59 2 1.0 Christiansen Henry Wilkins 3:16 D 33,363 ---
131 131 Monday, Aug 25 boxscore SFG @ NYM W 7 1 72-59 2 0.5 Estes Jones 2:53 N 17,947 +
132 132 Tuesday, Aug 26 boxscore SFG @ NYM W 6 2 73-59 2 0.5 Alvarez Reed 3:12 N 20,113 ++
133 133 Wednesday, Aug 27 boxscore SFG @ NYM L 6 15 73-60 2 1.5 Isringhausen Tavarez 3:17 D 23,373 -
134 134 Thursday, Aug 28 boxscore SFG TEX L 5 11 73-61 2 2.5 Whiteside Beck 3:18 N 18,852 --
135 135 Friday, Aug 29 boxscore SFG TEX W-wo 5 4 12 74-61 2 2.5 Rodriguez Eversgerd 3:52 N 25,962 +
136 136 Saturday, Aug 30 boxscore SFG ANA W 7 3 75-61 2 2.5 Estes Springer 2:43 D 26,200 ++
137 137 Sunday, Aug 31 boxscore SFG ANA L 4 7 75-62 2 2.5 May Alvarez Percival 3:15 D 24,751 -
138 138 Monday, Sep 1 boxscore SFG @ OAK W 8 2 76-62 2 2.0 Rueter Lorraine 2:54 N 50,792 +
139 139 Wednesday, Sep 3 boxscore SFG @ OAK L 3 12 76-63 2 1.5 Rigby Darwin Small 3:11 N 32,408 -
140 140 Thursday, Sep 4 boxscore SFG HOU L 2 14 76-64 2 2.0 Hampton Gardner 3:02 N 8,565 --
141 141 Friday, Sep 5 boxscore SFG HOU W 4 1 77-64 2 2.0 Hernandez Reynolds Beck 3:19 N 11,934 +
142 142 Saturday, Sep 6 boxscore SFG HOU W 5 3 78-64 2 2.0 Tavarez Wagner Hernandez 3:21 D 17,636 ++
143 143 Sunday, Sep 7 boxscore SFG HOU W 5 1 79-64 2 2.0 Rueter Kile 3:17 D 19,861 +++
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 9 boxscore SFG STL L 3 5 79-65 2 1.5 Aybar Mulholland Eckersley 2:34 N 13,098 -
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 10 boxscore SFG STL W-wo 7 6 10 80-65 2 0.5 Beck Painter 3:33 D 12,623 +
146 146 Thursday, Sep 11 boxscore SFG @ PHI W 5 3 81-65 1 Tied Hernandez Spradlin Beck 3:10 N 18,165 ++
147 147 Friday, Sep 12 boxscore SFG @ FLA W 1 0 82-65 1 up 1.0 Rueter Hernandez Beck 2:53 N 30,964 +++
148 148 Saturday, Sep 13 boxscore SFG @ FLA L 1 8 82-66 1 up 1.0 Brown Gardner 2:15 D 30,311 -
149 149 Sunday, Sep 14 boxscore SFG @ FLA L 4 5 82-67 1 Tied Powell Hernandez Nen 3:18 D 28,610 --
150 150 Monday, Sep 15 boxscore SFG @ ATL L-wo 4 5 82-68 2 1.0 Ligtenberg Beck 2:46 N 38,641 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 16 boxscore SFG @ ATL L 4 6 82-69 2 2.0 Millwood Alvarez 2:48 D 37,661 ----
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 17 boxscore SFG LAD W 2 1 83-69 2 1.0 Rueter Park Hernandez 2:26 N 56,625 +
153 153 Thursday, Sep 18 boxscore SFG LAD W-wo 6 5 12 84-69 1 Tied Beck Guthrie 4:08 D 52,188 ++
154 154 Friday, Sep 19 boxscore SFG @ SDP W 7 4 85-69 1 up 1.0 Darwin Hamilton Hernandez 3:16 N 33,024 +++
155 155 Saturday, Sep 20 boxscore SFG @ SDP L 2 12 85-70 1 up 1.0 Smith Estes 2:55 D 30,812 -
156 156 Sunday, Sep 21 boxscore SFG @ SDP W 8 5 86-70 1 up 2.0 Beck Veras 3:09 D 34,737 +
157 157 Monday, Sep 22 boxscore SFG @ SDP W 11 5 87-70 1 up 2.5 Hernandez Murray 3:13 N 22,229 ++
158 158 Tuesday, Sep 23 boxscore SFG @ COL L 6 7 87-71 1 up 1.5 Holmes Darwin Leskanic 3:28 N 48,026 -
159 159 Wednesday, Sep 24 boxscore SFG @ COL W 4 3 88-71 1 up 2.5 Hernandez Reed 2:55 D 48,035 +
160 160 Friday, Sep 26 boxscore SFG SDP W 17 4 89-71 1 up 2.0 Estes Smith 3:14 N 40,491 ++
161 161 Saturday, Sep 27 boxscore SFG SDP W 6 1 90-71 1 up 2.0 Alvarez Hitchcock 3:07 D 48,179 +++
162 162 Sunday, Sep 28 boxscore SFG SDP L 3 5 11 90-72 1 up 2.0 Hamilton Bailey 3:18 D 47,968 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
NLDS Game 1 Tuesday, Sep 30 boxscore SFG @ FLA L 1 2 0-1 Cook Tavarez 2:48 D 42,167
NLDS Game 2 Wednesday, Oct 1 boxscore SFG @ FLA L 6 7 0-2 Nen Hernandez 3:12 D 41,283
NLDS Game 3 Friday, Oct 3 boxscore SFG FLA L 2 6 0-3 Fernandez Alvarez 3:22 N 57,188
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1996 / 1998 Schedule and Results