Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1971 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1971 San Francisco Giants

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1970 / 1972

90-72, Finished 1st in NL West (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Charlie Fox (90-72)
GM: Horace Stoneham, Farm Dir: Jack Schwarz
Scored 706 runs, Allowed 644 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 88-74

Ballparks: Candlestick Park · Attendance: 1,106,043 (10th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 99, Pitching - 99 · one-year: Batting - 101, Pitching - 100

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1970 / 1972 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 90-72, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First147last on Thursday, Sep 30, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 176last on Sep 30, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead10.5last on Monday, May 31, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind0.5last on Sunday, Apr 11, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50026last on Saturday, Sep 4
Most Games under .500never
Longest Winning Streak9Sunday, Apr 11 to Monday, Apr 19
Longest Losing Streak7Sunday, Sep 5 to Saturday, Sep 11
Most Runs Allowed18Wednesday, Jul 7
Most Runs Scored16Friday, Sep 3
Longest Game (innings)13Thursday, Apr 29 and Sunday, May 2
Times Shutout by Opponent6 
Times Opponent Shutout14 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 90 72 706 644 .556
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 51 30 372 300 .630
Road 39 42 334 344 .481
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 18 5 107 59 .783
May 19 9 128 106 .679
June 13 15 102 107 .464
July 15 14 142 157 .517
August 14 13 118 114 .519
September 11 16 109 101 .407
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 55 35 387 349 .611
Second Half 35 37 319 295 .486
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 77 66 630 575 .538
ExtraInning 13 6 76 69 .684
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 26 25 185 184 .510
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 20 13 189 157 .606
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 11 7 85 64 .611
CHC 9 3 63 42 .750
CIN 9 9 78 65 .500
HOU 9 9 60 67 .500
LAD 6 12 70 102 .333
MON 5 7 36 51 .417
NYM 8 4 48 39 .667
PHI 6 6 51 42 .500
PIT 9 3 72 62 .750
SDP 13 5 88 54 .722
STL 5 7 55 56 .417

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 6 boxscore SFG @ SDP W 4 0 1-0 1 Tied Marichal Phoebus 2:17 N 34,554 +
2 2 Wednesday, Apr 7 boxscore SFG @ SDP W 7 3 2-0 1 Tied Perry Kirby 2:45 N 6,790 ++
3 3 Thursday, Apr 8 boxscore SFG @ SDP L 6 7 2-1 3 0.5 Ross McMahon 3:05 N 6,199 -
4 4 Saturday, Apr 10 boxscore SFG @ STL W 6 4 3-1 1 Tied Reberger Reuss Johnson 2:56 D 26,841 +
5 5 Sunday, Apr 11 (1) boxscore SFG @ STL L 2 4 3-2 3 0.5 Gibson Robertson 2:06 D 0 -
6 6 Sunday, Apr 11 (2) boxscore SFG @ STL W 7 2 4-2 3 0.5 Marichal Cleveland 2:30 D 27,104 +
7 7 Monday, Apr 12 boxscore SFG SDP W 5 0 5-2 1 up 0.5 Perry Kirby 2:27 D 29,847 ++
8 8 Wednesday, Apr 14 boxscore SFG HOU W 2 1 11 6-2 1 up 1.0 McMahon Culver 3:20 D 3,588 +++
9 9 Thursday, Apr 15 boxscore SFG HOU W 4 3 10 7-2 1 up 2.0 Johnson Ray 2:39 D 3,557 ++++
10 10 Friday, Apr 16 boxscore SFG CHC W 9 0 8-2 1 up 2.5 Marichal Jenkins 2:13 N 8,133 +++++
11 11 Saturday, Apr 17 boxscore SFG CHC W 5 3 9-2 1 up 2.5 Perry Holtzman 2:45 D 32,896 ++++++
12 12 Sunday, Apr 18 (1) boxscore SFG CHC W 5 1 10-2 1 up 3.0 Cumberland Pappas 2:09 D 0 +++++++
13 13 Sunday, Apr 18 (2) boxscore SFG CHC W 8 1 11-2 1 up 3.0 Robertson Bonham 2:45 D 27,714 ++++++++
14 14 Monday, Apr 19 boxscore SFG STL W 4 2 12-2 1 up 3.5 Bryant Reuss 2:40 D 3,630 +++++++++
15 15 Tuesday, Apr 20 boxscore SFG STL L 1 2 12-3 1 up 2.5 Cleveland Marichal Drabowsky 2:23 N 9,791 -
16 16 Wednesday, Apr 21 boxscore SFG STL L 3 5 12-4 1 up 2.5 Gibson Perry 2:08 D 6,178 --
17 17 Friday, Apr 23 boxscore SFG @ PIT W 2 0 13-4 1 up 3.5 Stone Walker 2:08 N 12,350 +
18 18 Saturday, Apr 24 boxscore SFG @ PIT W 2 0 14-4 1 up 4.0 Bryant Johnson 2:21 D 8,386 ++
19 19 Sunday, Apr 25 boxscore SFG @ PIT L 2 6 14-5 1 up 3.5 Briles Marichal Giusti 2:51 D 16,553 -
20 20 Tuesday, Apr 27 boxscore SFG @ ATL W 6 5 10 15-5 1 up 3.5 Cumberland Priddy Johnson 3:04 N 13,494 +
21 21 Wednesday, Apr 28 boxscore SFG @ ATL W 5 3 16-5 1 up 4.5 Stone Nash McMahon 2:32 N 7,250 ++
22 22 Thursday, Apr 29 boxscore SFG @ ATL W 5 2 13 17-5 1 up 4.5 McMahon Upshaw Cumberland 3:19 N 6,194 +++
23 23 Friday, Apr 30 boxscore SFG @ CIN W 7 5 18-5 1 up 5.5 Johnson Merritt Robertson 3:04 N 21,689 ++++
24 24 Saturday, May 1 boxscore SFG @ CIN L 2 3 18-6 1 up 5.5 Gullett Robertson Granger 2:04 N 17,465 -
25 25 Sunday, May 2 boxscore SFG @ CIN W 4 3 13 19-6 1 up 6.0 Johnson Cloninger 3:21 D 41,869 +
26 26 Tuesday, May 4 boxscore SFG PIT L 2 10 19-7 1 up 5.5 Moose Stone Grant 2:53 N 8,263 -
27 27 Wednesday, May 5 boxscore SFG PIT W 2 1 20-7 1 up 6.5 Marichal Walker 2:02 D 5,212 +
28 28 Friday, May 7 boxscore SFG ATL W 4 3 10 21-7 1 up 7.0 Johnson Stone 2:33 N 11,097 ++
29 29 Saturday, May 8 boxscore SFG ATL L 2 5 21-8 1 up 6.5 Reed Bryant Upshaw 2:19 D 10,751 -
30 30 Sunday, May 9 (1) boxscore SFG ATL W 5 2 22-8 1 up 6.5 Stone Jarvis McMahon 2:28 D 0 +
31 31 Sunday, May 9 (2) boxscore SFG ATL L 5 6 10 22-9 1 up 6.5 Priddy Johnson Upshaw 3:04 D 28,744 -
32 32 Monday, May 10 boxscore SFG CIN W 3 2 23-9 1 up 7.0 Marichal Simpson 2:13 D 4,768 +
33 33 Tuesday, May 11 boxscore SFG CIN W 6 1 24-9 1 up 8.0 Perry Merritt 1:58 N 8,039 ++
34 34 Wednesday, May 12 boxscore SFG CIN W 7 2 25-9 1 up 8.0 Bryant Gullett 2:20 D 5,120 +++
35 35 Friday, May 14 boxscore SFG LAD W 8 4 26-9 1 up 9.0 Johnson Mikkelsen 2:36 N 30,862 ++++
36 36 Saturday, May 15 boxscore SFG LAD W 1 0 27-9 1 up 9.0 Marichal Singer 2:30 D 33,370 +++++
37 37 Sunday, May 16 boxscore SFG LAD L 6 9 27-10 1 up 9.0 Brewer McMahon Moeller 3:31 D 33,981 -
38 38 Tuesday, May 18 boxscore SFG @ CHC W 7 3 28-10 1 up 8.5 Bryant Pappas Johnson 2:46 D 12,600 +
39 39 Wednesday, May 19 boxscore SFG @ CHC L 5 9 28-11 1 up 7.5 Jenkins Stone 2:26 D 10,643 -
40 40 Thursday, May 20 boxscore SFG @ CHC W 8 7 29-11 1 up 8.5 McMahon Tompkins 3:05 D 16,027 +
41 41 Friday, May 21 boxscore SFG @ HOU L 1 4 29-12 1 up 8.5 Dierker Perry Gladding 2:27 N 18,555 -
42 42 Saturday, May 22 boxscore SFG @ HOU L 1 2 12 29-13 1 up 8.5 Culver McMahon 3:04 N 25,893 --
43 43 Sunday, May 23 boxscore SFG @ HOU W 7 4 30-13 1 up 9.0 Bryant Griffin Johnson 2:43 D 23,692 +
44 44 Tuesday, May 25 boxscore SFG @ LAD W 9 1 31-13 1 up 9.5 Marichal Singer 2:48 N 40,042 ++
45 45 Wednesday, May 26 boxscore SFG @ LAD W 6 4 32-13 1 up 9.0 Perry Moeller Cumberland 2:39 N 27,541 +++
46 46 Thursday, May 27 boxscore SFG @ LAD L 1 5 32-14 1 up 8.5 Sutton Bryant 2:28 N 24,723 -
47 47 Friday, May 28 boxscore SFG MON W 3 1 33-14 1 up 9.5 Stone Renko Johnson 2:26 N 5,960 +
48 48 Saturday, May 29 boxscore SFG MON W 8 3 34-14 1 up 9.5 Marichal Morton 2:40 D 8,039 ++
49 49 Sunday, May 30 (1) boxscore SFG MON W 5 4 35-14 1 up10.5 Perry Stoneman Johnson 2:35 D 0 +++
50 50 Sunday, May 30 (2) boxscore SFG MON W 8 7 36-14 1 up10.5 Hamilton Marshall 2:35 D 20,393 ++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Monday, May 31 boxscore SFG NYM W 2 1 11 37-14 1 up10.5 Johnson Koosman 2:45 D 26,087 +++++
52 52 Tuesday, Jun 1 boxscore SFG NYM L 4 5 37-15 1 up10.0 Gentry Stone McGraw 2:58 N 11,287 -
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 2 boxscore SFG NYM L 2 5 37-16 1 up 9.5 Williams Marichal 2:54 D 11,132 --
54 54 Friday, Jun 4 boxscore SFG PHI L 3 5 37-17 1 up 9.5 Short Perry Bunning 2:42 N 9,403 ---
55 55 Saturday, Jun 5 boxscore SFG PHI L 3 5 37-18 1 up 8.5 Hoerner Johnson 2:50 D 10,945 ----
56 56 Sunday, Jun 6 (1) boxscore SFG PHI L 0 1 37-19 1 up 8.0 Wise Stone 2:27 D 0 -----
57 57 Sunday, Jun 6 (2) boxscore SFG PHI W 4 3 12 38-19 1 up 8.0 Robertson Hoerner 3:16 D 33,516 +
58 58 Tuesday, Jun 8 boxscore SFG @ MON L 3 10 38-20 1 up 7.0 Stoneman Marichal 2:39 N 13,861 -
59 59 Wednesday, Jun 9 boxscore SFG @ MON L 0 4 38-21 1 up 7.0 Renko Perry 2:10 N 20,011 --
60 60 Thursday, Jun 10 boxscore SFG @ MON L 1 3 38-22 1 up 7.0 Morton Bryant 3:02 N 16,582 ---
61 61 Friday, Jun 11 boxscore SFG @ NYM W 3 2 10 39-22 1 up 7.0 McMahon McGraw 3:13 N 52,486 +
62 62 Saturday, Jun 12 boxscore SFG @ NYM W 5 1 40-22 1 up 7.0 Reberger Sadecki McMahon 2:25 D 48,918 ++
63 63 Sunday, Jun 13 boxscore SFG @ NYM L 4 5 10 40-23 1 up 6.0 McGraw Hamilton 3:05 D 52,010 -
64 64 Monday, Jun 14 boxscore SFG @ PHI L 4 9 40-24 1 up 5.0 Wise Perry 2:05 N 16,118 --
65 65 Tuesday, Jun 15 boxscore SFG @ PHI W 6 0 41-24 1 up 5.0 Bryant Lersch 2:32 N 21,588 +
66 66 Wednesday, Jun 16 boxscore SFG @ PHI L 3 6 41-25 1 up 5.0 Bunning Stone Hoerner 2:32 N 27,212 -
67 67 Friday, Jun 18 (1) boxscore SFG SDP W 7 3 42-25 1 up 5.5 Marichal Arlin 2:43 N 0 +
68 68 Friday, Jun 18 (2) boxscore SFG SDP W 10 9 43-25 1 up 5.5 Johnson Coombs 3:17 N 14,513 ++
69 69 Saturday, Jun 19 boxscore SFG SDP W 7 4 44-25 1 up 5.5 Johnson Miller 2:56 D 9,255 +++
70 70 Sunday, Jun 20 (1) boxscore SFG SDP W 6 2 45-25 1 up 7.0 McMahon Norman Johnson 2:53 D 0 ++++
71 71 Sunday, Jun 20 (2) boxscore SFG SDP W 2 0 46-25 1 up 7.0 Stone Roberts 2:23 D 21,891 +++++
72 72 Tuesday, Jun 22 boxscore SFG CHC W 2 0 47-25 1 up 7.5 Cumberland Jenkins Johnson 1:53 N 12,526 ++++++
73 73 Wednesday, Jun 23 boxscore SFG CHC W 5 2 48-25 1 up 8.5 Marichal Pappas 2:32 D 12,418 +++++++
74 74 Friday, Jun 25 boxscore SFG @ HOU L 4 5 48-26 1 up 8.0 Ray Perry 2:38 N 24,713 -
75 75 Saturday, Jun 26 boxscore SFG @ HOU W 3 1 49-26 1 up 7.5 Bryant Dierker Hamilton 2:49 N 32,025 +
76 76 Sunday, Jun 27 boxscore SFG @ HOU L 2 5 49-27 1 up 6.5 Forsch Stone 2:46 D 24,908 -
77 77 Monday, Jun 28 boxscore SFG @ SDP L 2 6 49-28 1 up 5.5 Kirby Marichal 2:22 N 9,763 --
78 78 Tuesday, Jun 29 boxscore SFG @ SDP W 6 4 50-28 1 up 6.5 Carrithers Roberts 2:25 N 9,595 +
79 79 Wednesday, Jun 30 boxscore SFG @ SDP L 1 2 50-29 1 up 6.5 Arlin Perry 2:31 N 7,335 -
80 80 Thursday, Jul 1 boxscore SFG STL W 8 7 51-29 1 up 6.5 McMahon Zachary Johnson 3:12 D 7,794 +
81 81 Friday, Jul 2 boxscore SFG STL L 2 7 51-30 1 up 5.5 Gibson Stone 1:59 N 11,268 -
82 82 Saturday, Jul 3 boxscore SFG STL W 10 1 52-30 1 up 5.5 Cumberland Carlton 2:53 D 24,896 +
83 83 Sunday, Jul 4 boxscore SFG LAD L 4 14 52-31 1 up 4.5 Mikkelsen Johnson 3:44 D 30,663 -
84 84 Monday, Jul 5 boxscore SFG LAD L 3 7 52-32 1 up 3.5 Sutton Perry Brewer 3:05 D 29,518 --
85 85 Tuesday, Jul 6 boxscore SFG HOU L 2 5 52-33 1 up 3.5 Billingham Bryant Culver 2:37 N 5,765 ---
86 86 Wednesday, Jul 7 boxscore SFG HOU L 4 18 52-34 1 up 4.0 Dierker Stone Ray 3:01 D 5,791 ----
87 87 Thursday, Jul 8 boxscore SFG HOU W 4 2 53-34 1 up 5.0 Cumberland Wilson 2:01 D 6,849 +
88 88 Friday, Jul 9 boxscore SFG @ LAD W 7 4 54-34 1 up 6.0 McMahon Brewer Johnson 3:08 N 53,564 ++
89 89 Saturday, Jul 10 boxscore SFG @ LAD W 3 1 55-34 1 up 7.0 Perry Sutton Johnson 3:24 D 52,715 +++
90 90 Sunday, Jul 11 boxscore SFG @ LAD L 3 11 55-35 1 up 6.0 Downing Bryant 3:12 D 41,825 -
91 91 Thursday, Jul 15 boxscore SFG @ CIN L 1 2 55-36 1 up 5.0 Gibbon Johnson 2:05 N 21,685 --
92 92 Friday, Jul 16 boxscore SFG @ CIN W 4 3 56-36 1 up 6.0 Perry Nolan Johnson 2:39 N 45,053 +
93 93 Saturday, Jul 17 boxscore SFG @ CIN L 2 3 56-37 1 up 6.0 McGlothlin Marichal 2:17 D 32,823 -
94 94 Sunday, Jul 18 (1) boxscore SFG @ ATL W 5 4 12 57-37 1 up 7.0 Johnson Priddy 3:25 D 0 +
95 95 Sunday, Jul 18 (2) boxscore SFG @ ATL L 2 4 57-38 1 up 7.0 Kelley Stone Jarvis 2:20 D 46,489 -
96 96 Monday, Jul 19 boxscore SFG @ ATL W 11 8 58-38 1 up 7.0 McMahon Priddy Hamilton 3:37 N 13,361 +
97 97 Tuesday, Jul 20 boxscore SFG @ PIT L 7 11 58-39 1 up 7.0 Veale Carrithers Giusti 3:13 N 29,865 -
98 98 Wednesday, Jul 21 boxscore SFG @ PIT W 8 4 59-39 1 up 8.0 Johnson Giusti Hamilton 2:46 N 35,145 +
99 99 Thursday, Jul 22 boxscore SFG @ PIT W 8 7 10 60-39 1 up 8.0 Johnson Moose 3:18 D 33,185 ++
100 100 Friday, Jul 23 boxscore SFG CIN L 2 3 60-40 1 up 8.0 Carroll Cumberland 2:37 N 17,733 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Jul 24 boxscore SFG CIN W 6 1 61-40 1 up 8.0 Carrithers Simpson 2:22 D 26,132 +
102 102 Sunday, Jul 25 (1) boxscore SFG CIN W 7 3 62-40 1 up 8.5 Perry Nolan 2:25 D 0 ++
103 103 Sunday, Jul 25 (2) boxscore SFG CIN L 2 5 62-41 1 up 8.5 Gullett Bryant Carroll 2:30 D 28,792 -
104 104 Tuesday, Jul 27 boxscore SFG ATL L 3 4 62-42 1 up 7.5 Jarvis Marichal Upshaw 2:35 N 9,021 --
105 105 Wednesday, Jul 28 boxscore SFG ATL W 2 1 63-42 1 up 8.5 Cumberland Nash Johnson 2:23 D 7,580 +
106 106 Thursday, Jul 29 boxscore SFG ATL L 2 4 63-43 1 up 8.5 Reed Bryant 2:20 D 7,829 -
107 107 Friday, Jul 30 boxscore SFG PIT W 5 2 64-43 1 up 8.5 Perry Kison 2:13 N 10,088 +
108 108 Saturday, Jul 31 boxscore SFG PIT W 15 11 65-43 1 up 8.5 McMahon Giusti Hamilton 3:15 D 18,834 ++
109 109 Sunday, Aug 1 (1) boxscore SFG PIT W 11 7 66-43 1 up 9.0 Johnson Kison McMahon 2:28 D 0 +++
110 110 Sunday, Aug 1 (2) boxscore SFG PIT W 8 3 67-43 1 up 9.0 Reberger Ellis Carrithers 2:31 D 33,301 ++++
111 111 Monday, Aug 2 boxscore SFG LAD L 4 5 67-44 1 up 8.0 Pena Hamilton Mikkelsen 2:31 N 23,892 -
112 112 Tuesday, Aug 3 boxscore SFG LAD L 1 9 67-45 1 up 7.0 Alexander Bryant 2:54 D 21,226 --
113 113 Wednesday, Aug 4 boxscore SFG @ STL L 2 7 67-46 1 up 7.0 Gibson Perry 2:12 N 27,024 ---
114 114 Thursday, Aug 5 boxscore SFG @ STL L 2 3 67-47 1 up 6.0 Cleveland Marichal Drabowsky 2:12 N 18,641 ----
115 115 Friday, Aug 6 boxscore SFG @ STL L 8 12 67-48 1 up 5.5 Shaw McMahon Patterson 2:37 N 27,192 -----
116 116 Saturday, Aug 7 boxscore SFG @ CHC L &V 5 6 67-49 1 up 5.5 Jenkins Carrithers 2:52 D 36,715 ------
117 117 Sunday, Aug 8 (1) boxscore SFG @ CHC W 4 2 11 68-49 1 up 5.0 Perry Hands 3:29 D 0 +
118 118 Sunday, Aug 8 (2) boxscore SFG @ CHC L 0 8 68-50 1 up 5.0 Pappas Bryant 2:30 D 43,066 -
119 119 Tuesday, Aug 10 boxscore SFG MON W 1 0 69-50 1 up 4.5 Marichal Stoneman 2:35 N 6,879 +
120 120 Wednesday, Aug 11 boxscore SFG MON L 0 5 69-51 1 up 3.5 Renko Cumberland 2:17 D 6,697 -
121 121 Friday, Aug 13 boxscore SFG NYM W 7 3 70-51 1 up 4.0 Perry Sadecki 2:12 N 10,269 +
122 122 Saturday, Aug 14 boxscore SFG NYM W 6 5 10 71-51 1 up 5.0 McMahon McGraw 3:14 D 19,060 ++
123 123 Sunday, Aug 15 boxscore SFG NYM W 6 1 72-51 1 up 6.0 Marichal McAndrew 2:16 D 22,320 +++
124 124 Tuesday, Aug 17 boxscore SFG PHI W 5 1 73-51 1 up 6.5 Perry Reynolds 2:25 N 8,973 ++++
125 125 Wednesday, Aug 18 boxscore SFG PHI W 7 0 74-51 1 up 7.5 Cumberland Wise 2:10 D 10,663 +++++
126 126 Friday, Aug 20 boxscore SFG @ MON L 1 4 74-52 1 up 6.5 Stoneman Marichal 2:09 N 26,122 -
127 127 Saturday, Aug 21 boxscore SFG @ MON L 3 4 10 74-53 1 up 6.5 Marshall Johnson 2:56 N 23,242 --
128 128 Sunday, Aug 22 boxscore SFG @ MON L 3 6 74-54 1 up 6.5 McAnally Barr 2:28 D 28,102 ---
129 129 Monday, Aug 23 boxscore SFG @ NYM W 5 4 75-54 1 up 7.5 Carrithers McAndrew Johnson 2:42 N 42,293 +
130 130 Tuesday, Aug 24 boxscore SFG @ NYM W 3 2 76-54 1 up 7.5 Marichal Sadecki 2:25 N 47,670 ++
131 131 Wednesday, Aug 25 boxscore SFG @ NYM L 1 5 76-55 1 up 6.5 Koosman Perry 2:18 D 44,094 -
132 132 Saturday, Aug 28 (1) boxscore SFG @ PHI W 5 2 77-55 1 up 7.5 Hamilton Fryman Johnson 2:41 N 0 +
133 133 Saturday, Aug 28 (2) boxscore SFG @ PHI L 3 7 77-56 1 up 7.5 Wise Cumberland 2:18 N 33,012 -
134 134 Sunday, Aug 29 boxscore SFG @ PHI W 8 3 78-56 1 up 8.5 Marichal Reynolds 2:52 D 26,825 +
135 135 Tuesday, Aug 31 boxscore SFG ATL W 9 0 79-56 1 up 8.0 Perry Stone 2:44 N 13,615 ++
136 136 Wednesday, Sep 1 boxscore SFG ATL W 4 0 80-56 1 up 8.0 Cumberland Reed 2:10 D 10,760 +++
137 137 Friday, Sep 3 boxscore SFG HOU W 16 6 81-56 1 up 8.5 Barr Ray Johnson 3:24 N 9,120 ++++
138 138 Saturday, Sep 4 boxscore SFG HOU W 1 0 82-56 1 up 8.5 Carrithers Forsch 1:57 D 10,698 +++++
139 139 Sunday, Sep 5 (1) boxscore SFG HOU L 0 1 82-57 1 up 8.0 Billingham Perry 2:44 D 0 -
140 140 Sunday, Sep 5 (2) boxscore SFG HOU L 3 5 82-58 1 up 8.0 Richard Willoughby 2:39 D 25,527 --
141 141 Monday, Sep 6 boxscore SFG @ LAD L 2 5 82-59 1 up 7.0 Sutton Cumberland Brewer 2:24 D 37,002 ---
142 142 Tuesday, Sep 7 boxscore SFG @ LAD L 3 9 82-60 1 up 6.0 Osteen Bryant 2:44 N 36,356 ----
143 143 Wednesday, Sep 8 boxscore SFG @ LAD L 0 3 82-61 1 up 5.0 Singer Marichal Brewer 2:17 N 51,009 -----
144 144 Friday, Sep 10 boxscore SFG @ ATL L 5 7 11 82-62 1 up 3.5 Nash Johnson 3:41 N 8,403 ------
145 145 Saturday, Sep 11 boxscore SFG @ ATL L 4 5 82-63 1 up 3.0 Upshaw McMahon 2:31 N 11,365 -------
146 146 Sunday, Sep 12 boxscore SFG @ ATL W 6 1 83-63 1 up 3.0 Cumberland Stone 2:25 D 15,584 +
147 147 Monday, Sep 13 boxscore SFG LAD L 4 5 83-64 1 up 2.0 Singer Marichal Brewer 2:42 N 31,081 -
148 148 Tuesday, Sep 14 boxscore SFG LAD L 5 6 83-65 1 up 1.0 Moeller Johnson Wilhelm 3:01 N 31,907 --
149 149 Wednesday, Sep 15 boxscore SFG CIN L 2 4 83-66 1 up 1.0 McGlothlin Carrithers 2:22 N 6,488 ---
150 150 Thursday, Sep 16 boxscore SFG CIN L 1 8 83-67 1 up 1.0 Grimsley Cumberland 2:00 D 5,340 ----
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Friday, Sep 17 boxscore SFG SDP W 7 5 84-67 1 up 2.0 Marichal Arlin Johnson 2:31 N 9,331 +
152 152 Saturday, Sep 18 boxscore SFG SDP L 1 2 84-68 1 up 2.0 Kirby Perry 2:20 D 10,093 -
153 153 Sunday, Sep 19 boxscore SFG SDP W 4 1 85-68 1 up 1.5 Carrithers Roberts Johnson 2:22 D 31,135 +
154 154 Tuesday, Sep 21 boxscore SFG @ HOU L 1 3 85-69 1 up 1.5 Billingham Cumberland 1:52 N 7,777 -
155 155 Wednesday, Sep 22 boxscore SFG @ HOU W 3 1 86-69 1 up 2.5 Marichal Griffin 2:44 N 11,208 +
156 156 Thursday, Sep 23 boxscore SFG @ HOU W 2 1 87-69 1 up 3.0 Perry Wilson 2:06 N 12,281 ++
157 157 Friday, Sep 24 boxscore SFG @ CIN L 5 6 87-70 1 up 2.0 Carroll Johnson 2:32 N 17,105 -
158 158 Saturday, Sep 25 boxscore SFG @ CIN L 5 6 87-71 1 up 1.0 Sprague McMahon 2:20 D 18,107 --
159 159 Sunday, Sep 26 boxscore SFG @ CIN W 12 5 88-71 1 up 1.0 Marichal Nolan 2:35 D 45,072 +
160 160 Tuesday, Sep 28 boxscore SFG @ SDP W 7 1 89-71 1 up 1.0 Perry Acosta 2:38 N 13,242 ++
161 161 Wednesday, Sep 29 boxscore SFG @ SDP L 1 4 10 89-72 1 up 1.0 Kirby Johnson 2:39 N 17,134 -
162 162 Thursday, Sep 30 boxscore SFG @ SDP W 5 1 90-72 1 up 1.0 Marichal Roberts 2:14 N 34,861 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
NLCS Game 1 Saturday, Oct 2 boxscore SFG PIT W 5 4 1-0 Perry Blass 2:44 D 40,977
NLCS Game 2 Sunday, Oct 3 boxscore SFG PIT L 4 9 1-1 Ellis Cumberland 3:23 D 42,562
NLCS Game 3 Tuesday, Oct 5 boxscore SFG @ PIT L 1 2 1-2 Johnson Marichal 2:26 D 38,222
NLCS Game 4 Wednesday, Oct 6 boxscore SFG @ PIT L 5 9 1-3 Kison Perry 3:00 D 35,487
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1970 / 1972 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits