Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1997 Schedule and Results

Len Kasper, Cubs play-by-play announcer:I will begin with the best baseball website every created, Baseball-Reference....

1997 Pittsburgh Pirates

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1996 / 1998

79-83, Finished 2nd in NL Central (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Gene Lamont (79-83)
GM: Cam Bonifay, Scouting Dir: Leland Maddox
Scored 725 runs, Allowed 760 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 78-84

Ballparks: Three Rivers Stadium · Attendance: 1,657,022 (12th of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 103, Pitching - 103 · one-year: Batting - 103, Pitching - 104

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
News & ViewsThinkFactory
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1996 / 1998 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 79-83, Final Rank:2, GB: 5.0
Days in First32last on Thursday, Jul 17, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 38last on Jul 17, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead1.5last on Saturday, Jun 7, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind6.5last on Tuesday, Aug 12, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5004last on Friday, May 9
Most Games under .5007last on Sunday, Sep 14
Longest Winning Streak7Monday, Jun 30 to Sunday, Jul 6
Longest Losing Streak6Tuesday, Jun 17 to Sunday, Jun 22
Most Runs Allowed14Sunday, Apr 13
Most Runs Scored15Wednesday, May 14
Longest Game (innings)13Sunday, Jul 27
Times Shutout by Opponent7 
Times Opponent Shutout8 
Walkoff Wins6 
Walkoff Losses9 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 79 83 725 760 .488
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 43 38 365 395 .531
Road 36 45 360 365 .444
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 12 13 91 123 .480
May 14 14 127 122 .500
June 11 16 119 135 .407
July 16 12 123 122 .571
August 15 14 136 147 .517
September 11 14 129 111 .440
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 43 43 366 396 .500
Second Half 36 40 359 364 .474
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 73 77 663 702 .487
ExtraInning 6 6 62 58 .500
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 22 21 166 165 .512
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 22 26 263 292 .458
Inter-League Play
SplitWLRSRAWP
Inter-Lg 7 8 49 74 .467
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 6 5 35 45 .545
CHC 5 7 41 44 .417
CHW 3 0 9 21.000
CIN 4 8 53 65 .333
CLE 1 2 14 18 .333
COL 7 4 84 62 .636
FLA 4 7 41 58 .364
HOU 6 6 45 53 .500
KCR 1 2 9 19 .333
LAD 2 9 33 66 .182
MIL 1 2 6 8 .333
MIN 1 2 11 27 .333
MON 6 5 65 44 .545
NYM 4 7 53 60 .364
PHI 6 5 55 50 .545
SDP 5 6 41 49 .455
SFG 8 3 62 47 .727
STL 9 3 68 43 .750

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 1 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 5 2 1-0 1 Tied Ruebel Rodriguez Ericks 3:04 D 41,996 +
2 2 Thursday, Apr 3 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 5 7 1-1 3 0.5 Fernandez Cooke Beck 3:25 N 8,099 -
3 3 Friday, Apr 4 boxscore PIT @ LAD L 3 5 1-2 3 1.5 Candiotti Wainhouse Worrell 2:43 N 37,284 --
4 4 Saturday, Apr 5 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 3 1 2-2 3 1.5 Cordova Park Ericks 2:41 N 41,099 +
5 5 Sunday, Apr 6 boxscore PIT @ LAD L 3 6 2-3 3 2.5 Dreifort Rincon Worrell 3:00 D 37,493 -
6 6 Monday, Apr 7 boxscore PIT @ SDP L-wo 2 3 10 2-4 3 3.0 Veras Ruebel 3:00 N 29,895 --
7 7 Tuesday, Apr 8 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 2 0 3-4 2 2.0 Cooke Bergman Ericks 2:20 N 14,278 +
8 8 Wednesday, Apr 9 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 4 2 4-4 2 1.0 Loaiza Worrell Ericks 2:43 N 24,735 ++
9 9 Friday, Apr 11 boxscore PIT LAD L 1 7 4-5 2 1.5 Martinez Cordova 2:27 N 43,126 -
10 10 Sunday, Apr 13 boxscore PIT LAD L 5 14 4-6 3 2.0 Nomo Schmidt 3:04 D 14,885 --
11 11 Tuesday, Apr 15 boxscore PIT SDP W-wo 3 2 5-6 2 1.5 Ericks Ashby 2:23 N 6,851 +
12 12 Wednesday, Apr 16 boxscore PIT SDP L 5 7 5-7 2 2.5 Valenzuela Cooke Hoffman 3:08 N 6,777 -
13 13 Thursday, Apr 17 boxscore PIT CIN W 3 2 6-7 2 2.0 Loaiza Morgan Ericks 2:53 N 6,039 +
14 14 Friday, Apr 18 boxscore PIT CIN L 1 6 6-8 2 2.0 Burba Cordova 2:57 N 9,082 -
15 15 Saturday, Apr 19 boxscore PIT CIN W-wo 6 5 7-8 2 2.0 Rincon Remlinger 3:05 D 11,457 +
16 16 Sunday, Apr 20 boxscore PIT CIN W 5 3 8-8 2 2.0 Lieber Mercker Ericks 2:40 D 14,542 ++
17 17 Monday, Apr 21 boxscore PIT PHI L 2 10 8-9 2 2.5 Schilling Cooke 2:18 D 9,015 -
18 18 Wednesday, Apr 23 boxscore PIT PHI W 3 2 9-9 2 3.0 Rincon Spradlin 2:42 N 8,850 +
19 19 Thursday, Apr 24 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 4 3 10-9 2 2.5 Loiselle Rojas 2:55 N 21,787 ++
20 20 Friday, Apr 25 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 1 11 10-10 2 3.5 Foster Lieber 2:16 D 18,333 -
21 21 Saturday, Apr 26 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 6 7 10-11 2 3.5 Patterson Rincon Rojas 3:31 D 29,323 --
22 22 Sunday, Apr 27 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 7 0 11-11 2 2.5 Schmidt Telemaco 2:43 D 21,083 +
23 23 Monday, Apr 28 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 9 4 12 12-11 2 1.5 Wilkins Mimbs 3:41 N 12,017 ++
24 24 Tuesday, Apr 29 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 2 8 12-12 2 2.5 Maduro Ruebel 2:47 N 12,453 -
25 25 Wednesday, Apr 30 boxscore PIT SFG L 1 6 12-13 2 2.5 Gardner Lieber 2:00 N 10,073 --
26 26 Thursday, May 1 boxscore PIT SFG W 3 2 13-13 2 1.5 Cooke Estes Rincon 2:38 D 10,507 +
27 27 Friday, May 2 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 3 2 14-13 2 1.5 Peters Bielecki Loiselle 2:26 N 37,577 ++
28 28 Saturday, May 3 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 3 0 15-13 2 0.5 Loaiza Glavine Rincon 2:37 N 46,602 +++
29 29 Sunday, May 4 boxscore PIT @ ATL L 1 3 15-14 2 1.5 Wade Cordova Wohlers 2:39 D 42,037 -
30 30 Monday, May 5 boxscore PIT @ FLA L 0 3 15-15 2 2.5 Helling Lieber Nen 2:17 N 16,616 --
31 31 Tuesday, May 6 boxscore PIT @ FLA W 4 0 16-15 2 1.5 Cooke Fernandez 2:25 N 18,063 +
32 32 Wednesday, May 7 boxscore PIT @ COL W 14 3 17-15 2 0.5 Wilkins Thompson 3:11 N 48,056 ++
33 33 Thursday, May 8 boxscore PIT @ COL W 10 8 18-15 2 0.5 Loaiza Wright Loiselle 3:20 D 48,050 +++
34 34 Friday, May 9 boxscore PIT ATL W 9 0 19-15 1 up 0.5 Cordova Wade 2:29 N 18,006 ++++
35 35 Saturday, May 10 boxscore PIT ATL L 3 9 19-16 2 0.5 Neagle Lieber 2:36 N 34,143 -
36 36 Sunday, May 11 boxscore PIT ATL L 2 8 19-17 2 0.5 Smoltz Cooke 2:38 D 29,895 --
37 37 Monday, May 12 boxscore PIT ATL L 2 10 19-18 2 0.5 Maddux Schmidt 2:40 N 12,114 ---
38 38 Wednesday, May 14 boxscore PIT COL W 15 10 20-18 1 Tied Wilkins Reed 3:28 N 11,841 +
39 39 Thursday, May 15 boxscore PIT COL W 4 3 21-18 1 up 0.5 Cordova Bailey Rincon 2:13 N 8,548 ++
40 40 Friday, May 16 boxscore PIT FLA L 1 3 21-19 2 0.5 Fernandez Lieber Nen 2:10 N 17,156 -
41 41 Saturday, May 17 boxscore PIT FLA L 1 11 21-20 2 0.5 Rapp Cooke 2:52 N 32,066 --
42 42 Sunday, May 18 boxscore PIT FLA L 3 5 10 21-21 2 0.5 Nen Loiselle Stanifer 3:05 D 28,702 ---
43 43 Tuesday, May 20 boxscore PIT @ STL L 1 3 21-22 2 1.0 Jackson Loaiza Eckersley 2:27 N 25,990 ----
44 44 Wednesday, May 21 boxscore PIT @ STL W 3 2 22-22 2 1.0 Ruebel Fossas Loiselle 2:57 D 34,738 +
45 45 Thursday, May 22 boxscore PIT @ MON W 9 3 23-22 2 0.5 Lieber Perez Rincon 2:47 N 12,620 ++
46 46 Friday, May 23 boxscore PIT @ MON L 1 4 23-23 2 0.5 Martinez Cooke 2:04 N 18,499 -
47 47 Saturday, May 24 boxscore PIT @ MON L 3 7 23-24 2 1.5 Juden Schmidt Urbina 2:44 N 26,154 --
48 48 Sunday, May 25 boxscore PIT @ MON W 8 6 24-24 2 0.5 Wilkins Daal Loiselle 3:02 D 27,253 +
49 49 Monday, May 26 boxscore PIT CHC L 1 2 24-25 2 0.5 Foster Cordova Adams 2:26 D 20,609 -
50 50 Tuesday, May 27 boxscore PIT CHC L 7 8 24-26 2 0.5 Gonzalez Lieber Adams 2:54 N 9,641 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, May 28 boxscore PIT CHC W 4 1 25-26 1 Tied Cooke Mulholland 2:14 N 10,198 +
52 52 Friday, May 30 boxscore PIT MON W 10 2 26-26 1 up 0.5 Peters Juden 2:58 N 14,676 ++
53 53 Saturday, May 31 boxscore PIT MON L 2 4 26-27 1 up 0.5 Hermanson Loaiza Urbina 2:21 N 14,628 -
54 54 Sunday, Jun 1 boxscore PIT MON W 11 2 27-27 1 up 1.5 Cordova Bullinger 2:40 D 25,752 +
55 55 Monday, Jun 2 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 2 3 27-28 1 up 0.5 Mulholland Lieber Adams 2:35 N 21,773 -
56 56 Tuesday, Jun 3 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 3 1 28-28 1 up 0.5 Cooke Trachsel Loiselle 2:34 D 17,317 +
57 57 Wednesday, Jun 4 boxscore PIT STL L 0 10 28-29 2 0.5 Benes Schmidt 3:10 N 19,181 -
58 58 Thursday, Jun 5 boxscore PIT STL W 9 3 29-29 1 up 0.5 Loaiza Stottlemyre 2:24 D 11,382 +
59 59 Friday, Jun 6 boxscore PIT PHI W-wo 5 4 10 30-29 1 up 0.5 Wilkins Spradlin 3:24 N 15,165 ++
60 60 Saturday, Jun 7 boxscore PIT PHI W 9 2 31-29 1 up 1.5 Lieber Nye 2:54 N 25,664 +++
61 61 Sunday, Jun 8 boxscore PIT PHI L 2 3 31-30 1 up 0.5 Schilling Cooke Bottalico 2:40 D 30,667 -
62 62 Tuesday, Jun 10 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 5 8 31-31 1 Tied Remlinger Rincon Shaw 2:50 N 18,556 --
63 63 Wednesday, Jun 11 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 1 2 31-32 1 Tied Tomko Loaiza Shaw 2:21 N 20,854 ---
64 64 Friday, Jun 13 boxscore PIT KCR W 5 3 32-32 1 up 1.0 Cordova Williams Loiselle 2:32 N 33,253 +
65 65 Saturday, Jun 14 boxscore PIT KCR L 3 8 32-33 1 up 1.0 Belcher Lieber Montgomery 2:47 N 39,509 -
66 66 Sunday, Jun 15 boxscore PIT KCR L 1 8 32-34 1 Tied Appier Cooke 2:41 D 35,774 --
67 67 Monday, Jun 16 boxscore PIT @ MIN W 8 6 33-34 1 up 1.0 Schmidt Aldred Loiselle 2:41 N 16,007 +
68 68 Tuesday, Jun 17 boxscore PIT @ MIN L 1 13 33-35 1 Tied Hawkins Loaiza 2:31 N 14,894 -
69 69 Wednesday, Jun 18 boxscore PIT @ MIN L 2 8 33-36 1 Tied Radke Cordova 2:36 D 15,688 --
70 70 Thursday, Jun 19 boxscore PIT @ NYM L-wo 6 7 33-37 2 0.5 Franco Rincon 2:37 N 15,492 ---
71 71 Friday, Jun 20 boxscore PIT @ NYM L 0 1 33-38 2 1.5 Jones Cooke Franco 2:29 N 18,737 ----
72 72 Saturday, Jun 21 boxscore PIT @ NYM L 2 3 33-39 2 2.5 Mlicki Wilkins McMichael 2:36 D 32,908 -----
73 73 Sunday, Jun 22 boxscore PIT @ NYM L-wo 9 12 10 33-40 3 3.5 Kashiwada Peters 3:28 D 23,247 ------
74 74 Monday, Jun 23 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 6 0 34-40 2 2.5 Cordova Garcia 2:24 N 16,738 +
75 75 Tuesday, Jun 24 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 8 3 35-40 2 1.5 Lieber Wall 2:44 N 17,972 ++
76 76 Wednesday, Jun 25 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 1 5 35-41 3 2.5 Kile Sodowsky 2:30 D 26,954 -
77 77 Friday, Jun 27 boxscore PIT NYM W 6 1 36-41 2 2.0 Schmidt Mlicki 2:37 N 18,103 +
78 78 Saturday, Jun 28 boxscore PIT NYM L 3 8 36-42 3 2.0 Reynoso Loaiza 2:47 N 23,711 -
79 79 Sunday, Jun 29 boxscore PIT NYM L 8 10 36-43 3 3.0 Jordan Peters Franco 2:47 D 26,499 --
80 80 Monday, Jun 30 boxscore PIT CHW W 3 1 37-43 3 2.0 Lieber Darwin 2:29 N 28,070 +
81 81 Tuesday, Jul 1 boxscore PIT CHW W 3 0 38-43 3 2.0 Cooke Baldwin Loiselle 2:18 N 22,163 ++
82 82 Wednesday, Jul 2 boxscore PIT CHW W 3 1 39-43 3 2.0 Schmidt Navarro 2:31 N 25,772 +++
83 83 Thursday, Jul 3 boxscore PIT @ STL W 6 4 40-43 2 1.0 Loaiza Valenzuela Loiselle 3:09 N 30,753 ++++
84 84 Friday, Jul 4 boxscore PIT @ STL W 7 5 10 41-43 1 Tied Wilkins Eckersley Loiselle 3:16 D 33,885 +++++
85 85 Saturday, Jul 5 boxscore PIT @ STL W 4 3 42-43 1 up 1.0 Lieber Morris Wilkins 2:51 D 39,593 ++++++
86 86 Sunday, Jul 6 boxscore PIT @ STL W 6 3 43-43 1 up 1.0 Cooke Stottlemyre 2:44 D 29,290 +++++++
87 87 Thursday, Jul 10 boxscore PIT HOU L 0 7 43-44 1 Tied Kile Schmidt 2:39 N 17,335 -
88 88 Friday, Jul 11 boxscore PIT HOU L 0 10 43-45 2 1.0 Hampton Loaiza 2:37 N 21,913 --
89 89 Saturday, Jul 12 boxscore PIT HOU W-wo 3 0 10 44-45 1 Tied Rincon Hudek 2:39 N 44,119 +
90 90 Sunday, Jul 13 boxscore PIT HOU W 5 3 45-45 1 up 1.0 Sodowsky Springer Loiselle 3:03 D 25,675 ++
91 91 Monday, Jul 14 boxscore PIT NYM W 5 4 46-45 1 up 1.0 Rincon McMichael Loiselle 2:30 N 12,794 +++
92 92 Tuesday, Jul 15 boxscore PIT NYM W 4 3 47-45 1 up 1.0 Christiansen Acevedo Loiselle 2:45 N 12,244 ++++
93 93 Wednesday, Jul 16 boxscore PIT CIN L 3 7 47-46 1 Tied Burba Loaiza 2:31 N 30,698 -
94 94 Thursday, Jul 17 boxscore PIT CIN L 5 9 47-47 1 Tied Smiley Cordova 2:52 N 19,710 --
95 95 Friday, Jul 18 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 6 8 47-48 2 1.0 Leiter Lieber Bottalico 3:22 N 19,676 ---
96 96 Saturday, Jul 19 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 13 3 48-48 2 1.0 Cooke Green 2:53 D 17,472 +
97 97 Sunday, Jul 20 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 1 4 48-49 2 2.0 Stephenson Schmidt Bottalico 2:48 D 20,431 -
98 98 Monday, Jul 21 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 3 2 49-49 2 1.5 Loaiza Schilling Loiselle 3:04 D 19,303 +
99 99 Tuesday, Jul 22 boxscore PIT @ SDP L-wo 2 3 49-50 2 2.5 Hoffman Loiselle 2:44 N 18,306 -
100 100 Wednesday, Jul 23 boxscore PIT @ SDP L 1 9 49-51 2 3.5 Smith Lieber 2:28 N 16,151 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Jul 24 boxscore PIT @ SDP L 6 8 49-52 2 4.5 Bruske Sodowsky Hoffman 2:49 D 18,715 ---
102 102 Friday, Jul 25 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 5 2 50-52 2 4.5 Schmidt Rueter Loiselle 3:03 N 14,236 +
103 103 Saturday, Jul 26 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 10 3 51-52 2 4.5 Loaiza Creek 3:34 D 25,962 ++
104 104 Sunday, Jul 27 (1) boxscore PIT @ SFG L-wo 5 6 13 51-53 2 5.0 Henry Wilkins 4:03 D 0 -
105 105 Sunday, Jul 27 (2) boxscore PIT @ SFG W 10 7 52-53 2 5.0 Cordova VanLandingham 3:18 D 38,866 +
106 106 Monday, Jul 28 boxscore PIT @ LAD L 2 4 52-54 2 5.0 Valdez Lieber Worrell 2:55 N 53,503 -
107 107 Tuesday, Jul 29 boxscore PIT @ LAD L 1 3 52-55 2 6.0 Astacio Cooke Worrell 2:39 D 43,791 --
108 108 Thursday, Jul 31 boxscore PIT COL W 4 1 53-55 2 6.0 Schmidt Bailey Loiselle 2:27 N 16,654 +
109 109 Friday, Aug 1 boxscore PIT COL L 6 7 53-56 2 6.0 Reed Rincon Dipoto 2:51 N 22,657 -
110 110 Saturday, Aug 2 boxscore PIT COL W 6 5 54-56 2 6.0 Cordova Swift Loiselle 2:53 D 32,388 +
111 111 Sunday, Aug 3 boxscore PIT COL W 8 4 55-56 2 6.0 Ruebel Reed 2:43 D 24,989 ++
112 112 Monday, Aug 4 boxscore PIT ATL L 0 6 55-57 2 6.0 Smoltz Cooke 2:35 N 21,609 -
113 113 Tuesday, Aug 5 boxscore PIT ATL W 5 4 56-57 2 5.0 Schmidt Glavine Loiselle 2:30 N 20,069 +
114 114 Wednesday, Aug 6 boxscore PIT FLA L 3 12 56-58 2 5.0 Brown Loaiza 3:14 N 32,594 -
115 115 Thursday, Aug 7 boxscore PIT FLA W 5 1 57-58 2 4.0 Wilkins Leiter 3:18 D 18,042 +
116 116 Friday, Aug 8 boxscore PIT @ COL L 3 5 57-59 2 4.0 Wright Lieber Dipoto 3:01 N 48,262 -
117 117 Saturday, Aug 9 boxscore PIT @ COL L-wo 7 8 57-60 2 5.0 Munoz Rincon 3:24 D 48,323 --
118 118 Sunday, Aug 10 boxscore PIT @ COL L 7 8 57-61 2 6.0 Leskanic Wilkins Dipoto 2:42 D 48,018 ---
119 119 Tuesday, Aug 12 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 5 2 58-61 2 6.5 Sodowsky Wohlers Loiselle 3:25 N 42,435 +
120 120 Wednesday, Aug 13 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 2 1 59-61 2 5.5 Lieber Smoltz Loiselle 2:30 N 40,793 ++
121 121 Friday, Aug 15 boxscore PIT @ FLA L-wo 5 6 59-62 2 5.5 Powell Loiselle 3:27 N 26,092 -
122 122 Saturday, Aug 16 boxscore PIT @ FLA W 10 5 60-62 2 4.5 Cordova Saunders 3:19 N 40,031 +
123 123 Sunday, Aug 17 boxscore PIT @ FLA L 2 10 60-63 2 5.5 Brown Cooke 2:33 D 38,221 -
124 124 Monday, Aug 18 boxscore PIT @ FLA W 7 2 61-63 2 5.0 Loaiza Alfonseca 3:01 N 30,200 +
125 125 Tuesday, Aug 19 boxscore PIT SDP W 5 3 62-63 2 4.0 Lieber Smith Loiselle 2:32 N 12,411 ++
126 126 Wednesday, Aug 20 boxscore PIT SDP W 7 3 63-63 2 3.0 Schmidt Ashby 2:45 N 10,222 +++
127 127 Thursday, Aug 21 boxscore PIT SDP L 4 9 63-64 2 4.0 Hitchcock Cordova 3:06 N 13,129 -
128 128 Friday, Aug 22 boxscore PIT SFG W 3 2 64-64 2 4.0 Cooke Rueter Loiselle 2:14 N 18,562 +
129 129 Saturday, Aug 23 boxscore PIT SFG W 6 4 65-64 2 3.0 Loaiza Darwin Loiselle 3:15 N 42,502 ++
130 130 Sunday, Aug 24 boxscore PIT SFG W 9 6 66-64 2 3.0 Christiansen Henry Wilkins 3:16 D 33,363 +++
131 131 Monday, Aug 25 (1) boxscore PIT LAD L 2 8 66-65 2 3.0 Martinez Schmidt Guthrie 2:46 N 0 -
132 132 Monday, Aug 25 (2) boxscore PIT LAD W-wo 4 3 67-65 2 3.0 Wilkins Worrell 2:42 N 14,018 +
133 133 Tuesday, Aug 26 boxscore PIT LAD L 4 6 67-66 2 3.0 Dreifort Rincon 2:56 N 13,689 -
134 134 Wednesday, Aug 27 boxscore PIT LAD L 5 9 67-67 2 4.0 Reyes Cooke 2:36 D 48,032 --
135 135 Friday, Aug 29 boxscore PIT @ MIL L 1 4 67-68 2 3.5 Karl Loaiza Jones 2:29 N 17,539 ---
136 136 Saturday, Aug 30 boxscore PIT @ MIL W 3 1 68-68 2 2.5 Lieber Mercedes Loiselle 2:24 N 23,673 +
137 137 Sunday, Aug 31 boxscore PIT @ MIL L-wo 2 3 68-69 2 2.5 Jones Wilkins 2:52 D 32,541 -
138 138 Monday, Sep 1 boxscore PIT CLE L 5 7 68-70 2 2.5 Ogea Cooke Mesa 3:02 D 45,298 --
139 139 Tuesday, Sep 2 boxscore PIT CLE W 6 4 69-70 2 1.5 Silva Wright Loiselle 2:50 N 43,380 +
140 140 Wednesday, Sep 3 boxscore PIT CLE L 3 7 69-71 2 2.5 Hershiser Loaiza 3:00 N 37,513 -
141 141 Thursday, Sep 4 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 2 5 69-72 2 3.5 Morgan Lieber Shaw 2:11 N 15,136 --
142 142 Friday, Sep 5 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 6 8 69-73 2 3.5 Sullivan Wilkins Shaw 2:41 N 21,492 ---
143 143 Saturday, Sep 6 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 13 4 70-73 2 2.5 Cordova Remlinger 3:07 D 20,383 +
144 144 Sunday, Sep 7 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 3 6 70-74 2 2.5 Burba Silva Shaw 2:36 D 19,682 -
145 145 Tuesday, Sep 9 boxscore PIT @ MON L-wo 4 5 10 70-75 2 3.5 Urbina Loiselle 3:09 N 8,782 --
146 146 Wednesday, Sep 10 boxscore PIT @ MON L 4 5 70-76 2 3.5 Martinez Lieber Urbina 2:25 N 10,139 ---
147 147 Friday, Sep 12 boxscore PIT CHC W 3 1 71-76 2 3.5 Schmidt Batista Loiselle 2:41 N 13,833 +
148 148 Saturday, Sep 13 boxscore PIT CHC L 1 4 71-77 2 4.5 Trachsel Cordova Adams 2:52 N 21,505 -
149 149 Sunday, Sep 14 boxscore PIT CHC L 2 3 71-78 2 4.5 Clark Rincon Adams 2:35 D 20,120 --
150 150 Monday, Sep 15 boxscore PIT MON W-wo 5 4 10 72-78 2 3.5 Wilkins Telford 3:11 N 7,736 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 16 boxscore PIT MON W 8 2 73-78 2 3.5 Lieber Johnson 2:12 N 8,010 ++
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 17 boxscore PIT HOU L 4 8 73-79 2 4.5 Reynolds Schmidt 2:52 N 27,422 -
153 153 Thursday, Sep 18 boxscore PIT HOU W 12 3 74-79 2 3.5 Cordova Kile 2:57 N 14,852 +
154 154 Friday, Sep 19 boxscore PIT STL L 5 6 11 74-80 2 3.5 King Loiselle Eckersley 4:06 N 16,235 -
155 155 Saturday, Sep 20 boxscore PIT STL W 10 1 75-80 2 3.5 Loaiza Beltran 2:40 N 21,053 +
156 156 Sunday, Sep 21 boxscore PIT STL W 14 2 76-80 2 3.5 Lieber Busby 2:30 D 26,247 ++
157 157 Monday, Sep 22 boxscore PIT STL W 3 1 77-80 2 3.5 Schmidt Morris Loiselle 2:16 N 17,919 +++
158 158 Tuesday, Sep 23 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 5 4 78-80 2 3.5 Silva Lidle Loiselle 3:16 N 14,670 ++++
159 159 Wednesday, Sep 24 boxscore PIT @ NYM L 5 7 78-81 2 3.5 Crawford Cooke Rojas 2:56 N 13,195 -
160 160 Friday, Sep 26 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 0 2 78-82 2 5.0 Garcia Loaiza Wagner 2:18 N 37,850 --
161 161 Saturday, Sep 27 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 1 8 78-83 2 6.0 Reynolds Schmidt 2:45 N 36,170 ---
162 162 Sunday, Sep 28 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 5 4 11 79-83 2 5.0 Christiansen Henriquez Loiselle 2:58 D 30,606 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1996 / 1998 Schedule and Results