Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1983 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1983 Pittsburgh Pirates

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1982 / 1984

84-78, Finished 2nd in NL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Chuck Tanner (84-78)
GM: Harding Peterson, Farm Dir: Branch Rickey III
Scored 659 runs, Allowed 648 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 82-80

Ballparks: Three Rivers Stadium · Attendance: 1,225,916 (10th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 103, Pitching - 102 · one-year: Batting - 103, Pitching - 103

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1982 / 1984 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 84-78, Final Rank:2, GB: 6.0
Days in First39last on Saturday, Sep 17, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 45last on Sep 17, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead2.5last on Wednesday, Aug 3, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind8.5last on Sunday, Jun 19, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5009last on Saturday, Sep 24
Most Games under .50013last on Sunday, Jun 19
Longest Winning Streak9Monday, Jun 20 to Monday, Jun 27
Longest Losing Streak6Tuesday, May 31 to Sunday, Jun 5
Most Runs Allowed14Sunday, Jun 19 and Monday, Aug 8
Most Runs Scored10Sunday, Apr 10, Saturday, Jun 25, Tuesday, Jul 26, Wednesday, Jul 27, Tuesday, Aug 2 and Friday, Sep 23
Longest Game (innings)14Monday, May 9
Times Shutout by Opponent7 
Times Opponent Shutout14 
Walkoff Wins6 
Walkoff Losses8 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 84 78 659 648 .519
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 41 40 335 336 .506
Road 43 38 324 312 .531
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 8 9 62 65 .471
May 10 15 81 122 .400
June 14 15 126 131 .483
July 22 10 149 123 .688
August 14 14 101 104 .500
September 15 14 133 98 .517
October 1 1 7 5 .500
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 34 42 292 349 .447
Second Half 50 36 367 299 .581
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 78 68 588 572 .534
ExtraInning 6 10 71 76 .375
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 24 30 181 187 .444
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 17 18 171 192 .486
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 6 6 49 51 .500
CHC 9 9 87 76 .500
CIN 6 6 41 43 .500
HOU 6 6 43 50 .500
LAD 6 6 43 40 .500
MON 10 8 71 68 .556
NYM 9 9 63 65 .500
PHI 7 11 71 88 .389
SDP 9 3 58 44 .750
SFG 6 6 40 48 .500
STL 10 8 93 75 .556

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 5 boxscore PIT @ STL W 7 1 1-0 1 Tied Candelaria Forsch 2:22 D 43,509 +
2 2 Thursday, Apr 7 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 3 2 2-0 1 Tied Scurry Knepper 2:45 N 7,741 ++
3 3 Friday, Apr 8 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 5 3 3-0 1 Tied Scurry DiPino Bibby 3:02 N 10,862 +++
4 4 Saturday, Apr 9 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 1 0 4-0 1 Tied McWilliams Niekro 2:15 N 13,856 ++++
5 5 Sunday, Apr 10 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 10 8 5-0 1 up 1.0 Bibby Solano Scurry 2:44 D 7,668 +++++
6 6 Tuesday, Apr 12 boxscore PIT STL L 3 4 10 5-1 1 up 1.0 Sutter Bibby Rasmussen 3:18 D 46,869 -
7 7 Wednesday, Apr 13 boxscore PIT STL L 1 9 5-2 1 up 0.5 Andujar Tunnell 2:44 D 4,126 --
8 8 Saturday, Apr 16 boxscore PIT CHC L 5 6 5-3 3 1.5 Hernandez McWilliams Smith 2:43 D 5,494 ---
9 9 Sunday, Apr 17 boxscore PIT CHC W 7 0 6-3 2 1.0 Candelaria Trout Rhoden 1:57 D 14,285 +
10 10 Wednesday, Apr 20 (1) boxscore PIT @ NYM L 0 6 6-4 4 2.0 Seaver McWilliams 2:32 N 0 -
11 11 Wednesday, Apr 20 (2) boxscore PIT @ NYM L 5 7 6-5 4 2.0 Diaz Tekulve Allen 2:42 N 4,041 --
12 12 Friday, Apr 22 boxscore PIT LAD L 2 4 6-6 4 2.0 Reuss Rhoden Pena 2:22 N 8,846 ---
13 13 Saturday, Apr 23 boxscore PIT LAD L 2 3 6-7 4 3.0 Welch Candelaria Howe 2:31 D 8,187 ----
14 14 Tuesday, Apr 26 boxscore PIT SFG W 3 0 7-7 4 2.0 McWilliams Breining 2:10 N 7,103 +
15 15 Wednesday, Apr 27 boxscore PIT SFG L 2 3 7-8 4 2.5 Laskey Rhoden Minton 2:27 D 5,267 -
16 16 Saturday, Apr 30 (1) boxscore PIT SDP L 4 8 7-9 4 2.5 Hawkins Candelaria 2:29 D 0 --
17 17 Saturday, Apr 30 (2) boxscore PIT SDP W 2 1 8-9 4 2.5 McWilliams DeLeon Scurry 2:27 N 19,593 +
18 18 Monday, May 2 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 5 1 9-9 4 2.5 Rhoden Reuss 2:15 N 39,765 ++
19 19 Tuesday, May 3 boxscore PIT @ LAD L 4 5 9-10 4 3.0 Pena Bibby Howe 2:36 N 34,624 -
20 20 Wednesday, May 4 boxscore PIT @ LAD L-wo 2 3 9-11 4 4.0 Niedenfuer Sarmiento 2:52 N 35,757 --
21 21 Friday, May 6 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 1 2 9-12 4 5.0 McGaffigan Candelaria Lavelle 2:40 N 16,476 ---
22 22 Saturday, May 7 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 1 5 9-13 4 5.0 Breining Rhoden 2:10 D 10,874 ----
23 23 Sunday, May 8 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 1 12 9-14 4 5.5 Laskey Bibby 2:30 D 19,123 -----
24 24 Monday, May 9 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 5 3 14 10-14 4 5.0 Sarmiento Couchee 4:02 N 17,885 +
25 25 Tuesday, May 10 boxscore PIT @ SDP L 1 4 10-15 4 6.0 Hawkins Scurry 2:20 N 9,965 -
26 26 Thursday, May 12 boxscore PIT NYM W 6 2 11-15 4 4.5 Candelaria Torrez 2:20 N 7,944 +
27 27 Friday, May 13 boxscore PIT NYM W-wo 2 1 12-15 4 3.5 Tekulve Diaz 2:38 N 11,000 ++
28 28 Saturday, May 14 boxscore PIT NYM L 2 6 12-16 4 4.0 Allen McWilliams Orosco 2:45 N 8,931 -
29 29 Monday, May 16 boxscore PIT NYM L 4 11 12-17 4 5.0 Lynch Bibby Swan 2:48 N 1,970 --
30 30 Tuesday, May 17 boxscore PIT CIN L 1 2 12-18 4 6.0 Soto Candelaria 2:25 N 5,207 ---
31 31 Wednesday, May 18 boxscore PIT CIN W 2 1 13-18 4 6.0 Rhoden Berenyi 2:15 N 6,402 +
32 32 Friday, May 20 boxscore PIT HOU W 4 3 14-18 4 5.0 McWilliams Knepper Tekulve 2:42 N 13,643 ++
33 33 Saturday, May 21 boxscore PIT HOU L 4 6 14-19 4 5.0 LaCoss Niemann DiPino 2:38 N 8,804 -
34 34 Monday, May 23 boxscore PIT @ ATL L 3 6 14-20 4 4.5 Falcone Rhoden Moore 2:28 N 16,743 --
35 35 Tuesday, May 24 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 6 5 15-20 4 4.5 McWilliams Camp 2:54 N 17,447 +
36 36 Wednesday, May 25 boxscore PIT @ ATL L 0 6 15-21 4 5.5 McMurtry Bibby 2:26 N 15,034 -
37 37 Thursday, May 26 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 6 4 16-21 4 5.5 Tunnell Puleo Tekulve 2:42 N 10,018 +
38 38 Friday, May 27 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 0 9 16-22 4 6.5 Soto Candelaria 2:25 N 13,224 -
39 39 Saturday, May 28 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 3 4 16-23 4 6.5 Hayes Scurry Scherrer 2:26 D 23,994 --
40 40 Sunday, May 29 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 8 5 17-23 4 6.5 McWilliams Scherrer Sarmiento 3:05 D 13,394 +
41 41 Monday, May 30 boxscore PIT ATL W 8 6 18-23 4 6.5 Bibby McMurtry Tekulve 2:50 D 12,211 ++
42 42 Tuesday, May 31 boxscore PIT ATL L 2 10 18-24 4 6.5 Niekro Tunnell Bedrosian 2:45 N 5,262 -
43 43 Wednesday, Jun 1 boxscore PIT ATL L 3 6 18-25 4 7.5 Perez Candelaria Garber 2:36 N 6,255 --
44 44 Thursday, Jun 2 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 2 3 18-26 4 7.5 Trout Rhoden Smith 2:29 D 6,589 ---
45 45 Friday, Jun 3 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 3 9 18-27 5 7.5 Ruthven Scurry 2:35 D 6,213 ----
46 46 Saturday, Jun 4 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 2 5 18-28 5 7.5 Jenkins Bibby Campbell 2:41 D 30,110 -----
47 47 Sunday, Jun 5 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 1 3 18-29 5 8.5 Lefferts Tunnell Smith 2:26 D 22,649 ------
48 48 Tuesday, Jun 7 boxscore PIT @ MON W 3 2 19-29 5 8.5 Candelaria Lea Tekulve 3:04 N 31,730 +
49 49 Wednesday, Jun 8 boxscore PIT @ MON L 4 5 19-30 5 8.5 Gullickson Rhoden Reardon 2:25 N 16,200 -
50 50 Thursday, Jun 9 boxscore PIT @ MON W 6 3 20-30 5 7.5 McWilliams Rogers 2:56 N 34,313 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Friday, Jun 10 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 4 3 12 21-30 5 6.5 Tekulve Farmer 3:56 N 31,092 ++
52 52 Saturday, Jun 11 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 7 9 21-31 5 7.5 Carlton Scurry Holland 2:43 N 34,820 -
53 53 Sunday, Jun 12 boxscore PIT @ PHI L-wo 4 5 11 21-32 5 7.5 Reed Scurry 3:12 D 37,154 --
54 54 Monday, Jun 13 boxscore PIT MON W 4 3 22-32 5 6.5 Rhoden Gullickson Tekulve 2:17 N 8,229 +
55 55 Tuesday, Jun 14 boxscore PIT MON L 3 7 22-33 5 7.5 Rogers McWilliams Reardon 2:54 N 9,588 -
56 56 Wednesday, Jun 15 boxscore PIT MON L 4 7 22-34 5 8.5 Burris Bibby Reardon 2:42 N 11,809 --
57 57 Friday, Jun 17 boxscore PIT PHI W 2 1 23-34 5 8.5 Candelaria Denny Tekulve 2:13 N 19,814 +
58 58 Saturday, Jun 18 boxscore PIT PHI L 4 6 23-35 5 8.5 Bystrom Rhoden 2:35 N 26,662 -
59 59 Sunday, Jun 19 boxscore PIT PHI L 2 14 23-36 5 8.5 Hudson McWilliams 2:52 D 19,369 --
60 60 Monday, Jun 20 (1) boxscore PIT CHC W-wo 5 4 10 24-36 5 8.0 Tekulve Campbell 3:18 N 0 +
61 61 Monday, Jun 20 (2) boxscore PIT CHC W-wo 6 5 13 25-36 5 8.0 Robinson Campbell 4:03 N 5,839 ++
62 62 Tuesday, Jun 21 boxscore PIT CHC W 8 4 26-36 5 7.5 Rhoden Noles 2:27 N 6,363 +++
63 63 Wednesday, Jun 22 boxscore PIT CHC W 5 2 27-36 5 7.5 Candelaria Rainey Guante 2:23 N 8,666 ++++
64 64 Thursday, Jun 23 boxscore PIT CHC W 5 2 28-36 5 7.5 McWilliams Trout 2:23 N 8,296 +++++
65 65 Friday, Jun 24 boxscore PIT @ STL W 8 2 29-36 4 7.5 Bibby LaPoint Sarmiento 2:36 N 39,475 ++++++
66 66 Saturday, Jun 25 boxscore PIT @ STL W 10 3 30-36 4 6.5 Tunnell Hagen 2:48 D 29,567 +++++++
67 67 Sunday, Jun 26 boxscore PIT @ STL W 5 0 31-36 4 5.5 Rhoden Allen 2:18 D 32,306 ++++++++
68 68 Monday, Jun 27 boxscore PIT @ STL W 6 1 32-36 4 5.5 Guante Andujar 2:38 N 23,286 +++++++++
69 69 Tuesday, Jun 28 boxscore PIT @ CHC L-wo 7 8 11 32-37 4 6.0 Lefferts Tekulve 3:33 D 11,832 -
70 70 Wednesday, Jun 29 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 0 5 32-38 5 6.5 Ruthven Bibby 2:16 D 28,504 --
71 71 Thursday, Jun 30 boxscore PIT @ CHC L-wo 3 4 32-39 5 6.5 Smith Sarmiento 2:33 D 17,261 ---
72 72 Friday, Jul 1 boxscore PIT STL L 6 13 32-40 5 6.5 Andujar Robinson 2:51 N 26,019 ----
73 73 Saturday, Jul 2 boxscore PIT STL W 3 1 33-40 5 5.5 Candelaria LaPoint 1:53 N 27,446 +
74 74 Sunday, Jul 3 boxscore PIT STL L 3 4 33-41 5 5.5 Forsch Sarmiento Sutter 2:27 D 14,469 -
75 75 Monday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore PIT STL W 7 2 34-41 5 6.5 Rhoden Hagen 2:25 D 0 +
76 76 Monday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore PIT STL L 4 11 34-42 5 6.5 Allen Bibby 2:23 D 22,185 -
77 77 Friday, Jul 8 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 4 3 35-42 5 5.5 Candelaria Reuss Tekulve 2:36 N 41,397 +
78 78 Saturday, Jul 9 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 3 0 36-42 5 4.5 McWilliams Pena 2:18 N 46,046 ++
79 79 Sunday, Jul 10 boxscore PIT @ LAD L 3 10 36-43 5 5.5 Hooton Rhoden Howe 2:47 D 42,480 -
80 80 Monday, Jul 11 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 3 2 37-43 4 4.5 Sarmiento Breining Scurry 2:48 N 18,429 +
81 81 Tuesday, Jul 12 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 6 2 38-43 4 4.5 Tunnell Laskey Guante 2:59 N 7,789 ++
82 82 Wednesday, Jul 13 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 7 6 39-43 4 3.5 Sarmiento Minton Tekulve 2:51 D 14,316 +++
83 83 Thursday, Jul 14 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 8 6 40-43 4 2.5 Guante Montefusco Bibby 3:01 D 17,001 ++++
84 84 Friday, Jul 15 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 4 2 41-43 4 1.5 Tekulve Thurmond 2:22 N 15,601 +++++
85 85 Saturday, Jul 16 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 3 2 42-43 3 1.5 Robinson Whitson Tekulve 2:29 N 26,414 ++++++
86 86 Sunday, Jul 17 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 4 3 43-43 3 0.5 Tunnell Show Tekulve 2:32 D 17,897 +++++++
87 87 Tuesday, Jul 19 (1) boxscore PIT LAD W 4 1 44-43 2 1.0 Candelaria Reuss Scurry 2:27 N 0 ++++++++
88 88 Tuesday, Jul 19 (2) boxscore PIT LAD L 2 3 11 44-44 2 1.0 Howe Sarmiento Niedenfuer 2:59 N 31,304 -
89 89 Wednesday, Jul 20 boxscore PIT LAD W 7 3 45-44 1 Tied Rhoden Hooton 2:27 N 16,561 +
90 90 Thursday, Jul 21 boxscore PIT LAD W-wo 5 4 46-44 1 up 0.5 Tekulve Howe 3:15 N 16,351 ++
91 91 Friday, Jul 22 boxscore PIT SFG L 3 5 46-45 1 up 0.5 Barr Scurry Minton 2:39 N 23,834 -
92 92 Saturday, Jul 23 boxscore PIT SFG W 5 2 47-45 1 up 1.0 DeLeon Martin Scurry 2:49 D 14,585 +
93 93 Sunday, Jul 24 (1) boxscore PIT SFG W 3 1 48-45 1 up 0.5 Scurry Krukow Tekulve 2:14 D 0 ++
94 94 Sunday, Jul 24 (2) boxscore PIT SFG L 5 8 11 48-46 1 up 0.5 Minton Scurry McGaffigan 3:28 D 39,660 -
95 95 Monday, Jul 25 boxscore PIT SDP W 6 3 49-46 1 up 1.0 Rhoden Dravecky Guante 2:41 N 12,161 +
96 96 Tuesday, Jul 26 (1) boxscore PIT SDP L 1 6 49-47 1 up 0.5 Thurmond Robinson DeLeon 2:44 N 0 -
97 97 Tuesday, Jul 26 (2) boxscore PIT SDP W 10 5 50-47 1 up 0.5 Tunnell Whitson 2:18 N 20,660 +
98 98 Wednesday, Jul 27 boxscore PIT SDP W 10 1 51-47 1 up 0.5 DeLeon Show 2:25 N 18,793 ++
99 99 Thursday, Jul 28 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 6 2 52-47 1 up 0.5 McWilliams Swan Scurry 2:37 N 12,233 +++
100 100 Friday, Jul 29 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 2 1 53-47 1 up 1.5 Candelaria Seaver Guante 2:14 N 14,306 ++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Jul 30 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 6 3 54-47 1 up 1.5 Scurry Lynch Sarmiento 2:25 D 17,721 +++++
102 102 Sunday, Jul 31 (1) boxscore PIT @ NYM L-wo 6 7 12 54-48 1 up 1.0 Orosco Bibby 3:33 D 0 -
103 103 Sunday, Jul 31 (2) boxscore PIT @ NYM L-wo 0 1 12 54-49 1 up 1.0 Orosco Sarmiento 3:02 N 17,591 --
104 104 Tuesday, Aug 2 boxscore PIT PHI W 10 3 55-49 1 up 1.5 McWilliams Gross 2:38 N 25,130 +
105 105 Wednesday, Aug 3 boxscore PIT PHI W 7 2 56-49 1 up 2.5 Candelaria Bystrom Tekulve 2:25 N 23,070 ++
106 106 Thursday, Aug 4 boxscore PIT PHI L 1 5 56-50 1 up 1.5 Hudson Rhoden Holland 2:27 N 20,574 -
107 107 Friday, Aug 5 boxscore PIT MON L 1 7 56-51 1 up 0.5 Gullickson DeLeon 3:00 N 33,089 --
108 108 Saturday, Aug 6 boxscore PIT MON L 3 7 56-52 2 0.5 Smith Tunnell 2:38 D 24,561 ---
109 109 Sunday, Aug 7 boxscore PIT MON L 0 6 56-53 3 1.5 Rogers McWilliams 2:05 D 29,187 ----
110 110 Monday, Aug 8 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 5 14 56-54 3 2.5 Hudson Candelaria 2:50 N 38,080 -----
111 111 Tuesday, Aug 9 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 3 1 57-54 3 1.5 Tekulve Holland 2:46 N 37,719 +
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 10 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 2 4 57-55 3 2.5 Carlton DeLeon Holland 2:38 N 38,705 -
113 113 Friday, Aug 12 boxscore PIT @ MON W 6 3 58-55 3 2.5 McWilliams Rogers Guante 2:35 N 45,862 +
114 114 Saturday, Aug 13 boxscore PIT @ MON W 2 0 59-55 2 1.5 Candelaria Smith Tekulve 2:04 D 38,658 ++
115 115 Sunday, Aug 14 boxscore PIT @ MON W 5 3 60-55 2 1.5 Rhoden Schatzeder Tekulve 2:52 D 50,062 +++
116 116 Monday, Aug 15 boxscore PIT NYM W 4 2 61-55 2 1.5 DeLeon Torrez Tekulve 2:22 N 15,053 ++++
117 117 Tuesday, Aug 16 boxscore PIT NYM W 3 1 62-55 2 1.0 Tunnell Swan Guante 1:59 D 12,061 +++++
118 118 Thursday, Aug 18 boxscore PIT CIN L 5 6 62-56 2 1.5 Hume Tekulve Hayes 2:43 N 18,007 -
119 119 Friday, Aug 19 boxscore PIT CIN L 1 2 62-57 2 1.5 Soto Rhoden 2:33 N 15,995 --
120 120 Saturday, Aug 20 boxscore PIT CIN W 4 0 63-57 2 0.5 DeLeon Berenyi 2:19 N 44,481 +
121 121 Sunday, Aug 21 boxscore PIT CIN L 4 6 63-58 2 0.5 Scherrer Guante 2:45 D 24,635 -
122 122 Tuesday, Aug 23 (1) boxscore PIT HOU L 5 6 63-59 2 0.5 Ruhle Tekulve DiPino 3:01 N 0 --
123 123 Tuesday, Aug 23 (2) boxscore PIT HOU L 1 2 63-60 2 0.5 Niekro Tunnell Dawley 2:31 N 17,484 ---
124 124 Wednesday, Aug 24 boxscore PIT HOU L 4 10 63-61 2 0.5 Madden Rhoden LaCoss 2:36 N 14,279 ----
125 125 Thursday, Aug 25 boxscore PIT HOU W 5 3 64-61 1 Tied DeLeon Knepper Scurry 2:22 N 11,019 +
126 126 Friday, Aug 26 boxscore PIT ATL W 9 1 65-61 1 Tied McWilliams Perez 2:19 N 23,772 ++
127 127 Saturday, Aug 27 boxscore PIT ATL W 2 0 66-61 1 up 1.0 Tunnell Dayley 2:18 N 22,811 +++
128 128 Sunday, Aug 28 boxscore PIT ATL L 1 2 66-62 1 up 1.0 Falcone Candelaria Forster 2:39 D 26,193 -
129 129 Monday, Aug 29 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 2 1 67-62 1 up 1.5 Rhoden Soto Tekulve 2:24 N 11,173 +
130 130 Tuesday, Aug 30 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 5 3 68-62 1 up 2.0 DeLeon Russell Tekulve 2:44 N 10,160 ++
131 131 Wednesday, Aug 31 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 1 4 68-63 1 up 1.0 Niekro Scurry 2:14 N 12,347 -
132 132 Thursday, Sep 1 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 0 3 68-64 1 Tied Ryan Guante DiPino 2:28 D 7,645 --
133 133 Friday, Sep 2 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 4 1 69-64 1 Tied Candelaria Dayley Tekulve 2:30 N 23,998 +
134 134 Saturday, Sep 3 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 6 2 70-64 1 up 1.0 Bibby Bedrosian Guante 2:56 N 31,233 ++
135 135 Sunday, Sep 4 boxscore PIT @ ATL L 5 6 70-65 1 up 1.0 Forster Bibby Bedrosian 2:44 D 24,610 -
136 136 Monday, Sep 5 (1) boxscore PIT @ STL L 4 7 70-66 1 Tied LaPoint Scurry 2:44 D 0 --
137 137 Monday, Sep 5 (2) boxscore PIT @ STL L-wo 6 7 10 70-67 1 Tied Allen Guante 3:46 N 39,687 ---
138 138 Tuesday, Sep 6 boxscore PIT @ STL W 5 0 71-67 1 Tied Tunnell Stuper 2:18 N 23,604 +
139 139 Wednesday, Sep 7 boxscore PIT @ STL L 2 5 71-68 3 1.0 Cox Rhoden Sutter 2:18 N 25,981 -
140 140 Friday, Sep 9 boxscore PIT PHI L 3 4 13 71-69 4 1.5 Hernandez Bibby 3:47 N 24,304 --
141 141 Saturday, Sep 10 boxscore PIT PHI W-wo 6 5 10 72-69 3 1.0 Tekulve Holland 3:30 N 26,246 +
142 142 Sunday, Sep 11 boxscore PIT PHI L 3 5 72-70 4 2.0 Reed Guante 2:53 D 19,130 -
143 143 Monday, Sep 12 boxscore PIT STL W 7 5 73-70 3 1.5 Tunnell Cox Sarmiento 3:01 N 10,458 +
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 13 boxscore PIT STL W 6 0 74-70 3 1.0 Rhoden Andujar 2:16 N 9,771 ++
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 14 boxscore PIT CHC W 6 3 75-70 2 1.0 Candelaria Trout 2:38 N 16,329 +++
146 146 Thursday, Sep 15 boxscore PIT CHC W 8 4 76-70 1 Tied McWilliams Rainey 2:34 N 7,943 ++++
147 147 Friday, Sep 16 boxscore PIT MON W 9 0 77-70 1 Tied DeLeon Lea 2:34 N 13,057 +++++
148 148 Saturday, Sep 17 boxscore PIT MON W-wo 5 4 13 78-70 1 Tied Bibby Dixon 4:16 N 29,748 ++++++
149 149 Sunday, Sep 18 boxscore PIT MON L 2 5 78-71 2 1.0 Sanderson Rhoden James 3:15 D 25,738 -
150 150 Monday, Sep 19 boxscore PIT @ NYM L-wo 4 5 10 78-72 2 2.0 Diaz Tekulve 2:43 N 6,381 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 20 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 4 0 79-72 2 2.0 McWilliams Lynch 2:10 D 3,112 +
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 21 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 6 7 79-73 3 2.5 Jenkins Guante Smith 3:02 D 3,029 -
153 153 Thursday, Sep 22 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 8 2 80-73 2 3.0 Tunnell Reuschel 2:42 D 3,426 +
154 154 Friday, Sep 23 boxscore PIT @ MON W 10 1 81-73 2 3.0 Rhoden Sanderson 3:01 N 37,115 ++
155 155 Saturday, Sep 24 boxscore PIT @ MON W 1 0 82-73 2 3.0 Candelaria Smith Guante 2:16 D 43,359 +++
156 156 Sunday, Sep 25 boxscore PIT @ MON L 3 5 82-74 2 4.0 Gullickson McWilliams Reardon 2:29 D 37,602 -
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 27 boxscore PIT NYM L 3 4 82-75 2 4.5 Torrez DeLeon Sisk 2:15 N 10,913 --
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 28 boxscore PIT NYM L 2 4 82-76 2 5.5 Darling Tunnell 2:12 N 8,672 ---
159 159 Thursday, Sep 29 boxscore PIT NYM W 4 2 83-76 2 5.0 Rhoden Holman Guante 1:59 N 7,677 +
160 160 Friday, Sep 30 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 1 2 83-77 2 6.0 Denny McWilliams Holland 2:17 N 26,685 -
161 161 Saturday, Oct 1 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 3 5 83-78 2 7.0 Altamirano Guante Carman 2:43 N 34,763 --
162 162 Sunday, Oct 2 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 4 0 84-78 2 6.0 Tunnell Hudson 2:03 D 33,284 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1982 / 1984 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits