Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1982 Schedule and Results

1982 Pittsburgh Pirates

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1981 / 1983

84-78, Finished 4th in NL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Chuck Tanner (84-78)
GM: Harding Peterson, Farm Dir: Branch Rickey III, Scouting Dir: Murray Cook
Scored 724 runs, Allowed 696 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 84-78

Ballparks: Three Rivers Stadium · Attendance: 1,024,106 (12th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 104, Pitching - 104 · one-year: Batting - 111, Pitching - 110

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1981 / 1983 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 84-78, Final Rank:4, GB: 8.0
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind11last on Monday, May 31, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50010last on Sunday, Sep 19
Most Games under .5009last on Monday, May 31
Longest Winning Streak6Tuesday, Jun 29 to Saturday, Jul 3
Longest Losing Streak4Saturday, Apr 17 to Wednesday, Apr 21, Friday, Apr 30 to Monday, May 3 and Tuesday, May 25 to Saturday, May 29
Most Runs Allowed16Sunday, Jul 4 and Wednesday, Aug 18
Most Runs Scored15Tuesday, Sep 14
Longest Game (innings)17Monday, Aug 2
Times Shutout by Opponent3 
Times Opponent Shutout7 
Walkoff Wins11 
Walkoff Losses7 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 84 78 724 696 .519
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 42 39 391 394 .519
Road 42 39 333 302 .519
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 8 10 102 106 .444
May 10 17 108 138 .370
June 17 9 131 95 .654
July 18 10 128 96 .643
August 17 16 135 142 .515
September 13 14 112 104 .481
October 1 2 8 15 .333
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 44 40 409 396 .524
Second Half 40 38 315 300 .513
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 74 69 645 616 .517
ExtraInning 10 8 76 73 .556
Shortened 0 1 3 7 .000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 27 26 189 188 .509
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 17 15 202 184 .531
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 8 4 68 43 .667
CHC 9 9 91 87 .500
CIN 8 4 55 52 .667
HOU 3 9 39 52 .250
LAD 7 5 39 33 .583
MON 11 7 94 89 .611
NYM 10 8 78 65 .556
PHI 9 9 82 76 .500
SDP 6 6 51 56 .500
SFG 6 6 49 58 .500
STL 7 11 78 85 .389

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Saturday, Apr 10 boxscore PIT @ STL W 11 7 1-0 2 0.5 Scurry Littell Candelaria 2:55 D 40,878 +
2 2 Sunday, Apr 11 boxscore PIT @ STL L-wo 6 7 1-1 3 1.0 Kaat Romo 2:52 D 14,819 -
3 3 Monday, Apr 12 boxscore PIT @ STL L 4 5 1-2 5 1.0 Martin Griffin Sutter 2:31 D 18,066 --
4 4 Wednesday, Apr 14 boxscore PIT @ MON L 4 5 1-3 4 2.5 Sanderson Solomon Fryman 2:03 D 35,941 ---
5 5 Thursday, Apr 15 boxscore PIT @ MON W 4 3 2-3 4 2.0 Tekulve Rogers Scurry 2:25 D 18,986 +
6 6 Friday, Apr 16 boxscore PIT CHC W-wo 7 6 12 3-3 4 2.0 Romo Hernandez 3:41 D 28,985 ++
7 7 Saturday, Apr 17 boxscore PIT CHC L 2 10 3-4 4 3.0 Noles Baumgarten 2:49 D 6,436 -
8 8 Sunday, Apr 18 boxscore PIT CHC L 1 5 3-5 4 4.0 Jenkins Solomon Martz 2:18 D 8,028 --
9 9 Tuesday, Apr 20 boxscore PIT STL L 4 7 3-6 4 5.0 Martin Rhoden Sutter 2:29 N 3,534 ---
10 10 Wednesday, Apr 21 boxscore PIT STL L 2 6 3-7 4 6.0 Mura Candelaria Sutter 2:39 N 3,589 ----
11 11 Friday, Apr 23 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 12 10 4-7 4 6.0 Solomon Noles Tekulve 2:49 D 8,813 +
12 12 Saturday, Apr 24 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 8 5 5-7 4 6.0 Robinson Martz 2:42 D 19,312 ++
13 13 Sunday, Apr 25 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 3 5 5-8 4 6.0 Martz Rhoden 2:13 D 29,832 -
14 14 Monday, Apr 26 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 6 4 6-8 4 5.0 Tekulve McWilliams 2:24 N 9,557 +
15 15 Tuesday, Apr 27 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 10 4 7-8 4 4.0 Griffin Walk 2:44 N 6,763 ++
16 16 Wednesday, Apr 28 boxscore PIT @ ATL L-wo 6 7 10 7-9 4 5.0 Camp Scurry 3:11 N 6,318 -
17 17 Thursday, Apr 29 boxscore PIT HOU W 9 6 8-9 4 4.5 Romo LaCoss Scurry 2:40 N 4,716 +
18 18 Friday, Apr 30 boxscore PIT HOU L 3 4 8-10 4 4.5 Sutton Rhoden Smith 2:24 N 8,768 -
19 19 Saturday, May 1 boxscore PIT HOU L 3 6 8-11 4 4.5 Ryan Moskau Smith 3:03 N 19,626 --
20 20 Sunday, May 2 boxscore PIT HOU L 2 6 8-12 4 5.0 Niekro Griffin Moffitt 2:33 D 11,116 ---
21 21 Monday, May 3 boxscore PIT ATL L 4 10 8-13 4 6.0 Niekro Solomon Garber 2:57 N 4,636 ----
22 22 Tuesday, May 4 boxscore PIT ATL W 8 4 9-13 4 6.0 Robinson Cowley 2:40 N 4,836 +
23 23 Wednesday, May 5 boxscore PIT ATL W 4 2 10-13 4 6.0 Rhoden Mahler Tekulve 2:44 N 6,595 ++
24 24 Friday, May 7 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 0 5 10-14 5 6.0 Soto Moskau 2:15 N 16,465 -
25 25 Saturday, May 8 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 4 2 15 11-14 5 6.0 Sarmiento Shirley 4:08 N 19,626 +
26 26 Sunday, May 9 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 6 3 12-14 4 5.0 Robinson Seaver Tekulve 2:53 D 21,416 ++
27 27 Monday, May 10 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 3 7 12-15 5 5.0 Sutton Rhoden 2:24 N 16,141 -
28 28 Tuesday, May 11 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 2 4 12-16 5 6.0 Ryan Griffin Smith 2:32 N 17,893 --
29 29 Thursday, May 13 boxscore PIT CIN L 1 2 12-17 5 7.0 Price Scurry Hume 2:25 N 7,354 ---
30 30 Friday, May 14 boxscore PIT CIN W 8 7 13-17 5 6.0 Romo Kern Tekulve 2:52 N 15,271 +
31 31 Saturday, May 15 boxscore PIT CIN W 12 9 14-17 5 6.0 Rhoden Pastore 2:34 D 11,184 ++
32 32 Sunday, May 16 boxscore PIT CIN L 1 3 14-18 5 6.0 Soto Solomon 2:22 D 21,561 -
33 33 Tuesday, May 18 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 1 2 14-19 5 7.0 Laskey Candelaria 2:05 N 8,925 --
34 34 Wednesday, May 19 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 2 1 15-19 5 6.0 Robinson Chris Tekulve 2:42 D 5,042 +
35 35 Thursday, May 20 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 1 3 15-20 5 7.0 Lavelle Scurry 2:26 D 4,085 -
36 36 Friday, May 21 boxscore PIT @ SDP L 5 7 15-21 6 8.0 Montefusco Solomon Lucas 2:29 N 14,043 --
37 37 Saturday, May 22 boxscore PIT @ SDP L 3 12 15-22 6 8.0 Eichelberger Moskau 2:55 N 20,732 ---
38 38 Sunday, May 23 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 4 2 16-22 5 7.0 Candelaria Curtis Scurry 2:34 D 17,005 +
39 39 Monday, May 24 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 9 3 17-22 5 7.0 Robinson Niedenfuer 3:16 N 43,274 ++
40 40 Tuesday, May 25 boxscore PIT @ LAD L 2 5 17-23 5 8.0 Valenzuela Rhoden 2:23 N 46,486 -
41 41 Wednesday, May 26 boxscore PIT @ LAD L 2 3 17-24 5 9.0 Reuss Solomon Howe 2:33 N 41,594 --
42 42 Friday, May 28 boxscore PIT SFG L 5 10 17-25 6 10.0 Laskey Candelaria 2:37 N 7,273 ---
43 43 Saturday, May 29 boxscore PIT SFG L 5 9 17-26 6 10.0 Barr Robinson 2:46 N 8,283 ----
44 44 Sunday, May 30 boxscore PIT SFG W-wo 7 6 13 18-26 6 10.0 Solomon Barr 4:39 D 18,279 +
45 45 Monday, May 31 boxscore PIT LAD L 4 5 18-27 6 11.0 Howe Tekulve Forster 3:06 D 7,826 -
46 46 Tuesday, Jun 1 boxscore PIT LAD W 3 1 19-27 5 10.0 Candelaria Reuss Tekulve 2:14 N 5,189 +
47 47 Wednesday, Jun 2 boxscore PIT LAD W-wo 8 7 20-27 5 10.0 Scurry Romo 3:34 N 8,535 ++
48 48 Thursday, Jun 3 boxscore PIT MON W-wo 5 4 10 21-27 5 9.5 Scurry Smith 2:47 N 4,158 +++
49 49 Friday, Jun 4 boxscore PIT SDP L 4 5 21-28 5 10.5 Curtis Rhoden Lucas 2:38 N 5,584 -
50 50 Sunday, Jun 6 boxscore PIT SDP W-wo 2 1 22-28 5 9.0 Tekulve Lollar 2:18 D 11,714 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Monday, Jun 7 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 4 3 12 23-28 5 8.0 Scurry Allen 3:30 N 8,791 ++
52 52 Tuesday, Jun 8 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 6 2 24-28 5 8.0 Robinson Orosco Tekulve 2:17 N 11,774 +++
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 9 boxscore PIT @ NYM L-wo 2 3 24-29 5 8.0 Allen Tekulve 2:21 N 11,552 -
54 54 Friday, Jun 11 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 1 0 25-29 5 8.0 Tekulve Christenson 2:26 N 30,870 +
55 55 Saturday, Jun 12 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 9 2 26-29 5 7.0 Sarmiento Krukow 2:36 N 28,665 ++
56 56 Monday, Jun 14 boxscore PIT NYM L 1 2 26-30 5 8.0 Falcone Robinson Allen 2:02 N 7,005 -
57 57 Tuesday, Jun 15 boxscore PIT NYM W 13 3 27-30 5 8.0 Rhoden Puleo 2:32 N 6,100 +
58 58 Thursday, Jun 17 boxscore PIT PHI L 3 4 11 27-31 5 8.0 Reed Scurry 2:57 N 9,405 -
59 59 Friday, Jun 18 boxscore PIT PHI L 3 8 27-32 5 8.5 Krukow Sarmiento 2:32 N 23,320 --
60 60 Saturday, Jun 19 boxscore PIT PHI L 3 8 27-33 5 8.5 Carlton Robinson 2:30 D 13,065 ---
61 61 Sunday, Jun 20 boxscore PIT PHI W 3 1 28-33 5 7.5 Tekulve Ruthven 2:29 D 25,791 +
62 62 Monday, Jun 21 boxscore PIT CHC W 4 3 29-33 5 7.5 Moskau Smith Tekulve 2:48 N 6,136 ++
63 63 Tuesday, Jun 22 boxscore PIT CHC W 9 2 30-33 5 7.5 Candelaria Martz Romo 2:38 N 6,174 +++
64 64 Wednesday, Jun 23 boxscore PIT CHC L 5 6 10 30-34 5 7.5 Campbell Niemann 3:34 N 8,297 -
65 65 Friday, Jun 25 (1) boxscore PIT @ MON W 4 3 31-34 5 5.5 Robinson Sanderson 2:18 N 0 +
66 66 Friday, Jun 25 (2) boxscore PIT @ MON W 9 7 32-34 5 5.5 Rhoden Burris 3:10 N 51,360 ++
67 67 Saturday, Jun 26 boxscore PIT @ MON W 14 5 33-34 4 6.0 Romo Lea 3:28 N 34,293 +++
68 68 Sunday, Jun 27 boxscore PIT @ MON L 2 5 33-35 4 6.0 Palmer Candelaria 2:26 N 34,398 -
69 69 Monday, Jun 28 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 4 6 33-36 4 6.0 Tidrow Romo 2:34 D 6,974 --
70 70 Tuesday, Jun 29 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 3 1 34-36 4 6.0 Rhoden Jenkins 2:41 D 22,109 +
71 71 Wednesday, Jun 30 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 7 3 35-36 4 5.0 Robinson Smith Scurry 2:41 D 10,058 ++
72 72 Thursday, Jul 1 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 5 2 36-36 4 4.5 Romo Campbell 2:24 D 10,463 +++
73 73 Friday, Jul 2 (1) boxscore PIT MON W 6 3 37-36 4 3.0 Candelaria Lea Tekulve 2:26 N 0 ++++
74 74 Friday, Jul 2 (2) boxscore PIT MON W 7 2 38-36 4 3.0 McWilliams Schatzeder Scurry 2:20 N 21,665 +++++
75 75 Saturday, Jul 3 boxscore PIT MON W 4 2 39-36 4 2.5 Sarmiento Palmer Tekulve 2:15 N 20,853 ++++++
76 76 Sunday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore PIT MON L 6 16 39-37 4 3.5 Rogers Rhoden 3:11 D 0 -
77 77 Sunday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore PIT MON W 10 4 40-37 4 3.5 Robinson Gullickson Tekulve 3:04 D 23,031 +
78 78 Monday, Jul 5 boxscore PIT HOU L 4 6 40-38 4 3.5 Niekro Baumgarten 2:42 D 10,437 -
79 79 Tuesday, Jul 6 boxscore PIT HOU W 1 0 41-38 3 3.5 McWilliams Knepper 2:07 N 8,850 +
80 80 Wednesday, Jul 7 boxscore PIT CIN L 3 6 41-39 3 3.5 Hume Tekulve Harris 2:34 N 20,024 -
81 81 Thursday, Jul 8 boxscore PIT CIN W-wo 9 8 42-39 3 3.5 Tekulve Price 2:42 N 9,950 +
82 82 Friday, Jul 9 boxscore PIT @ ATL L 4 6 42-40 3 4.5 Diaz Rhoden Bedrosian 2:32 N 28,601 -
83 83 Saturday, Jul 10 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 6 1 43-40 3 3.5 Robinson Niekro 2:37 N 39,444 +
84 84 Sunday, Jul 11 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 3 1 44-40 3 2.5 McWilliams Dayley Tekulve 2:28 N 19,130 ++
85 85 Thursday, Jul 15 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 5 1 45-40 3 2.5 Candelaria Sutton Scurry 2:11 N 17,662 +++
86 86 Friday, Jul 16 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 2 4 45-41 3 3.5 Ryan McWilliams 2:26 N 19,037 -
87 87 Saturday, Jul 17 boxscore PIT @ HOU L-wo 3 4 10 45-42 4 4.5 Niekro Tekulve 3:01 N 28,672 --
88 88 Sunday, Jul 18 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 2 4 45-43 4 4.5 Knepper Robinson 2:40 D 19,218 ---
89 89 Monday, Jul 19 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 5 4 46-43 4 4.5 Sarmiento Pastore Tekulve 2:53 N 16,395 +
90 90 Tuesday, Jul 20 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 3 1 47-43 3 3.5 Candelaria Berenyi Tekulve 2:39 N 17,395 ++
91 91 Wednesday, Jul 21 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 3 2 48-43 3 3.5 McWilliams Hume Tekulve 2:06 N 16,543 +++
92 92 Friday, Jul 23 boxscore PIT ATL W 6 0 49-43 3 3.5 Rhoden Camp 2:25 N 22,722 ++++
93 93 Saturday, Jul 24 boxscore PIT ATL L 3 4 49-44 3 3.5 Niekro Robinson Garber 2:35 N 26,790 -
94 94 Sunday, Jul 25 boxscore PIT ATL W 8 0 50-44 3 3.5 Candelaria Mahler 2:04 D 22,565 +
95 95 Tuesday, Jul 27 boxscore PIT PHI W 4 0 51-44 3 3.5 McWilliams Ruthven Scurry 2:11 N 23,609 ++
96 96 Wednesday, Jul 28 boxscore PIT PHI L 3 4 51-45 3 4.5 Christenson Rhoden Reed 2:36 N 31,867 -
97 97 Thursday, Jul 29 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 4 1 52-45 3 3.5 Robinson Falcone 2:23 N 16,892 +
98 98 Friday, Jul 30 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 5 1 53-45 3 3.5 Candelaria Swan Sarmiento 2:27 N 18,828 ++
99 99 Saturday, Jul 31 boxscore PIT @ NYM L 4 9 53-46 3 4.5 Puleo Tekulve Allen 2:41 N 48,358 -
100 100 Sunday, Aug 1 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 4 3 10 54-46 3 3.5 Tekulve Leach Scurry 3:02 D 21,871 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Monday, Aug 2 boxscore PIT @ STL W 4 2 17 55-46 3 3.5 Romo Kaat 4:55 N 19,653 ++
102 102 Tuesday, Aug 3 boxscore PIT @ STL L 2 4 55-47 3 4.5 Forsch Robinson Sutter 2:38 N 20,253 -
103 103 Wednesday, Aug 4 boxscore PIT @ STL W 5 2 56-47 3 4.5 Candelaria LaPoint Scurry 2:30 N 20,673 +
104 104 Thursday, Aug 5 boxscore PIT @ STL L 3 7 5 56-48 3 4.5 Mura McWilliams 1:41 N 17,145 -
105 105 Friday, Aug 6 (1) boxscore PIT NYM W 7 3 57-48 3 4.0 Sarmiento Scott 2:32 N 0 +
106 106 Friday, Aug 6 (2) boxscore PIT NYM L 3 7 57-49 3 4.0 Jones Baumgarten Allen 2:51 N 21,210 -
107 107 Saturday, Aug 7 boxscore PIT NYM L 2 5 57-50 3 4.0 Zachry Rhoden 2:23 N 19,938 --
108 108 Sunday, Aug 8 boxscore PIT NYM W 4 1 58-50 3 3.0 Robinson Swan Tekulve 2:15 D 19,679 +
109 109 Monday, Aug 9 (1) boxscore PIT @ PHI L 3 4 58-51 3 3.0 Carlton Tekulve 2:25 N 0 -
110 110 Monday, Aug 9 (2) boxscore PIT @ PHI W 9 6 59-51 3 3.0 Romo Reed Tekulve 2:53 N 51,568 +
111 111 Tuesday, Aug 10 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 5 9 59-52 3 4.0 Bystrom Sarmiento 2:27 N 36,825 -
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 11 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 1 4 59-53 3 5.0 Monge Rhoden Reed 2:40 N 27,202 --
113 113 Thursday, Aug 12 boxscore PIT STL L 2 3 59-54 4 5.0 Andujar Baumgarten Sutter 2:38 N 16,430 ---
114 114 Friday, Aug 13 boxscore PIT STL W 7 4 60-54 4 4.0 Robinson Forsch 2:44 N 25,700 +
115 115 Saturday, Aug 14 boxscore PIT STL L 1 4 60-55 4 5.0 Stuper Candelaria Sutter 2:28 N 15,828 -
116 116 Sunday, Aug 15 (1) boxscore PIT STL L 5 12 60-56 4 7.0 Mura McWilliams 2:14 D 0 --
117 117 Sunday, Aug 15 (2) boxscore PIT STL L 2 5 60-57 4 7.0 LaPoint Sarmiento 2:18 D 31,755 ---
118 118 Tuesday, Aug 17 boxscore PIT SFG W 4 1 61-57 4 7.0 Rhoden Hammaker 2:18 N 11,345 +
119 119 Wednesday, Aug 18 boxscore PIT SFG L 9 16 61-58 4 8.0 Fowlkes Robinson 2:58 N 14,205 -
120 120 Thursday, Aug 19 boxscore PIT SFG W 6 1 62-58 4 7.0 Candelaria Gale 2:16 N 8,015 +
121 121 Friday, Aug 20 boxscore PIT LAD L 0 1 62-59 4 7.0 Valenzuela McWilliams 2:19 N 15,245 -
122 122 Saturday, Aug 21 boxscore PIT LAD W 2 1 63-59 4 7.0 Tekulve Howe 2:23 N 29,581 +
123 123 Sunday, Aug 22 boxscore PIT LAD W-wo 4 3 14 64-59 4 7.0 Robinson Beckwith 4:07 D 19,006 ++
124 124 Monday, Aug 23 (1) boxscore PIT SDP W 8 6 65-59 4 7.5 Candelaria Hawkins Scurry 2:25 N 0 +++
125 125 Monday, Aug 23 (2) boxscore PIT SDP L 3 5 65-60 4 7.5 Welsh Baumgarten Chiffer 3:05 N 9,194 -
126 126 Tuesday, Aug 24 boxscore PIT SDP W-wo 6 5 11 66-60 4 6.5 Tekulve Eichelberger 3:41 N 13,102 +
127 127 Wednesday, Aug 25 boxscore PIT SDP W-wo 7 6 67-60 3 5.5 Tekulve Chiffer 3:08 N 9,485 ++
128 128 Friday, Aug 27 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 3 2 68-60 3 5.5 Rhoden Laskey Scurry 2:43 N 9,820 +++
129 129 Saturday, Aug 28 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 2 4 68-61 3 6.0 Hammaker Robinson Minton 2:25 D 15,759 -
130 130 Sunday, Aug 29 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 4 3 69-61 3 5.5 Candelaria Martin Scurry 2:47 D 22,017 +
131 131 Monday, Aug 30 boxscore PIT @ SDP L-wo 1 2 13 69-62 4 6.5 DeLeon Tekulve 3:06 N 20,718 -
132 132 Tuesday, Aug 31 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 7 1 70-62 3 5.5 Sarmiento Montefusco 2:39 N 7,826 +
133 133 Wednesday, Sep 1 boxscore PIT @ SDP L 1 4 70-63 4 6.5 Eichelberger Rhoden 2:11 N 6,814 -
134 134 Friday, Sep 3 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 3 2 71-63 3 5.5 Robinson Welch Scurry 2:31 N 49,573 +
135 135 Saturday, Sep 4 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 1 0 72-63 3 4.5 Tunnell Valenzuela Tekulve 2:29 N 49,541 ++
136 136 Sunday, Sep 5 boxscore PIT @ LAD L-wo 1 2 10 72-64 4 4.5 Niedenfuer Tekulve 2:59 D 46,819 -
137 137 Monday, Sep 6 boxscore PIT NYM W 6 1 73-64 3 4.5 Rhoden Falcone 1:58 N 38,052 +
138 138 Tuesday, Sep 7 boxscore PIT NYM W 9 5 74-64 3 3.5 Sarmiento Scott 2:54 N 6,837 ++
139 139 Wednesday, Sep 8 boxscore PIT NYM L 1 9 74-65 3 4.5 Ownbey Robinson 2:54 N 7,092 -
140 140 Friday, Sep 10 boxscore PIT PHI L 5 7 74-66 4 5.0 Ruthven Candelaria Monge 2:26 N 15,596 --
141 141 Saturday, Sep 11 boxscore PIT PHI W-wo 10 9 75-66 4 4.5 Tekulve Reed 3:08 N 19,842 +
142 142 Sunday, Sep 12 boxscore PIT PHI W 4 2 76-66 4 3.5 Rhoden Christenson Tekulve 2:26 D 19,089 ++
143 143 Monday, Sep 13 boxscore PIT CHC L 3 7 76-67 4 4.0 Ripley Robinson Hernandez 2:18 N 2,859 -
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 14 boxscore PIT CHC W 15 5 77-67 4 3.5 Niemann Noles McWilliams 2:54 N 4,822 +
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 15 boxscore PIT CHC L 2 7 77-68 4 4.5 Jenkins Candelaria 2:18 N 8,678 -
146 146 Friday, Sep 17 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 4 2 78-68 4 5.0 Rhoden Carlton Tekulve 2:37 N 37,262 +
147 147 Saturday, Sep 18 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 4 5 78-69 4 6.5 Monge Robinson Reed 2:42 N 31,468 -
148 148 Sunday, Sep 19 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 8 1 79-69 3 6.5 Sarmiento Krukow 2:30 D 37,352 +
149 149 Monday, Sep 20 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 1 3 79-70 4 7.5 Noles McWilliams Tidrow 2:14 D 3,607 -
150 150 Tuesday, Sep 21 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 0 1 79-71 4 7.5 Jenkins Scurry Campbell 2:15 D 5,237 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Wednesday, Sep 22 boxscore PIT @ STL L 1 2 79-72 4 8.5 LaPoint Rhoden Sutter 2:13 N 23,587 ---
152 152 Thursday, Sep 23 boxscore PIT @ STL W 5 3 11 80-72 4 7.5 Romo Martin Niemann 3:14 N 17,399 +
153 153 Friday, Sep 24 boxscore PIT @ MON L 4 6 80-73 4 8.5 Lerch Robinson Fryman 2:26 N 27,678 -
154 154 Saturday, Sep 25 boxscore PIT @ MON L 4 9 80-74 4 9.5 Sanderson Sarmiento 2:45 D 30,419 --
155 155 Sunday, Sep 26 boxscore PIT @ MON W 3 0 81-74 4 8.5 McWilliams Lea 2:27 D 33,473 +
156 156 Monday, Sep 27 boxscore PIT @ NYM L 1 4 81-75 4 9.5 Holman Rhoden 2:08 N 4,412 -
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 28 boxscore PIT @ NYM L-wo 2 3 10 81-76 4 9.5 Orosco Romo 3:07 N 3,921 --
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 29 boxscore PIT STL W 7 3 82-76 4 8.5 Romo Stuper 2:46 N 4,930 +
159 159 Thursday, Sep 30 boxscore PIT STL W 7 2 83-76 4 7.5 Sarmiento Mura Scurry 2:06 N 4,237 ++
160 160 Friday, Oct 1 boxscore PIT MON L 5 8 11 83-77 4 8.0 Fryman Tunnell Reardon 3:26 N 4,549 -
161 161 Saturday, Oct 2 boxscore PIT MON W-wo 2 1 84-77 4 7.0 Tekulve Gullickson 2:12 N 4,496 +
162 162 Sunday, Oct 3 boxscore PIT MON L 1 6 84-78 4 8.0 Rogers Robinson 2:05 D 14,948 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1981 / 1983 Schedule and Results