Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1971 Schedule and Results

1971 Pittsburgh Pirates

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1970 / 1972

97-65, Finished 1st in NL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Danny Murtaugh (97-65)
GM: Joe Brown, Scouting Dir: Harding Peterson
Scored 788 runs, Allowed 599 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 101-61

Ballparks: Three Rivers Stadium · Attendance: 1,501,132 (7th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 102, Pitching - 99 · one-year: Batting - 100, Pitching - 97


BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1970 / 1972 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 97-65, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First111last on Thursday, Sep 30, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 131last on Sep 30, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead11last on Saturday, Jul 24, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind3last on Saturday, May 15, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50034last on Friday, Sep 24
Most Games under .500never
Longest Winning Streak11Monday, Jul 5 to Sunday, Jul 18
Longest Losing Streak4Friday, Jul 30 to Sunday, Aug 1 and Thursday, Aug 12 to Sunday, Aug 15
Most Runs Allowed15Saturday, Jul 31 and Tuesday, Aug 24
Most Runs Scored15Monday, Aug 23
Longest Game (innings)17Thursday, Jul 15
Times Shutout by Opponent12 
Times Opponent Shutout15 
Walkoff Wins9 
Walkoff Losses6 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 97 65 788 599 .599
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 52 28 393 279 .650
Road 45 37 395 320 .549
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 12 10 84 62 .545
May 17 9 129 85 .654
June 20 10 175 127 .667
July 18 10 149 109 .643
August 14 17 140 144 .452
September 16 9 111 72 .640
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 57 31 447 301 .648
Second Half 40 34 341 298 .541
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 91 59 736 550 .607
ExtraInning 6 6 52 49 .500
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 23 20 152 149 .535
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 32 9 312 160 .780
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 8 4 83 52 .667
CHC 12 6 95 48 .667
CIN 7 5 53 40 .583
HOU 8 4 54 43 .667
LAD 8 4 63 50 .667
MON 11 7 89 73 .611
NYM 8 10 45 50 .444
PHI 12 6 104 80 .667
SDP 9 3 50 27 .750
SFG 3 9 62 72 .250
STL 11 7 90 64 .611

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 6 boxscore PIT PHI W 4 2 1-0 1 Tied Ellis Short 2:21 D 39,712 +
2 2 Thursday, Apr 8 boxscore PIT PHI W 2 0 2-0 1 up 1.0 Walker Fryman 1:47 N 12,289 ++
3 3 Friday, Apr 9 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 8 2 3-0 1 up 1.5 Moose Jarvis Giusti 2:23 N 32,734 +++
4 4 Saturday, Apr 10 boxscore PIT @ ATL L-wo 4 5 12 3-1 1 up 0.5 Upshaw Briles 2:41 N 13,079 -
5 5 Sunday, Apr 11 boxscore PIT @ ATL L 1 3 3-2 2 0.5 Nash Ellis 1:52 D 10,220 --
6 6 Monday, Apr 12 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 4 3 11 4-2 1 Tied Giusti Selma 2:55 N 19,469 +
7 7 Tuesday, Apr 13 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 9 3 5-2 1 up 1.0 Briles Short 2:28 N 14,934 ++
8 8 Wednesday, Apr 14 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 5 6 5-3 1 up 0.5 Hoerner Grant Selma 2:34 N 8,379 -
9 9 Friday, Apr 16 boxscore PIT @ NYM L 0 1 5-4 2 0.5 Seaver Ellis 2:03 D 18,491 --
10 10 Saturday, Apr 17 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 2 0 6-4 1 up 0.5 Blass Koosman 2:01 D 23,305 +
11 11 Sunday, Apr 18 (1) boxscore PIT @ NYM L 2 5 6-5 1 Tied Gentry Walker 2:09 D 0 -
12 12 Sunday, Apr 18 (2) boxscore PIT @ NYM W 2 1 7-5 1 Tied Johnson McGraw 2:43 D 51,905 +
13 13 Tuesday, Apr 20 boxscore PIT ATL L 0 2 7-6 2 0.5 Niekro Moose 1:58 N 8,755 -
14 14 Wednesday, Apr 21 boxscore PIT ATL W 10 2 8-6 2 0.5 Ellis Nash 2:06 N 7,992 +
15 15 Thursday, Apr 22 boxscore PIT ATL W 7 4 9-6 2 0.5 Blass Reed Giusti 2:06 N 4,708 ++
16 16 Friday, Apr 23 boxscore PIT SFG L 0 2 9-7 2 0.5 Stone Walker 2:08 N 12,350 -
17 17 Saturday, Apr 24 boxscore PIT SFG L 0 2 9-8 3 1.5 Bryant Johnson 2:21 D 8,386 --
18 18 Sunday, Apr 25 boxscore PIT SFG W 6 2 10-8 3 1.5 Briles Marichal Giusti 2:51 D 16,553 +
19 19 Tuesday, Apr 27 boxscore PIT LAD L 5 7 10-9 4 1.5 Vance Ellis Mikkelsen 2:46 N 6,518 -
20 20 Wednesday, Apr 28 boxscore PIT LAD W 7 5 11-9 3 0.5 Blass O'Brien Giusti 2:16 N 6,191 +
21 21 Thursday, Apr 29 boxscore PIT LAD L 1 2 11-10 3 1.5 Mikkelsen Giusti 2:04 N 5,031 -
22 22 Friday, Apr 30 boxscore PIT SDP W 5 3 12-10 3 1.5 Nelson Kelley Grant 2:06 N 5,944 +
23 23 Saturday, May 1 boxscore PIT SDP W-wo 5 4 11 13-10 2 0.5 Grant Laxton 2:55 D 6,068 ++
24 24 Sunday, May 2 boxscore PIT SDP W 5 1 14-10 2 0.5 Ellis Arlin Giusti 2:05 D 8,482 +++
25 25 Tuesday, May 4 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 10 2 15-10 2 1.0 Moose Stone Grant 2:53 N 8,263 ++++
26 26 Wednesday, May 5 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 1 2 15-11 2 1.0 Marichal Walker 2:02 D 5,212 -
27 27 Friday, May 7 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 3 2 16-11 2 1.0 Johnson Sutton Grant 2:25 N 44,275 +
28 28 Saturday, May 8 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 5 3 17-11 2 0.5 Briles Downing Giusti 2:39 N 26,737 ++
29 29 Sunday, May 9 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 11 5 18-11 2 0.5 Veale Mikkelsen Grant 3:16 D 26,349 +++
30 30 Tuesday, May 11 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 10 4 19-11 2 1.0 Ellis Coombs Giusti 2:33 N 4,440 ++++
31 31 Wednesday, May 12 boxscore PIT @ SDP L 1 2 19-12 2 1.0 Roberts Walker 2:06 N 4,292 -
32 32 Friday, May 14 boxscore PIT NYM L 2 8 19-13 2 2.0 Koosman Johnson 2:23 N 17,622 --
33 33 Saturday, May 15 boxscore PIT NYM L 5 9 19-14 3 3.0 Sadecki Blass 2:26 N 22,042 ---
34 34 Sunday, May 16 boxscore PIT NYM W 4 2 20-14 2 2.0 Ellis Ryan Giusti 2:11 D 18,968 +
35 35 Monday, May 17 boxscore PIT MON W-wo 6 5 21-14 2 1.0 Grant Marshall 2:23 N 6,431 ++
36 36 Tuesday, May 18 boxscore PIT MON W-wo 3 2 22-14 1 Tied Johnson Marshall 2:46 N 10,226 +++
37 37 Wednesday, May 19 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 6 1 23-14 1 up 1.0 Moose Nolan Giusti 2:22 N 11,109 ++++
38 38 Thursday, May 20 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 4 5 23-15 1 up 1.0 Wilcox Blass Carroll 2:25 D 9,530 -
39 39 Friday, May 21 boxscore PIT @ MON W 6 2 13 24-15 1 up 1.0 Grant Reed 3:31 N 17,379 +
40 40 Saturday, May 22 boxscore PIT @ MON L 2 5 24-16 1 Tied Stoneman Walker 2:25 N 18,814 -
41 41 Sunday, May 23 boxscore PIT @ MON L 2 4 24-17 3 1.0 McAnally Johnson Marshall 2:34 D 27,216 --
42 42 Tuesday, May 25 boxscore PIT CIN L 4 7 24-18 3 2.0 Grimsley Moose Gibbon 2:15 N 8,607 ---
43 43 Wednesday, May 26 boxscore PIT CIN W 2 0 25-18 3 1.5 Blass Cloninger 2:09 N 7,369 +
44 44 Thursday, May 27 boxscore PIT CIN W 5 2 26-18 3 1.5 Ellis Merritt 2:00 N 7,408 ++
45 45 Friday, May 28 boxscore PIT CHC L 2 4 26-19 3 2.5 Pappas Walker 2:24 N 12,776 -
46 46 Saturday, May 29 boxscore PIT CHC W 9 4 27-19 3 2.5 Johnson Hands Giusti 2:23 D 12,336 +
47 47 Sunday, May 30 boxscore PIT CHC W 10 0 28-19 3 2.5 Moose Holtzman 2:20 D 14,643 ++
48 48 Monday, May 31 boxscore PIT CHC W 6 0 29-19 2 2.5 Blass Jenkins 2:09 D 19,589 +++
49 49 Tuesday, Jun 1 boxscore PIT STL W 9 0 30-19 2 1.5 Ellis Zachary 2:00 N 21,516 ++++
50 50 Wednesday, Jun 2 boxscore PIT STL W 10 1 31-19 2 0.5 Walker Cleveland Veale 2:33 N 9,612 +++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Thursday, Jun 3 boxscore PIT STL L 1 7 31-20 2 1.5 Carlton Johnson 2:21 N 18,947 -
52 52 Friday, Jun 4 boxscore PIT HOU W 3 2 32-20 2 0.5 Moose Billingham Giusti 2:12 N 14,025 +
53 53 Saturday, Jun 5 boxscore PIT HOU L 1 4 32-21 2 1.5 Dierker Blass Gladding 2:50 N 23,793 -
54 54 Sunday, Jun 6 boxscore PIT HOU W 9 8 33-21 2 0.5 Ellis Blasingame Veale 2:54 D 23,051 +
55 55 Monday, Jun 7 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 11 6 34-21 2 0.5 Veale Pappas Giusti 3:16 D 16,478 ++
56 56 Tuesday, Jun 8 boxscore PIT @ CHC L-wo 0 1 12 34-22 2 0.5 Holtzman Grant 2:35 D 14,878 -
57 57 Wednesday, Jun 9 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 1 3 34-23 3 0.5 Jenkins Moose 2:08 D 16,438 --
58 58 Thursday, Jun 10 boxscore PIT @ STL W 3 1 35-23 1 up 0.5 Blass Reuss 2:20 N 18,950 +
59 59 Friday, Jun 11 boxscore PIT @ STL W 11 4 36-23 1 up 1.5 Ellis Cleveland Giusti 2:34 N 27,308 ++
60 60 Saturday, Jun 12 boxscore PIT @ STL W 4 3 37-23 1 up 2.5 Grant Arroyo 2:55 N 24,565 +++
61 61 Sunday, Jun 13 boxscore PIT @ STL W 8 4 38-23 1 up 2.5 Giusti Carlton Hernandez 2:47 D 21,205 ++++
62 62 Monday, Jun 14 boxscore PIT @ HOU L-wo 4 5 38-24 1 up 2.5 Gladding Nelson 2:39 N 11,655 -
63 63 Tuesday, Jun 15 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 3 0 39-24 1 up 3.5 Blass Dierker 2:27 N 16,307 +
64 64 Wednesday, Jun 16 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 6 4 40-24 1 up 3.5 Ellis Blasingame 2:27 N 16,098 ++
65 65 Friday, Jun 18 boxscore PIT MON W-wo 9 8 11 41-24 1 up 3.5 Giusti Raymond 3:16 N 26,644 +++
66 66 Saturday, Jun 19 boxscore PIT MON L 1 10 41-25 1 up 2.5 Morton Moose 2:34 D 12,091 -
67 67 Sunday, Jun 20 (1) boxscore PIT MON W 7 1 42-25 1 up 3.5 Blass Stoneman 2:27 D 0 +
68 68 Sunday, Jun 20 (2) boxscore PIT MON W 7 3 43-25 1 up 3.5 Briles Britton Grant 2:17 D 32,301 ++
69 69 Monday, Jun 21 boxscore PIT NYM W 6 0 44-25 1 up 4.5 Ellis Koosman 2:05 N 19,751 +++
70 70 Tuesday, Jun 22 boxscore PIT NYM L 2 3 44-26 1 up 3.5 Williams Nelson Frisella 2:29 N 27,578 -
71 71 Wednesday, Jun 23 boxscore PIT NYM W 6 2 45-26 1 up 4.5 Walker Gentry Grant 2:28 N 31,225 +
72 72 Friday, Jun 25 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 14 4 46-26 1 up 3.5 Blass Bunning 2:27 N 38,736 ++
73 73 Saturday, Jun 26 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 11 9 47-26 1 up 3.5 Ellis Short Giusti 2:34 D 24,965 +++
74 74 Sunday, Jun 27 (1) boxscore PIT @ PHI L 4 8 47-27 1 up 4.0 Fryman Johnson Hoerner 2:28 D 0 -
75 75 Sunday, Jun 27 (2) boxscore PIT @ PHI W 10 9 48-27 1 up 4.0 Veale Hoerner Giusti 2:59 D 37,062 +
76 76 Monday, Jun 28 boxscore PIT @ STL W 11 5 49-27 1 up 4.0 Moose Reuss Grant 2:44 N 15,024 ++
77 77 Tuesday, Jun 29 boxscore PIT @ STL L 3 8 49-28 1 up 3.0 Cleveland Walker 2:30 N 14,586 -
78 78 Wednesday, Jun 30 boxscore PIT @ NYM L 0 4 49-29 1 up 2.0 Ryan Blass Frisella 2:08 D 50,399 --
79 79 Thursday, Jul 1 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 3 0 50-29 1 up 3.0 Ellis Koosman Giusti 3:03 D 26,650 +
80 80 Friday, Jul 2 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 5 1 51-29 1 up 4.0 Moose Jenkins 2:31 D 28,919 ++
81 81 Saturday, Jul 3 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 1 3 51-30 1 up 4.0 Pappas Johnson 2:06 D 31,422 -
82 82 Sunday, Jul 4 boxscore PIT @ CHC L 7 9 51-31 1 up 4.0 Regan Giusti Newman 2:56 D 30,401 --
83 83 Monday, Jul 5 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 6 2 52-31 1 up 4.5 Blass Holtzman 2:35 D 37,734 +
84 84 Tuesday, Jul 6 boxscore PIT CIN W 5 2 53-31 1 up 5.5 Ellis McGlothlin Giusti 2:21 N 23,321 ++
85 85 Wednesday, Jul 7 boxscore PIT CIN W 9 3 54-31 1 up 6.5 Johnson Nolan 2:09 N 23,873 +++
86 86 Thursday, Jul 8 boxscore PIT CIN W 7 1 55-31 1 up 7.0 Kison Gullett Giusti 2:25 N 22,534 ++++
87 87 Friday, Jul 9 boxscore PIT ATL W 11 2 56-31 1 up 8.0 Briles Nash 2:29 N 29,678 +++++
88 88 Saturday, Jul 10 boxscore PIT ATL W 5 4 57-31 1 up 9.0 Grant Niekro Giusti 2:15 D 18,955 ++++++
89 89 Thursday, Jul 15 boxscore PIT SDP W-wo 4 3 17 58-31 1 up 9.5 Nelson Coombs 4:12 N 17,405 +++++++
90 90 Friday, Jul 16 boxscore PIT SDP W 2 1 59-31 1 up 9.5 Johnson Arlin 2:05 N 33,736 ++++++++
91 91 Saturday, Jul 17 boxscore PIT SDP W 9 2 60-31 1 up10.5 Ellis Norman 2:39 D 14,278 +++++++++
92 92 Sunday, Jul 18 (1) boxscore PIT LAD W-wo 3 2 61-31 1 up11.0 Giusti Downing 2:18 D 0 ++++++++++
93 93 Sunday, Jul 18 (2) boxscore PIT LAD W 7 1 62-31 1 up11.0 Walker Singer 2:05 D 48,230 +++++++++++
94 94 Monday, Jul 19 boxscore PIT LAD L 4 10 62-32 1 up11.0 Osteen Briles 2:46 N 17,437 -
95 95 Tuesday, Jul 20 boxscore PIT SFG W 11 7 63-32 1 up11.0 Veale Carrithers Giusti 3:13 N 29,865 +
96 96 Wednesday, Jul 21 boxscore PIT SFG L 4 8 63-33 1 up10.0 Johnson Giusti Hamilton 2:46 N 35,145 -
97 97 Thursday, Jul 22 boxscore PIT SFG L 7 8 10 63-34 1 up10.0 Johnson Moose 3:18 D 33,185 --
98 98 Friday, Jul 23 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 4 0 64-34 1 up11.0 Kison Kirby 1:57 N 10,133 +
99 99 Saturday, Jul 24 boxscore PIT @ SDP W 4 3 65-34 1 up11.0 Blass Roberts Giusti 2:02 D 3,114 ++
100 100 Sunday, Jul 25 (1) boxscore PIT @ SDP L 1 2 65-35 1 up10.5 Norman Johnson 2:02 D 0 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Sunday, Jul 25 (2) boxscore PIT @ SDP L 0 2 65-36 1 up10.5 Arlin Moose 1:53 D 10,342 --
102 102 Tuesday, Jul 27 boxscore PIT @ LAD L 5 8 65-37 1 up10.0 Alexander Ellis Mikkelsen 2:11 N 26,564 ---
103 103 Wednesday, Jul 28 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 4 0 66-37 1 up10.0 Walker Singer 2:11 N 30,798 +
104 104 Thursday, Jul 29 boxscore PIT @ LAD W 8 5 67-37 1 up10.5 Veale Osteen Giusti 2:54 N 23,590 ++
105 105 Friday, Jul 30 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 2 5 67-38 1 up 9.5 Perry Kison 2:13 N 10,088 -
106 106 Saturday, Jul 31 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 11 15 67-39 1 up 9.5 McMahon Giusti Hamilton 3:15 D 18,834 --
107 107 Sunday, Aug 1 (1) boxscore PIT @ SFG L 7 11 67-40 1 up 8.0 Johnson Kison McMahon 2:28 D 0 ---
108 108 Sunday, Aug 1 (2) boxscore PIT @ SFG L 3 8 67-41 1 up 8.0 Reberger Ellis Carrithers 2:31 D 33,301 ----
109 109 Tuesday, Aug 3 boxscore PIT @ MON W 10 6 68-41 1 up 8.5 Veale Morton Giusti 2:21 N 18,137 +
110 110 Wednesday, Aug 4 boxscore PIT @ MON L-wo 3 4 11 68-42 1 up 7.5 Marshall Grant 3:04 N 17,481 -
111 111 Thursday, Aug 5 boxscore PIT @ MON W 7 2 69-42 1 up 7.5 Kison Strohmayer 2:20 N 21,233 +
112 112 Friday, Aug 6 boxscore PIT PHI L 2 3 69-43 1 up 6.5 Wilson Ellis 2:34 N 21,323 -
113 113 Saturday, Aug 7 boxscore PIT PHI L 3 5 69-44 1 up 5.5 Wise Moose Wilson 2:36 D 29,565 --
114 114 Sunday, Aug 8 (1) boxscore PIT PHI L 2 3 69-45 1 up 6.0 Fryman Blass Hoerner 2:22 D 0 ---
115 115 Sunday, Aug 8 (2) boxscore PIT PHI W 4 0 70-45 1 up 6.0 Johnson Short 2:11 D 31,448 +
116 116 Tuesday, Aug 10 boxscore PIT CHC L 1 2 70-46 1 up 6.0 Pizarro Kison 2:23 N 21,789 -
117 117 Wednesday, Aug 11 boxscore PIT CHC W-wo 3 2 71-46 1 up 7.0 Ellis Regan 2:09 N 24,147 +
118 118 Thursday, Aug 12 boxscore PIT STL L 2 3 71-47 1 up 6.5 Carlton Walker 2:09 N 21,805 -
119 119 Friday, Aug 13 boxscore PIT STL L 0 2 71-48 1 up 5.5 Reuss Blass 2:00 N 31,563 --
120 120 Saturday, Aug 14 boxscore PIT STL L 0 11 71-49 1 up 4.5 Gibson Johnson 2:22 N 30,678 ---
121 121 Sunday, Aug 15 boxscore PIT STL L 4 6 71-50 1 up 3.5 Linzy Miller Drabowsky 2:30 D 49,329 ----
122 122 Monday, Aug 16 boxscore PIT HOU W 8 3 72-50 1 up 4.5 Ellis Billingham Giusti 2:22 N 12,664 +
123 123 Tuesday, Aug 17 boxscore PIT HOU L 5 6 72-51 1 up 4.5 Blasingame Miller Ray 2:40 N 16,694 -
124 124 Wednesday, Aug 18 boxscore PIT HOU W-wo 3 2 73-51 1 up 5.5 Miller Lemaster 2:50 N 29,670 +
125 125 Thursday, Aug 19 boxscore PIT @ CIN W 5 1 74-51 1 up 6.0 Johnson McGlothlin 2:02 N 20,611 ++
126 126 Friday, Aug 20 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 0 6 74-52 1 up 4.5 Grimsley Kison 2:04 N 26,452 -
127 127 Saturday, Aug 21 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 3 6 74-53 1 up 4.5 Merritt Ellis 2:12 D 27,427 --
128 128 Sunday, Aug 22 boxscore PIT @ CIN L 3 6 74-54 1 up 4.5 Nolan Briles 2:31 D 31,431 ---
129 129 Monday, Aug 23 (1) boxscore PIT @ ATL W 4 3 75-54 1 up 5.0 Blass Niekro Giusti 2:08 N 0 +
130 130 Monday, Aug 23 (2) boxscore PIT @ ATL W 15 4 76-54 1 up 5.0 Moose Kelley Briles 2:34 N 16,163 ++
131 131 Tuesday, Aug 24 boxscore PIT @ ATL L 5 15 76-55 1 up 4.5 McQueen Johnson Upshaw 2:24 N 8,478 -
132 132 Wednesday, Aug 25 boxscore PIT @ ATL W 13 6 77-55 1 up 4.5 Moose Jarvis Miller 2:41 N 8,365 +
133 133 Friday, Aug 27 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 7 3 78-55 1 up 5.5 Ellis Billingham Giusti 2:41 N 14,933 ++
134 134 Saturday, Aug 28 boxscore PIT @ HOU L 0 4 78-56 1 up 4.5 Wilson Blass 2:20 N 25,619 -
135 135 Sunday, Aug 29 boxscore PIT @ HOU W 5 2 79-56 1 up 4.5 Johnson Blasingame Giusti 2:40 D 15,723 +
136 136 Monday, Aug 30 boxscore PIT PHI W 6 4 80-56 1 up 4.5 Walker Wilson Giusti 3:04 N 13,399 ++
137 137 Tuesday, Aug 31 boxscore PIT PHI W 7 5 81-56 1 up 4.5 Kison Hoerner Miller 2:34 N 16,179 +++
138 138 Wednesday, Sep 1 boxscore PIT PHI W 10 7 82-56 1 up 5.5 Walker Brandon 2:44 N 11,278 ++++
139 139 Friday, Sep 3 boxscore PIT MON L 4 6 82-57 1 up 4.5 Britton Giusti Marshall 2:28 N 17,951 -
140 140 Saturday, Sep 4 boxscore PIT MON W-wo 7 6 11 83-57 1 up 5.5 Giusti Marshall 3:21 D 11,302 +
141 141 Sunday, Sep 5 boxscore PIT MON W 8 2 84-57 1 up 5.5 Kison Stoneman Hernandez 2:20 D 15,897 ++
142 142 Monday, Sep 6 (1) boxscore PIT CHC W 4 1 85-57 1 up 6.5 Briles Pizarro 2:07 D 39,236 +++
143 143 Monday, Sep 6 (2) boxscore PIT CHC W 10 5 86-57 1 up 6.5 Walker Holtzman Moose 2:26 D 39,236 ++++
144 144 Wednesday, Sep 8 boxscore PIT CHC W 10 1 87-57 1 up 6.5 Blass Pappas 2:19 N 15,937 +++++
145 145 Friday, Sep 10 boxscore PIT @ MON L-wo 2 3 11 87-58 1 up 5.5 Strohmayer Giusti 3:24 N 21,529 -
146 146 Saturday, Sep 11 boxscore PIT @ MON L 1 4 87-59 1 up 5.5 McAnally Kison 2:12 D 18,376 --
147 147 Sunday, Sep 12 boxscore PIT @ MON W 4 0 88-59 1 up 5.5 Briles Renko 2:10 D 16,770 +
148 148 Monday, Sep 13 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 5 1 89-59 1 up 6.5 Blass Pappas 2:18 D 6,477 ++
149 149 Tuesday, Sep 14 boxscore PIT @ CHC W 4 3 90-59 1 up 7.5 Moose Jenkins 2:25 D 9,706 +++
150 150 Wednesday, Sep 15 boxscore PIT STL W 4 1 91-59 1 up 8.5 Ellis Carlton Hernandez 1:57 N 21,751 ++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Thursday, Sep 16 boxscore PIT STL W 6 1 92-59 1 up 9.5 Walker Reuss Hernandez 2:35 N 18,127 +++++
152 152 Friday, Sep 17 boxscore PIT NYM L 0 3 92-60 1 up 8.5 Gentry Briles 1:59 N 23,421 -
153 153 Saturday, Sep 18 boxscore PIT NYM W 4 0 93-60 1 up 9.5 Blass Sadecki 1:42 D 20,470 +
154 154 Sunday, Sep 19 boxscore PIT NYM L 2 5 93-61 1 up 8.5 Williams Johnson Frisella 2:34 D 40,337 -
155 155 Tuesday, Sep 21 boxscore PIT @ STL L 4 6 93-62 1 up 7.5 Drabowsky Ellis 2:20 N 13,348 --
156 156 Wednesday, Sep 22 boxscore PIT @ STL W 5 1 94-62 1 up 8.5 Walker Gibson Giusti 2:07 N 14,845 +
157 157 Thursday, Sep 23 boxscore PIT @ STL W 5 0 95-62 1 up 9.5 Briles Cleveland 2:19 N 10,918 ++
158 158 Friday, Sep 24 boxscore PIT @ NYM W 3 2 96-62 1 up 9.5 Kison Koosman Miller 1:56 N 35,936 +++
159 159 Saturday, Sep 25 boxscore PIT @ NYM L-wo 1 2 15 96-63 1 up 8.5 Frisella Hernandez 3:50 D 29,295 -
160 160 Sunday, Sep 26 boxscore PIT @ NYM L 1 3 96-64 1 up 7.5 Seaver Blass 1:53 D 30,519 --
161 161 Tuesday, Sep 28 boxscore PIT @ PHI L 3 6 96-65 1 up 6.0 Wise Ellis 2:19 N 14,582 ---
162 162 Thursday, Sep 30 boxscore PIT @ PHI W 4 3 97-65 1 up 7.0 Moose Champion Giusti 2:12 N 14,157 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
NLCS Game 1 Saturday, Oct 2 boxscore PIT @ SFG L 4 5 0-1 Perry Blass 2:44 D 40,977
NLCS Game 2 Sunday, Oct 3 boxscore PIT @ SFG W 9 4 1-1 Ellis Cumberland 3:23 D 42,562
NLCS Game 3 Tuesday, Oct 5 boxscore PIT SFG W 2 1 2-1 Johnson Marichal 2:26 D 38,222
NLCS Game 4 Wednesday, Oct 6 boxscore PIT SFG W 9 5 3-1 Kison Perry 3:00 D 35,487
WS Game 1 Saturday, Oct 9 boxscore PIT @ BAL L 3 5 3-2 McNally Ellis 2:06 D 53,229
WS Game 2 Monday, Oct 11 boxscore PIT @ BAL L 3 11 3-3 Palmer Johnson Hall 2:55 D 53,239
WS Game 3 Tuesday, Oct 12 boxscore PIT BAL W 5 1 4-3 Blass Cuellar 2:20 D 50,403
WS Game 4 Wednesday, Oct 13 boxscore PIT BAL W 4 3 5-3 Kison Watt Giusti 2:48 N 51,378
WS Game 5 Thursday, Oct 14 boxscore PIT BAL W 4 0 6-3 Briles McNally 2:16 D 51,377
WS Game 6 Saturday, Oct 16 boxscore PIT @ BAL L 2 3 10 6-4 McNally Miller 2:59 D 44,174
WS Game 7 Sunday, Oct 17 boxscore PIT @ BAL W 2 1 7-4 Blass Cuellar 2:10 D 47,291
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1970 / 1972 Schedule and Results