Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1919 Schedule and Results

1919 Philadelphia Phillies

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1918 / 1920

47-90, Finished 8th in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Jack Coombs (18-44) and Gavvy Cravath (29-46)
Scored 510 runs, Allowed 699 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 49-88

Ballparks: Baker Bowl · Attendance: 240,424 (6th of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 107, Pitching - 110 · one-year: Batting - 102, Pitching - 107


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1918 / 1920 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 47-90, Final Rank:8, GB: 47.5
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind47.5last on Sunday, Sep 28, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5001last on Tuesday, May 27
Most Games under .50043last on Sunday, Sep 28
Longest Winning Streak5Monday, May 19 to Saturday, May 24 and Monday, Jul 14 to Wednesday, Jul 23
Longest Losing Streak13Friday, Jun 6 to Friday, Jun 20 and Saturday, Jun 28 to Wednesday, Jul 9
Most Runs Allowed14Friday, May 2 and Wednesday, Sep 24
Most Runs Scored14Thursday, Aug 28
Longest Game (innings)20Wednesday, Apr 30
Times Shutout by Opponent12 
Times Opponent Shutout6 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 47 90 510 699 .343
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 26 44 307 378 .371
Road 21 46 203 321 .313
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 3 2 39 42 .600
May 9 12 87 102 .429
June 6 21 107 157 .222
July 11 16 99 126 .407
August 11 22 118 151 .333
September 7 17 60 121 .292
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 20 47 280 387 .299
Second Half 27 43 230 312 .386
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 38 82 440 618 .317
ExtraInning 8 7 64 71 .533
Shortened 1 1 6 10 .500
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 15 20 140 145 .429
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 12 36 169 310 .250
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BRO 8 12 94 135 .400
BSN 5 15 67 99 .250
CHC 7 13 64 92 .350
CIN 5 15 58 94 .250
NYG 6 14 93 127 .300
PIT 6 14 52 87 .300
STL 10 7 82 65 .588

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Wednesday, Apr 23 boxscore PHI NYG L 7 10 0-1 6 2.0 Barnes Jacobs D 12 -
2 2 Thursday, Apr 24 boxscore PHI NYG W 8 5 1-1 4 1.5 Woodward Steele D +
3 3 Friday, Apr 25 boxscore PHI NYG W 6 3 2-1 3 1.0 Watson Smith D ++
4 4 Monday, Apr 28 boxscore PHI BRO L 1 10 2-2 3 2.5 Pfeffer Woodward D -
5 5 Tuesday, Apr 29 boxscore PHI BRO W 8 5 3-2 3 2.5 Jacobs Cadore D +
6 6 Wednesday, Apr 30 boxscore PHI BRO T 9 9 20 3-2 3 2.5 D 1,300 +
7 7 Friday, May 2 boxscore PHI @ NYG L 2 14 3-3 5 3.0 Barnes Watson D 20,000 -
8 8 Saturday, May 3 boxscore PHI @ NYG L 3 4 3-4 5 4.0 Winters Woodward D 25,000 --
9 9 Sunday, May 4 boxscore PHI @ NYG W 4 3 4-4 5 4.0 Jacobs Benton D 35,000 +
10 10 Tuesday, May 6 boxscore PHI @ BRO L 9 11 4-5 5 4.0 Grimes Prendergast D 12,000 -
11 11 Thursday, May 8 boxscore PHI @ BRO L 1 2 4-6 6 5.0 Pfeffer Watson D 4,000 --
12 12 Tuesday, May 13 boxscore PHI PIT W 3 2 5-6 5 4.0 Jacobs Hamilton D +
13 13 Wednesday, May 14 boxscore PHI PIT L 3 8 5-7 6 5.0 Miller Watson D 2,000 -
14 14 Thursday, May 15 boxscore PHI PIT L 0 5 5-8 6 5.0 Adams Woodward D --
15 15 Friday, May 16 boxscore PHI PIT L 3 8 5-9 6 6.0 Cooper Oeschger D 1,000 ---
16 16 Monday, May 19 boxscore PHI STL W 10 3 6-9 6 5.5 Jacobs Meadows D +
17 17 Tuesday, May 20 boxscore PHI STL W 8 7 7-9 6 5.5 Woodward Goodwin D ++
18 18 Wednesday, May 21 boxscore PHI STL W 6 0 8-9 6 5.0 Packard Horstmann D +++
19 19 Friday, May 23 boxscore PHI CHC W 7 2 9-9 4 5.0 Smith Alexander D ++++
20 20 Saturday, May 24 boxscore PHI CHC W 4 2 10-9 4 4.0 Jacobs Vaughn D +++++
21 21 Monday, May 26 boxscore PHI CIN L 5 7 10-10 4 5.5 Eller Packard Fisher D -
22 22 Tuesday, May 27 boxscore PHI CIN W 4 1 11-10 4 5.5 Woodward Luque D +
23 23 Wednesday, May 28 boxscore PHI CIN L 5 6 11-11 4 5.5 Fisher Smith Ring D -
24 24 Thursday, May 29 boxscore PHI @ BSN L 1 4 11-12 4 6.5 Demaree Hogg D --
25 25 Friday, May 30 (1) boxscore PHI @ BSN L 3 6 11-13 5 8.5 Keating Packard D ---
26 26 Friday, May 30 (2) boxscore PHI @ BSN L 0 6 11-14 5 8.5 Rudolph Jacobs D ----
27 27 Saturday, May 31 boxscore PHI @ BSN W 6 1 12-14 5 7.5 Woodward Scott D +
28 28 Sunday, Jun 1 boxscore PHI @ BRO W 10 9 18 13-14 4 7.5 Watson Pfeffer D 18,000 ++
29 29 Monday, Jun 2 (1) boxscore PHI @ NYG L 4 7 13-15 5 9.5 Ragan Packard D 0 -
30 30 Monday, Jun 2 (2) boxscore PHI @ NYG L 7 9 13-16 5 9.5 Perritt Jacobs Winters D 10 --
31 31 Tuesday, Jun 3 boxscore PHI @ NYG W 7 4 14-16 5 8.5 Woodward Schupp D +
32 32 Wednesday, Jun 4 boxscore PHI @ NYG W 8 2 15-16 5 7.5 Jacobs Barnes D 3,000 ++
33 33 Friday, Jun 6 boxscore PHI @ STL L 5 6 15-17 5 7.5 Tuero Hogg D -
34 34 Saturday, Jun 7 boxscore PHI @ STL L 7 8 15-18 5 8.5 Goodwin Watson D --
35 35 Sunday, Jun 8 boxscore PHI @ STL L 3 6 15-19 6 9.0 Ames Woodward D ---
36 36 Monday, Jun 9 boxscore PHI @ STL L 1 6 15-20 6 9.5 Doak Jacobs D ----
37 37 Tuesday, Jun 10 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 3 6 15-21 7 10.5 Hendrix Smith D -----
38 38 Wednesday, Jun 11 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 2 7 8 15-22 7 10.5 Douglas Woodward D ------
39 39 Thursday, Jun 12 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 0 3 15-23 7 11.5 Alexander Jacobs D -------
40 40 Saturday, Jun 14 boxscore PHI @ PIT L 1 8 15-24 7 12.0 Mayer Hogg 1:41 D --------
41 41 Monday, Jun 16 boxscore PHI @ PIT L 5 6 15-25 7 13.5 Adams Woodward Cooper D 3,000 ---------
42 42 Tuesday, Jun 17 boxscore PHI @ PIT L 0 6 15-26 7 13.5 Miller Jacobs 1:50 D ----------
43 43 Wednesday, Jun 18 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 1 4 15-27 7 13.5 Eller Packard 2:14 D -----------
44 44 Thursday, Jun 19 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 1 4 15-28 7 14.5 Sallee Rixey D ------------
45 45 Friday, Jun 20 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 4 5 15-29 7 15.5 Eller Woodward 2:08 D -------------
46 46 Saturday, Jun 21 boxscore PHI @ CIN W 5 4 16-29 7 15.5 Packard Fisher 2:16 D +
47 47 Monday, Jun 23 boxscore PHI BSN L 2 3 16-30 7 15.5 Rudolph Jacobs D -
48 48 Tuesday, Jun 24 (1) boxscore PHI BSN L 6 10 16-31 7 15.5 Keating Rixey Demaree D --
49 49 Tuesday, Jun 24 (2) boxscore PHI BSN W 9 5 17-31 7 15.5 Woodward Nehf D +
50 50 Wednesday, Jun 25 (1) boxscore PHI BSN L 4 9 17-32 7 15.0 Scott Hogg D -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 25 (2) boxscore PHI BSN W 5 3 18-32 7 15.0 Packard McQuillan D +
52 52 Saturday, Jun 28 (1) boxscore PHI @ BRO L 0 2 18-33 8 16.0 Cadore Rixey D 10 -
53 53 Saturday, Jun 28 (2) boxscore PHI @ BRO L 3 6 18-34 8 16.0 Mamaux Jacobs D 12,000 --
54 54 Sunday, Jun 29 boxscore PHI @ BRO L 4 9 18-35 8 16.5 Smith Woodward D ---
55 55 Tuesday, Jul 1 boxscore PHI @ BSN L 1 9 18-36 8 18.0 Demaree Rixey D ----
56 56 Wednesday, Jul 2 boxscore PHI @ BSN L 4 7 18-37 8 18.0 McQuillan Hogg D -----
57 57 Thursday, Jul 3 boxscore PHI @ BSN L 2 3 18-38 8 18.0 Scott Smith Demaree D ------
58 58 Friday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore PHI NYG L 1 3 18-39 8 20.0 Barnes Jacobs D -------
59 59 Friday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore PHI NYG L 3 8 18-40 8 20.0 Toney Woodward D --------
60 60 Saturday, Jul 5 boxscore PHI NYG L 8 10 18-41 8 21.0 Dubuc Rixey Schupp D 7,000 ---------
61 61 Monday, Jul 7 (1) boxscore PHI NYG L 5 10 18-42 8 23.0 Barnes Packard Perritt D ----------
62 62 Monday, Jul 7 (2) boxscore PHI NYG L 2 7 10 18-43 8 23.0 Toney Hogg D -----------
63 63 Tuesday, Jul 8 boxscore PHI CHC L 4 5 18-44 8 24.0 Hendrix Smith D ------------
64 64 Wednesday, Jul 9 (1) boxscore PHI CHC L 1 6 18-45 8 24.0 Vaughn Jacobs D -------------
65 65 Wednesday, Jul 9 (2) boxscore PHI CHC W 5 4 11 19-45 8 24.0 Rixey Bailey D +
66 66 Friday, Jul 11 boxscore PHI CHC L 3 6 19-46 8 25.5 Carter Hogg Martin D -
67 67 Saturday, Jul 12 boxscore PHI CIN L 0 7 19-47 8 26.5 Ring Rixey D --
68 68 Monday, Jul 14 boxscore PHI CIN W 8 1 20-47 8 25.5 Packard Luque D +
69 69 Thursday, Jul 17 boxscore PHI STL W 1 0 12 21-47 8 25.5 Meadows Jacobs D ++
70 70 Saturday, Jul 19 (1) boxscore PHI STL W 6 1 22-47 8 24.5 Hogg Doak D +++
71 71 Saturday, Jul 19 (2) boxscore PHI STL W 4 3 6 23-47 8 24.5 Rixey May D ++++
72 72 Wednesday, Jul 23 (1) boxscore PHI PIT W 6 1 24-47 8 25.0 Meadows Carlson D +++++
73 73 Wednesday, Jul 23 (2) boxscore PHI PIT L 0 1 24-48 8 25.0 Miller Rixey D -
74 74 Thursday, Jul 24 boxscore PHI BRO W 7 6 11 25-48 8 25.0 Smith Smith D 3,000 +
75 75 Friday, Jul 25 boxscore PHI BRO L 0 5 25-49 8 26.0 Pfeffer Packard D -
76 76 Saturday, Jul 26 (1) boxscore PHI BRO W 2 0 26-49 8 25.5 Meadows Mitchell D 15,000 +
77 77 Saturday, Jul 26 (2) boxscore PHI BRO L 5 11 26-50 8 25.5 Grimes Rixey D 15,000 -
78 78 Sunday, Jul 27 boxscore PHI @ BRO W 4 2 27-50 8 25.5 Smith Cadore Packard D 7 +
79 79 Monday, Jul 28 boxscore PHI BSN L 3 5 27-51 8 26.5 McQuillan Rixey Rudolph D -
80 80 Wednesday, Jul 30 boxscore PHI @ STL W 3 1 28-51 8 26.0 Meadows Doak D +
81 81 Thursday, Jul 31 boxscore PHI @ STL W 11 4 29-51 7 26.5 Packard Jacobs D ++
82 82 Saturday, Aug 2 (1) boxscore PHI @ CHC W 2 1 14 30-51 6 26.5 Meadows Alexander D +++
83 83 Saturday, Aug 2 (2) boxscore PHI @ CHC W 4 3 10 31-51 6 26.5 Rixey Martin D ++++
84 84 Sunday, Aug 3 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 1 7 31-52 6 26.5 Vaughn Murray D -
85 85 Monday, Aug 4 boxscore PHI @ CHC W 5 2 32-52 6 26.0 Packard Hendrix D +
86 86 Tuesday, Aug 5 boxscore PHI @ PIT W 2 0 33-52 6 26.0 Meadows Adams 1:40 D ++
87 87 Thursday, Aug 7 boxscore PHI @ PIT W 5 3 34-52 6 25.5 Rixey Miller 1:53 D +++
88 88 Friday, Aug 8 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 2 4 34-53 6 26.5 Ruether Packard Ring 1:39 D -
89 89 Saturday, Aug 9 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 1 10 34-54 7 27.5 Sallee Meadows 1:50 D --
90 90 Sunday, Aug 10 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 2 3 13 34-55 7 28.5 Ring Meadows D 22,000 ---
91 91 Monday, Aug 11 boxscore PHI @ CIN W 5 3 35-55 7 27.5 Rixey Eller 1:53 D +
92 92 Thursday, Aug 14 (1) boxscore PHI STL L 2 4 35-56 7 28.5 Doak Packard D -
93 93 Thursday, Aug 14 (2) boxscore PHI STL L 3 6 35-57 7 28.5 Ames Smith D --
94 94 Friday, Aug 15 (1) boxscore PHI STL L 2 7 35-58 7 29.5 Woodward Murray D ---
95 95 Friday, Aug 15 (2) boxscore PHI STL W 7 2 36-58 7 29.5 Meadows Woodward D +
96 96 Saturday, Aug 16 (1) boxscore PHI PIT L 4 6 36-59 7 30.0 Miller Rixey D 0 -
97 97 Saturday, Aug 16 (2) boxscore PHI PIT W 4 0 37-59 7 30.0 Rixey Ponder D 8,000 +
98 98 Monday, Aug 18 boxscore PHI PIT L 2 3 13 37-60 8 30.0 Cooper Smith D -
99 99 Tuesday, Aug 19 boxscore PHI PIT L 4 5 37-61 8 31.5 Carlson Meadows D --
100 100 Wednesday, Aug 20 (1) boxscore PHI CHC W 10 2 38-61 7 32.0 Cheney Bailey D +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Wednesday, Aug 20 (2) boxscore PHI CHC L 5 6 11 38-62 7 32.0 Martin Rixey D -
102 102 Thursday, Aug 21 boxscore PHI CHC L 1 5 38-63 7 33.0 Hendrix Hogg D --
103 103 Friday, Aug 22 boxscore PHI CHC L 2 10 38-64 7 34.0 Alexander Smith D ---
104 104 Saturday, Aug 23 (1) boxscore PHI CIN L 3 8 38-65 8 36.0 Luque Meadows Ruether D ----
105 105 Saturday, Aug 23 (2) boxscore PHI CIN L 1 6 38-66 8 36.0 Sallee Cheney D -----
106 106 Monday, Aug 25 boxscore PHI CIN L 3 7 38-67 8 37.0 Ruether Smith Ring D ------
107 107 Tuesday, Aug 26 (1) boxscore PHI CIN L 3 4 38-68 8 39.0 Eller Cantwell Luque D -------
108 108 Tuesday, Aug 26 (2) boxscore PHI CIN L 3 8 15 38-69 8 39.0 Fisher Cheney D --------
109 109 Wednesday, Aug 27 boxscore PHI NYG L 2 7 38-70 8 39.5 Barnes Meadows D 2,500 ---------
110 110 Thursday, Aug 28 boxscore PHI NYG W 14 2 39-70 8 39.0 Hogg Winters D +
111 111 Friday, Aug 29 (1) boxscore PHI BSN W 4 3 12 40-70 8 39.0 Smith Fillingim D ++
112 112 Friday, Aug 29 (2) boxscore PHI BSN L 4 6 40-71 8 39.0 Demaree Cantwell D -
113 113 Saturday, Aug 30 (1) boxscore PHI BSN L 4 5 40-72 8 39.5 Oeschger Cheney D --
114 114 Saturday, Aug 30 (2) boxscore PHI BSN L 2 3 11 40-73 8 39.5 Scott Meadows D ---
115 115 Monday, Sep 1 boxscore PHI @ BRO W 6 4 41-73 7 38.5 Hogg Pfeffer D 6,000 +
116 116 Thursday, Sep 4 boxscore PHI @ BSN L 1 4 41-74 8 40.0 Scott Smith D -
117 117 Friday, Sep 5 boxscore PHI @ BSN L 2 6 41-75 8 40.0 Causey Cheney D --
118 118 Saturday, Sep 6 boxscore PHI @ BSN W 4 1 42-75 8 40.0 Hogg Rudolph D +
119 119 Sunday, Sep 7 (1) boxscore PHI @ BRO W 3 2 11 43-75 8 40.0 Meadows Cadore D 0 ++
120 120 Sunday, Sep 7 (2) boxscore PHI @ BRO L 1 2 43-76 8 40.0 Pfeffer Rixey D 21 -
121 121 Tuesday, Sep 9 boxscore PHI @ CIN W 2 0 44-76 8 39.0 Smith Ring 1:23 D +
122 122 Wednesday, Sep 10 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 0 2 44-77 8 40.0 Sallee Hogg 1:29 D -
123 123 Thursday, Sep 11 (1) boxscore PHI @ PIT L 1 7 44-78 8 41.0 Cooper Ames 1:40 D --
124 124 Thursday, Sep 11 (2) boxscore PHI @ PIT L 2 7 44-79 8 41.0 Hamilton Meadows 1:40 D ---
125 125 Friday, Sep 12 boxscore PHI @ PIT W 6 5 45-79 8 41.0 Cantwell Miller 1:53 D +
126 126 Saturday, Sep 13 (1) boxscore PHI @ PIT L 1 4 45-80 8 42.0 Carlson Smith 1:19 D -
127 127 Saturday, Sep 13 (2) boxscore PHI @ PIT L 0 2 45-81 8 42.0 Adams Hogg 1:45 D --
128 128 Sunday, Sep 14 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 0 4 45-82 8 43.0 Martin Cheney 1:35 D 7 ---
129 129 Monday, Sep 15 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 3 4 10 45-83 8 44.0 Carter Meadows 2:09 D ----
130 130 Tuesday, Sep 16 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 2 7 45-84 8 45.0 Alexander Ames 1:50 D -----
131 131 Friday, Sep 19 boxscore PHI @ STL W 3 1 46-84 8 45.0 Hogg May D +
132 132 Wednesday, Sep 24 (1) boxscore PHI BRO L 1 4 46-85 8 45.0 Pfeffer Meadows D -
133 133 Wednesday, Sep 24 (2) boxscore PHI BRO L 7 14 46-86 8 45.0 Mamaux Hogg D --
134 134 Thursday, Sep 25 boxscore PHI BRO W 10 9 47-86 8 44.5 Cheney Cadore Ames D +
135 135 Friday, Sep 26 boxscore PHI BRO L 3 13 47-87 8 46.0 Smith Cantwell D 600 -
136 136 Saturday, Sep 27 boxscore PHI @ NYG L 0 6 47-88 8 47.0 Nehf Hogg D 6,000 --
137 137 Sunday, Sep 28 (1) boxscore PHI @ NYG L 1 6 47-89 8 47.5 Barnes Meadows 0:51 D 14,000 ---
138 138 Sunday, Sep 28 (2) boxscore PHI @ NYG L 1 7 47-90 8 47.5 Hubbell Smith D 20 ----
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1918 / 1920 Schedule and Results