Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1918 Schedule and Results

1918 Philadelphia Phillies

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1917 / 1919

55-68, Finished 6th in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Pat Moran (55-68)
Scored 430 runs, Allowed 507 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 52-71

Ballparks: Baker Bowl · Attendance: 122,266 (5th of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 107, Pitching - 108 · one-year: Batting - 109, Pitching - 112


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1917 / 1919 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 55-68, Final Rank:6, GB: 26.0
Days in First1last on Tuesday, Apr 16, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 2last on Apr 16, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind26.5last on Saturday, Aug 24, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5006last on Saturday, Apr 27
Most Games under .50016last on Saturday, Aug 24
Longest Winning Streak5Friday, Apr 19 to Wednesday, Apr 24 and Saturday, Jun 29 to Thursday, Jul 4
Longest Losing Streak9Monday, Apr 29 to Thursday, May 9
Most Runs Allowed16Saturday, Aug 3
Most Runs Scored12Saturday, Aug 3
Longest Game (innings)21Wednesday, Jul 17
Times Shutout by Opponent16 
Times Opponent Shutout10 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 55 68 430 507 .447
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 27 29 220 261 .482
Road 28 39 210 246 .418
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 8 4 46 52 .667
May 7 16 53 89 .304
June 13 12 96 100 .520
July 14 15 112 130 .483
August 12 20 116 129 .375
September 1 1 7 7 .500
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 27 31 192 238 .466
Second Half 28 37 238 269 .431
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 49 60 375 446 .450
ExtraInning 6 8 55 61 .429
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 24 21 144 141 .533
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 12 15 114 153 .444
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BRO 8 9 50 45 .471
BSN 12 7 74 72 .632
CHC 6 12 53 83 .333
CIN 7 12 75 90 .368
NYG 3 10 24 62 .231
PIT 11 7 74 61 .611
STL 8 11 80 94 .421

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 16 boxscore PHI BSN W 5 2 1-0 1 Tied Mayer Ragan D 10,000 +
2 2 Wednesday, Apr 17 boxscore PHI BSN L 2 14 1-1 3 1.0 Nehf Tincup D 4,000 -
3 3 Friday, Apr 19 boxscore PHI BSN W 4 3 10 2-1 2 1.0 Prendergast Hughes D 2,000 +
4 4 Saturday, Apr 20 boxscore PHI BRO W 9 2 3-1 2 1.0 Mayer Marquard D 2,000 ++
5 5 Monday, Apr 22 boxscore PHI BRO W 3 0 4-1 2 1.0 Oeschger Grimes D 2,000 +++
6 6 Tuesday, Apr 23 boxscore PHI BRO W 7 2 5-1 2 1.0 Hogg Mamaux D 1,000 ++++
7 7 Wednesday, Apr 24 boxscore PHI @ BSN W 4 1 6-1 2 1.0 Mayer Hughes 1:58 D 2,500 +++++
8 8 Thursday, Apr 25 boxscore PHI @ BSN L 5 6 6-2 2 2.0 Nehf Prendergast 2:20 D 1,000 -
9 9 Friday, Apr 26 boxscore PHI @ BSN W 3 0 7-2 2 2.0 Main Hearn 1:40 D 2,500 +
10 10 Saturday, Apr 27 boxscore PHI @ BSN W 4 1 8-2 2 1.0 Hogg Ragan 2:04 D 3,000 ++
11 11 Monday, Apr 29 boxscore PHI NYG L 0 6 8-3 2 2.0 Tesreau Mayer D 7,000 -
12 12 Tuesday, Apr 30 boxscore PHI NYG L 0 15 8-4 2 3.0 Barnes Prendergast Causey D 3,500 --
13 13 Thursday, May 2 boxscore PHI NYG L 0 6 8-5 3 4.0 Perritt Main D 3,000 ---
14 14 Friday, May 3 boxscore PHI @ BRO L 2 5 8-6 3 5.0 Coombs Mayer D ----
15 15 Saturday, May 4 boxscore PHI @ BRO L 0 3 8-7 3 6.0 Grimes Prendergast D -----
16 16 Monday, May 6 boxscore PHI @ BRO L 0 2 8-8 4 7.0 Griner Oeschger D ------
17 17 Tuesday, May 7 boxscore PHI @ NYG L 3 7 8-9 4 8.0 Barnes Hogg D 8,000 -------
18 18 Wednesday, May 8 boxscore PHI @ NYG L 2 3 8-10 4 9.0 Perritt Prendergast D 10,000 --------
19 19 Thursday, May 9 boxscore PHI @ NYG L 1 4 8-11 4 10.0 Tesreau Mayer D ---------
20 20 Monday, May 13 boxscore PHI @ STL T 3 3 10 8-11 5 9.0 D ---------
21 21 Tuesday, May 14 boxscore PHI @ STL W 5 4 9-11 5 9.0 Hogg Doak D +
22 22 Wednesday, May 15 boxscore PHI @ CHC W 5 3 10-11 5 8.0 Prendergast Walker D ++
23 23 Thursday, May 16 boxscore PHI @ CHC W 6 5 11-11 5 7.0 Mayer Carter Oeschger D +++
24 24 Friday, May 17 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 0 2 11-12 5 7.0 Vaughn Main D -
25 25 Saturday, May 18 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 1 7 11-13 5 8.0 Hendrix Oeschger D --
26 26 Sunday, May 19 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 0 3 11-14 5 8.0 Tyler Hogg D ---
27 27 Monday, May 20 boxscore PHI @ PIT L 1 5 11-15 5 9.0 Cooper Prendergast 1:43 D ----
28 28 Wednesday, May 22 boxscore PHI @ PIT L 5 6 12 11-16 5 10.0 Cooper Oeschger 2:45 D -----
29 29 Thursday, May 23 boxscore PHI @ PIT W 3 2 12-16 5 10.0 Mayer Miller 2:19 D +
30 30 Friday, May 24 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 1 2 11 12-17 5 10.5 Toney Watson D -
31 31 Saturday, May 25 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 0 3 12-18 5 10.5 Smith Oeschger D --
32 32 Sunday, May 26 boxscore PHI @ CIN W 4 3 13-18 5 9.5 Hogg Schneider Prendergast D +
33 33 Monday, May 27 boxscore PHI @ CIN W 2 1 14-18 5 8.5 Mayer Eller D ++
34 34 Wednesday, May 29 boxscore PHI NYG W 5 2 15-18 5 7.5 Prendergast Tesreau D 3,500 +++
35 35 Thursday, May 30 boxscore PHI NYG L 3 6 15-19 6 8.5 Demaree Oeschger D 8,000 -
36 36 Friday, May 31 boxscore PHI NYG L 1 2 15-20 6 9.5 Sallee Hogg D 3,000 --
37 37 Saturday, Jun 1 boxscore PHI CIN W 5 2 16-20 6 9.5 Mayer Smith D 2,000 +
38 38 Sunday, Jun 2 boxscore PHI @ CIN W 6 3 17-20 5 9.0 Prendergast Toney D ++
39 39 Tuesday, Jun 4 (1) boxscore PHI CIN L 4 5 17-21 5 9.0 Schneider Oeschger Toney D 8,000 -
40 40 Tuesday, Jun 4 (2) boxscore PHI CIN W 5 0 18-21 5 9.0 Hogg Eller D 8,000 +
41 41 Wednesday, Jun 5 boxscore PHI CIN L 4 7 18-22 5 10.0 Bressler Mayer D 4,000 -
42 42 Thursday, Jun 6 boxscore PHI CHC L 0 3 18-23 5 10.5 Douglas Prendergast D 2,500 --
43 43 Saturday, Jun 8 boxscore PHI CHC L 0 6 18-24 6 11.5 Tyler Hogg D ---
44 44 Monday, Jun 10 boxscore PHI CHC L 1 6 18-25 6 12.5 Vaughn Oeschger D 2,000 ----
45 45 Thursday, Jun 13 boxscore PHI STL T 8 8 19 18-25 6 13.0 4:30 D 3,500 ----
46 46 Friday, Jun 14 (1) boxscore PHI STL W 2 1 10 19-25 6 12.5 Prendergast Doak D 2,000 +
47 47 Friday, Jun 14 (2) boxscore PHI STL L 3 6 19-26 6 12.5 May Davis D 2,000 -
48 48 Saturday, Jun 15 boxscore PHI PIT W 6 1 20-26 5 12.5 Oeschger Sanders D +
49 49 Monday, Jun 17 boxscore PHI PIT W 9 8 10 21-26 5 11.5 Watson Steele D ++
50 50 Tuesday, Jun 18 boxscore PHI PIT W 1 0 22-26 4 11.5 Hogg Cooper D +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 19 boxscore PHI BSN L 2 3 22-27 4 12.5 Rudolph Oeschger D 4,000 -
52 52 Thursday, Jun 20 (1) boxscore PHI BSN L 4 6 10 22-28 4 12.0 Nehf Prendergast D 7,500 --
53 53 Thursday, Jun 20 (2) boxscore PHI BSN W 5 4 23-28 4 12.0 Watson Ragan D +
54 54 Friday, Jun 21 boxscore PHI BSN W 10 6 24-28 4 11.0 Main Upham Oeschger D 2,500 ++
55 55 Saturday, Jun 22 boxscore PHI BSN L 4 8 24-29 4 12.0 Fillingim Hogg D 5,000 -
56 56 Monday, Jun 24 boxscore PHI BRO W 7 1 25-29 4 12.5 Oeschger Cheney D 2,500 +
57 57 Tuesday, Jun 25 boxscore PHI BRO W 3 2 26-29 4 12.5 Prendergast Coombs 1:17 D 2,500 ++
58 58 Wednesday, Jun 26 boxscore PHI BRO W 1 0 27-29 3 12.5 Jacobs Marquard D 2,000 +++
59 59 Thursday, Jun 27 boxscore PHI BRO L 2 5 27-30 3 13.5 Grimes Watson D 3,500 -
60 60 Friday, Jun 28 boxscore PHI @ NYG L 1 6 27-31 4 14.0 Demaree Hogg D 5,000 --
61 61 Saturday, Jun 29 (1) boxscore PHI @ NYG L 1 2 27-32 4 14.5 Perritt Prendergast D 0 ---
62 62 Saturday, Jun 29 (2) boxscore PHI @ NYG W 2 1 28-32 4 14.5 Oeschger Causey D 18,000 +
63 63 Tuesday, Jul 2 boxscore PHI @ NYG W 5 2 29-32 3 15.0 Jacobs Sallee D ++
64 64 Wednesday, Jul 3 boxscore PHI @ BSN W 5 0 30-32 3 14.0 Hogg Rudolph 1:50 D 1,800 +++
65 65 Thursday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore PHI @ BSN W 2 1 31-32 3 14.0 Prendergast Nehf 1:50 D 3,000 ++++
66 66 Thursday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore PHI @ BSN W 3 2 12 32-32 3 14.0 Oeschger Ragan 2:10 D 10,000 +++++
67 67 Saturday, Jul 6 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 9 10 32-33 4 14.5 Schneider Jacobs Toney D -
68 68 Sunday, Jul 7 (1) boxscore PHI @ CIN L 2 5 32-34 4 15.0 Ring Hogg D --
69 69 Sunday, Jul 7 (2) boxscore PHI @ CIN W 4 3 33-34 4 15.0 Watson Toney Oeschger D +
70 70 Monday, Jul 8 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 3 4 33-35 4 15.5 Eller Oeschger D -
71 71 Wednesday, Jul 10 (1) boxscore PHI @ STL L 3 4 33-36 4 15.5 Ames Oeschger D --
72 72 Wednesday, Jul 10 (2) boxscore PHI @ STL L 4 7 33-37 4 15.5 Meadows Hogg D ---
73 73 Thursday, Jul 11 boxscore PHI @ STL W 5 2 34-37 4 16.0 Prendergast Sherdel D +
74 74 Friday, Jul 12 boxscore PHI @ STL L 2 8 34-38 4 17.0 May Jacobs Doak D -
75 75 Saturday, Jul 13 (1) boxscore PHI @ STL L 5 11 34-39 4 17.5 Packard Davis D --
76 76 Saturday, Jul 13 (2) boxscore PHI @ STL W 4 1 35-39 4 17.5 Watson Meadows D +
77 77 Sunday, Jul 14 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 5 9 35-40 4 18.5 Tyler Oeschger D -
78 78 Tuesday, Jul 16 (1) boxscore PHI @ CHC W 7 5 36-40 4 16.5 Hogg Vaughn Jacobs D +
79 79 Tuesday, Jul 16 (2) boxscore PHI @ CHC W 4 3 37-40 4 16.5 Prendergast Hendrix D ++
80 80 Wednesday, Jul 17 boxscore PHI @ CHC L 1 2 21 37-41 4 17.5 Tyler Watson D -
81 81 Thursday, Jul 18 boxscore PHI @ PIT W 1 0 13 38-41 4 16.5 Jacobs Slapnicka 2:54 D +
82 82 Friday, Jul 19 boxscore PHI @ PIT L 2 3 38-42 4 16.5 Comstock Oeschger 1:56 D -
83 83 Saturday, Jul 20 (1) boxscore PHI @ PIT L 0 1 38-43 4 16.0 Mayer Hogg 1:33 D --
84 84 Saturday, Jul 20 (2) boxscore PHI @ PIT W 3 2 39-43 4 16.0 Prendergast Cooper 1:44 D +
85 85 Wednesday, Jul 24 boxscore PHI CHC L 4 5 39-44 4 16.5 Vaughn Prendergast D -
86 86 Thursday, Jul 25 (1) boxscore PHI CHC W 10 5 40-44 4 16.5 Hogg Douglas D +
87 87 Thursday, Jul 25 (2) boxscore PHI CHC L 6 12 40-45 4 16.5 Hendrix Oeschger Douglas D -
88 88 Friday, Jul 26 boxscore PHI CHC W 3 2 41-45 4 15.5 Jacobs Tyler D +
89 89 Saturday, Jul 27 (1) boxscore PHI CIN L 5 14 41-46 4 17.0 Ring Watson D -
90 90 Saturday, Jul 27 (2) boxscore PHI CIN L 0 3 41-47 4 17.0 Regan Prendergast D --
91 91 Monday, Jul 29 boxscore PHI CIN W 5 4 11 42-47 4 16.0 Hogg Schneider D +
92 92 Thursday, Aug 1 (1) boxscore PHI STL W 7 0 43-47 4 17.0 Jacobs Meadows D ++
93 93 Thursday, Aug 1 (2) boxscore PHI STL L 1 3 10 43-48 4 17.0 Doak Prendergast D -
94 94 Friday, Aug 2 boxscore PHI STL L 1 2 43-49 4 18.0 Sherdel Watson D --
95 95 Saturday, Aug 3 (1) boxscore PHI STL L 12 16 43-50 4 19.0 Packard Oeschger Meadows D ---
96 96 Saturday, Aug 3 (2) boxscore PHI STL L 1 7 43-51 4 19.0 Ames Hogg D ----
97 97 Monday, Aug 5 boxscore PHI STL W 3 1 44-51 4 19.0 Jacobs Doak D +
98 98 Tuesday, Aug 6 boxscore PHI PIT L 2 10 44-52 4 20.0 Cooper Prendergast D -
99 99 Wednesday, Aug 7 boxscore PHI PIT L 2 4 44-53 5 20.0 Mayer Watson 2:00 D 1,000 --
100 100 Thursday, Aug 8 (1) boxscore PHI PIT W 6 1 45-53 5 18.5 Hogg Comstock 1:44 D +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Aug 8 (2) boxscore PHI PIT W 8 2 46-53 5 18.5 Jacobs Slapnicka 1:43 D ++
102 102 Saturday, Aug 10 (1) boxscore PHI @ BRO L 0 4 46-54 5 19.0 Grimes Oeschger D -
103 103 Saturday, Aug 10 (2) boxscore PHI @ BRO W 3 2 47-54 5 19.0 Prendergast Coombs D +
104 104 Tuesday, Aug 13 (1) boxscore PHI @ BRO L 1 2 47-55 6 19.5 Cheney Hogg D -
105 105 Tuesday, Aug 13 (2) boxscore PHI @ BRO L 3 4 12 47-56 6 19.5 Coombs Oeschger D --
106 106 Wednesday, Aug 14 boxscore PHI @ BRO L 2 4 47-57 6 20.5 Grimes Prendergast D ---
107 107 Saturday, Aug 17 (1) boxscore PHI @ CHC L 0 3 47-58 6 22.5 Hendrix Jacobs D ----
108 108 Saturday, Aug 17 (2) boxscore PHI @ CHC L 0 2 47-59 6 22.5 Tyler Oeschger D -----
109 109 Sunday, Aug 18 (1) boxscore PHI @ STL L 0 4 47-60 6 23.5 Sherdel Hogg D ------
110 110 Sunday, Aug 18 (2) boxscore PHI @ STL L 1 5 47-61 6 23.5 Meadows Watson D -------
111 111 Monday, Aug 19 boxscore PHI @ STL W 7 1 48-61 6 23.5 Prendergast Ames D +
112 112 Tuesday, Aug 20 boxscore PHI @ STL W 3 0 49-61 6 23.5 Jacobs Packard D ++
113 113 Wednesday, Aug 21 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 3 4 10 49-62 6 24.5 Eller Hogg D -
114 114 Thursday, Aug 22 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 6 9 49-63 6 24.5 Schneider Fortune D --
115 115 Friday, Aug 23 boxscore PHI @ CIN L 7 8 49-64 6 25.5 Luque Jacobs D ---
116 116 Saturday, Aug 24 (1) boxscore PHI @ PIT L 3 4 49-65 6 26.5 Cooper Jacobs 1:34 D ----
117 117 Saturday, Aug 24 (2) boxscore PHI @ PIT W 7 4 50-65 6 26.5 Hogg Mayer 1:39 D +
118 118 Tuesday, Aug 27 (1) boxscore PHI @ PIT W 7 6 51-65 6 25.5 Prendergast Comstock Hogg 2:16 D ++
119 119 Tuesday, Aug 27 (2) boxscore PHI @ PIT W 8 2 52-65 6 25.5 Watson Miller 1:48 D +++
120 120 Friday, Aug 30 (1) boxscore PHI BSN W 1 0 53-65 6 26.0 Oeschger Rudolph D ++++
121 121 Friday, Aug 30 (2) boxscore PHI BSN L 3 8 53-66 6 26.0 Ragan Fortune D -
122 122 Saturday, Aug 31 (1) boxscore PHI BSN L 2 5 11 53-67 6 25.5 Nehf Prendergast D --
123 123 Saturday, Aug 31 (2) boxscore PHI BSN W 6 2 54-67 6 25.5 Hogg Crandall D +
124 124 Monday, Sep 2 (1) boxscore PHI BRO W 4 2 55-67 6 26.0 Jacobs Cheney D ++
125 125 Monday, Sep 2 (2) boxscore PHI BRO L 3 5 55-68 6 26.0 Smith Oeschger D -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1917 / 1919 Schedule and Results