Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 2008 Schedule and Results

2008 New York Yankees

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 2007 / 2009

89-73, Finished 3rd in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Joe Girardi (89-73)
GM: Brian Cashman, Scouting Dir: Damon Oppenheimer
Scored 789 runs, Allowed 727 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 87-75

Ballparks: Yankee Stadium II · Attendance: 4,298,655 (1st of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 103, Pitching - 101 · one-year: Batting - 103, Pitching - 102

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
News & ViewsThinkFactory
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


2007 / 2009 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 89-73, Final Rank:3, GB: 8.0
Days in First2last on Wednesday, Apr 16, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 7last on Apr 16, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind12.5last on Sunday, Aug 31, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50017last on Sunday, Sep 28
Most Games under .5005last on Tuesday, May 20
Longest Winning Streak8Friday, Jul 18 to Saturday, Jul 26
Longest Losing Streak4Thursday, May 15 to Tuesday, May 20 and Friday, Aug 8 to Monday, Aug 11
Most Runs Allowed15Friday, Jun 27
Most Runs Scored19Friday, Sep 26
Longest Game (innings)13Saturday, Aug 16
Times Shutout by Opponent8 
Times Opponent Shutout11 
Walkoff Wins9 
Walkoff Losses7 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 89 73 789 727 .549
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 48 33 412 361 .593
Road 41 40 377 366 .506
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 14 15 125 133 .483
May 14 12 124 119 .538
June 16 12 137 114 .571
July 15 10 130 105 .600
August 13 15 135 148 .464
September 17 9 138 108 .654
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 50 45 436 412 .526
Second Half 39 28 353 315 .582
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 82 70 740 687 .539
ExtraInning 7 3 49 40 .700
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 27 18 168 159 .600
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 29 23 348 305 .558
Inter-League Play
SplitWLRSRAWP
Inter-Lg 10 8 89 76 .556
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 11 7 91 88 .611
BOS 9 9 93 93 .500
CHW 5 2 41 27 .714
CIN 1 2 6 11 .333
CLE 3 4 22 23 .429
DET 2 4 33 37 .333
HOU 3 0 23 51.000
KCR 5 5 50 41 .500
LAA 3 7 50 66 .300
MIN 6 4 55 43 .600
NYM 2 4 25 38 .333
OAK 5 1 24 15 .833
PIT 1 2 17 16 .333
SDP 3 0 18 61.000
SEA 7 2 60 29 .778
TBR 11 7 76 75 .611
TEX 3 4 40 32 .429
TOR 9 9 65 82 .500

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 1 boxscore NYY TOR W 3 2 1-0 1 Tied Wang Halladay Rivera 2:31 N 55,112 +
2 2 Wednesday, Apr 2 boxscore NYY TOR L 2 5 1-1 2 1.0 Burnett Mussina Accardo 3:10 N 48,544 -
3 3 Thursday, Apr 3 boxscore NYY TOR W 3 2 2-1 2 0.5 Chamberlain Wolfe Rivera 2:45 N 47,785 +
4 4 Friday, Apr 4 boxscore NYY TBR L 4 13 2-2 4 0.5 Sonnanstine Kennedy 3:07 N 49,255 -
5 5 Saturday, Apr 5 boxscore NYY TBR L 3 6 2-3 5 1.5 Jackson Pettitte Percival 3:05 D 52,247 --
6 6 Sunday, Apr 6 boxscore NYY TBR W 2 0 3-3 4 1.5 Wang Shields Rivera 2:53 D 51,279 +
7 7 Monday, Apr 7 boxscore NYY TBR W 6 1 4-3 3 1.5 Mussina Hammel 2:53 N 41,302 ++
8 8 Tuesday, Apr 8 boxscore NYY @ KCR L 2 5 4-4 3 2.5 Bannister Hughes Soria 3:15 D 37,296 -
9 9 Wednesday, Apr 9 boxscore NYY @ KCR L 0 4 4-5 3 3.0 Greinke Farnsworth Gobble 2:45 N 19,007 --
10 10 Thursday, Apr 10 boxscore NYY @ KCR W 6 1 5-5 2 1.5 Pettitte Bale 2:52 N 16,143 +
11 11 Friday, Apr 11 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 4 1 6-5 2 0.5 Wang Timlin 2:59 N 37,624 ++
12 12 Saturday, Apr 12 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 3 4 6-6 3 1.5 Beckett Mussina Papelbon 2:49 D 37,461 -
13 13 Sunday, Apr 13 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 5 8 6-7 5 1.5 Matsuzaka Hughes 3:55 N 37,876 --
14 14 Monday, Apr 14 boxscore NYY @ TBR W 8 7 7-7 4 1.5 Bruney Reyes Rivera 3:05 N 18,872 +
15 15 Tuesday, Apr 15 boxscore NYY @ TBR W 5 3 8-7 4 1.0 Pettitte Jackson Rivera 3:01 N 20,923 ++
16 16 Wednesday, Apr 16 boxscore NYY BOS W 15 9 9-7 1 Tied Hawkins Tavarez Bruney 4:08 N 54,667 +++
17 17 Thursday, Apr 17 boxscore NYY BOS L 5 7 9-8 3 1.0 Beckett Mussina 3:20 N 55,088 -
18 18 Friday, Apr 18 boxscore NYY @ BAL L 2 8 9-9 3 2.0 Cabrera Hughes 3:12 N 40,653 --
19 19 Saturday, Apr 19 boxscore NYY @ BAL L 0 6 9-10 4 3.0 Burres Kennedy Johnson 3:08 N 41,776 ---
20 20 Sunday, Apr 20 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 7 1 10-10 4 3.0 Pettitte Trachsel 2:52 D 37,501 +
21 21 Tuesday, Apr 22 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 9 5 11-10 3 3.5 Wang Contreras 3:44 N 25,012 ++
22 22 Wednesday, Apr 23 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 6 4 12-10 3 2.5 Mussina Vazquez Rivera 3:06 N 27,751 +++
23 23 Thursday, Apr 24 boxscore NYY @ CHW L-wo 6 7 12-11 3 2.5 Jenks Chamberlain 3:05 N 27,243 -
24 24 Friday, Apr 25 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 4 6 12-12 4 2.5 Byrd Pettitte Betancourt 2:51 N 31,467 --
25 25 Saturday, Apr 26 boxscore NYY @ CLE L-wo 3 4 12-13 4 2.5 Kobayashi Ohlendorf 3:27 D 35,765 ---
26 26 Sunday, Apr 27 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 1 0 13-13 4 1.5 Wang Sabathia Rivera 2:54 D 31,598 +
27 27 Monday, Apr 28 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 5 2 14-13 4 1.5 Mussina Laffey Rivera 3:02 N 20,689 ++
28 28 Tuesday, Apr 29 boxscore NYY DET L 4 6 14-14 4 2.5 Rogers Hughes Jones 3:26 N 49,194 -
29 29 Wednesday, Apr 30 boxscore NYY DET L 2 6 14-15 4 3.0 Bonderman Pettitte 2:48 N 49,513 --
30 30 Thursday, May 1 boxscore NYY DET L 4 8 14-16 4 3.0 Robertson Albaladejo 3:30 N 50,993 ---
31 31 Friday, May 2 boxscore NYY SEA W 5 1 15-16 4 3.0 Wang Bedard 2:57 N 52,199 +
32 32 Saturday, May 3 boxscore NYY SEA W 6 1 16-16 4 3.0 Mussina Hernandez 2:51 D 52,810 ++
33 33 Sunday, May 4 boxscore NYY SEA W 8 2 17-16 3 3.0 Rasner Silva 2:51 D 53,542 +++
34 34 Tuesday, May 6 boxscore NYY CLE L 3 5 17-17 3 4.5 Perez Chamberlain Betancourt 3:19 N 50,713 -
35 35 Wednesday, May 7 boxscore NYY CLE L 0 3 17-18 3 4.5 Lee Wang Betancourt 3:04 N 50,199 --
36 36 Thursday, May 8 boxscore NYY CLE W 6 3 18-18 3 4.5 Mussina Byrd Rivera 2:33 D 53,227 +
37 37 Friday, May 9 boxscore NYY @ DET L 5 6 18-19 4 4.5 Rogers Igawa 3:03 N 44,062 -
38 38 Saturday, May 10 boxscore NYY @ DET W 5 2 19-19 4 4.5 Rasner Bonderman Rivera 2:51 D 44,580 +
39 39 Monday, May 12 boxscore NYY @ TBR L 1 7 19-20 4 4.0 Garza Pettitte 3:01 N 13,932 -
40 40 Tuesday, May 13 boxscore NYY @ TBR L-wo 1 2 11 19-21 4 4.5 Howell Rivera 3:32 N 16,558 --
41 41 Wednesday, May 14 boxscore NYY @ TBR W 2 1 20-21 4 3.5 Mussina Shields Rivera 2:44 N 20,936 +
42 42 Thursday, May 15 boxscore NYY @ TBR L 2 5 20-22 5 4.5 Kazmir Kennedy Percival 2:44 D 19,976 -
43 43 Saturday, May 17 boxscore NYY NYM L 4 7 20-23 5 5.0 Santana Pettitte Wagner 3:08 D 55,093 --
44 44 Sunday, May 18 boxscore NYY NYM L 2 11 20-24 5 6.0 Perez Wang 2:58 N 55,012 ---
45 45 Tuesday, May 20 boxscore NYY BAL L 2 12 20-25 5 7.5 Cabrera Mussina 2:54 N 51,617 ----
46 46 Wednesday, May 21 boxscore NYY BAL W 8 0 21-25 5 7.5 Rasner Olson 2:59 N 50,682 +
47 47 Thursday, May 22 boxscore NYY BAL W-wo 2 1 22-25 5 7.5 Rivera Johnson 2:49 N 49,452 ++
48 48 Friday, May 23 boxscore NYY SEA W 13 2 23-25 5 6.5 Pettitte Bedard 2:58 N 52,005 +++
49 49 Saturday, May 24 boxscore NYY SEA W 12 6 24-25 5 5.5 Mussina Silva 3:10 D 53,512 ++++
50 50 Sunday, May 25 boxscore NYY SEA W 6 5 25-25 4 5.0 Ramirez Putz Rivera 3:10 D 54,269 +++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Monday, May 26 boxscore NYY @ BAL L 1 6 25-26 5 6.0 Olson Rasner 2:46 D 34,928 -
52 52 Tuesday, May 27 boxscore NYY @ BAL L-wo 9 10 11 25-27 5 6.0 Albers Hawkins 3:52 N 24,030 --
53 53 Wednesday, May 28 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 4 2 26-27 5 6.0 Pettitte Guthrie Rivera 2:53 N 24,791 +
54 54 Friday, May 30 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 6 5 27-27 4 5.5 Mussina Perkins Rivera 3:04 N 30,188 ++
55 55 Saturday, May 31 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 7 6 12 28-27 4 5.5 Ohlendorf Rincon Rivera 4:35 N 36,441 +++
56 56 Sunday, Jun 1 boxscore NYY @ MIN L 1 5 28-28 4 6.5 Bass Rasner 2:53 D 27,479 -
57 57 Monday, Jun 2 boxscore NYY @ MIN L 5 6 28-29 4 7.0 Guerrier Farnsworth Nathan 2:54 N 20,168 --
58 58 Tuesday, Jun 3 boxscore NYY TOR L 3 9 28-30 5 7.0 Halladay Giese 3:38 N 53,629 ---
59 59 Wednesday, Jun 4 boxscore NYY TOR W 5 1 29-30 4 6.5 Mussina Litsch 2:46 N 51,151 +
60 60 Thursday, Jun 5 boxscore NYY TOR W-wo 9 8 30-30 4 6.5 Farnsworth Ryan 3:53 D 53,571 ++
61 61 Friday, Jun 6 boxscore NYY KCR L 1 2 30-31 5 6.5 Davies Rasner Soria 3:10 N 52,187 -
62 62 Saturday, Jun 7 boxscore NYY KCR W-wo 12 11 31-31 4 6.5 Rivera Soria 3:50 D 53,611 +
63 63 Sunday, Jun 8 boxscore NYY KCR W 6 3 32-31 3 6.5 Giese Greinke Rivera 3:05 D 54,213 ++
64 64 Monday, Jun 9 boxscore NYY KCR L 2 3 32-32 4 7.0 Yabuta Rivera Soria 2:47 D 53,633 -
65 65 Tuesday, Jun 10 boxscore NYY @ OAK W 3 1 33-32 4 6.0 Wang Eveland Rivera 2:58 N 26,402 +
66 66 Wednesday, Jun 11 boxscore NYY @ OAK L 4 8 33-33 4 7.0 Duchscherer Rasner 2:44 N 27,292 -
67 67 Thursday, Jun 12 boxscore NYY @ OAK W 4 1 34-33 3 7.0 Pettitte Blanton Rivera 2:30 N 28,658 +
68 68 Friday, Jun 13 boxscore NYY @ HOU W 2 1 35-33 3 6.0 Veras Brocail Farnsworth 2:57 N 43,095 ++
69 69 Saturday, Jun 14 boxscore NYY @ HOU W 8 4 36-33 3 6.0 Mussina Rodriguez 2:57 N 43,409 +++
70 70 Sunday, Jun 15 boxscore NYY @ HOU W 13 0 37-33 3 6.0 Wang Oswalt 3:12 D 43,165 ++++
71 71 Tuesday, Jun 17 boxscore NYY SDP W 8 0 38-33 3 5.5 Pettitte Wolf 2:46 N 52,306 +++++
72 72 Wednesday, Jun 18 boxscore NYY SDP W 8 5 39-33 3 5.5 Rasner Peavy Rivera 3:11 N 52,628 ++++++
73 73 Thursday, Jun 19 boxscore NYY SDP W 2 1 40-33 3 5.0 Veras Banks Rivera 3:12 D 54,362 +++++++
74 74 Friday, Jun 20 boxscore NYY CIN L 2 4 40-34 3 5.0 Volquez Mussina Cordero 2:46 N 53,421 -
75 75 Saturday, Jun 21 boxscore NYY CIN L 0 6 40-35 3 5.0 Bray Giese 2:55 D 54,509 --
76 76 Sunday, Jun 22 boxscore NYY CIN W 4 1 41-35 3 5.0 Pettitte Cueto Rivera 2:54 D 54,234 +
77 77 Tuesday, Jun 24 boxscore NYY @ PIT L 5 12 41-36 3 5.5 Gorzelanny Rasner 2:56 N 38,867 -
78 78 Wednesday, Jun 25 boxscore NYY @ PIT W 10 0 42-36 3 5.5 Chamberlain Duke 3:01 N 38,952 +
79 79 Friday, Jun 27 (1) boxscore NYY NYM L 6 15 42-37 3 6.0 Pelfrey Giese 3:54 D 54,978 -
80 80 Friday, Jun 27 (2) boxscore NYY @ NYM W 9 0 43-37 3 6.0 Ponson Martinez 3:11 N 56,308 +
81 81 Saturday, Jun 28 boxscore NYY @ NYM W 3 2 44-37 3 5.0 Pettitte Santana Rivera 3:00 D 56,172 ++
82 82 Sunday, Jun 29 boxscore NYY @ NYM L 1 3 44-38 3 5.5 Perez Rasner Wagner 3:00 D 56,277 -
83 83 Monday, Jun 30 boxscore NYY TEX L 1 2 44-39 3 6.5 Feldman Mussina Wilson 3:04 N 53,045 --
84 84 Tuesday, Jul 1 boxscore NYY TEX L 2 3 44-40 3 7.5 Francisco Rivera Wilson 3:23 N 53,223 ---
85 85 Wednesday, Jul 2 boxscore NYY TEX W 18 7 45-40 3 7.5 Ramirez Madrigal 3:37 N 52,659 +
86 86 Thursday, Jul 3 boxscore NYY BOS L 0 7 45-41 3 8.0 Lester Pettitte 2:46 N 54,677 -
87 87 Friday, Jul 4 boxscore NYY BOS L 4 6 45-42 4 9.0 Beckett Rasner Papelbon 3:51 D 55,130 --
88 88 Saturday, Jul 5 boxscore NYY BOS W 2 1 46-42 3 9.0 Mussina Masterson Rivera 2:58 D 54,990 +
89 89 Sunday, Jul 6 boxscore NYY BOS W-wo 5 4 10 47-42 3 9.0 Rivera Papelbon 3:25 N 54,922 ++
90 90 Tuesday, Jul 8 boxscore NYY TBR W 5 0 48-42 3 7.5 Pettitte Kazmir 2:46 N 53,089 +++
91 91 Wednesday, Jul 9 boxscore NYY TBR W-wo 2 1 10 49-42 3 6.5 Rivera Balfour 3:19 D 53,552 ++++
92 92 Thursday, Jul 10 boxscore NYY @ PIT L 2 4 49-43 3 6.5 Maholm Veras Marte 2:37 N 39,081 -
93 93 Friday, Jul 11 boxscore NYY @ TOR L 0 5 49-44 3 6.5 Halladay Chamberlain 2:21 N 43,078 --
94 94 Saturday, Jul 12 boxscore NYY @ TOR W 9 4 50-44 3 5.5 Rasner Litsch 3:19 D 44,363 +
95 95 Sunday, Jul 13 boxscore NYY @ TOR L 1 4 50-45 3 6.0 Burnett Pettitte Ryan 2:35 D 43,854 -
96 96 Friday, Jul 18 boxscore NYY OAK W 7 1 51-45 3 5.5 Mussina Smith 2:47 N 54,145 +
97 97 Saturday, Jul 19 boxscore NYY OAK W-wo 4 3 12 52-45 3 5.5 Robertson DiNardo 4:45 D 54,183 ++
98 98 Sunday, Jul 20 boxscore NYY OAK W 2 1 53-45 3 4.5 Pettitte Duchscherer Rivera 2:26 D 54,366 +++
99 99 Monday, Jul 21 boxscore NYY MIN W 12 4 54-45 3 4.5 Ponson Blackburn 3:09 N 53,484 ++++
100 100 Tuesday, Jul 22 boxscore NYY MIN W 8 2 55-45 3 3.5 Robertson Slowey 3:00 N 53,406 +++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Wednesday, Jul 23 boxscore NYY MIN W 5 1 56-45 3 3.5 Mussina Perkins Rivera 2:31 D 54,114 ++++++
102 102 Friday, Jul 25 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 1 0 57-45 3 3.0 Chamberlain Beckett Rivera 3:04 N 37,744 +++++++
103 103 Saturday, Jul 26 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 10 3 58-45 3 3.0 Pettitte Wakefield 3:28 D 37,225 ++++++++
104 104 Sunday, Jul 27 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 2 9 58-46 3 3.0 Lester Ponson 2:50 N 37,688 -
105 105 Monday, Jul 28 boxscore NYY BAL L 4 13 58-47 3 3.0 Guthrie Mussina 3:31 N 54,120 --
106 106 Tuesday, Jul 29 boxscore NYY BAL L 6 7 58-48 3 4.0 Cabrera Rasner 3:08 N 54,241 ---
107 107 Wednesday, Jul 30 boxscore NYY BAL W 13 3 59-48 3 4.0 Chamberlain Sarfate 3:08 D 54,296 +
108 108 Thursday, Jul 31 boxscore NYY LAA L 6 12 59-49 3 4.5 Garland Pettitte 3:16 N 53,405 -
109 109 Friday, Aug 1 boxscore NYY LAA L 0 1 59-50 3 5.5 Santana Rivera Rodriguez 2:32 N 53,997 --
110 110 Saturday, Aug 2 boxscore NYY LAA W 8 2 60-50 3 5.5 Mussina Weaver 2:42 D 54,170 +
111 111 Sunday, Aug 3 boxscore NYY LAA W 14 9 61-50 3 5.5 Ramirez Shields 3:23 D 54,204 ++
112 112 Monday, Aug 4 boxscore NYY @ TEX L-wo 5 9 61-51 3 5.5 Guardado Marte 3:28 N 33,813 -
113 113 Tuesday, Aug 5 boxscore NYY @ TEX L 6 8 61-52 3 6.5 Harrison Pettitte Guardado 3:27 N 34,473 --
114 114 Wednesday, Aug 6 boxscore NYY @ TEX W 5 3 62-52 3 6.5 Ponson Hunter Rivera 3:04 N 38,638 +
115 115 Thursday, Aug 7 boxscore NYY @ TEX W 3 0 63-52 3 5.5 Mussina Feldman Rivera 2:50 N 44,603 ++
116 116 Friday, Aug 8 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 5 10 63-53 3 6.5 Weaver Kennedy 2:45 N 44,158 -
117 117 Saturday, Aug 9 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 4 11 63-54 3 7.5 Shields Ramirez 2:47 D 43,919 --
118 118 Sunday, Aug 10 boxscore NYY @ LAA L-wo 3 4 63-55 3 8.5 Rodriguez Marte 2:58 D 44,138 ---
119 119 Monday, Aug 11 boxscore NYY @ MIN L 0 4 63-56 3 9.0 Perkins Ponson 2:14 N 30,126 ----
120 120 Tuesday, Aug 12 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 9 6 12 64-56 3 8.0 Veras Guerrier Ramirez 4:22 N 33,036 +
121 121 Wednesday, Aug 13 boxscore NYY @ MIN L 2 4 64-57 3 9.0 Slowey Rasner Nathan 3:08 D 35,187 -
122 122 Friday, Aug 15 boxscore NYY KCR L 3 4 64-58 3 10.5 Oviedo Rivera Soria 3:23 N 53,067 --
123 123 Saturday, Aug 16 boxscore NYY KCR W-wo 3 2 13 65-58 3 9.5 Robertson Fulchino 4:53 D 54,180 +
124 124 Sunday, Aug 17 boxscore NYY KCR W 15 6 66-58 3 9.5 Mussina Bannister 3:07 D 54,114 ++
125 125 Tuesday, Aug 19 boxscore NYY @ TOR L 1 2 66-59 3 11.0 Burnett Veras Ryan 2:28 N 37,221 -
126 126 Wednesday, Aug 20 boxscore NYY @ TOR W 5 1 67-59 3 10.0 Pettitte Purcey 2:22 N 34,910 +
127 127 Thursday, Aug 21 boxscore NYY @ TOR L 3 14 67-60 3 10.5 Halladay Ponson 2:57 N 37,037 -
128 128 Friday, Aug 22 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 9 4 68-60 3 10.5 Veras Walker Rivera 3:23 N 43,543 +
129 129 Saturday, Aug 23 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 5 3 69-60 3 10.5 Pavano Guthrie Rivera 3:08 N 48,817 ++
130 130 Sunday, Aug 24 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 8 7 70-60 3 9.5 Ramirez Walker Rivera 4:01 D 42,746 +++
131 131 Tuesday, Aug 26 boxscore NYY BOS L 3 7 70-61 3 9.5 Wakefield Pettitte Papelbon 3:22 N 55,058 -
132 132 Wednesday, Aug 27 boxscore NYY BOS L 3 11 70-62 3 10.5 Byrd Ponson 3:16 N 55,027 --
133 133 Thursday, Aug 28 boxscore NYY BOS W-wo 3 2 71-62 3 10.5 Rivera Masterson 3:21 D 55,092 +
134 134 Friday, Aug 29 boxscore NYY TOR W 2 1 72-62 3 10.5 Pavano Burnett Rivera 2:36 N 53,088 ++
135 135 Saturday, Aug 30 boxscore NYY TOR L 6 7 72-63 3 11.5 League Marte Ryan 3:25 D 53,273 -
136 136 Sunday, Aug 31 boxscore NYY TOR L 2 6 72-64 3 12.5 Halladay Pettitte 2:47 D 53,634 --
137 137 Monday, Sep 1 boxscore NYY @ DET W 13 9 73-64 3 12.0 Bruney Verlander 3:46 D 44,336 +
138 138 Tuesday, Sep 2 boxscore NYY @ TBR W 7 2 74-64 3 11.0 Mussina Garza 3:25 N 21,629 ++
139 139 Wednesday, Sep 3 boxscore NYY @ TBR W 8 4 75-64 3 10.0 Ramirez Jackson 3:31 N 25,215 +++
140 140 Thursday, Sep 4 boxscore NYY @ TBR L 5 7 75-65 3 11.0 Kazmir Rasner Wheeler 3:20 N 26,080 -
141 141 Friday, Sep 5 boxscore NYY @ SEA L 1 3 75-66 3 11.0 Morrow Pettitte Putz 2:22 N 39,518 --
142 142 Saturday, Sep 6 boxscore NYY @ SEA W 7 4 76-66 3 10.0 Ponson Green Rivera 2:37 N 44,473 +
143 143 Sunday, Sep 7 boxscore NYY @ SEA L 2 5 76-67 4 10.0 Feierabend Mussina Putz 2:32 D 42,677 -
144 144 Monday, Sep 8 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 1 12 76-68 4 10.0 Garland Pavano 2:57 N 41,025 --
145 145 Tuesday, Sep 9 boxscore NYY @ LAA W 7 1 77-68 4 10.0 Aceves Santana 2:36 N 43,042 +
146 146 Wednesday, Sep 10 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 2 4 77-69 4 11.0 Moseley Pettitte Rodriguez 3:04 D 39,783 -
147 147 Saturday, Sep 13 (1) boxscore NYY TBR L 1 7 77-70 4 11.0 Shields Mussina 2:59 D 54,088 --
148 148 Saturday, Sep 13 (2) boxscore NYY TBR W 6 5 78-70 4 11.0 Marte Howell Rivera 3:11 N 53,568 +
149 149 Sunday, Sep 14 boxscore NYY TBR W 8 4 79-70 4 10.0 Pavano Jackson Rivera 3:15 D 54,279 ++
150 150 Monday, Sep 15 boxscore NYY CHW W 4 2 80-70 3 9.0 Coke Wassermann Rivera 2:39 N 53,236 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 16 boxscore NYY CHW L 2 6 80-71 3 10.0 Floyd Pettitte 3:02 N 52,558 -
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 17 boxscore NYY CHW W 5 1 81-71 3 10.0 Bruney Richard 2:40 N 52,671 +
153 153 Thursday, Sep 18 boxscore NYY CHW W 9 2 82-71 3 9.0 Mussina Vazquez 3:08 N 53,152 ++
154 154 Friday, Sep 19 boxscore NYY BAL W 3 2 83-71 3 9.0 Pavano Liz Rivera 3:05 N 54,136 +++
155 155 Saturday, Sep 20 boxscore NYY BAL W-wo 1 0 84-71 3 9.0 Rivera Miller 2:41 D 54,662 ++++
156 156 Sunday, Sep 21 boxscore NYY BAL W 7 3 85-71 3 8.0 Pettitte Waters 3:05 N 54,610 +++++
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 23 boxscore NYY @ TOR W 3 1 86-71 3 9.0 Mussina Litsch Rivera 2:49 N 27,216 ++++++
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 24 boxscore NYY @ TOR W 6 2 10 87-71 3 9.0 Veras Carlson 2:46 N 28,701 +++++++
159 159 Thursday, Sep 25 boxscore NYY @ TOR L 2 8 87-72 3 9.0 Halladay Pavano 2:33 N 44,346 -
160 160 Friday, Sep 26 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 19 8 88-72 3 8.0 Robertson Pauley 3:38 N 37,301 +
161 161 Sunday, Sep 28 (1) boxscore NYY @ BOS W 6 2 89-72 3 8.0 Mussina Matsuzaka Rivera 3:16 D 37,091 ++
162 162 Sunday, Sep 28 (2) boxscore NYY @ BOS L-wo 3 4 10 89-73 3 8.0 Hansack Veras 3:10 N 37,440 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

2007 / 2009 Schedule and Results