Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Schedule and Results

1978 New York Yankees

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1977 / 1979

100-63, Finished 1st in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Billy Martin (52-42), Dick Howser (0-1) and Bob Lemon (48-20)
GM: Cedric Tallis, Scouting Dir: Bill Bergesch
Scored 735 runs, Allowed 582 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 99-64

Ballparks: Yankee Stadium II · Attendance: 2,335,871 (1st of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 97, Pitching - 96 · one-year: Batting - 97, Pitching - 96


BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1977 / 1979 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 100-63, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First20last on Monday, Oct 2, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 23last on Oct 2, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead3.5last on Saturday, Sep 16, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind14last on Wednesday, Jul 19, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50037last on Monday, Oct 2
Most Games under .5003last on Wednesday, Apr 12
Longest Winning Streak7Friday, Aug 25 to Thursday, Aug 31
Longest Losing Streak4Saturday, Jun 3 to Tuesday, Jun 6 and Friday, Jul 7 to Thursday, Jul 13
Most Runs Allowed17Thursday, Jul 27
Most Runs Scored15Thursday, Sep 7
Longest Game (innings)17Wednesday, Aug 2
Times Shutout by Opponent7 
Times Opponent Shutout16 
Walkoff Wins13 
Walkoff Losses8 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall100 63 735 582 .613
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 55 26 358 275 .679
Road 45 37 377 307 .549
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 10 9 64 65 .526
May 19 8 142 95 .704
June 14 15 129 122 .483
July 15 14 123 125 .517
August 19 8 119 76 .704
September 22 8 151 86 .733
October 1 1 7 13 .500
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 46 38 370 329 .548
Second Half 54 25 365 253 .684
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 92 55 660 498 .626
ExtraInning 7 6 72 72 .538
Shortened 1 2 3 12 .333
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 24 18 157 151 .571
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 27 14 260 159 .659
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 9 6 47 39 .600
BOS 9 7 91 77 .563
CAL 5 5 42 39 .500
CHW 9 1 47 27 .900
CLE 9 6 74 63 .600
DET 11 4 85 48 .733
KCR 5 6 51 52 .455
MIL 5 10 52 73 .333
MIN 7 3 32 22 .700
OAK 8 2 44 25 .800
SEA 6 5 52 41 .545
TEX 6 4 46 28 .600
TOR 11 4 72 48 .733

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Saturday, Apr 8 boxscore NYY @ TEX L-wo 1 2 0-1 5 1.5 Matlack Gossage 2:11 D 40,078 -
2 2 Sunday, Apr 9 boxscore NYY @ TEX W 7 1 1-1 3 1.5 Figueroa Alexander 2:30 D 20,243 +
3 3 Monday, Apr 10 boxscore NYY @ TEX L 2 5 1-2 4 2.0 Ellis Tidrow Moret 2:09 N 14,299 -
4 4 Tuesday, Apr 11 boxscore NYY @ MIL L 6 9 1-3 4 3.0 Augustine Hunter Caldwell 2:34 N 8,934 --
5 5 Wednesday, Apr 12 boxscore NYY @ MIL L 3 5 1-4 5 4.0 Haas Gossage 2:18 D 8,751 ---
6 6 Thursday, Apr 13 boxscore NYY CHW W 4 2 2-4 5 3.5 Guidry Wood 2:24 D 44,667 +
7 7 Saturday, Apr 15 boxscore NYY CHW W 3 2 3-4 4 2.0 Figueroa Barrios 1:59 D 20,965 ++
8 8 Sunday, Apr 16 boxscore NYY CHW W 3 0 4-4 4 2.0 Tidrow Kravec Lyle 2:18 D 32,750 +++
9 9 Monday, Apr 17 boxscore NYY BAL L 1 6 4-5 4 3.0 Flanagan Hunter 2:40 D 15,674 -
10 10 Tuesday, Apr 18 boxscore NYY BAL W-wo 4 3 5-5 4 2.5 Lyle Martinez 2:18 D 15,628 +
11 11 Wednesday, Apr 19 boxscore NYY @ TOR L-wo 3 4 5-6 4 3.0 Murphy Gossage 2:31 D 13,306 -
12 12 Friday, Apr 21 boxscore NYY MIL L 2 9 5-7 4 4.0 Augustine Figueroa 2:17 N 15,105 --
13 13 Saturday, Apr 22 boxscore NYY MIL W-wo 4 3 12 6-7 4 3.5 Lyle McClure 3:31 D 17,594 +
14 14 Sunday, Apr 23 boxscore NYY MIL L 2 3 6-8 4 4.0 Sorensen Hunter McClure 1:53 D 26,291 -
15 15 Monday, Apr 24 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 8 2 7-8 4 4.0 Guidry McGregor 2:43 N 18,053 +
16 16 Tuesday, Apr 25 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 4 3 8-8 3 4.0 Beattie Palmer Lyle 2:19 N 14,159 ++
17 17 Friday, Apr 28 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 3 1 9-8 3 3.5 Figueroa Thormodsgard 2:14 N 11,674 +++
18 18 Saturday, Apr 29 boxscore NYY @ MIN L 1 3 9-9 3 4.5 Zahn Tidrow 1:56 D 10,543 -
19 19 Sunday, Apr 30 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 3 2 10-9 3 3.5 Gossage Scarce 2:18 D 13,929 +
20 20 Monday, May 1 boxscore NYY KCR W 8 4 11-9 3 3.0 Eastwick Splittorff Lyle 2:37 N 17,340 ++
21 21 Tuesday, May 2 boxscore NYY KCR W 4 2 12-9 2 3.0 Hunter Gura Lyle 2:09 N 19,152 +++
22 22 Wednesday, May 3 boxscore NYY KCR W 6 5 13-9 2 3.0 Figueroa Leonard Gossage 2:20 N 21,230 ++++
23 23 Friday, May 5 boxscore NYY TEX W 5 2 14-9 2 2.0 Guidry Matlack Gossage 2:37 N 17,285 +++++
24 24 Saturday, May 6 boxscore NYY TEX L 5 9 14-10 3 3.0 Umbarger Tidrow 2:41 D 19,788 -
25 25 Sunday, May 7 boxscore NYY TEX W-wo 3 2 12 15-10 3 3.0 Gossage Barker 2:59 D 53,829 +
26 26 Tuesday, May 9 boxscore NYY MIN W 3 1 16-10 3 2.0 Hunter Thormodsgard Lyle 2:03 N 11,271 ++
27 27 Friday, May 12 boxscore NYY @ KCR L-wo 3 4 16-11 3 2.0 Bird Gossage 2:26 N 33,061 -
28 28 Saturday, May 13 boxscore NYY @ KCR W 5 2 17-11 3 2.0 Guidry Leonard Gossage 2:27 N 40,903 +
29 29 Sunday, May 14 boxscore NYY @ KCR L-wo 9 10 17-12 3 3.0 Hrabosky Clay 2:57 D 36,034 -
30 30 Monday, May 15 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 4 1 18-12 3 2.0 Beattie Wortham Lyle 2:06 N 17,569 +
31 31 Tuesday, May 16 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 8 3 19-12 3 2.0 Holtzman Wood Gossage 2:28 N 21,837 ++
32 32 Wednesday, May 17 boxscore NYY @ CLE L-wo 4 5 10 19-13 3 3.0 Monge Lyle 3:09 N 10,370 -
33 33 Thursday, May 18 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 5 3 20-13 3 2.0 Guidry Kinney Gossage 2:35 N 13,625 +
34 34 Friday, May 19 boxscore NYY @ TOR W 11 3 21-13 3 2.0 Tidrow Jefferson 2:47 N 26,025 ++
35 35 Saturday, May 20 boxscore NYY @ TOR L 8 10 21-14 3 2.0 Lemanczyk Clay 2:25 D 30,550 -
36 36 Sunday, May 21 (1) boxscore NYY @ TOR W 2 1 22-14 3 1.0 Figueroa Underwood Gossage 2:18 D 0 +
37 37 Sunday, May 21 (2) boxscore NYY @ TOR W 9 1 23-14 3 1.0 Clay Garvin 2:14 D 41,308 ++
38 38 Tuesday, May 23 boxscore NYY CLE W 10 1 24-14 2 0.5 Guidry Hood 2:18 N 20,618 +++
39 39 Thursday, May 25 boxscore NYY CLE W 9 3 25-14 2 1.0 Tidrow Waits 2:33 N 15,403 ++++
40 40 Friday, May 26 boxscore NYY TOR W 4 3 26-14 2 1.0 Lyle Garvin 2:10 N 24,171 +++++
41 41 Saturday, May 27 boxscore NYY TOR L 1 4 26-15 2 2.0 Clancy Figueroa Murphy 2:22 D 56,078 -
42 42 Sunday, May 28 (1) boxscore NYY TOR W 5 3 27-15 2 2.0 Guidry Jefferson 2:18 D 41,534 +
43 43 Sunday, May 28 (2) boxscore NYY TOR W-wo 6 5 13 28-15 2 2.0 Gossage Murphy 3:30 D 42,344 ++
44 44 Monday, May 29 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 2 0 29-15 2 2.0 Eastwick Waits 1:57 N 19,563 +++
45 45 Tuesday, May 30 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 1 5 29-16 2 3.0 Wise Tidrow 2:18 N 6,069 -
46 46 Wednesday, May 31 boxscore NYY BAL L 2 3 29-17 2 3.0 Flanagan Figueroa 2:23 N 21,404 --
47 47 Thursday, Jun 1 boxscore NYY BAL L 0 1 29-18 2 3.5 Palmer Beattie 2:12 N 19,943 ---
48 48 Friday, Jun 2 boxscore NYY @ OAK W 3 1 30-18 2 3.5 Guidry Johnson Gossage 2:17 N 18,993 +
49 49 Saturday, Jun 3 boxscore NYY @ OAK L 1 5 30-19 2 4.5 Keough Messersmith 2:02 D 14,499 -
50 50 Sunday, Jun 4 boxscore NYY @ OAK L 4 6 30-20 2 4.5 Lacey Eastwick Sosa 2:35 D 19,289 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Monday, Jun 5 boxscore NYY @ SEA L 3 7 30-21 2 4.5 House Figueroa 2:48 N 15,189 ---
52 52 Tuesday, Jun 6 boxscore NYY @ SEA L-wo 3 4 30-22 2 4.5 Rawley Gossage 2:31 N 12,638 ----
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 7 boxscore NYY @ SEA W 9 1 31-22 2 4.0 Guidry Colborn 2:09 N 12,544 +
54 54 Friday, Jun 9 boxscore NYY @ CAL W 3 1 32-22 2 4.0 Figueroa Tanana Gossage 2:22 N 29,415 ++
55 55 Saturday, Jun 10 boxscore NYY @ CAL L-wo 3 4 12 32-23 2 5.0 LaRoche Gossage 4:05 N 37,848 -
56 56 Sunday, Jun 11 boxscore NYY @ CAL L 6 9 32-24 2 6.0 Miller Clay 3:10 D 31,646 --
57 57 Monday, Jun 12 boxscore NYY OAK W 2 0 33-24 2 6.0 Guidry Heaverlo 2:03 N 28,457 +
58 58 Tuesday, Jun 13 boxscore NYY OAK W 5 3 34-24 2 6.0 Figueroa Langford Gossage 2:34 N 30,779 ++
59 59 Wednesday, Jun 14 boxscore NYY SEA W-wo 11 9 10 35-24 2 6.0 Lyle Montague 3:07 N 18,015 +++
60 60 Thursday, Jun 15 boxscore NYY SEA W 5 2 36-24 2 6.0 Gullett Mitchell Lyle 2:25 N 18,643 ++++
61 61 Friday, Jun 16 boxscore NYY CAL L 7 10 36-25 2 7.0 Aase Beattie 2:52 N 35,968 -
62 62 Saturday, Jun 17 boxscore NYY CAL W 4 0 37-25 2 7.0 Guidry Hartzell 2:07 N 33,162 +
63 63 Sunday, Jun 18 boxscore NYY CAL L 2 3 37-26 3 7.0 Knapp Figueroa 2:23 D 55,604 -
64 64 Monday, Jun 19 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 4 10 37-27 3 8.0 Burgmeier Gossage 2:48 N 33,163 --
65 65 Tuesday, Jun 20 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 10 4 38-27 3 7.0 Gullett Torrez 3:13 N 32,643 +
66 66 Wednesday, Jun 21 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 2 9 38-28 3 8.0 Eckersley Beattie 2:38 N 32,459 -
67 67 Thursday, Jun 22 boxscore NYY @ DET W 4 2 39-28 3 7.5 Guidry Rozema Gossage 2:30 N 33,971 +
68 68 Friday, Jun 23 boxscore NYY @ DET W 12 3 40-28 2 7.5 Lyle Wilcox 2:30 N 39,022 ++
69 69 Saturday, Jun 24 boxscore NYY @ DET L 3 4 40-29 2 8.5 Slaton Tidrow 2:01 N 37,681 -
70 70 Sunday, Jun 25 boxscore NYY @ DET W 4 2 41-29 2 8.5 Gullett Baker Gossage 2:35 D 34,014 +
71 71 Monday, Jun 26 boxscore NYY BOS L 1 4 41-30 2 9.5 Eckersley Messersmith Campbell 3:01 N 52,124 -
72 72 Tuesday, Jun 27 boxscore NYY BOS W-wo 6 4 14 42-30 2 8.5 Lyle Drago 4:08 N 55,132 +
73 73 Wednesday, Jun 28 (1) boxscore NYY @ MIL L 0 5 42-31 3 9.5 Caldwell Tidrow 2:10 N 0 -
74 74 Wednesday, Jun 28 (2) boxscore NYY @ MIL L 2 7 42-32 3 9.5 Augustine McCall 2:00 N 39,283 --
75 75 Friday, Jun 30 boxscore NYY DET W 10 2 43-32 3 9.0 Gullett Baker 2:29 N 33,894 +
76 76 Saturday, Jul 1 boxscore NYY DET L 4 8 43-33 3 9.0 Billingham Messersmith 2:57 D 37,260 -
77 77 Sunday, Jul 2 (1) boxscore NYY DET W 3 2 44-33 3 8.0 Guidry Hiller Gossage 2:18 D 0 +
78 78 Sunday, Jul 2 (2) boxscore NYY DET W-wo 5 3 45-33 3 8.0 Gossage Slaton 2:24 D 51,327 ++
79 79 Monday, Jul 3 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 5 9 45-34 3 9.0 Eckersley Figueroa 2:54 N 34,722 -
80 80 Wednesday, Jul 5 boxscore NYY @ TEX L 2 3 45-35 2 10.0 Matlack Gullett 2:07 N 37,702 --
81 81 Thursday, Jul 6 boxscore NYY @ TEX W 7 2 46-35 2 10.0 Tidrow Medich 2:29 N 37,930 +
82 82 Friday, Jul 7 boxscore NYY @ MIL L 0 6 46-36 3 10.0 Caldwell Guidry 1:59 N 40,216 -
83 83 Saturday, Jul 8 boxscore NYY @ MIL L 5 6 46-37 3 11.5 Rodriguez Gossage McClure 2:21 N 46,518 --
84 84 Sunday, Jul 9 boxscore NYY @ MIL L 4 8 46-38 3 11.5 Travers Gullett Stein 2:27 D 42,633 ---
85 85 Thursday, Jul 13 boxscore NYY CHW L 1 6 46-39 3 11.5 Wood Tidrow 2:30 D 28,532 ----
86 86 Friday, Jul 14 boxscore NYY CHW W-wo 7 6 11 47-39 3 10.5 Gossage Hinton 2:48 N 21,981 +
87 87 Saturday, Jul 15 boxscore NYY KCR L 2 8 47-40 3 11.5 Leonard Figueroa 2:21 N 34,979 -
88 88 Sunday, Jul 16 boxscore NYY KCR L 1 3 47-41 4 13.0 Gura Beattie Hrabosky 2:36 D 45,089 --
89 89 Monday, Jul 17 boxscore NYY KCR L 7 9 11 47-42 4 14.0 Hrabosky Gossage 3:21 N 27,020 ---
90 90 Wednesday, Jul 19 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 2 0 48-42 4 14.0 Figueroa Zahn 2:23 N 29,591 +
91 91 Thursday, Jul 20 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 4 0 49-42 4 13.0 Guidry Jackson 2:21 N 30,660 ++
92 92 Friday, Jul 21 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 7 4 50-42 4 12.0 Lyle Hinton Gossage 2:48 N 30,348 +++
93 93 Saturday, Jul 22 boxscore NYY @ CHW W &H 7 2 51-42 3 11.0 Hunter Wood 2:30 N 32,163 ++++
94 94 Sunday, Jul 23 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 3 1 52-42 3 10.0 Figueroa Kravec Gossage 2:20 D 27,651 +++++
95 95 Monday, Jul 24 boxscore NYY @ KCR L 2 5 52-43 4 10.5 Leonard Tidrow 2:25 N 38,859 -
96 96 Tuesday, Jul 25 boxscore NYY @ KCR W 4 0 53-43 4 9.5 Guidry Splittorff 2:05 N 40,183 +
97 97 Wednesday, Jul 26 boxscore NYY CLE W-wo 3 1 54-43 3 8.5 Gossage Waits 1:55 N 31,631 ++
98 98 Thursday, Jul 27 (1) boxscore NYY CLE W 11 0 55-43 4 8.0 Figueroa Clyde 2:12 D 0 +++
99 99 Thursday, Jul 27 (2) boxscore NYY CLE L 5 17 55-44 4 8.0 Hood Hunter 2:42 D 33,412 -
100 100 Friday, Jul 28 boxscore NYY MIN L 5 7 10 55-45 4 8.0 Marshall Lyle 2:48 N 25,037 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Jul 29 boxscore NYY MIN W 7 3 56-45 4 8.0 Clay Jackson Gossage 2:39 D 46,711 +
102 102 Sunday, Jul 30 (1) boxscore NYY MIN W 4 3 57-45 3 7.5 Gossage Marshall 2:33 D 0 ++
103 103 Sunday, Jul 30 (2) boxscore NYY MIN L 0 2 57-46 3 7.5 Goltz Beattie Marshall 2:15 D 41,491 -
104 104 Monday, Jul 31 boxscore NYY TEX W 6 1 58-46 3 7.5 Figueroa Medich 2:19 N 15,419 +
105 105 Tuesday, Aug 1 boxscore NYY TEX W 8 1 59-46 3 6.5 Hunter Matlack 2:24 N 18,485 ++
106 106 Wednesday, Aug 2 boxscore NYY BOS L 5 7 17 59-47 3 7.5 Stanley Clay 5:00 N 52,701 -
107 107 Thursday, Aug 3 boxscore NYY BOS L 1 8 7 59-48 4 8.5 Torrez Beattie 2:15 N 53,379 --
108 108 Friday, Aug 4 boxscore NYY BAL L 1 2 59-49 4 8.5 Flanagan Guidry Stanhouse 2:19 N 28,189 ---
109 109 Saturday, Aug 5 boxscore NYY BAL W-wo 3 2 60-49 4 8.5 Lyle Martinez 2:26 N 26,727 +
110 110 Sunday, Aug 6 boxscore NYY BAL W 3 0 61-49 3 8.5 Hunter Palmer 2:03 D 40,765 ++
111 111 Tuesday, Aug 8 boxscore NYY MIL W 3 0 62-49 3 8.5 Tidrow Caldwell Gossage 2:27 N 22,549 +++
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 9 boxscore NYY MIL W-wo 8 7 63-49 2 7.5 McCall McClure 2:53 N 27,172 ++++
113 113 Thursday, Aug 10 boxscore NYY MIL W 9 0 64-49 2 7.5 Guidry Augustine 2:06 N 35,127 +++++
114 114 Friday, Aug 11 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 2 1 6 65-49 2 6.5 Hunter Martinez 2:27 N 29,539 ++++++
115 115 Saturday, Aug 12 boxscore NYY @ BAL L 4 6 65-50 2 8.0 Flanagan Beattie Stanhouse 2:53 N 32,153 -
116 116 Sunday, Aug 13 boxscore NYY @ BAL L &V 0 3 6 65-51 2 9.0 McGregor Figueroa 2:03 D 31,591 --
117 117 Monday, Aug 14 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 4 1 66-51 2 8.0 Gossage Palmer 2:42 N 30,397 +
118 118 Tuesday, Aug 15 boxscore NYY @ OAK W 6 0 67-51 2 7.0 Guidry Langford 2:06 N 13,862 ++
119 119 Wednesday, Aug 16 boxscore NYY @ OAK W 5 3 68-51 2 7.0 Hunter Lacey Gossage 2:30 N 10,394 +++
120 120 Friday, Aug 18 boxscore NYY @ SEA W 6 1 69-51 2 7.5 Figueroa Mitchell 2:34 N 19,824 ++++
121 121 Saturday, Aug 19 boxscore NYY @ SEA L 1 4 69-52 2 7.5 Colborn Tidrow 2:05 N 29,915 -
122 122 Sunday, Aug 20 boxscore NYY @ SEA L 4 5 69-53 2 8.5 Romo Gossage 2:37 N 21,834 --
123 123 Tuesday, Aug 22 boxscore NYY @ CAL W 6 2 70-53 3 7.5 Hunter Tanana 2:36 N 35,644 +
124 124 Wednesday, Aug 23 boxscore NYY @ CAL L 3 6 70-54 3 7.5 Knapp Figueroa LaRoche 2:26 N 33,472 -
125 125 Friday, Aug 25 boxscore NYY OAK W 7 1 71-54 2 7.5 Guidry Johnson 2:16 N 29,010 +
126 126 Saturday, Aug 26 boxscore NYY OAK W 5 4 72-54 2 7.5 Lyle Lacey 2:28 N 53,883 ++
127 127 Sunday, Aug 27 boxscore NYY OAK W 6 2 73-54 2 7.5 Hunter Langford Gossage 1:55 D 40,628 +++
128 128 Monday, Aug 28 boxscore NYY CAL W 4 1 74-54 2 7.5 Figueroa Tanana Gossage 2:43 N 22,481 ++++
129 129 Tuesday, Aug 29 boxscore NYY CAL W-wo 4 3 11 75-54 2 7.5 Gossage LaRoche 2:52 N 24,203 +++++
130 130 Wednesday, Aug 30 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 5 4 76-54 2 7.0 Guidry Martinez Gossage 2:38 N 20,501 ++++++
131 131 Thursday, Aug 31 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 6 2 77-54 2 6.5 Tidrow McGregor Lyle 2:37 N 15,579 +++++++
132 132 Friday, Sep 1 boxscore NYY SEA L 0 3 77-55 2 6.5 Mitchell Hunter 2:03 N 20,167 -
133 133 Saturday, Sep 2 boxscore NYY SEA W 6 2 78-55 2 5.5 Figueroa Colborn 2:16 N 18,530 +
134 134 Sunday, Sep 3 boxscore NYY SEA W 4 3 79-55 2 5.5 Beattie Honeycutt Gossage 2:22 D 22,386 ++
135 135 Monday, Sep 4 (1) boxscore NYY DET W 9 1 80-55 2 5.0 Guidry Wilcox 2:19 D 0 +++
136 136 Monday, Sep 4 (2) boxscore NYY DET L 4 5 80-56 2 5.0 Hiller Lyle 2:31 D 46,896 -
137 137 Tuesday, Sep 5 boxscore NYY DET W 4 2 81-56 2 4.0 Tidrow Young Gossage 2:16 N 16,891 +
138 138 Wednesday, Sep 6 boxscore NYY DET W 8 2 82-56 2 4.0 Figueroa Billingham 2:24 N 24,452 ++
139 139 Thursday, Sep 7 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 15 3 83-56 2 3.0 Clay Torrez 3:09 N 34,119 +++
140 140 Friday, Sep 8 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 13 2 84-56 2 2.0 Beattie Wright 2:55 N 33,134 ++++
141 141 Saturday, Sep 9 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 7 0 85-56 2 1.0 Guidry Eckersley 2:26 D 33,611 +++++
142 142 Sunday, Sep 10 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 7 4 86-56 1 Tied Figueroa Sprowl Gossage 2:57 D 32,786 ++++++
143 143 Tuesday, Sep 12 boxscore NYY @ DET L 4 7 86-57 2 0.5 Young Tidrow Hiller 2:18 N 14,162 -
144 144 Wednesday, Sep 13 boxscore NYY @ DET W 7 3 87-57 1 up 0.5 Beattie Billingham 2:54 N 16,841 +
145 145 Thursday, Sep 14 boxscore NYY @ DET W 4 2 88-57 1 up 1.5 Figueroa Slaton Lyle 1:57 N 17,118 ++
146 146 Friday, Sep 15 boxscore NYY BOS W 4 0 89-57 1 up 2.5 Guidry Tiant 2:24 N 54,901 +++
147 147 Saturday, Sep 16 boxscore NYY BOS W-wo 3 2 90-57 1 up 3.5 Hunter Torrez 2:38 D 55,091 ++++
148 148 Sunday, Sep 17 boxscore NYY BOS L 3 7 90-58 1 up 2.5 Eckersley Beattie Stanley 2:40 D 55,088 -
149 149 Monday, Sep 18 boxscore NYY MIL W 4 3 91-58 1 up 2.5 Figueroa Travers 2:44 N 20,557 +
150 150 Tuesday, Sep 19 boxscore NYY MIL L 0 2 91-59 1 up 1.5 Caldwell Tidrow 2:05 N 26,682 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Wednesday, Sep 20 (1) boxscore NYY @ TOR L 1 8 91-60 1 up 2.0 Willis Guidry 2:09 N 0 --
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 20 (2) boxscore NYY @ TOR W 3 2 92-60 1 up 2.0 Gossage Cruz 2:26 N 38,080 +
153 153 Thursday, Sep 21 boxscore NYY @ TOR W 7 1 93-60 1 up 2.0 Hunter Moore Gossage 2:15 N 28,653 ++
154 154 Friday, Sep 22 boxscore NYY @ CLE L-wo 7 8 10 93-61 1 up 2.0 Monge Gossage 2:57 N 10,035 -
155 155 Saturday, Sep 23 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 1 10 93-62 1 up 1.0 Clyde Beattie 2:23 D 17,452 --
156 156 Sunday, Sep 24 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 4 0 94-62 1 up 1.0 Guidry Paxton 2:23 D 15,855 +
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 26 boxscore NYY TOR W 4 1 95-62 1 up 1.0 Figueroa Underwood Gossage 1:52 N 20,535 ++
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 27 boxscore NYY TOR W 5 1 96-62 1 up 1.0 Hunter Willis 2:00 N 20,052 +++
159 159 Thursday, Sep 28 boxscore NYY TOR W 3 1 97-62 1 up 1.0 Guidry Moore 2:10 N 30,480 ++++
160 160 Friday, Sep 29 boxscore NYY CLE W 3 1 98-62 1 up 1.0 Beattie Kern Gossage 2:12 N 30,253 +++++
161 161 Saturday, Sep 30 boxscore NYY CLE W 7 0 99-62 1 up 1.0 Figueroa Paxton 2:14 D 55,219 ++++++
162 162 Sunday, Oct 1 boxscore NYY CLE L 2 9 99-63 1 Tied Waits Hunter 2:06 D 39,189 -
163 163 Monday, Oct 2 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 5 4 100-63 1 up 1.0 Guidry Torrez Gossage 2:52 D 32,925 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
ALCS Game 1 Tuesday, Oct 3 boxscore NYY @ KCR W 7 1 1-0 Beattie Leonard Clay 2:57 N 41,143
ALCS Game 2 Wednesday, Oct 4 boxscore NYY @ KCR L 4 10 1-1 Gura Figueroa 2:42 D 41,158
ALCS Game 3 Friday, Oct 6 boxscore NYY KCR W 6 5 2-1 Gossage Bird 2:13 D 55,445
ALCS Game 4 Saturday, Oct 7 boxscore NYY KCR W 2 1 3-1 Guidry Leonard Gossage 2:20 N 56,356
WS Game 1 Tuesday, Oct 10 boxscore NYY @ LAD L 5 11 3-2 John Figueroa 2:48 N 55,997
WS Game 2 Wednesday, Oct 11 boxscore NYY @ LAD L 3 4 3-3 Hooton Hunter Welch 2:37 N 55,982
WS Game 3 Friday, Oct 13 boxscore NYY LAD W 5 1 4-3 Guidry Sutton 2:27 N 56,447
WS Game 4 Saturday, Oct 14 boxscore NYY LAD W 4 3 10 5-3 Gossage Welch 3:17 D 56,445
WS Game 5 Sunday, Oct 15 boxscore NYY LAD W 12 2 6-3 Beattie Hooton 2:56 D 56,448
WS Game 6 Tuesday, Oct 17 boxscore NYY @ LAD W 7 2 7-3 Hunter Sutton 2:34 N 55,985
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1977 / 1979 Schedule and Results