Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1961 Schedule and Results

1961 New York Yankees

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1960 / 1962

109-53, Finished 1st in American League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Ralph Houk (109-53)
GM: George Weiss, Farm Dir: John Johnson
Scored 827 runs, Allowed 612 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 103-59

Ballparks: Yankee Stadium I · Attendance: 1,747,725 (1st of 10)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 95, Pitching - 92 · one-year: Batting - 97, Pitching - 94

Postseason:  Won World Series (4-1) over Cincinnati Reds

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1960 / 1962 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 109-53, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First72last on Sunday, Oct 1, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 83last on Oct 1, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead11.5last on Tuesday, Sep 12, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind6last on Wednesday, May 24, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50056last on Sunday, Oct 1
Most Games under .5001last on Tuesday, Apr 11
Longest Winning Streak13Friday, Sep 1 to Tuesday, Sep 12
Longest Losing Streak4Tuesday, May 16 to Saturday, May 20
Most Runs Allowed14Sunday, May 28
Most Runs Scored14Friday, Jul 7
Longest Game (innings)15Sunday, Aug 6
Times Shutout by Opponent6 
Times Opponent Shutout14 
Walkoff Wins13 
Walkoff Losses4 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall109 53 827 612 .673
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 65 16 411 251 .802
Road 44 37 416 361 .543
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 9 5 61 57 .643
May 14 12 137 119 .538
June 22 10 184 120 .688
July 20 9 162 115 .690
August 22 9 142 112 .710
September 21 8 140 89 .724
October 1 0 1 01.000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 53 29 452 329 .646
Second Half 56 24 375 283 .700
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 97 51 737 538 .655
ExtraInning 11 2 81 66 .846
Shortened 1 0 9 81.000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 29 21 189 181 .580
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 26 10 260 143 .722
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 9 9 55 52 .500
BOS 13 5 106 71 .722
CHW 12 6 98 72 .667
CLE 14 4 99 61 .778
DET 10 8 104 85 .556
KCA 14 4 103 67 .778
LAA 12 6 78 64 .667
MIN 14 4 88 58 .778
WSA 11 7 96 82 .611

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 11 boxscore NYY MIN L 0 6 0-1 6 1.0 Ramos Ford 2:27 D 14,607 -
2 2 Saturday, Apr 15 boxscore NYY KCA W 5 3 1-1 4 0.5 Turley Daley Stafford 2:54 D 11,802 +
3 3 Monday, Apr 17 boxscore NYY KCA W 3 0 2-1 3 1.0 Ford Walker 2:21 D 1,947 ++
4 4 Thursday, Apr 20 (1) boxscore NYY LAA W 7 5 3-1 2 0.5 Ditmar Grba Stafford 2:37 D 0 +++
5 5 Thursday, Apr 20 (2) boxscore NYY LAA W 4 2 4-1 2 0.5 Turley Garver Arroyo 2:33 D 7,059 ++++
6 6 Friday, Apr 21 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 4 2 5-1 1 Tied Ford Barber 2:17 N 12,368 +++++
7 7 Saturday, Apr 22 (1) boxscore NYY @ BAL L 3 5 5-2 3 0.5 Wilhelm Duren 2:17 D 12,536 -
8 8 Saturday, Apr 22 (2) boxscore NYY @ BAL T 5 5 7 5-2 3 0.5 2:09 N 14,126 -
9 9 Sunday, Apr 23 boxscore NYY @ BAL L 1 4 5-3 3 2.0 Estrada McDevitt Hall 2:40 D 18,704 --
10 10 Monday, Apr 24 boxscore NYY @ DET L 3 4 5-4 4 3.0 Lary Turley 2:19 D 5,662 ---
11 11 Wednesday, Apr 26 boxscore NYY @ DET W 13 11 10 6-4 3 2.0 Arroyo Aguirre 3:20 D 4,676 +
12 12 Thursday, Apr 27 boxscore NYY CLE W 4 3 7-4 3 1.5 Ditmar Antonelli 1:58 D 8,897 ++
13 13 Saturday, Apr 29 boxscore NYY CLE W 4 2 8-4 2 1.0 Terry Perry Arroyo 2:10 D 14,624 +++
14 14 Sunday, Apr 30 (1) boxscore NYY @ WSA W 4 3 9-4 2 1.0 Ford Donovan Arroyo 2:42 D 0 ++++
15 15 Sunday, Apr 30 (2) boxscore NYY @ WSA L 1 2 9-5 2 1.0 Woodeshick Sheldon Burnside 2:14 D 21,904 -
16 16 Tuesday, May 2 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 6 4 10 10-5 2 1.0 Coates Pascual Arroyo 3:00 D 16,669 +
17 17 Wednesday, May 3 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 7 3 11-5 1 Tied Turley Ramos 2:32 D 18,158 ++
18 18 Thursday, May 4 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 5 2 12-5 1 Tied Ford Kaat Coates 2:23 D 18,179 +++
19 19 Friday, May 5 boxscore NYY @ LAA W 5 4 13-5 1 Tied McDevitt Clevenger Arroyo 2:57 N 17,801 ++++
20 20 Saturday, May 6 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 3 5 13-6 2 1.0 Grba Ditmar 2:15 N 19,865 -
21 21 Sunday, May 7 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 3 5 13-7 2 2.5 Kline Coates Clevenger 2:40 D 19,722 --
22 22 Tuesday, May 9 boxscore NYY @ KCA L 4 5 13-8 2 3.0 Herbert Arroyo Archer 2:22 N 13,623 ---
23 23 Wednesday, May 10 boxscore NYY @ KCA W 9 4 14-8 2 3.0 Clevenger Daley 2:32 N 15,986 +
24 24 Friday, May 12 boxscore NYY DET L &V 3 4 14-9 2 3.5 Lary Coates 3:09 N 23,556 -
25 25 Saturday, May 13 boxscore NYY DET L 3 8 14-10 2 4.5 Regan Turley 2:45 D 18,036 --
26 26 Sunday, May 14 (1) boxscore NYY DET W-wo 5 4 11 15-10 2 2.5 Coates Aguirre 3:30 D 0 +
27 27 Sunday, May 14 (2) boxscore NYY DET W 8 6 16-10 2 2.5 Coates Bunning 2:39 N 40,968 ++
28 28 Tuesday, May 16 boxscore NYY WSA L 2 3 16-11 2 4.0 Woodeshick Stafford Sisler 2:26 N 10,050 -
29 29 Wednesday, May 17 boxscore NYY WSA L 7 8 16-12 2 5.0 Burnside Ditmar Gabler 2:59 D 6,197 --
30 30 Friday, May 19 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 7 9 16-13 2 5.0 Latman Clevenger Allen 2:55 N 21,240 ---
31 31 Saturday, May 20 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 3 4 16-14 4 5.0 Funk Stafford 2:38 D 8,431 ----
32 32 Sunday, May 21 (1) boxscore NYY BAL W 4 2 17-14 3 5.5 Ford Estrada 2:22 D 0 +
33 33 Sunday, May 21 (2) boxscore NYY BAL L 2 3 17-15 3 5.5 Barber Sheldon Wilhelm 2:37 D 47,890 -
34 34 Monday, May 22 boxscore NYY BAL W 8 2 18-15 3 5.5 Coates Fisher Arroyo 2:43 N 16,923 +
35 35 Wednesday, May 24 boxscore NYY BOS W-wo 3 2 19-15 3 6.0 Terry Nichols 2:29 D 7,673 ++
36 36 Thursday, May 25 boxscore NYY BOS W 6 4 20-15 3 5.0 Ford Muffett Arroyo 2:11 N 13,087 +++
37 37 Sunday, May 28 (1) boxscore NYY CHW L 9 14 20-16 3 4.5 Lown Arroyo Pierce 3:28 D 0 -
38 38 Sunday, May 28 (2) boxscore NYY CHW W 5 3 21-16 3 4.5 Coates McLish 2:33 N 44,435 +
39 39 Monday, May 29 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 1 2 21-17 3 5.0 Delock Ford 2:09 N 21,804 -
40 40 Tuesday, May 30 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 12 3 22-17 4 4.5 Stafford Conley Coates 2:56 D 19,582 +
41 41 Wednesday, May 31 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 7 6 23-17 3 3.5 Sheldon Muffett McDevitt 2:52 N 17,318 ++
42 42 Thursday, Jun 1 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 5 7 23-18 3 4.0 Monbouquette Turley Stallard 3:08 D 5,257 -
43 43 Friday, Jun 2 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 6 2 24-18 3 4.0 Ford McLish 2:06 N 38,410 +
44 44 Saturday, Jun 3 boxscore NYY @ CHW L-wo 5 6 13 24-19 3 5.0 Hacker Ditmar 3:26 D 16,480 -
45 45 Sunday, Jun 4 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 10 1 25-19 3 5.5 Stafford Pierce 2:38 D 28,362 +
46 46 Monday, Jun 5 (1) boxscore NYY MIN W 6 2 26-19 3 4.0 Coates Lee Arroyo 2:28 N 0 ++
47 47 Monday, Jun 5 (2) boxscore NYY MIN W 6 1 27-19 3 4.0 Sheldon Stobbs 2:31 N 23,103 +++
48 48 Tuesday, Jun 6 boxscore NYY MIN W 7 2 28-19 3 3.0 Ford Kralick Arroyo 2:44 N 17,129 ++++
49 49 Wednesday, Jun 7 boxscore NYY MIN W 5 1 29-19 3 3.0 Terry Ramos 2:14 D 9,016 +++++
50 50 Thursday, Jun 8 (1) boxscore NYY KCA W 6 1 30-19 3 3.0 Stafford Bass 2:12 N 0 ++++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Thursday, Jun 8 (2) boxscore NYY KCA L 6 9 30-20 3 3.0 Archer McDevitt 2:32 N 13,157 -
52 52 Friday, Jun 9 boxscore NYY KCA W 8 6 31-20 3 3.0 Arroyo Herbert 2:34 N 22,418 +
53 53 Saturday, Jun 10 boxscore NYY KCA W 5 3 32-20 3 2.0 Ford Nuxhall 2:12 D 17,272 ++
54 54 Sunday, Jun 11 (1) boxscore NYY LAA W 2 1 33-20 3 2.0 Terry McBride 2:19 D 0 +++
55 55 Sunday, Jun 11 (2) boxscore NYY LAA W 5 1 34-20 3 2.0 Sheldon Grba Arroyo 2:21 D 37,378 ++++
56 56 Monday, Jun 12 boxscore NYY LAA W 3 1 35-20 2 1.0 Stafford Bowsfield 2:06 N 16,363 +++++
57 57 Tuesday, Jun 13 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 2 7 35-21 3 2.0 Perry Coates Funk 2:23 N 21,704 -
58 58 Wednesday, Jun 14 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 11 5 36-21 3 1.0 Ford Bell Arroyo 2:45 N 25,095 +
59 59 Thursday, Jun 15 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 3 2 11 37-21 1 Tied Terry Funk 2:51 N 23,350 ++
60 60 Friday, Jun 16 boxscore NYY @ DET L 2 4 37-22 3 1.0 Regan Stafford 2:12 N 51,744 -
61 61 Saturday, Jun 17 boxscore NYY @ DET L 10 12 37-23 3 2.0 Foytack Daley Fox 2:58 N 51,509 --
62 62 Sunday, Jun 18 boxscore NYY @ DET W 9 0 38-23 3 1.0 Ford Lary Arroyo 2:27 D 44,459 +
63 63 Monday, Jun 19 boxscore NYY @ KCA L-wo 3 4 38-24 3 1.5 Archer Arroyo 2:11 N 16,715 -
64 64 Tuesday, Jun 20 boxscore NYY @ KCA W 6 2 39-24 2 1.5 Stafford Nuxhall Coates 2:37 N 19,928 +
65 65 Wednesday, Jun 21 boxscore NYY @ KCA W 5 3 40-24 2 1.0 Daley Shaw Arroyo 2:34 N 19,416 ++
66 66 Thursday, Jun 22 boxscore NYY @ KCA W 8 3 41-24 2 1.0 Ford Bass Arroyo 2:45 N 17,254 +++
67 67 Friday, Jun 23 boxscore NYY @ MIN L 0 4 41-25 2 2.0 Pascual Turley 2:30 N 30,940 -
68 68 Saturday, Jun 24 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 10 7 42-25 2 2.0 Sheldon Cueto Arroyo 3:02 D 35,199 +
69 69 Sunday, Jun 25 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 8 4 43-25 2 1.5 Stafford Kralick Coates 2:28 D 35,152 ++
70 70 Monday, Jun 26 boxscore NYY @ LAA W 8 6 44-25 2 1.0 Ford Donohue Arroyo 2:42 N 18,870 +++
71 71 Tuesday, Jun 27 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 6 7 44-26 2 0.5 Bowsfield Daley Grba 2:43 N 16,108 -
72 72 Wednesday, Jun 28 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 3 5 44-27 2 1.5 Duren Turley Donohue 3:03 N 14,674 --
73 73 Friday, Jun 30 boxscore NYY WSA W 5 1 45-27 2 2.0 Ford Donovan 1:56 N 28,019 +
74 74 Saturday, Jul 1 boxscore NYY WSA W-wo 7 6 46-27 2 2.0 Arroyo Sisler 2:42 D 16,015 ++
75 75 Sunday, Jul 2 boxscore NYY WSA W 13 4 47-27 2 1.0 Daley Burnside Arroyo 2:42 D 19,794 +++
76 76 Tuesday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore NYY DET W 6 2 48-27 2 1.0 Ford Mossi 2:20 D 0 ++++
77 77 Tuesday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore NYY DET L 3 4 10 48-28 2 1.0 Lary Stafford Fox 3:29 D 74,246 -
78 78 Wednesday, Jul 5 boxscore NYY CLE W 6 0 49-28 2 0.5 Sheldon Bell 2:11 D 24,377 +
79 79 Thursday, Jul 6 boxscore NYY CLE W 4 0 50-28 2 0.5 Stafford Stigman 2:00 N 37,136 ++
80 80 Friday, Jul 7 boxscore NYY BOS W 14 3 51-28 1 up 0.5 Daley Conley 2:45 N 29,199 +++
81 81 Saturday, Jul 8 boxscore NYY BOS W 8 5 52-28 1 up 0.5 Ford Delock Arroyo 2:27 D 23,381 ++++
82 82 Sunday, Jul 9 (1) boxscore NYY BOS W 3 0 53-28 2 0.5 Sheldon Monbouquette 2:18 D 0 +++++
83 83 Sunday, Jul 9 (2) boxscore NYY BOS L 6 9 53-29 2 0.5 Schwall Terry Earley 3:05 D 47,875 -
84 84 Thursday, Jul 13 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 6 2 54-29 1 Tied Stafford Wynn Arroyo 2:28 N 43,960 +
85 85 Friday, Jul 14 boxscore NYY @ CHW L 1 6 54-30 1 Tied Pizarro Sheldon 2:36 N 43,450 -
86 86 Saturday, Jul 15 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 9 8 10 55-30 1 Tied Arroyo Hacker 3:38 D 37,730 +
87 87 Sunday, Jul 16 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 2 1 56-30 2 0.5 Daley Barber 2:10 D 38,487 ++
88 88 Monday, Jul 17 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 5 0 57-30 2 0.5 Ford Pappas 2:18 N 44,332 +++
89 89 Tuesday, Jul 18 boxscore NYY @ WSA W 5 3 58-30 1 up 0.5 Arroyo McClain 2:31 N 17,695 ++++
90 90 Wednesday, Jul 19 (1) boxscore NYY @ WSA L 4 8 58-31 1 Tied Daniels Daley 2:31 N 0 -
91 91 Wednesday, Jul 19 (2) boxscore NYY @ WSA L 2 12 58-32 1 Tied Donovan Downing 2:34 N 27,126 --
92 92 Friday, Jul 21 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 11 8 59-32 1 up 0.5 Arroyo Earley 3:39 N 32,186 +
93 93 Saturday, Jul 22 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 11 9 60-32 1 up 1.0 Arroyo Conley 3:27 D 25,089 ++
94 94 Sunday, Jul 23 boxscore NYY @ BOS L-wo 4 5 60-33 2 0.5 Schwall Daley 2:24 D 28,575 -
95 95 Tuesday, Jul 25 (1) boxscore NYY CHW W 5 1 61-33 1 up 0.5 Ford Baumann Arroyo 2:07 N 0 +
96 96 Tuesday, Jul 25 (2) boxscore NYY CHW W 12 0 62-33 1 up 0.5 Stafford Pizarro 2:25 N 46,240 ++
97 97 Wednesday, Jul 26 boxscore NYY CHW W 5 2 63-33 1 up 0.5 Sheldon Herbert 2:06 D 22,366 +++
98 98 Thursday, Jul 27 boxscore NYY CHW W 4 3 64-33 1 up 1.0 Terry Pierce Arroyo 2:38 N 20,529 ++++
99 99 Friday, Jul 28 boxscore NYY BAL L 0 4 64-34 1 up 1.0 Brown Daley 2:00 N 39,623 -
100 100 Saturday, Jul 29 boxscore NYY BAL W 5 4 65-34 1 up 2.0 Ford Fisher 2:08 D 42,990 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Sunday, Jul 30 (1) boxscore NYY BAL L 0 4 65-35 1 up 1.5 Barber Stafford 2:30 D 0 -
102 102 Sunday, Jul 30 (2) boxscore NYY BAL L 1 2 65-36 1 up 1.5 Pappas Daley Hall 2:53 N 57,180 --
103 103 Wednesday, Aug 2 (1) boxscore NYY KCA W-wo 6 5 66-36 1 up 2.5 Arroyo Archer 2:36 D 0 +
104 104 Wednesday, Aug 2 (2) boxscore NYY KCA W 12 5 67-36 1 up 2.5 Terry Ditmar Reniff 2:16 D 23,616 ++
105 105 Thursday, Aug 3 boxscore NYY KCA L 1 6 67-37 1 up 1.5 Shaw Daley 2:39 N 12,584 -
106 106 Friday, Aug 4 boxscore NYY MIN W-wo 8 5 10 68-37 1 up 1.5 Arroyo Pleis 2:41 N 24,109 +
107 107 Saturday, Aug 5 boxscore NYY MIN W 2 1 69-37 1 up 1.5 Coates Kralick 2:42 D 18,880 ++
108 108 Sunday, Aug 6 (1) boxscore NYY MIN W-wo 7 6 15 70-37 1 up 2.5 Reniff Moore 4:16 D 0 +++
109 109 Sunday, Aug 6 (2) boxscore NYY MIN W-wo 3 2 71-37 1 up 2.5 Sheldon Schroll 2:26 N 39,408 ++++
110 110 Monday, Aug 7 boxscore NYY LAA W 4 1 72-37 1 up 3.0 Daley McBride 2:29 N 13,944 +++++
111 111 Tuesday, Aug 8 boxscore NYY LAA W-wo 5 4 10 73-37 1 up 3.0 Arroyo Fowler 3:00 N 24,084 ++++++
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 9 boxscore NYY LAA W 2 0 74-37 1 up 3.0 Coates Bowsfield 1:59 D 17,261 +++++++
113 113 Thursday, Aug 10 boxscore NYY LAA W 3 1 75-37 1 up 3.0 Ford Donohue Arroyo 2:10 D 15,575 ++++++++
114 114 Friday, Aug 11 boxscore NYY @ WSA W 12 5 76-37 1 up 4.0 Terry McClain Reniff 2:47 N 22,601 +++++++++
115 115 Saturday, Aug 12 boxscore NYY @ WSA L 1 5 76-38 1 up 3.0 Donovan Stafford 2:18 D 15,870 -
116 116 Sunday, Aug 13 (1) boxscore NYY @ WSA L 2 12 76-39 1 up 3.5 Daniels Daley 2:31 D 0 --
117 117 Sunday, Aug 13 (2) boxscore NYY @ WSA W 9 4 77-39 1 up 3.5 Coates Kutyna 2:16 D 27,368 +
118 118 Tuesday, Aug 15 boxscore NYY CHW L 1 2 77-40 1 up 2.0 Pizarro Ford 2:25 N 49,059 -
119 119 Wednesday, Aug 16 boxscore NYY CHW W-wo 5 4 78-40 1 up 3.0 Terry Lown 2:24 D 29,728 +
120 120 Thursday, Aug 17 boxscore NYY CHW W 5 3 79-40 1 up 4.0 Stafford Baumann Arroyo 2:36 D 25,532 ++
121 121 Friday, Aug 18 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 1 5 79-41 1 up 3.0 Grant Coates 2:16 N 37,840 -
122 122 Saturday, Aug 19 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 3 2 10 80-41 1 up 3.0 Ford Locke Arroyo 2:50 D 23,398 +
123 123 Sunday, Aug 20 (1) boxscore NYY @ CLE W 6 0 81-41 1 up 3.0 Terry Perry 2:11 D 0 ++
124 124 Sunday, Aug 20 (2) boxscore NYY @ CLE W 5 2 82-41 1 up 3.0 Sheldon Bell 2:41 D 56,307 +++
125 125 Tuesday, Aug 22 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 3 4 82-42 1 up 2.0 McBride Stafford 2:29 N 19,930 -
126 126 Wednesday, Aug 23 boxscore NYY @ LAA W 8 6 10 83-42 1 up 3.0 Arroyo Donohue 3:43 N 19,773 +
127 127 Thursday, Aug 24 boxscore NYY @ LAA L 4 6 83-43 1 up 2.0 Morgan Coates 2:37 N 19,819 -
128 128 Friday, Aug 25 boxscore NYY @ KCA W 3 0 84-43 1 up 2.0 Terry Archer 2:00 N 30,830 +
129 129 Saturday, Aug 26 boxscore NYY @ KCA W 5 1 85-43 1 up 2.5 Stafford Walker 2:18 D 32,149 ++
130 130 Sunday, Aug 27 boxscore NYY @ KCA W 8 7 86-43 1 up 2.0 Ford Shaw Arroyo 2:34 D 34,065 +++
131 131 Tuesday, Aug 29 boxscore NYY @ MIN L 0 3 86-44 1 up 1.5 Pascual Terry 2:17 N 40,118 -
132 132 Wednesday, Aug 30 boxscore NYY @ MIN W 4 0 87-44 1 up 2.5 Stafford Kaat 2:18 N 41,357 +
133 133 Thursday, Aug 31 boxscore NYY @ MIN L 4 5 87-45 1 up 1.5 Kralick Sheldon 2:57 D 33,709 -
134 134 Friday, Sep 1 boxscore NYY DET W-wo 1 0 88-45 1 up 2.5 Arroyo Mossi 2:44 N 65,566 +
135 135 Saturday, Sep 2 boxscore NYY DET W 7 2 89-45 1 up 3.5 Terry Lary Arroyo 2:02 D 50,261 ++
136 136 Sunday, Sep 3 boxscore NYY DET W-wo 8 5 90-45 1 up 4.5 Arroyo Staley 2:42 D 55,676 +++
137 137 Monday, Sep 4 (1) boxscore NYY WSA W 5 3 91-45 1 up 6.5 Reniff Daniels 2:13 D 0 ++++
138 138 Monday, Sep 4 (2) boxscore NYY WSA W 3 2 92-45 1 up 6.5 Daley Burnside 2:21 D 34,683 +++++
139 139 Tuesday, Sep 5 boxscore NYY WSA W 6 1 93-45 1 up 7.5 Coates McClain 2:05 N 16,917 ++++++
140 140 Wednesday, Sep 6 boxscore NYY WSA W 8 0 94-45 1 up 8.0 Ford Cheney 2:11 D 12,295 +++++++
141 141 Thursday, Sep 7 boxscore NYY CLE W 7 3 95-45 1 up 9.0 Terry Stigman 2:00 N 18,549 ++++++++
142 142 Friday, Sep 8 boxscore NYY CLE W 9 1 96-45 1 up10.0 Stafford Bell 2:29 N 41,762 +++++++++
143 143 Saturday, Sep 9 boxscore NYY CLE W-wo 8 7 97-45 1 up10.0 Arroyo Funk 2:41 D 37,161 ++++++++++
144 144 Sunday, Sep 10 (1) boxscore NYY CLE W 7 6 98-45 1 up11.5 Coates Locke Arroyo 2:59 D 0 +++++++++++
145 145 Sunday, Sep 10 (2) boxscore NYY CLE W &H 9 3 99-45 1 up11.5 Daley Perry 2:20 N 57,824 ++++++++++++
146 146 Tuesday, Sep 12 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 4 3 6 100-45 1 up11.5 Terry Pierce 1:37 N 36,166 +++++++++++++
147 147 Thursday, Sep 14 (1) boxscore NYY @ CHW L 3 8 100-46 1 up10.5 Herbert Sheldon Hacker 2:47 D 0 -
148 148 Thursday, Sep 14 (2) boxscore NYY @ CHW L-wo 3 4 100-47 1 up10.5 Kemmerer Arroyo 2:51 N 18,120 --
149 149 Friday, Sep 15 (1) boxscore NYY @ DET W 11 1 101-47 1 up10.5 Ford Mossi 2:47 N 0 +
150 150 Friday, Sep 15 (2) boxscore NYY @ DET L 2 4 101-48 1 up10.5 Kline Daley 2:32 N 42,267 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Saturday, Sep 16 boxscore NYY @ DET L 4 10 101-49 1 up 9.5 Lary Terry 2:32 D 35,820 --
152 152 Sunday, Sep 17 boxscore NYY @ DET W 6 4 12 102-49 1 up10.5 Arroyo Fox 3:46 D 44,219 +
153 153 Tuesday, Sep 19 (1) boxscore NYY @ BAL L 0 1 102-50 1 up10.0 Barber Ford 2:27 N 0 -
154 154 Tuesday, Sep 19 (2) boxscore NYY @ BAL W 3 1 103-50 1 up10.0 Daley Brown 2:08 N 31,317 +
155 155 Wednesday, Sep 20 boxscore NYY @ BAL W 4 2 104-50 1 up10.0 Terry Pappas 2:00 N 21,032 ++
156 156 Thursday, Sep 21 boxscore NYY @ BAL L 3 5 104-51 1 up 9.5 Fisher Stafford 2:04 N 22,089 -
157 157 Saturday, Sep 23 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 8 3 105-51 1 up 9.0 Ford Schwall Arroyo 2:30 D 28,128 +
158 158 Sunday, Sep 24 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 1 3 105-52 1 up 8.0 Monbouquette Arroyo 2:14 D 30,802 -
159 159 Tuesday, Sep 26 boxscore NYY BAL W 3 2 106-52 1 up 9.0 Sheldon Fisher 2:13 N 19,401 +
160 160 Wednesday, Sep 27 boxscore NYY BAL L 2 3 106-53 1 up 8.0 Barber Stafford Hall 2:07 D 7,594 -
161 161 Friday, Sep 29 boxscore NYY BOS W-wo 2 1 107-53 1 up 8.0 Sheldon Monbouquette 2:07 N 21,485 +
162 162 Saturday, Sep 30 boxscore NYY BOS W 3 1 108-53 1 up 8.0 Terry Schwall Coates 2:15 D 19,061 ++
163 163 Sunday, Oct 1 boxscore NYY BOS W 1 0 109-53 1 up 8.0 Stafford Stallard Arroyo 1:57 D 23,154 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
WS Game 1 Wednesday, Oct 4 boxscore NYY CIN W 2 0 1-0 Ford O'Toole 2:11 D 62,397
WS Game 2 Thursday, Oct 5 boxscore NYY CIN L 2 6 1-1 Jay Terry 2:43 D 63,083
WS Game 3 Saturday, Oct 7 boxscore NYY @ CIN W 3 2 2-1 Arroyo Purkey 2:15 D 32,589
WS Game 4 Sunday, Oct 8 boxscore NYY @ CIN W 7 0 3-1 Ford O'Toole Coates 2:27 D 32,589
WS Game 5 Monday, Oct 9 boxscore NYY @ CIN W 13 5 4-1 Daley Jay 3:05 D 32,589
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1960 / 1962 Schedule and Results