Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1940 Schedule and Results

1940 New York Yankees

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1939 / 1941

88-66, Finished 3rd in American League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Joe McCarthy (88-66)
Scored 817 runs, Allowed 671 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 91-63

Ballparks: Yankee Stadium I · Attendance: 988,975 (2nd of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 96, Pitching - 92 · one-year: Batting - 98, Pitching - 96


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1939 / 1941 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 88-66, Final Rank:3, GB: 2.0
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind11.5last on Thursday, Aug 8, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50022last on Sunday, Sep 29
Most Games under .5008last on Saturday, May 11
Longest Winning Streak8Sunday, Aug 25 to Monday, Sep 2 and Wednesday, Sep 18 to Thursday, Sep 26
Longest Losing Streak8Saturday, May 4 to Saturday, May 11
Most Runs Allowed16Monday, Sep 16
Most Runs Scored19Tuesday, Aug 13
Longest Game (innings)13Wednesday, Jul 17 and Thursday, Aug 29
Times Shutout by Opponent8 
Times Opponent Shutout10 
Walkoff Wins3 
Walkoff Losses2 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 88 66 817 671 .571
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 52 24 414 284 .684
Road 36 42 403 387 .462
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 4 6 30 33 .400
May 13 12 113 101 .520
June 15 13 147 130 .536
July 16 13 196 156 .552
August 20 10 175 121 .667
September 20 12 156 130 .625
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 37 34 344 304 .521
Second Half 51 32 473 367 .614
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 78 56 702 572 .582
ExtraInning 6 8 65 68 .429
Shortened 4 2 50 31 .667
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 22 23 179 181 .489
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 34 16 396 257 .680
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BOS 13 9 132 108 .591
CHW 11 11 102 92 .500
CLE 12 10 102 92 .545
DET 8 14 99 116 .364
PHA 13 9 106 83 .591
SLB 14 8 168 124 .636
WSH 17 5 108 56 .773

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 16 boxscore NYY @ PHA L-wo 1 2 10 0-1 5 1.0 Dean Ruffing 1:58 D 20,187 -
2 2 Wednesday, Apr 17 boxscore NYY @ PHA W 4 1 1-1 4 0.5 Pearson Potter 1:59 D 4,000 +
3 3 Friday, Apr 19 boxscore NYY WSH W 5 3 2-1 3 0.5 Gomez Chase Sundra 2:12 D 15,299 ++
4 4 Tuesday, Apr 23 boxscore NYY PHA L 0 3 2-2 5 1.5 Dean Hadley 1:57 D 7,000 -
5 5 Wednesday, Apr 24 boxscore NYY PHA W 9 4 3-2 4 1.0 Ruffing Besse 2:12 D 2,575 +
6 6 Friday, Apr 26 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 1 8 3-3 4 1.5 Dickman Pearson D -
7 7 Saturday, Apr 27 boxscore NYY @ WSH L 2 3 3-4 5 2.5 Chase Breuer 2:19 D 15,000 --
8 8 Sunday, Apr 28 boxscore NYY @ WSH L 2 3 10 3-5 6 3.5 Leonard Murphy D ---
9 9 Monday, Apr 29 boxscore NYY @ WSH W 5 4 4-5 5 2.5 Chandler Masterson 2:20 D 8,000 +
10 10 Tuesday, Apr 30 boxscore NYY SLB L 1 2 4-6 6 3.5 Bildilli Ruffing D -
11 11 Wednesday, May 1 boxscore NYY SLB W 5 3 5-6 5 2.5 Pearson Auker D +
12 12 Friday, May 3 boxscore NYY CHW W 8 4 6-6 4 2.5 Breuer Smith 2:13 D 11,291 ++
13 13 Saturday, May 4 boxscore NYY CHW L 3 10 6-7 4 3.5 Lee Sundra 2:15 D 2,303 -
14 14 Sunday, May 5 boxscore NYY DET L 4 6 6-8 4 4.0 McKain Chandler Benton 2:35 D 36,937 --
15 15 Monday, May 6 boxscore NYY DET L 4 6 6-9 6 4.5 Seats Murphy 2:20 D 5,650 ---
16 16 Tuesday, May 7 boxscore NYY DET L 2 4 6-10 7 5.5 Newhouser Sundra Benton 2:18 D 10,482 ----
17 17 Wednesday, May 8 boxscore NYY CLE L 4 10 6-11 8 6.5 Smith Breuer Milnar -----
18 18 Thursday, May 9 boxscore NYY CLE L 0 4 6-12 8 7.5 Feller Pearson 2:18 14,790 ------
19 19 Friday, May 10 boxscore NYY BOS L 2 3 10 6-13 8 8.5 Wilson Chandler 2:35 D 17,185 -------
20 20 Saturday, May 11 boxscore NYY BOS L 8 9 11 6-14 8 9.5 Heving Murphy Bagby D --------
21 21 Sunday, May 12 boxscore NYY BOS W 4 0 7-14 8 8.5 Ruffing Ostermueller 2:15 D 41,376 +
22 22 Friday, May 17 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 6 1 8-14 8 9.0 Breuer Smith 2:00 D 6,000 ++
23 23 Saturday, May 18 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 3 0 9-14 7 8.5 Pearson Lee 1:50 D 6,000 +++
24 24 Sunday, May 19 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 1 5 9-15 7 9.0 Feller Ruffing 2:04 27,690 -
25 25 Monday, May 20 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 2 10 9-16 8 9.0 Smith Chandler 2:05 7,000 --
26 26 Tuesday, May 21 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 10 2 10-16 8 9.0 Russo Milnar 2:15 6,000 +
27 27 Wednesday, May 22 boxscore NYY @ DET W 8 2 11-16 7 8.0 Breuer Newhouser 2:06 D 9,914 ++
28 28 Thursday, May 23 boxscore NYY @ DET L 2 3 11-17 8 8.5 Newsom Ruffing 2:02 D 9,429 -
29 29 Sunday, May 26 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 7 2 12-17 6 7.5 Pearson Hash Murphy D +
30 30 Monday, May 27 boxscore NYY WSH W 5 0 13-17 6 7.0 Chandler Chase 1:40 D 2,269 ++
31 31 Tuesday, May 28 (1) boxscore NYY WSH W 12 4 14-17 4 6.5 Russo Haynes Murphy 1:57 D 0 +++
32 32 Tuesday, May 28 (2) boxscore NYY WSH W 3 1 15-17 4 6.5 Breuer Monteagudo 1:45 D 10,466 ++++
33 33 Wednesday, May 29 boxscore NYY WSH W 2 1 16-17 4 6.5 Donald Leonard 1:22 D 2,760 +++++
34 34 Thursday, May 30 (1) boxscore NYY BOS W 4 0 17-17 4 6.5 Ruffing Grove D ++++++
35 35 Thursday, May 30 (2) boxscore NYY BOS L 4 11 17-18 4 6.5 Hash Sundra 2:10 D 82,437 -
36 36 Saturday, Jun 1 boxscore NYY SLB W 8 5 18-18 4 6.5 Chandler Bildilli Murphy D +
37 37 Sunday, Jun 2 (1) boxscore NYY SLB W 13 4 19-18 4 5.5 Russo Harris 2:25 D 0 ++
38 38 Sunday, Jun 2 (2) boxscore NYY SLB W 11 1 20-18 4 5.5 Breuer Kennedy 1:30 D 40,021 +++
39 39 Monday, Jun 3 boxscore NYY SLB W 7 1 21-18 4 4.5 Donald Niggeling D ++++
40 40 Tuesday, Jun 4 boxscore NYY CHW L 3 7 21-19 4 4.5 Smith Ruffing 2:03 D 6,650 -
41 41 Wednesday, Jun 5 boxscore NYY CHW W 7 5 22-19 4 3.5 Pearson Lee Murphy 1:50 D 5,756 +
42 42 Thursday, Jun 6 boxscore NYY CHW L 3 4 22-20 4 4.5 Rigney Chandler Appleton 1:45 D 5,089 -
43 43 Friday, Jun 7 boxscore NYY CLE W-wo 5 4 23-20 4 3.5 Hadley Feller 2:28 24,037 +
44 44 Saturday, Jun 8 boxscore NYY CLE L 0 3 23-21 4 4.0 Milnar Russo 1:41 16,067 -
45 45 Sunday, Jun 9 boxscore NYY CLE W 4 3 24-21 4 3.0 Ruffing Smith 1:47 28,659 +
46 46 Tuesday, Jun 11 boxscore NYY DET L 1 6 24-22 4 4.0 Bridges Donald 2:03 D 5,654 -
47 47 Wednesday, Jun 12 boxscore NYY DET W 7 5 25-22 4 4.0 Hadley Benton 2:02 D 10,036 +
48 48 Friday, Jun 14 boxscore NYY @ SLB W 12 3 26-22 4 4.0 Pearson Harris 2:24 N 17,970 ++
49 49 Saturday, Jun 15 boxscore NYY @ SLB W 7 6 27-22 4 4.0 Murphy Kramer Russo 2:15 D 1,771 +++
50 50 Sunday, Jun 16 (1) boxscore NYY @ SLB L 6 12 27-23 4 6.0 Kennedy Ruffing 1:58 D 0 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Sunday, Jun 16 (2) boxscore NYY @ SLB L 5 6 27-24 4 6.0 Trotter Murphy 1:58 D 9,308 --
52 52 Tuesday, Jun 18 boxscore NYY @ CHW L 3 5 27-25 4 6.0 Smith Donald 2:06 D 5,112 ---
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 19 boxscore NYY @ CHW L 0 1 27-26 4 6.0 Lee Russo 1:43 D 8,126 ----
54 54 Thursday, Jun 20 boxscore NYY @ CHW T *T 0 1 11 27-26 4 6.0 D ----
55 55 Friday, Jun 21 boxscore NYY @ DET W 12 7 28-26 4 6.0 Ruffing Gorsica Sundra 2:42 D 11,717 +
56 56 Saturday, Jun 22 boxscore NYY @ DET L 2 3 28-27 4 7.0 Benton Hildebrand 2:00 D 14,694 -
57 57 Sunday, Jun 23 boxscore NYY @ DET L 2 9 28-28 4 7.5 Newsom Breuer 2:08 D 32,892 --
58 58 Monday, Jun 24 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 1 7 28-29 4 8.5 Feller Russo 2:27 46,667 ---
59 59 Tuesday, Jun 25 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 3 5 5 28-30 4 9.5 Milnar Pearson 1:25 7,500 ----
60 60 Wednesday, Jun 26 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 3 1 29-30 4 8.5 Ruffing Harder 2:29 8,000 +
61 61 Friday, Jun 28 boxscore NYY PHA W 4 1 30-30 4 8.0 Russo Ross 1:50 D 4,529 ++
62 62 Saturday, Jun 29 boxscore NYY PHA W 12 9 31-30 4 8.0 Murphy Heusser 2:24 D 7,012 +++
63 63 Sunday, Jun 30 (1) boxscore NYY PHA W 4 3 32-30 4 8.0 Breuer Vaughan 2:02 D 0 ++++
64 64 Sunday, Jun 30 (2) boxscore NYY PHA L 2 3 10 32-31 4 8.0 Babich Pearson 2:27 D 28,558 -
65 65 Monday, Jul 1 boxscore NYY @ WSH W 8 4 33-31 4 7.0 Ruffing Chase 2:14 D 3,000 +
66 66 Tuesday, Jul 2 boxscore NYY @ WSH W 6 2 34-31 4 6.0 Gomez Leonard Murphy 2:17 D 3,000 ++
67 67 Thursday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore NYY @ BOS W 12 4 35-31 4 5.5 Chandler Hash D +++
68 68 Thursday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore NYY @ BOS W 7 3 36-31 4 5.5 Russo Dickman 2:01 D 29,000 ++++
69 69 Friday, Jul 5 boxscore NYY @ PHA L 3 6 36-32 4 6.0 Babich Pearson 2:05 N 25,520 -
70 70 Saturday, Jul 6 boxscore NYY @ PHA L-wo 7 8 10 36-33 4 7.0 Beckmann Hadley 2:44 D 5,486 --
71 71 Sunday, Jul 7 (1) boxscore NYY @ PHA W 6 3 37-33 4 7.0 Breuer Vaughan 2:09 D 0 +
72 72 Sunday, Jul 7 (2) boxscore NYY @ PHA L 5 10 37-34 4 7.0 Potter Gomez 2:05 D 37,129 -
73 73 Thursday, Jul 11 boxscore NYY SLB W 6 4 38-34 4 6.5 Russo Auker Hadley 2:00 D 5,477 +
74 74 Saturday, Jul 13 (1) boxscore NYY SLB W 10 4 39-34 4 6.5 Chandler Niggeling 2:06 D 17,045 ++
75 75 Saturday, Jul 13 (2) boxscore NYY SLB W 12 6 40-34 4 6.5 Hadley Trotter 2:05 D 17,045 +++
76 76 Sunday, Jul 14 boxscore NYY CHW W 4 0 41-34 4 5.5 Ruffing Lee 1:47 D 18,729 ++++
77 77 Monday, Jul 15 boxscore NYY CHW L 2 3 41-35 4 5.5 Smith Breuer Appleton 1:57 D 5,800 -
78 78 Tuesday, Jul 16 boxscore NYY CHW L 1 5 41-36 4 5.5 Rigney Russo 1:45 D 5,426 --
79 79 Wednesday, Jul 17 boxscore NYY CLE W-wo 4 3 13 42-36 4 4.5 Pearson Feller 2:45 16,084 +
80 80 Thursday, Jul 18 boxscore NYY CLE W 9 6 43-36 4 4.0 Chandler Milnar Hadley 1:59 11,985 ++
81 81 Friday, Jul 19 boxscore NYY CLE W 15 6 44-36 4 4.0 Gomez Smith Murphy 2:16 6,768 +++
82 82 Saturday, Jul 20 boxscore NYY DET L 1 3 44-37 4 5.0 Newhouser Ruffing 2:20 D 16,868 -
83 83 Sunday, Jul 21 (1) boxscore NYY DET L 3 4 44-38 4 7.0 McKain Breuer Benton D --
84 84 Sunday, Jul 21 (2) boxscore NYY DET L 2 3 44-39 4 7.0 Rowe Russo Trout D ---
85 85 Tuesday, Jul 23 boxscore NYY @ SLB L 5 9 44-40 4 7.0 Trotter Sundra 2:15 N 11,755 ----
86 86 Wednesday, Jul 24 boxscore NYY @ SLB L 12 14 44-41 4 8.0 Harris Sundra 2:12 D 1,580 -----
87 87 Thursday, Jul 25 boxscore NYY @ SLB W 13 8 45-41 4 8.0 Ruffing Niggeling 2:21 D 1,711 +
88 88 Friday, Jul 26 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 10 2 46-41 4 7.0 Chandler Smith 2:09 N 48,104 ++
89 89 Saturday, Jul 27 boxscore NYY @ CHW L 5 6 12 46-42 4 8.5 Rigney Breuer 2:17 D 7,199 -
90 90 Sunday, Jul 28 (1) boxscore NYY @ CHW W 10 9 47-42 4 8.0 Hildebrand Lyons Murphy D +
91 91 Sunday, Jul 28 (2) boxscore NYY @ CHW L 4 8 47-43 4 8.0 Lee Hadley 2:02 D 39,537 -
92 92 Tuesday, Jul 30 boxscore NYY @ DET W 8 6 48-43 4 6.5 Ruffing Newhouser Murphy 2:35 D 14,845 +
93 93 Wednesday, Jul 31 boxscore NYY @ DET L 6 7 11 48-44 4 7.5 McKain Gomez 2:50 D 13,169 -
94 94 Thursday, Aug 1 boxscore NYY @ DET L 2 11 48-45 4 8.5 Rowe Breuer 2:08 D 16,440 --
95 95 Friday, Aug 2 boxscore NYY @ CLE W 10 2 49-45 4 7.5 Russo Milnar 2:10 7,500 +
96 96 Saturday, Aug 3 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 1 5 49-46 5 9.0 Smith Gomez 1:41 12,025 -
97 97 Sunday, Aug 4 boxscore NYY @ CLE L 1 3 49-47 5 9.0 Feller Ruffing 2:13 42,407 --
98 98 Monday, Aug 5 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 1 4 49-48 5 9.5 Ostermueller Bonham 2:21 D 5,100 ---
99 99 Tuesday, Aug 6 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 3 8 49-49 5 10.5 Heving Chandler 2:16 D 7,600 ----
100 100 Wednesday, Aug 7 (1) boxscore NYY @ BOS L 7 10 49-50 5 11.0 Johnson Hadley Wilson D -----
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Wednesday, Aug 7 (2) boxscore NYY @ BOS W 6 3 50-50 5 11.0 Russo Wilson 2:29 D 32,500 +
102 102 Thursday, Aug 8 boxscore NYY @ BOS L 5 6 50-51 5 11.5 Dickman Hadley 2:05 D 8,500 -
103 103 Friday, Aug 9 boxscore NYY PHA W 2 0 51-51 5 10.5 Sundra Babich 2:05 D 5,128 +
104 104 Saturday, Aug 10 boxscore NYY PHA W 13 0 52-51 4 10.5 Bonham Potter 1:45 D 7,587 ++
105 105 Sunday, Aug 11 boxscore NYY PHA W 7 6 11 53-51 5 9.0 Donald Heusser 3:00 D 12,059 +++
106 106 Tuesday, Aug 13 (1) boxscore NYY BOS W 9 1 54-51 5 9.0 Russo Bagby D ++++
107 107 Tuesday, Aug 13 (2) boxscore NYY BOS W 19 8 7 55-51 5 9.0 Donald Dickman 2:15 D 32,172 +++++
108 108 Wednesday, Aug 14 boxscore NYY BOS W 8 3 56-51 4 9.0 Ruffing Johnson 2:10 D 7,187 ++++++
109 109 Thursday, Aug 15 boxscore NYY BOS L 1 11 56-52 4 10.0 Heving Bonham 1:55 D 7,344 -
110 110 Sunday, Aug 18 (1) boxscore NYY @ PHA W 9 1 57-52 5 10.0 Sundra Vaughan 2:00 D 0 +
111 111 Sunday, Aug 18 (2) boxscore NYY @ PHA L 3 7 57-53 5 10.0 Babich Breuer 1:45 D 21,284 -
112 112 Tuesday, Aug 20 (1) boxscore NYY DET W 4 3 58-53 4 9.0 Ruffing Rowe 2:05 D 0 +
113 113 Tuesday, Aug 20 (2) boxscore NYY DET W 4 2 59-53 4 9.0 Bonham Trout 2:00 D 30,346 ++
114 114 Wednesday, Aug 21 boxscore NYY DET W 6 5 60-53 4 9.0 Murphy Benton 2:30 D 9,234 +++
115 115 Thursday, Aug 22 boxscore NYY CLE W 15 2 61-53 3 8.0 Russo Milnar 1:50 12,732 ++++
116 116 Friday, Aug 23 boxscore NYY CLE W 5 3 62-53 3 7.0 Sundra Smith 1:50 14,171 +++++
117 117 Saturday, Aug 24 boxscore NYY CLE W-wo 3 2 63-53 3 6.0 Murphy Feller 2:35 50,964 ++++++
118 118 Sunday, Aug 25 (1) boxscore NYY CHW L 0 1 63-54 3 5.5 Lyons Ruffing 1:55 D 0 -
119 119 Sunday, Aug 25 (2) boxscore NYY CHW W 3 1 64-54 3 5.5 Bonham Lee 1:33 D 70,740 +
120 120 Tuesday, Aug 27 boxscore NYY CHW W 5 4 10 65-54 3 5.5 Murphy Rigney 2:17 D 6,942 ++
121 121 Thursday, Aug 29 (1) boxscore NYY SLB W 10 3 66-54 3 4.5 Russo Kennedy 2:03 D 0 +++
122 122 Thursday, Aug 29 (2) boxscore NYY SLB W 6 5 13 67-54 3 4.5 Murphy Auker 2:42 D 7,865 ++++
123 123 Saturday, Aug 31 boxscore NYY WSH W 7 1 68-54 3 5.0 Donald Krakauskas 2:03 D 13,108 +++++
124 124 Sunday, Sep 1 (1) boxscore NYY WSH W 3 2 69-54 3 4.5 Ruffing Leonard 1:48 D 0 ++++++
125 125 Sunday, Sep 1 (2) boxscore NYY WSH W 3 0 70-54 3 4.5 Bonham Masterson 1:55 D 15,063 +++++++
126 126 Monday, Sep 2 (1) boxscore NYY PHA W 6 3 71-54 2 3.5 Russo Vaughan 1:52 D 0 ++++++++
127 127 Monday, Sep 2 (2) boxscore NYY PHA L 0 3 71-55 2 3.5 Babich Chandler 1:55 D 69,940 -
128 128 Wednesday, Sep 4 boxscore NYY @ WSH L 5 6 71-56 3 3.5 Krakauskas Sundra 1:30 D 5,000 --
129 129 Thursday, Sep 5 (1) boxscore NYY @ WSH W 2 1 72-56 2 2.0 Bonham Leonard 1:51 D 0 +
130 130 Thursday, Sep 5 (2) boxscore NYY @ WSH W 8 1 73-56 2 2.0 Donald Masterson 2:00 D 17,000 ++
131 131 Friday, Sep 6 boxscore NYY @ WSH L 1 3 73-57 3 2.0 Chase Ruffing 2:00 D 12,000 -
132 132 Saturday, Sep 7 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 4 3 74-57 3 1.0 Russo Heving 2:32 D 10,000 +
133 133 Sunday, Sep 8 boxscore NYY @ BOS W 9 4 75-57 3 1.0 Chandler Ostermueller 2:48 D 33,800 ++
134 134 Wednesday, Sep 11 (1) boxscore NYY @ CLE W 3 1 76-57 3 1.0 Bonham Feller 2:20 0 +++
135 135 Wednesday, Sep 11 (2) boxscore NYY @ CLE L 3 5 6 76-58 3 1.0 Smith Ruffing 2:00 33,471 -
136 136 Thursday, Sep 12 boxscore NYY @ DET L 3 6 76-59 3 2.0 Rowe Donald 2:19 D 19,272 --
137 137 Friday, Sep 13 boxscore NYY @ DET L 0 8 76-60 3 3.0 Bridges Russo 2:09 D 25,514 ---
138 138 Saturday, Sep 14 boxscore NYY @ DET W 16 7 77-60 3 2.0 Breuer Newsom 2:51 D 56,697 +
139 139 Sunday, Sep 15 (1) boxscore NYY @ SLB L 5 10 77-61 3 3.5 Niggeling Ruffing D -
140 140 Sunday, Sep 15 (2) boxscore NYY @ SLB L 1 2 77-62 3 3.5 Auker Bonham D --
141 141 Monday, Sep 16 boxscore NYY @ SLB L 4 16 77-63 3 4.0 Kennedy Russo 1:51 D 1,343 ---
142 142 Tuesday, Sep 17 boxscore NYY @ SLB W 9 0 78-63 3 3.5 Donald Trotter 1:55 D 1,607 +
143 143 Wednesday, Sep 18 (1) boxscore NYY @ CHW L 3 6 78-64 3 4.0 Lee Chandler 1:50 D 0 -
144 144 Wednesday, Sep 18 (2) boxscore NYY @ CHW W 9 8 8 79-64 3 4.0 Sundra Brown Murphy 2:19 D 37,331 +
145 145 Thursday, Sep 19 boxscore NYY @ CHW W 10 1 80-64 3 4.0 Ruffing Knott 1:43 D 7,572 ++
146 146 Saturday, Sep 21 boxscore NYY BOS W 5 4 81-64 3 4.5 Bonham Wilson D +++
147 147 Sunday, Sep 22 boxscore NYY BOS W 6 3 82-64 3 3.5 Russo Grove 1:50 D 27,518 ++++
148 148 Tuesday, Sep 24 (1) boxscore NYY WSH W 6 5 10 83-64 3 2.5 Murphy Leonard 2:42 D 0 +++++
149 149 Tuesday, Sep 24 (2) boxscore NYY WSH W 9 4 7 84-64 3 2.5 Murphy Krakauskas 1:39 D 15,155 ++++++
150 150 Thursday, Sep 26 (1) boxscore NYY @ PHA W 5 4 85-64 3 2.5 Ruffing Vaughan 2:13 D 0 +++++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Thursday, Sep 26 (2) boxscore NYY @ PHA W 2 0 86-64 3 2.5 Bonham Ross 1:52 D 7,212 ++++++++
152 152 Friday, Sep 27 boxscore NYY @ PHA L 2 6 86-65 3 3.5 Babich Russo 2:11 D 5,000 -
153 153 Saturday, Sep 28 (1) boxscore NYY @ WSH L 3 4 86-66 3 3.0 Hudson Breuer 1:48 D 0 --
154 154 Saturday, Sep 28 (2) boxscore NYY @ WSH W 7 1 8 87-66 3 3.0 Donald Chase 2:15 D 5,000 +
155 155 Sunday, Sep 29 boxscore NYY @ WSH W 4 3 11 88-66 3 2.0 Bonham Leonard 2:29 D 7,000 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1939 / 1941 Schedule and Results