Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1981 Schedule and Results

1981 New York Mets

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1980 / 1982

First Half: 17-34, Finished 5th
Second Half: 24-28, Finished 4th
Overall: 41-62, Finished 5th in NL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Joe Torre (41-62)
GM: Frank Cashen, Farm Dir: Chris Kager, Scouting Dir: Joe McIlvaine
Scored 348 runs, Allowed 432 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 41-62

Ballparks: Shea Stadium · Attendance: 704,244 (7th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 98, Pitching - 100 · one-year: Batting - 101, Pitching - 103

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1980 / 1982 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 41-62, Final Rank:5, GB: 18.5
Days in First3last on Wednesday, Apr 15, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 7last on Apr 15, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead0.5last on Wednesday, Apr 15, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind19last on Thursday, Sep 17, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5002last on Wednesday, Apr 15
Most Games under .50022last on Saturday, Oct 3
Longest Winning Streak4Friday, Sep 18 to Monday, Sep 21
Longest Losing Streak9Sunday, May 10 to Tuesday, May 19
Most Runs Allowed12Monday, Sep 28
Most Runs Scored13Monday, May 25
Longest Game (innings)13Monday, Aug 10, Saturday, Sep 12 and Monday, Sep 21
Times Shutout by Opponent12 
Times Opponent Shutout3 
Walkoff Wins3 
Walkoff Losses3 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 41 62 348 432 .398
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 24 27 186 207 .471
Road 17 35 162 225 .327
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 4 10 42 69 .286
May 11 17 105 126 .393
June 2 7 28 41 .222
August 11 10 68 80 .524
September 12 16 97 105 .429
October 1 2 8 11 .333
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 17 34 175 236 .333
Second Half 24 28 173 196 .462
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 35 61 318 410 .365
ExtraInning 6 1 30 22 .857
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 14 12 86 84 .538
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 6 12 65 107 .333
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 3 3 20 19 .500
CHC 8 5 50 49 .615
CIN 3 7 24 38 .300
HOU 3 6 16 39 .333
LAD 1 5 16 31 .167
MON 3 9 38 50 .250
PHI 7 7 69 60 .500
PIT 3 6 26 46 .333
SDP 2 5 22 32 .286
SFG 2 4 20 27 .333
STL 6 5 47 41 .545

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 9 boxscore NYM @ CHC W 2 0 1-0 1 Tied Zachry Reuschel Allen 2:22 D 37,030 +
2 2 Saturday, Apr 11 boxscore NYM @ CHC L 1 3 1-1 2 0.5 Tidrow Hausman 2:37 D 12,114 -
3 3 Sunday, Apr 12 boxscore NYM @ CHC W 2 1 2-1 1 up 0.5 Allen Eastwick 3:00 D 7,475 +
4 4 Wednesday, Apr 15 boxscore NYM STL W 5 3 3-1 1 up 0.5 Zachry Martinez Allen 2:27 D 15,205 ++
5 5 Thursday, Apr 16 boxscore NYM STL L 1 5 3-2 3 0.5 Rincon Scott Sutter 2:30 D 10,921 -
6 6 Saturday, Apr 18 boxscore NYM MON L 3 5 3-3 4 2.0 Gullickson Jones Bahnsen 2:40 D 23,710 --
7 7 Sunday, Apr 19 (1) boxscore NYM MON L 3 4 3-4 4 2.5 Burris Swan Fryman 2:49 D 0 ---
8 8 Sunday, Apr 19 (2) boxscore NYM MON W 7 2 4-4 4 2.5 Zachry Lea 2:20 D 21,464 +
9 9 Wednesday, Apr 22 boxscore NYM @ PIT T 2 2 4-4 4 3.0 2:39 N 7,530 +
10 10 Saturday, Apr 25 boxscore NYM @ MON L 2 4 4-5 4 4.0 Rogers Jones Lee 2:23 D 18,150 -
11 11 Sunday, Apr 26 (1) boxscore NYM @ MON L 4 8 4-6 5 6.0 Burris Zachry 2:22 D 0 --
12 12 Sunday, Apr 26 (2) boxscore NYM @ MON L 6 7 4-7 5 6.0 Sanderson Swan Fryman 3:00 D 41,697 ---
13 13 Tuesday, Apr 28 boxscore NYM PIT L 0 8 4-8 5 6.5 Rhoden Scott 2:28 N 6,973 ----
14 14 Wednesday, Apr 29 boxscore NYM PIT L 0 10 4-9 5 6.5 Bibby Roberts 2:34 N 7,175 -----
15 15 Thursday, Apr 30 boxscore NYM PIT L 4 7 4-10 5 7.0 Candelaria Jones Jackson 2:25 N 5,553 ------
16 16 Friday, May 1 boxscore NYM SDP L 2 4 4-11 5 8.0 Urrea Zachry Lucas 2:26 N 7,181 -------
17 17 Saturday, May 2 boxscore NYM SDP W 6 2 5-11 5 7.0 Falcone Welsh 2:23 D 6,276 +
18 18 Sunday, May 3 (1) boxscore NYM SDP L 1 4 5-12 5 7.5 Wise Roberts Lucas 2:35 D 0 -
19 19 Sunday, May 3 (2) boxscore NYM SDP W 7 4 6-12 5 7.5 Scott Lollar Allen 2:31 D 26,392 +
20 20 Tuesday, May 5 boxscore NYM SFG L 7 9 6-13 5 8.0 Griffin Jones Minton 2:43 N 6,031 -
21 21 Wednesday, May 6 boxscore NYM SFG L 4 6 6-14 5 8.0 Minton Zachry 3:28 N 5,119 --
22 22 Thursday, May 7 boxscore NYM SFG W 3 2 7-14 5 8.0 Lynch Alexander Allen 2:13 N 5,653 +
23 23 Friday, May 8 boxscore NYM LAD L 0 1 7-15 5 8.0 Valenzuela Scott 2:42 N 39,848 -
24 24 Saturday, May 9 boxscore NYM LAD W 7 4 8-15 5 8.0 Allen Castillo Reardon 2:53 D 16,776 +
25 25 Sunday, May 10 boxscore NYM LAD L 3 5 8-16 5 8.0 Welch Jones Howe 2:43 D 12,102 -
26 26 Tuesday, May 12 boxscore NYM @ SDP L 0 3 8-17 5 9.0 Eichelberger Zachry 2:02 N 9,235 --
27 27 Wednesday, May 13 boxscore NYM @ SDP L 0 5 8-18 5 9.0 Welsh Lynch 2:27 N 7,921 ---
28 28 Thursday, May 14 boxscore NYM @ SDP L 6 10 8-19 5 10.0 Lucas Falcone 2:34 D 11,147 ----
29 29 Friday, May 15 boxscore NYM @ LAD L-wo 5 6 8-20 5 10.0 Howe Allen 2:35 N 49,860 -----
30 30 Saturday, May 16 boxscore NYM @ LAD L 0 9 8-21 5 11.0 Hooton Roberts 2:21 N 51,000 ------
31 31 Sunday, May 17 boxscore NYM @ LAD L 1 6 8-22 5 12.0 Reuss Zachry 2:17 D 50,746 -------
32 32 Monday, May 18 boxscore NYM @ SFG L 1 3 8-23 5 12.5 Ripley Lynch Minton 2:41 N 4,348 --------
33 33 Tuesday, May 19 boxscore NYM @ SFG L 1 4 8-24 5 13.5 Holland Scott Minton 2:38 N 5,168 ---------
34 34 Wednesday, May 20 boxscore NYM @ SFG W 4 3 10 9-24 5 12.5 Reardon Minton 3:22 D 5,189 +
35 35 Friday, May 22 boxscore NYM @ STL W 9 3 10-24 5 12.0 Zachry Martinez 2:32 N 21,442 ++
36 36 Saturday, May 23 boxscore NYM @ STL L 2 8 10-25 5 13.0 Forsch Falcone Kaat 2:35 N 24,710 -
37 37 Sunday, May 24 boxscore NYM @ STL W 3 1 10 11-25 5 12.0 Allen Sutter 2:25 D 33,889 +
38 38 Monday, May 25 boxscore NYM PHI W 13 3 12-25 5 11.0 Harris Ruthven Reardon 2:31 D 20,469 ++
39 39 Tuesday, May 26 boxscore NYM PHI L 5 7 12-26 5 11.0 Reed Allen McGraw 2:35 N 13,973 -
40 40 Wednesday, May 27 boxscore NYM PHI W 3 1 13-26 5 10.0 Zachry Christenson 2:04 N 10,930 +
41 41 Friday, May 29 boxscore NYM CHC W 6 1 14-26 5 10.0 Scott Martz 2:58 N 18,035 ++
42 42 Saturday, May 30 boxscore NYM CHC L 3 10 14-27 5 10.0 Krukow Harris 3:07 D 11,507 -
43 43 Sunday, May 31 boxscore NYM CHC W 3 2 15-27 5 10.0 Jones Reuschel Falcone 1:50 D 17,524 +
44 44 Monday, Jun 1 boxscore NYM @ PHI L 4 5 15-28 5 11.0 Lyle Allen McGraw 2:28 N 27,631 -
45 45 Tuesday, Jun 2 boxscore NYM @ PHI L 7 9 15-29 5 12.0 Proly Lynch Reed 3:05 N 25,375 --
46 46 Wednesday, Jun 3 boxscore NYM @ PHI W 6 2 16-29 5 11.0 Harris Ruthven Allen 2:27 N 27,588 +
47 47 Friday, Jun 5 boxscore NYM @ HOU L 0 3 16-30 5 11.5 Ryan Jones 2:09 N 28,085 -
48 48 Saturday, Jun 6 boxscore NYM @ HOU L 2 6 16-31 5 12.5 Ruhle Zachry Smith 2:17 N 42,478 --
49 49 Sunday, Jun 7 boxscore NYM @ HOU W 3 1 17-31 5 12.0 Scott Knepper Allen 2:13 D 29,873 +
50 50 Tuesday, Jun 9 boxscore NYM CIN L 4 8 17-32 5 13.5 Hume Falcone 2:56 N 12,313 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 10 boxscore NYM CIN L 0 2 17-33 5 14.5 Soto Jones 2:14 N 9,732 --
52 52 Thursday, Jun 11 boxscore NYM CIN L 2 5 17-34 5 15.0 Seaver Zachry 2:36 N 18,612 ---
53 53 Monday, Aug 10 boxscore NYM @ CHC W 7 5 13 18-34 5 14.0 Miller McGlothen Harris 3:30 D 7,551 +
54 54 Tuesday, Aug 11 boxscore NYM @ CHC W 4 2 19-34 5 14.0 Searage Smith Allen 3:02 D 10,250 ++
55 55 Wednesday, Aug 12 boxscore NYM @ CHC W 7 4 10 20-34 5 13.0 Allen Tidrow 2:58 D 8,372 +++
56 56 Thursday, Aug 13 boxscore NYM @ CHC L 1 6 20-35 5 13.5 Bird Harris Griffin 2:27 D 7,412 -
57 57 Friday, Aug 14 boxscore NYM PHI L 4 8 20-36 5 14.5 Christenson Scott Proly 2:32 N 34,136 --
58 58 Saturday, Aug 15 boxscore NYM PHI W 3 1 21-36 5 14.0 Falcone Espinosa Allen 2:11 N 14,309 +
59 59 Sunday, Aug 16 boxscore NYM PHI W 5 2 22-36 5 13.5 Zachry Ruthven Allen 2:12 D 21,635 ++
60 60 Tuesday, Aug 18 boxscore NYM @ ATL W 4 0 23-36 5 13.0 Lynch Mahler Allen 2:31 N 7,566 +++
61 61 Wednesday, Aug 19 boxscore NYM @ ATL L 2 5 23-37 5 14.0 Boggs Scott Camp 2:24 N 6,080 -
62 62 Thursday, Aug 20 boxscore NYM @ ATL L 4 6 23-38 5 14.5 Niekro Harris Camp 2:27 N 4,787 --
63 63 Friday, Aug 21 boxscore NYM @ CIN L 0 2 23-39 5 14.5 Soto Zachry 2:09 N 20,410 ---
64 64 Saturday, Aug 22 boxscore NYM @ CIN W 7 4 24-39 5 13.5 Boitano Pastore Allen 2:53 N 25,949 +
65 65 Sunday, Aug 23 boxscore NYM @ CIN W 3 2 10 25-39 5 13.5 Allen Hume 2:38 D 20,761 ++
66 66 Monday, Aug 24 boxscore NYM @ CIN L 0 2 25-40 5 14.5 Berenyi Scott 2:04 N 19,506 -
67 67 Tuesday, Aug 25 boxscore NYM HOU W 2 1 26-40 5 13.5 Marshall Sambito 2:32 N 15,622 +
68 68 Wednesday, Aug 26 boxscore NYM HOU L 3 9 26-41 5 14.5 Sutton Zachry 2:34 N 16,731 -
69 69 Thursday, Aug 27 boxscore NYM HOU W 3 2 27-41 5 14.5 Marshall Sambito Allen 2:28 D 17,488 +
70 70 Friday, Aug 28 boxscore NYM CIN L 2 5 27-42 5 15.0 Seaver Allen 2:33 N 23,061 -
71 71 Saturday, Aug 29 boxscore NYM CIN W 3 2 28-42 5 15.5 Scott Berenyi Allen 2:20 N 44,598 +
72 72 Sunday, Aug 30 boxscore NYM CIN L 3 6 28-43 5 15.5 LaCoss Harris 2:53 D 18,770 -
73 73 Monday, Aug 31 boxscore NYM @ HOU L 1 6 28-44 5 16.0 Sutton Zachry 2:27 N 10,669 --
74 74 Tuesday, Sep 1 boxscore NYM @ HOU L-wo 2 3 28-45 5 16.0 Sambito Marshall 2:39 N 16,339 ---
75 75 Wednesday, Sep 2 boxscore NYM @ HOU L 0 8 28-46 5 17.0 Knepper Scott 2:21 N 18,938 ----
76 76 Friday, Sep 4 boxscore NYM ATL W 4 1 29-46 5 17.5 Harris Niekro Allen 2:06 N 15,021 +
77 77 Saturday, Sep 5 boxscore NYM ATL W 4 2 30-46 5 16.5 Zachry Perry Allen 2:19 D 11,009 ++
78 78 Sunday, Sep 6 boxscore NYM ATL L 2 5 30-47 5 16.5 Mahler Jones Garber 2:37 D 19,746 -
79 79 Monday, Sep 7 (1) boxscore NYM @ PIT L 1 2 30-48 5 17.0 Jones Allen Scurry 2:12 N 0 --
80 80 Monday, Sep 7 (2) boxscore NYM @ PIT L 4 5 30-49 5 17.0 Long Boitano Lee 2:49 N 9,935 ---
81 81 Tuesday, Sep 8 boxscore NYM @ PIT W 3 1 31-49 5 16.0 Lynch Tiant Allen 2:20 N 5,383 +
82 82 Wednesday, Sep 9 boxscore NYM @ PIT W 5 3 32-49 5 15.0 Leach Perez Searage 2:36 N 7,089 ++
83 83 Friday, Sep 11 boxscore NYM @ STL L 2 4 32-50 5 16.0 Forsch Zachry Sutter 2:03 N 14,787 -
84 84 Saturday, Sep 12 boxscore NYM @ STL L-wo 2 4 13 32-51 5 17.0 Bair Marshall 3:22 N 19,884 --
85 85 Sunday, Sep 13 boxscore NYM @ STL L 2 4 32-52 5 18.0 Andujar Leach Sutter 2:50 D 14,689 ---
86 86 Wednesday, Sep 16 (1) boxscore NYM PHI L 1 3 32-53 5 18.0 Ruthven Zachry 2:14 N 0 ----
87 87 Wednesday, Sep 16 (2) boxscore NYM PHI W 5 4 33-53 5 18.0 Marshall Carlton Allen 2:16 N 4,353 +
88 88 Thursday, Sep 17 boxscore NYM PHI L 2 3 33-54 5 19.0 Noles Scott Reed 2:19 N 5,501 -
89 89 Friday, Sep 18 boxscore NYM STL W 8 1 34-54 5 18.0 Lynch Shirley Orosco 2:32 N 12,317 +
90 90 Saturday, Sep 19 boxscore NYM STL W 6 2 35-54 5 17.0 Falcone Martin 1:58 D 10,200 ++
91 91 Sunday, Sep 20 boxscore NYM STL W-wo 7 6 36-54 5 16.0 Allen Sutter 2:55 D 13,337 +++
92 92 Monday, Sep 21 boxscore NYM PIT W-wo 4 3 13 37-54 5 16.0 Boitano Lee 3:51 N 7,429 ++++
93 93 Tuesday, Sep 22 boxscore NYM PIT L 3 5 37-55 5 16.0 Bibby Scott Scurry 2:47 N 6,855 -
94 94 Wednesday, Sep 23 boxscore NYM @ CHC L 1 2 37-56 5 16.0 Krukow Lynch Tidrow 2:06 D 2,754 --
95 95 Thursday, Sep 24 boxscore NYM @ CHC L 9 10 37-57 5 16.0 Tidrow Orosco Eastwick 3:03 D 2,555 ---
96 96 Friday, Sep 25 boxscore NYM @ MON L 3 6 37-58 5 16.0 Gullickson Zachry 2:49 N 41,351 ----
97 97 Saturday, Sep 26 boxscore NYM @ MON L 2 4 37-59 5 17.0 Burris Harris Fryman 2:45 N 38,821 -----
98 98 Sunday, Sep 27 boxscore NYM @ MON W 2 1 38-59 5 17.0 Scott Rogers Allen 2:45 D 52,089 +
99 99 Monday, Sep 28 boxscore NYM @ PHI L 4 12 38-60 5 18.0 Christenson Lynch 2:44 N 20,403 -
100 100 Tuesday, Sep 29 boxscore NYM @ PHI W 7 0 39-60 5 18.0 Falcone Davis 2:04 N 20,110 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Wednesday, Sep 30 boxscore NYM CHC W-wo 2 1 40-60 5 17.0 Allen Martz 2:22 N 4,473 ++
102 102 Thursday, Oct 1 boxscore NYM CHC T 2 2 40-60 5 17.5 2:25 N 3,553 ++
103 103 Friday, Oct 2 boxscore NYM MON L 0 3 40-61 5 17.5 Rogers Zachry 2:08 N 6,720 -
104 104 Saturday, Oct 3 boxscore NYM MON L 4 5 40-62 5 18.5 Lee Allen Reardon 3:01 D 17,954 --
105 105 Sunday, Oct 4 boxscore NYM MON W 2 1 41-62 5 18.5 Falcone Gullickson 1:54 D 7,618 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1980 / 1982 Schedule and Results