Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1973 Schedule and Results

1973 New York Mets

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1972 / 1974

82-79, Finished 1st in NL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Yogi Berra (82-79)
GM: Bob Scheffing, Farm Dir: Joe McDonald, Scouting Dir: Nelson Burbrink
Scored 608 runs, Allowed 588 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 83-78

Ballparks: Shea Stadium · Attendance: 1,912,390 (3rd of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 98, Pitching - 99 · one-year: Batting - 101, Pitching - 101


BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1972 / 1974 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 82-79, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First13last on Monday, Oct 1, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 19last on Oct 1, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead1.5last on Monday, Oct 1, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind12.5last on Sunday, Jul 8, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5004last on Friday, May 18
Most Games under .50013last on Friday, Aug 17
Longest Winning Streak7Tuesday, Sep 18 to Tuesday, Sep 25
Longest Losing Streak5Wednesday, May 2 to Sunday, May 6
Most Runs Allowed19Tuesday, Jul 3
Most Runs Scored13Sunday, Apr 22
Longest Game (innings)19Thursday, May 24
Times Shutout by Opponent16 
Times Opponent Shutout15 
Walkoff Wins6 
Walkoff Losses9 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 82 79 608 588 .509
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 43 38 314 283 .531
Road 39 41 294 305 .488
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 12 8 55 48 .600
May 9 14 106 114 .391
June 11 17 91 110 .393
July 12 18 118 140 .400
August 18 14 123 94 .563
September 19 8 109 78 .704
October 1 0 6 41.000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 42 51 348 377 .452
Second Half 40 28 260 211 .588
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 75 67 549 519 .528
ExtraInning 7 12 59 69 .368
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 31 32 179 180 .492
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 18 16 190 173 .529
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 6 6 62 49 .500
CHC 7 10 49 56 .412
CIN 4 8 43 47 .333
HOU 6 6 38 58 .500
LAD 5 7 35 41 .417
MON 9 9 81 68 .500
PHI 9 9 64 77 .500
PIT 13 5 78 55 .722
SDP 8 4 53 37 .667
SFG 5 7 41 37 .417
STL 10 8 64 63 .556

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Friday, Apr 6 boxscore NYM PHI W 3 0 1-0 1 Tied Seaver Carlton McGraw 1:56 D 27,326 +
2 2 Saturday, Apr 7 boxscore NYM PHI W-wo 3 2 2-0 1 Tied Matlack Selma 2:28 D 18,738 ++
3 3 Wednesday, Apr 11 boxscore NYM @ STL W 5 4 3-0 1 Tied Koosman Cleveland Hennigan 2:23 D 12,290 +++
4 4 Thursday, Apr 12 boxscore NYM @ STL W 2 1 4-0 1 Tied Seaver Gibson Hennigan 1:51 D 6,356 ++++
5 5 Friday, Apr 13 boxscore NYM @ PHI L 1 7 4-1 2 0.5 Christenson Matlack 2:36 N 7,127 -
6 6 Saturday, Apr 14 boxscore NYM @ PHI L 3 7 4-2 2 0.5 Carlton McAndrew 2:09 N 11,063 --
7 7 Sunday, Apr 15 boxscore NYM @ PHI W 2 1 5-2 2 0.5 Parker Lonborg McGraw 2:18 D 30,718 +
8 8 Tuesday, Apr 17 boxscore NYM CHC L 0 1 5-3 2 1.5 Jenkins Seaver 1:45 D 14,549 -
9 9 Wednesday, Apr 18 boxscore NYM CHC L 0 1 5-4 3 2.5 Burris Matlack Aker 2:38 D 14,874 --
10 10 Thursday, Apr 19 (1) boxscore NYM CHC W 3 1 6-4 3 2.5 Koosman Reuschel 2:00 D 0 +
11 11 Thursday, Apr 19 (2) boxscore NYM CHC L 0 7 6-5 3 2.5 Hooton McAndrew 1:59 D 38,079 -
12 12 Saturday, Apr 21 boxscore NYM MON W 5 0 7-5 3 1.5 Parker Moore McGraw 2:18 D 40,011 +
13 13 Sunday, Apr 22 (1) boxscore NYM MON L 1 2 10 7-6 3 1.5 Marshall Hennigan Walker 2:30 D 0 -
14 14 Sunday, Apr 22 (2) boxscore NYM MON W 13 3 8-6 3 1.5 McAndrew Renko Stone 2:38 D 27,230 +
15 15 Tuesday, Apr 24 boxscore NYM @ HOU L 2 4 8-7 3 1.5 Forsch Matlack Ray 2:18 N 12,759 -
16 16 Wednesday, Apr 25 boxscore NYM @ HOU W 5 2 9-7 2 1.0 Koosman Wilson 2:12 N 15,248 +
17 17 Thursday, Apr 26 boxscore NYM @ HOU W 2 1 10-7 2 0.5 McAndrew Reuss McGraw 2:16 N 12,295 ++
18 18 Friday, Apr 27 boxscore NYM @ ATL L 0 2 10-8 2 1.0 Dobson Seaver 1:36 N 7,527 -
19 19 Saturday, Apr 28 boxscore NYM @ ATL W 4 2 11-8 1 Tied Matlack Reed McGraw 2:26 N 9,752 +
20 20 Sunday, Apr 29 boxscore NYM @ ATL W 1 0 12-8 1 Tied Koosman Morton 2:02 D 12,152 ++
21 21 Wednesday, May 2 boxscore NYM CIN L 1 6 12-9 2 0.5 Grimsley Seaver Borbon 2:14 N 19,163 -
22 22 Thursday, May 3 boxscore NYM CIN L 5 6 12-10 2 1.5 Hall Matlack 2:14 N 9,163 --
23 23 Friday, May 4 boxscore NYM HOU L 5 9 14 12-11 3 1.5 Ray Hennigan Gladding 4:02 N 17,397 ---
24 24 Saturday, May 5 boxscore NYM HOU L 2 9 12-12 3 2.5 Wilson McAndrew 2:23 D 14,178 ----
25 25 Sunday, May 6 boxscore NYM HOU L 8 14 12-13 3 2.0 Cosgrove McGraw Crawford 3:07 D 22,594 -----
26 26 Monday, May 7 boxscore NYM ATL W 7 2 13-13 3 1.0 Seaver Dobson 2:25 N 11,729 +
27 27 Tuesday, May 8 boxscore NYM ATL L 6 10 13-14 3 2.0 Reed Matlack Harrison 2:48 N 6,840 -
28 28 Wednesday, May 9 boxscore NYM ATL W 8 1 14-14 2 2.0 Koosman Morton 2:16 N 8,125 +
29 29 Friday, May 11 boxscore NYM @ PIT W 4 3 15-14 2 2.0 Parker Ellis McGraw 2:45 N 17,564 ++
30 30 Saturday, May 12 boxscore NYM @ PIT W 6 0 16-14 2 2.0 Seaver Moose 2:17 D 13,058 +++
31 31 Sunday, May 13 boxscore NYM @ PIT W 6 4 17-14 2 2.5 McAndrew Walker McGraw 2:33 D 14,310 ++++
32 32 Tuesday, May 15 boxscore NYM @ CHC L 3 4 17-15 2 3.5 Hooton Koosman Aker 2:15 D 11,517 -
33 33 Wednesday, May 16 boxscore NYM @ MON W 8 3 18-15 2 2.5 Parker Torrez McGraw 2:19 N 10,023 +
34 34 Friday, May 18 boxscore NYM PIT W 4 3 19-15 2 2.0 Seaver Walker 2:12 N 34,565 ++
35 35 Saturday, May 19 boxscore NYM PIT L 1 4 10 19-16 2 2.5 Giusti McGraw 2:44 D 32,622 -
36 36 Tuesday, May 22 boxscore NYM STL L 3 5 19-17 2 2.5 Wise Koosman Segui 2:35 N 17,425 --
37 37 Thursday, May 24 boxscore NYM @ LAD W 7 3 19 20-17 2 2.5 Stone Rau McAndrew 5:42 N 27,580 +
38 38 Friday, May 25 boxscore NYM @ LAD L 4 6 20-18 2 3.5 Osteen Matlack Richert 2:25 N 53,624 -
39 39 Saturday, May 26 boxscore NYM @ LAD L 5 9 20-19 2 4.5 Culver McAndrew Richert 2:55 N 28,635 --
40 40 Sunday, May 27 boxscore NYM @ LAD L 1 2 20-20 2 5.5 Sutton Koosman 2:15 D 31,108 ---
41 41 Monday, May 28 boxscore NYM @ SFG L 5 6 20-21 2 5.5 Marichal Moore Sosa 2:26 D 18,101 ----
42 42 Tuesday, May 29 boxscore NYM @ SFG W 5 2 21-21 2 5.5 Seaver Moffitt 2:21 N 7,289 +
43 43 Wednesday, May 30 boxscore NYM @ SFG L 2 3 21-22 2 5.5 Bradley Matlack McDowell 2:12 D 5,296 -
44 44 Friday, Jun 1 boxscore NYM @ SDP L 0 4 21-23 3 6.0 Greif Koosman 2:04 N 6,394 --
45 45 Saturday, Jun 2 boxscore NYM @ SDP L 0 3 21-24 3 7.0 Kirby Stone 1:53 N 7,376 ---
46 46 Sunday, Jun 3 boxscore NYM @ SDP W 9 2 22-24 3 7.0 Seaver Caldwell 2:31 D 9,665 +
47 47 Monday, Jun 4 boxscore NYM @ CIN L 0 5 22-25 4 7.5 Billingham Matlack 2:25 N 13,145 -
48 48 Tuesday, Jun 5 boxscore NYM @ CIN L-wo 5 6 10 22-26 5 7.5 Gullett Hennigan 2:42 N 14,654 --
49 49 Friday, Jun 8 boxscore NYM LAD L 3 5 22-27 5 8.5 John Seaver Richert 2:17 N 42,500 ---
50 50 Saturday, Jun 9 boxscore NYM LAD W 4 2 23-27 4 7.5 Matlack Downing 2:25 D 47,800 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Sunday, Jun 10 boxscore NYM LAD L 0 4 23-28 5 8.5 Osteen Koosman 2:09 D 41,139 -
52 52 Monday, Jun 11 boxscore NYM SFG L 1 2 23-29 5 9.0 Bryant Stone Moffitt 2:45 N 29,160 --
53 53 Tuesday, Jun 12 boxscore NYM SFG W 5 4 24-29 4 9.0 Parker Marichal Hennigan 2:51 N 24,135 +
54 54 Wednesday, Jun 13 boxscore NYM SFG W 3 1 25-29 4 8.0 Seaver Bradley 2:27 N 25,776 ++
55 55 Friday, Jun 15 boxscore NYM SDP W 5 2 26-29 4 7.5 Matlack Arlin 2:15 N 27,524 +++
56 56 Saturday, Jun 16 boxscore NYM SDP W 10 2 27-29 4 7.5 Koosman Caldwell 2:27 N 24,452 ++++
57 57 Sunday, Jun 17 boxscore NYM SDP W 3 1 28-29 3 7.0 Stone Greif McGraw 2:33 D 32,641 +++++
58 58 Monday, Jun 18 boxscore NYM @ PHI L 6 9 28-30 4 7.0 Brett McAndrew 2:49 N 13,190 -
59 59 Tuesday, Jun 19 boxscore NYM @ PHI L 1 6 28-31 4 7.5 Lonborg Parker Scarce 2:09 N 17,481 --
60 60 Wednesday, Jun 20 boxscore NYM @ PHI L 3 4 28-32 4 8.5 Twitchell Matlack 2:25 N 24,302 ---
61 61 Thursday, Jun 21 boxscore NYM @ PIT L-wo 1 2 28-33 4 9.0 Walker Capra 2:28 N 10,099 ----
62 62 Friday, Jun 22 boxscore NYM @ PIT W 5 4 29-33 4 8.0 Stone Blass 2:28 N 21,129 +
63 63 Saturday, Jun 23 boxscore NYM @ PIT L-wo 2 3 10 29-34 4 8.0 Hernandez Hennigan 2:48 N 24,337 -
64 64 Sunday, Jun 24 boxscore NYM @ PIT W 5 2 30-34 4 8.0 Seaver Moose 2:35 D 20,984 +
65 65 Monday, Jun 25 boxscore NYM CHC L 2 3 30-35 5 9.0 LaRoche Matlack Bonham 2:29 N 31,984 -
66 66 Tuesday, Jun 26 boxscore NYM CHC L 1 5 30-36 5 10.0 Hooton Koosman 2:19 D 18,861 --
67 67 Wednesday, Jun 27 (1) boxscore NYM PHI W 7 6 31-36 5 10.0 Stone Lersch Capra 2:27 N 0 +
68 68 Wednesday, Jun 27 (2) boxscore NYM PHI L 1 7 31-37 5 10.0 Wallace Parker 2:06 N 31,095 -
69 69 Thursday, Jun 28 boxscore NYM PHI L 4 11 31-38 5 11.0 Lonborg McAndrew 2:42 D 9,965 --
70 70 Friday, Jun 29 boxscore NYM @ CHC L-wo 3 4 10 31-39 6 12.0 LaRoche Capra 3:08 D 22,293 ---
71 71 Saturday, Jun 30 boxscore NYM @ CHC W 2 1 32-39 6 11.0 Matlack Hooton 2:04 D 29,512 +
72 72 Sunday, Jul 1 (1) boxscore NYM @ CHC W 6 5 33-39 6 11.0 Koosman Jenkins McGraw 2:25 D 0 ++
73 73 Sunday, Jul 1 (2) boxscore NYM @ CHC L-wo 5 6 33-40 6 11.0 Aker McGraw 2:29 D 42,497 -
74 74 Monday, Jul 2 boxscore NYM @ MON L-wo 1 2 10 33-41 6 11.5 Renko Capra 2:17 D 14,618 --
75 75 Tuesday, Jul 3 boxscore NYM @ MON L 8 19 33-42 6 11.5 McAnally McAndrew Marshall 3:10 N 12,279 ---
76 76 Wednesday, Jul 4 boxscore NYM @ MON L 5 7 33-43 6 12.5 Gilbert Capra Marshall 2:41 N 15,801 ----
77 77 Thursday, Jul 5 boxscore NYM @ MON W 7 3 34-43 6 11.5 Matlack Scott McGraw 2:49 N 15,628 +
78 78 Friday, Jul 6 boxscore NYM ATL L 0 2 34-44 6 12.5 Schueler Koosman 1:55 N 37,266 -
79 79 Saturday, Jul 7 boxscore NYM ATL L 8 9 34-45 6 12.5 Hoerner McGraw Devine 3:18 D 30,468 --
80 80 Sunday, Jul 8 boxscore NYM ATL L 2 4 34-46 6 12.5 Niekro Stone 2:16 D 33,017 ---
81 81 Monday, Jul 9 boxscore NYM HOU W-wo 2 1 12 35-46 6 12.0 Parker York 3:09 N 19,099 +
82 82 Tuesday, Jul 10 boxscore NYM HOU W 1 0 36-46 6 12.0 Matlack Reuss 2:11 N 19,942 ++
83 83 Wednesday, Jul 11 boxscore NYM HOU L 1 7 36-47 6 12.0 Roberts Koosman 1:59 D 18,776 -
84 84 Friday, Jul 13 (1) boxscore NYM @ CIN L 1 2 36-48 6 11.5 Billingham Seaver 1:37 D 0 --
85 85 Friday, Jul 13 (2) boxscore NYM @ CIN W 7 5 37-48 6 11.5 Sadecki McGlothlin Parker 2:27 N 40,283 +
86 86 Saturday, Jul 14 boxscore NYM @ CIN W 5 2 38-48 6 10.5 Stone Gullett Capra 2:59 N 36,166 ++
87 87 Sunday, Jul 15 boxscore NYM @ CIN L 1 3 38-49 6 10.5 Grimsley Matlack 2:06 D 35,121 -
88 88 Monday, Jul 16 boxscore NYM @ ATL L 6 8 38-50 6 11.0 Panther Koosman Freeman 2:52 N 7,688 --
89 89 Tuesday, Jul 17 boxscore NYM @ ATL W 8 7 39-50 6 10.0 Capra Devine Parker 2:51 N 8,161 +
90 90 Wednesday, Jul 18 boxscore NYM @ ATL W 12 2 40-50 6 9.0 Seaver Harrison 3:08 N 10,548 ++
91 91 Friday, Jul 20 boxscore NYM @ HOU L 2 6 40-51 6 9.5 Roberts Matlack 2:15 N 20,731 -
92 92 Saturday, Jul 21 boxscore NYM @ HOU W 5 3 41-51 6 8.5 Koosman Forsch Parker 2:27 N 28,384 +
93 93 Sunday, Jul 22 boxscore NYM @ HOU W 3 2 42-51 6 7.5 Seaver Reuss 2:21 D 27,663 ++
94 94 Thursday, Jul 26 (1) boxscore NYM @ STL L 1 13 42-52 6 9.5 Gibson Matlack 2:20 N 0 -
95 95 Thursday, Jul 26 (2) boxscore NYM @ STL L 1 2 42-53 6 9.5 Foster Koosman Segui 2:04 N 35,557 --
96 96 Friday, Jul 27 boxscore NYM @ STL W 2 1 43-53 6 8.5 Seaver Wise 2:07 N 26,379 +
97 97 Saturday, Jul 28 boxscore NYM MON W 11 3 44-53 6 8.5 Stone Torrez 2:28 N 26,600 ++
98 98 Sunday, Jul 29 boxscore NYM MON L 4 6 44-54 6 9.0 Marshall Sadecki 3:00 D 28,205 -
99 99 Monday, Jul 30 (1) boxscore NYM MON L 0 1 44-55 6 9.5 Rogers Matlack 2:08 N 0 --
100 100 Monday, Jul 30 (2) boxscore NYM MON L 2 5 10 44-56 6 9.5 Marshall Capra 2:52 N 25,960 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Tuesday, Jul 31 boxscore NYM PIT L 1 4 44-57 6 10.5 Ellis Koosman Hernandez 2:13 N 24,322 ----
102 102 Wednesday, Aug 1 (1) boxscore NYM PIT W 3 0 45-57 6 10.5 Seaver Blass 1:44 N 0 +
103 103 Wednesday, Aug 1 (2) boxscore NYM PIT W 5 2 46-57 6 10.5 Stone Briles Parker 2:20 N 27,189 ++
104 104 Thursday, Aug 2 boxscore NYM PIT W 5 1 47-57 6 9.5 Sadecki Rooker McGraw 2:08 N 13,429 +++
105 105 Friday, Aug 3 boxscore NYM STL W 7 3 48-57 6 8.5 Matlack Folkers 2:28 N 25,764 ++++
106 106 Saturday, Aug 4 boxscore NYM STL L 3 4 48-58 6 9.5 Pena Koosman Segui 2:21 D 22,926 -
107 107 Sunday, Aug 5 (1) boxscore NYM STL L 2 3 48-59 6 11.5 Foster Seaver Pena 2:09 D 0 --
108 108 Sunday, Aug 5 (2) boxscore NYM STL L 1 4 48-60 6 11.5 Wise McAndrew 2:41 D 40,280 ---
109 109 Monday, Aug 6 boxscore NYM STL W 10 3 49-60 6 10.5 Parker Cleveland 2:24 N 21,845 +
110 110 Tuesday, Aug 7 boxscore NYM STL W 6 5 50-60 6 9.5 Capra Murphy McGraw 2:23 D 10,519 ++
111 111 Wednesday, Aug 8 boxscore NYM @ LAD W 1 0 51-60 5 8.5 Matlack Messersmith 2:10 N 24,219 +++
112 112 Thursday, Aug 9 boxscore NYM @ LAD L 0 1 51-61 5 8.5 Osteen Koosman 1:48 N 24,737 -
113 113 Friday, Aug 10 boxscore NYM @ SFG W 7 1 52-61 5 7.5 Seaver Marichal 2:14 N 8,692 +
114 114 Saturday, Aug 11 boxscore NYM @ SFG L-wo 7 8 13 52-62 6 7.5 Moffitt McGraw 4:05 D 15,762 -
115 115 Sunday, Aug 12 boxscore NYM @ SFG L 1 4 52-63 6 7.5 Bryant Sadecki 2:10 D 13,490 --
116 116 Monday, Aug 13 boxscore NYM @ SDP L-wo 2 3 52-64 6 7.5 Caldwell Matlack 2:17 N 2,440 ---
117 117 Tuesday, Aug 14 boxscore NYM @ SDP L 0 9 52-65 6 8.5 Jones Koosman 1:53 N 3,969 ----
118 118 Wednesday, Aug 15 boxscore NYM @ SDP W 7 0 53-65 6 7.5 Seaver Arlin 2:07 N 6,531 +
119 119 Friday, Aug 17 boxscore NYM CIN L 1 2 10 53-66 6 7.5 Borbon Parker 2:23 N 36,803 -
120 120 Saturday, Aug 18 boxscore NYM CIN W 12 1 54-66 6 6.5 Matlack Norman 2:51 D 26,365 +
121 121 Sunday, Aug 19 boxscore NYM CIN W 2 1 55-66 6 6.5 Koosman Grimsley 1:53 D 33,598 ++
122 122 Monday, Aug 20 boxscore NYM CIN L 3 8 16 55-67 6 7.0 Carroll McGraw 3:48 D 29,384 -
123 123 Tuesday, Aug 21 boxscore NYM LAD W-wo 2 1 56-67 6 6.0 Sadecki Sutton 1:58 N 26,351 +
124 124 Wednesday, Aug 22 boxscore NYM LAD W-wo 4 3 57-67 6 6.0 McGraw Brewer 2:27 N 25,442 ++
125 125 Thursday, Aug 23 boxscore NYM LAD L 4 5 57-68 6 6.5 Osteen Capra 2:34 N 26,056 -
126 126 Friday, Aug 24 boxscore NYM SFG W-wo 1 0 10 58-68 6 6.5 Koosman Marichal 2:31 N 35,361 +
127 127 Saturday, Aug 25 boxscore NYM SFG L 0 1 58-69 6 6.5 Bradley Seaver 2:09 D 38,221 -
128 128 Sunday, Aug 26 boxscore NYM SFG L 4 5 58-70 6 6.5 Bryant Sadecki Sosa 2:40 D 35,210 --
129 129 Monday, Aug 27 boxscore NYM SDP W 6 5 59-70 6 6.5 Stone Arlin McGraw 2:19 N 14,790 +
130 130 Tuesday, Aug 28 boxscore NYM SDP W 8 6 60-70 6 6.5 Matlack Kirby McGraw 2:58 N 16,801 ++
131 131 Wednesday, Aug 29 boxscore NYM SDP W 3 0 61-70 5 5.5 Koosman Troedson Capra 2:28 N 18,436 +++
132 132 Thursday, Aug 30 boxscore NYM @ STL L-wo 0 1 10 61-71 6 6.5 Hrabosky Seaver 2:51 N 19,373 -
133 133 Friday, Aug 31 boxscore NYM @ STL W 6 4 10 62-71 5 5.5 McGraw Segui 2:41 N 28,594 +
134 134 Saturday, Sep 1 boxscore NYM @ STL W 4 1 63-71 5 4.5 Stone Foster Parker 2:35 N 29,197 ++
135 135 Sunday, Sep 2 boxscore NYM @ STL L 4 7 63-72 5 5.5 Fisher Capra Segui 2:57 D 20,339 -
136 136 Monday, Sep 3 (1) boxscore NYM PHI W 5 0 64-72 5 5.5 Koosman Carlton 2:14 D 0 +
137 137 Monday, Sep 3 (2) boxscore NYM PHI L 3 6 64-73 5 5.5 Ruthven Swan Scarce 2:38 N 30,748 -
138 138 Tuesday, Sep 4 boxscore NYM PHI W 7 1 65-73 5 5.5 Seaver Lonborg 2:10 N 13,674 +
139 139 Wednesday, Sep 5 boxscore NYM PHI W 4 0 66-73 4 5.5 Sadecki Twitchell McGraw 2:39 N 12,563 ++
140 140 Friday, Sep 7 (1) boxscore NYM @ MON W 1 0 67-73 4 4.0 Matlack Renko McGraw 2:43 D 0 +++
141 141 Friday, Sep 7 (2) boxscore NYM @ MON W 4 2 15 68-73 4 4.0 McGraw Marshall Sadecki 4:38 N 24,167 ++++
142 142 Saturday, Sep 8 boxscore NYM @ MON L 1 3 68-74 4 4.0 Rogers Seaver 1:59 N 17,632 -
143 143 Sunday, Sep 9 boxscore NYM @ MON W 3 0 69-74 4 3.0 Stone Moore McGraw 2:37 D 20,743 +
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 11 boxscore NYM @ PHI L 4 6 69-75 5 3.0 Lonborg Koosman 1:55 N 8,159 -
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 12 boxscore NYM @ PHI W 3 2 70-75 4 2.5 Matlack Twitchell McGraw 2:22 N 8,418 +
146 146 Thursday, Sep 13 boxscore NYM @ PHI W 4 2 12 71-75 4 2.5 Seaver Culver McGraw 2:46 N 8,194 ++
147 147 Saturday, Sep 15 (1) boxscore NYM CHC W 5 1 72-75 4 3.5 Stone Jenkins McGraw 2:17 D 0 +++
148 148 Saturday, Sep 15 (2) boxscore NYM CHC L 0 7 72-76 4 3.5 Reuschel Sadecki 2:19 N 25,553 -
149 149 Sunday, Sep 16 boxscore NYM CHC W 4 3 73-76 4 2.5 McGraw Hooton 2:30 D 25,681 +
150 150 Monday, Sep 17 boxscore NYM @ PIT L 3 10 73-77 4 3.5 Kison Seaver Zachary 2:24 N 15,000 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 18 boxscore NYM @ PIT W 6 5 74-77 4 2.5 McGraw Hernandez Capra 3:13 N 12,336 +
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 19 boxscore NYM PIT W 7 3 75-77 3 1.5 Stone Briles McGraw 2:22 N 29,240 ++
153 153 Thursday, Sep 20 boxscore NYM PIT W-wo 4 3 13 76-77 2 0.5 Sadecki Walker 3:53 N 24,855 +++
154 154 Friday, Sep 21 boxscore NYM PIT W 10 2 77-77 1 up 0.5 Seaver Blass 2:20 N 51,381 ++++
155 155 Saturday, Sep 22 boxscore NYM STL W 2 0 78-77 1 up 1.0 Matlack Cleveland 1:55 D 24,251 +++++
156 156 Sunday, Sep 23 boxscore NYM STL W 5 2 79-77 1 up 0.5 Parker Pena McGraw 2:37 D 51,926 ++++++
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 25 boxscore NYM MON W 2 1 80-77 1 up 1.5 Koosman Rogers McGraw 2:08 N 43,805 +++++++
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 26 boxscore NYM MON L 5 8 80-78 1 up 0.5 Marshall Parker 2:57 N 30,953 -
159 159 Sunday, Sep 30 (1) boxscore NYM @ CHC L 0 1 80-79 1 up 1.0 Locker Matlack 2:26 D 0 --
160 160 Sunday, Sep 30 (2) boxscore NYM @ CHC W 9 2 81-79 1 up 1.0 Koosman Jenkins 2:20 D 21,432 +
161 161 Monday, Oct 1 boxscore NYM @ CHC W 6 4 82-79 1 up 1.5 Seaver Hooton McGraw 2:28 D 1,913 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
NLCS Game 1 Saturday, Oct 6 boxscore NYM @ CIN L 1 2 0-1 Borbon Seaver 2:00 D 53,431
NLCS Game 2 Sunday, Oct 7 boxscore NYM @ CIN W 5 0 1-1 Matlack Gullett 2:19 D 54,041
NLCS Game 3 Monday, Oct 8 boxscore NYM CIN W 9 2 2-1 Koosman Grimsley 2:48 D 53,967
NLCS Game 4 Tuesday, Oct 9 boxscore NYM CIN L 1 2 12 2-2 Carroll Parker Borbon 3:07 N 50,786
NLCS Game 5 Wednesday, Oct 10 boxscore NYM CIN W 7 2 3-2 Seaver Billingham McGraw 2:40 N 50,323
WS Game 1 Saturday, Oct 13 boxscore NYM @ OAK L 1 2 3-3 Holtzman Matlack Knowles 2:26 D 46,021
WS Game 2 Sunday, Oct 14 boxscore NYM @ OAK W 10 7 12 4-3 McGraw Fingers Stone 4:13 D 49,151
WS Game 3 Tuesday, Oct 16 boxscore NYM OAK L 2 3 11 4-4 Lindblad Parker Fingers 3:15 N 54,817
WS Game 4 Wednesday, Oct 17 boxscore NYM OAK W 6 1 5-4 Matlack Holtzman Sadecki 2:41 N 54,817
WS Game 5 Thursday, Oct 18 boxscore NYM OAK W 2 0 6-4 Koosman Blue McGraw 2:39 N 54,817
WS Game 6 Saturday, Oct 20 boxscore NYM @ OAK L 1 3 6-5 Hunter Seaver Fingers 2:07 D 49,333
WS Game 7 Sunday, Oct 21 boxscore NYM @ OAK L 2 5 6-6 Holtzman Matlack Knowles 2:37 D 49,333
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1972 / 1974 Schedule and Results