Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1890 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1890 New York Giants

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia:

74-57, Finished 3rd in Players League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Buck Ewing (74-57)
Scored 1018 runs, Allowed 875 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 75-56

Ballparks: Polo Grounds IV ·
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 109, Pitching - 107 · one-year: Batting - 108, Pitching - 107


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 74-57, Final Rank:3, GB: 8.0
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind9last on Wednesday, Sep 24, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50022last on Saturday, Sep 6
Most Games under .5006last on Monday, May 12
Longest Winning Streak8Tuesday, May 13 to Saturday, May 24 and Wednesday, Jul 16 to Friday, Jul 25
Longest Losing Streak5Saturday, Apr 26 to Friday, May 2, Friday, Jun 13 to Wednesday, Jun 18 and Monday, Sep 8 to Thursday, Sep 18
Most Runs Allowed19Friday, Jun 13
Most Runs Scored23Friday, May 23 and Saturday, May 31
Times Shutout by Opponent4 
Times Opponent Shutout3 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 74 57 1017 875 .565
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 47 19 628 398 .712
Road 27 38 389 477 .415
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 2 6 72 79 .250
May 15 8 213 141 .652
June 11 13 187 200 .458
July 18 9 207 148 .667
August 15 9 172 136 .625
September 13 9 161 148 .591
October 0 3 5 23 .000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 35 33 570 497 .515
Second Half 39 24 447 378 .619
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 13 13 184 184 .500
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 34 19 487 347 .642
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BOS 8 12 136 159 .400
BUF 17 3 214 142 .850
BWW 10 7 127 110 .588
CHI 9 9 104 104 .500
CLE 11 8 141 109 .579
PBB 14 6 181 111 .700
PHQ 5 12 114 140 .294

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Saturday, Apr 19 NYI PHQ L 11 12 0-1 5 1.0 -
2 2 Monday, Apr 21 NYI PHQ L 11 13 0-2 7 2.0 2,000 --
3 3 Tuesday, Apr 22 NYI PHQ W 13 8 1-2 5 2.0 +
4 4 Wednesday, Apr 23 NYI PHQ W 8 1 2-2 2 1.5 ++
5 5 Saturday, Apr 26 NYI @ BOS L 10 14 2-3 5 2.0 -
6 6 Monday, Apr 28 NYI @ BOS L 1 6 2-4 7 2.5 --
7 7 Tuesday, Apr 29 NYI @ BOS L 13 15 2-5 7 3.5 ---
8 8 Wednesday, Apr 30 NYI @ BWW L 5 10 2-6 8 4.5 ----
9 9 Friday, May 2 NYI @ BWW L 3 6 2-7 8 5.5 -----
10 10 Saturday, May 3 NYI @ BWW W 13 4 3-7 7 4.5 1:55 +
11 11 Monday, May 5 NYI @ PHQ L 4 8 3-8 8 4.5 -
12 12 Wednesday, May 7 NYI @ PHQ W 6 5 4-8 8 4.5 +
13 13 Thursday, May 8 NYI @ PHQ L 5 14 4-9 8 5.5 -
14 14 Friday, May 9 NYI BOS L 2 4 4-10 8 6.5 --
15 15 Saturday, May 10 NYI BOS W 7 2 5-10 8 5.5 +
16 16 Monday, May 12 NYI BOS L 2 12 5-11 8 6.5 -
17 17 Tuesday, May 13 NYI BOS W 9 5 6-11 8 5.5 +
18 18 Wednesday, May 14 NYI @ BOS W 11 4 7-11 8 5.5 ++
19 19 Saturday, May 17 NYI BUF W 13 6 8-11 7 3.5 +++
20 20 Monday, May 19 NYI BUF W 12 11 9-11 5 3.0 2:05 ++++
21 21 Wednesday, May 21 NYI CHI W 5 2 10-11 5 3.0 +++++
22 22 Thursday, May 22 NYI CHI W 10 8 11-11 5 3.0 2:00 ++++++
23 23 Friday, May 23 NYI CHI W 23 9 12-11 3 3.0 +++++++
24 24 Saturday, May 24 NYI CLE W 6 0 13-11 3 2.0 1:55 3,474 ++++++++
25 25 Monday, May 26 NYI CLE L 2 6 13-12 5 2.5 2:20 -
26 26 Tuesday, May 27 NYI CLE W 14 2 14-12 3 2.5 1:50 +
27 27 Wednesday, May 28 NYI CLE W 16 5 15-12 3 2.5 2:00 ++
28 28 Thursday, May 29 NYI PBB L 8 9 15-13 3 2.5 -
29 29 Friday, May 30 (1) NYI PBB W 11 7 16-13 3 3.5 1:55 941 +
30 30 Friday, May 30 (2) NYI PBB L 8 9 16-14 3 3.5 7,246 -
31 31 Saturday, May 31 NYI PBB W 23 3 17-14 3 3.5 +
32 32 Monday, Jun 2 NYI BOS W 10 7 18-14 3 2.5 2:20 ++
33 33 Tuesday, Jun 3 NYI BOS L 5 14 18-15 3 3.5 -
34 34 Wednesday, Jun 4 NYI BOS W 9 4 19-15 3 2.5 1:55 +
35 35 Thursday, Jun 5 NYI BWW W 11 5 20-15 3 2.5 2:10 2,628 ++
36 36 Friday, Jun 6 NYI BWW W 12 2 21-15 3 2.0 1,623 +++
37 37 Saturday, Jun 7 NYI BWW W 8 4 22-15 2 1.5 6,796 ++++
38 38 Monday, Jun 9 NYI @ PHQ L 2 14 22-16 2 2.5 2:00 -
39 39 Tuesday, Jun 10 NYI @ PHQ L 2 3 22-17 3 2.5 1:30 --
40 40 Wednesday, Jun 11 NYI @ PHQ L 5 11 22-18 3 3.5 1:45 ---
41 41 Thursday, Jun 12 NYI @ BWW W 7 5 23-18 2 3.0 600 +
42 42 Friday, Jun 13 NYI @ BWW L 7 19 23-19 3 3.5 -
43 43 Saturday, Jun 14 NYI @ BWW L 6 7 23-20 3 4.0 --
44 44 Monday, Jun 16 NYI @ BWW L 6 7 23-21 3 4.5 600 ---
45 45 Tuesday, Jun 17 NYI PHQ L 6 7 23-22 4 6.0 ----
46 46 Wednesday, Jun 18 NYI PHQ L 8 12 23-23 4 7.0 -----
47 47 Thursday, Jun 19 NYI PHQ W 12 2 24-23 4 6.5 +
48 48 Friday, Jun 20 NYI @ BUF L 8 14 24-24 5 7.5 -
49 49 Monday, Jun 23 NYI @ BUF L 7 9 24-25 6 8.0 --
50 50 Tuesday, Jun 24 NYI @ BUF W 10 8 25-25 6 8.0 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 25 NYI @ PBB W 14 11 26-25 4 7.0 2,200 ++
52 52 Thursday, Jun 26 NYI @ PBB W 10 9 27-25 4 6.0 +++
53 53 Friday, Jun 27 NYI @ PBB L 8 10 27-26 4 6.0 2:00 -
54 54 Saturday, Jun 28 NYI @ PBB W 4 2 28-26 4 6.0 1:45 +
55 55 Monday, Jun 30 NYI @ CLE L 10 14 28-27 5 6.0 -
56 56 Wednesday, Jul 2 NYI @ CLE W 7 6 29-27 4 5.5 250 +
57 57 Thursday, Jul 3 NYI @ CLE W 5 0 30-27 3 5.0 600 ++
58 58 Friday, Jul 4 (1) NYI @ CHI L 1 3 30-28 5 5.5 1:45 -
59 59 Friday, Jul 4 (2) NYI @ CHI L 2 4 30-29 5 5.5 2:30 21,000 --
60 60 Saturday, Jul 5 NYI @ CHI L 1 13 30-30 6 6.5 ---
61 61 Monday, Jul 7 NYI BUF W 18 6 31-30 5 5.5 +
62 62 Tuesday, Jul 8 NYI BUF W 20 10 32-30 3 5.0 2:10 ++
63 63 Wednesday, Jul 9 NYI BUF W 18 4 33-30 3 4.5 1:48 +++
64 64 Thursday, Jul 10 NYI CHI W 9 5 34-30 3 4.0 2:50 ++++
65 65 Friday, Jul 11 NYI CHI L 2 7 34-31 4 4.5 1:50 -
66 66 Saturday, Jul 12 NYI CHI W 5 3 35-31 4 4.0 +
67 67 Monday, Jul 14 NYI CLE L 5 10 35-32 4 5.0 -
68 68 Tuesday, Jul 15 NYI CLE L 5 6 35-33 5 5.0 2:00 --
69 69 Wednesday, Jul 16 NYI CLE W 8 5 36-33 4 5.0 +
70 70 Thursday, Jul 17 NYI PBB W 8 2 37-33 4 5.0 ++
71 71 Friday, Jul 18 NYI PBB W 10 2 38-33 4 5.0 +++
72 72 Saturday, Jul 19 NYI PBB W 18 7 39-33 4 4.0 1:50 ++++
73 73 Monday, Jul 21 NYI @ BUF W 7 5 40-33 4 3.0 +++++
74 74 Tuesday, Jul 22 NYI @ BUF W 7 6 41-33 3 3.0 ++++++
75 75 Wednesday, Jul 23 NYI @ BUF W 7 6 42-33 3 3.0 1:50 +++++++
76 76 Friday, Jul 25 NYI @ CLE W 11 8 43-33 3 3.0 ++++++++
77 77 Saturday, Jul 26 (1) NYI @ CLE L 1 6 43-34 3 4.5 -
78 78 Saturday, Jul 26 (2) NYI @ CLE L 7 8 43-35 3 4.5 1,400 --
79 79 Monday, Jul 28 NYI @ PBB L 0 4 43-36 3 5.5 ---
80 80 Wednesday, Jul 30 (1) NYI @ PBB W 10 2 44-36 3 4.5 +
81 81 Wednesday, Jul 30 (2) NYI @ PBB W 12 9 45-36 3 4.5 ++
82 82 Thursday, Jul 31 NYI @ CHI W 3 1 46-36 3 3.5 +++
83 83 Friday, Aug 1 NYI @ CHI L 5 8 46-37 3 4.5 -
84 84 Saturday, Aug 2 NYI @ CHI W 8 6 47-37 3 3.5 2:25 +
85 85 Monday, Aug 4 NYI @ CHI L 2 3 47-38 3 4.0 2:40 -
86 86 Wednesday, Aug 6 NYI @ BOS L 0 7 47-39 3 5.0 --
87 87 Thursday, Aug 7 NYI @ BOS L 2 4 47-40 4 6.0 ---
88 88 Friday, Aug 8 NYI @ BOS W 11 10 48-40 3 5.0 2:25 +
89 89 Saturday, Aug 9 NYI PHQ L 3 7 48-41 4 5.0 -
90 90 Monday, Aug 11 NYI PHQ L 11 15 48-42 5 6.0 --
91 91 Tuesday, Aug 12 NYI PHQ W 2 1 49-42 4 5.0 +
92 92 Wednesday, Aug 13 NYI BWW W 6 3 50-42 4 5.0 ++
93 93 Thursday, Aug 14 NYI BWW W 5 4 51-42 4 4.0 +++
94 94 Friday, Aug 15 NYI BWW W 5 4 52-42 4 4.0 ++++
95 95 Saturday, Aug 16 NYI BOS L 15 16 52-43 4 5.0 -
96 96 Tuesday, Aug 19 NYI BOS W 8 3 53-43 4 4.0 +
97 97 Wednesday, Aug 20 NYI BOS W 9 3 54-43 4 3.0 ++
98 98 Thursday, Aug 21 NYI CLE W 13 1 55-43 3 3.0 +++
99 99 Friday, Aug 22 NYI CLE W 11 5 56-43 3 3.0 ++++
100 100 Saturday, Aug 23 NYI CLE W 6 5 57-43 3 3.0 2:15 1,976 +++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Monday, Aug 25 NYI PBB L 3 9 57-44 3 4.0 -
102 102 Tuesday, Aug 26 NYI PBB W 11 1 58-44 3 4.0 +
103 103 Wednesday, Aug 27 NYI PBB W 10 5 59-44 3 3.5 ++
104 104 Thursday, Aug 28 NYI CHI W 9 4 60-44 3 2.5 +++
105 105 Friday, Aug 29 NYI CHI W 11 5 61-44 3 2.5 ++++
106 106 Saturday, Aug 30 NYI CHI L 6 7 61-45 3 4.0 -
107 107 Monday, Sep 1 (1) NYI BUF W 7 5 62-45 3 4.0 +
108 108 Monday, Sep 1 (2) NYI BUF W 19 7 63-45 3 4.0 ++
109 109 Tuesday, Sep 2 (1) NYI BUF W 5 3 64-45 3 3.5 +++
110 110 Tuesday, Sep 2 (2) NYI BUF W 14 12 65-45 3 3.5 ++++
111 111 Wednesday, Sep 3 NYI BUF W 11 7 66-45 3 3.5 +++++
112 112 Thursday, Sep 4 NYI @ BWW W 7 4 67-45 2 3.5 ++++++
113 113 Friday, Sep 5 NYI @ BWW L 4 12 67-46 3 3.5 -
114 114 Saturday, Sep 6 NYI @ BWW W 15 6 68-46 2 3.0 +
115 115 Monday, Sep 8 NYI @ BOS L 6 18 68-47 3 4.0 -
116 116 Tuesday, Sep 9 NYI @ BOS L 4 6 68-48 3 5.0 --
117 117 Wednesday, Sep 10 NYI @ BOS L 2 5 68-49 3 6.0 ---
118 118 Saturday, Sep 13 NYI @ PHQ L 5 7 68-50 3 6.0 ----
119 119 Thursday, Sep 18 NYI BWW L 7 8 68-51 3 7.0 -----
120 120 Friday, Sep 19 NYI @ PBB W 3 0 69-51 3 7.0 +
121 121 Saturday, Sep 20 NYI @ PBB L 4 7 69-52 3 8.0 -
122 122 Monday, Sep 22 NYI @ PBB W 6 3 70-52 3 8.0 +
123 123 Wednesday, Sep 24 NYI @ BUF L 4 6 70-53 3 9.0 -
124 124 Thursday, Sep 25 NYI @ BUF W 10 6 71-53 3 8.0 +
125 125 Saturday, Sep 27 (1) NYI @ BUF W 9 8 72-53 3 6.5 ++
126 126 Saturday, Sep 27 (2) NYI @ BUF W 8 3 73-53 3 6.5 +++
127 127 Monday, Sep 29 NYI @ CLE L 3 8 73-54 3 6.5 -
128 128 Tuesday, Sep 30 NYI @ CLE W 8 7 74-54 2 6.5 +
129 129 Wednesday, Oct 1 NYI @ CLE L 3 7 74-55 3 7.5 -
130 130 Thursday, Oct 2 NYI @ CHI L 0 4 74-56 3 8.0 --
131 131 Friday, Oct 3 NYI @ CHI L 0 10 74-57 3 8.0 ---
132 132 Saturday, Oct 4 NYI @ CHI T 2 2 74-57 3 8.0 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits