Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1895 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1895 New York Giants

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1894 / 1896

66-65, Finished 9th in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: George Davis (16-17), Jack Doyle (32-31) and Harvey Watkins (18-17)
Scored 852 runs, Allowed 834 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 67-64

Ballparks: Polo Grounds IV · Attendance: 240,000 (6th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 98, Pitching - 97 · one-year: Batting - 95, Pitching - 94


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1894 / 1896 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 66-65, Final Rank:9, GB: 21.5
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind21.5last on Monday, Sep 30, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5009last on Thursday, Sep 12
Most Games under .5004last on Wednesday, Jul 3
Longest Winning Streak6Monday, Jul 15 to Saturday, Jul 20 and Wednesday, Aug 28 to Tuesday, Sep 3
Longest Losing Streak8Saturday, Jun 22 to Wednesday, Jul 3
Most Runs Allowed23Saturday, Jun 1 and Thursday, Aug 15
Most Runs Scored18Friday, May 17
Times Shutout by Opponent2 
Times Opponent Shutout6 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 66 65 855 832 .504
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 40 27 424 374 .597
Road 26 38 431 458 .406
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 3 3 41 32 .500
May 12 12 191 147 .500
June 11 12 114 133 .478
July 15 9 160 132 .625
August 14 14 206 197 .500
September 11 15 143 191 .423
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 31 32 400 357 .492
Second Half 35 33 455 475 .515
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 15 15 159 159 .500
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 29 21 403 354 .580
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BLN 3 9 54 74 .250
BRO 3 9 69 101 .250
BSN 4 8 74 78 .333
CHC 8 4 75 48 .667
CIN 8 4 81 61 .667
CLV 5 7 65 80 .417
LOU 9 3 91 62 .750
PHI 3 8 90 121 .273
PIT 4 8 69 87 .333
STL 11 1 86 65 .917
WHS 8 4 101 55 .667

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 18 NYG BRO L 4 7 0-1 8 1.0 2:10 20,000 -
2 2 Saturday, Apr 20 NYG BRO W 10 5 1-1 5 1.0 +
3 3 Tuesday, Apr 23 NYG BRO L 7 10 1-2 9 1.5 2:15 -
4 4 Wednesday, Apr 24 NYG BSN L 3 5 1-3 10 2.5 2:05 --
5 5 Thursday, Apr 25 NYG BSN W 3 2 2-3 8 2.5 +
6 6 Friday, Apr 26 NYG BSN W 14 3 3-3 3 2.5 ++
7 7 Wednesday, May 1 NYG PHI W 9 4 4-3 3 2.5 +++
8 8 Thursday, May 2 NYG @ PHI W 9 4 5-3 3 1.5 20,000 ++++
9 9 Friday, May 3 NYG @ PHI L 5 8 5-4 5 2.0 2:00 -
10 10 Saturday, May 4 NYG @ PHI L 9 10 5-5 6 3.0 --
11 11 Monday, May 6 NYG @ CIN L 3 4 5-6 8 4.0 ---
12 12 Tuesday, May 7 NYG @ CIN L 6 7 5-7 8 4.0 ----
13 13 Wednesday, May 8 NYG @ CIN W 10 3 6-7 8 4.0 +
14 14 Thursday, May 9 NYG @ LOU W 7 5 7-7 7 3.0 ++
15 15 Friday, May 10 NYG @ LOU L 4 8 7-8 8 4.0 -
16 16 Tuesday, May 14 NYG @ CHC W 14 1 8-8 7 3.0 +
17 17 Wednesday, May 15 NYG @ CHC W 9 1 9-8 6 3.0 ++
18 18 Thursday, May 16 NYG @ PIT L 3 10 9-9 7 4.0 -
19 19 Friday, May 17 NYG @ PIT W 18 8 10-9 6 3.0 +
20 20 Saturday, May 18 NYG @ PIT L 4 7 10-10 7 4.0 2:30 -
21 21 Tuesday, May 21 NYG @ STL W 14 1 11-10 6 4.5 1:45 +
22 22 Wednesday, May 22 NYG @ STL W 4 3 12-10 6 4.0 ++
23 23 Thursday, May 23 NYG @ CLV L 5 10 12-11 6 4.5 -
24 24 Friday, May 24 NYG @ CLV L 11 14 12-12 7 5.5 --
25 25 Saturday, May 25 NYG @ CLV W 11 8 13-12 5 5.5 +
26 26 Tuesday, May 28 NYG CLV L 6 7 13-13 8 6.5 2:10 -
27 27 Wednesday, May 29 NYG PHI L 10 11 13-14 8 7.5 --
28 28 Thursday, May 30 (1) NYG CHC W 7 6 14-14 8 6.5 +
29 29 Thursday, May 30 (2) NYG CHC L 2 3 14-15 8 6.5 -
30 30 Friday, May 31 NYG CHC W 11 4 15-15 8 5.5 +
31 31 Saturday, Jun 1 NYG STL L 2 23 15-16 8 6.0 -
32 32 Monday, Jun 3 NYG PIT L 0 3 15-17 8 7.0 --
33 33 Tuesday, Jun 4 NYG STL W 9 4 16-17 8 7.0 +
34 34 Wednesday, Jun 5 NYG LOU W 7 3 17-17 8 7.0 ++
35 35 Thursday, Jun 6 NYG CIN W 2 0 18-17 8 6.0 +++
36 36 Friday, Jun 7 NYG LOU W 9 3 19-17 7 5.0 ++++
37 37 Saturday, Jun 8 NYG PIT L 4 7 19-18 7 6.0 -
38 38 Monday, Jun 10 NYG CHC W 5 4 20-18 6 5.0 +
39 39 Tuesday, Jun 11 NYG PIT W 6 2 21-18 6 4.0 ++
40 40 Wednesday, Jun 12 NYG CLV L 3 8 21-19 6 5.0 -
41 41 Thursday, Jun 13 NYG STL W 5 4 22-19 6 4.5 +
42 42 Friday, Jun 14 NYG CLV L 0 1 22-20 6 4.5 -
43 43 Saturday, Jun 15 NYG CIN L 2 16 22-21 8 5.0 --
44 44 Monday, Jun 17 NYG LOU W 7 6 23-21 6 4.5 +
45 45 Tuesday, Jun 18 NYG CIN W 10 3 24-21 6 4.5 ++
46 46 Wednesday, Jun 19 NYG WHS L 2 4 24-22 7 5.5 -
47 47 Thursday, Jun 20 NYG WHS W 15 6 25-22 6 4.5 +
48 48 Friday, Jun 21 NYG WHS W 8 3 26-22 6 4.0 ++
49 49 Saturday, Jun 22 NYG @ BSN L 3 5 26-23 6 5.0 -
50 50 Monday, Jun 24 NYG @ BSN L 5 9 26-24 7 5.5 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Tuesday, Jun 25 NYG @ BSN L 2 5 26-25 8 6.5 ---
52 52 Wednesday, Jun 26 NYG @ BLN L 2 5 26-26 9 7.5 ----
53 53 Friday, Jun 28 NYG @ BLN L 4 7 26-27 9 8.0 -----
54 54 Saturday, Jun 29 NYG @ BRO T 2 2 26-27 9 7.5 -----
55 55 Monday, Jul 1 NYG @ BRO L 1 7 26-28 9 7.5 ------
56 56 Tuesday, Jul 2 NYG @ BRO L 11 12 26-29 9 8.0 -------
57 57 Wednesday, Jul 3 NYG BLN L 4 5 26-30 9 9.0 --------
58 58 Thursday, Jul 4 NYG BLN W 6 4 27-30 9 8.5 +
59 59 Saturday, Jul 6 NYG @ CHC W 8 0 28-30 9 7.5 ++
60 60 Monday, Jul 8 NYG @ CHC L 4 5 28-31 9 8.0 -
61 61 Tuesday, Jul 9 NYG @ CHC W 1 0 29-31 9 7.0 +
62 62 Wednesday, Jul 10 NYG @ CLV W 2 0 30-31 9 7.0 ++
63 63 Thursday, Jul 11 NYG @ CLV W 15 9 31-31 9 7.0 +++
64 64 Saturday, Jul 13 NYG @ CLV L 2 3 31-32 9 7.5 -
65 65 Monday, Jul 15 NYG @ STL W 13 7 32-32 9 7.5 +
66 66 Tuesday, Jul 16 NYG @ STL W 9 4 33-32 9 6.0 ++
67 67 Wednesday, Jul 17 NYG @ STL W 3 2 34-32 9 5.5 +++
68 68 Thursday, Jul 18 NYG @ LOU W 10 6 35-32 9 5.5 ++++
69 69 Friday, Jul 19 NYG @ LOU W 10 8 36-32 8 5.5 +++++
70 70 Saturday, Jul 20 (1) NYG @ LOU W 7 5 37-32 8 6.0 ++++++
71 71 Saturday, Jul 20 (2) NYG @ LOU L 1 5 37-33 8 6.0 -
72 72 Monday, Jul 22 NYG @ CIN L 9 12 37-34 9 6.5 --
73 73 Tuesday, Jul 23 NYG @ CIN W 7 3 38-34 8 7.0 +
74 74 Wednesday, Jul 24 NYG @ CIN W 9 7 39-34 8 7.0 ++
75 75 Thursday, Jul 25 NYG @ PIT L 2 10 39-35 8 8.0 -
76 76 Friday, Jul 26 NYG @ PIT L 4 9 39-36 8 9.0 --
77 77 Tuesday, Jul 30 NYG @ WHS W 17 5 40-36 8 7.5 +
78 78 Wednesday, Jul 31 NYG @ WHS W 5 4 41-36 8 7.0 ++
79 79 Thursday, Aug 1 NYG @ WHS L 6 9 41-37 8 7.0 -
80 80 Friday, Aug 2 NYG BRO L 6 11 41-38 9 8.0 --
81 81 Saturday, Aug 3 NYG @ BRO L 3 13 41-39 9 8.0 ---
82 82 Monday, Aug 5 NYG BRO W 13 6 42-39 9 8.0 +
83 83 Tuesday, Aug 6 NYG WHS W 9 0 43-39 9 7.5 ++
84 84 Wednesday, Aug 7 NYG WHS W 9 3 44-39 8 8.0 +++
85 85 Thursday, Aug 8 NYG WHS W 11 0 45-39 7 7.0 ++++
86 86 Friday, Aug 9 (1) NYG @ BLN W 15 8 46-39 7 7.5 +++++
87 87 Friday, Aug 9 (2) NYG @ BLN L 2 8 46-40 7 7.5 -
88 88 Saturday, Aug 10 NYG @ BLN L 5 8 46-41 8 8.0 --
89 89 Monday, Aug 12 NYG @ BLN L 2 3 46-42 8 9.0 ---
90 90 Tuesday, Aug 13 NYG @ PHI L 8 14 46-43 8 10.0 ----
91 91 Wednesday, Aug 14 NYG @ PHI L 9 13 46-44 8 11.0 -----
92 92 Thursday, Aug 15 NYG @ PHI L 9 23 46-45 9 11.0 ------
93 93 Friday, Aug 16 (1) NYG @ BRO W 6 4 47-45 9 11.5 +
94 94 Friday, Aug 16 (2) NYG @ BRO L 1 10 47-46 9 11.5 -
95 95 Saturday, Aug 17 NYG BRO L 2 7 47-47 9 12.5 --
96 96 Monday, Aug 19 NYG @ BRO L 3 7 47-48 9 13.5 ---
97 97 Tuesday, Aug 20 NYG STL W 3 2 48-48 9 13.5 +
98 98 Wednesday, Aug 21 NYG PIT L 12 15 48-49 9 14.0 -
99 99 Thursday, Aug 22 NYG STL W 8 6 49-49 9 14.0 +
100 100 Friday, Aug 23 NYG STL W 7 4 50-49 9 13.5 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Aug 24 NYG LOU W 8 4 51-49 9 13.5 +++
102 102 Monday, Aug 26 NYG STL W 9 5 52-49 9 12.5 ++++
103 103 Tuesday, Aug 27 NYG LOU L 7 8 52-50 9 13.5 -
104 104 Wednesday, Aug 28 NYG CIN W 8 1 53-50 9 13.5 +
105 105 Thursday, Aug 29 NYG LOU W 14 1 54-50 9 12.5 ++
106 106 Friday, Aug 30 NYG CIN W 11 4 55-50 8 13.0 +++
107 107 Monday, Sep 2 (1) NYG CLV W 4 3 56-50 7 12.0 ++++
108 108 Monday, Sep 2 (2) NYG CLV W 5 3 57-50 7 12.0 +++++
109 109 Tuesday, Sep 3 NYG CHC W 6 3 58-50 6 12.0 ++++++
110 110 Wednesday, Sep 4 (1) NYG PIT L 3 6 58-51 6 12.5 -
111 111 Wednesday, Sep 4 (2) NYG PIT W 6 4 59-51 6 12.5 +
112 112 Thursday, Sep 5 NYG CLV L 1 14 59-52 6 13.5 -
113 113 Friday, Sep 6 NYG PIT W 7 6 60-52 6 13.0 +
114 114 Monday, Sep 9 NYG CIN W 4 1 61-52 6 12.5 ++
115 115 Tuesday, Sep 10 (1) NYG CHC L 2 13 61-53 7 14.0 -
116 116 Tuesday, Sep 10 (2) NYG CHC L 6 8 61-54 7 14.0 --
117 117 Wednesday, Sep 11 NYG BSN W 9 5 62-54 7 13.0 +
118 118 Thursday, Sep 12 NYG BSN W 7 1 63-54 7 13.0 ++
119 119 Friday, Sep 13 NYG @ PHI L 9 18 63-55 6 14.5 -
120 120 Saturday, Sep 14 NYG BSN L 8 12 63-56 8 15.5 --
121 121 Monday, Sep 16 NYG PHI L 5 9 63-57 8 16.5 ---
122 122 Tuesday, Sep 17 NYG PHI W 8 7 64-57 8 16.0 +
123 123 Thursday, Sep 19 NYG @ BSN L 5 13 64-58 8 16.5 -
124 124 Friday, Sep 20 NYG @ BSN L 3 5 64-59 8 16.5 --
125 125 Saturday, Sep 21 NYG @ BSN L 12 13 64-60 8 17.5 ---
126 126 Monday, Sep 23 NYG @ WHS L 7 9 64-61 8 18.5 ----
127 127 Tuesday, Sep 24 NYG @ WHS W 6 5 65-61 8 18.0 +
128 128 Wednesday, Sep 25 NYG @ WHS L 6 7 65-62 8 19.0 -
129 129 Friday, Sep 27 (1) NYG BLN W 7 6 66-62 8 19.5 +
130 130 Friday, Sep 27 (2) NYG BLN L 2 7 66-63 8 19.5 -
131 131 Saturday, Sep 28 NYG BLN L 2 5 66-64 9 20.5 --
132 132 Monday, Sep 30 NYG BLN L 3 8 66-65 9 21.5 400 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1894 / 1896 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits