Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1889 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Elliott, Kalb, MLB Network:From MLB Network’s launch on January 1, 2009—when I used baseballreference.com’s play...

1889 New York Giants

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1888 / 1890

83-43, Finished 1st in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Jim Mutrie (83-43)
Scored 935 runs, Allowed 708 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 79-47

Ballparks: Polo Grounds III, St. George Cricket Grounds & Oakdale Park ·
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 103, Pitching - 99 · one-year: Batting - 104, Pitching - 101


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1888 / 1890 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 83-43, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First28last on Saturday, Oct 5, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 38last on Oct 5, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead1last on Saturday, Oct 5, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind8.5last on Monday, Jun 24, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50040last on Saturday, Oct 5
Most Games under .5001last on Wednesday, Apr 24
Longest Winning Streak12Saturday, Sep 7 to Tuesday, Sep 24
Longest Losing Streak5Thursday, Aug 15 to Wednesday, Aug 21
Most Runs Allowed18Thursday, May 23
Most Runs Scored18Saturday, Aug 3 and Friday, Sep 27
Times Shutout by Opponent3 
Times Opponent Shutout6 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 83 43 935 708 .659
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 47 15 512 303 .758
Road 36 28 423 405 .563
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 3 1 31 27 .750
May 14 11 194 151 .560
June 12 7 118 102 .632
July 15 10 163 131 .600
August 18 9 207 180 .667
September 17 4 194 103 .810
October 4 1 28 14 .800
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 39 23 444 339 .629
Second Half 44 20 491 369 .688
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 10 12 130 132 .455
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 34 18 434 280 .654
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BSN 6 8 86 107 .429
CHC 13 5 168 122 .722
CLV 14 4 130 70 .778
IND 13 7 138 109 .650
PHI 12 7 148 123 .632
PIT 12 7 128 90 .632
WHS 13 5 137 87 .722

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Wednesday, Apr 24 NYG BSN L 7 8 0-1 5 1.0 1:50 -
2 2 Thursday, Apr 25 NYG BSN W 11 10 1-1 3 1.0 +
3 3 Monday, Apr 29 NYG WHS W 4 2 2-1 1 Tied 2:00 ++
4 4 Tuesday, Apr 30 NYG WHS W 9 7 3-1 1 Tied +++
5 5 Wednesday, May 1 NYG WHS W 16 3 4-1 1 Tied 2:00 ++++
6 6 Thursday, May 2 NYG WHS W 16 3 5-1 1 up 1.0 2:00 +++++
7 7 Friday, May 3 NYG @ PHI L 4 9 5-2 1 Tied 1:55 -
8 8 Saturday, May 4 NYG @ PHI L 2 11 5-3 2 0.5 --
9 9 Monday, May 6 NYG @ PHI W 13 9 6-3 1 Tied 2:10 +
10 10 Tuesday, May 7 NYG @ PHI L 4 6 6-4 3 0.5 -
11 11 Wednesday, May 8 NYG @ BSN L 0 7 6-5 4 1.5 10,000 --
12 12 Thursday, May 9 NYG @ BSN W 10 9 7-5 3 0.5 2:00 +
13 13 Friday, May 10 NYG @ BSN W 7 5 8-5 1 up 0.5 2:00 ++
14 14 Saturday, May 11 NYG @ BSN L 3 4 8-6 3 0.5 1:45 -
15 15 Monday, May 13 NYG CLV L 7 8 8-7 4 1.5 --
16 16 Tuesday, May 14 NYG CLV L 0 5 8-8 5 2.5 1:40 ---
17 17 Wednesday, May 15 NYG CLV W 16 2 9-8 4 2.5 2:00 +
18 18 Thursday, May 16 NYG CLV W 6 3 10-8 3 2.5 1:35 ++
19 19 Friday, May 17 NYG PIT W 11 7 11-8 3 2.5 2:20 +++
20 20 Saturday, May 18 NYG PIT L 2 3 11-9 3 3.5 1:30 -
21 21 Tuesday, May 21 NYG PIT W 5 4 12-9 3 3.0 +
22 22 Wednesday, May 22 NYG CHC W 11 4 13-9 3 2.0 ++
23 23 Thursday, May 23 NYG CHC L 17 18 13-10 3 2.5 2:35 -
24 24 Friday, May 24 NYG CHC W 9 7 14-10 3 2.5 2:20 +
25 25 Saturday, May 25 NYG CHC L 8 9 14-11 3 3.5 2:45 -
26 26 Tuesday, May 28 NYG IND W 7 0 15-11 3 3.5 1:35 +
27 27 Wednesday, May 29 NYG IND W 8 6 16-11 3 3.5 1:45 ++
28 28 Thursday, May 30 (1) NYG IND L 5 6 16-12 3 4.5 1:50 520 -
29 29 Thursday, May 30 (2) NYG IND W 7 3 17-12 3 4.5 1:50 4,970 +
30 30 Saturday, Jun 1 NYG @ WHS L 5 9 17-13 3 5.5 1:35 -
31 31 Tuesday, Jun 4 NYG @ WHS L 3 5 17-14 4 7.0 2:00 --
32 32 Wednesday, Jun 5 NYG @ WHS W 4 3 18-14 4 6.0 1:55 +
33 33 Thursday, Jun 6 NYG @ BSN L 7 10 18-15 4 7.0 2:22 -
34 34 Friday, Jun 7 NYG @ BSN L 4 9 18-16 4 8.0 2:00 --
35 35 Monday, Jun 10 NYG BSN W 5 1 19-16 4 7.0 +
36 36 Tuesday, Jun 11 NYG BSN W 2 1 20-16 4 6.0 1:32 ++
37 37 Thursday, Jun 13 NYG PHI W 3 2 21-16 4 6.0 1:45 +++
38 38 Friday, Jun 14 NYG PHI W 14 4 22-16 4 6.0 ++++
39 39 Wednesday, Jun 19 NYG @ CLV L 1 10 22-17 4 7.5 2:10 -
40 40 Thursday, Jun 20 NYG @ CLV W 1 0 23-17 4 7.5 1:50 +
41 41 Friday, Jun 21 NYG @ CLV W 17 6 24-17 4 7.0 1:20 ++
42 42 Saturday, Jun 22 NYG @ CLV L 6 8 24-18 4 8.5 1:55 -
43 43 Monday, Jun 24 NYG @ CHC L 0 6 24-19 4 8.5 1:20 --
44 44 Tuesday, Jun 25 NYG @ CHC W 12 8 25-19 3 7.5 2:20 +
45 45 Wednesday, Jun 26 NYG @ CHC W 12 7 26-19 3 6.5 ++
46 46 Thursday, Jun 27 NYG @ CHC W 13 10 27-19 3 6.5 2:10 +++
47 47 Friday, Jun 28 NYG @ IND W 5 2 28-19 3 5.5 1:35 ++++
48 48 Saturday, Jun 29 NYG @ IND W 4 1 29-19 3 4.5 1:40 +++++
49 49 Monday, Jul 1 NYG @ IND L 5 6 29-20 3 5.5 2:00 -
50 50 Tuesday, Jul 2 NYG @ IND W 8 6 30-20 3 4.5 1:45 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Thursday, Jul 4 (1) NYG @ PIT L 2 4 30-21 3 4.5 1:55 -
52 52 Thursday, Jul 4 (2) NYG @ PIT W 6 4 31-21 3 4.5 1:50 +
53 53 Friday, Jul 5 NYG @ PIT L 2 5 31-22 3 4.5 1:55 -
54 54 Saturday, Jul 6 NYG @ PIT W 7 1 32-22 3 4.0 1:40 +
55 55 Monday, Jul 8 NYG PIT W 7 5 33-22 3 3.5 1:56 ++
56 56 Tuesday, Jul 9 NYG PIT W 9 0 34-22 3 3.5 1:45 +++
57 57 Wednesday, Jul 10 NYG PIT W 14 1 35-22 3 2.5 2:00 ++++
58 58 Thursday, Jul 11 NYG CLV W 9 1 36-22 3 2.0 1:55 +++++
59 59 Friday, Jul 12 NYG CLV W 4 3 37-22 2 2.0 1:50 ++++++
60 60 Saturday, Jul 13 NYG CLV W 11 6 38-22 2 2.0 1:40 +++++++
61 61 Monday, Jul 15 NYG CHC W 7 4 39-22 2 1.5 ++++++++
62 62 Tuesday, Jul 16 NYG CHC L 10 13 39-23 2 1.5 -
63 63 Wednesday, Jul 17 NYG CHC W 8 3 40-23 2 2.0 2:00 +
64 64 Thursday, Jul 18 NYG IND W 4 2 41-23 2 2.0 ++
65 65 Friday, Jul 19 NYG IND L 8 9 41-24 2 2.0 2:21 -
66 66 Saturday, Jul 20 NYG IND W 8 5 42-24 2 1.0 2:00 +
67 67 Monday, Jul 22 NYG @ PHI L 9 10 42-25 2 1.0 2:20 -
68 68 Tuesday, Jul 23 NYG @ PHI L 5 7 42-26 2 2.0 1:50 --
69 69 Wednesday, Jul 24 NYG @ PHI L 6 15 42-27 2 3.0 2:00 ---
70 70 Thursday, Jul 25 NYG WHS W 7 5 43-27 2 3.0 2:00 +
71 71 Friday, Jul 26 NYG WHS L 1 9 43-28 2 4.0 -
72 72 Monday, Jul 29 NYG @ WHS W 5 2 44-28 2 3.5 1:15 +
73 73 Tuesday, Jul 30 NYG @ WHS L 1 5 44-29 2 4.5 1:30 -
74 74 Friday, Aug 2 NYG PHI W 7 0 45-29 2 4.0 1:37 +
75 75 Saturday, Aug 3 NYG PHI W 18 8 46-29 2 3.0 2:18 ++
76 76 Monday, Aug 5 NYG @ CHC W 8 7 47-29 2 3.0 2:05 +++
77 77 Tuesday, Aug 6 NYG @ CHC W 10 8 48-29 2 2.0 2:10 ++++
78 78 Wednesday, Aug 7 NYG @ CHC W 4 2 49-29 2 1.0 2:05 +++++
79 79 Thursday, Aug 8 NYG @ IND L 4 14 49-30 2 1.5 1:40 -
80 80 Friday, Aug 9 NYG @ IND W 8 1 50-30 2 0.5 1:50 +
81 81 Saturday, Aug 10 NYG @ IND W 9 6 51-30 2 0.5 2:15 ++
82 82 Monday, Aug 12 NYG @ CLV W 4 3 52-30 2 0.5 +++
83 83 Tuesday, Aug 13 NYG @ CLV W 13 4 53-30 1 up 0.5 1:50 ++++
84 84 Wednesday, Aug 14 NYG @ CLV W 4 2 54-30 1 up 0.5 2:00 +++++
85 85 Thursday, Aug 15 NYG @ PIT L 2 9 54-31 1 up 0.5 1:50 -
86 86 Friday, Aug 16 NYG @ PIT L 4 7 54-32 2 0.5 1:50 --
87 87 Saturday, Aug 17 NYG @ PIT L 10 15 54-33 2 1.5 2:20 ---
88 88 Monday, Aug 19 NYG @ BSN T 4 4 54-33 2 1.5 1:40 ---
89 89 Tuesday, Aug 20 NYG @ BSN L 2 12 54-34 2 2.5 2:30 ----
90 90 Wednesday, Aug 21 NYG @ BSN L 4 10 54-35 2 3.5 2:10 -----
91 91 Thursday, Aug 22 NYG PHI W 8 4 55-35 2 3.5 2:12 +
92 92 Friday, Aug 23 (1) NYG PHI W 7 3 56-35 2 3.0 1:35 ++
93 93 Friday, Aug 23 (2) NYG PHI L 2 11 56-36 2 3.0 1:40 -
94 94 Saturday, Aug 24 (1) NYG PHI W 10 8 57-36 2 2.5 2:20 +
95 95 Saturday, Aug 24 (2) NYG PHI W 8 3 58-36 2 2.5 1:50 ++
96 96 Monday, Aug 26 NYG WHS W 11 1 59-36 2 2.5 +++
97 97 Tuesday, Aug 27 NYG WHS L 3 13 59-37 2 3.5 1:55 -
98 98 Wednesday, Aug 28 (1) NYG WHS W 16 3 60-37 2 2.0 2:20 +
99 99 Wednesday, Aug 28 (2) NYG WHS W 7 5 61-37 2 2.0 1:40 ++
100 100 Thursday, Aug 29 NYG BSN L 4 6 61-38 2 3.0 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Friday, Aug 30 NYG BSN W 7 2 62-38 2 2.0 2:10 +
102 102 Saturday, Aug 31 NYG BSN T 9 9 62-38 2 2.0 2:20 +
103 103 Monday, Sep 2 (1) NYG PIT W 9 6 63-38 2 2.0 1:40 2,000 ++
104 104 Monday, Sep 2 (2) NYG PIT W 11 0 64-38 2 2.0 1:55 +++
105 105 Tuesday, Sep 3 NYG PIT W 9 4 65-38 2 1.0 ++++
106 106 Wednesday, Sep 4 NYG PIT W 7 2 66-38 1 Tied 1:40 +++++
107 107 Thursday, Sep 5 NYG IND L 3 5 66-39 1 Tied 1:53 -
108 108 Friday, Sep 6 NYG IND L 4 5 66-40 2 1.0 --
109 109 Saturday, Sep 7 NYG IND W 12 4 67-40 2 1.0 1:45 +
110 110 Monday, Sep 9 NYG CLV W 11 5 68-40 2 0.5 1:57 ++
111 111 Saturday, Sep 14 (1) NYG CHC W 3 1 69-40 2 0.5 1:50 +++
112 112 Saturday, Sep 14 (2) NYG CHC W 13 3 70-40 2 0.5 1:50 ++++
113 113 Monday, Sep 16 NYG @ WHS W 12 4 71-40 1 up 0.5 1:30 +++++
114 114 Wednesday, Sep 18 (1) NYG @ WHS W 7 4 72-40 1 up 0.5 1:44 ++++++
115 115 Wednesday, Sep 18 (2) NYG @ WHS W 10 4 73-40 1 up 0.5 1:40 +++++++
116 116 Thursday, Sep 19 NYG @ PHI W 12 5 74-40 1 up 0.5 1:40 ++++++++
117 117 Friday, Sep 20 (1) NYG @ PHI W 5 1 75-40 1 up 0.5 1:50 +++++++++
118 118 Friday, Sep 20 (2) NYG @ PHI T 4 4 75-40 1 up 0.5 1:20 +++++++++
119 119 Saturday, Sep 21 NYG @ PHI W 7 3 76-40 1 up 1.0 ++++++++++
120 120 Monday, Sep 23 NYG @ IND W 11 9 77-40 1 up 1.0 1:50 +++++++++++
121 121 Tuesday, Sep 24 NYG @ IND W 16 12 78-40 1 up 1.0 2:07 ++++++++++++
122 122 Wednesday, Sep 25 NYG @ IND L 2 7 78-41 1 up 1.0 2:00 -
123 123 Thursday, Sep 26 NYG @ CHC L 3 4 78-42 1 Tied 1:55 --
124 124 Friday, Sep 27 NYG @ CHC W 18 6 79-42 1 Tied +
125 125 Saturday, Sep 28 NYG @ CHC T 2 2 79-42 1 up 0.5 +
126 126 Monday, Sep 30 NYG @ PIT T 3 3 79-42 1 Tied 1:25 +
127 127 Tuesday, Oct 1 NYG @ PIT L 2 7 79-43 2 1.0 1:40 -
128 128 Wednesday, Oct 2 NYG @ PIT W 6 3 80-43 1 Tied 1:50 +
129 129 Thursday, Oct 3 NYG @ CLV W 9 0 81-43 1 Tied 1:45 ++
130 130 Friday, Oct 4 NYG @ CLV W 6 1 82-43 1 Tied 1:30 +++
131 131 Saturday, Oct 5 NYG @ CLV W 5 3 83-43 1 up 1.0 ++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1888 / 1890 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits