Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1981 Schedule and Results

1981 Los Angeles Dodgers

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1980 / 1982

First Half: 36-21, Finished 1st
Second Half: 27-26, Finished 4th
Overall: 63-47, Finished 2nd in NL West (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Tom Lasorda (63-47)
GM: Al Campanis, Scouting Dir: Ben Wade
Scored 450 runs, Allowed 356 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 67-43

Ballparks: Dodger Stadium · Attendance: 2,381,292 (1st of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 97, Pitching - 96 · one-year: Batting - 98, Pitching - 97


BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1980 / 1982 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 63-47, Final Rank:2, GB: 4.0
Days in First95last on Saturday, Sep 19, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 163last on Sep 19, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead6.5last on Monday, May 25, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind5last on Thursday, Oct 1, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50022last on Thursday, Sep 17
Most Games under .500never
Longest Winning Streak7Sunday, May 10 to Sunday, May 17
Longest Losing Streak5Friday, Sep 18 to Wednesday, Sep 23
Most Runs Allowed11Saturday, Jun 6 and Sunday, Aug 23
Most Runs Scored16Sunday, May 31 and Wednesday, Aug 26
Longest Game (innings)14Tuesday, Sep 1
Times Shutout by Opponent5 
Times Opponent Shutout19 
Walkoff Wins7 
Walkoff Losses6 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 63 47 450 356 .573
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 33 23 221 171 .589
Road 30 24 229 185 .556
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 14 5 64 38 .737
May 19 10 144 99 .655
June 3 6 29 33 .333
August 12 9 103 76 .571
September 13 15 94 101 .464
October 2 2 16 9 .500
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 36 21 237 170 .632
Second Half 27 26 213 186 .509
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 55 40 385 297 .579
ExtraInning 8 7 65 59 .533
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 16 21 112 117 .432
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 20 9 167 97 .690
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 7 7 48 49 .500
CHC 4 6 38 28 .400
CIN 8 8 84 69 .500
HOU 8 4 38 26 .667
MON 5 2 37 22 .714
NYM 5 1 31 16 .833
PHI 3 3 16 19 .500
PIT 5 1 41 22 .833
SDP 6 5 35 30 .545
SFG 7 5 48 38 .583
STL 5 5 34 37 .500

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 9 boxscore LAD HOU W 2 0 1-0 1 Tied Valenzuela Niekro 2:17 D 50,511 +
2 2 Saturday, Apr 11 boxscore LAD HOU W 7 4 2-0 1 up 0.5 Hooton Sutton 2:56 N 51,691 ++
3 3 Sunday, Apr 12 boxscore LAD HOU W 3 2 3-0 1 up 1.0 Sutcliffe Ruhle Howe 2:16 D 50,734 +++
4 4 Monday, Apr 13 boxscore LAD @ SFG W 4 3 4-0 1 up 1.0 Stewart Ripley Castillo 2:54 N 20,698 ++++
5 5 Tuesday, Apr 14 boxscore LAD @ SFG W 7 1 5-0 1 up 1.5 Valenzuela Blue 2:27 N 23,790 +++++
6 6 Wednesday, Apr 15 boxscore LAD @ SFG W 4 2 6-0 1 up 1.5 Hooton Whitson Castillo 2:45 N 20,775 ++++++
7 7 Friday, Apr 17 boxscore LAD @ SDP L-wo 2 3 10 6-1 1 up 1.5 Lollar Howe 2:33 N 26,157 -
8 8 Saturday, Apr 18 boxscore LAD @ SDP W 2 0 7-1 1 up 2.5 Valenzuela Wise 2:25 N 19,776 +
9 9 Sunday, Apr 19 boxscore LAD @ SDP W 6 1 8-1 1 up 3.0 Welch Curtis Castillo 2:33 D 11,498 ++
10 10 Monday, Apr 20 boxscore LAD @ HOU W 5 2 9-1 1 up 3.5 Hooton Andujar Goltz 2:34 N 21,730 +++
11 11 Tuesday, Apr 21 boxscore LAD @ HOU L 0 1 9-2 1 up 3.5 Knepper Reuss 1:48 N 21,904 -
12 12 Wednesday, Apr 22 boxscore LAD @ HOU W 1 0 10-2 1 up 3.5 Valenzuela Sutton 2:24 N 22,830 +
13 13 Thursday, Apr 23 boxscore LAD SDP W 3 1 11-2 1 up 3.5 Sutcliffe Wise Howe 2:38 N 35,027 ++
14 14 Friday, Apr 24 boxscore LAD SDP L 5 6 11-3 1 up 2.5 Lucas Castillo Lollar 2:57 N 49,256 -
15 15 Saturday, Apr 25 boxscore LAD SDP W-wo 2 1 11 12-3 1 up 2.5 Howe Littlefield 3:03 N 44,985 +
16 16 Sunday, Apr 26 boxscore LAD SDP W 3 2 13-3 1 up 4.0 Reuss Lucas 2:38 D 50,533 ++
17 17 Monday, Apr 27 boxscore LAD SFG W 5 0 14-3 1 up 4.5 Valenzuela Griffin 2:54 N 49,478 +++
18 18 Tuesday, Apr 28 boxscore LAD SFG L 1 6 14-4 1 up 4.0 Ripley Sutcliffe 2:09 N 39,899 -
19 19 Wednesday, Apr 29 boxscore LAD SFG L 2 3 14-5 1 up 3.0 Blue Welch Minton 2:27 N 39,110 --
20 20 Friday, May 1 boxscore LAD @ MON L-wo 8 9 13 14-6 1 up 2.5 Lee Castillo 4:18 N 28,179 ---
21 21 Saturday, May 2 boxscore LAD @ MON W 4 0 15-6 1 up 3.5 Reuss Sanderson 2:23 D 22,820 +
22 22 Sunday, May 3 boxscore LAD @ MON W 6 1 10 16-6 1 up 4.5 Valenzuela Gullickson 2:55 D 46,405 ++
23 23 Monday, May 4 boxscore LAD @ MON L 3 4 16-7 1 up 4.0 Rogers Sutcliffe Sosa 3:04 N 21,527 -
24 24 Tuesday, May 5 boxscore LAD @ PHI L-wo 7 8 16-8 1 up 3.5 Lyle Castillo 2:58 N 27,241 --
25 25 Wednesday, May 6 boxscore LAD @ PHI W 2 1 17-8 1 up 3.5 Hooton Espinosa 2:09 N 25,850 +
26 26 Thursday, May 7 boxscore LAD @ PHI W 2 1 18-8 1 up 4.0 Reuss Bystrom 2:12 N 29,259 ++
27 27 Friday, May 8 boxscore LAD @ NYM W 1 0 19-8 1 up 4.0 Valenzuela Scott 2:42 N 39,848 +++
28 28 Saturday, May 9 boxscore LAD @ NYM L 4 7 19-9 1 up 4.0 Allen Castillo Reardon 2:53 D 16,776 -
29 29 Sunday, May 10 boxscore LAD @ NYM W 5 3 20-9 1 up 4.5 Welch Jones Howe 2:43 D 12,102 +
30 30 Tuesday, May 12 boxscore LAD MON W 5 0 21-9 1 up 4.0 Hooton Burris Howe 2:46 N 34,367 ++
31 31 Wednesday, May 13 boxscore LAD MON W-wo 8 6 22-9 1 up 5.0 Howe Fryman 2:52 N 42,712 +++
32 32 Thursday, May 14 boxscore LAD MON W-wo 3 2 23-9 1 up 5.5 Valenzuela Ratzer 2:22 N 53,906 ++++
33 33 Friday, May 15 boxscore LAD NYM W-wo 6 5 24-9 1 up 5.5 Howe Allen 2:35 N 49,860 +++++
34 34 Saturday, May 16 boxscore LAD NYM W 9 0 25-9 1 up 5.5 Hooton Roberts 2:21 N 51,000 ++++++
35 35 Sunday, May 17 boxscore LAD NYM W 6 1 26-9 1 up 5.5 Reuss Zachry 2:17 D 50,746 +++++++
36 36 Monday, May 18 boxscore LAD PHI L 0 4 26-10 1 up 5.0 Bystrom Valenzuela 2:16 N 52,439 -
37 37 Tuesday, May 19 boxscore LAD PHI L 2 3 26-11 1 up 4.0 Ruthven Welch 2:30 N 43,812 --
38 38 Wednesday, May 20 boxscore LAD PHI W-wo 3 2 10 27-11 1 up 4.0 Howe McGraw 2:30 N 50,917 +
39 39 Friday, May 22 boxscore LAD @ CIN W 4 2 12 28-11 1 up 5.5 Stewart Bair 3:15 N 27,943 ++
40 40 Saturday, May 23 boxscore LAD @ CIN W 9 6 10 29-11 1 up 6.5 Stewart Moskau Castillo 3:17 D 40,928 +++
41 41 Sunday, May 24 (1) boxscore LAD @ CIN L 2 3 29-12 1 up 6.5 Moskau Welch Price 2:33 D 0 -
42 42 Sunday, May 24 (2) boxscore LAD @ CIN W 10 3 30-12 1 up 6.5 Castillo Berenyi 3:12 D 36,113 +
43 43 Monday, May 25 boxscore LAD @ ATL W 7 1 31-12 1 up 6.5 Hooton Walk Castillo 3:11 N 11,911 ++
44 44 Wednesday, May 27 boxscore LAD @ ATL L-wo 2 3 31-13 1 up 5.5 Camp Howe 2:19 N 17,581 -
45 45 Thursday, May 28 boxscore LAD @ ATL L 4 9 31-14 1 up 4.5 Perry Valenzuela 2:37 N 26,597 --
46 46 Friday, May 29 boxscore LAD CIN W 5 2 32-14 1 up 5.5 Welch LaCoss Howe 2:44 N 45,749 +
47 47 Saturday, May 30 boxscore LAD CIN L 1 9 32-15 1 up 4.5 Pastore Hooton 2:46 D 43,582 -
48 48 Sunday, May 31 boxscore LAD CIN W 16 4 33-15 1 up 5.5 Goltz Soto 3:08 D 46,411 +
49 49 Monday, Jun 1 boxscore LAD ATL W 5 2 34-15 1 up 5.5 Valenzuela Boggs 2:09 N 49,136 ++
50 50 Tuesday, Jun 2 boxscore LAD ATL L 1 3 10 34-16 1 up 5.5 Perry Stewart Camp 2:54 N 37,448 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 3 boxscore LAD ATL L 2 4 34-17 1 up 4.5 Niekro Hooton Camp 2:17 N 42,649 --
52 52 Friday, Jun 5 boxscore LAD @ CHC L 3 4 34-18 1 up 3.5 Reuschel Reuss Tidrow 2:23 D 7,815 ---
53 53 Saturday, Jun 6 boxscore LAD @ CHC L 5 11 34-19 1 up 2.5 McGlothen Valenzuela 2:58 D 30,556 ----
54 54 Sunday, Jun 7 boxscore LAD @ CHC W 7 0 35-19 1 up 2.5 Welch Martz 2:35 D 20,024 +
55 55 Tuesday, Jun 9 boxscore LAD @ STL L 1 6 35-20 1 up 1.5 Forsch Hooton Sutter 2:34 N 19,654 -
56 56 Wednesday, Jun 10 boxscore LAD @ STL W 4 1 36-20 1 up 1.5 Reuss Sorensen 2:05 N 17,779 +
57 57 Thursday, Jun 11 boxscore LAD @ STL L 1 2 36-21 1 up 0.5 Martinez Valenzuela Sutter 2:01 N 39,250 -
58 58 Monday, Aug 10 boxscore LAD CIN W 4 0 37-21 1 up 1.5 Reuss Pastore Howe 2:08 N 35,120 +
59 59 Tuesday, Aug 11 boxscore LAD CIN L 6 7 37-22 1 up 0.5 Brown Forster Hume 2:50 N 45,817 -
60 60 Wednesday, Aug 12 boxscore LAD CIN W 8 5 38-22 1 up 1.5 Stewart Seaver Howe 2:48 N 36,494 +
61 61 Thursday, Aug 13 boxscore LAD ATL L 1 9 38-23 1 up 1.0 Boggs Hooton Garber 2:45 N 27,418 -
62 62 Friday, Aug 14 boxscore LAD ATL W 5 0 39-23 1 up 1.5 Goltz Montefusco Pena 3:02 N 35,592 +
63 63 Saturday, Aug 15 boxscore LAD ATL L 4 6 39-24 1 up 1.5 Bedrosian Reuss Hrabosky 2:42 N 40,510 -
64 64 Sunday, Aug 16 boxscore LAD ATL W 6 5 40-24 1 up 1.5 Niedenfuer Bedrosian Stewart 2:36 D 50,340 +
65 65 Monday, Aug 17 boxscore LAD @ CHC L 1 3 40-25 1 up 1.0 Bird Welch 2:23 D 10,153 -
66 66 Tuesday, Aug 18 boxscore LAD @ CHC W 5 0 41-25 1 up 1.0 Hooton Griffin 2:33 D 15,973 +
67 67 Wednesday, Aug 19 boxscore LAD @ CHC L 3 4 41-26 1 Tied Krukow Goltz Martz 2:27 D 26,860 -
68 68 Friday, Aug 21 boxscore LAD @ STL W 4 0 42-26 1 Tied Reuss Andujar 2:05 N 33,375 +
69 69 Saturday, Aug 22 boxscore LAD @ STL W 3 2 43-26 1 up 1.0 Valenzuela Forsch Stewart 2:21 N 38,751 ++
70 70 Sunday, Aug 23 boxscore LAD @ STL L 7 11 43-27 1 up 1.0 Shirley Welch Sutter 2:54 D 18,189 -
71 71 Monday, Aug 24 boxscore LAD @ PIT W 3 0 44-27 1 up 1.0 Hooton Jones 2:14 N 12,308 +
72 72 Tuesday, Aug 25 boxscore LAD @ PIT W 9 7 11 45-27 1 up 2.0 Pena Tekulve Niedenfuer 3:32 N 16,770 ++
73 73 Wednesday, Aug 26 boxscore LAD @ PIT W 16 6 46-27 1 up 3.0 Reuss Rhoden 3:07 D 11,144 +++
74 74 Thursday, Aug 27 boxscore LAD CHC W 6 0 47-27 1 up 4.0 Valenzuela Martz 2:23 N 48,191 ++++
75 75 Friday, Aug 28 boxscore LAD CHC W 6 1 48-27 1 up 4.0 Welch Krukow Stewart 2:37 N 42,160 +++++
76 76 Saturday, Aug 29 boxscore LAD CHC L 1 3 48-28 1 up 4.0 Griffin Hooton Smith 2:35 N 47,424 -
77 77 Sunday, Aug 30 boxscore LAD CHC L 1 2 48-29 1 up 3.0 Bird Goltz Tidrow 2:19 D 34,284 --
78 78 Monday, Aug 31 boxscore LAD PIT L 4 5 10 48-30 1 up 2.0 Jones Stewart Robinson 2:58 N 35,862 ---
79 79 Tuesday, Sep 1 boxscore LAD PIT W-wo 3 2 14 49-30 1 up 3.0 Niedenfuer Jones 4:01 N 50,134 +
80 80 Wednesday, Sep 2 boxscore LAD PIT W 6 2 50-30 1 up 3.0 Welch Long Pena 2:47 N 32,027 ++
81 81 Thursday, Sep 3 boxscore LAD STL L 3 5 50-31 1 up 2.0 Littell Howe Sutter 2:19 N 30,122 -
82 82 Friday, Sep 4 boxscore LAD STL L 2 7 50-32 1 up 2.0 Martin Goltz 2:19 N 48,114 --
83 83 Saturday, Sep 5 boxscore LAD STL W-wo 4 3 11 51-32 1 up 3.0 Niedenfuer Kaat 3:32 N 36,058 +
84 84 Sunday, Sep 6 boxscore LAD STL W 5 0 52-32 1 up 3.0 Valenzuela Forsch 2:27 D 46,780 ++
85 85 Monday, Sep 7 boxscore LAD SFG W 5 1 53-32 1 up 3.0 Welch Whitson Niedenfuer 2:35 N 49,561 +++
86 86 Tuesday, Sep 8 boxscore LAD SFG W 4 0 54-32 1 up 4.0 Hooton Alexander Stewart 2:33 N 31,702 ++++
87 87 Wednesday, Sep 9 boxscore LAD SFG L 3 6 11 54-33 1 up 3.0 Holland Niedenfuer 3:36 N 31,482 -
88 88 Friday, Sep 11 boxscore LAD @ CIN L-wo 2 3 10 54-34 1 up 2.0 Price Pena 2:42 N 25,237 --
89 89 Saturday, Sep 12 boxscore LAD @ CIN L-wo 5 6 11 54-35 1 up 1.0 LaCoss Power 3:32 N 34,090 ---
90 90 Sunday, Sep 13 boxscore LAD @ CIN W 4 2 55-35 1 up 2.0 Castillo Pastore Stewart 3:07 D 27,858 +
91 91 Monday, Sep 14 boxscore LAD @ SDP W 10 5 56-35 1 up 2.0 Power Show 3:00 N 7,243 ++
92 92 Tuesday, Sep 15 boxscore LAD @ SDP L 2 8 56-36 1 up 1.0 Eichelberger Goltz 2:30 N 9,927 -
93 93 Wednesday, Sep 16 boxscore LAD ATL W 3 2 57-36 1 up 2.0 Reuss Perry Howe 2:32 N 19,905 +
94 94 Thursday, Sep 17 boxscore LAD ATL W 2 0 58-36 1 up 2.0 Valenzuela Mahler 2:36 N 46,168 ++
95 95 Friday, Sep 18 boxscore LAD CIN L 4 5 58-37 1 up 1.0 Price Stewart Hume 2:48 N 44,258 -
96 96 Saturday, Sep 19 boxscore LAD CIN L 3 7 58-38 1 Tied Edelen Hooton 3:22 N 48,352 --
97 97 Sunday, Sep 20 boxscore LAD CIN L 1 5 58-39 2 1.0 Soto Power 2:45 D 39,560 ---
98 98 Tuesday, Sep 22 boxscore LAD @ SFG L 2 5 58-40 2 1.5 Whitson Valenzuela Minton 3:11 N 28,046 ----
99 99 Wednesday, Sep 23 boxscore LAD @ SFG L 4 8 58-41 2 2.5 Lavelle Goltz Breining 2:53 N 13,058 -----
100 100 Thursday, Sep 24 boxscore LAD @ SFG W 7 3 59-41 2 2.0 Welch Griffin 3:05 N 12,726 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Friday, Sep 25 boxscore LAD @ HOU W 3 0 60-41 2 2.0 Hooton Ruhle 2:18 N 35,481 ++
102 102 Saturday, Sep 26 boxscore LAD @ HOU L 0 5 60-42 2 3.0 Ryan Power 2:46 D 32,115 -
103 103 Sunday, Sep 27 boxscore LAD @ HOU L 1 4 60-43 2 4.0 Sutton Valenzuela 2:23 N 41,686 --
104 104 Monday, Sep 28 boxscore LAD @ ATL L 1 2 60-44 2 4.0 Mahler Reuss Camp 1:50 N 2,348 ---
105 105 Tuesday, Sep 29 boxscore LAD @ ATL W 5 3 61-44 2 4.0 Howe Garber Stewart 2:39 N 2,150 +
106 106 Wednesday, Sep 30 boxscore LAD SDP L 0 2 61-45 2 5.0 Boone Goltz Lucas 2:47 N 19,467 -
107 107 Thursday, Oct 1 boxscore LAD SDP L 0 1 61-46 2 5.0 Kuhaulua Valenzuela Show 2:08 N 38,267 --
108 108 Friday, Oct 2 boxscore LAD HOU W 6 1 62-46 2 4.0 Reuss Sutton 2:30 N 46,108 +
109 109 Saturday, Oct 3 boxscore LAD HOU W 7 2 63-46 2 3.0 Welch Niekro 2:43 D 42,272 ++
110 110 Sunday, Oct 4 boxscore LAD HOU L 3 5 63-47 2 4.0 Smith Goltz 3:17 D 47,072 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
NLDS Game 1 Tuesday, Oct 6 boxscore LAD @ HOU L 1 3 0-1 Ryan Stewart 0:00 N 44,836
NLDS Game 2 Wednesday, Oct 7 boxscore LAD @ HOU L 0 1 11 0-2 Sambito Stewart 3:39 D 42,398
NLDS Game 3 Friday, Oct 9 boxscore LAD HOU W 6 1 1-2 Hooton Knepper 0:00 D 46,820
NLDS Game 4 Saturday, Oct 10 boxscore LAD HOU W 2 1 2-2 Valenzuela Ruhle 0:00 D 55,983
NLDS Game 5 Sunday, Oct 11 boxscore LAD HOU W 4 0 3-2 Reuss Ryan 2:52 D 55,979
NLCS Game 1 Tuesday, Oct 13 boxscore LAD MON W 5 1 4-2 Hooton Gullickson 2:47 D 51,273
NLCS Game 2 Wednesday, Oct 14 boxscore LAD MON L 0 3 4-3 Burris Valenzuela 2:48 D 53,463
NLCS Game 3 Friday, Oct 16 boxscore LAD @ MON L 1 4 4-4 Rogers Reuss 2:27 N 54,372
NLCS Game 4 Saturday, Oct 17 boxscore LAD @ MON W 7 1 5-4 Hooton Gullickson 3:14 D 54,499
NLCS Game 5 Monday, Oct 19 boxscore LAD @ MON W 2 1 6-4 Valenzuela Rogers Welch 2:41 D 36,491
WS Game 1 Tuesday, Oct 20 boxscore LAD @ NYY L 3 5 6-5 Guidry Reuss Gossage 2:32 N 56,470
WS Game 2 Wednesday, Oct 21 boxscore LAD @ NYY L 0 3 6-6 John Hooton Gossage 2:29 N 56,505
WS Game 3 Friday, Oct 23 boxscore LAD NYY W 5 4 7-6 Valenzuela Frazier 3:04 N 56,236
WS Game 4 Saturday, Oct 24 boxscore LAD NYY W 8 7 8-6 Howe Frazier 3:32 D 56,242
WS Game 5 Sunday, Oct 25 boxscore LAD NYY W 2 1 9-6 Reuss Guidry 2:19 D 56,115
WS Game 6 Wednesday, Oct 28 boxscore LAD @ NYY W 9 2 10-6 Hooton Frazier Howe 3:09 N 56,513
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1980 / 1982 Schedule and Results