Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1988 Schedule and Results

1988 Kansas City Royals

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1987 / 1989

84-77, Finished 3rd in AL West (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: John Wathan (84-77)
GM: John Schuerholz, Scouting Dir: Art Stewart
Scored 704 runs, Allowed 648 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 87-74

Ballparks: Royals Stadium · Attendance: 2,350,181 (5th of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 101, Pitching - 101 · one-year: Batting - 103, Pitching - 103

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
News & ViewsThinkFactory
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1987 / 1989 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 84-77, Final Rank:3, GB: 19.5
Days in First5last on Sunday, Apr 17, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 6last on Apr 17, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead0.5last on Saturday, Apr 16, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind19.5last on Sunday, Oct 2, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50011last on Friday, Sep 16
Most Games under .5006last on Friday, May 27
Longest Winning Streak7Thursday, Jun 2 to Wednesday, Jun 8
Longest Losing Streak6Wednesday, May 4 to Monday, May 9, Saturday, May 21 to Friday, May 27 and Friday, Jul 15 to Tuesday, Jul 19
Most Runs Allowed14Friday, Sep 9
Most Runs Scored14Thursday, May 19
Longest Game (innings)13Wednesday, Jul 20
Times Shutout by Opponent12 
Times Opponent Shutout12 
Walkoff Wins7 
Walkoff Losses7 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 84 77 704 648 .522
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 44 36 359 330 .550
Road 40 41 345 318 .494
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 12 10 102 92 .545
May 11 17 134 121 .393
June 17 10 109 93 .630
July 12 15 112 124 .444
August 18 10 135 94 .643
September 14 13 111 116 .519
October 0 2 1 8 .000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 46 41 383 343 .529
Second Half 38 36 321 305 .514
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 79 72 659 606 .523
ExtraInning 5 5 45 42 .500
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 28 23 217 212 .549
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 18 11 185 128 .621
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 12 0 72 341.000
BOS 6 6 53 53 .500
CAL 8 5 47 42 .615
CHW 6 7 50 51 .462
CLE 6 6 44 46 .500
DET 4 8 35 47 .333
MIL 3 9 34 49 .250
MIN 7 6 76 51 .538
NYY 6 6 59 55 .500
OAK 8 5 56 47 .615
SEA 7 5 47 54 .583
TEX 7 6 83 65 .538
TOR 4 8 48 54 .333

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Monday, Apr 4 boxscore KCR TOR L 3 5 0-1 5 1.0 Key Saberhagen Henke 2:58 D 40,648 -
2 2 Wednesday, Apr 6 boxscore KCR TOR L 4 11 0-2 6 1.5 Flanagan Leibrandt 3:02 N 18,938 --
3 3 Thursday, Apr 7 boxscore KCR TOR W 7 4 1-2 3 1.0 Gubicza Clancy 2:41 N 29,070 +
4 4 Friday, Apr 8 boxscore KCR DET W 3 2 2-2 3 1.0 Bannister Robinson Garber 2:35 N 26,159 ++
5 5 Saturday, Apr 9 boxscore KCR DET L 4 11 2-3 3 2.0 Morris Black 3:20 D 23,418 -
6 6 Sunday, Apr 10 boxscore KCR DET W 8 1 3-3 2 1.0 Leibrandt Alexander 2:51 D 26,305 +
7 7 Tuesday, Apr 12 boxscore KCR @ BAL W 6 1 4-3 1 Tied Gubicza Peraza 2:57 N 11,180 ++
8 8 Wednesday, Apr 13 boxscore KCR @ BAL W 9 3 5-3 1 Tied Bannister Thurmond 2:58 N 12,027 +++
9 9 Thursday, Apr 14 boxscore KCR @ BAL W 4 3 6-3 1 Tied Saberhagen Boddicker Garber 2:40 N 13,005 ++++
10 10 Saturday, Apr 16 boxscore KCR @ DET L 2 4 6-4 1 up 0.5 Alexander Leibrandt Henneman 2:45 D 18,480 -
11 11 Sunday, Apr 17 boxscore KCR @ DET L 6 8 6-5 1 Tied Robinson Gubicza Henneman 3:12 D 18,292 --
12 12 Monday, Apr 18 boxscore KCR @ DET L 2 4 6-6 3 1.0 Tanana Bannister Henneman 2:45 N 11,001 ---
13 13 Tuesday, Apr 19 boxscore KCR @ TOR L 3 12 6-7 3 2.0 Clancy Saberhagen 2:52 N 21,231 ----
14 14 Wednesday, Apr 20 boxscore KCR @ TOR L 0 3 6-8 3 2.5 Stieb Leibrandt Henke 2:56 N 20,202 -----
15 15 Friday, Apr 22 boxscore KCR BAL W 13 1 7-8 3 2.0 Gubicza Morgan 2:30 N 34,482 +
16 16 Saturday, Apr 23 boxscore KCR BAL W-wo 4 3 8-8 3 2.0 Power Sisk 2:37 D 23,564 ++
17 17 Sunday, Apr 24 boxscore KCR BAL W 3 1 9-8 2 2.0 Saberhagen Thurmond 2:24 D 25,526 +++
18 18 Tuesday, Apr 26 boxscore KCR @ NYY L 4 5 9-9 2 3.0 Guante Leibrandt Hudson 2:29 N 20,364 -
19 19 Wednesday, Apr 27 boxscore KCR @ NYY W 3 1 11 10-9 2 3.0 Black Hudson Garber 3:33 N 20,484 +
20 20 Thursday, Apr 28 boxscore KCR @ NYY W 6 3 11-9 2 3.0 Bannister Rhoden Quisenberry 2:52 N 17,102 ++
21 21 Friday, Apr 29 boxscore KCR @ MIL W 7 2 12-9 2 2.5 Saberhagen Birkbeck 2:42 N 12,350 +++
22 22 Saturday, Apr 30 boxscore KCR @ MIL L 1 4 12-10 2 3.5 Wegman Leibrandt Plesac 2:31 D 26,288 -
23 23 Sunday, May 1 boxscore KCR @ MIL L 6 10 12-11 3 4.5 Bosio Gubicza Plesac 2:54 D 17,562 --
24 24 Monday, May 2 boxscore KCR @ BOS W 2 0 13-11 2 4.5 Bannister Ellsworth Garber 3:00 N 20,400 +
25 25 Tuesday, May 3 boxscore KCR @ BOS W 9 3 14-11 2 4.5 Saberhagen Boyd 3:03 N 21,602 ++
26 26 Wednesday, May 4 boxscore KCR NYY L 3 4 14-12 2 5.5 Candelaria Power Stoddard 2:39 N 27,422 -
27 27 Thursday, May 5 boxscore KCR NYY L 3 5 14-13 2 6.5 Dotson Gubicza Guante 2:58 N 36,255 --
28 28 Friday, May 6 boxscore KCR MIL L 0 4 14-14 2 7.0 Bosio Bannister 2:35 N 25,460 ---
29 29 Saturday, May 7 boxscore KCR MIL L 2 4 14-15 3 8.0 Nieves Saberhagen Plesac 2:38 N 28,002 ----
30 30 Sunday, May 8 boxscore KCR MIL L 2 6 10 14-16 3 9.0 Plesac Quisenberry 2:55 D 22,603 -----
31 31 Monday, May 9 boxscore KCR BOS L 0 2 14-17 3 10.0 Clemens Gubicza 2:49 N 24,806 ------
32 32 Tuesday, May 10 boxscore KCR BOS W 7 2 15-17 3 9.0 Bannister Hurst 2:38 N 21,645 +
33 33 Friday, May 13 boxscore KCR @ TEX L 1 2 15-18 4 8.5 Hayward Saberhagen Williams 2:13 N 21,898 -
34 34 Saturday, May 14 boxscore KCR @ TEX L 3 6 15-19 4 9.5 Russell Leibrandt Williams 2:44 N 31,251 --
35 35 Sunday, May 15 boxscore KCR @ TEX W 5 4 16-19 4 9.5 Gubicza Hough Garber 3:25 D 30,438 +
36 36 Monday, May 16 boxscore KCR @ TEX W 7 6 17-19 4 9.5 Bannister Kilgus Farr 2:52 N 15,532 ++
37 37 Tuesday, May 17 boxscore KCR @ MIN L-wo 5 6 17-20 4 10.5 Berenguer Garber 3:30 N 24,808 -
38 38 Wednesday, May 18 boxscore KCR @ MIN W 8 2 18-20 4 9.5 Saberhagen Anderson 2:45 N 23,518 +
39 39 Thursday, May 19 boxscore KCR @ MIN W 14 1 19-20 3 9.0 Leibrandt Straker 3:15 D 26,860 ++
40 40 Friday, May 20 boxscore KCR CLE W 4 3 20-20 3 9.0 Gubicza Farrell Farr 2:53 N 25,528 +++
41 41 Saturday, May 21 boxscore KCR CLE L 5 9 20-21 3 9.0 Bailes Bannister Jones 2:51 N 35,941 -
42 42 Sunday, May 22 boxscore KCR CLE L 7 8 10 20-22 3 9.0 Laskey Garber Jones 3:42 D 33,936 --
43 43 Monday, May 23 boxscore KCR MIN L 5 7 20-23 3 9.0 Atherton Saberhagen Reardon 3:13 N 27,231 ---
44 44 Tuesday, May 24 boxscore KCR MIN L 5 6 20-24 4 10.0 Lea Leibrandt Reardon 3:40 N 24,863 ----
45 45 Wednesday, May 25 boxscore KCR MIN L 2 4 20-25 4 11.0 Blyleven Gubicza Reardon 2:41 N 22,022 -----
46 46 Friday, May 27 boxscore KCR TEX L 2 3 20-26 4 12.0 Guzman Bannister 3:04 N 24,045 ------
47 47 Saturday, May 28 boxscore KCR TEX W 8 6 21-26 4 12.0 Black Mohorcic Gleaton 3:10 N 37,802 +
48 48 Sunday, May 29 boxscore KCR TEX W 12 1 22-26 4 12.0 Saberhagen Hayward 2:44 D 31,118 ++
49 49 Monday, May 30 boxscore KCR @ CLE L 1 4 22-27 4 13.0 Swindell Leibrandt Jones 2:15 D 33,533 -
50 50 Tuesday, May 31 boxscore KCR @ CLE W 6 3 10 23-27 4 12.0 Gubicza Schatzeder Farr 3:38 N 8,978 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 1 boxscore KCR @ CLE L 4 5 23-28 4 13.0 Bailes Bannister Jones 2:42 N 8,732 -
52 52 Thursday, Jun 2 boxscore KCR SEA W 3 0 24-28 4 12.5 Power Swift 2:10 D 24,546 +
53 53 Friday, Jun 3 boxscore KCR SEA W 3 1 25-28 4 12.5 Saberhagen Campbell 2:13 N 34,163 ++
54 54 Saturday, Jun 4 boxscore KCR SEA W-wo 4 3 26-28 4 12.5 Farr Langston 2:52 N 33,394 +++
55 55 Sunday, Jun 5 boxscore KCR SEA W 7 3 27-28 4 11.5 Gubicza Nunez 2:49 D 27,601 ++++
56 56 Monday, Jun 6 boxscore KCR OAK W 2 0 28-28 4 10.5 Farr Ontiveros Gleaton 2:30 N 36,724 +++++
57 57 Tuesday, Jun 7 boxscore KCR OAK W 6 0 29-28 3 9.5 Power Young 2:46 N 34,083 ++++++
58 58 Wednesday, Jun 8 boxscore KCR OAK W 5 4 30-28 3 8.5 Saberhagen Stewart Montgomery 2:56 N 32,002 +++++++
59 59 Friday, Jun 10 boxscore KCR @ CAL L 0 1 30-29 3 9.0 Petry Leibrandt 2:47 N 38,642 -
60 60 Saturday, Jun 11 boxscore KCR @ CAL W 7 0 31-29 3 9.0 Gubicza McCaskill 2:58 D 30,355 +
61 61 Sunday, Jun 12 boxscore KCR @ CAL W 6 4 32-29 3 8.0 Power Fraser 2:29 D 36,931 ++
62 62 Monday, Jun 13 boxscore KCR @ CAL W 5 3 33-29 2 7.5 Bannister Finley Farr 2:37 N 23,111 +++
63 63 Tuesday, Jun 14 boxscore KCR @ OAK W 2 1 34-29 2 6.5 Saberhagen Cadaret Garber 2:52 N 21,380 ++++
64 64 Wednesday, Jun 15 boxscore KCR @ OAK W 2 0 35-29 2 5.5 Leibrandt Welch 2:22 N 17,174 +++++
65 65 Thursday, Jun 16 boxscore KCR @ OAK W 9 5 36-29 2 4.5 Gubicza Young 3:07 D 23,579 ++++++
66 66 Friday, Jun 17 boxscore KCR CAL L 7 9 36-30 3 5.5 Cliburn Garber 3:46 N 33,236 -
67 67 Saturday, Jun 18 boxscore KCR CAL L 3 6 36-31 3 6.5 Minton Gleaton 2:50 N 40,642 --
68 68 Sunday, Jun 19 boxscore KCR CAL L 0 5 36-32 3 6.5 Witt Saberhagen 2:40 D 36,674 ---
69 69 Monday, Jun 20 boxscore KCR @ CHW L-wo 3 5 36-33 3 7.5 Thigpen Montgomery 2:53 N 13,973 ----
70 70 Tuesday, Jun 21 boxscore KCR @ CHW W 6 2 37-33 3 7.5 Gubicza Reuss 2:46 N 9,769 +
71 71 Wednesday, Jun 22 boxscore KCR @ CHW L-wo 4 5 37-34 3 8.5 Thigpen Farr 2:39 N 9,668 -
72 72 Friday, Jun 24 boxscore KCR @ SEA L 0 7 37-35 3 8.5 Moore Bannister 2:17 N 11,167 --
73 73 Saturday, Jun 25 boxscore KCR @ SEA W 7 3 38-35 3 8.5 Saberhagen Langston 2:42 N 13,289 +
74 74 Sunday, Jun 26 boxscore KCR @ SEA L 0 8 38-36 3 8.0 Swift Leibrandt 2:30 D 11,668 -
75 75 Monday, Jun 27 boxscore KCR CHW W 2 1 39-36 3 8.0 Gubicza Reuss Gleaton 2:04 N 36,711 +
76 76 Tuesday, Jun 28 boxscore KCR CHW L 3 4 39-37 3 8.0 Long Garber Thigpen 2:26 N 23,060 -
77 77 Wednesday, Jun 29 boxscore KCR CHW W 9 8 40-37 3 8.0 Bannister Perez Farr 3:21 N 26,333 +
78 78 Friday, Jul 1 boxscore KCR BOS W 8 7 41-37 3 8.0 Montgomery Ellsworth Farr 3:16 N 25,970 ++
79 79 Saturday, Jul 2 boxscore KCR BOS W 3 1 42-37 3 8.0 Leibrandt Boyd Farr 2:21 N 37,098 +++
80 80 Sunday, Jul 3 boxscore KCR BOS W 3 2 43-37 3 8.0 Montgomery Smith Farr 3:07 D 36,220 ++++
81 81 Monday, Jul 4 boxscore KCR BOS L 2 9 43-38 3 9.0 Clemens Power 3:21 N 40,804 -
82 82 Tuesday, Jul 5 boxscore KCR MIL L 1 3 43-39 3 8.5 Birkbeck Bannister Plesac 2:09 N 22,761 --
83 83 Wednesday, Jul 6 boxscore KCR MIL L 2 4 43-40 3 8.5 Filer Saberhagen Plesac 2:23 N 24,477 ---
84 84 Thursday, Jul 7 boxscore KCR MIL W 7 3 44-40 3 7.5 Leibrandt Bosio 2:41 N 33,559 +
85 85 Friday, Jul 8 boxscore KCR @ NYY W 4 0 45-40 3 7.5 Gubicza Candelaria 2:32 N 34,038 ++
86 86 Saturday, Jul 9 boxscore KCR @ NYY L 3 5 45-41 3 7.5 Rhoden Power Hudson 3:34 N 36,557 -
87 87 Sunday, Jul 10 boxscore KCR @ NYY W 5 3 46-41 3 7.5 Anderson Stoddard Farr 3:30 D 55,318 +
88 88 Friday, Jul 15 (1) boxscore KCR @ BOS L 1 3 46-42 3 7.5 Clemens Saberhagen 2:26 N 0 -
89 89 Friday, Jul 15 (2) boxscore KCR @ BOS L 4 7 46-43 3 7.5 Smithson Leibrandt Smith 3:19 N 35,412 --
90 90 Saturday, Jul 16 boxscore KCR @ BOS L-wo 6 7 46-44 3 8.5 Smith Farr 3:12 D 34,466 ---
91 91 Sunday, Jul 17 boxscore KCR @ BOS L 8 10 46-45 3 8.5 Gardner Power 3:21 D 34,181 ----
92 92 Monday, Jul 18 boxscore KCR @ MIL L 1 6 46-46 3 9.5 Birkbeck Bannister 2:29 N 21,832 -----
93 93 Tuesday, Jul 19 boxscore KCR @ MIL L 1 3 46-47 3 11.0 Wegman Saberhagen Plesac 1:54 N 20,862 ------
94 94 Wednesday, Jul 20 boxscore KCR @ MIL W 4 0 13 47-47 3 10.0 Montgomery Filer 3:24 D 35,625 +
95 95 Thursday, Jul 21 boxscore KCR NYY W-wo 6 5 48-47 3 9.5 Farr Guante 2:53 N 41,040 ++
96 96 Friday, Jul 22 boxscore KCR NYY L 8 9 48-48 3 10.5 Allen Sanchez Righetti 3:23 N 40,011 -
97 97 Saturday, Jul 23 boxscore KCR NYY W 6 5 49-48 3 10.5 Anderson Righetti Farr 2:55 N 41,377 +
98 98 Sunday, Jul 24 boxscore KCR NYY L 8 10 49-49 3 11.5 Allen Saberhagen Righetti 3:09 D 38,591 -
99 99 Tuesday, Jul 26 boxscore KCR @ DET L-wo 1 2 10 49-50 3 12.0 Henneman Montgomery 2:58 N 27,255 --
100 100 Wednesday, Jul 27 boxscore KCR @ DET L 1 3 49-51 3 12.0 Alexander Gubicza Henneman 2:28 N 26,288 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Jul 28 boxscore KCR @ DET L 1 7 49-52 4 12.5 Robinson Anderson 2:22 N 27,781 ----
102 102 Friday, Jul 29 boxscore KCR @ BAL W 6 2 50-52 4 11.5 Saberhagen Ballard 2:25 N 24,795 +
103 103 Saturday, Jul 30 boxscore KCR @ BAL W 8 7 51-52 4 11.5 Power Tibbs Farr 3:46 N 38,540 ++
104 104 Sunday, Jul 31 boxscore KCR @ BAL W 4 1 52-52 4 11.5 Leibrandt Bautista 2:41 D 21,695 +++
105 105 Monday, Aug 1 boxscore KCR DET W 5 3 53-52 4 11.5 Gubicza Alexander Farr 2:58 N 39,161 ++++
106 106 Tuesday, Aug 2 boxscore KCR DET L 0 1 53-53 4 11.5 Robinson Bannister Henneman 3:05 N 29,162 -
107 107 Wednesday, Aug 3 boxscore KCR DET W 2 1 54-53 4 11.5 Saberhagen Tanana 2:24 N 27,467 +
108 108 Friday, Aug 5 boxscore KCR @ TOR L 6 7 54-54 4 13.0 Ward Power Henke 2:59 N 31,357 -
109 109 Saturday, Aug 6 boxscore KCR @ TOR W 11 1 55-54 4 13.0 Gubicza Stieb 2:58 D 34,411 +
110 110 Sunday, Aug 7 boxscore KCR @ TOR W 5 1 56-54 4 12.0 Bannister Clancy 2:54 D 37,304 ++
111 111 Monday, Aug 8 boxscore KCR @ TOR L 1 5 56-55 4 13.0 Musselman Saberhagen Henke 2:45 N 32,234 -
112 112 Tuesday, Aug 9 boxscore KCR BAL W-wo 5 4 57-55 3 13.0 Sanchez Niedenfuer 3:13 N 24,005 +
113 113 Wednesday, Aug 10 boxscore KCR BAL W 4 3 58-55 3 13.0 Montgomery Bautista Farr 3:07 N 28,579 ++
114 114 Thursday, Aug 11 boxscore KCR BAL W-wo 6 5 12 59-55 3 13.0 Montgomery Niedenfuer 4:21 N 33,920 +++
115 115 Friday, Aug 12 boxscore KCR TOR L 2 3 59-56 3 14.0 Clancy Bannister Henke 2:38 N 31,858 -
116 116 Saturday, Aug 13 boxscore KCR TOR L 0 2 59-57 3 15.0 Musselman Saberhagen Ward 2:28 N 40,204 --
117 117 Sunday, Aug 14 boxscore KCR TOR W 6 0 60-57 3 14.0 Aquino Flanagan 2:46 D 27,262 +
118 118 Monday, Aug 15 boxscore KCR TEX W 12 3 61-57 3 13.5 Leibrandt Kilgus 2:53 N 33,104 ++
119 119 Tuesday, Aug 16 boxscore KCR TEX L 4 5 61-58 3 14.5 Hough Gubicza Williams 2:51 N 24,729 -
120 120 Wednesday, Aug 17 boxscore KCR TEX W 9 6 62-58 3 14.5 Montgomery Guzman Farr 3:21 N 25,720 +
121 121 Friday, Aug 19 boxscore KCR @ CLE L 2 4 62-59 3 14.0 Candiotti Saberhagen Jones 2:24 N 13,098 -
122 122 Saturday, Aug 20 boxscore KCR @ CLE W 4 2 63-59 3 13.0 Leibrandt Swindell Farr 2:51 D 17,047 +
123 123 Sunday, Aug 21 boxscore KCR @ CLE W 3 1 64-59 3 13.0 Gubicza Nichols 2:22 D 17,949 ++
124 124 Monday, Aug 22 boxscore KCR @ TEX L 5 9 64-60 3 14.0 Guzman Bannister Vande Berg 3:12 N 16,928 -
125 125 Tuesday, Aug 23 boxscore KCR @ TEX W 11 7 65-60 3 13.0 Farr Mohorcic 3:33 N 18,051 +
126 126 Wednesday, Aug 24 boxscore KCR @ TEX L 4 7 65-61 3 13.0 Witt Gleaton 2:42 N 17,384 -
127 127 Friday, Aug 26 boxscore KCR MIN W 4 3 66-61 3 13.0 Leibrandt Viola 2:28 N 41,097 +
128 128 Saturday, Aug 27 boxscore KCR MIN W 4 1 67-61 3 13.0 Gubicza Blyleven 2:37 N 38,326 ++
129 129 Sunday, Aug 28 boxscore KCR MIN W 12 3 68-61 3 12.0 Montgomery Anderson 2:56 D 27,578 +++
130 130 Monday, Aug 29 boxscore KCR CLE W 6 3 69-61 3 12.0 Saberhagen Bailes Farr 2:38 N 29,002 ++++
131 131 Tuesday, Aug 30 boxscore KCR CLE L 1 4 69-62 3 13.0 Candiotti Power Havens 2:50 N 23,437 -
132 132 Wednesday, Aug 31 boxscore KCR CLE W 1 0 70-62 3 13.0 Leibrandt Swindell 2:22 N 20,615 +
133 133 Thursday, Sep 1 boxscore KCR @ MIN W 5 2 71-62 3 12.5 Gubicza Blyleven 2:24 N 28,865 ++
134 134 Friday, Sep 2 boxscore KCR @ MIN L 3 6 71-63 3 12.5 Anderson Bannister Reardon 2:52 N 36,291 -
135 135 Saturday, Sep 3 boxscore KCR @ MIN L 6 8 71-64 3 13.5 Portugal Gleaton Reardon 3:11 D 47,658 --
136 136 Sunday, Sep 4 boxscore KCR @ MIN W 3 2 72-64 3 13.5 Sanchez Straker Farr 3:08 D 40,967 +
137 137 Monday, Sep 5 boxscore KCR CAL L 2 4 72-65 3 14.5 Fraser Leibrandt Harvey 2:51 N 25,855 -
138 138 Tuesday, Sep 6 boxscore KCR CAL W-wo 3 2 73-65 3 13.5 Farr Minton 2:43 N 16,645 +
139 139 Wednesday, Sep 7 boxscore KCR CAL W 4 2 74-65 3 13.5 Bannister Finley Farr 2:44 N 16,600 ++
140 140 Thursday, Sep 8 boxscore KCR OAK L 1 5 74-66 3 14.5 Young Saberhagen Eckersley 2:32 N 29,167 -
141 141 Friday, Sep 9 boxscore KCR OAK L 6 14 74-67 3 15.5 Stewart de Jesus Honeycutt 3:22 N 26,675 --
142 142 Saturday, Sep 10 boxscore KCR OAK W 9 4 75-67 3 14.5 Leibrandt Davis 3:02 N 37,983 +
143 143 Sunday, Sep 11 boxscore KCR OAK L 7 8 11 75-68 3 15.5 Eckersley Farr 3:52 D 28,953 -
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 13 boxscore KCR @ CAL W 4 3 76-68 3 15.5 Saberhagen Finley Farr 3:06 N 22,522 +
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 14 boxscore KCR @ CAL W 4 2 77-68 3 14.5 Bannister Witt Farr 2:27 N 21,550 ++
146 146 Thursday, Sep 15 boxscore KCR @ CAL W 2 1 78-68 3 14.5 Leibrandt Petry 2:23 N 22,638 +++
147 147 Friday, Sep 16 boxscore KCR @ OAK W 3 0 79-68 3 13.5 Gubicza Welch 2:15 N 33,881 ++++
148 148 Saturday, Sep 17 boxscore KCR @ OAK L 2 3 79-69 3 14.5 Plunk Gordon Eckersley 2:45 D 43,875 -
149 149 Sunday, Sep 18 boxscore KCR @ OAK L-wo 2 3 11 79-70 3 15.5 Cadaret Farr 3:05 D 35,515 --
150 150 Monday, Sep 19 boxscore KCR @ SEA L 0 4 79-71 3 16.5 Langston Bannister 2:20 N 6,557 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 20 boxscore KCR @ SEA L 10 11 79-72 3 17.5 Schooler Gleaton 3:39 N 6,916 ----
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 21 boxscore KCR @ SEA W 5 4 80-72 3 17.5 Gubicza Jackson Sanchez 2:58 D 7,382 +
153 153 Friday, Sep 23 boxscore KCR @ CHW L 0 2 80-73 3 18.5 Reuss Saberhagen Thigpen 2:36 N 11,548 -
154 154 Saturday, Sep 24 boxscore KCR @ CHW W 6 2 81-73 3 18.5 Bannister Peterson 3:04 N 15,790 +
155 155 Sunday, Sep 25 boxscore KCR @ CHW L-wo 5 6 81-74 3 18.5 Jones Sanchez 3:39 D 10,608 -
156 156 Monday, Sep 26 boxscore KCR SEA W 5 0 82-74 3 18.0 Gubicza Swift 2:14 N 19,122 +
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 27 boxscore KCR SEA L 3 10 82-75 3 18.0 Hanson Gordon Jackson 2:58 N 17,463 -
158 158 Thursday, Sep 29 boxscore KCR CHW W-wo 7 6 10 83-75 3 18.5 Sanchez Pall 3:24 N 18,850 +
159 159 Friday, Sep 30 boxscore KCR CHW W 4 2 84-75 3 18.5 Leibrandt Manzanillo 2:35 N 20,785 ++
160 160 Saturday, Oct 1 boxscore KCR CHW L 0 3 84-76 3 18.5 Perez Gubicza 3:01 N 28,040 -
161 161 Sunday, Oct 2 boxscore KCR CHW L 1 5 84-77 3 19.5 Hillegas Saberhagen McCarthy 2:41 D 19,951 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1987 / 1989 Schedule and Results