Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1978 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1978 Kansas City Royals

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1977 / 1979

92-70, Finished 1st in AL West (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Whitey Herzog (92-70)
GM: Joe Burke, Scouting Dir: John Schuerholz
Scored 743 runs, Allowed 634 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 93-69

Ballparks: Royals Stadium · Attendance: 2,255,493 (3rd of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 102, Pitching - 101 · one-year: Batting - 104, Pitching - 102

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1977 / 1979 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 92-70, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First89last on Sunday, Oct 1, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 99last on Oct 1, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead6last on Saturday, Sep 23, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind4.5last on Saturday, May 13, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50022last on Sunday, Oct 1
Most Games under .5001last on Saturday, Apr 8
Longest Winning Streak10Friday, Jul 14 to Monday, Jul 24
Longest Losing Streak5Monday, May 1 to Saturday, May 6 and Tuesday, Jun 27 to Saturday, Jul 1
Most Runs Allowed13Thursday, Jul 13 and Sunday, Sep 10
Most Runs Scored13Sunday, Jun 4
Longest Game (innings)13Thursday, Jun 8
Times Shutout by Opponent6 
Times Opponent Shutout14 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 92 70 743 634 .568
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 56 25 434 264 .691
Road 36 45 309 370 .444
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 14 5 88 63 .737
May 11 14 115 127 .440
June 13 17 121 115 .433
July 20 8 148 97 .714
August 13 16 120 122 .448
September 20 10 150 110 .667
October 1 0 1 01.000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 44 40 377 348 .524
Second Half 48 30 366 286 .615
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 85 65 676 567 .567
ExtraInning 7 5 67 67 .583
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 24 27 194 197 .471
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 27 11 260 160 .711
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 8 2 49 25 .800
BOS 6 4 40 26 .600
CAL 6 9 61 70 .400
CHW 7 8 63 66 .467
CLE 6 5 38 41 .545
DET 6 4 46 38 .600
MIL 6 4 55 51 .600
MIN 7 8 61 64 .467
NYY 6 5 52 51 .545
OAK 10 5 77 52 .667
SEA 12 3 94 56 .800
TEX 7 8 57 53 .467
TOR 5 5 50 41 .500

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Saturday, Apr 8 boxscore KCR @ CLE L 5 8 0-1 7 1.5 Garland Leonard Paxton 2:18 D 52,433 -
2 2 Sunday, Apr 9 boxscore KCR @ CLE W 5 4 1-1 4 0.5 Busby Wise Mingori 3:00 D 7,473 +
3 3 Monday, Apr 10 boxscore KCR BAL W 4 2 2-1 2 0.5 Splittorff Briles Hrabosky 2:19 N 38,194 ++
4 4 Wednesday, Apr 12 boxscore KCR BAL W 5 2 3-1 2 0.5 Leonard Flanagan Mingori 2:11 D 17,449 +++
5 5 Friday, Apr 14 boxscore KCR CLE W 3 1 4-1 2 0.5 Splittorff Wise Bird 2:21 N 17,526 ++++
6 6 Saturday, Apr 15 boxscore KCR CLE W 6 5 5-1 1 Tied Pattin Paxton Hrabosky 2:54 N 18,110 +++++
7 7 Sunday, Apr 16 boxscore KCR CLE W 2 1 6-1 1 up 1.0 Leonard Garland 2:09 D 17,655 ++++++
8 8 Monday, Apr 17 boxscore KCR @ TOR W 3 1 7-1 1 up 1.0 Gura Jefferson Hrabosky 2:07 D 10,169 +++++++
9 9 Tuesday, Apr 18 boxscore KCR @ TOR W 5 0 8-1 1 up 1.5 Splittorff Lemanczyk 2:13 D 10,218 ++++++++
10 10 Friday, Apr 21 boxscore KCR @ BAL L 1 2 8-2 1 Tied Palmer Leonard Stanhouse 2:15 N 6,203 -
11 11 Saturday, Apr 22 boxscore KCR @ BAL W 5 3 9-2 1 Tied Splittorff Flanagan Hrabosky 2:29 N 7,277 +
12 12 Sunday, Apr 23 boxscore KCR @ BAL W 6 5 10-2 1 Tied Gura Stoddard Pattin 3:22 D 13,833 ++
13 13 Monday, Apr 24 boxscore KCR @ TEX W 8 6 11-2 1 up 0.5 Bird Cleveland 2:49 N 15,530 +++
14 14 Tuesday, Apr 25 boxscore KCR @ TEX L 1 4 11-3 2 1.0 Jenkins Leonard 1:48 N 14,154 -
15 15 Wednesday, Apr 26 boxscore KCR TOR L 1 3 11-4 2 2.0 Murphy Splittorff 1:54 N 19,545 --
16 16 Thursday, Apr 27 boxscore KCR TOR L 7 8 11-5 2 2.0 Moore Bird Willis 2:21 N 17,422 ---
17 17 Friday, Apr 28 boxscore KCR MIL W 7 6 12-5 2 1.0 Colborn Rodriguez Pattin 2:23 N 20,166 +
18 18 Saturday, Apr 29 boxscore KCR MIL W 11 2 13-5 2 1.0 Leonard Augustine 2:35 N 27,521 ++
19 19 Sunday, Apr 30 boxscore KCR MIL W 3 0 14-5 2 1.0 Gale Caldwell Mingori 2:42 D 19,827 +++
20 20 Monday, May 1 boxscore KCR @ NYY L 4 8 14-6 2 1.5 Eastwick Splittorff Lyle 2:37 N 17,340 -
21 21 Tuesday, May 2 boxscore KCR @ NYY L 2 4 14-7 2 2.5 Hunter Gura Lyle 2:09 N 19,152 --
22 22 Wednesday, May 3 boxscore KCR @ NYY L 5 6 14-8 2 3.5 Figueroa Leonard Gossage 2:20 N 21,230 ---
23 23 Friday, May 5 boxscore KCR @ MIL L 0 9 14-9 3 4.5 Caldwell Colborn 2:24 N 10,435 ----
24 24 Saturday, May 6 boxscore KCR @ MIL L 3 4 14-10 3 4.5 Sorensen Bird 2:07 D 13,914 -----
25 25 Sunday, May 7 boxscore KCR @ MIL W 8 6 15-10 3 3.5 Gale Augustine Mingori 2:42 D 10,887 +
26 26 Monday, May 8 boxscore KCR @ BOS L 4 8 15-11 3 4.0 Stanley Leonard 2:26 N 25,891 -
27 27 Tuesday, May 9 boxscore KCR @ BOS L 3 4 15-12 3 4.0 Eckersley Colborn 2:09 N 22,369 --
28 28 Friday, May 12 boxscore KCR NYY W 4 3 16-12 3 3.5 Bird Gossage 2:26 N 33,061 +
29 29 Saturday, May 13 boxscore KCR NYY L 2 5 16-13 3 4.5 Guidry Leonard Gossage 2:27 N 40,903 -
30 30 Sunday, May 14 boxscore KCR NYY W 10 9 17-13 3 3.5 Hrabosky Clay 2:57 D 36,034 +
31 31 Monday, May 15 boxscore KCR BOS W 3 1 18-13 3 3.5 Gale Ripley 2:27 N 34,166 ++
32 32 Tuesday, May 16 boxscore KCR BOS L 2 3 18-14 3 3.5 Lee Splittorff 2:10 N 23,474 -
33 33 Thursday, May 18 boxscore KCR MIN L 6 8 18-15 3 3.0 Zahn Leonard Marshall 3:01 N 17,459 --
34 34 Friday, May 19 boxscore KCR MIN L 3 5 18-16 3 3.0 Erickson Pattin Marshall 2:16 N 31,574 ---
35 35 Saturday, May 20 boxscore KCR MIN W 6 3 19-16 3 3.0 Gale Thormodsgard Hrabosky 2:51 N 30,312 +
36 36 Sunday, May 21 boxscore KCR MIN L 2 3 19-17 3 3.5 Serum Splittorff Marshall 2:12 D 29,079 -
37 37 Monday, May 22 boxscore KCR @ SEA L 1 10 19-18 3 4.0 House Leonard 2:19 N 6,190 --
38 38 Tuesday, May 23 (1) boxscore KCR @ SEA L 3 4 19-19 3 3.5 Pole Hassler Todd 2:11 N 0 ---
39 39 Tuesday, May 23 (2) boxscore KCR @ SEA W 5 3 20-19 3 3.5 Bird Rawley Hrabosky 2:27 N 8,275 +
40 40 Wednesday, May 24 boxscore KCR @ SEA W 6 5 21-19 3 2.5 Mingori Todd Hrabosky 2:44 N 6,717 ++
41 41 Thursday, May 25 boxscore KCR @ SEA W 9 4 22-19 3 2.5 Splittorff Abbott 2:35 D 5,946 +++
42 42 Sunday, May 28 boxscore KCR @ MIN W &V 8 7 12 23-19 3 1.5 Gura Marshall 3:55 D 22,266 ++++
43 43 Monday, May 29 boxscore KCR SEA W 8 2 24-19 3 1.5 Gale Pole 2:26 N 36,405 +++++
44 44 Wednesday, May 31 boxscore KCR SEA W 8 3 25-19 2 0.5 Splittorff Abbott 2:08 N 17,071 ++++++
45 45 Thursday, Jun 1 boxscore KCR SEA W 10 0 26-19 1 Tied Leonard House 2:14 N 16,595 +++++++
46 46 Friday, Jun 2 boxscore KCR CHW L 1 5 26-20 1 Tied Barrios Hassler 2:32 N 23,072 -
47 47 Saturday, Jun 3 boxscore KCR CHW L 5 9 26-21 2 1.0 Kravec Gale Hinton 2:59 N 35,230 --
48 48 Sunday, Jun 4 boxscore KCR CHW W 13 2 27-21 2 1.0 Splittorff Wood 2:22 D 38,698 +
49 49 Tuesday, Jun 6 boxscore KCR @ TEX L 1 2 27-22 2 2.5 Jenkins Leonard 1:54 N 23,880 -
50 50 Thursday, Jun 8 (1) boxscore KCR @ TEX L 4 5 27-23 3 3.0 Alexander Hassler Cleveland 2:26 N 0 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Thursday, Jun 8 (2) boxscore KCR @ TEX L 2 3 13 27-24 3 3.0 Comer Hrabosky 4:06 N 32,886 ---
52 52 Friday, Jun 9 boxscore KCR @ DET L 2 3 27-25 3 3.0 Billingham Splittorff Hiller 1:55 N 32,309 ----
53 53 Saturday, Jun 10 boxscore KCR @ DET W 6 3 28-25 3 2.0 Leonard Morris 2:27 D 32,381 +
54 54 Sunday, Jun 11 boxscore KCR @ DET L 2 5 10 28-26 4 2.0 Hiller Hrabosky 2:45 D 24,210 -
55 55 Monday, Jun 12 boxscore KCR TEX L 5 6 28-27 4 2.0 Comer Mingori Lindblad 2:18 N 38,146 --
56 56 Tuesday, Jun 13 boxscore KCR TEX W 5 0 29-27 3 1.0 Gale Alexander 2:08 N 22,103 +
57 57 Wednesday, Jun 14 boxscore KCR DET W 7 1 30-27 1 Tied Splittorff Billingham 2:05 N 21,025 ++
58 58 Thursday, Jun 15 boxscore KCR DET W 7 2 31-27 1 up 1.0 Leonard Sykes 2:26 N 19,721 +++
59 59 Friday, Jun 16 boxscore KCR @ CHW W 2 1 32-27 1 up 1.5 Gura Barrios Hrabosky 2:35 N 44,785 ++++
60 60 Saturday, Jun 17 boxscore KCR @ CHW L 1 6 32-28 1 up 1.5 Kravec Gale Willoughby 2:43 D 26,798 -
61 61 Sunday, Jun 18 (1) boxscore KCR @ CHW W 3 2 11 33-28 1 up 1.0 Hrabosky LaGrow 3:08 D 0 +
62 62 Sunday, Jun 18 (2) boxscore KCR @ CHW L 0 11 33-29 1 up 1.0 Schueler Splittorff Willoughby 2:32 D 40,598 -
63 63 Monday, Jun 19 boxscore KCR CLE W 6 5 34-29 1 up 1.5 Leonard Clyde Hrabosky 3:01 N 25,660 +
64 64 Tuesday, Jun 20 boxscore KCR CLE W 3 2 35-29 1 up 1.5 Gura Wise 2:35 N 20,444 ++
65 65 Wednesday, Jun 21 boxscore KCR CLE L 2 4 35-30 1 up 0.5 Spillner Bird Kern 2:59 N 23,818 -
66 66 Friday, Jun 23 (1) boxscore KCR OAK W 5 3 36-30 1 up 0.5 Splittorff Langford Hrabosky 2:29 N 0 +
67 67 Friday, Jun 23 (2) boxscore KCR OAK L 4 5 36-31 1 up 0.5 Broberg Leonard Heaverlo 3:00 N 38,841 -
68 68 Saturday, Jun 24 boxscore KCR OAK W 7 5 37-31 1 up 0.5 Hassler Renko Hrabosky 2:40 N 35,423 +
69 69 Sunday, Jun 25 boxscore KCR OAK L 3 6 37-32 2 0.5 Lacey Gura Sosa 3:00 D 32,842 -
70 70 Monday, Jun 26 boxscore KCR @ CAL W 4 0 38-32 1 Tied Gale Tanana 3:00 N 29,829 +
71 71 Tuesday, Jun 27 boxscore KCR @ CAL L 4 5 38-33 2 1.0 Griffin Mingori LaRoche 2:55 N 21,459 -
72 72 Wednesday, Jun 28 boxscore KCR @ CAL L 5 9 38-34 2 1.0 Knapp Splittorff Hartzell 2:50 N 22,742 --
73 73 Thursday, Jun 29 boxscore KCR @ CAL L 1 3 38-35 2 1.0 Frost Hrabosky LaRoche 2:19 N 17,038 ---
74 74 Friday, Jun 30 boxscore KCR @ OAK L 1 2 38-36 3 1.0 Keough Gale 2:21 N 16,506 ----
75 75 Saturday, Jul 1 boxscore KCR @ OAK L 2 4 38-37 3 2.0 Johnson Leonard 2:27 D 5,062 -----
76 76 Sunday, Jul 2 (1) boxscore KCR @ OAK W 4 2 39-37 3 1.5 Gura Lacey Hrabosky 2:29 D 0 +
77 77 Sunday, Jul 2 (2) boxscore KCR @ OAK L 3 9 39-38 3 1.5 Renko Hassler 2:30 D 13,486 -
78 78 Monday, Jul 3 boxscore KCR CAL L 4 7 39-39 4 2.5 Knapp Bird LaRoche 2:51 N 39,928 --
79 79 Tuesday, Jul 4 boxscore KCR CAL W 4 3 40-39 4 1.5 Gale Hartzell 2:27 N 40,030 +
80 80 Wednesday, Jul 5 boxscore KCR CAL W 10 1 41-39 4 1.0 Leonard Ryan 2:18 N 20,347 ++
81 81 Thursday, Jul 6 boxscore KCR CAL L 2 9 41-40 4 1.5 Aase Pattin 2:40 N 19,783 -
82 82 Friday, Jul 7 boxscore KCR BAL W 3 1 42-40 2 1.5 Splittorff McGregor 2:08 N 23,314 +
83 83 Saturday, Jul 8 boxscore KCR BAL W 11 3 43-40 2 2.0 Gale Martinez 2:58 N 34,587 ++
84 84 Sunday, Jul 9 boxscore KCR BAL W 10 4 44-40 2 1.0 Leonard Flanagan 2:16 D 24,662 +++
85 85 Thursday, Jul 13 boxscore KCR @ MIL L 2 13 44-41 2 2.0 Caldwell Splittorff 2:23 N 16,706 -
86 86 Friday, Jul 14 boxscore KCR @ MIL W 9 2 45-41 2 2.0 Gale Replogle 2:38 N 43,993 +
87 87 Saturday, Jul 15 boxscore KCR @ NYY W 8 2 46-41 2 2.0 Leonard Figueroa 2:21 N 34,979 ++
88 88 Sunday, Jul 16 boxscore KCR @ NYY W 3 1 47-41 2 1.0 Gura Beattie Hrabosky 2:36 D 45,089 +++
89 89 Monday, Jul 17 boxscore KCR @ NYY W 9 7 11 48-41 1 Tied Hrabosky Gossage 3:21 N 27,020 ++++
90 90 Wednesday, Jul 19 boxscore KCR TEX W 11 4 49-41 1 up 0.5 Gale Jenkins 2:21 N 28,420 +++++
91 91 Thursday, Jul 20 boxscore KCR TEX W 2 1 50-41 1 up 1.0 Leonard Alexander 2:26 N 26,620 ++++++
92 92 Friday, Jul 21 boxscore KCR BOS W 9 0 51-41 1 up 1.5 Splittorff Eckersley 2:18 N 39,841 +++++++
93 93 Saturday, Jul 22 boxscore KCR BOS W 6 5 10 52-41 1 up 2.5 Hrabosky Drago 3:08 D 37,538 ++++++++
94 94 Sunday, Jul 23 boxscore KCR BOS W 7 3 53-41 1 up 3.0 Pattin Wright 2:30 D 39,425 +++++++++
95 95 Monday, Jul 24 boxscore KCR NYY W 5 2 54-41 1 up 3.0 Leonard Tidrow 2:25 N 38,859 ++++++++++
96 96 Tuesday, Jul 25 boxscore KCR NYY L 0 4 54-42 1 up 3.0 Guidry Splittorff 2:05 N 40,183 -
97 97 Wednesday, Jul 26 boxscore KCR SEA W 12 3 55-42 1 up 3.0 Bird Parrott Mingori 2:35 N 20,327 +
98 98 Thursday, Jul 27 boxscore KCR SEA W 3 1 56-42 1 up 4.0 Gura Mitchell 2:27 N 26,712 ++
99 99 Friday, Jul 28 boxscore KCR @ BOS W 4 0 57-42 1 up 5.0 Gale Torrez 2:29 N 35,348 +++
100 100 Saturday, Jul 29 boxscore KCR @ BOS L 0 1 57-43 1 up 4.0 Wright Leonard 2:21 D 35,098 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Sunday, Jul 30 boxscore KCR @ BOS W 2 1 58-43 1 up 4.0 Splittorff Lee Hrabosky 2:31 D 34,626 +
102 102 Monday, Jul 31 boxscore KCR @ CLE L 3 4 58-44 1 up 4.0 Monge Hrabosky 2:32 N 8,149 -
103 103 Tuesday, Aug 1 boxscore KCR @ CLE L 1 2 58-45 1 up 4.0 Kern Mingori 2:59 N 8,236 --
104 104 Wednesday, Aug 2 boxscore KCR @ CLE L 2 5 58-46 1 up 3.0 Reuschel Leonard 2:33 N 7,834 ---
105 105 Friday, Aug 4 boxscore KCR TOR L 4 5 58-47 1 up 1.5 Cruz Hrabosky 2:42 N 35,064 ----
106 106 Saturday, Aug 5 boxscore KCR TOR W 5 3 59-47 1 up 2.0 Gura Lemanczyk Mingori 2:37 N 34,179 +
107 107 Sunday, Aug 6 boxscore KCR TOR W 12 5 60-47 1 up 2.0 Gale Moore 2:22 D 35,404 ++
108 108 Monday, Aug 7 boxscore KCR CHW L 3 5 60-48 1 up 2.0 LaGrow Leonard 2:35 N 39,847 -
109 109 Tuesday, Aug 8 boxscore KCR CHW W 10 4 61-48 1 up 2.0 Splittorff Proly Pattin 2:38 N 29,976 +
110 110 Wednesday, Aug 9 boxscore KCR @ BAL W 2 0 62-48 1 up 2.5 Gura McGregor 2:11 N 12,859 ++
111 111 Thursday, Aug 10 boxscore KCR @ BAL L 2 3 62-49 1 up 1.5 Palmer Bird Stanhouse 2:28 N 9,221 -
112 112 Friday, Aug 11 boxscore KCR @ TOR W 9 8 10 63-49 1 up 1.5 Hrabosky Cruz 3:22 N 20,602 +
113 113 Saturday, Aug 12 boxscore KCR @ TOR L 2 5 63-50 1 up 1.0 Clancy Splittorff 2:38 N 23,132 -
114 114 Sunday, Aug 13 boxscore KCR @ TOR L 2 3 10 63-51 1 up 1.0 Willis Hrabosky 2:48 D 30,270 --
115 115 Monday, Aug 14 boxscore KCR @ DET L 2 11 63-52 1 up 0.5 Wilcox Gale 2:58 N 31,409 ---
116 116 Tuesday, Aug 15 boxscore KCR @ DET W 4 2 64-52 1 up 0.5 Leonard Young Hrabosky 2:50 N 33,365 +
117 117 Wednesday, Aug 16 (1) boxscore KCR @ MIN L 1 5 64-53 1 up 1.0 Zahn Bird 2:30 N 0 -
118 118 Wednesday, Aug 16 (2) boxscore KCR @ MIN W 11 7 65-53 1 up 1.0 Splittorff Perzanowski Mingori 2:53 N 14,640 +
119 119 Thursday, Aug 17 boxscore KCR @ MIN L 5 6 10 65-54 1 up 1.0 Erickson Gura 2:54 N 15,936 -
120 120 Friday, Aug 18 boxscore KCR TEX L 3 4 65-55 1 Tied Medich Gale 2:47 N 40,112 --
121 121 Saturday, Aug 19 boxscore KCR TEX W 3 0 66-55 1 Tied Leonard Jenkins 2:00 D 37,604 +
122 122 Sunday, Aug 20 boxscore KCR TEX W 2 1 67-55 1 Tied Splittorff Matlack 1:56 D 38,423 ++
123 123 Tuesday, Aug 22 boxscore KCR @ CHW W &H 6 3 68-55 1 up 1.0 Gura Baumgarten Hrabosky 2:44 N 21,689 +++
124 124 Wednesday, Aug 23 boxscore KCR @ CHW L 0 3 68-56 1 Tied Kravec Leonard 2:21 N 15,550 -
125 125 Thursday, Aug 24 boxscore KCR @ CHW L 1 4 68-57 2 0.5 Proly Splittorff LaGrow 2:12 N 14,524 --
126 126 Friday, Aug 25 boxscore KCR @ TEX L 2 7 68-58 2 0.5 Matlack Gale 2:10 N 36,750 ---
127 127 Saturday, Aug 26 boxscore KCR @ TEX L 4 8 68-59 2 0.5 Ellis Gura Barker 2:25 N 33,084 ----
128 128 Sunday, Aug 27 boxscore KCR @ TEX W 4 2 69-59 1 up 0.5 Leonard Medich Hrabosky 2:38 N 25,242 +
129 129 Monday, Aug 28 boxscore KCR CHW W 3 2 70-59 1 up 1.5 Hrabosky Kravec 2:32 N 27,562 ++
130 130 Tuesday, Aug 29 boxscore KCR CHW L 3 9 70-60 1 up 1.5 Proly Gale LaGrow 2:45 N 19,343 -
131 131 Wednesday, Aug 30 boxscore KCR CHW W 12 0 71-60 1 up 2.0 Gura Barrios 1:56 N 19,053 +
132 132 Friday, Sep 1 boxscore KCR DET L 2 6 71-61 1 up 1.0 Billingham Leonard 2:26 N 32,329 -
133 133 Saturday, Sep 2 boxscore KCR DET W 8 3 72-61 1 up 1.0 Splittorff Slaton 2:14 N 34,004 +
134 134 Sunday, Sep 3 boxscore KCR DET W 6 2 73-61 1 up 1.0 Gura Rozema 1:56 D 27,217 ++
135 135 Monday, Sep 4 boxscore KCR @ OAK W 5 3 74-61 1 up 1.0 Gale Norris Hrabosky 3:01 N 7,550 +++
136 136 Tuesday, Sep 5 boxscore KCR @ OAK W 3 0 75-61 1 up 1.5 Leonard Renko 2:09 N 1,376 ++++
137 137 Wednesday, Sep 6 boxscore KCR @ OAK W 11 8 12 76-61 1 up 3.0 Hrabosky Heaverlo Pattin 4:05 D 1,350 +++++
138 138 Friday, Sep 8 boxscore KCR @ CAL W 9 7 77-61 1 up 3.5 Bird LaRoche 3:25 N 26,507 ++++++
139 139 Saturday, Sep 9 (1) boxscore KCR @ CAL L 2 3 77-62 1 up 1.5 Aase Gale LaRoche 2:32 N 0 -
140 140 Saturday, Sep 9 (2) boxscore KCR @ CAL L &V 2 4 77-63 1 up 1.5 Frost Leonard 2:46 N 41,511 --
141 141 Sunday, Sep 10 boxscore KCR @ CAL L 3 13 77-64 1 up 0.5 Ryan Splittorff 2:52 D 24,793 ---
142 142 Monday, Sep 11 boxscore KCR OAK W 7 2 78-64 1 up 1.5 Pattin Keough 1:58 N 24,765 +
143 143 Tuesday, Sep 12 boxscore KCR OAK W 8 1 79-64 1 up 2.5 Gura Langford 2:17 N 21,379 ++
144 144 Wednesday, Sep 13 boxscore KCR OAK W 9 1 80-64 1 up 3.5 Leonard Johnson 1:58 N 18,359 +++
145 145 Thursday, Sep 14 boxscore KCR OAK W 5 1 81-64 1 up 3.5 Splittorff Renko 2:05 N 19,617 ++++
146 146 Friday, Sep 15 boxscore KCR CAL W 3 2 82-64 1 up 4.5 Hrabosky Ryan 2:48 N 30,847 +++++
147 147 Saturday, Sep 16 boxscore KCR CAL L 3 4 82-65 1 up 3.5 Miller Hrabosky LaRoche 3:16 N 40,237 -
148 148 Sunday, Sep 17 boxscore KCR CAL W 5 0 83-65 1 up 4.5 Leonard Tanana 2:24 D 37,590 +
149 149 Monday, Sep 18 boxscore KCR @ SEA W 7 6 11 84-65 1 up 5.5 Bird Parrott Hrabosky 3:21 N 5,766 ++
150 150 Tuesday, Sep 19 boxscore KCR @ SEA W 9 8 85-65 1 up 5.5 Splittorff Honeycutt 2:46 N 5,946 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Wednesday, Sep 20 boxscore KCR MIL L 4 5 85-66 1 up 5.0 Augustine Paschall 2:31 N 15,917 -
152 152 Thursday, Sep 21 boxscore KCR MIL W 8 4 86-66 1 up 5.5 Leonard Replogle 2:48 N 17,799 +
153 153 Friday, Sep 22 (1) boxscore KCR @ MIN W 4 2 87-66 1 up 5.0 Gura Jackson 2:37 N 0 ++
154 154 Friday, Sep 22 (2) boxscore KCR @ MIN L 0 4 87-67 1 up 5.0 Zahn Pattin 1:58 N 5,175 -
155 155 Saturday, Sep 23 boxscore KCR @ MIN W 3 1 88-67 1 up 6.0 Splittorff Erickson Hrabosky 2:21 N 13,288 +
156 156 Sunday, Sep 24 boxscore KCR @ MIN L 4 6 88-68 1 up 5.0 Goltz Mingori 2:55 D 6,627 -
157 157 Monday, Sep 25 boxscore KCR SEA W 7 2 89-68 1 up 5.5 Leonard Honeycutt 2:26 N 21,890 +
158 158 Tuesday, Sep 26 boxscore KCR SEA W 4 1 90-68 1 up 5.5 Gura Abbott 1:42 N 22,415 ++
159 159 Wednesday, Sep 27 boxscore KCR SEA L 2 4 90-69 1 up 4.5 McLaughlin Splittorff 1:53 N 14,737 -
160 160 Friday, Sep 29 boxscore KCR MIN W 4 0 91-69 1 up 5.0 Leonard Jackson 2:30 N 31,794 +
161 161 Saturday, Sep 30 boxscore KCR MIN L 3 7 11 91-70 1 up 5.0 Marshall McGilberry 3:13 N 29,089 -
162 162 Sunday, Oct 1 boxscore KCR MIN W 1 0 92-70 1 up 5.0 Throop Zahn Paschall 1:59 D 23,794 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
ALCS Game 1 Tuesday, Oct 3 boxscore KCR NYY L 1 7 0-1 Beattie Leonard Clay 2:57 N 41,143
ALCS Game 2 Wednesday, Oct 4 boxscore KCR NYY W 10 4 1-1 Gura Figueroa 2:42 D 41,158
ALCS Game 3 Friday, Oct 6 boxscore KCR @ NYY L 5 6 1-2 Gossage Bird 2:13 D 55,445
ALCS Game 4 Saturday, Oct 7 boxscore KCR @ NYY L 1 2 1-3 Guidry Leonard Gossage 2:20 N 56,356
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1977 / 1979 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits