Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Schedule and Results

1978 Houston Astros

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1977 / 1979

74-88, Finished 5th in NL West (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Bill Virdon (74-88)
GM: Tal Smith
Scored 605 runs, Allowed 634 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 78-84

Ballparks: Astrodome · Attendance: 1,126,145 (9th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 92, Pitching - 92 · one-year: Batting - 95, Pitching - 95

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1977 / 1979 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 74-88, Final Rank:5, GB: 21.0
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind25last on Sunday, Sep 24, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5001last on Saturday, May 20
Most Games under .50018last on Sunday, Sep 24
Longest Winning Streak8Monday, Jul 24 to Tuesday, Aug 1
Longest Losing Streak7Wednesday, Jul 19 to Sunday, Jul 23
Most Runs Allowed14Friday, Sep 1
Most Runs Scored13Saturday, May 20
Longest Game (innings)14Friday, May 12
Times Shutout by Opponent9 
Times Opponent Shutout17 
Walkoff Wins11 
Walkoff Losses11 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 74 88 605 634 .457
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 50 31 327 254 .617
Road 24 57 278 380 .296
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 10 12 81 96 .455
May 10 13 83 85 .435
June 13 14 110 107 .481
July 15 17 119 143 .469
August 14 14 108 97 .500
September 11 18 101 106 .379
October 1 0 3 01.000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 36 46 314 338 .439
Second Half 38 42 291 296 .475
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 66 81 545 575 .449
ExtraInning 8 7 60 59 .533
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 27 33 185 191 .450
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 18 18 165 170 .500
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 10 8 66 38 .556
CHC 6 6 55 53 .500
CIN 7 11 77 79 .389
LAD 7 11 63 82 .389
MON 6 6 34 53 .500
NYM 7 5 58 51 .583
PHI 6 6 42 46 .500
PIT 4 8 46 55 .333
SDP 8 10 65 69 .444
SFG 6 12 40 62 .333
STL 7 5 59 46 .583

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 6 boxscore HOU @ CIN L 9 11 0-1 6 1.0 Borbon Richard Tomlin 2:53 D 52,378 -
2 2 Friday, Apr 7 boxscore HOU @ CIN L 4 5 0-2 6 2.0 Bonham Niekro Borbon 2:25 N 22,883 --
3 3 Saturday, Apr 8 boxscore HOU @ CIN L 1 2 0-3 6 3.0 Norman Andujar Bair 2:24 D 17,958 ---
4 4 Sunday, Apr 9 boxscore HOU @ CIN L 3 9 0-4 6 4.0 Hume Lemongello 2:10 D 42,667 ----
5 5 Monday, Apr 10 boxscore HOU LAD L 2 5 0-5 6 4.5 Rau Bannister Forster 2:24 N 22,882 -----
6 6 Tuesday, Apr 11 boxscore HOU LAD W 1 0 1-5 6 3.5 Richard Hooton 1:52 N 11,049 +
7 7 Wednesday, Apr 12 boxscore HOU LAD W-wo 11 10 2-5 5 3.5 Sambito Castillo 2:44 N 11,824 ++
8 8 Friday, Apr 14 boxscore HOU CIN L 4 8 2-6 5 5.0 Hume Andujar Murray 2:37 N 25,583 -
9 9 Saturday, Apr 15 boxscore HOU CIN W 6 1 3-6 5 4.0 Lemongello Capilla 2:09 N 34,858 +
10 10 Sunday, Apr 16 boxscore HOU CIN W-wo 4 3 13 4-6 4 3.0 Dixon Sarmiento 4:06 D 27,700 ++
11 11 Tuesday, Apr 18 boxscore HOU @ SDP W 5 1 5-6 4 3.5 Niekro Shirley 2:34 N 10,840 +++
12 12 Wednesday, Apr 19 boxscore HOU @ SDP W 2 1 6-6 4 2.5 Andujar Freisleben Sambito 2:48 N 12,129 ++++
13 13 Thursday, Apr 20 boxscore HOU @ LAD L 1 5 6-7 4 3.0 Rau Lemongello 2:13 N 24,049 -
14 14 Friday, Apr 21 boxscore HOU @ LAD W 8 6 7-7 4 2.0 Forsch Castillo 2:59 N 44,867 +
15 15 Saturday, Apr 22 boxscore HOU @ LAD L 1 5 7-8 4 3.0 Hooton Bannister 2:16 N 52,346 -
16 16 Sunday, Apr 23 boxscore HOU @ LAD L 3 7 7-9 5 4.0 Sutton Niekro 2:26 D 51,500 --
17 17 Monday, Apr 24 boxscore HOU SDP W-wo 4 3 10 8-9 4 3.5 Sambito Fingers 2:48 N 7,300 +
18 18 Tuesday, Apr 25 boxscore HOU SDP W 4 3 9-9 3 3.0 Lemongello Jones 2:01 N 7,459 ++
19 19 Wednesday, Apr 26 boxscore HOU SDP L 1 2 9-10 3 4.0 Perry Richard Fingers 2:37 N 8,769 -
20 20 Friday, Apr 28 boxscore HOU MON L 3 6 9-11 4 5.0 Grimsley Niekro 2:03 N 11,474 --
21 21 Saturday, Apr 29 boxscore HOU MON W 3 1 10-11 3 4.0 Andujar Rogers 2:13 N 46,215 +
22 22 Sunday, Apr 30 boxscore HOU MON L 1 2 10-12 4 4.0 May Lemongello Bahnsen 2:01 D 11,515 -
23 23 Wednesday, May 3 boxscore HOU @ MON L 3 10 10-13 4 4.5 Grimsley Richard 2:46 N 5,229 --
24 24 Friday, May 5 boxscore HOU @ ATL L 2 5 10-14 5 6.0 Boggs Niekro Solomon 2:29 N 5,699 ---
25 25 Saturday, May 6 boxscore HOU @ ATL L-wo 1 2 10 10-15 5 6.0 Campbell Forsch 2:45 N 7,901 ----
26 26 Tuesday, May 9 boxscore HOU @ PHI W 5 1 11-15 4 5.5 Richard Christenson 2:15 N 18,144 +
27 27 Wednesday, May 10 boxscore HOU @ PHI L 1 3 11-16 4 5.5 Lonborg Lemongello 2:09 N 20,096 -
28 28 Friday, May 12 boxscore HOU @ NYM W 5 4 14 12-16 4 4.5 Dixon Lockwood 4:21 N 8,649 +
29 29 Saturday, May 13 boxscore HOU @ NYM W 7 4 13-16 4 4.5 Niekro Bruhert Sambito 2:45 D 19,838 ++
30 30 Monday, May 15 boxscore HOU PHI W 5 0 14-16 4 5.0 Richard Lonborg 2:14 N 9,943 +++
31 31 Tuesday, May 16 boxscore HOU PHI W 6 1 15-16 4 5.0 Lemongello Carlton 2:31 N 11,381 ++++
32 32 Wednesday, May 17 boxscore HOU PHI W 2 1 16-16 4 5.0 Andujar Lerch Dixon 2:14 N 11,856 +++++
33 33 Thursday, May 18 boxscore HOU PHI L &V 5 8 16-17 4 5.5 Garber Sambito 2:36 N 10,828 -
34 34 Friday, May 19 boxscore HOU ATL W 6 0 17-17 4 5.5 Bannister Ruthven 2:28 N 15,609 +
35 35 Saturday, May 20 boxscore HOU ATL W 13 0 18-17 4 4.5 Richard Boggs 2:33 N 24,402 ++
36 36 Sunday, May 21 boxscore HOU ATL L 4 6 18-18 4 4.5 Niekro Lemongello Devine 2:17 D 11,715 -
37 37 Tuesday, May 23 boxscore HOU @ SFG L-wo 2 3 18-19 4 5.5 Moffitt Sambito 2:12 N 11,120 --
38 38 Wednesday, May 24 boxscore HOU @ SFG L 0 2 18-20 4 6.5 Montefusco Forsch Lavelle 2:09 D 6,158 ---
39 39 Thursday, May 25 boxscore HOU @ SFG L 1 9 18-21 4 7.5 Halicki Richard 2:23 D 6,209 ----
40 40 Friday, May 26 boxscore HOU NYM W 5 4 19-21 4 7.5 Lemongello Koosman Forsch 2:20 N 11,158 +
41 41 Saturday, May 27 boxscore HOU NYM L 7 9 19-22 4 7.5 Metzger Sambito Murray 2:47 N 26,742 -
42 42 Sunday, May 28 boxscore HOU NYM L 1 4 19-23 4 8.5 Espinosa Dixon 2:03 D 12,133 --
43 43 Monday, May 29 boxscore HOU SFG L 1 8 19-24 4 9.5 Halicki Bannister 2:16 N 10,012 ---
44 44 Tuesday, May 30 boxscore HOU SFG L 0 1 19-25 4 10.5 Knepper Richard 2:12 N 8,019 ----
45 45 Wednesday, May 31 boxscore HOU SFG W-wo 1 0 20-25 4 9.5 Lemongello Blue 1:54 N 11,400 +
46 46 Friday, Jun 2 boxscore HOU STL W-wo 2 1 21-25 4 9.5 Sambito Denny 2:00 N 10,315 ++
47 47 Saturday, Jun 3 (1) boxscore HOU STL W 5 2 22-25 4 9.0 Bannister Falcone Forsch 2:51 N 0 +++
48 48 Saturday, Jun 3 (2) boxscore HOU STL L 1 2 22-26 4 9.0 Vuckovich Dixon 1:47 N 27,822 -
49 49 Sunday, Jun 4 boxscore HOU STL L 2 4 22-27 5 10.0 Martinez Richard Schultz 2:14 D 10,238 --
50 50 Monday, Jun 5 boxscore HOU @ CHC L-wo 1 2 22-28 5 10.0 Hernandez Lemongello 2:27 D 10,201 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Tuesday, Jun 6 boxscore HOU @ CHC L 4 9 22-29 5 10.0 Roberts Andujar 2:20 D 14,107 ----
52 52 Friday, Jun 9 boxscore HOU @ STL W 11 7 23-29 4 8.5 Richard Frazier Forsch 3:10 N 40,764 +
53 53 Saturday, Jun 10 boxscore HOU @ STL W 12 5 24-29 4 8.5 Lemongello Forsch 2:31 N 18,485 ++
54 54 Sunday, Jun 11 boxscore HOU @ STL L 3 5 24-30 4 9.5 Denny Andujar 2:01 D 17,298 -
55 55 Monday, Jun 12 boxscore HOU PIT W 6 5 25-30 4 9.5 Williams Whitson Sambito 3:14 N 9,886 +
56 56 Tuesday, Jun 13 boxscore HOU PIT W 2 1 26-30 4 9.5 Forsch Bibby Sambito 2:25 N 10,487 ++
57 57 Wednesday, Jun 14 boxscore HOU PIT L 4 6 26-31 4 10.5 Whitson Richard Tekulve 2:59 N 12,440 -
58 58 Friday, Jun 16 boxscore HOU CHC L 6 7 13 26-32 4 12.0 Reuschel Williams 3:56 N 18,948 --
59 59 Saturday, Jun 17 boxscore HOU CHC W 5 4 27-32 4 11.0 Niekro Hernandez 2:20 N 28,091 +
60 60 Sunday, Jun 18 boxscore HOU CHC W 3 1 28-32 4 11.5 Dixon Lamp Sambito 2:16 N 14,770 ++
61 61 Tuesday, Jun 20 boxscore HOU @ LAD W 5 3 29-32 4 10.5 Richard John McLaughlin 2:32 N 41,991 +++
62 62 Wednesday, Jun 21 boxscore HOU @ LAD L-wo 4 5 11 29-33 4 11.5 Welch Sambito 3:23 N 34,975 -
63 63 Thursday, Jun 22 boxscore HOU @ LAD W 4 3 30-33 4 10.5 Niekro Rau 2:23 D 31,246 +
64 64 Friday, Jun 23 boxscore HOU @ SDP L 0 3 30-34 4 11.5 Perry Dixon 2:08 N 12,055 -
65 65 Saturday, Jun 24 boxscore HOU @ SDP L-wo 5 6 10 30-35 4 12.5 Fingers Forsch 3:11 N 15,759 --
66 66 Sunday, Jun 25 (1) boxscore HOU @ SDP L 1 6 30-36 5 13.5 Shirley Richard 1:55 D 0 ---
67 67 Sunday, Jun 25 (2) boxscore HOU @ SDP L 4 7 30-37 5 13.5 Rasmussen McLaughlin D'Acquisto 2:57 D 20,342 ----
68 68 Monday, Jun 26 boxscore HOU CIN L 3 4 30-38 5 13.5 Seaver Lemongello Tomlin 2:24 N 20,388 -----
69 69 Tuesday, Jun 27 boxscore HOU CIN W 7 4 31-38 5 13.5 Niekro Bonham Sambito 2:24 N 16,848 +
70 70 Wednesday, Jun 28 boxscore HOU CIN W 3 0 32-38 5 13.0 Dixon Norman 2:10 N 16,622 ++
71 71 Thursday, Jun 29 boxscore HOU CIN W 5 0 33-38 5 12.5 Bannister Hume 2:20 N 17,564 +++
72 72 Friday, Jun 30 boxscore HOU SDP L 2 5 33-39 5 12.0 Shirley Richard Fingers 2:34 N 9,194 -
73 73 Saturday, Jul 1 (1) boxscore HOU SDP W 9 2 34-39 5 12.5 Lemongello Owchinko 2:17 N 0 +
74 74 Saturday, Jul 1 (2) boxscore HOU SDP L 3 9 34-40 5 12.5 Wiley Niekro D'Acquisto 2:33 N 22,076 -
75 75 Sunday, Jul 2 boxscore HOU SDP L 2 6 34-41 5 12.5 Perry Dixon Fingers 2:48 D 14,737 --
76 76 Monday, Jul 3 boxscore HOU @ CIN L-wo 7 8 11 34-42 5 12.5 Bair Sambito 3:23 N 31,840 ---
77 77 Tuesday, Jul 4 boxscore HOU @ CIN W 3 1 35-42 5 11.5 Richard Hume 2:17 N 31,705 +
78 78 Wednesday, Jul 5 boxscore HOU @ CIN L 1 2 35-43 5 12.5 Moskau Niekro Bair 2:26 N 30,320 -
79 79 Friday, Jul 7 boxscore HOU LAD L 4 7 35-44 5 13.5 Rau Lemongello Hough 2:11 N 20,707 --
80 80 Saturday, Jul 8 (1) boxscore HOU LAD L 1 7 35-45 5 15.0 Hooton Bannister 2:29 N 0 ---
81 81 Saturday, Jul 8 (2) boxscore HOU LAD L 5 7 35-46 5 15.0 John Dixon 2:32 N 37,073 ----
82 82 Sunday, Jul 9 boxscore HOU LAD W 5 1 36-46 5 14.0 Richard Sutton 2:30 D 30,285 +
83 83 Thursday, Jul 13 boxscore HOU @ MON L 0 6 36-47 6 15.0 Grimsley Niekro 2:18 N 15,337 -
84 84 Friday, Jul 14 (1) boxscore HOU @ MON W 4 3 13 37-47 5 13.5 Forsch Bahnsen 3:59 N 0 +
85 85 Friday, Jul 14 (2) boxscore HOU @ MON W 5 4 10 38-47 5 13.5 Forsch Pirtle McLaughlin 2:50 N 21,696 ++
86 86 Saturday, Jul 15 boxscore HOU @ MON L 0 8 38-48 6 14.5 Fryman Dixon 2:08 N 15,360 -
87 87 Sunday, Jul 16 boxscore HOU @ MON L 1 6 38-49 6 15.0 Schatzeder Bannister 2:35 D 21,440 --
88 88 Monday, Jul 17 boxscore HOU PHI W-wo 2 1 11 39-49 6 15.0 Niekro Eastwick 2:35 N 14,397 +
89 89 Tuesday, Jul 18 boxscore HOU PHI W 9 1 40-49 6 14.0 Richard Lonborg 2:28 N 15,478 ++
90 90 Wednesday, Jul 19 (1) boxscore HOU @ NYM W 8 3 41-49 6 14.0 Dixon Zachry Sambito 2:46 N 0 +++
91 91 Wednesday, Jul 19 (2) boxscore HOU @ NYM L 1 2 41-50 6 14.0 Swan Lemongello 2:09 N 13,539 -
92 92 Thursday, Jul 20 (1) boxscore HOU @ NYM L 4 7 41-51 6 15.5 Bruhert Bannister Lockwood 2:32 D 0 --
93 93 Thursday, Jul 20 (2) boxscore HOU @ NYM L-wo 4 5 11 41-52 6 15.5 Murray Sambito 3:00 D 13,341 ---
94 94 Friday, Jul 21 (1) boxscore HOU @ PHI L 1 6 41-53 6 16.0 Ruthven Niekro 2:35 N 0 ----
95 95 Friday, Jul 21 (2) boxscore HOU @ PHI L 2 8 41-54 6 16.0 Christenson Williams 2:07 N 35,389 -----
96 96 Saturday, Jul 22 boxscore HOU @ PHI L-wo 2 3 10 41-55 6 17.0 Reed Forsch 2:56 N 33,672 ------
97 97 Sunday, Jul 23 boxscore HOU @ PHI L 2 13 41-56 6 18.0 Carlton Dixon 2:27 D 30,554 -------
98 98 Monday, Jul 24 boxscore HOU MON W-wo 6 5 42-56 6 17.5 Forsch Knowles 2:39 N 7,843 +
99 99 Tuesday, Jul 25 boxscore HOU MON W-wo 3 2 13 43-56 6 17.5 Forsch Twitchell 3:25 N 8,383 ++
100 100 Wednesday, Jul 26 boxscore HOU MON W 5 0 44-56 6 16.5 Niekro Grimsley 2:05 N 8,465 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Jul 27 boxscore HOU NYM W 8 3 45-56 6 16.0 Richard Hausman 2:21 N 9,730 ++++
102 102 Friday, Jul 28 boxscore HOU NYM W-wo 4 3 10 46-56 6 15.0 Sambito Lockwood 2:44 N 26,779 +++++
103 103 Sunday, Jul 30 boxscore HOU NYM W-wo 4 3 47-56 6 15.0 Andujar Bernard 2:33 N 17,502 ++++++
104 104 Monday, Jul 31 boxscore HOU SFG W 4 1 48-56 5 14.0 Niekro Halicki 2:08 N 12,900 +++++++
105 105 Tuesday, Aug 1 boxscore HOU SFG W 4 2 49-56 5 13.0 Richard Knepper Sambito 2:39 N 16,515 ++++++++
106 106 Wednesday, Aug 2 boxscore HOU SFG L 2 4 49-57 5 14.0 Montefusco Dixon 2:17 N 14,754 -
107 107 Friday, Aug 4 boxscore HOU @ ATL L 2 7 49-58 6 15.5 Niekro Lemongello 2:30 N 11,282 --
108 108 Saturday, Aug 5 (1) boxscore HOU @ ATL W 5 3 50-58 5 14.0 Niekro Hanna Forsch 2:48 N 0 +
109 109 Saturday, Aug 5 (2) boxscore HOU @ ATL W 7 0 51-58 5 14.0 Ruhle Boggs 1:59 N 20,950 ++
110 110 Sunday, Aug 6 boxscore HOU @ ATL L 2 3 51-59 5 14.0 McWilliams Richard Garber 2:24 D 8,551 -
111 111 Tuesday, Aug 8 boxscore HOU @ SFG L 2 3 51-60 6 15.0 Montefusco Dixon Moffitt 2:25 N 31,904 --
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 9 boxscore HOU @ SFG W 6 5 52-60 6 14.0 Lemongello Barr Forsch 2:30 D 13,757 +
113 113 Friday, Aug 11 boxscore HOU ATL L 0 1 52-61 6 14.5 McWilliams Niekro Garber 2:27 N 16,035 -
114 114 Saturday, Aug 12 boxscore HOU ATL W 5 2 53-61 6 13.5 Richard Niekro 2:00 N 25,023 +
115 115 Sunday, Aug 13 boxscore HOU ATL W 3 0 54-61 5 13.5 Ruhle Hanna 2:09 D 15,878 ++
116 116 Monday, Aug 14 boxscore HOU @ STL W 6 0 55-61 5 13.0 Dixon Forsch 2:11 N 12,555 +++
117 117 Tuesday, Aug 15 boxscore HOU @ STL L 5 11 55-62 5 13.0 Lopez Bannister 2:39 N 12,606 -
118 118 Wednesday, Aug 16 boxscore HOU @ STL W 4 2 56-62 5 13.0 Niekro Martinez 2:24 D 10,829 +
119 119 Thursday, Aug 17 (1) boxscore HOU @ PIT L 1 5 56-63 5 14.5 Robinson Richard 2:12 N 0 -
120 120 Thursday, Aug 17 (2) boxscore HOU @ PIT L 2 3 56-64 5 14.5 Kison Lemongello Tekulve 2:36 N 8,470 --
121 121 Friday, Aug 18 boxscore HOU @ PIT L 3 6 56-65 5 15.5 Bibby Ruhle Tekulve 2:39 N 8,632 ---
122 122 Saturday, Aug 19 boxscore HOU @ PIT L 2 4 56-66 5 15.5 Blyleven Bannister Tekulve 2:29 N 22,015 ----
123 123 Sunday, Aug 20 (1) boxscore HOU @ PIT L 6 7 56-67 6 17.0 Rooker Dixon Tekulve 2:45 D 0 -----
124 124 Sunday, Aug 20 (2) boxscore HOU @ PIT L 1 3 56-68 6 17.0 Reuss Niekro 2:27 D 21,851 ------
125 125 Monday, Aug 21 boxscore HOU CHC W 8 3 57-68 5 16.0 Richard Reuschel 2:27 N 9,906 +
126 126 Tuesday, Aug 22 boxscore HOU CHC W 2 1 58-68 5 15.5 Lemongello Krukow 2:06 N 9,721 ++
127 127 Wednesday, Aug 23 boxscore HOU CHC W 3 0 59-68 5 15.5 Forsch Lamp Sambito 2:06 N 9,217 +++
128 128 Friday, Aug 25 boxscore HOU PIT W 7 5 60-68 5 16.0 Niekro Rooker Andujar 2:51 N 11,641 ++++
129 129 Saturday, Aug 26 boxscore HOU PIT W 7 2 61-68 5 15.0 Richard Kison 2:18 D 9,985 +++++
130 130 Sunday, Aug 27 boxscore HOU PIT L 5 8 61-69 5 15.0 Jackson Lemongello Tekulve 2:59 D 10,947 -
131 131 Tuesday, Aug 29 boxscore HOU STL W 6 3 62-69 5 15.5 Forsch Vuckovich 2:14 N 6,692 +
132 132 Wednesday, Aug 30 boxscore HOU STL L 2 4 62-70 5 16.5 Forsch Niekro 2:06 N 6,480 -
133 133 Friday, Sep 1 boxscore HOU @ CHC L 11 14 62-71 5 17.5 Hernandez Sambito Sutter 3:33 D 16,117 --
134 134 Saturday, Sep 2 boxscore HOU @ CHC W 8 5 63-71 5 17.0 Andujar Sutter Sambito 3:02 D 24,064 +
135 135 Sunday, Sep 3 (1) boxscore HOU @ CHC L 2 3 63-72 5 17.5 Lamp Forsch Hernandez 2:20 D 0 -
136 136 Sunday, Sep 3 (2) boxscore HOU @ CHC L 2 4 63-73 5 17.5 Moore Ruhle Hernandez 3:17 D 29,528 --
137 137 Monday, Sep 4 boxscore HOU CIN L 3 6 63-74 5 18.5 Bonham Niekro Bair 2:47 N 11,090 ---
138 138 Tuesday, Sep 5 boxscore HOU CIN W-wo 3 2 64-74 5 18.0 Richard Seaver 2:11 N 8,811 +
139 139 Thursday, Sep 7 boxscore HOU LAD L 2 3 64-75 5 19.5 Hooton Lemongello Forster 2:13 N 7,846 -
140 140 Friday, Sep 8 boxscore HOU LAD W 5 0 65-75 5 18.5 Forsch Welch 1:45 N 12,905 +
141 141 Saturday, Sep 9 boxscore HOU SDP W 10 4 66-75 5 17.5 Niekro Mura 2:49 N 8,240 ++
142 142 Sunday, Sep 10 boxscore HOU SDP W 3 2 67-75 5 17.5 Richard Rasmussen 2:23 D 5,720 +++
143 143 Monday, Sep 11 boxscore HOU @ CIN L-wo 8 9 67-76 5 18.5 Tomlin Andujar 2:47 N 20,400 -
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 12 boxscore HOU @ CIN L-wo 3 4 67-77 5 19.5 Bair Sambito 2:20 D 20,801 --
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 13 boxscore HOU @ LAD L 0 6 67-78 5 20.5 Welch Forsch 1:53 N 27,063 ---
146 146 Thursday, Sep 14 boxscore HOU @ LAD L 1 2 67-79 5 21.5 Rhoden Niekro Forster 2:27 N 37,423 ----
147 147 Friday, Sep 15 boxscore HOU @ SDP W 8 4 68-79 5 21.5 Richard Rasmussen 2:27 N 6,866 +
148 148 Saturday, Sep 16 boxscore HOU @ SDP L-wo 1 2 68-80 5 22.5 Perry Sambito 2:23 N 10,171 -
149 149 Sunday, Sep 17 boxscore HOU @ SDP L 1 3 68-81 5 22.5 Jones Lemongello Fingers 1:58 D 10,004 --
150 150 Tuesday, Sep 19 boxscore HOU ATL L 2 3 68-82 5 23.0 Garber Andujar 2:24 N 5,710 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Wednesday, Sep 20 boxscore HOU ATL L 2 3 68-83 5 23.0 Garber Niekro 2:11 N 3,950 ----
152 152 Thursday, Sep 21 boxscore HOU ATL W 2 0 69-83 5 22.5 Forsch Niekro 1:47 N 3,775 +
153 153 Friday, Sep 22 boxscore HOU @ SFG L 0 2 69-84 5 22.5 Knepper Ruhle 2:04 N 4,510 -
154 154 Saturday, Sep 23 boxscore HOU @ SFG L 2 3 69-85 5 23.5 Lavelle Andujar Moffitt 2:26 D 6,433 --
155 155 Sunday, Sep 24 (1) boxscore HOU @ SFG L 0 7 69-86 5 25.0 Blue Bannister 1:51 D 0 ---
156 156 Sunday, Sep 24 (2) boxscore HOU @ SFG L 4 6 69-87 5 25.0 Barr Dixon 3:19 D 25,276 ----
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 26 boxscore HOU @ ATL W 2 0 70-87 5 24.0 Niekro Niekro Forsch 2:15 N 3,089 +
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 27 boxscore HOU @ ATL W 4 0 71-87 5 23.0 Ruhle LaCorte 2:08 N 2,710 ++
159 159 Thursday, Sep 28 boxscore HOU @ ATL W 4 3 72-87 5 22.0 Richard McWilliams Forsch 2:14 N 2,560 +++
160 160 Friday, Sep 29 boxscore HOU SFG L 1 2 72-88 5 22.0 Halicki Warthen 1:58 N 8,339 -
161 161 Saturday, Sep 30 boxscore HOU SFG W 7 4 73-88 5 22.0 Dixon Blue Sambito 2:18 N 10,182 +
162 162 Sunday, Oct 1 boxscore HOU SFG W 3 0 74-88 5 21.0 Niekro Nastu Lemongello 1:41 D 7,077 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1977 / 1979 Schedule and Results