Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1977 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1977 Detroit Tigers

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1976 / 1978

74-88, Finished 4th in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Ralph Houk (74-88)
GM: Jim Campbell, Farm Dir: Hoot Evers, Scouting Dir: Bill Lajoie
Scored 714 runs, Allowed 751 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 77-85

Ballparks: Tiger Stadium · Attendance: 1,359,856 (7th of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 105, Pitching - 105 · one-year: Batting - 105, Pitching - 105

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1976 / 1978 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 74-88, Final Rank:4, GB: 26.0
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind27last on Thursday, Sep 29, for days on which they played
Most Games over .500never
Most Games under .50015last on Thursday, Sep 29
Longest Winning Streak5Sunday, Jun 26 to Friday, Jul 1 and Friday, Aug 19 to Tuesday, Aug 23
Longest Losing Streak6Tuesday, May 24 to Monday, May 30, Monday, Jul 4 to Saturday, Jul 9, Thursday, Sep 8 to Monday, Sep 12 and Friday, Sep 23 to Thursday, Sep 29
Most Runs Allowed16Saturday, Apr 9
Most Runs Scored14Sunday, May 22
Longest Game (innings)14Tuesday, Apr 26
Times Shutout by Opponent10 
Times Opponent Shutout3 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 74 88 714 751 .457
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 39 42 369 401 .481
Road 35 46 345 350 .432
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 8 12 87 113 .400
May 10 14 98 101 .417
June 16 12 122 97 .571
July 12 17 138 135 .414
August 17 12 141 126 .586
September 10 20 111 164 .333
October 1 1 17 15 .500
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 41 50 395 400 .451
Second Half 33 38 319 351 .465
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 67 75 623 645 .472
ExtraInning 7 13 91 106 .350
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 23 27 208 212 .460
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 15 17 167 179 .469
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 3 12 43 69 .200
BOS 6 9 54 76 .400
CAL 6 4 50 41 .600
CHW 6 4 62 57 .600
CLE 7 8 51 64 .467
KCR 3 8 40 69 .273
MIL 10 5 65 46 .667
MIN 5 5 51 59 .500
NYY 6 9 81 79 .400
OAK 5 5 47 48 .500
SEA 5 6 47 33 .455
TEX 2 8 34 56 .200
TOR 10 5 89 54 .667

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 7 boxscore DET KCR L 4 7 0-1 4 1.0 Splittorff Roberts Littell 2:30 D 46,807 -
2 2 Saturday, Apr 9 boxscore DET KCR L 2 16 0-2 6 1.5 Hassler Bare Leonard 3:00 D 9,240 --
3 3 Sunday, Apr 10 boxscore DET KCR L 0 5 0-3 6 2.5 Colborn Ruhle Gura 2:12 D 7,804 ---
4 4 Monday, Apr 11 boxscore DET @ TOR L 3 5 0-4 7 3.0 Hargan Hiller 2:09 D 29,132 ----
5 5 Tuesday, Apr 12 boxscore DET @ TOR W 6 1 1-4 6 2.0 Roberts Singer 2:19 D 11,505 +
6 6 Wednesday, Apr 13 boxscore DET @ TOR L 6 7 1-5 6 3.0 Lemanczyk Arroyo Willis 2:27 D 12,113 -
7 7 Thursday, Apr 14 boxscore DET @ TOR L 3 5 1-6 7 4.0 Garvin Hiller 2:05 D 13,369 --
8 8 Friday, Apr 15 boxscore DET @ KCR W 4 3 2-6 6 3.0 Ruhle Colborn Foucault 2:27 N 15,955 +
9 9 Saturday, Apr 16 boxscore DET @ KCR W 8 5 3-6 4 3.0 Hiller Mingori 2:33 N 23,753 ++
10 10 Sunday, Apr 17 boxscore DET @ KCR L 5 6 3-7 6 4.0 Gura Roberts Littell 2:17 D 15,868 -
11 11 Monday, Apr 18 boxscore DET @ BOS L 3 5 3-8 6 4.5 Jenkins Arroyo Willoughby 2:26 D 30,059 --
12 12 Tuesday, Apr 19 boxscore DET @ BOS L 3 11 3-9 6 5.5 Stanley Bare 2:28 N 16,941 ---
13 13 Wednesday, Apr 20 boxscore DET @ BOS W 3 2 4-9 6 4.5 Ruhle Tiant Hiller 2:17 N 20,289 +
14 14 Thursday, Apr 21 boxscore DET @ BOS W 8 0 5-9 6 4.0 Rozema Cleveland 2:10 D 24,903 ++
15 15 Sunday, Apr 24 (1) boxscore DET BAL L 1 3 5-10 6 4.5 Palmer Roberts 2:04 D 17,115 -
16 16 Sunday, Apr 24 (2) boxscore DET BAL W 2 1 6-10 6 4.5 Ruhle Flanagan Hiller 1:53 D 17,115 +
17 17 Tuesday, Apr 26 boxscore DET CHW L 7 10 14 6-11 6 4.5 LaGrow Foucault 3:58 D 6,396 -
18 18 Wednesday, Apr 27 boxscore DET CHW W 10 9 7-11 6 4.5 Arroyo Dal Canton 2:22 D 5,868 +
19 19 Friday, Apr 29 boxscore DET @ MIN W 6 5 10 8-11 6 4.5 Foucault Johnson Hiller 3:00 N 10,240 ++
20 20 Saturday, Apr 30 boxscore DET @ MIN L 3 7 8-12 6 4.5 Zahn Roberts 2:22 D 9,596 -
21 21 Sunday, May 1 boxscore DET @ MIN L 5 6 8-13 6 5.0 Holly Hiller 2:02 D 8,637 --
22 22 Tuesday, May 3 boxscore DET TEX L 0 13 8-14 6 6.5 Blyleven Ruhle 2:14 N 12,272 ---
23 23 Friday, May 6 boxscore DET MIL W 5 2 9-14 6 4.5 Roberts Augustine Foucault 2:13 N 12,817 +
24 24 Saturday, May 7 boxscore DET MIL W 6 2 10-14 5 4.5 Rozema Travers 2:14 D 15,391 ++
25 25 Sunday, May 8 boxscore DET MIL L 4 7 10-15 5 5.5 Haas Ruhle Castro 2:41 D 27,783 -
26 26 Tuesday, May 10 boxscore DET MIN L 5 7 10-16 6 6.0 Holly Sykes Burgmeier 2:22 N 8,358 --
27 27 Wednesday, May 11 boxscore DET MIN W 8 3 11-16 6 5.0 Roberts Zahn 2:16 N 7,893 +
28 28 Thursday, May 12 boxscore DET @ MIL W 9 1 12-16 6 4.0 Rozema Travers 2:26 N 6,390 ++
29 29 Friday, May 13 boxscore DET @ MIL L 3 9 12-17 6 5.0 Haas Ruhle 2:15 N 12,153 -
30 30 Saturday, May 14 boxscore DET @ MIL W 3 2 13-17 5 5.0 Arroyo Cort Hiller 2:23 D 12,632 +
31 31 Sunday, May 15 (1) boxscore DET @ MIL W 5 3 10 14-17 5 5.0 Foucault Slaton 2:28 D 0 ++
32 32 Sunday, May 15 (2) boxscore DET @ MIL L 2 3 10 14-18 5 5.0 Augustine Roberts 2:18 D 47,732 -
33 33 Tuesday, May 17 boxscore DET @ TEX L 1 3 14-19 5 5.0 Alexander Rozema 2:14 N 10,826 --
34 34 Wednesday, May 18 boxscore DET @ TEX L 3 6 14-20 5 5.5 Perry Hiller 2:37 N 10,090 ---
35 35 Friday, May 20 boxscore DET @ CHW W 7 4 15-20 5 5.0 Foucault Brett 2:11 N 17,225 +
36 36 Saturday, May 21 boxscore DET @ CHW W 3 2 16-20 5 4.5 Arroyo Barrios 2:26 N 20,790 ++
37 37 Sunday, May 22 boxscore DET @ CHW W 14 3 17-20 5 4.0 Rozema Wood 2:56 D 31,030 +++
38 38 Tuesday, May 24 boxscore DET CAL L 1 2 17-21 5 5.5 Ryan Hiller 2:31 N 14,194 -
39 39 Wednesday, May 25 boxscore DET CAL L 0 4 17-22 5 6.0 Tanana Roberts 2:21 N 13,150 --
40 40 Friday, May 27 boxscore DET SEA L 1 2 17-23 6 7.0 Abbott Fidrych Kekich 1:41 N 44,207 ---
41 41 Saturday, May 28 boxscore DET SEA L 1 3 17-24 6 8.0 Pole Rozema Laxton 1:59 D 15,820 ----
42 42 Sunday, May 29 boxscore DET SEA L 4 6 17-25 6 8.0 Thomas Foucault 2:42 D 11,778 -----
43 43 Monday, May 30 boxscore DET OAK L 3 6 17-26 6 9.0 Ellis Roberts Coleman 2:30 N 12,026 ------
44 44 Tuesday, May 31 boxscore DET OAK W 5 2 18-26 6 8.0 Hiller Blue Foucault 2:21 N 7,067 +
45 45 Wednesday, Jun 1 boxscore DET CLE L 4 6 18-27 6 8.0 Bibby Fidrych Monge 2:18 N 17,718 -
46 46 Thursday, Jun 2 boxscore DET CLE W 4 2 19-27 6 7.0 Rozema Dobson Foucault 2:28 N 7,274 +
47 47 Saturday, Jun 4 boxscore DET @ CAL W 9 6 20-27 6 7.0 Hiller Ryan 2:56 N 30,331 ++
48 48 Sunday, Jun 5 boxscore DET @ CAL L 1 5 20-28 6 7.0 Tanana Arroyo 2:31 N 21,032 -
49 49 Monday, Jun 6 boxscore DET @ CAL W 8 0 21-28 6 7.0 Fidrych Ross 2:19 N 38,551 +
50 50 Tuesday, Jun 7 boxscore DET @ SEA W 5 2 22-28 6 6.0 Rozema Abbott Foucault 2:23 N 10,050 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 8 boxscore DET @ SEA L 2 3 22-29 6 7.0 Kekich Hiller 1:59 N 11,211 -
52 52 Thursday, Jun 9 boxscore DET @ SEA L 1 2 22-30 6 8.0 Romo Sykes 2:18 N 10,840 --
53 53 Friday, Jun 10 boxscore DET @ OAK W 6 4 23-30 6 8.0 Arroyo Langford Foucault 2:29 N 3,799 +
54 54 Saturday, Jun 11 boxscore DET @ OAK W 5 1 24-30 6 8.0 Fidrych Ellis 2:06 D 18,164 ++
55 55 Sunday, Jun 12 boxscore DET @ OAK L 1 7 24-31 6 8.0 Blue Rozema 2:15 D 5,120 -
56 56 Tuesday, Jun 14 boxscore DET TOR W 7 2 25-31 5 8.0 Hiller Jefferson 2:01 N 11,808 +
57 57 Wednesday, Jun 15 boxscore DET TOR W 9 0 26-31 5 7.5 Arroyo Lemanczyk 2:07 N 11,349 ++
58 58 Thursday, Jun 16 boxscore DET TOR W 4 1 27-31 5 7.0 Fidrych Garvin 1:39 N 26,041 +++
59 59 Friday, Jun 17 boxscore DET @ CLE L 5 8 12 27-32 5 7.5 Kern Crawford 3:15 N 21,452 -
60 60 Saturday, Jun 18 boxscore DET @ CLE L 4 5 27-33 6 8.5 Eckersley Foucault 2:35 D 16,062 --
61 61 Sunday, Jun 19 (1) boxscore DET @ CLE L 2 4 27-34 6 10.0 Garland Hiller 2:08 D 0 ---
62 62 Sunday, Jun 19 (2) boxscore DET @ CLE L 0 4 27-35 6 10.0 Bibby Arroyo 2:23 D 33,243 ----
63 63 Monday, Jun 20 boxscore DET NYY W 2 1 28-35 6 10.0 Fidrych Gullett 2:33 N 47,236 +
64 64 Tuesday, Jun 21 boxscore DET NYY W 5 2 29-35 6 10.0 Crawford Guidry 2:07 N 19,272 ++
65 65 Wednesday, Jun 22 boxscore DET NYY L 11 12 29-36 6 11.0 Lyle Foucault Clay 2:44 N 18,129 -
66 66 Friday, Jun 24 boxscore DET CLE L 2 4 29-37 6 11.5 Bibby Arroyo 2:13 N 22,533 --
67 67 Saturday, Jun 25 boxscore DET CLE W 6 4 30-37 6 10.5 Fidrych Dobson 2:19 D 37,279 +
68 68 Sunday, Jun 26 (1) boxscore DET CLE L 2 5 30-38 6 10.0 Waits Hiller Kern 2:48 D 0 -
69 69 Sunday, Jun 26 (2) boxscore DET CLE W 3 2 31-38 6 10.0 Sykes Garland 1:58 D 30,582 +
70 70 Monday, Jun 27 boxscore DET BOS W 4 1 32-38 6 9.0 Roberts Wise 2:09 N 14,433 ++
71 71 Tuesday, Jun 28 boxscore DET BOS W 3 2 33-38 6 8.0 Crawford Campbell 2:14 N 13,403 +++
72 72 Wednesday, Jun 29 boxscore DET BOS W 7 2 34-38 6 7.0 Fidrych Lee 2:13 N 51,745 ++++
73 73 Friday, Jul 1 boxscore DET @ NYY W 5 1 35-38 6 6.0 Rozema Torrez 2:07 N 22,876 +++++
74 74 Saturday, Jul 2 boxscore DET @ NYY L 4 6 35-39 6 6.5 Lyle Hiller 2:14 D 20,825 -
75 75 Sunday, Jul 3 (1) boxscore DET @ NYY L 0 2 35-40 6 6.5 Guidry Arroyo 2:15 D 42,549 --
76 76 Sunday, Jul 3 (2) boxscore DET @ NYY W 10 6 36-40 6 6.5 Foucault Tidrow 2:47 D 42,549 +
77 77 Monday, Jul 4 boxscore DET @ BAL L 4 6 36-41 6 7.5 May Fidrych Martinez 1:59 N 45,339 -
78 78 Tuesday, Jul 5 (1) boxscore DET @ BAL L 1 2 36-42 6 9.0 Palmer Rozema 2:16 N 0 --
79 79 Tuesday, Jul 5 (2) boxscore DET @ BAL L 5 6 12 36-43 6 9.0 Drago Crawford 3:35 N 11,565 ---
80 80 Wednesday, Jul 6 boxscore DET @ BAL L 0 2 36-44 6 9.5 Flanagan Roberts 1:52 N 7,341 ----
81 81 Friday, Jul 8 boxscore DET CHW L 7 10 36-45 6 11.0 Kirkwood Fidrych 2:38 N 45,993 -----
82 82 Saturday, Jul 9 boxscore DET CHW L 2 5 36-46 6 11.0 Kravec Arroyo LaGrow 2:31 N 21,526 ------
83 83 Sunday, Jul 10 boxscore DET CHW W 6 5 10 37-46 6 10.5 Wilcox Hamilton 3:02 D 21,008 +
84 84 Monday, Jul 11 boxscore DET TOR W 9 7 38-46 6 10.5 Grilli DeBarr 2:30 N 9,057 ++
85 85 Tuesday, Jul 12 boxscore DET TOR W 2 1 39-46 5 9.5 Crawford Jefferson 1:59 D 25,007 +++
86 86 Wednesday, Jul 13 boxscore DET @ KCR L 4 6 39-47 6 10.5 Bird Arroyo Littell 2:28 N 19,418 -
87 87 Thursday, Jul 14 boxscore DET @ KCR L 3 4 39-48 6 11.5 Colborn Sykes Gura 2:11 N 20,755 --
88 88 Friday, Jul 15 boxscore DET @ TOR L 6 8 13 39-49 6 12.0 Vuckovich Crawford 3:21 N 23,749 ---
89 89 Saturday, Jul 16 boxscore DET @ TOR W 11 3 40-49 5 12.0 Rozema Willis 2:43 D 35,151 +
90 90 Sunday, Jul 17 (1) boxscore DET @ TOR L 2 3 40-50 6 11.5 Jefferson Arroyo 2:06 D 0 -
91 91 Sunday, Jul 17 (2) boxscore DET @ TOR W 7 6 11 41-50 6 11.5 Hiller Lemanczyk 2:58 D 36,613 +
92 92 Thursday, Jul 21 boxscore DET KCR L 1 8 41-51 6 12.0 Splittorff Roberts 2:18 N 15,262 -
93 93 Friday, Jul 22 boxscore DET KCR L 4 5 12 41-52 6 12.5 Bird Hiller 3:12 N 22,758 --
94 94 Saturday, Jul 23 boxscore DET KCR W 5 4 42-52 6 11.5 Rozema Gura 2:21 D 30,156 +
95 95 Sunday, Jul 24 boxscore DET TOR W 6 2 43-52 5 11.5 Sykes Jefferson 2:06 D 20,177 ++
96 96 Monday, Jul 25 boxscore DET TOR W 8 3 44-52 4 11.5 Wilcox Byrd Crawford 2:14 N 16,911 +++
97 97 Tuesday, Jul 26 boxscore DET @ CHW L 3 8 44-53 5 11.5 Knapp Roberts 2:19 N 23,099 -
98 98 Wednesday, Jul 27 boxscore DET @ CHW W 3 1 45-53 4 11.5 Arroyo Wood Hiller 2:49 N 30,606 +
99 99 Friday, Jul 29 boxscore DET @ TEX W 13 6 46-53 4 11.0 Rozema Alexander 2:28 N 20,034 ++
100 100 Saturday, Jul 30 boxscore DET @ TEX L 5 6 12 46-54 4 12.0 Lindblad Hiller 3:30 N 22,369 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Sunday, Jul 31 boxscore DET @ TEX L &H 2 3 10 46-55 4 12.0 Devine Crawford 2:37 N 16,309 --
102 102 Wednesday, Aug 3 boxscore DET @ MIN L 1 11 46-56 4 13.5 Thormodsgard Arroyo 2:37 N 13,174 ---
103 103 Thursday, Aug 4 boxscore DET @ MIN W 4 2 47-56 4 13.5 Rozema Redfern 2:40 N 18,060 +
104 104 Friday, Aug 5 (1) boxscore DET TEX L 3 4 11 47-57 4 15.0 Knowles Hiller 3:01 N 0 -
105 105 Friday, Aug 5 (2) boxscore DET TEX L 0 6 47-58 4 15.0 Briles Sykes 2:32 N 27,094 --
106 106 Saturday, Aug 6 boxscore DET TEX W 6 5 48-58 4 15.0 Wilcox Alexander Foucault 2:17 D 24,771 +
107 107 Sunday, Aug 7 boxscore DET TEX L 1 4 48-59 4 16.0 Ellis Arroyo 2:12 D 17,597 -
108 108 Monday, Aug 8 boxscore DET MIL W 6 1 49-59 4 15.5 Crawford Caldwell 2:26 N 11,973 +
109 109 Tuesday, Aug 9 (1) boxscore DET MIL W 4 2 50-59 4 15.5 Rozema Slaton 2:04 N 0 ++
110 110 Tuesday, Aug 9 (2) boxscore DET MIL L 4 6 50-60 4 15.5 Travers Grilli McClure 2:28 N 18,099 -
111 111 Wednesday, Aug 10 boxscore DET MIL W 5 3 51-60 4 15.5 Morris Augustine Foucault 2:20 N 11,696 +
112 112 Friday, Aug 12 boxscore DET MIN L 11 12 51-61 4 16.0 Burgmeier Arroyo Johnson 2:36 N 20,554 -
113 113 Saturday, Aug 13 boxscore DET MIN W 2 1 52-61 4 16.0 Wilcox Zahn Foucault 2:11 N 23,147 +
114 114 Sunday, Aug 14 boxscore DET MIN W 6 5 53-61 4 16.0 Rozema Johnson 2:35 D 35,803 ++
115 115 Monday, Aug 15 boxscore DET SEA W 13 1 54-61 4 16.0 Sykes Pole 2:14 N 14,414 +++
116 116 Tuesday, Aug 16 boxscore DET SEA L 2 3 54-62 4 17.0 Abbott Morris 2:10 N 9,065 -
117 117 Wednesday, Aug 17 boxscore DET NYY L 5 7 54-63 4 17.0 Figueroa Arroyo Lyle 2:42 N 26,718 --
118 118 Thursday, Aug 18 boxscore DET NYY L 4 5 54-64 4 18.0 Hunter Crawford Lyle 2:31 N 27,564 ---
119 119 Friday, Aug 19 boxscore DET @ SEA W 6 4 55-64 4 17.0 Rozema Pole Taylor 2:55 N 19,698 +
120 120 Saturday, Aug 20 boxscore DET @ SEA W 7 3 56-64 4 16.0 Wilcox Abbott 2:35 N 55,670 ++
121 121 Sunday, Aug 21 boxscore DET @ SEA W 5 4 57-64 4 15.0 Crawford Mitchell Hiller 2:26 D 15,373 +++
122 122 Monday, Aug 22 boxscore DET @ CAL W 5 1 58-64 4 14.0 Arroyo Hartzell 2:11 N 24,304 ++++
123 123 Tuesday, Aug 23 boxscore DET @ CAL W 3 1 59-64 4 13.5 Sykes Simpson Foucault 2:24 N 13,875 +++++
124 124 Wednesday, Aug 24 (1) boxscore DET @ OAK L 1 3 59-65 4 15.0 Blue Rozema 1:53 N 0 -
125 125 Wednesday, Aug 24 (2) boxscore DET @ OAK L 5 6 10 59-66 4 15.0 Bair Hiller 3:01 N 7,324 --
126 126 Friday, Aug 26 boxscore DET CAL L 4 7 11 59-67 4 16.5 LaRoche Foucault 3:11 N 22,602 ---
127 127 Saturday, Aug 27 boxscore DET CAL W 7 6 60-67 4 15.5 Hiller LaRoche 2:18 D 23,105 +
128 128 Sunday, Aug 28 boxscore DET CAL W 12 9 61-67 4 15.5 Foucault Miller 3:02 D 14,985 ++
129 129 Tuesday, Aug 30 boxscore DET @ MIL W 4 2 62-67 4 16.0 Rozema Caldwell 2:27 N 7,349 +++
130 130 Wednesday, Aug 31 boxscore DET @ MIL W 5 2 63-67 4 16.0 Wilcox Slaton 2:19 N 5,945 ++++
131 131 Thursday, Sep 1 boxscore DET @ MIL L 0 1 63-68 4 16.5 Augustine Arroyo Rodriguez 2:32 N 3,985 -
132 132 Friday, Sep 2 boxscore DET OAK W 6 4 64-68 4 16.5 Crawford Blue Hiller 2:26 N 11,500 +
133 133 Saturday, Sep 3 boxscore DET OAK W 10 8 65-68 4 16.5 Glynn Lacey Foucault 2:56 D 11,159 ++
134 134 Sunday, Sep 4 boxscore DET OAK L 5 7 65-69 4 17.5 Lacey Rozema Bair 2:25 D 15,906 -
135 135 Monday, Sep 5 (1) boxscore DET BAL W 8 7 11 66-69 4 16.5 Crawford Drago 4:05 D 22,062 +
136 136 Monday, Sep 5 (2) boxscore DET BAL L 0 5 66-70 4 16.5 May Grilli 2:14 D 22,062 -
137 137 Tuesday, Sep 6 boxscore DET BAL L 2 7 66-71 4 17.5 Flanagan Arroyo 2:00 N 7,851 --
138 138 Wednesday, Sep 7 (1) boxscore DET BAL L 2 6 11 66-72 4 18.0 McGregor Hiller 2:48 N 11,032 ---
139 139 Wednesday, Sep 7 (2) boxscore DET BAL W 12 5 67-72 4 18.0 Glynn Grimsley 2:48 N 11,032 +
140 140 Thursday, Sep 8 boxscore DET BAL L 0 4 67-73 4 19.0 Palmer Sykes 2:18 D 1,969 -
141 141 Friday, Sep 9 (1) boxscore DET @ BOS L 1 5 67-74 4 20.5 Tiant Rozema Campbell 2:35 N 0 --
142 142 Friday, Sep 9 (2) boxscore DET @ BOS L 6 8 67-75 4 20.5 Wise Ruhle Campbell 3:03 N 34,581 ---
143 143 Saturday, Sep 10 boxscore DET @ BOS L 1 7 67-76 4 20.5 Aase Wilcox 2:39 D 26,782 ----
144 144 Sunday, Sep 11 boxscore DET @ BOS L 2 6 67-77 4 21.0 Lee Arroyo 2:23 D 34,325 -----
145 145 Monday, Sep 12 boxscore DET @ CLE L 1 8 67-78 4 21.5 Garland Crawford 2:19 N 3,032 ------
146 146 Wednesday, Sep 14 (1) boxscore DET @ CLE W 5 3 68-78 4 21.5 Sykes Bibby Taylor 2:33 N 0 +
147 147 Wednesday, Sep 14 (2) boxscore DET @ CLE W 2 1 10 69-78 4 21.5 Hiller Kern Foucault 2:54 N 4,151 ++
148 148 Friday, Sep 16 boxscore DET NYY L 4 5 69-79 4 22.0 Gullett Arroyo 2:27 N 18,016 -
149 149 Saturday, Sep 17 boxscore DET NYY L 4 9 69-80 4 23.0 Tidrow Crawford 2:30 D 17,656 --
150 150 Sunday, Sep 18 boxscore DET NYY L 5 6 69-81 4 24.0 Guidry Sykes Lyle 2:11 D 12,672 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Monday, Sep 19 boxscore DET CLE W 6 4 70-81 4 23.0 Foucault Dobson 2:49 N 5,843 +
152 152 Tuesday, Sep 20 boxscore DET CLE W 5 4 10 71-81 4 22.5 Foucault Waits 2:59 N 5,557 ++
153 153 Thursday, Sep 22 boxscore DET BOS W 5 4 72-81 4 21.5 Arroyo Willoughby Foucault 2:27 N 3,507 +++
154 154 Friday, Sep 23 boxscore DET BOS L 1 5 72-82 4 22.5 Lee Sykes 2:11 N 11,344 -
155 155 Saturday, Sep 24 boxscore DET BOS L 2 6 72-83 4 23.0 Paxton Wilcox Campbell 2:16 D 9,245 --
156 156 Sunday, Sep 25 boxscore DET BOS L 5 12 72-84 4 24.5 Cleveland Glynn 2:56 D 12,707 ---
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 27 boxscore DET @ BAL L 1 6 72-85 4 26.0 Flanagan Arroyo 2:26 N 4,854 ----
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 28 boxscore DET @ BAL L 2 3 11 72-86 4 27.0 Palmer Foucault 2:58 N 7,547 -----
159 159 Thursday, Sep 29 boxscore DET @ BAL L 3 6 72-87 4 27.0 May Crawford Martinez 2:21 N 6,241 ------
160 160 Friday, Sep 30 boxscore DET @ NYY W 5 2 73-87 4 26.0 Hiller Guidry 2:31 N 28,200 +
161 161 Saturday, Oct 1 boxscore DET @ NYY W 10 7 74-87 4 25.0 Taylor McCall 2:47 D 50,054 ++
162 162 Sunday, Oct 2 boxscore DET @ NYY L 7 8 74-88 4 26.0 Thomas Foucault 2:35 D 18,778 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1976 / 1978 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits