Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1948 Schedule and Results

1948 Detroit Tigers

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1947 / 1949

78-76, Finished 5th in American League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Steve O'Neill (78-76)
Scored 700 runs, Allowed 726 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 74-80

Ballparks: Briggs Stadium · Attendance: 1,743,035 (3rd of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 103, Pitching - 102 · one-year: Batting - 97, Pitching - 97


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1947 / 1949 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 78-76, Final Rank:5, GB: 18.5
Days in First3last on Friday, Apr 23, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 3last on Apr 23, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind20last on Sunday, Sep 12, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5003last on Wednesday, Jun 16
Most Games under .5005last on Friday, Sep 10
Longest Winning Streak7Monday, Jul 5 to Sunday, Jul 11
Longest Losing Streak5Friday, Apr 23 to Tuesday, Apr 27 and Thursday, Jun 17 to Wednesday, Jun 23
Most Runs Allowed16Tuesday, May 25
Most Runs Scored17Friday, Jul 30
Longest Game (innings)13Thursday, Sep 9
Times Shutout by Opponent9 
Times Opponent Shutout5 
Walkoff Wins5 
Walkoff Losses6 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 78 76 700 726 .506
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 39 38 327 355 .506
Road 39 38 373 371 .506
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 4 7 45 51 .364
May 15 13 130 135 .536
June 10 14 94 110 .417
July 17 14 168 148 .548
August 13 13 114 122 .500
September 17 14 137 148 .548
October 2 1 12 12 .667
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 39 37 344 346 .513
Second Half 39 39 356 380 .500
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 69 68 619 645 .504
ExtraInning 8 7 69 63 .533
Shortened 1 1 12 18 .500
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 22 23 174 175 .489
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 19 26 252 301 .422
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BOS 7 15 93 137 .318
CHW 14 8 88 87 .636
CLE 9 13 90 106 .409
NYY 9 13 84 135 .409
PHA 12 10 116 101 .545
SLB 11 11 110 86 .500
WSH 16 6 119 74 .727

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 20 boxscore DET @ CHW W 5 2 1-0 2 0.5 Newhouser Haynes 2:14 D 14,801 +
2 2 Wednesday, Apr 21 boxscore DET @ CHW W 4 3 2-0 1 Tied Overmire Harrist 2:01 D 2,613 ++
3 3 Thursday, Apr 22 boxscore DET @ CHW W 3 2 3-0 1 Tied Trucks Judson 2:04 D 2,611 +++
4 4 Friday, Apr 23 boxscore DET CLE L 2 8 3-1 1 Tied Lemon Hutchinson 2:10 D 45,233 -
5 5 Saturday, Apr 24 boxscore DET CLE L 1 4 3-2 3 1.0 Feller Houtteman 2:00 D 41,655 --
6 6 Sunday, Apr 25 boxscore DET CLE L 4 7 3-3 4 2.0 Muncrief Newhouser Christopher 2:32 D 48,880 ---
7 7 Monday, Apr 26 boxscore DET @ SLB L 1 2 3-4 6 3.0 Sanford Trout 1:40 D 1,274 ----
8 8 Tuesday, Apr 27 boxscore DET @ SLB L 8 9 11 3-5 6 3.5 Widmar Newhouser 2:53 D 2,096 -----
9 9 Wednesday, Apr 28 boxscore DET @ SLB W 9 4 4-5 6 3.0 Trucks Gerheauser Trout 2:34 D 2,182 +
10 10 Thursday, Apr 29 boxscore DET CHW L 4 5 4-6 6 4.0 Haynes Houtteman Pearson 2:01 D 8,011 -
11 11 Friday, Apr 30 boxscore DET CHW L 4 5 4-7 6 4.5 Wight Newhouser Goodwin 2:11 D 9,225 --
12 12 Saturday, May 1 boxscore DET @ CLE W 10 3 5-7 6 3.5 Trout Feller Houtteman 2:44 D 52,249 +
13 13 Sunday, May 2 boxscore DET @ CLE W 4 2 6-7 5 2.5 Hutchinson Lemon 1:45 D 57,450 ++
14 14 Tuesday, May 4 boxscore DET @ BOS L 3 6 6-8 6 2.5 Ferriss Houtteman Galehouse 2:15 D 17,316 -
15 15 Wednesday, May 5 boxscore DET @ BOS L-wo 3 4 11 6-9 7 3.0 Kinder Trout 2:36 D 11,434 --
16 16 Thursday, May 6 boxscore DET @ BOS W 8 3 7-9 7 3.0 White Kramer 2:26 D 15,960 +
17 17 Saturday, May 8 (1) boxscore DET @ NYY W 3 2 8-9 6 3.5 Hutchinson Lopat 1:45 D 0 ++
18 18 Saturday, May 8 (2) boxscore DET @ NYY L 1 9 8-10 6 3.5 Raschi Newhouser Page 2:22 D 25,246 -
19 19 Sunday, May 9 (1) boxscore DET @ PHA L 5 10 8-11 7 5.5 Coleman Trout 2:31 D 0 --
20 20 Sunday, May 9 (2) boxscore DET @ PHA L 3 5 8-12 7 5.5 Brissie Houtteman 2:10 D 28,319 ---
21 21 Tuesday, May 11 boxscore DET @ WSH W 4 1 9-12 5 5.5 Trucks Haefner Overmire 2:13 N 14,461 +
22 22 Wednesday, May 12 boxscore DET @ WSH W 14 9 10-12 4 5.5 Trout Pieretti Benton 2:57 N 11,744 ++
23 23 Friday, May 14 boxscore DET SLB L 0 3 10-13 6 5.5 Sanford Hutchinson 1:42 D 8,873 -
24 24 Saturday, May 15 boxscore DET SLB W 4 1 11-13 5 6.0 Trout Garver 1:54 D 16,775 +
25 25 Sunday, May 16 boxscore DET SLB L 2 3 11-14 5 6.5 Stephens Houtteman 1:56 D 37,387 -
26 26 Tuesday, May 18 boxscore DET BOS W 10 7 12-14 5 5.5 White Galehouse Overmire 2:22 D 17,010 +
27 27 Wednesday, May 19 boxscore DET BOS W-wo 4 1 13-14 4 5.0 Newhouser Kinder 1:52 D 16,229 ++
28 28 Thursday, May 20 boxscore DET PHA W 4 2 14-14 4 5.0 Hutchinson Scheib 1:43 D 15,063 +++
29 29 Friday, May 21 boxscore DET PHA L 6 9 14-15 4 5.0 Coleman Trout Potter 2:32 D 13,020 -
30 30 Saturday, May 22 boxscore DET PHA W-wo 6 5 15-15 4 5.0 Benton Marchildon 2:09 D 30,349 +
31 31 Sunday, May 23 boxscore DET WSH L 0 1 15-16 4 5.5 Masterson Trucks 2:02 D 36,533 -
32 32 Monday, May 24 boxscore DET WSH W 5 2 16-16 4 5.0 Newhouser Wynn 2:08 D 6,641 +
33 33 Tuesday, May 25 boxscore DET NYY L 5 16 16-17 4 6.0 Raschi Hutchinson 2:23 D 18,864 -
34 34 Wednesday, May 26 boxscore DET NYY W 7 3 17-17 4 5.5 Trout Shea 2:09 D 18,915 +
35 35 Friday, May 28 boxscore DET @ SLB L 4 5 17-18 4 7.0 Biscan Benton 1:59 N 6,898 -
36 36 Saturday, May 29 boxscore DET @ SLB L 1 6 17-19 5 8.0 Widmar Trucks Stephens 2:08 D 3,684 --
37 37 Sunday, May 30 boxscore DET @ SLB W 6 4 11 18-19 4 7.5 Newhouser Biscan 2:37 D 9,831 +
38 38 Monday, May 31 (1) boxscore DET CHW W 5 4 19-19 4 7.5 Trout Grove Trucks 2:10 D 0 ++
39 39 Monday, May 31 (2) boxscore DET CHW L 3 9 19-20 4 7.5 Pearson Houtteman Wight 2:24 D 55,875 -
40 40 Wednesday, Jun 2 boxscore DET @ NYY L 0 1 19-21 5 7.0 Raschi Houtteman 1:53 D 17,143 --
41 41 Thursday, Jun 3 boxscore DET @ NYY W 6 2 11 20-21 4 6.5 Newhouser Lopat 2:30 D 15,571 +
42 42 Friday, Jun 4 boxscore DET @ NYY L 4 7 20-22 4 7.5 Hiller Trout Page 1:56 N 64,261 -
43 43 Sunday, Jun 6 (1) boxscore DET @ BOS L-wo 4 5 20-23 4 9.5 Johnson Benton 2:25 D 0 --
44 44 Sunday, Jun 6 (2) boxscore DET @ BOS L 4 12 20-24 4 9.5 Ferriss Houtteman 2:17 D 34,251 ---
45 45 Tuesday, Jun 8 boxscore DET @ PHA W 2 1 21-24 5 9.5 Newhouser Brissie 1:49 N 18,801 +
46 46 Wednesday, Jun 9 boxscore DET @ PHA W 7 4 22-24 5 9.0 Trout Potter Houtteman 2:15 N 7,525 ++
47 47 Thursday, Jun 10 boxscore DET @ PHA L 4 10 22-25 5 9.0 Coleman Trucks 2:18 D 5,426 -
48 48 Friday, Jun 11 boxscore DET @ WSH W 7 6 10 23-25 5 9.0 Houtteman Candini 2:35 N 16,121 +
49 49 Saturday, Jun 12 boxscore DET @ WSH W 4 1 24-25 4 9.5 Newhouser Scarborough 2:02 D 7,340 ++
50 50 Sunday, Jun 13 (1) boxscore DET @ WSH W 9 3 25-25 4 8.0 Trout Hudson 2:05 D 0 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Sunday, Jun 13 (2) boxscore DET @ WSH W 9 2 26-25 4 8.0 Trucks Wynn 1:56 D 16,609 ++++
52 52 Tuesday, Jun 15 boxscore DET PHA W 4 1 27-25 4 7.0 Newhouser Coleman 1:50 N 54,480 +++++
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 16 boxscore DET PHA W 2 1 11 28-25 4 6.0 Houtteman Brissie 2:03 D 12,695 ++++++
54 54 Thursday, Jun 17 boxscore DET PHA L 2 5 28-26 4 6.0 Scheib Trout 1:50 D 10,734 -
55 55 Saturday, Jun 19 boxscore DET BOS L 7 9 28-27 4 6.5 Kramer Trucks Ferriss 2:27 D 27,098 --
56 56 Sunday, Jun 20 boxscore DET BOS L 3 8 28-28 5 8.0 Parnell Newhouser 1:44 D 49,148 ---
57 57 Tuesday, Jun 22 boxscore DET WSH L 4 5 28-29 5 8.5 Haefner Houtteman Thompson 2:05 N 34,447 ----
58 58 Wednesday, Jun 23 boxscore DET WSH L 1 2 28-30 5 8.5 Harrist Trout Thompson 2:14 D 6,271 -----
59 59 Friday, Jun 25 boxscore DET NYY W 4 2 29-30 5 7.0 Newhouser Embree 2:11 N 42,372 +
60 60 Saturday, Jun 26 boxscore DET NYY L 5 8 29-31 5 8.0 Reynolds Trucks Page 2:02 D 22,655 -
61 61 Sunday, Jun 27 boxscore DET NYY L 0 7 29-32 5 8.5 Byrne Trout 2:08 D 35,840 --
62 62 Tuesday, Jun 29 boxscore DET CLE L 2 6 29-33 5 9.5 Feller Newhouser 2:01 D 15,171 ---
63 63 Wednesday, Jun 30 boxscore DET CLE L 0 2 29-34 6 10.5 Lemon Houtteman 1:33 N 49,761 ----
64 64 Thursday, Jul 1 boxscore DET CLE W 9 5 30-34 5 9.5 Newhouser Zoldak 1:58 D 11,644 +
65 65 Friday, Jul 2 boxscore DET @ CHW L 2 5 30-35 6 10.5 Pieretti Trout 2:02 N 15,833 -
66 66 Saturday, Jul 3 boxscore DET @ CHW W 6 2 31-35 5 10.5 Newhouser Haynes 2:01 D 4,984 +
67 67 Sunday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore DET @ CHW W 6 3 32-35 5 10.5 Trucks Wight Benton 2:13 D 0 ++
68 68 Sunday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore DET @ CHW L 1 12 32-36 5 10.5 Gettel Overmire 2:05 D 23,128 -
69 69 Monday, Jul 5 (1) boxscore DET @ CLE L 3 6 32-37 5 10.5 Lemon Houtteman 1:52 D 0 --
70 70 Monday, Jul 5 (2) boxscore DET @ CLE W 7 5 33-37 5 10.5 Hutchinson Feller Newhouser 1:57 D 59,042 +
71 71 Tuesday, Jul 6 boxscore DET @ CLE W 9 0 34-37 5 9.5 Trout Muncrief 1:55 N 41,655 ++
72 72 Wednesday, Jul 7 boxscore DET SLB W 6 0 35-37 5 9.5 Newhouser Kennedy 2:03 N 37,507 +++
73 73 Thursday, Jul 8 boxscore DET SLB W 12 2 36-37 5 9.5 Trucks Biscan 2:16 D 8,455 ++++
74 74 Friday, Jul 9 boxscore DET CHW W 4 2 37-37 5 8.5 Hutchinson Pieretti 1:30 N 50,636 +++++
75 75 Saturday, Jul 10 boxscore DET CHW W 5 4 38-37 5 8.0 Trout Haynes Houtteman 2:02 D 11,734 ++++++
76 76 Sunday, Jul 11 boxscore DET CHW W 5 4 39-37 5 7.5 Newhouser Wight Houtteman 2:08 D 20,940 +++++++
77 77 Thursday, Jul 15 (1) boxscore DET @ BOS L 5 13 39-38 5 9.5 Kramer Hutchinson 2:26 D 14,403 -
78 78 Thursday, Jul 15 (2) boxscore DET @ BOS L 1 3 39-39 5 9.5 Parnell Trout 1:22 N 33,892 --
79 79 Friday, Jul 16 boxscore DET @ BOS L 3 5 39-40 5 9.5 Dobson Houtteman 1:57 D 12,476 ---
80 80 Saturday, Jul 17 boxscore DET @ BOS W 3 1 40-40 5 8.5 Trucks Kinder 1:57 D 17,477 +
81 81 Sunday, Jul 18 (1) boxscore DET @ NYY W 5 3 41-40 5 9.5 Newhouser Raschi Houtteman 2:26 D 0 ++
82 82 Sunday, Jul 18 (2) boxscore DET @ NYY L 4 12 7 41-41 5 9.5 Byrne Hutchinson Drews 1:54 D 62,990 -
83 83 Tuesday, Jul 20 boxscore DET @ NYY W 2 1 42-41 5 9.0 Trucks Reynolds 1:59 D 16,784 +
84 84 Wednesday, Jul 21 boxscore DET @ WSH L 1 6 42-42 5 9.5 Masterson Hutchinson 2:02 D 2,558 -
85 85 Thursday, Jul 22 boxscore DET @ WSH L-wo 8 9 12 42-43 5 9.5 Thompson White 3:02 D 3,609 --
86 86 Friday, Jul 23 boxscore DET @ WSH W 11 5 43-43 5 9.0 Trucks Haefner 2:07 D 2,217 +
87 87 Saturday, Jul 24 boxscore DET @ PHA L 6 8 43-44 5 9.5 Savage Overmire Brissie 2:26 D 12,727 -
88 88 Sunday, Jul 25 (1) boxscore DET @ PHA L 0 4 43-45 5 9.5 Coleman Trucks 2:03 D 0 --
89 89 Sunday, Jul 25 (2) boxscore DET @ PHA W 10 2 44-45 5 9.5 Hutchinson Scheib White 2:03 D 28,148 +
90 90 Tuesday, Jul 27 boxscore DET BOS L 0 8 44-46 5 10.5 Kinder Newhouser 2:07 D 54,609 -
91 91 Wednesday, Jul 28 boxscore DET BOS W 13 0 45-46 5 9.5 Trout Galehouse 2:02 D 16,622 +
92 92 Thursday, Jul 29 boxscore DET BOS L 1 8 45-47 5 10.5 Kramer Trucks 2:27 N 40,872 -
93 93 Friday, Jul 30 boxscore DET PHA W 17 2 46-47 5 10.5 Hutchinson Coleman 2:08 N 45,996 +
94 94 Saturday, Jul 31 boxscore DET PHA L 3 8 46-48 5 10.5 Brissie Houtteman 2:29 D 17,434 -
95 95 Sunday, Aug 1 boxscore DET PHA L 2 4 46-49 5 11.0 Marchildon Trout Harris 2:22 D 28,641 --
96 96 Tuesday, Aug 3 boxscore DET NYY L 3 15 46-50 5 11.0 Shea Trucks 2:37 N 48,915 ---
97 97 Thursday, Aug 5 boxscore DET NYY L 1 2 46-51 5 12.5 Reynolds Hutchinson Page 1:54 D 17,438 ----
98 98 Friday, Aug 6 boxscore DET WSH W-wo 1 0 10 47-51 5 12.0 Gray Masterson 2:27 N 29,488 +
99 99 Saturday, Aug 7 boxscore DET WSH L 2 3 10 47-52 5 12.5 Thompson Trout 2:25 D 9,928 -
100 100 Sunday, Aug 8 (1) boxscore DET WSH W 5 3 48-52 5 12.0 Newhouser Wynn 2:09 D 0 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Sunday, Aug 8 (2) boxscore DET WSH W 6 5 49-52 5 12.0 Pierce Thompson Houtteman 2:02 D 29,811 ++
102 102 Monday, Aug 9 boxscore DET CLE L 2 6 49-53 5 13.0 Bearden Hutchinson 1:46 N 56,586 -
103 103 Tuesday, Aug 10 boxscore DET CLE W 7 3 50-53 5 12.0 Gray Feller Houtteman 2:33 D 27,528 +
104 104 Wednesday, Aug 11 boxscore DET @ CHW L 1 2 50-54 5 13.0 Pieretti Trucks Judson 1:44 N 13,995 -
105 105 Friday, Aug 13 boxscore DET @ SLB L 1 4 50-55 5 13.5 Garver Newhouser 1:48 N 2,569 --
106 106 Saturday, Aug 14 boxscore DET @ SLB W 10 3 51-55 5 13.5 Trucks Sanford 2:25 N 6,122 +
107 107 Sunday, Aug 15 boxscore DET @ SLB W 3 1 52-55 5 14.0 Hutchinson Fannin 2:00 D 5,553 ++
108 108 Tuesday, Aug 17 boxscore DET CHW W 6 4 53-55 5 14.0 Gray Pieretti Overmire 2:12 N 35,430 +++
109 109 Friday, Aug 20 boxscore DET SLB L 4 5 10 53-56 5 15.5 Drews Overmire 2:17 N 48,685 -
110 110 Saturday, Aug 21 boxscore DET SLB W 6 5 54-56 5 14.5 Hutchinson Fannin Benton 2:25 D 10,879 +
111 111 Sunday, Aug 22 boxscore DET SLB L 1 10 54-57 5 14.0 Sanford Newhouser 1:56 D 18,887 -
112 112 Tuesday, Aug 24 boxscore DET @ PHA W 7 4 55-57 5 13.5 Trucks Brissie Houtteman 2:15 D 14,553 +
113 113 Wednesday, Aug 25 boxscore DET @ PHA W 10 4 56-57 5 13.0 Hutchinson Marchildon 2:26 D 6,076 ++
114 114 Thursday, Aug 26 boxscore DET @ PHA L 3 4 56-58 5 13.5 Coleman Newhouser Savage 2:10 D 4,208 -
115 115 Friday, Aug 27 boxscore DET @ WSH W 3 2 57-58 5 13.5 Pierce Masterson Trucks 2:05 D 1,374 +
116 116 Saturday, Aug 28 boxscore DET @ WSH W 7 5 10 58-58 5 13.5 Trucks Welteroth 2:38 D 3,633 ++
117 117 Sunday, Aug 29 (1) boxscore DET @ NYY W 9 6 59-58 5 13.5 Benton Hiller Houtteman 2:24 D 0 +++
118 118 Sunday, Aug 29 (2) boxscore DET @ NYY L 10 11 59-59 5 13.5 Lopat Trucks Reynolds 2:22 D 40,127 -
119 119 Monday, Aug 30 boxscore DET @ NYY L 0 3 59-60 5 14.0 Shea Newhouser 1:42 N 40,905 --
120 120 Tuesday, Aug 31 boxscore DET @ BOS L 4 8 59-61 5 15.0 Parnell Houtteman 2:18 N 33,310 ---
121 121 Wednesday, Sep 1 boxscore DET @ BOS L 1 10 59-62 5 16.0 Kramer Trucks 2:19 D 22,374 ----
122 122 Friday, Sep 3 boxscore DET @ CHW W 5 2 60-62 5 16.0 Hutchinson Wight 2:14 N 10,285 +
123 123 Saturday, Sep 4 boxscore DET @ CHW W 4 3 61-62 5 16.0 Newhouser Gumpert 2:11 D 3,336 ++
124 124 Sunday, Sep 5 boxscore DET @ CHW L-wo 3 4 61-63 5 17.0 Gettel Houtteman 2:05 D 7,253 -
125 125 Monday, Sep 6 (1) boxscore DET @ SLB W 8 1 62-63 5 18.0 Gray Sanford Trout 1:47 D 0 +
126 126 Monday, Sep 6 (2) boxscore DET @ SLB L 10 11 62-64 5 18.0 Drews Overmire Ostrowski 2:37 D 6,871 -
127 127 Wednesday, Sep 8 boxscore DET @ CLE L-wo 7 8 11 62-65 5 19.0 Zoldak Houtteman 3:15 N 43,707 --
128 128 Thursday, Sep 9 boxscore DET @ CLE L-wo 2 3 13 62-66 5 20.0 Zoldak Trucks 3:28 N 43,373 ---
129 129 Friday, Sep 10 boxscore DET @ CLE L 1 10 62-67 5 20.0 Bearden Trout 2:00 D 9,008 ----
130 130 Saturday, Sep 11 (1) boxscore DET CHW W 4 1 63-67 5 20.0 Gray Gettel 2:09 D 0 +
131 131 Saturday, Sep 11 (2) boxscore DET CHW W 6 4 64-67 5 20.0 Overmire Papish 1:41 D 18,029 ++
132 132 Sunday, Sep 12 boxscore DET CHW L 2 5 64-68 5 20.0 Haynes Hutchinson Judson 1:53 D 12,220 -
133 133 Tuesday, Sep 14 (1) boxscore DET WSH W 2 1 11 65-68 5 19.5 Newhouser Thompson 2:01 D 0 +
134 134 Tuesday, Sep 14 (2) boxscore DET WSH W 12 1 66-68 5 19.5 Trucks Weik 1:56 D 5,307 ++
135 135 Wednesday, Sep 15 boxscore DET WSH W 4 2 67-68 5 18.5 Kretlow Candini 1:41 D 2,775 +++
136 136 Thursday, Sep 16 (1) boxscore DET NYY W-wo 2 1 68-68 5 18.0 Hutchinson Raschi 1:35 D 0 ++++
137 137 Thursday, Sep 16 (2) boxscore DET NYY L 4 8 68-69 5 18.0 Page Trout 2:07 D 18,452 -
138 138 Friday, Sep 17 boxscore DET NYY L 5 13 68-70 5 19.0 Byrne Gray 2:36 D 6,021 --
139 139 Saturday, Sep 18 boxscore DET NYY W 4 3 69-70 5 19.0 Newhouser Lopat 1:51 D 18,447 +
140 140 Sunday, Sep 19 (1) boxscore DET BOS W-wo 4 3 12 70-70 5 17.0 Overmire Johnson 2:55 D 0 ++
141 141 Sunday, Sep 19 (2) boxscore DET BOS W 8 6 8 71-70 5 17.0 Kretlow Ferriss 2:55 D +++
142 142 Monday, Sep 20 boxscore DET BOS L 2 7 71-71 5 18.0 Harris Hutchinson 1:43 D 6,890 -
143 143 Tuesday, Sep 21 boxscore DET BOS L 2 10 71-72 5 19.0 Parnell Gray 2:02 D 4,811 --
144 144 Wednesday, Sep 22 boxscore DET PHA W 5 1 72-72 5 18.0 Newhouser Marchildon 2:02 D 3,067 +
145 145 Thursday, Sep 23 boxscore DET PHA W 8 7 73-72 5 17.5 Pierce Holborow 2:02 D 1,898 ++
146 146 Friday, Sep 24 boxscore DET CLE W 4 3 74-72 5 16.5 Hutchinson Lemon 1:51 D 10,464 +++
147 147 Saturday, Sep 25 boxscore DET CLE L 3 9 74-73 5 17.5 Bearden Trucks 2:34 D 30,087 -
148 148 Sunday, Sep 26 boxscore DET CLE L 1 4 74-74 5 18.5 Feller Newhouser 2:11 D 57,888 --
149 149 Tuesday, Sep 28 boxscore DET SLB L 3 5 74-75 5 19.5 Sanford Hutchinson 1:35 D 3,418 ---
150 150 Wednesday, Sep 29 boxscore DET SLB W 4 0 75-75 5 19.5 Newhouser Garver 1:32 D 1,878 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Thursday, Sep 30 boxscore DET SLB W 7 2 76-75 5 19.0 Gray Ostrowski 1:35 D 2,622 ++
152 152 Friday, Oct 1 boxscore DET @ CLE W 5 3 77-75 5 18.0 Trucks Lemon Houtteman 2:38 D 15,988 +++
153 153 Saturday, Oct 2 boxscore DET @ CLE L 0 8 77-76 5 19.0 Bearden Kretlow 2:05 D 56,235 -
154 154 Sunday, Oct 3 boxscore DET @ CLE W 7 1 78-76 5 18.0 Newhouser Feller 2:29 D 74,181 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1947 / 1949 Schedule and Results