Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1890 Schedule and Results

1890 Cleveland Spiders

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1889 / 1891

44-88, Finished 7th in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Gus Schmelz (21-55) and Bob Leadley (23-33)
Scored 630 runs, Allowed 832 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 50-82

Ballparks: National League Park II & Indianapolis Park · Attendance: 47,478 (7th)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 95, Pitching - 98 · one-year: Batting - 94, Pitching - 97


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1889 / 1891 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 44-88, Final Rank:7, GB: 43.5
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind44.5last on Friday, Oct 3, for days on which they played
Most Games over .500never
Most Games under .50050last on Saturday, Sep 13
Longest Winning Streak10Saturday, Sep 13 to Tuesday, Sep 23
Longest Losing Streak10Monday, Aug 25 to Thursday, Sep 4
Most Runs Allowed20Wednesday, Apr 23
Most Runs Scored20Wednesday, Aug 13
Times Shutout by Opponent13 
Times Opponent Shutout2 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 44 88 625 832 .333
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 30 37 357 356 .448
Road 14 51 268 476 .215
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 3 5 47 52 .375
May 7 12 94 115 .368
June 7 18 85 145 .280
July 6 23 134 238 .207
August 8 15 131 140 .348
September 11 14 116 131 .440
October 2 1 18 11 .667
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 19 47 291 431 .288
Second Half 25 41 334 401 .379
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 9 21 130 142 .300
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 11 33 231 397 .250
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BRO 3 17 70 146 .150
BSN 7 13 79 115 .350
CHC 7 13 105 132 .350
CIN 4 13 55 108 .235
NYG 6 12 78 102 .333
PHI 5 14 88 124 .263
PIT 12 6 150 105 .667

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Saturday, Apr 19 CLV @ PIT L 2 3 0-1 5 1.0 1,000 -
2 2 Monday, Apr 21 CLV @ PIT L 9 11 0-2 8 2.0 --
3 3 Tuesday, Apr 22 CLV @ PIT W 7 1 1-2 5 1.0 +
4 4 Wednesday, Apr 23 CLV @ PIT L 12 20 1-3 6 2.0 -
5 5 Friday, Apr 25 CLV CHC W 10 6 2-3 5 2.0 +
6 6 Monday, Apr 28 CLV CHC L 4 5 2-4 7 2.5 -
7 7 Tuesday, Apr 29 CLV CIN W 3 2 3-4 6 1.5 +
8 8 Wednesday, Apr 30 CLV CIN L 0 4 3-5 7 2.0 1:50 -
9 9 Thursday, May 1 CLV CIN L 11 12 3-6 7 3.0 --
10 10 Friday, May 2 CLV CIN L 1 6 3-7 7 3.0 ---
11 11 Saturday, May 3 CLV PIT T 3 3 3-7 7 3.5 ---
12 12 Wednesday, May 7 CLV PIT W 5 4 4-7 7 4.0 +
13 13 Thursday, May 8 CLV PIT W 9 8 5-7 5 4.0 ++
14 14 Tuesday, May 13 CLV @ CHC W 10 6 6-7 5 3.5 +++
15 15 Friday, May 16 CLV @ NYG W 5 1 7-7 5 2.0 ++++
16 16 Saturday, May 17 CLV @ NYG L 2 6 7-8 5 3.0 -
17 17 Monday, May 19 CLV @ NYG L 4 5 7-9 6 3.0 --
18 18 Wednesday, May 21 CLV @ BSN L 0 1 7-10 6 4.5 ---
19 19 Thursday, May 22 CLV @ BSN W 8 4 8-10 6 3.5 +
20 20 Friday, May 23 CLV @ BSN L 3 4 8-11 6 4.0 -
21 21 Saturday, May 24 CLV @ BRO L 3 7 8-12 6 5.0 1:50 --
22 22 Monday, May 26 CLV @ BRO L 2 8 8-13 6 5.5 ---
23 23 Tuesday, May 27 CLV @ BRO L 1 4 8-14 7 6.5 ----
24 24 Wednesday, May 28 CLV @ BRO L 5 15 8-15 7 8.0 -----
25 25 Thursday, May 29 CLV @ PHI L 7 8 8-16 7 9.0 ------
26 26 Friday, May 30 (1) CLV @ PHI W 8 4 9-16 7 7.0 1,395 +
27 27 Friday, May 30 (2) CLV @ PHI W 4 1 10-16 7 7.0 5,524 ++
28 28 Saturday, May 31 CLV @ PHI L 3 8 10-17 7 8.0 -
29 29 Monday, Jun 2 CLV CIN L 3 4 10-18 7 8.0 1:45 --
30 30 Tuesday, Jun 3 CLV CIN L 2 5 10-19 7 9.0 2:00 ---
31 31 Wednesday, Jun 4 CLV CIN W 3 1 11-19 7 9.0 +
32 32 Friday, Jun 6 CLV CHC L 4 12 11-20 7 10.0 -
33 33 Saturday, Jun 7 (1) CLV CHC L 3 5 11-21 7 10.0 --
34 34 Saturday, Jun 7 (2) CLV CHC W 9 1 12-21 7 10.0 +
35 35 Tuesday, Jun 10 CLV @ CHC L 4 5 12-22 7 11.5 1:35 -
36 36 Wednesday, Jun 11 (1) CLV @ CHC L 1 7 12-23 7 12.0 1:20 --
37 37 Wednesday, Jun 11 (2) CLV @ CHC W 3 1 13-23 7 12.0 1:40 +
38 38 Thursday, Jun 12 CLV @ CIN L 0 8 13-24 7 12.5 1,611 -
39 39 Friday, Jun 13 CLV @ CIN L 5 7 13-25 7 13.5 --
40 40 Saturday, Jun 14 CLV @ CIN L 0 9 13-26 7 14.5 ---
41 41 Monday, Jun 16 CLV @ CIN L 3 7 13-27 7 15.5 ----
42 42 Wednesday, Jun 18 CLV @ PIT L 0 3 13-28 7 17.0 -----
43 43 Thursday, Jun 19 (1) CLV @ PIT L 2 9 13-29 7 17.5 1:35 ------
44 44 Thursday, Jun 19 (2) CLV @ PIT W 7 1 14-29 7 17.5 +
45 45 Friday, Jun 20 CLV BRO L 3 10 14-30 7 17.5 1:55 -
46 46 Saturday, Jun 21 CLV BRO W 7 5 15-30 7 17.5 1:50 +
47 47 Monday, Jun 23 CLV BRO W 4 2 16-30 7 16.5 ++
48 48 Tuesday, Jun 24 CLV BRO L 3 12 16-31 7 16.5 1:25 -
49 49 Wednesday, Jun 25 CLV PHI L 1 5 16-32 7 17.5 500 --
50 50 Thursday, Jun 26 CLV PHI L 4 8 16-33 7 18.5 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Friday, Jun 27 CLV PHI W 7 3 17-33 7 17.5 +
52 52 Saturday, Jun 28 CLV PHI L 5 6 17-34 7 18.5 -
53 53 Monday, Jun 30 CLV BSN L 2 9 17-35 7 18.5 --
54 54 Wednesday, Jul 2 (1) CLV BSN L 4 5 17-36 7 20.5 ---
55 55 Wednesday, Jul 2 (2) CLV BSN L 4 5 17-37 7 20.5 900 ----
56 56 Thursday, Jul 3 CLV BSN L 0 8 17-38 7 21.5 -----
57 57 Friday, Jul 4 (1) CLV NYG W 11 7 18-38 7 21.5 +
58 58 Friday, Jul 4 (2) CLV NYG L 2 3 18-39 7 21.5 3,700 -
59 59 Saturday, Jul 5 CLV NYG W 6 4 19-39 7 20.5 +
60 60 Monday, Jul 7 CLV @ BRO L 2 4 19-40 7 21.5 -
61 61 Tuesday, Jul 8 CLV @ BRO L 1 7 19-41 7 21.5 --
62 62 Wednesday, Jul 9 CLV @ BRO L 3 6 19-42 7 21.5 1:42 ---
63 63 Thursday, Jul 10 CLV @ PHI L 9 14 19-43 7 21.5 ----
64 64 Friday, Jul 11 CLV @ PHI L 2 10 19-44 7 22.0 1:35 -----
65 65 Saturday, Jul 12 CLV @ PHI L 4 15 19-45 7 23.0 ------
66 66 Monday, Jul 14 CLV @ BSN L 8 17 19-46 7 24.0 -------
67 67 Tuesday, Jul 15 CLV @ BSN L 9 14 19-47 7 24.0 1:50 --------
68 68 Wednesday, Jul 16 (1) CLV @ BSN W 6 3 20-47 7 24.5 1:33 +
69 69 Wednesday, Jul 16 (2) CLV @ BSN L 4 8 20-48 7 24.5 1:18 -
70 70 Thursday, Jul 17 CLV @ NYG T 4 4 20-48 7 25.0 -
71 71 Friday, Jul 18 (1) CLV @ NYG L 5 9 20-49 7 25.5 --
72 72 Friday, Jul 18 (2) CLV @ NYG W 5 4 21-49 7 25.5 +
73 73 Saturday, Jul 19 (1) CLV @ NYG L 4 18 21-50 7 27.0 2:00 -
74 74 Saturday, Jul 19 (2) CLV @ NYG L 5 7 21-51 7 27.0 1:30 --
75 75 Monday, Jul 21 CLV BSN L 5 12 21-52 7 28.0 ---
76 76 Tuesday, Jul 22 CLV BSN L 2 3 21-53 7 29.0 ----
77 77 Wednesday, Jul 23 CLV BSN L 0 2 21-54 7 30.0 -----
78 78 Friday, Jul 25 CLV PHI L 5 8 21-55 7 31.0 1:35 ------
79 79 Saturday, Jul 26 CLV PHI L 2 5 21-56 7 32.0 1:30 1,050 -------
80 80 Monday, Jul 28 CLV BRO W 8 4 22-56 7 31.0 +
81 81 Tuesday, Jul 29 CLV BRO L 3 12 22-57 7 31.0 1:50 -
82 82 Wednesday, Jul 30 CLV BRO L 5 15 22-58 7 32.0 1:40 --
83 83 Thursday, Jul 31 CLV NYG W 6 5 23-58 7 31.0 +
84 84 Friday, Aug 1 CLV NYG L 2 3 23-59 7 32.0 -
85 85 Saturday, Aug 2 CLV NYG W 9 2 24-59 7 31.0 1:45 +
86 86 Monday, Aug 4 CLV NYG T 2 2 24-59 7 31.5 +
87 87 Tuesday, Aug 5 CLV CHC L 6 10 24-60 7 32.0 -
88 88 Wednesday, Aug 6 (1) CLV CHC W 8 1 25-60 7 32.5 +
89 89 Wednesday, Aug 6 (2) CLV CHC L 1 7 25-61 7 32.5 -
90 90 Thursday, Aug 7 CLV CHC W 16 4 26-61 7 32.5 +
91 91 Friday, Aug 8 CLV CHC L 0 7 26-62 7 33.0 -
92 92 Saturday, Aug 9 CLV CIN W 5 4 27-62 7 33.0 +
93 93 Monday, Aug 11 CLV CIN L 7 9 27-63 7 33.0 1:55 -
94 94 Tuesday, Aug 12 CLV CIN L 1 2 27-64 7 33.0 --
95 95 Wednesday, Aug 13 CLV PIT W 20 9 28-64 7 33.0 +
96 96 Thursday, Aug 14 CLV PIT W 11 6 29-64 7 32.0 ++
97 97 Friday, Aug 15 CLV PIT W 15 0 30-64 7 32.0 +++
98 98 Saturday, Aug 16 CLV @ CIN L 0 10 30-65 7 32.0 -
99 99 Monday, Aug 18 CLV @ CIN L 3 14 30-66 7 33.0 --
100 100 Thursday, Aug 21 CLV @ BSN L 0 8 30-67 7 35.0 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Friday, Aug 22 CLV @ BSN W 8 6 31-67 7 34.0 +
102 102 Monday, Aug 25 CLV @ PHI L 2 5 31-68 7 34.5 -
103 103 Tuesday, Aug 26 CLV @ PHI L 5 9 31-69 7 35.5 --
104 104 Wednesday, Aug 27 CLV @ PHI L 2 4 31-70 7 35.5 ---
105 105 Thursday, Aug 28 CLV @ BRO L 2 6 31-71 7 36.5 ----
106 106 Friday, Aug 29 CLV @ BRO L 6 10 31-72 7 37.5 -----
107 107 Saturday, Aug 30 CLV @ BRO L 0 2 31-73 7 38.5 ------
108 108 Monday, Sep 1 (1) CLV @ NYG L 0 4 31-74 7 41.0 -------
109 109 Monday, Sep 1 (2) CLV @ NYG L 1 5 31-75 7 41.0 --------
110 110 Tuesday, Sep 2 CLV @ NYG L 1 4 31-76 7 42.0 ---------
111 111 Thursday, Sep 4 CLV @ PIT L 2 6 31-77 7 43.5 ----------
112 112 Tuesday, Sep 9 CLV @ CIN W 8 4 32-77 7 41.0 +
113 113 Thursday, Sep 11 (1) CLV @ CHC L 0 5 32-78 7 41.5 -
114 114 Thursday, Sep 11 (2) CLV @ CHC L 6 7 32-79 7 41.5 --
115 115 Friday, Sep 12 (1) CLV @ CHC L 2 17 32-80 7 42.5 ---
116 116 Friday, Sep 12 (2) CLV @ CHC L 4 11 32-81 7 42.5 ----
117 117 Saturday, Sep 13 (1) CLV @ CHC L 6 11 32-82 7 43.0 2,300 -----
118 118 Saturday, Sep 13 (2) CLV @ CHC W 8 4 33-82 7 43.0 +
119 119 Monday, Sep 15 CLV PIT W 8 3 34-82 7 42.5 ++
120 120 Tuesday, Sep 16 CLV PIT W 4 2 35-82 7 42.5 +++
121 121 Wednesday, Sep 17 (1) CLV PIT W 17 4 36-82 7 41.5 ++++
122 122 Wednesday, Sep 17 (2) CLV PIT W 6 2 37-82 7 41.5 +++++
123 123 Thursday, Sep 18 CLV @ PIT W 11 10 38-82 7 41.0 ++++++
124 124 Saturday, Sep 20 (1) CLV BSN W 2 1 39-82 7 40.0 +++++++
125 125 Saturday, Sep 20 (2) CLV BSN W 4 0 40-82 7 40.0 ++++++++
126 126 Monday, Sep 22 CLV BSN W 5 4 41-82 7 39.0 +++++++++
127 127 Tuesday, Sep 23 CLV BSN W 5 1 42-82 7 38.5 2:05 2,000 ++++++++++
128 128 Wednesday, Sep 24 CLV NYG L 1 5 42-83 7 39.5 -
129 129 Thursday, Sep 25 CLV NYG L 3 4 42-84 7 40.0 --
130 130 Saturday, Sep 27 CLV BRO L 4 7 42-85 7 41.0 ---
131 131 Monday, Sep 29 CLV BRO L 5 6 42-86 7 42.0 ----
132 132 Tuesday, Sep 30 CLV BRO L 3 4 42-87 7 43.0 -----
133 133 Thursday, Oct 2 CLV PHI T 2 2 42-87 7 43.5 -----
134 134 Friday, Oct 3 CLV PHI L 4 5 42-88 7 44.5 ------
135 135 Saturday, Oct 4 (1) CLV PHI W 5 1 43-88 7 43.5 +
136 136 Saturday, Oct 4 (2) CLV PHI W 7 3 44-88 7 43.5 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1889 / 1891 Schedule and Results