Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1981 Schedule and Results

1981 Cleveland Indians

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1980 / 1982

First Half: 26-24, Finished 6th
Second Half: 26-27, Finished 5th
Overall: 52-51, Finished 6th in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Dave Garcia (52-51)
GM: Phil Seghi, Farm Dir: Joe Pavia, Scouting Dir: Bob Quinn Sr.
Scored 431 runs, Allowed 442 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 50-53

Ballparks: Cleveland Stadium · Attendance: 661,395 (12th of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 99, Pitching - 100 · one-year: Batting - 95, Pitching - 95

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1980 / 1982 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 52-51, Final Rank:6, GB: 7.0
Days in First16last on Sunday, May 17, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 21last on May 17, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead1.5last on Wednesday, May 13, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind8.5last on Sunday, Sep 20, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5009last on Tuesday, May 19
Most Games under .5004last on Monday, Aug 24
Longest Winning Streak5Thursday, Apr 16 to Wednesday, Apr 22, Tuesday, Aug 25 to Sunday, Aug 30 and Saturday, Sep 26 to Friday, Oct 2
Longest Losing Streak7Sunday, Jun 7 to Tuesday, Aug 11
Most Runs Allowed16Monday, Aug 24
Most Runs Scored17Sunday, Aug 30
Longest Game (innings)16Wednesday, May 13
Times Shutout by Opponent6 
Times Opponent Shutout10 
Walkoff Wins3 
Walkoff Losses6 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 52 51 431 442 .505
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 25 29 210 216 .463
Road 27 22 221 226 .551
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 8 4 40 36 .667
May 15 13 111 100 .536
June 3 7 36 43 .300
August 10 12 106 116 .455
September 15 12 125 124 .556
October 1 3 13 23 .250
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 26 24 187 179 .520
Second Half 26 27 244 263 .491
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 47 45 388 394 .511
ExtraInning 5 5 42 45 .500
Shortened 0 1 1 3 .000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 11 13 86 88 .458
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 12 13 138 155 .480
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 2 4 27 42 .333
BOS 6 7 63 64 .462
CAL 5 7 37 53 .417
CHW 5 2 27 22 .714
DET 1 5 30 38 .167
KCR 4 4 26 33 .500
MIL 3 6 32 40 .333
MIN 2 1 14 10 .667
NYY 7 5 54 38 .583
OAK 3 2 21 25 .600
SEA 8 4 72 45 .667
TEX 2 2 15 20 .500
TOR 4 2 13 12 .667

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Saturday, Apr 11 boxscore CLE MIL L 3 5 0-1 5 1.5 Caldwell Blyleven Fingers 2:48 D 71,067 -
2 2 Sunday, Apr 12 boxscore CLE MIL L 1 6 0-2 7 2.0 Slaton Denny Easterly 2:23 D 13,094 --
3 3 Tuesday, Apr 14 boxscore CLE @ TEX W 7 1 1-2 6 1.5 Waits Matlack 2:23 N 22,761 +
4 4 Wednesday, Apr 15 boxscore CLE @ TEX L 0 8 1-3 7 2.5 Medich Barker 2:22 N 10,845 -
5 5 Thursday, Apr 16 boxscore CLE @ MIL W 1 0 2-3 5 2.5 Garland Caldwell 1:59 D 54,296 +
6 6 Saturday, Apr 18 boxscore CLE @ MIL W 5 0 3-3 4 3.0 Blyleven Slaton 2:11 D 18,250 ++
7 7 Monday, Apr 20 boxscore CLE @ KCR W 4 2 4-3 3 1.5 Denny Splittorff Spillner 2:30 N 21,658 +++
8 8 Tuesday, Apr 21 boxscore CLE @ KCR W 4 1 5-3 3 0.5 Waits Berenguer 2:33 N 19,165 ++++
9 9 Wednesday, Apr 22 boxscore CLE @ KCR W 4 0 6-3 1 Tied Barker Leonard 2:51 N 19,776 +++++
10 10 Saturday, Apr 25 boxscore CLE TEX L 4 8 6-4 2 0.5 Honeycutt Garland Comer 2:07 D 10,413 -
11 11 Sunday, Apr 26 boxscore CLE TEX W-wo 4 3 7-4 1 up 0.5 Blyleven Johnson 2:57 D 13,777 +
12 12 Thursday, Apr 30 boxscore CLE CHW W 3 2 8-4 2 0.5 Waits Baumgarten 2:18 N 6,639 ++
13 13 Friday, May 1 boxscore CLE CHW W 10 2 9-4 1 up 0.5 Denny Burns 2:36 N 9,142 +++
14 14 Saturday, May 2 boxscore CLE CHW W 3 1 10-4 1 up 1.5 Barker Barrios 2:28 D 11,618 ++++
15 15 Sunday, May 3 boxscore CLE CHW L 0 6 10-5 1 Tied Dotson Garland 2:41 D 31,287 -
16 16 Wednesday, May 6 boxscore CLE @ TOR W 4 1 11-5 1 Tied Blyleven Todd 2:17 N 11,469 +
17 17 Thursday, May 7 boxscore CLE @ TOR L 2 6 11-6 1 Tied Stieb Waits 2:18 N 11,328 -
18 18 Friday, May 8 boxscore CLE @ MIN L-wo 7 8 11-7 1 Tied O'Connor Monge 3:00 N 4,664 --
19 19 Saturday, May 9 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 2 1 10 12-7 1 Tied Monge Redfern 2:52 N 4,187 +
20 20 Sunday, May 10 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 5 1 13-7 1 up 1.0 Garland Koosman 2:14 D 3,609 ++
21 21 Monday, May 11 boxscore CLE @ CHW W 3 1 14-7 1 up 1.5 Blyleven Baumgarten 2:58 N 16,806 +++
22 22 Tuesday, May 12 boxscore CLE @ CHW L 4 7 14-8 1 up 0.5 Trout Waits Hoyt 2:45 N 13,263 -
23 23 Wednesday, May 13 boxscore CLE @ CHW W 4 3 16 15-8 1 up 1.5 Stanton Lamp 5:31 N 10,463 +
24 24 Friday, May 15 boxscore CLE TOR W 3 0 16-8 1 up 1.0 Barker Leal 2:09 N 7,290 ++
25 25 Saturday, May 16 boxscore CLE TOR L 1 4 16-9 1 Tied Todd Garland 2:02 D 24,964 -
26 26 Sunday, May 17 (1) boxscore CLE TOR W 1 0 17-9 1 up 0.5 Waits Stieb Monge 2:03 D 0 +
27 27 Sunday, May 17 (2) boxscore CLE TOR W-wo 2 1 10 18-9 1 up 0.5 Blyleven Jackson 2:35 D 46,168 ++
28 28 Monday, May 18 boxscore CLE CAL L 2 7 18-10 2 0.5 Renko Denny Hassler 2:56 N 9,010 -
29 29 Tuesday, May 19 boxscore CLE CAL W 7 3 19-10 2 0.5 Spillner Zahn 2:46 N 6,488 +
30 30 Wednesday, May 20 boxscore CLE SEA L 1 3 19-11 2 1.5 Allard Barker Rawley 2:30 N 11,860 -
31 31 Thursday, May 21 boxscore CLE SEA L 3 6 19-12 3 1.5 Abbott Garland Andersen 2:18 N 7,710 --
32 32 Friday, May 22 boxscore CLE @ NYY W 7 3 20-12 2 1.5 Blyleven John 2:49 N 30,182 +
33 33 Saturday, May 23 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 2 3 20-13 3 2.5 Righetti Waits Davis 2:33 N 37,179 -
34 34 Sunday, May 24 boxscore CLE @ NYY W 12 5 21-13 2 1.0 Denny May 2:45 D 53,874 +
35 35 Monday, May 25 boxscore CLE @ BOS L-wo 7 8 21-14 2 2.0 Clear Monge 3:02 N 20,860 -
36 36 Tuesday, May 26 boxscore CLE @ BOS W 5 2 22-14 2 2.0 Garland Eckersley Spillner 2:22 N 16,986 +
37 37 Wednesday, May 27 boxscore CLE @ BOS L 5 10 22-15 2 3.0 Clear Blyleven 2:49 N 17,294 -
38 38 Friday, May 29 boxscore CLE NYY L 2 5 22-16 3 4.0 Righetti Waits Gossage 2:53 N 65,311 --
39 39 Saturday, May 30 boxscore CLE NYY L 0 1 22-17 4 4.0 Nelson Spillner Gossage 2:29 D 24,318 ---
40 40 Sunday, May 31 boxscore CLE NYY W 7 2 23-17 3 3.0 Barker May 3:04 D 40,045 +
41 41 Monday, Jun 1 boxscore CLE NYY L 3 5 23-18 4 3.5 Bird Garland Gossage 2:45 N 30,198 -
42 42 Tuesday, Jun 2 boxscore CLE BOS L 0 4 23-19 5 3.5 Eckersley Blyleven 2:04 N 6,315 --
43 43 Wednesday, Jun 3 boxscore CLE BOS W 4 1 24-19 4 2.5 Waits Tudor Monge 2:20 N 9,710 +
44 44 Thursday, Jun 4 boxscore CLE BOS L 5 6 24-20 5 2.5 Torrez Spillner Burgmeier 2:35 N 11,797 -
45 45 Friday, Jun 5 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 8 1 25-20 5 2.5 Barker Parrott 2:36 N 15,634 +
46 46 Saturday, Jun 6 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 5 3 26-20 4 2.5 Blyleven Rawley Stanton 2:40 N 26,780 ++
47 47 Sunday, Jun 7 boxscore CLE @ SEA L-wo 4 5 11 26-21 4 3.5 Drago Stanton 3:02 D 15,004 -
48 48 Monday, Jun 8 boxscore CLE @ CAL L 2 10 26-22 4 4.5 Zahn Spillner 2:13 N 22,703 --
49 49 Tuesday, Jun 9 boxscore CLE @ CAL L 2 4 26-23 5 5.5 Hassler Barker Aase 2:43 N 22,490 ---
50 50 Wednesday, Jun 10 boxscore CLE @ CAL L 3 4 26-24 6 5.5 Renko Blyleven Aase 2:26 N 23,744 ----
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Monday, Aug 10 boxscore CLE MIL L 2 5 13 26-25 6 6.0 Keeton Stanton 3:16 N 4,773 -----
52 52 Tuesday, Aug 11 (1) boxscore CLE MIL L 5 6 26-26 6 6.5 Caldwell Denny Easterly 2:35 D 0 ------
53 53 Tuesday, Aug 11 (2) boxscore CLE MIL L 1 6 26-27 6 6.5 Slaton Waits Augustine 2:21 N 7,776 -------
54 54 Wednesday, Aug 12 boxscore CLE MIL W 9 4 27-27 6 6.5 Barker Lerch 2:31 N 5,819 +
55 55 Thursday, Aug 13 boxscore CLE MIL L 5 8 27-28 6 7.5 Haas Garland Fingers 2:22 N 5,639 -
56 56 Friday, Aug 14 boxscore CLE KCR L 1 4 27-29 6 7.5 Jones Blyleven Martin 2:44 N 7,971 --
57 57 Saturday, Aug 15 boxscore CLE KCR L 3 5 27-30 6 7.5 Leonard Denny Quisenberry 2:32 D 7,582 ---
58 58 Sunday, Aug 16 (1) boxscore CLE KCR L 2 6 27-31 6 7.0 Gura Waits Brett 2:34 D 0 ----
59 59 Sunday, Aug 16 (2) boxscore CLE KCR W 8 6 28-31 6 7.0 Stanton Martin Monge 2:56 D 12,790 +
60 60 Tuesday, Aug 18 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 5 2 29-31 6 6.5 Blyleven Clark Spillner 2:37 N 10,624 ++
61 61 Wednesday, Aug 19 boxscore CLE @ SEA L-wo 3 4 10 29-32 6 6.5 Rawley Monge 2:55 N 7,800 -
62 62 Thursday, Aug 20 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 6 5 14 30-32 6 6.0 Stanton Drago 3:47 N 7,630 +
63 63 Friday, Aug 21 boxscore CLE @ CAL L 2 12 30-33 6 6.5 Forsch Barker 2:34 N 31,482 -
64 64 Saturday, Aug 22 boxscore CLE @ CAL L-wo 2 3 10 30-34 6 7.5 Aase Monge 2:57 N 26,743 --
65 65 Sunday, Aug 23 boxscore CLE @ CAL W 6 3 31-34 6 7.5 Denny Frost Stanton 2:51 D 21,926 +
66 66 Monday, Aug 24 boxscore CLE @ OAK L 4 16 31-35 6 7.5 Keough Waits 2:34 N 30,139 -
67 67 Tuesday, Aug 25 boxscore CLE @ OAK W 2 0 32-35 6 7.5 Barker McCatty 2:50 D 14,841 +
68 68 Thursday, Aug 27 boxscore CLE SEA W 12 2 33-35 6 7.0 Blyleven Parrott 2:45 N 5,759 ++
69 69 Friday, Aug 28 boxscore CLE SEA W-wo 1 0 34-35 6 6.0 Denny Rawley 2:11 N 7,785 +++
70 70 Saturday, Aug 29 boxscore CLE SEA W 7 3 35-35 6 6.0 Waits Bannister 2:40 N 8,556 ++++
71 71 Sunday, Aug 30 boxscore CLE SEA W 17 11 36-35 6 5.5 Monge Rawley 3:36 D 11,409 +++++
72 72 Monday, Aug 31 boxscore CLE OAK L 3 5 36-36 6 6.5 Langford Blyleven Underwood 2:43 N 8,442 -
73 73 Wednesday, Sep 2 (1) boxscore CLE OAK W 2 0 37-36 6 5.5 Denny Norris 2:17 N 0 +
74 74 Wednesday, Sep 2 (2) boxscore CLE OAK W 10 4 38-36 6 5.5 Spillner Keough 3:24 N 5,198 ++
75 75 Friday, Sep 4 boxscore CLE CAL L 1 3 6 38-37 6 6.0 Zahn Barker 2:01 N 10,972 -
76 76 Saturday, Sep 5 (1) boxscore CLE CAL W 4 2 39-37 6 5.5 Blyleven Renko 2:46 D 0 +
77 77 Saturday, Sep 5 (2) boxscore CLE CAL W 4 2 40-37 6 5.5 Brennan Frost Spillner 2:33 D 8,543 ++
78 78 Sunday, Sep 6 boxscore CLE CAL W 2 0 41-37 6 5.5 Denny Forsch 1:53 D 9,027 +++
79 79 Monday, Sep 7 boxscore CLE @ BAL L 2 9 41-38 6 6.5 Palmer Waits 2:46 N 21,377 -
80 80 Tuesday, Sep 8 boxscore CLE @ BAL L 5 14 41-39 6 7.0 McGregor Barker 3:07 N 8,193 --
81 81 Wednesday, Sep 9 boxscore CLE @ BAL W 8 5 42-39 6 6.5 Blyleven Stone 3:01 N 10,637 +
82 82 Thursday, Sep 10 boxscore CLE @ BAL W 4 1 43-39 6 6.0 Denny Stewart Spillner 2:46 N 10,616 ++
83 83 Friday, Sep 11 boxscore CLE @ DET L 3 6 43-40 6 7.0 Schatzeder Waits 2:31 N 29,541 -
84 84 Saturday, Sep 12 boxscore CLE @ DET L-wo 9 11 12 43-41 6 7.0 Rozema Monge 4:16 D 23,464 --
85 85 Sunday, Sep 13 boxscore CLE @ DET L 6 8 43-42 6 8.0 Wilcox Spillner Rothschild 2:53 D 24,916 ---
86 86 Tuesday, Sep 15 boxscore CLE BAL L 6 7 43-43 6 8.5 Martinez Stanton 2:57 N 5,397 ----
87 87 Thursday, Sep 17 boxscore CLE BAL L 2 6 43-44 6 8.5 McGregor Barker Stoddard 2:53 N 3,272 -----
88 88 Friday, Sep 18 boxscore CLE DET W 8 4 44-44 6 8.5 Denny Schatzeder Spillner 2:51 N 6,492 +
89 89 Saturday, Sep 19 boxscore CLE DET L 3 4 44-45 6 8.5 Petry Blyleven Cappuzzello 2:47 D 7,052 -
90 90 Sunday, Sep 20 boxscore CLE DET L 1 5 44-46 6 8.5 Morris Brennan 2:50 D 9,930 --
91 91 Monday, Sep 21 boxscore CLE @ NYY W 5 0 45-46 6 7.5 Waits May 2:27 N 20,102 +
92 92 Tuesday, Sep 22 boxscore CLE @ NYY W 6 4 46-46 6 7.5 Barker Righetti Monge 3:22 N 15,098 ++
93 93 Wednesday, Sep 23 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 1 6 46-47 6 7.5 Reuschel Denny 2:21 N 21,596 -
94 94 Thursday, Sep 24 boxscore CLE @ BOS W 5 2 47-47 6 7.0 Spillner Torrez 2:54 N 14,720 +
95 95 Friday, Sep 25 boxscore CLE @ BOS L 4 5 47-48 6 7.0 Stanley Garland 2:21 N 26,136 -
96 96 Saturday, Sep 26 boxscore CLE @ BOS W 7 5 48-48 6 7.0 Waits Eckersley Spillner 2:37 D 24,034 +
97 97 Sunday, Sep 27 boxscore CLE @ BOS W 8 7 11 49-48 6 6.5 Monge Clear 3:22 D 31,727 ++
98 98 Monday, Sep 28 boxscore CLE NYY W 6 2 50-48 6 6.0 Brennan Reuschel 2:38 N 6,168 +++
99 99 Tuesday, Sep 29 boxscore CLE NYY W 3 2 51-48 6 5.0 Denny Guidry 1:59 N 7,003 ++++
100 100 Friday, Oct 2 boxscore CLE BOS W 11 4 52-48 6 5.5 Spillner Eckersley 2:53 N 4,047 +++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Oct 3 boxscore CLE BOS L 0 4 52-49 6 6.5 Tanana Brennan 2:20 D 7,114 -
102 102 Sunday, Oct 4 boxscore CLE BOS L 2 6 52-50 6 6.5 Torrez Denny Aponte 2:13 D 6,674 --
103 103 Monday, Oct 5 boxscore CLE KCR L 0 9 52-51 6 7.0 Splittorff Waits 2:05 D 3,006 ---
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1980 / 1982 Schedule and Results