Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1980 Schedule and Results

1980 Cleveland Indians

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1979 / 1981

79-81, Finished 6th in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Dave Garcia (79-81)
GM: Phil Seghi, Scouting Dir: Bob Quinn Sr.
Scored 738 runs, Allowed 807 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 73-87

Ballparks: Cleveland Stadium · Attendance: 1,033,827 (11th of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 101, Pitching - 102 · one-year: Batting - 103, Pitching - 103

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1979 / 1981 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 79-81, Final Rank:6, GB: 23.0
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind23.5last on Wednesday, Sep 24, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5007last on Saturday, Aug 30
Most Games under .5007last on Friday, May 16
Longest Winning Streak8Tuesday, Jul 22 to Wednesday, Jul 30
Longest Losing Streak7Thursday, Sep 18 to Wednesday, Sep 24
Most Runs Allowed18Wednesday, Oct 1
Most Runs Scored14Sunday, Jun 15, Saturday, Jul 26 and Wednesday, Aug 13
Longest Game (innings)15Friday, Jun 20
Times Shutout by Opponent6 
Times Opponent Shutout8 
Walkoff Wins5 
Walkoff Losses8 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 79 81 738 807 .494
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 44 35 400 389 .557
Road 35 46 338 418 .432
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 5 10 62 90 .333
May 16 13 111 120 .552
June 13 13 138 145 .500
July 15 11 142 128 .577
August 18 15 150 147 .545
September 11 16 119 145 .407
October 1 3 16 32 .250
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 37 39 344 386 .487
Second Half 42 42 394 421 .500
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 72 75 667 745 .490
ExtraInning 6 6 64 61 .500
Shortened 1 0 7 11.000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 23 21 203 201 .523
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 20 29 255 338 .408
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 7 6 52 61 .538
BOS 6 7 49 60 .462
CAL 6 4 59 58 .600
CHW 7 5 66 57 .583
DET 3 10 51 97 .231
KCR 5 7 47 57 .417
MIL 3 10 42 78 .231
MIN 9 3 64 38 .750
NYY 5 8 67 78 .385
OAK 6 6 42 54 .500
SEA 8 4 63 47 .667
TEX 6 6 63 63 .500
TOR 8 5 73 59 .615

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Friday, Apr 11 boxscore CLE @ CAL L 2 10 0-1 5 1.0 Frost Spillner 2:49 N 37,085 -
2 2 Saturday, Apr 12 boxscore CLE @ CAL W 2 1 1-1 2 1.0 Barker Kison Monge 2:48 N 32,353 +
3 3 Sunday, Apr 13 boxscore CLE @ CAL L 3 8 1-2 3 1.0 Aase Denny Montague 2:53 D 33,628 -
4 4 Monday, Apr 14 boxscore CLE @ TEX L 4 7 1-3 4 1.5 Medich Waits Lyle 2:32 N 8,656 --
5 5 Tuesday, Apr 15 boxscore CLE @ TEX L 0 3 1-4 6 2.0 Matlack Owchinko 2:15 N 11,895 ---
6 6 Wednesday, Apr 16 boxscore CLE @ TEX L-wo 7 8 1-5 6 2.5 Kern Cruz 3:09 N 11,557 ----
7 7 Saturday, Apr 19 boxscore CLE TOR W 8 1 2-5 5 2.0 Waits Clancy 2:29 D 61,753 +
8 8 Sunday, Apr 20 boxscore CLE TOR L 3 5 2-6 6 2.5 Lemanczyk Denny McLaughlin 2:26 D 11,220 -
9 9 Monday, Apr 21 boxscore CLE @ MIL L-wo 5 7 11 2-7 6 3.5 McClure Cruz 3:13 N 10,414 --
10 10 Tuesday, Apr 22 boxscore CLE @ MIL L 4 8 2-8 6 4.0 Caldwell Barker 2:53 N 15,898 ---
11 11 Wednesday, Apr 23 boxscore CLE @ MIL W 7 3 3-8 6 3.0 Spillner Haas 2:43 N 9,053 +
12 12 Friday, Apr 25 boxscore CLE TEX L 1 4 3-9 7 3.0 Darwin Waits 3:00 N 7,126 -
13 13 Saturday, Apr 26 boxscore CLE TEX W 8 7 4-9 6 3.0 Cruz Kern Stanton 3:05 D 7,092 +
14 14 Sunday, Apr 27 boxscore CLE TEX W 7 4 5-9 5 3.0 Barker Jenkins 3:09 D 12,879 ++
15 15 Tuesday, Apr 29 boxscore CLE MIL L 1 14 5-10 5 4.0 Travers Owchinko 2:41 N 4,008 -
16 16 Thursday, May 1 boxscore CLE @ TOR W 2 1 6-10 5 2.5 Denny Lemanczyk Monge 2:23 N 11,654 +
17 17 Friday, May 2 boxscore CLE @ TOR W 6 1 7-10 5 2.0 Barker Stieb 2:35 N 14,292 ++
18 18 Saturday, May 3 boxscore CLE @ TOR L 3 8 7-11 5 3.0 Buskey Waits 2:44 D 16,564 -
19 19 Sunday, May 4 (1) boxscore CLE @ TOR L-wo 8 9 10 7-12 6 4.5 Buskey Monge 2:44 D 0 --
20 20 Sunday, May 4 (2) boxscore CLE @ TOR L 2 7 7-13 6 4.5 Jefferson Owchinko McLaughlin 2:31 N 26,114 ---
21 21 Monday, May 5 boxscore CLE @ OAK L 1 5 7-14 7 5.0 Keough Denny 2:45 N 12,605 ----
22 22 Tuesday, May 6 boxscore CLE @ OAK W 4 3 8-14 7 5.0 Barker McCatty 2:52 N 24,309 +
23 23 Wednesday, May 7 boxscore CLE @ OAK W 2 1 9-14 6 5.0 Waits Kingman 2:09 D 4,731 ++
24 24 Friday, May 9 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 4 1 10-14 6 5.0 Spillner Bannister 2:42 N 23,229 +++
25 25 Saturday, May 10 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 5 3 11-14 5 4.0 Denny McLaughlin Cruz 2:39 N 10,690 ++++
26 26 Sunday, May 11 boxscore CLE @ SEA L 4 9 11-15 5 5.0 Beattie Barker 2:41 D 6,683 -
27 27 Wednesday, May 14 boxscore CLE CAL L 7 13 11-16 6 5.0 Knapp Spillner Barr 2:35 N 4,976 --
28 28 Thursday, May 15 boxscore CLE BOS L 2 6 11-17 7 5.5 Billingham Waits Drago 2:57 N 6,700 ---
29 29 Friday, May 16 boxscore CLE BOS L 1 2 11-18 7 6.5 Rainey Denny Burgmeier 2:23 N 10,157 ----
30 30 Saturday, May 17 boxscore CLE BOS W-wo 4 3 10 12-18 7 6.5 Stanton MacWhorter 3:03 N 20,245 +
31 31 Sunday, May 18 boxscore CLE BOS W 3 1 13-18 6 5.5 Spillner Stanley Monge 2:15 D 28,724 ++
32 32 Monday, May 19 boxscore CLE BAL L 1 4 13-19 7 6.5 Stone Waits Stoddard 2:45 N 5,409 -
33 33 Tuesday, May 20 (1) boxscore CLE BAL W 4 0 14-19 7 6.0 Denny Stewart 2:22 N 0 +
34 34 Tuesday, May 20 (2) boxscore CLE BAL L 0 8 14-20 7 6.0 Palmer Owchinko 2:40 N 11,856 -
35 35 Wednesday, May 21 boxscore CLE BAL W 4 2 15-20 6 6.0 Barker Flanagan Monge 2:31 N 6,739 +
36 36 Friday, May 23 boxscore CLE @ BOS L 1 4 15-21 7 7.5 Stanley Spillner Burgmeier 2:16 N 21,857 -
37 37 Saturday, May 24 boxscore CLE @ BOS W 7 2 16-21 6 7.5 Waits Billingham 2:45 D 22,719 +
38 38 Sunday, May 25 boxscore CLE @ BOS W 3 2 17-21 6 6.5 Denny Rainey 2:23 D 24,391 ++
39 39 Monday, May 26 boxscore CLE @ BAL L 3 7 17-22 6 7.5 McGregor Barker Stoddard 2:51 N 14,298 -
40 40 Tuesday, May 27 boxscore CLE @ BAL W 7 6 18-22 6 7.5 Cruz Ford 3:02 N 10,092 +
41 41 Wednesday, May 28 boxscore CLE @ BAL W 10 6 19-22 5 6.5 Waits Palmer Monge 3:08 N 12,178 ++
42 42 Thursday, May 29 boxscore CLE MIL W 5 0 20-22 5 6.0 Denny Haas 2:17 N 6,149 +++
43 43 Friday, May 30 boxscore CLE SEA L 3 4 10 20-23 5 7.0 Heaverlo Monge 3:01 N 18,161 -
44 44 Saturday, May 31 boxscore CLE SEA W 5 2 21-23 5 7.0 Spillner Parrott 2:30 N 11,107 +
45 45 Sunday, Jun 1 boxscore CLE SEA L 7 8 21-24 6 8.0 Heaverlo Monge 3:03 D 25,376 -
46 46 Monday, Jun 2 boxscore CLE OAK W 10 5 22-24 6 8.0 Garland Kingman 3:13 N 4,445 +
47 47 Tuesday, Jun 3 boxscore CLE OAK W-wo 6 4 10 23-24 4 7.0 Cruz Langford 2:53 N 4,597 ++
48 48 Wednesday, Jun 4 boxscore CLE OAK W 5 3 24-24 4 6.0 Spillner McCatty Cruz 2:48 N 8,608 +++
49 49 Friday, Jun 6 boxscore CLE @ CHW L-wo 7 8 24-25 4 7.0 Farmer Monge 3:29 N 20,231 -
50 50 Sunday, Jun 8 boxscore CLE @ CHW W 7 2 25-25 3 6.5 Denny Burns Stanton 3:03 D 31,593 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Tuesday, Jun 10 boxscore CLE KCR L 4 8 25-26 5 7.0 Pattin Barker 3:25 N 6,061 -
52 52 Wednesday, Jun 11 (1) boxscore CLE KCR L 0 5 25-27 4 7.5 Leonard Waits 2:17 N 0 --
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 11 (2) boxscore CLE KCR W 8 5 26-27 4 7.5 Spillner Gale 2:48 N 13,712 +
54 54 Friday, Jun 13 boxscore CLE MIN W 6 2 27-27 4 7.0 Denny Koosman 2:45 N 11,336 ++
55 55 Saturday, Jun 14 boxscore CLE MIN W 3 2 28-27 4 7.0 Barker Erickson 2:45 N 12,948 +++
56 56 Sunday, Jun 15 boxscore CLE MIN W 14 5 29-27 4 7.0 Spillner Jackson 2:44 D 25,182 ++++
57 57 Monday, Jun 16 boxscore CLE CHW W 5 3 30-27 3 7.0 Garland Farmer 2:35 N 11,184 +++++
58 58 Tuesday, Jun 17 boxscore CLE CHW L 3 5 30-28 4 8.0 Hoyt Cruz 2:58 N 9,614 -
59 59 Wednesday, Jun 18 boxscore CLE @ KCR L 2 10 30-29 5 9.0 Gura Denny 2:55 N 23,736 --
60 60 Thursday, Jun 19 boxscore CLE @ KCR W 5 4 31-29 5 9.0 Barker Martin Stanton 3:07 N 21,158 +
61 61 Friday, Jun 20 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 4 3 15 32-29 4 9.0 Cruz Redfern Stanton 4:28 N 7,668 ++
62 62 Saturday, Jun 21 boxscore CLE @ MIN L 2 3 32-30 5 10.0 Zahn Garland Jackson 2:25 D 7,665 -
63 63 Sunday, Jun 22 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 11 6 33-30 4 9.0 Waits Redfern 3:00 D 9,676 +
64 64 Monday, Jun 23 boxscore CLE DET L 4 5 33-31 5 9.0 Schatzeder Stanton 3:09 N 19,564 -
65 65 Tuesday, Jun 24 boxscore CLE DET L 4 9 33-32 6 10.0 Weaver Barker Lopez 3:08 N 11,692 --
66 66 Wednesday, Jun 25 boxscore CLE DET L 3 13 33-33 6 10.0 Wilcox Spillner 2:45 N 11,873 ---
67 67 Friday, Jun 27 boxscore CLE @ NYY W 2 0 34-33 6 9.0 Waits May 2:22 N 30,421 +
68 68 Saturday, Jun 28 boxscore CLE @ NYY L-wo 10 11 34-34 6 10.0 Gossage Cruz 3:28 N 42,192 -
69 69 Sunday, Jun 29 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 2 7 34-35 6 11.0 Guidry Barker Davis 2:35 D 53,231 --
70 70 Monday, Jun 30 boxscore CLE @ DET L 4 9 34-36 6 12.0 Schatzeder Spillner Lopez 3:20 N 30,085 ---
71 71 Tuesday, Jul 1 boxscore CLE @ DET W 8 7 35-36 6 12.0 Owchinko Underwood Stanton 3:14 N 27,830 +
72 72 Wednesday, Jul 2 boxscore CLE @ DET L 6 7 35-37 6 13.0 Morris Waits Lopez 3:01 N 25,981 -
73 73 Thursday, Jul 3 boxscore CLE NYY W 7 0 36-37 6 12.0 Garland Underwood 2:19 N 73,096 +
74 74 Friday, Jul 4 boxscore CLE NYY L 5 11 36-38 6 13.0 Guidry Barker 2:55 D 21,312 -
75 75 Saturday, Jul 5 boxscore CLE NYY L 2 3 36-39 6 14.0 John Spillner Gossage 2:22 N 36,614 --
76 76 Sunday, Jul 6 boxscore CLE NYY W 5 3 37-39 6 13.0 Waits Figueroa Monge 2:34 D 43,209 +
77 77 Thursday, Jul 10 boxscore CLE @ TOR W 7 3 38-39 6 13.0 Denny Clancy 2:30 N 17,178 ++
78 78 Friday, Jul 11 boxscore CLE @ TOR L 3 6 38-40 6 13.0 Stieb Garland 2:21 N 16,621 -
79 79 Saturday, Jul 12 boxscore CLE @ TEX W 9 8 39-40 6 13.0 Barker Perry Cruz 3:17 N 27,784 +
80 80 Sunday, Jul 13 boxscore CLE @ TEX L 2 12 39-41 6 14.0 Medich Spillner 2:29 N 12,503 -
81 81 Monday, Jul 14 boxscore CLE @ TEX L 2 4 39-42 6 15.0 Darwin Waits 2:20 N 9,446 --
82 82 Tuesday, Jul 15 boxscore CLE @ CAL L 1 7 39-43 6 15.0 Tanana Denny 2:27 N 22,951 ---
83 83 Wednesday, Jul 16 boxscore CLE @ CAL W 6 2 40-43 6 15.0 Garland Aase 2:24 N 23,414 +
84 84 Thursday, Jul 17 boxscore CLE @ CAL W 5 3 41-43 6 15.0 Barker Knapp 2:44 N 22,796 ++
85 85 Friday, Jul 18 boxscore CLE @ OAK L 1 9 41-44 6 15.0 Norris Spillner 2:11 N 5,912 -
86 86 Saturday, Jul 19 boxscore CLE @ OAK L 0 3 41-45 6 16.0 McCatty Waits 2:17 D 6,506 --
87 87 Sunday, Jul 20 boxscore CLE @ OAK L-wo 5 6 14 41-46 6 16.0 Langford Cruz 3:23 D 10,606 ---
88 88 Monday, Jul 21 boxscore CLE @ SEA L 0 7 41-47 6 16.0 Abbott Garland 1:56 N 5,050 ----
89 89 Tuesday, Jul 22 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 4 0 42-47 6 15.5 Barker Bannister 2:10 N 5,727 +
90 90 Wednesday, Jul 23 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 12 6 11 43-47 6 15.5 Cruz Rawley 3:45 N 6,387 ++
91 91 Friday, Jul 25 (1) boxscore CLE CAL W-wo 9 8 44-47 6 14.0 Wihtol Clear 3:00 N 0 +++
92 92 Friday, Jul 25 (2) boxscore CLE CAL W 10 2 45-47 6 14.0 Grimsley Martinez Monge 2:18 N 23,791 ++++
93 93 Saturday, Jul 26 boxscore CLE CAL W 14 4 46-47 6 14.0 Garland Aase Cruz 2:55 D 17,624 +++++
94 94 Monday, Jul 28 boxscore CLE SEA W 7 3 47-47 6 13.5 Barker Beattie Cruz 2:32 N 5,712 ++++++
95 95 Tuesday, Jul 29 boxscore CLE SEA W 7 2 48-47 5 12.5 Spillner Honeycutt Monge 2:35 N 8,600 +++++++
96 96 Wednesday, Jul 30 boxscore CLE SEA W 5 2 49-47 5 11.5 Grimsley Abbott 2:07 N 10,352 ++++++++
97 97 Friday, Aug 1 boxscore CLE OAK L 1 2 49-48 5 13.0 Kingman Waits Beard 2:46 N 16,439 -
98 98 Sunday, Aug 3 (1) boxscore CLE OAK L 3 11 49-49 6 13.0 Keough Garland Jones 3:16 D 0 --
99 99 Sunday, Aug 3 (2) boxscore CLE OAK W 4 2 50-49 6 13.0 Barker Norris 2:30 D 17,587 +
100 100 Monday, Aug 4 boxscore CLE TOR W 11 5 51-49 6 13.0 Spillner Mirabella Monge 2:37 N 7,583 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Tuesday, Aug 5 boxscore CLE TOR W 8 5 52-49 6 12.0 Grimsley Kucek Cruz 2:26 N 6,707 +++
102 102 Wednesday, Aug 6 boxscore CLE TOR W 5 2 53-49 5 12.0 Waits Jefferson Cruz 2:30 N 9,098 ++++
103 103 Thursday, Aug 7 boxscore CLE TOR W-wo 7 6 54-49 4 11.5 Monge Garvin 3:02 N 9,586 +++++
104 104 Friday, Aug 8 boxscore CLE @ MIL L 1 4 54-50 6 11.5 Travers Barker 2:29 N 27,629 -
105 105 Saturday, Aug 9 boxscore CLE @ MIL L 2 4 54-51 6 11.5 Haas Owchinko 2:10 D 37,690 --
106 106 Sunday, Aug 10 (1) boxscore CLE @ MIL L 1 5 54-52 6 11.0 Caldwell Grimsley 2:16 D 0 ---
107 107 Sunday, Aug 10 (2) boxscore CLE @ MIL W 9 4 55-52 6 11.0 Spillner Cleveland 2:41 D 33,857 +
108 108 Tuesday, Aug 12 boxscore CLE TEX W 2 1 56-52 6 11.5 Waits Jenkins Cruz 2:10 N 9,960 ++
109 109 Wednesday, Aug 13 boxscore CLE TEX W 14 3 57-52 5 10.5 Garland Medich 2:35 N 13,449 +++
110 110 Thursday, Aug 14 boxscore CLE TEX W 7 2 58-52 5 9.5 Barker Figueroa 2:58 N 10,888 ++++
111 111 Friday, Aug 15 boxscore CLE MIL L 1 4 58-53 6 10.5 Caldwell Grimsley 2:48 N 16,031 -
112 112 Saturday, Aug 16 boxscore CLE MIL L 5 10 58-54 6 11.5 Augustine Spillner 2:55 D 17,883 --
113 113 Sunday, Aug 17 (1) boxscore CLE MIL L 0 4 58-55 6 12.0 Mitchell Waits 2:27 D 0 ---
114 114 Sunday, Aug 17 (2) boxscore CLE MIL L 1 11 58-56 6 12.0 Sorensen Owchinko 2:34 D 23,562 ----
115 115 Monday, Aug 18 (1) boxscore CLE @ CHW W 4 2 59-56 6 11.5 Barker Burns 3:06 N 0 +
116 116 Monday, Aug 18 (2) boxscore CLE @ CHW L 2 7 59-57 6 11.5 Trout Garland 2:15 N 16,270 -
117 117 Tuesday, Aug 19 boxscore CLE @ CHW W 8 5 60-57 6 11.5 Grimsley Dotson Monge 2:35 N 10,001 +
118 118 Wednesday, Aug 20 boxscore CLE @ CHW W 3 0 61-57 6 11.5 Spillner Kravec 2:17 N 8,696 ++
119 119 Thursday, Aug 21 boxscore CLE @ KCR W 4 3 62-57 5 10.5 Waits Busby Cruz 2:39 N 32,139 +++
120 120 Friday, Aug 22 boxscore CLE @ KCR W 4 1 63-57 5 9.5 Barker Splittorff Monge 2:45 N 34,526 ++++
121 121 Saturday, Aug 23 boxscore CLE @ KCR L 2 3 63-58 5 10.5 Gale Garland Quisenberry 2:21 N 40,192 -
122 122 Sunday, Aug 24 boxscore CLE @ KCR L 5 7 63-59 6 11.5 Leonard Grimsley Quisenberry 2:43 N 30,593 --
123 123 Monday, Aug 25 boxscore CLE MIN W 4 3 64-59 6 10.5 Spillner Arroyo Monge 2:40 N 14,211 +
124 124 Tuesday, Aug 26 boxscore CLE MIN L 1 5 64-60 6 10.5 Erickson Waits 2:37 N 6,483 -
125 125 Wednesday, Aug 27 boxscore CLE MIN W 4 1 65-60 5 10.0 Barker Koosman Cruz 2:45 N 7,572 +
126 126 Friday, Aug 29 boxscore CLE CHW W 6 5 66-60 5 10.5 Monge Farmer Cruz 2:45 N 9,044 ++
127 127 Saturday, Aug 30 boxscore CLE CHW W 6 2 67-60 4 10.5 Spillner Baumgarten Cruz 2:25 D 11,787 +++
128 128 Sunday, Aug 31 (1) boxscore CLE CHW L 8 10 67-61 5 11.0 Hoyt Cruz Farmer 3:05 D 0 -
129 129 Sunday, Aug 31 (2) boxscore CLE CHW L 7 8 67-62 5 11.0 Trout Grimsley Farmer 2:50 D 19,131 --
130 130 Monday, Sep 1 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 5 2 68-62 4 11.0 Barker Williams 2:34 N 4,304 +
131 131 Tuesday, Sep 2 boxscore CLE @ MIN L 3 5 68-63 6 12.0 Jackson Garland Corbett 2:29 N 2,934 -
132 132 Wednesday, Sep 3 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 7 1 7 69-63 6 12.0 Spillner Zahn 1:49 N 2,877 +
133 133 Friday, Sep 5 boxscore CLE KCR L 1 2 69-64 6 13.5 Splittorff Waits 1:51 N 21,808 -
134 134 Saturday, Sep 6 boxscore CLE KCR W 8 3 70-64 6 13.5 Barker Martin 3:03 N 27,352 +
135 135 Sunday, Sep 7 boxscore CLE KCR L 4 6 70-65 6 14.5 Leonard Garland Quisenberry 2:32 D 8,990 -
136 136 Monday, Sep 8 boxscore CLE BOS L 4 10 70-66 6 15.5 Torrez Spillner 2:41 N 5,506 --
137 137 Tuesday, Sep 9 boxscore CLE BOS L 3 4 70-67 6 15.5 Eckersley Cruz Burgmeier 3:04 N 5,182 ---
138 138 Wednesday, Sep 10 boxscore CLE BOS W 7 4 71-67 5 15.5 Waits Tudor 2:48 N 5,242 +
139 139 Friday, Sep 12 boxscore CLE DET L 3 6 71-68 6 17.0 Lopez Barker 2:52 N 9,961 -
140 140 Saturday, Sep 13 boxscore CLE DET L 4 7 13 71-69 6 18.0 Underwood Stanton Rozema 4:04 D 6,380 --
141 141 Sunday, Sep 14 (1) boxscore CLE DET W-wo 5 4 13 72-69 5 17.5 Cruz Lopez 3:53 D 0 +
142 142 Sunday, Sep 14 (2) boxscore CLE DET W 3 0 73-69 5 17.5 Owchinko Petry 2:11 D 10,189 ++
143 143 Tuesday, Sep 16 boxscore CLE @ BOS L 5 9 73-70 6 18.5 Tudor Grimsley Stanley 2:49 N 14,630 -
144 144 Wednesday, Sep 17 boxscore CLE @ BOS W 6 5 11 74-70 5 18.5 Spillner Torrez 3:25 N 15,321 +
145 145 Thursday, Sep 18 boxscore CLE @ BOS L 3 8 74-71 5 18.5 Crawford Garland 2:38 N 14,845 -
146 146 Friday, Sep 19 boxscore CLE @ DET L 3 4 74-72 6 19.5 Schatzeder Owchinko Lopez 2:54 N 10,822 --
147 147 Saturday, Sep 20 boxscore CLE @ DET L 3 13 74-73 6 19.5 Petry Waits 3:00 D 10,985 ---
148 148 Sunday, Sep 21 boxscore CLE @ DET L 1 13 74-74 6 20.5 Morris Spillner Underwood 2:33 D 10,682 ----
149 149 Monday, Sep 22 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 3 4 74-75 6 21.5 John Barker Gossage 2:23 N 16,024 -----
150 150 Tuesday, Sep 23 boxscore CLE @ NYY L-wo 4 5 74-76 6 22.5 Davis Stanton 2:46 N 24,061 ------
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Wednesday, Sep 24 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 3 7 74-77 6 23.5 Tiant Owchinko Underwood 2:33 N 22,159 -------
152 152 Thursday, Sep 25 boxscore CLE @ NYY W 5 0 75-77 6 22.5 Waits Perry 2:43 N 21,441 +
153 153 Friday, Sep 26 boxscore CLE BAL W 5 4 76-77 6 22.5 Spillner Flanagan Monge 2:34 N 6,362 ++
154 154 Saturday, Sep 27 boxscore CLE BAL W 6 5 77-77 6 21.5 Barker Martinez Monge 3:01 D 9,989 +++
155 155 Sunday, Sep 28 boxscore CLE BAL L 3 5 77-78 6 21.5 Palmer Owchinko Stoddard 3:08 D 10,631 -
156 156 Tuesday, Sep 30 boxscore CLE NYY W 12 9 78-78 6 20.5 Monge Gossage Wihtol 2:54 N 11,919 +
157 157 Wednesday, Oct 1 boxscore CLE NYY L 7 18 78-79 6 21.5 Perry Barker 3:13 N 19,037 -
158 158 Saturday, Oct 4 (1) boxscore CLE @ BAL L-wo 2 3 13 78-80 6 22.0 Stewart Monge 3:49 N 0 --
159 159 Saturday, Oct 4 (2) boxscore CLE @ BAL W 6 4 79-80 6 22.0 Waits Boddicker 2:17 N 15,755 +
160 160 Sunday, Oct 5 boxscore CLE @ BAL L 1 7 79-81 6 23.0 McGregor Barker 2:38 D 20,407 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1979 / 1981 Schedule and Results