Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1979 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1979 Cleveland Indians

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1978 / 1980

81-80, Finished 6th in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Jeff Torborg (43-52) and Dave Garcia (38-28)
GM: Phil Seghi, Scouting Dir: Bob Quinn Sr.
Scored 760 runs, Allowed 805 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 76-85

Ballparks: Cleveland Stadium · Attendance: 1,011,644 (12th of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 100, Pitching - 101 · one-year: Batting - 106, Pitching - 107

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1978 / 1980 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 81-80, Final Rank:6, GB: 22.0
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind24last on Friday, Sep 28, for days on which they played
Most Games over .5005last on Sunday, Sep 9
Most Games under .50010last on Saturday, May 12
Longest Winning Streak10Monday, Jul 23 to Tuesday, Jul 31
Longest Losing Streak10Sunday, Jun 17 to Wednesday, Jun 27
Most Runs Allowed16Wednesday, Jul 4
Most Runs Scored16Tuesday, Sep 18
Longest Game (innings)17Friday, Jul 13
Times Shutout by Opponent6 
Times Opponent Shutout7 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 81 80 760 805 .503
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 47 34 428 409 .580
Road 34 46 332 396 .425
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 6 14 71 115 .300
May 15 12 116 108 .556
June 13 15 135 132 .464
July 19 11 156 165 .633
August 16 14 162 143 .533
September 12 14 120 142 .462
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 42 48 403 450 .467
Second Half 39 32 357 355 .549
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 76 73 698 742 .510
ExtraInning 5 6 59 58 .455
Shortened 0 1 3 5 .000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 27 23 230 226 .540
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 19 26 233 296 .422
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 5 8 54 61 .385
BOS 7 6 61 74 .538
CAL 6 6 80 69 .500
CHW 6 6 65 66 .500
DET 6 6 52 69 .500
KCR 6 6 56 67 .500
MIL 4 9 48 84 .308
MIN 8 4 50 39 .667
NYY 5 8 63 55 .385
OAK 8 4 60 46 .667
SEA 7 5 57 44 .583
TEX 5 7 49 65 .417
TOR 8 5 65 66 .615

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 5 boxscore CLE @ BOS L 1 7 0-1 5 1.0 Eckersley Wise 2:42 D 34,433 -
2 2 Saturday, Apr 7 boxscore CLE BOS W 3 0 1-1 3 1.0 Waits Torrez 2:33 D 47,231 +
3 3 Sunday, Apr 8 boxscore CLE BOS L 6 7 12 1-2 4 1.0 Drago Cruz 3:44 D 6,887 -
4 4 Tuesday, Apr 10 boxscore CLE @ TEX L 0 5 1-3 6 2.0 Kern Wise 2:39 N 22,424 --
5 5 Wednesday, Apr 11 boxscore CLE @ TEX L 0 4 1-4 7 2.5 Comer Wilkins 2:10 N 12,784 ---
6 6 Thursday, Apr 12 boxscore CLE @ TEX L 3 5 1-5 7 2.5 Jenkins Waits Lyle 2:24 N 15,777 ----
7 7 Sunday, Apr 15 boxscore CLE @ BOS L 4 14 1-6 7 4.5 Eckersley Paxton Drago 3:02 D 16,460 -----
8 8 Monday, Apr 16 boxscore CLE @ BOS W 4 3 2-6 7 4.0 Wise Stanley Cruz 2:31 D 27,439 +
9 9 Tuesday, Apr 17 boxscore CLE TEX L 2 6 2-7 7 4.0 Jenkins Waits Kern 2:34 D 6,910 -
10 10 Wednesday, Apr 18 boxscore CLE TEX W 6 4 3-7 6 4.0 Monge Medich 2:59 D 6,192 +
11 11 Friday, Apr 20 boxscore CLE CHW L 2 4 10 3-8 7 4.0 Proly Cruz 2:46 N 7,977 -
12 12 Saturday, Apr 21 boxscore CLE CHW L 5 6 3-9 7 5.0 Baumgarten Garland Proly 2:28 D 7,474 --
13 13 Sunday, Apr 22 boxscore CLE CHW W 8 5 4-9 7 5.0 Waits Barrios Monge 2:23 D 14,520 +
14 14 Tuesday, Apr 24 boxscore CLE MIN W 7 2 5-9 6 5.0 Wise Erickson 2:24 D 3,902 ++
15 15 Wednesday, Apr 25 boxscore CLE MIN L 2 4 5-10 6 6.0 Redfern Monge Marshall 2:41 D 5,144 -
16 16 Thursday, Apr 26 boxscore CLE @ KCR L 4 5 5-11 7 7.0 Hrabosky Spillner 2:45 N 15,122 --
17 17 Friday, Apr 27 boxscore CLE @ KCR L 7 15 5-12 7 7.0 Splittorff Garland Rodriguez 2:49 N 17,411 ---
18 18 Saturday, Apr 28 boxscore CLE @ KCR L 2 7 5-13 7 7.0 Leonard Waits 2:28 N 27,167 ----
19 19 Sunday, Apr 29 boxscore CLE @ KCR W 5 4 6-13 6 7.0 Wise Gura Monge 3:05 D 26,184 +
20 20 Monday, Apr 30 boxscore CLE MIL L 0 8 6-14 6 7.0 Slaton Wilkins 2:29 N 3,811 -
21 21 Tuesday, May 1 boxscore CLE MIL W 3 1 7-14 6 6.5 Paxton Sorensen Monge 2:20 N 3,583 +
22 22 Wednesday, May 2 boxscore CLE MIL L 1 6 7-15 6 7.5 Haas Garland 2:40 N 4,859 -
23 23 Friday, May 4 boxscore CLE KCR L 4 5 10 7-16 6 8.0 Hrabosky Monge 3:20 N 4,056 --
24 24 Saturday, May 5 boxscore CLE KCR L 2 3 7-17 6 9.0 Gale Wise Hrabosky 2:53 D 9,529 ---
25 25 Sunday, May 6 boxscore CLE KCR W 5 4 8-17 6 9.0 Paxton Hrabosky 2:48 D 16,352 +
26 26 Tuesday, May 8 boxscore CLE @ MIL L 5 9 8-18 6 9.5 Haas Garland 2:55 N 12,959 -
27 27 Wednesday, May 9 boxscore CLE @ MIL W 8 7 9-18 6 8.5 Waits Caldwell Monge 2:51 N 10,829 +
28 28 Thursday, May 10 boxscore CLE @ MIL W 8 1 10-18 6 8.5 Wilkins Slaton Hood 3:16 D 10,864 ++
29 29 Friday, May 11 boxscore CLE @ MIN L 3 4 10-19 6 9.5 Marshall Monge 2:26 N 4,121 -
30 30 Saturday, May 12 boxscore CLE @ MIN L 0 4 10-20 6 10.5 Koosman Paxton 2:26 D 8,090 --
31 31 Sunday, May 13 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 3 2 11-20 6 10.0 Garland Goltz Cruz 2:17 D 10,172 +
32 32 Monday, May 14 boxscore CLE TOR W 1 0 12-20 6 9.5 Waits Underwood 2:09 N 3,867 ++
33 33 Tuesday, May 15 boxscore CLE TOR W 5 3 13-20 6 9.0 Monge Garvin 2:54 N 3,978 +++
34 34 Wednesday, May 16 boxscore CLE TOR L 3 4 13-21 6 9.5 Lemanczyk Wise 2:53 N 4,079 -
35 35 Thursday, May 17 boxscore CLE TOR W 8 3 14-21 6 9.0 Paxton Lemongello 2:20 D 4,409 +
36 36 Friday, May 18 boxscore CLE DET L 3 5 14-22 6 9.5 Hiller Monge 2:43 N 10,452 -
37 37 Saturday, May 19 boxscore CLE DET W 6 0 15-22 6 9.5 Waits Morris 2:12 D 7,229 +
38 38 Sunday, May 20 boxscore CLE DET W 9 7 16-22 6 9.5 Spillner Hiller 2:55 D 11,571 ++
39 39 Monday, May 21 boxscore CLE @ TOR L 1 8 16-23 6 10.0 Lemanczyk Wise 2:30 D 12,260 -
40 40 Tuesday, May 22 boxscore CLE @ TOR W 8 6 17-23 6 9.0 Wilkins Lemongello Monge 2:32 N 10,182 +
41 41 Wednesday, May 23 boxscore CLE @ TOR W 4 3 18-23 6 9.0 Garland Freisleben 2:08 N 20,283 ++
42 42 Saturday, May 26 boxscore CLE NYY W 8 4 19-23 5 9.5 Waits John 2:15 D 27,710 +++
43 43 Sunday, May 27 (1) boxscore CLE NYY W 5 0 20-23 6 8.5 Wise Guidry 2:18 D 0 ++++
44 44 Sunday, May 27 (2) boxscore CLE NYY L 4 5 20-24 6 8.5 Burris Monge 2:54 D 40,648 -
45 45 Monday, May 28 boxscore CLE @ CHW L 1 6 20-25 6 8.5 Kravec Garland 2:16 D 15,411 --
46 46 Tuesday, May 29 boxscore CLE @ CHW L 2 4 20-26 6 9.5 Wortham Wilkins Scarbery 2:36 N 7,787 ---
47 47 Wednesday, May 30 boxscore CLE @ CHW W 6 4 21-26 6 8.5 Waits Baumgarten Cruz 2:54 N 9,967 +
48 48 Friday, Jun 1 boxscore CLE @ CAL W 7 4 22-26 6 7.5 Wise Frost Cruz 3:35 N 20,070 ++
49 49 Saturday, Jun 2 boxscore CLE @ CAL L 2 5 22-27 6 8.5 Clear Garland 2:16 N 41,969 -
50 50 Sunday, Jun 3 boxscore CLE @ CAL W 5 3 23-27 6 7.5 Paxton Barr 2:56 D 24,409 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Monday, Jun 4 boxscore CLE @ OAK W 5 4 14 24-27 6 7.5 Monge Lacey 3:54 N 5,489 ++
52 52 Tuesday, Jun 5 boxscore CLE @ OAK W 12 3 25-27 6 6.5 Waits Langford 2:17 N 1,175 +++
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 6 boxscore CLE @ OAK W 6 4 26-27 6 6.5 Wise Heaverlo Cruz 3:04 N 1,282 ++++
54 54 Friday, Jun 8 boxscore CLE @ SEA L 2 6 26-28 6 8.0 Parrott Garland McLaughlin 2:08 N 7,300 -
55 55 Saturday, Jun 9 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 4 3 10 27-28 5 8.0 Monge Rawley 2:49 N 40,314 +
56 56 Sunday, Jun 10 boxscore CLE @ SEA L 2 5 27-29 6 9.0 Jones Waits Rawley 2:28 D 7,363 -
57 57 Monday, Jun 11 boxscore CLE CAL L 4 9 27-30 6 10.0 Clear Spillner 3:07 N 10,674 --
58 58 Tuesday, Jun 12 boxscore CLE CAL W 11 10 28-30 6 9.0 Hood Clear 3:40 N 9,945 +
59 59 Wednesday, Jun 13 boxscore CLE OAK W 6 4 29-30 6 9.0 Garland Lacey 2:12 N 5,204 ++
60 60 Thursday, Jun 14 boxscore CLE OAK W 2 1 30-30 6 8.5 Monge Todd 2:39 N 7,361 +++
61 61 Friday, Jun 15 boxscore CLE SEA W 13 3 31-30 5 8.5 Waits Jones 2:31 N 32,622 ++++
62 62 Saturday, Jun 16 boxscore CLE SEA W 4 3 32-30 5 8.0 Monge Montague 2:46 N 22,835 +++++
63 63 Sunday, Jun 17 boxscore CLE SEA L 5 6 32-31 5 9.0 Rawley Monge McLaughlin 2:43 D 42,521 -
64 64 Monday, Jun 18 boxscore CLE BAL L 7 8 32-32 5 10.0 Stanhouse Cruz 3:18 N 21,506 --
65 65 Tuesday, Jun 19 boxscore CLE BAL L 4 6 32-33 6 11.0 Stoddard Paxton 3:03 N 21,819 ---
66 66 Wednesday, Jun 20 boxscore CLE BAL L 3 5 6 32-34 6 12.0 Martinez Waits 1:46 N 19,553 ----
67 67 Friday, Jun 22 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 2 3 32-35 6 13.0 Hunter Wilkins Clay 2:34 N 33,776 -----
68 68 Saturday, Jun 23 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 5 6 10 32-36 5 14.5 John Cruz 3:00 N 35,818 ------
69 69 Sunday, Jun 24 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 2 8 32-37 6 14.5 Kaat Waits Davis 3:06 D 55,409 -------
70 70 Monday, Jun 25 boxscore CLE @ BAL L 2 3 32-38 6 15.5 Stone Garland Stanhouse 2:49 N 16,497 --------
71 71 Tuesday, Jun 26 boxscore CLE @ BAL L 3 4 32-39 6 16.5 Flanagan Barker Stanhouse 3:03 N 18,171 ---------
72 72 Wednesday, Jun 27 boxscore CLE @ BAL L 1 3 32-40 6 17.5 Palmer Paxton 2:23 N 20,209 ----------
73 73 Thursday, Jun 28 boxscore CLE @ BAL W 6 3 33-40 6 16.5 Wise Martinez Monge 3:07 N 11,795 +
74 74 Friday, Jun 29 boxscore CLE @ DET L 6 8 33-41 6 18.0 Wilcox Cruz Tobik 2:44 N 20,289 -
75 75 Saturday, Jun 30 boxscore CLE @ DET W 4 2 34-41 6 18.0 Clyde Young Monge 2:28 D 27,104 +
76 76 Sunday, Jul 1 boxscore CLE @ DET L 2 10 34-42 6 19.0 Morris Barker 2:38 D 20,121 -
77 77 Monday, Jul 2 boxscore CLE @ DET W 8 4 11 35-42 6 18.0 Cruz Lopez 3:28 N 20,990 +
78 78 Tuesday, Jul 3 boxscore CLE CHW W 7 3 36-42 6 17.0 Wise Kravec Monge 2:42 N 56,969 ++
79 79 Wednesday, Jul 4 boxscore CLE CHW L 4 16 36-43 6 17.0 Baumgarten Waits 3:04 D 10,899 -
80 80 Thursday, Jul 5 boxscore CLE CHW L 4 5 36-44 6 17.5 Wortham Cruz Hoffman 2:25 N 6,983 --
81 81 Friday, Jul 6 boxscore CLE MIN W 6 5 37-44 6 16.5 Spillner Hartzell Monge 2:51 N 13,348 +
82 82 Saturday, Jul 7 boxscore CLE MIN W 9 3 38-44 6 15.5 Paxton Jackson 2:35 D 10,589 ++
83 83 Sunday, Jul 8 (1) boxscore CLE MIN W 5 4 39-44 6 16.0 Cruz Marshall 2:45 D 0 +++
84 84 Sunday, Jul 8 (2) boxscore CLE MIN L 2 7 39-45 6 16.0 Goltz Waits 2:15 D 19,592 -
85 85 Monday, Jul 9 boxscore CLE KCR W 8 2 40-45 6 16.0 Clyde Leonard 2:22 N 9,148 +
86 86 Tuesday, Jul 10 boxscore CLE KCR W 7 4 41-45 6 15.0 Spillner Gale Cruz 3:02 N 10,533 ++
87 87 Wednesday, Jul 11 boxscore CLE KCR W 9 8 42-45 5 15.0 Paxton Splittorff Cruz 2:51 N 11,587 +++
88 88 Friday, Jul 13 boxscore CLE @ MIL L 3 4 17 42-46 6 15.0 Galasso Cruz 5:14 N 18,524 -
89 89 Saturday, Jul 14 boxscore CLE @ MIL L 3 10 42-47 6 16.0 Travers Clyde Cleveland 2:40 D 33,731 --
90 90 Sunday, Jul 15 boxscore CLE @ MIL L 4 10 42-48 6 17.0 Sorensen Barker 2:35 D 36,531 ---
91 91 Thursday, Jul 19 boxscore CLE @ KCR W 2 1 43-48 6 16.5 Wise Leonard Monge 2:50 N 24,046 +
92 92 Friday, Jul 20 boxscore CLE @ KCR L 1 9 43-49 6 17.5 Gale Waits 2:31 N 38,461 -
93 93 Saturday, Jul 21 boxscore CLE MIL L 0 5 43-50 6 18.5 Haas Barker 2:12 D 12,812 --
94 94 Sunday, Jul 22 (1) boxscore CLE MIL L 5 14 43-51 6 20.0 Caldwell Paxton Cleveland 2:40 D 0 ---
95 95 Sunday, Jul 22 (2) boxscore CLE MIL L 3 5 43-52 6 20.0 Mitchell Clyde Castro 2:12 N 29,876 ----
96 96 Monday, Jul 23 boxscore CLE MIL W 5 4 44-52 6 20.0 Spillner Sorensen Monge 2:12 N 7,191 +
97 97 Tuesday, Jul 24 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 4 2 45-52 6 20.5 Wise Koosman 2:38 N 10,243 ++
98 98 Wednesday, Jul 25 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 2 0 46-52 6 19.5 Waits Goltz 2:10 N 10,762 +++
99 99 Thursday, Jul 26 boxscore CLE @ MIN W 7 2 47-52 6 19.5 Spillner Redfern Monge 2:30 D 18,728 ++++
100 100 Friday, Jul 27 boxscore CLE @ CHW W 7 2 48-52 6 19.5 Clyde Scarbery 2:40 N 22,343 +++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Jul 28 boxscore CLE @ CHW W 10 5 49-52 6 18.5 Paxton Trout Cruz 3:05 N 14,466 ++++++
102 102 Sunday, Jul 29 boxscore CLE @ CHW W 9 6 50-52 6 18.5 Wise Kravec Reuschel 3:09 D 13,862 +++++++
103 103 Monday, Jul 30 boxscore CLE BOS W 6 5 51-52 6 18.5 Cruz Burgmeier 2:47 N 22,029 ++++++++
104 104 Tuesday, Jul 31 (1) boxscore CLE BOS W 11 10 11 52-52 6 18.0 Monge Campbell 3:30 N 0 +++++++++
105 105 Tuesday, Jul 31 (2) boxscore CLE BOS W 3 0 53-52 6 18.0 Barker Finch Monge 2:38 N 39,384 ++++++++++
106 106 Wednesday, Aug 1 boxscore CLE BOS L 4 7 53-53 6 19.0 Eckersley Clyde 3:06 N 17,565 -
107 107 Friday, Aug 3 boxscore CLE TEX L 3 8 53-54 6 20.0 Jenkins Wise 2:56 N 21,920 --
108 108 Saturday, Aug 4 boxscore CLE TEX W 12 8 54-54 6 20.0 Waits Johnson Spillner 2:39 D 12,693 +
109 109 Sunday, Aug 5 (1) boxscore CLE TEX W 6 2 55-54 6 19.5 Barker Medich 2:47 D 0 ++
110 110 Sunday, Aug 5 (2) boxscore CLE TEX L 3 14 55-55 6 19.5 Darwin Paxton 2:22 N 45,534 -
111 111 Tuesday, Aug 7 boxscore CLE @ BOS L 3 12 55-56 6 19.0 Torrez Clyde 2:45 N 31,204 --
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 8 (1) boxscore CLE @ BOS W 6 4 56-56 6 17.5 Wise Stanley Monge 3:04 D 31,756 +
113 113 Wednesday, Aug 8 (2) boxscore CLE @ BOS W 8 2 57-56 6 17.5 Spillner Renko 2:18 N 30,141 ++
114 114 Thursday, Aug 9 boxscore CLE @ BOS L 2 3 57-57 6 18.5 Eckersley Waits 2:11 N 31,835 -
115 115 Friday, Aug 10 boxscore CLE @ TEX W 6 1 58-57 6 18.5 Barker Darwin 2:49 N 17,832 +
116 116 Saturday, Aug 11 boxscore CLE @ TEX L 2 5 58-58 6 19.0 Allard Paxton Kern 2:15 N 21,902 -
117 117 Sunday, Aug 12 boxscore CLE @ TEX W 6 3 59-58 5 18.5 Spillner Comer Monge 2:46 N 14,346 +
118 118 Monday, Aug 13 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 6 0 60-58 5 17.5 Wise Bannister 2:23 N 6,226 ++
119 119 Tuesday, Aug 14 boxscore CLE @ SEA W 7 4 61-58 5 17.5 Waits Jones Monge 3:11 N 7,302 +++
120 120 Wednesday, Aug 15 boxscore CLE @ SEA L 2 3 61-59 6 18.5 Parrott Monge 2:20 N 6,723 -
121 121 Friday, Aug 17 boxscore CLE @ OAK L 3 5 61-60 6 18.0 McCatty Spillner 2:22 N 2,059 --
122 122 Saturday, Aug 18 boxscore CLE @ OAK L 1 4 61-61 6 19.0 Langford Wise 2:21 D 2,273 ---
123 123 Sunday, Aug 19 boxscore CLE @ OAK L 2 3 61-62 6 19.0 Norris Waits 2:12 D 2,317 ----
124 124 Monday, Aug 20 boxscore CLE @ CAL L 5 6 61-63 6 20.0 LaRoche Monge 3:03 N 35,497 -----
125 125 Tuesday, Aug 21 boxscore CLE @ CAL W 12 7 62-63 6 19.0 Reuschel Frost 3:19 N 30,902 +
126 126 Wednesday, Aug 22 boxscore CLE @ CAL W 13 3 63-63 6 18.5 Spillner Ryan 2:29 D 30,625 ++
127 127 Thursday, Aug 23 boxscore CLE OAK L 6 8 63-64 6 19.5 Langford Monge 2:29 N 7,495 -
128 128 Friday, Aug 24 boxscore CLE OAK W 5 2 64-64 6 19.0 Waits Norris 2:33 N 7,012 +
129 129 Saturday, Aug 25 boxscore CLE OAK W 5 3 65-64 6 18.5 Barker Morgan Cruz 2:34 N 8,815 ++
130 130 Sunday, Aug 26 boxscore CLE OAK W 7 5 66-64 6 19.0 Garland Kingman Monge 2:46 D 9,251 +++
131 131 Monday, Aug 27 boxscore CLE SEA L 5 6 12 66-65 6 19.5 McLaughlin Cruz 3:45 N 5,048 -
132 132 Wednesday, Aug 29 (1) boxscore CLE SEA W 5 4 67-65 6 19.5 Monge Rawley 2:40 D 0 +
133 133 Wednesday, Aug 29 (2) boxscore CLE SEA W 2 1 68-65 6 19.5 Waits Twitchell Cruz 2:16 D 6,598 ++
134 134 Thursday, Aug 30 boxscore CLE CAL W 7 1 69-65 6 19.5 Barker Ryan 2:42 N 8,647 +++
135 135 Friday, Aug 31 boxscore CLE CAL L 8 9 69-66 6 19.5 Clear Reuschel Montague 3:02 N 10,501 -
136 136 Saturday, Sep 1 boxscore CLE CAL L 4 7 69-67 6 19.5 LaRoche Garland Montague 2:51 N 22,804 --
137 137 Sunday, Sep 2 boxscore CLE CAL L 2 5 69-68 6 20.5 Frost Waits Clear 2:46 D 6,359 ---
138 138 Monday, Sep 3 boxscore CLE DET W 4 3 70-68 6 21.0 Wise Morris 2:25 D 9,095 +
139 139 Tuesday, Sep 4 boxscore CLE DET W 5 3 71-68 6 20.5 Barker Petry Monge 2:08 N 4,824 ++
140 140 Wednesday, Sep 5 boxscore CLE DET L 3 9 71-69 6 21.0 Lopez Cruz 3:11 N 5,172 -
141 141 Friday, Sep 7 boxscore CLE TOR W 9 8 72-69 6 21.5 Reuschel Buskey 2:48 N 4,222 +
142 142 Saturday, Sep 8 boxscore CLE TOR W 5 4 73-69 6 21.5 Wise Stieb 2:45 D 4,439 ++
143 143 Sunday, Sep 9 boxscore CLE TOR W 14 10 74-69 6 21.5 Monge Buskey 3:08 D 9,166 +++
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 11 boxscore CLE @ DET L 1 14 74-70 6 21.0 Rozema Spillner 2:52 N 7,983 -
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 12 boxscore CLE @ DET L 1 4 74-71 6 21.0 Wilcox Waits Lopez 2:28 N 8,517 --
146 146 Friday, Sep 14 boxscore CLE @ TOR L 3 4 74-72 6 22.5 Stieb Wise 2:39 N 11,010 ---
147 147 Saturday, Sep 15 boxscore CLE @ TOR L 2 5 74-73 6 22.5 Moore Barker 2:38 D 12,160 ----
148 148 Sunday, Sep 16 boxscore CLE @ TOR L 2 8 74-74 6 23.5 Underwood Garland 1:59 D 17,078 -----
149 149 Monday, Sep 17 (1) boxscore CLE NYY W 5 1 75-74 6 23.0 Waits Beattie 2:30 N 0 +
150 150 Monday, Sep 17 (2) boxscore CLE NYY W 6 5 76-74 6 23.0 Monge Hood 2:19 N 14,063 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 18 boxscore CLE NYY W 16 3 77-74 6 22.0 Paxton Mirabella 2:30 N 8,908 +++
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 19 boxscore CLE NYY L 0 2 77-75 6 22.0 John Wise Davis 2:33 N 8,216 -
153 153 Saturday, Sep 22 boxscore CLE @ BAL W 7 3 78-75 6 21.5 Waits McGregor 2:58 N 29,470 +
154 154 Sunday, Sep 23 (1) boxscore CLE @ BAL W 4 3 79-75 6 21.5 Monge Martinez 3:08 D 0 ++
155 155 Sunday, Sep 23 (2) boxscore CLE @ BAL L 1 3 79-76 6 21.5 Flanagan Spillner Stanhouse 2:04 N 26,117 -
156 156 Tuesday, Sep 25 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 5 7 79-77 6 21.5 Davis Wise Gossage 2:57 N 15,699 --
157 157 Wednesday, Sep 26 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 3 6 79-78 6 22.5 Guidry Paxton 2:25 N 16,354 ---
158 158 Thursday, Sep 27 boxscore CLE @ NYY L 2 5 79-79 6 23.0 Gossage Monge 2:28 N 12,111 ----
159 159 Friday, Sep 28 boxscore CLE BAL L 6 14 79-80 6 24.0 Palmer Barker 3:03 N 6,462 -----
160 160 Saturday, Sep 29 boxscore CLE BAL W 4 1 80-80 6 23.0 Spillner Flanagan Monge 2:22 D 16,590 +
161 161 Sunday, Sep 30 boxscore CLE BAL W 6 5 11 81-80 6 22.0 Monge Ford 3:37 D 12,995 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1978 / 1980 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits