Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Schedule and Results

1978 Cincinnati Reds

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1977 / 1979

92-69, Finished 2nd in NL West (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Sparky Anderson (92-69)
GM: Bob Howsam (Resigned GM duties 2/16/1978), Dick Wagner (Assumed GM duties 2/16/1978), Farm Dir: Chief Bender, Scouting Dir: Joe Bowen
Scored 710 runs, Allowed 688 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 83-78

Ballparks: Riverfront Stadium · Attendance: 2,532,497 (3rd of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 100, Pitching - 99 · one-year: Batting - 103, Pitching - 103

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1977 / 1979 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 92-69, Final Rank:2, GB: 2.5
Days in First24last on Sunday, Aug 6, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 28last on Aug 6, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead2last on Tuesday, Apr 18, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind9.5last on Saturday, Sep 16, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50023last on Sunday, Oct 1
Most Games under .500never
Longest Winning Streak7Sunday, Sep 24 to Sunday, Oct 1
Longest Losing Streak6Tuesday, Jun 27 to Saturday, Jul 1 and Thursday, Aug 24 to Tuesday, Aug 29
Most Runs Allowed19Sunday, May 7
Most Runs Scored14Saturday, Apr 29
Longest Game (innings)14Sunday, Jul 23 and Sunday, Oct 1
Times Shutout by Opponent9 
Times Opponent Shutout10 
Walkoff Wins10 
Walkoff Losses6 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 92 69 710 688 .571
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 49 31 379 338 .613
Road 43 38 331 350 .531
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 13 8 119 93 .619
May 17 11 129 118 .607
June 14 14 89 102 .500
July 18 10 127 118 .643
August 10 18 115 149 .357
September 19 8 121 100 .704
October 1 0 10 81.000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 49 37 373 346 .570
Second Half 43 32 337 342 .573
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 81 65 630 619 .555
ExtraInning 11 4 80 69 .733
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 33 19 188 174 .635
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 21 20 233 259 .512
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 12 6 100 77 .667
CHC 5 7 43 54 .417
HOU 11 7 79 77 .611
LAD 9 9 76 80 .500
MON 8 4 56 52 .667
NYM 7 5 66 61 .583
PHI 7 5 53 57 .583
PIT 4 7 35 58 .364
SDP 9 9 58 68 .500
SFG 12 6 86 49 .667
STL 8 4 58 55 .667

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 6 boxscore CIN HOU W 11 9 1-0 1 up 0.5 Borbon Richard Tomlin 2:53 D 52,378 +
2 2 Friday, Apr 7 boxscore CIN HOU W 5 4 2-0 1 up 0.5 Bonham Niekro Borbon 2:25 N 22,883 ++
3 3 Saturday, Apr 8 boxscore CIN HOU W 2 1 3-0 1 up 0.5 Norman Andujar Bair 2:24 D 17,958 +++
4 4 Sunday, Apr 9 boxscore CIN HOU W 9 3 4-0 1 up 0.5 Hume Lemongello 2:10 D 42,667 ++++
5 5 Tuesday, Apr 11 boxscore CIN SFG L 2 3 4-1 1 Tied Lavelle Tomlin 2:26 N 16,134 -
6 6 Wednesday, Apr 12 boxscore CIN SFG W 12 3 5-1 1 up 1.0 Bonham Blue 1:55 N 17,123 +
7 7 Thursday, Apr 13 boxscore CIN SFG W-wo 7 6 13 6-1 1 up 1.5 Sarmiento Curtis 3:24 D 19,309 ++
8 8 Friday, Apr 14 boxscore CIN @ HOU W 8 4 7-1 1 up 1.5 Hume Andujar Murray 2:37 N 25,583 +++
9 9 Saturday, Apr 15 boxscore CIN @ HOU L 1 6 7-2 1 up 1.0 Lemongello Capilla 2:09 N 34,858 -
10 10 Sunday, Apr 16 boxscore CIN @ HOU L-wo 3 4 13 7-3 1 Tied Dixon Sarmiento 4:06 D 27,700 --
11 11 Monday, Apr 17 boxscore CIN @ LAD W 8 2 8-3 1 up 1.0 Bonham Hooton 2:32 N 40,527 +
12 12 Tuesday, Apr 18 boxscore CIN @ LAD W 11 3 9-3 1 up 2.0 Norman Sutton Murray 2:33 N 50,374 ++
13 13 Wednesday, Apr 19 boxscore CIN @ LAD L 4 5 9-4 1 up 1.0 John Hume 2:04 N 49,333 -
14 14 Friday, Apr 21 boxscore CIN @ SFG L 0 3 9-5 1 up 0.5 Knepper Seaver 2:03 N 26,576 --
15 15 Saturday, Apr 22 boxscore CIN @ SFG W 5 4 10 10-5 1 up 0.5 Tomlin Lavelle 2:29 D 24,677 +
16 16 Sunday, Apr 23 boxscore CIN @ SFG W 2 1 10 11-5 1 up 0.5 Murray Moffitt Bair 3:05 D 50,510 ++
17 17 Tuesday, Apr 25 boxscore CIN LAD L 2 4 11-6 2 0.5 John Hume 2:03 N 27,361 -
18 18 Wednesday, Apr 26 boxscore CIN LAD L 4 14 11-7 2 1.5 Rau Seaver 2:53 N 32,872 --
19 19 Friday, Apr 28 boxscore CIN @ NYM W 5 1 12-7 2 1.5 Norman Koosman Sarmiento 2:39 N 15,842 +
20 20 Saturday, Apr 29 boxscore CIN @ NYM W 14 7 13-7 2 0.5 Borbon Cornejo Bair 3:10 D 17,347 ++
21 21 Sunday, Apr 30 boxscore CIN @ NYM L 4 6 13-8 2 0.5 Zachry Hume Lockwood 2:36 D 20,092 -
22 22 Monday, May 1 boxscore CIN PHI L 1 12 13-9 2 1.0 Carlton Seaver 2:39 N 21,476 --
23 23 Wednesday, May 3 boxscore CIN PHI W 12 3 14-9 2 0.5 Norman Christenson 2:35 N 26,054 +
24 24 Friday, May 5 boxscore CIN MON L 3 4 14-10 2 2.0 Rogers Hume 2:28 N 37,823 -
25 25 Saturday, May 6 boxscore CIN MON W 6 2 15-10 2 1.0 Seaver May Borbon 2:28 D 50,142 +
26 26 Sunday, May 7 (1) boxscore CIN MON L 5 19 15-11 2 0.5 Twitchell Moskau 3:09 D 0 -
27 27 Sunday, May 7 (2) boxscore CIN MON W 4 2 16-11 2 0.5 Sarmiento Grimsley Bair 2:13 D 35,037 +
28 28 Monday, May 8 boxscore CIN NYM L 2 3 10 16-12 2 1.0 Lockwood Borbon Cornejo 2:52 N 16,094 -
29 29 Tuesday, May 9 boxscore CIN NYM W-wo 7 6 10 17-12 2 1.0 Bair Lockwood 2:44 N 19,217 +
30 30 Thursday, May 11 boxscore CIN @ PHI L 1 4 17-13 2 0.5 Carlton Seaver 2:13 N 32,580 -
31 31 Friday, May 12 boxscore CIN @ PHI W 3 0 18-13 1 Tied Bonham Lerch Moskau 2:18 N 38,179 +
32 32 Saturday, May 13 boxscore CIN @ PHI W 4 3 19-13 1 Tied Sarmiento McGraw 2:31 N 35,802 ++
33 33 Sunday, May 14 boxscore CIN @ PHI L 4 7 19-14 2 1.5 Christenson Hume Reed 2:09 D 30,482 -
34 34 Tuesday, May 16 boxscore CIN @ MON W 5 1 20-14 2 1.5 Seaver Twitchell 2:22 N 10,725 +
35 35 Wednesday, May 17 boxscore CIN @ MON L-wo 4 5 11 20-15 3 2.5 Knowles Murray 3:15 N 11,826 -
36 36 Thursday, May 18 boxscore CIN @ MON W 3 2 21-15 3 2.0 Norman Rogers Borbon 2:14 N 9,435 +
37 37 Friday, May 19 boxscore CIN SDP W 4 3 22-15 2 2.0 Tomlin Fingers Bair 2:08 N 36,283 ++
38 38 Saturday, May 20 boxscore CIN SDP W 10 6 23-15 2 1.0 Tomlin Fingers 3:11 D 35,429 +++
39 39 Sunday, May 21 (1) boxscore CIN SDP L 2 7 23-16 2 0.5 Shirley Sarmiento 2:40 D 0 -
40 40 Sunday, May 21 (2) boxscore CIN SDP W 1 0 24-16 2 0.5 Seaver D'Acquisto Bair 2:19 D 38,295 +
41 41 Monday, May 22 boxscore CIN ATL W 10 0 25-16 1 Tied Bonham Mahler 2:18 N 18,434 ++
42 42 Tuesday, May 23 boxscore CIN ATL L 4 6 25-17 2 1.0 Hanna Norman Devine 2:52 N 17,771 -
43 43 Wednesday, May 24 boxscore CIN ATL W 5 4 26-17 2 1.0 Sarmiento Devine 2:32 D 23,891 +
44 44 Friday, May 26 boxscore CIN @ SDP W 3 1 27-17 2 1.5 Seaver Shirley Bair 2:16 N 34,227 ++
45 45 Saturday, May 27 boxscore CIN @ SDP W 5 2 28-17 2 0.5 Bonham Owchinko 2:30 N 43,484 +++
46 46 Sunday, May 28 boxscore CIN @ SDP L 1 3 28-18 2 1.5 Jones Norman Fingers 1:58 D 34,029 -
47 47 Monday, May 29 boxscore CIN @ ATL W 7 5 29-18 2 1.5 Sarmiento Easterly Bair 3:18 N 12,569 +
48 48 Tuesday, May 30 boxscore CIN @ ATL L-wo 3 4 10 29-19 2 2.5 Easterly Bair 2:33 N 10,103 -
49 49 Wednesday, May 31 boxscore CIN @ ATL W 10 4 30-19 2 1.5 Seaver Ruthven 2:54 N 10,933 +
50 50 Friday, Jun 2 boxscore CIN PIT W-wo 3 2 31-19 2 1.5 Tomlin Rooker 2:31 N 40,495 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Saturday, Jun 3 boxscore CIN PIT W 4 3 32-19 2 0.5 Norman Robinson Sarmiento 2:46 N 50,152 +++
52 52 Sunday, Jun 4 boxscore CIN PIT L 1 4 32-20 2 1.5 Blyleven Moskau Jackson 2:35 D 37,304 -
53 53 Monday, Jun 5 boxscore CIN @ STL W 2 1 33-20 2 0.5 Seaver Forsch 2:50 N 32,057 +
54 54 Tuesday, Jun 6 boxscore CIN @ STL L 1 4 33-21 2 0.5 Denny Hume 2:00 N 17,274 -
55 55 Wednesday, Jun 7 boxscore CIN @ CHC W 9 6 34-21 1 up 0.5 Bonham Burris Bair 2:55 D 21,093 +
56 56 Thursday, Jun 8 boxscore CIN @ CHC L 1 10 34-22 1 Tied Reuschel Norman 2:18 D 21,137 -
57 57 Friday, Jun 9 boxscore CIN @ PIT L 9 11 34-23 1 Tied Jackson Bair Candelaria 3:02 N 21,710 --
58 58 Saturday, Jun 10 boxscore CIN @ PIT W 6 4 35-23 1 Tied Seaver Jackson 2:52 D 34,009 +
59 59 Sunday, Jun 11 boxscore CIN @ PIT L 1 3 35-24 2 1.0 Jackson Sarmiento Whitson 2:22 D 24,972 -
60 60 Monday, Jun 12 boxscore CIN CHC L 2 3 35-25 2 2.0 Reuschel Bonham Holtzman 2:06 N 30,190 --
61 61 Tuesday, Jun 13 boxscore CIN CHC W 1 0 36-25 2 2.0 Norman Lamp Bair 2:13 N 31,283 +
62 62 Wednesday, Jun 14 boxscore CIN CHC W 3 1 37-25 2 2.0 Sarmiento Roberts Bair 1:49 D 34,658 ++
63 63 Friday, Jun 16 boxscore CIN STL W 4 0 38-25 2 2.5 Seaver Denny 2:09 N 38,216 +++
64 64 Saturday, Jun 17 boxscore CIN STL W-wo 6 5 39-25 2 1.5 Borbon Schultz 2:31 D 40,262 ++++
65 65 Sunday, Jun 18 boxscore CIN STL W 4 2 40-25 2 2.0 Norman Martinez Sarmiento 2:21 D 40,016 +++++
66 66 Tuesday, Jun 20 boxscore CIN @ SFG W 6 3 41-25 2 1.0 Borbon Lavelle Tomlin 2:44 N 55,920 ++++++
67 67 Wednesday, Jun 21 boxscore CIN @ SFG L 0 3 41-26 2 2.0 Halicki Seaver 1:58 N 37,334 -
68 68 Thursday, Jun 22 boxscore CIN @ SFG W 5 0 42-26 2 1.0 Bonham Knepper Sarmiento 2:20 N 40,039 +
69 69 Friday, Jun 23 boxscore CIN @ LAD L 0 1 42-27 2 2.0 Hooton Norman 2:02 N 51,068 -
70 70 Saturday, Jun 24 boxscore CIN @ LAD L 3 4 42-28 2 3.0 Sutton Hume Welch 2:41 D 46,274 --
71 71 Sunday, Jun 25 boxscore CIN @ LAD W 5 4 43-28 2 2.5 Borbon John Bair 2:36 D 50,356 +
72 72 Monday, Jun 26 boxscore CIN @ HOU W 4 3 44-28 2 1.5 Seaver Lemongello Tomlin 2:24 N 20,388 ++
73 73 Tuesday, Jun 27 boxscore CIN @ HOU L 4 7 44-29 2 2.5 Niekro Bonham Sambito 2:24 N 16,848 -
74 74 Wednesday, Jun 28 boxscore CIN @ HOU L 0 3 44-30 2 3.0 Dixon Norman 2:10 N 16,622 --
75 75 Thursday, Jun 29 boxscore CIN @ HOU L 0 5 44-31 2 3.5 Bannister Hume 2:20 N 17,564 ---
76 76 Friday, Jun 30 (1) boxscore CIN LAD L 3 5 44-32 3 3.5 John Bair Rautzhan 2:20 N 0 ----
77 77 Friday, Jun 30 (2) boxscore CIN LAD L 2 5 44-33 3 3.5 Welch Sarmiento Hough 2:24 N 50,370 -----
78 78 Saturday, Jul 1 boxscore CIN LAD L 0 2 44-34 3 4.5 Rhoden Seaver 2:45 N 48,044 ------
79 79 Sunday, Jul 2 boxscore CIN LAD W 7 6 45-34 3 3.5 Bair Rau 2:31 D 46,067 +
80 80 Monday, Jul 3 boxscore CIN HOU W-wo 8 7 11 46-34 2 2.5 Bair Sambito 3:23 N 31,840 ++
81 81 Tuesday, Jul 4 boxscore CIN HOU L 1 3 46-35 3 2.5 Richard Hume 2:17 N 31,705 -
82 82 Wednesday, Jul 5 boxscore CIN HOU W 2 1 47-35 2 2.5 Moskau Niekro Bair 2:26 N 30,320 +
83 83 Friday, Jul 7 (1) boxscore CIN SFG L 6 7 47-36 3 3.0 Blue Seaver Lavelle 2:38 N 0 -
84 84 Friday, Jul 7 (2) boxscore CIN SFG W 2 1 48-36 3 3.0 Bonham Barr Bair 2:10 N 51,163 +
85 85 Saturday, Jul 8 boxscore CIN SFG L 2 4 48-37 3 4.0 Lavelle Sarmiento 2:22 N 43,316 -
86 86 Sunday, Jul 9 boxscore CIN SFG W 8 2 49-37 3 3.0 Hume Halicki Tomlin 2:29 D 37,966 +
87 87 Thursday, Jul 13 boxscore CIN NYM L 2 4 49-38 3 4.0 Koosman Seaver Lockwood 2:16 N 35,226 -
88 88 Friday, Jul 14 boxscore CIN NYM W 6 3 50-38 2 3.0 Bair Zachry 2:24 N 34,751 +
89 89 Saturday, Jul 15 boxscore CIN NYM W 7 5 51-38 2 3.0 Tomlin Murray Sarmiento 2:41 N 50,125 ++
90 90 Sunday, Jul 16 boxscore CIN NYM W 9 2 52-38 2 2.5 Hume Kobel 2:20 D 33,519 +++
91 91 Monday, Jul 17 boxscore CIN MON W 8 6 53-38 2 2.5 Sarmiento Bahnsen Bair 2:25 N 32,113 ++++
92 92 Tuesday, Jul 18 boxscore CIN MON L 1 3 53-39 3 2.5 Dues Seaver Garman 2:23 N 36,739 -
93 93 Wednesday, Jul 19 boxscore CIN @ PHI W 7 2 54-39 2 2.0 Tomlin Carlton Bair 2:42 N 45,608 +
94 94 Thursday, Jul 20 boxscore CIN @ PHI L 6 8 54-40 2 3.0 Brusstar Sarmiento McGraw 2:40 N 44,054 -
95 95 Friday, Jul 21 boxscore CIN @ MON W 10 3 55-40 2 2.0 LaCoss Grimsley 2:46 N 25,825 +
96 96 Saturday, Jul 22 boxscore CIN @ MON W 2 1 56-40 2 2.0 Norman Schatzeder Bair 2:33 D 28,920 ++
97 97 Sunday, Jul 23 boxscore CIN @ MON W 5 4 14 57-40 2 2.0 Sarmiento Twitchell Borbon 4:22 D 28,391 +++
98 98 Monday, Jul 24 boxscore CIN @ NYM W 5 3 58-40 2 1.5 Sarmiento Lockwood 2:41 N 35,939 ++++
99 99 Tuesday, Jul 25 boxscore CIN @ NYM L 2 9 58-41 2 2.5 Swan Hume 2:18 N 38,158 -
100 100 Wednesday, Jul 26 boxscore CIN @ NYM L 3 12 58-42 3 2.5 Espinosa LaCoss 2:30 D 19,892 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Friday, Jul 28 (1) boxscore CIN PHI L 2 12 58-43 3 2.0 Lerch Norman 2:10 N 0 ---
102 102 Friday, Jul 28 (2) boxscore CIN PHI W 2 1 59-43 3 2.0 Seaver Carlton Bair 2:09 N 51,779 +
103 103 Saturday, Jul 29 boxscore CIN PHI W 6 2 60-43 3 1.0 Moskau Lonborg 2:10 D 49,108 ++
104 104 Sunday, Jul 30 boxscore CIN PHI W 5 3 61-43 2 1.5 Hume Christenson Bair 2:23 D 44,092 +++
105 105 Monday, Jul 31 boxscore CIN @ ATL W 3 2 62-43 2 0.5 LaCoss Niekro Bair 2:29 N 45,007 ++++
106 106 Tuesday, Aug 1 boxscore CIN @ ATL L 4 16 62-44 2 0.5 McWilliams Borbon Garber 2:55 N 31,159 -
107 107 Wednesday, Aug 2 boxscore CIN @ ATL W 6 2 63-44 2 0.5 Seaver Hanna 2:24 N 26,812 +
108 108 Friday, Aug 4 boxscore CIN SDP L 2 3 63-45 2 2.0 Shirley Bair Fingers 2:58 N 44,829 -
109 109 Saturday, Aug 5 boxscore CIN SDP W 7 1 64-45 2 1.0 LaCoss Rasmussen 2:12 N 40,202 +
110 110 Sunday, Aug 6 boxscore CIN SDP W 3 1 65-45 1 Tied Norman Jones Bair 1:58 D 39,263 ++
111 111 Monday, Aug 7 boxscore CIN ATL L 3 5 65-46 2 0.5 Mahler Seaver Garber 2:27 N 33,215 -
112 112 Tuesday, Aug 8 boxscore CIN ATL L 5 6 65-47 2 1.5 Niekro Hume 2:20 N 32,730 --
113 113 Wednesday, Aug 9 boxscore CIN ATL W 10 0 66-47 2 0.5 Moskau Boggs 2:24 N 34,090 +
114 114 Thursday, Aug 10 boxscore CIN @ SDP L 3 15 66-48 3 0.5 Jones LaCoss Shirley 2:45 N 27,882 -
115 115 Friday, Aug 11 boxscore CIN @ SDP W 2 0 67-48 2 0.5 Bair Owchinko 2:35 N 33,635 +
116 116 Saturday, Aug 12 boxscore CIN @ SDP L 2 4 67-49 3 0.5 Perry Seaver Fingers 2:40 N 38,543 -
117 117 Sunday, Aug 13 boxscore CIN @ SDP L 2 3 67-50 3 1.5 Rasmussen Norman Shirley 2:20 D 34,267 --
118 118 Monday, Aug 14 boxscore CIN @ PIT L 4 7 67-51 3 2.0 Rooker Moskau Tekulve 2:34 N 26,514 ---
119 119 Tuesday, Aug 15 boxscore CIN @ PIT W 4 3 10 68-51 3 1.0 Bair Whitson 3:05 N 16,400 +
120 120 Wednesday, Aug 16 boxscore CIN @ PIT L 2 13 68-52 3 2.0 Candelaria Bonham Jackson 2:24 N 15,490 -
121 121 Thursday, Aug 17 boxscore CIN @ CHC L 0 2 68-53 3 3.0 Reuschel Seaver 2:05 D 36,814 --
122 122 Friday, Aug 18 boxscore CIN @ CHC W 8 3 69-53 3 3.0 Borbon Roberts Hume 2:45 D 33,416 +
123 123 Saturday, Aug 19 boxscore CIN @ CHC W 9 7 10 70-53 3 2.0 Hume Sutter 3:25 D 38,740 ++
124 124 Sunday, Aug 20 boxscore CIN @ CHC L-wo 1 2 70-54 3 3.0 Hernandez LaCoss 2:22 D 39,242 -
125 125 Monday, Aug 21 boxscore CIN STL L 9 14 70-55 3 3.0 Martinez Bonham 2:37 N 30,548 --
126 126 Tuesday, Aug 22 boxscore CIN STL W-wo 5 4 11 71-55 3 2.5 Tomlin Bruno 3:14 N 31,182 +
127 127 Thursday, Aug 24 boxscore CIN STL L 3 4 71-56 3 4.0 Vuckovich Moskau 2:26 N 30,054 -
128 128 Friday, Aug 25 boxscore CIN CHC L 2 5 71-57 3 5.0 Reuschel LaCoss 2:13 N 39,070 --
129 129 Saturday, Aug 26 boxscore CIN CHC L 6 8 71-58 3 5.0 Roberts Bair Sutter 2:41 D 47,299 ---
130 130 Sunday, Aug 27 boxscore CIN CHC L 1 7 71-59 3 5.0 Krukow Seaver 2:15 D 40,014 ----
131 131 Monday, Aug 28 boxscore CIN PIT L 1 3 71-60 3 6.0 Candelaria Norman Whitson 2:32 N 23,612 -----
132 132 Tuesday, Aug 29 boxscore CIN PIT L 0 5 71-61 3 7.0 Blyleven LaCoss 2:09 N 24,967 ------
133 133 Thursday, Aug 31 boxscore CIN @ STL W 11 6 72-61 3 7.0 Seaver Martinez 2:31 N 16,112 +
134 134 Friday, Sep 1 boxscore CIN @ STL W 5 2 73-61 3 7.0 Moskau Denny Bair 2:32 N 17,257 ++
135 135 Saturday, Sep 2 boxscore CIN @ STL W 6 3 12 74-61 3 6.5 Borbon Littell Bair 3:35 D 20,336 +++
136 136 Sunday, Sep 3 boxscore CIN @ STL L 2 10 74-62 3 6.5 Falcone LaCoss 2:18 D 22,051 -
137 137 Monday, Sep 4 boxscore CIN @ HOU W 6 3 75-62 3 6.5 Bonham Niekro Bair 2:47 N 11,090 +
138 138 Tuesday, Sep 5 boxscore CIN @ HOU L-wo 2 3 75-63 3 7.0 Richard Seaver 2:11 N 8,811 -
139 139 Thursday, Sep 7 boxscore CIN SDP W 6 2 76-63 3 7.5 Moskau Owchinko Norman 2:23 N 20,611 +
140 140 Friday, Sep 8 boxscore CIN SDP L 2 3 76-64 3 7.5 Perry LaCoss Fingers 2:37 N 27,205 -
141 141 Saturday, Sep 9 boxscore CIN SFG W 6 3 77-64 3 6.5 Bonham Knepper Bair 2:21 N 47,091 +
142 142 Sunday, Sep 10 boxscore CIN SFG W 8 1 78-64 3 6.5 Seaver Halicki Bair 2:17 D 43,779 ++
143 143 Monday, Sep 11 boxscore CIN HOU W-wo 9 8 79-64 3 6.5 Tomlin Andujar 2:47 N 20,400 +++
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 12 boxscore CIN HOU W-wo 4 3 80-64 3 6.5 Bair Sambito 2:20 D 20,801 ++++
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 13 boxscore CIN @ SDP L 2 6 80-65 3 7.5 Owchinko Sarmiento Fingers 2:19 N 12,899 -
146 146 Thursday, Sep 14 boxscore CIN @ SDP L 1 8 80-66 3 8.5 Shirley Bonham D'Acquisto 2:40 N 10,223 --
147 147 Friday, Sep 15 boxscore CIN @ SFG W 6 1 81-66 2 8.5 Seaver Blue 2:03 N 22,726 +
148 148 Saturday, Sep 16 boxscore CIN @ SFG L-wo 2 3 81-67 3 9.5 Lavelle Bair 2:35 D 29,557 -
149 149 Sunday, Sep 17 boxscore CIN @ SFG W 7 1 82-67 2 8.5 Moskau Knepper 2:17 D 31,469 +
150 150 Monday, Sep 18 boxscore CIN @ LAD W 4 0 83-67 2 7.5 LaCoss Welch 2:32 N 50,292 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 19 boxscore CIN @ LAD L 0 8 83-68 2 8.5 Rhoden Norman 2:14 N 50,450 -
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 20 boxscore CIN @ LAD W 4 3 84-68 2 7.5 Seaver Sutton Bair 2:29 N 51,494 +
153 153 Friday, Sep 22 boxscore CIN @ ATL W 6 4 85-68 2 6.5 Soto Skok 2:46 N 7,621 ++
154 154 Saturday, Sep 23 boxscore CIN @ ATL L 1 8 85-69 2 7.5 McWilliams LaCoss 2:27 N 12,784 -
155 155 Sunday, Sep 24 boxscore CIN @ ATL W 2 1 86-69 2 7.5 Hume Bouton 1:42 D 12,298 +
156 156 Tuesday, Sep 26 boxscore CIN LAD W 6 4 87-69 2 6.5 Seaver Rhoden 2:14 N 27,189 ++
157 157 Wednesday, Sep 27 boxscore CIN LAD W 5 3 88-69 2 5.5 Borbon Hough Bair 2:23 N 26,028 +++
158 158 Thursday, Sep 28 boxscore CIN LAD W-wo 8 7 89-69 2 4.5 Tomlin Rautzhan 2:49 N 25,314 ++++
159 159 Friday, Sep 29 boxscore CIN ATL W 7 2 90-69 2 3.5 Hume Bouton 2:03 N 20,660 +++++
160 160 Saturday, Sep 30 boxscore CIN ATL W 4 0 91-69 2 3.5 Norman Niekro 2:06 N 21,054 ++++++
161 161 Sunday, Oct 1 boxscore CIN ATL W-wo 10 8 14 92-69 2 2.5 Dumoulin Campbell 4:15 D 35,840 +++++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1977 / 1979 Schedule and Results