Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1898 Schedule and Results

1898 Cincinnati Reds

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1897 / 1899

92-60, Finished 3rd in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Buck Ewing (92-60)
Scored 831 runs, Allowed 740 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 84-68

Ballparks: League Park II · Attendance: 336,378 (2nd of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 107, Pitching - 107 · one-year: Batting - 108, Pitching - 107


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1897 / 1899 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 92-60, Final Rank:3, GB: 11.5
Days in First100last on Tuesday, Sep 6, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 124last on Sep 6, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead5last on Sunday, Aug 7, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind11.5last on Wednesday, Oct 12, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50034last on Friday, Sep 9
Most Games under .500never
Longest Winning Streak8Friday, Jul 1 to Friday, Jul 8
Longest Losing Streak6Saturday, Sep 10 to Friday, Sep 16
Most Runs Allowed17Monday, Jun 20 and Thursday, Jun 30
Most Runs Scored15Wednesday, Sep 21
Times Shutout by Opponent5 
Times Opponent Shutout10 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 92 60 831 741 .605
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 58 28 521 424 .674
Road 34 32 310 317 .515
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 9 2 71 31 .818
May 18 5 134 85 .783
June 13 16 132 189 .448
July 22 6 204 126 .786
August 11 14 117 126 .440
September 12 14 114 144 .462
October 7 3 59 40 .700
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 52 27 468 391 .658
Second Half 40 33 363 350 .548
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 27 15 170 158 .643
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 30 20 338 294 .600
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BLN 6 8 72 91 .429
BRO 11 3 77 42 .786
BSN 4 9 48 72 .308
CHC 8 6 69 92 .571
CLV 8 5 70 51 .615
LOU 9 5 75 46 .643
NYG 6 8 91 82 .429
PHI 7 7 73 98 .500
PIT 12 2 89 48 .857
STL 12 2 75 45 .857
WHS 9 5 92 74 .643

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Friday, Apr 15 CIN CLV W 3 2 1-0 1 Tied +
2 2 Saturday, Apr 16 CIN CLV L 1 3 1-1 5 0.5 -
3 3 Sunday, Apr 17 CIN CLV W 12 1 2-1 2 0.5 +
4 4 Thursday, Apr 21 CIN PIT W 11 6 3-1 1 Tied ++
5 5 Friday, Apr 22 CIN PIT W 11 0 4-1 1 Tied +++
6 6 Monday, Apr 25 CIN CHC L 4 7 4-2 4 1.0 -
7 7 Tuesday, Apr 26 CIN CHC W 3 2 5-2 3 0.5 +
8 8 Wednesday, Apr 27 CIN CHC W 5 3 6-2 1 up 0.5 ++
9 9 Thursday, Apr 28 CIN CLV W 5 3 7-2 1 up 1.0 +++
10 10 Friday, Apr 29 CIN @ PIT W 5 2 8-2 1 up 1.5 ++++
11 11 Saturday, Apr 30 CIN @ PIT W 11 2 9-2 1 up 1.5 +++++
12 12 Sunday, May 1 CIN PIT L 5 11 9-3 1 up 1.0 -
13 13 Monday, May 2 CIN @ PIT W 7 3 10-3 1 up 1.0 +
14 14 Tuesday, May 3 CIN @ PIT W 5 2 11-3 1 up 1.5 ++
15 15 Sunday, May 8 CIN LOU W 7 1 12-3 1 up 1.0 +++
16 16 Monday, May 9 CIN STL L 5 6 12-4 1 up 0.5 -
17 17 Wednesday, May 11 CIN STL W 2 1 13-4 1 up 1.0 +
18 18 Thursday, May 12 (1) CIN STL W 8 5 14-4 1 up 1.5 ++
19 19 Thursday, May 12 (2) CIN STL W 3 2 15-4 1 up 1.5 +++
20 20 Saturday, May 14 CIN LOU W 7 1 16-4 1 up 1.5 ++++
21 21 Sunday, May 15 CIN LOU W 4 3 17-4 1 up 1.5 +++++
22 22 Thursday, May 19 CIN BSN W 5 4 18-4 1 up 3.0 ++++++
23 23 Friday, May 20 CIN BSN L 4 5 18-5 1 up 3.0 -
24 24 Saturday, May 21 CIN BSN L 3 4 18-6 1 up 1.5 --
25 25 Sunday, May 22 CIN PIT W 2 0 19-6 1 up 2.0 +
26 26 Monday, May 23 CIN BRO W 7 2 20-6 1 up 2.0 ++
27 27 Tuesday, May 24 CIN BRO L 3 6 20-7 1 up 1.0 -
28 28 Wednesday, May 25 CIN BRO W 5 4 21-7 1 up 1.0 +
29 29 Thursday, May 26 CIN NYG W 12 6 22-7 1 up 1.0 ++
30 30 Friday, May 27 CIN NYG W 13 4 23-7 1 up 1.0 +++
31 31 Saturday, May 28 CIN NYG W 11 7 24-7 1 up 2.0 ++++
32 32 Monday, May 30 (1) CIN @ BRO W 6 4 25-7 1 up 4.0 +++++
33 33 Monday, May 30 (2) CIN @ BRO W 3 2 26-7 1 up 4.0 ++++++
34 34 Tuesday, May 31 CIN @ BRO W 7 2 27-7 1 up 4.0 +++++++
35 35 Wednesday, Jun 1 CIN @ BRO L 3 4 27-8 1 up 4.0 -
36 36 Thursday, Jun 2 CIN @ NYG L 0 3 27-9 1 up 3.0 --
37 37 Friday, Jun 3 CIN @ NYG L 10 16 27-10 1 up 2.5 ---
38 38 Saturday, Jun 4 CIN @ NYG W 5 3 28-10 1 up 3.0 +
39 39 Monday, Jun 6 CIN @ NYG W 10 1 29-10 1 up 3.5 ++
40 40 Tuesday, Jun 7 CIN @ BSN L 2 9 29-11 1 up 3.5 -
41 41 Wednesday, Jun 8 CIN @ BSN L 1 10 29-12 1 up 2.5 --
42 42 Thursday, Jun 9 CIN @ BSN L 5 6 29-13 1 up 1.5 ---
43 43 Friday, Jun 10 CIN @ BSN W 4 3 30-13 1 up 1.5 +
44 44 Sunday, Jun 12 CIN @ LOU L 4 5 30-14 1 up 1.0 -
45 45 Monday, Jun 13 CIN @ LOU W 6 4 31-14 1 up 1.5 +
46 46 Tuesday, Jun 14 CIN @ LOU W 7 3 32-14 1 up 2.5 ++
47 47 Wednesday, Jun 15 CIN @ LOU W 5 1 33-14 1 up 2.5 +++
48 48 Thursday, Jun 16 CIN @ CHC L 1 9 33-15 1 up 1.5 -
49 49 Friday, Jun 17 CIN @ CHC W 2 1 34-15 1 up 2.5 +
50 50 Saturday, Jun 18 CIN @ CHC L 4 10 34-16 1 up 1.5 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Sunday, Jun 19 CIN @ CHC L 1 10 34-17 1 up 1.0 --
52 52 Monday, Jun 20 CIN BLN L 2 17 34-18 1 up 1.0 ---
53 53 Tuesday, Jun 21 CIN BLN L 2 4 34-19 1 up 1.0 ----
54 54 Wednesday, Jun 22 CIN BLN W 3 2 35-19 1 up 1.0 +
55 55 Thursday, Jun 23 CIN BLN W 13 4 36-19 1 up 1.0 ++
56 56 Friday, Jun 24 CIN WHS L 8 10 36-20 1 up 1.0 -
57 57 Saturday, Jun 25 CIN WHS W 8 5 37-20 1 up 1.0 +
58 58 Sunday, Jun 26 CIN WHS L 4 13 37-21 1 up 0.5 -
59 59 Monday, Jun 27 CIN WHS L 2 9 37-22 1 up 0.5 --
60 60 Tuesday, Jun 28 (1) CIN @ STL W 3 2 38-22 1 up 1.0 +
61 61 Tuesday, Jun 28 (2) CIN @ STL W 5 0 39-22 1 up 1.0 ++
62 62 Wednesday, Jun 29 CIN PHI W 9 8 40-22 1 up 2.0 +++
63 63 Thursday, Jun 30 CIN PHI L 3 17 40-23 1 up 1.0 -
64 64 Friday, Jul 1 CIN PHI W 14 2 41-23 1 up 2.0 +
65 65 Saturday, Jul 2 CIN PHI W 8 4 42-23 1 up 2.5 ++
66 66 Sunday, Jul 3 (1) CIN STL W 7 5 43-23 1 up 3.5 +++
67 67 Sunday, Jul 3 (2) CIN STL W 10 7 44-23 1 up 3.5 ++++
68 68 Monday, Jul 4 (1) CIN LOU W 9 4 45-23 1 up 4.0 +++++
69 69 Monday, Jul 4 (2) CIN LOU W 11 0 46-23 1 up 4.0 ++++++
70 70 Thursday, Jul 7 CIN @ CHC W 7 5 47-23 1 up 4.0 +++++++
71 71 Friday, Jul 8 CIN @ CHC W 11 8 48-23 1 up 5.0 ++++++++
72 72 Saturday, Jul 9 CIN @ CHC L 3 5 48-24 1 up 4.0 -
73 73 Sunday, Jul 10 CIN CHC W 11 7 49-24 1 up 4.5 +
74 74 Monday, Jul 11 CIN @ BLN L 4 6 49-25 1 up 3.5 -
75 75 Tuesday, Jul 12 CIN @ BLN W 10 5 50-25 1 up 3.5 +
76 76 Wednesday, Jul 13 CIN @ BLN W 11 6 51-25 1 up 4.0 ++
77 77 Thursday, Jul 14 CIN @ BLN T 5 5 51-25 1 up 3.0 ++
78 78 Friday, Jul 15 CIN @ PHI L 3 7 51-26 1 up 3.0 -
79 79 Saturday, Jul 16 CIN @ PHI L 2 6 51-27 1 up 2.0 --
80 80 Monday, Jul 18 CIN @ PHI W 5 4 52-27 1 up 2.0 +
81 81 Wednesday, Jul 20 CIN @ WHS L 2 3 52-28 1 up 1.5 -
82 82 Thursday, Jul 21 (1) CIN @ WHS W 12 6 53-28 1 up 2.0 +
83 83 Thursday, Jul 21 (2) CIN @ WHS W 7 4 54-28 1 up 2.0 ++
84 84 Friday, Jul 22 CIN @ WHS W 5 1 55-28 1 up 2.0 +++
85 85 Saturday, Jul 23 CIN @ PIT W 3 2 56-28 1 up 2.0 ++++
86 86 Sunday, Jul 24 CIN PIT W 6 5 57-28 1 up 2.5 +++++
87 87 Tuesday, Jul 26 (1) CIN @ PIT W 6 3 58-28 1 up 2.5 ++++++
88 88 Tuesday, Jul 26 (2) CIN @ PIT L 2 3 58-29 1 up 2.5 -
89 89 Thursday, Jul 28 CIN BRO W 7 1 59-29 1 up 2.5 +
90 90 Friday, Jul 29 CIN BRO W 6 5 60-29 1 up 3.0 ++
91 91 Saturday, Jul 30 CIN BRO W 8 2 61-29 1 up 3.0 +++
92 92 Sunday, Jul 31 CIN BRO W 9 5 62-29 1 up 3.5 ++++
93 93 Tuesday, Aug 2 CIN NYG L 5 7 62-30 1 up 3.0 -
94 94 Thursday, Aug 4 (1) CIN NYG L 5 6 62-31 1 up 3.0 --
95 95 Thursday, Aug 4 (2) CIN NYG T 5 5 62-31 1 up 3.0 --
96 96 Friday, Aug 5 (1) CIN NYG L 5 9 62-32 1 up 3.5 ---
97 97 Friday, Aug 5 (2) CIN NYG W 9 1 63-32 1 up 3.5 +
98 98 Saturday, Aug 6 CIN BSN W 2 1 64-32 1 up 4.5 ++
99 99 Sunday, Aug 7 CIN BLN W 4 1 65-32 1 up 5.0 +++
100 100 Tuesday, Aug 9 CIN BSN L 0 8 65-33 1 up 4.0 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Wednesday, Aug 10 (1) CIN BSN L 4 7 65-34 1 up 2.0 --
102 102 Wednesday, Aug 10 (2) CIN BSN L 5 6 65-35 1 up 2.0 ---
103 103 Friday, Aug 12 CIN @ BRO W 4 3 66-35 1 up 2.0 +
104 104 Saturday, Aug 13 CIN @ BRO L 1 2 66-36 1 up 1.0 -
105 105 Monday, Aug 15 CIN @ BRO W 8 0 67-36 1 up 0.5 +
106 106 Tuesday, Aug 16 CIN @ NYG L 0 4 67-37 2 0.5 -
107 107 Wednesday, Aug 17 CIN @ NYG L 1 3 67-38 2 1.5 --
108 108 Thursday, Aug 18 CIN @ NYG L 0 7 67-39 2 2.5 ---
109 109 Saturday, Aug 20 CIN @ BSN L 1 2 67-40 2 3.5 ----
110 110 Monday, Aug 22 (1) CIN @ BSN W 7 2 68-40 2 2.5 +
111 111 Monday, Aug 22 (2) CIN @ BSN T 5 5 68-40 2 2.5 +
112 112 Thursday, Aug 25 CIN BLN L 1 14 68-41 2 2.0 -
113 113 Friday, Aug 26 CIN BLN W 10 0 69-41 2 1.0 +
114 114 Saturday, Aug 27 CIN PHI W 3 2 70-41 1 Tied ++
115 115 Sunday, Aug 28 (1) CIN PIT W 9 4 71-41 1 up 1.0 +++
116 116 Sunday, Aug 28 (2) CIN PIT W 6 5 72-41 1 up 1.0 ++++
117 117 Monday, Aug 29 CIN PHI L 7 8 72-42 1 Tied -
118 118 Tuesday, Aug 30 CIN PHI L 1 9 72-43 2 1.0 --
119 119 Wednesday, Aug 31 CIN WHS W 9 5 73-43 1 Tied +
120 120 Thursday, Sep 1 CIN WHS W 5 4 74-43 1 up 1.0 ++
121 121 Saturday, Sep 3 CIN WHS W 4 2 75-43 1 up 1.0 +++
122 122 Sunday, Sep 4 CIN CLV W 2 0 76-43 1 up 1.5 ++++
123 123 Monday, Sep 5 (1) CIN CLV L 6 8 76-44 1 up 0.5 -
124 124 Monday, Sep 5 (2) CIN CLV W 1 0 77-44 1 up 0.5 +
125 125 Tuesday, Sep 6 CIN CHC W 9 8 78-44 1 up 0.5 ++
126 126 Wednesday, Sep 7 CIN CHC L 2 13 78-45 2 0.5 -
127 127 Friday, Sep 9 CIN CHC W 6 4 79-45 2 1.0 +
128 128 Saturday, Sep 10 CIN LOU L 1 3 79-46 2 2.0 -
129 129 Sunday, Sep 11 CIN LOU L 5 9 79-47 2 2.5 --
130 130 Wednesday, Sep 14 CIN @ BLN L 1 3 79-48 2 3.5 ---
131 131 Thursday, Sep 15 (1) CIN @ BLN L 1 15 79-49 3 5.5 ----
132 132 Thursday, Sep 15 (2) CIN @ BLN L 3 6 79-50 3 5.5 -----
133 133 Friday, Sep 16 CIN @ BLN L 2 3 79-51 3 6.5 ------
134 134 Saturday, Sep 17 CIN @ PHI W 10 9 80-51 3 5.5 +
135 135 Monday, Sep 19 (1) CIN @ PHI L 0 8 80-52 3 7.0 -
136 136 Monday, Sep 19 (2) CIN @ PHI L 1 9 80-53 3 7.0 --
137 137 Tuesday, Sep 20 CIN @ PHI W 7 5 81-53 3 7.0 +
138 138 Wednesday, Sep 21 CIN @ WHS W 15 3 82-53 3 7.0 ++
139 139 Friday, Sep 23 (1) CIN @ WHS L 1 3 82-54 3 8.0 -
140 140 Friday, Sep 23 (2) CIN @ WHS W 10 6 83-54 3 8.0 +
141 141 Sunday, Sep 25 (1) CIN CLV W 5 4 84-54 3 7.5 ++
142 142 Sunday, Sep 25 (2) CIN CLV T 2 2 84-54 3 7.5 ++
143 143 Monday, Sep 26 CIN CLV L 3 4 84-55 3 9.0 -
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 27 CIN CLV W 9 2 85-55 3 9.0 +
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 28 CIN @ CLV L 1 4 85-56 3 9.0 -
146 146 Thursday, Sep 29 CIN @ CLV L 2 7 85-57 3 10.0 --
147 147 Saturday, Oct 1 (1) CIN STL W 4 3 86-57 3 11.0 +
148 148 Saturday, Oct 1 (2) CIN STL L 3 7 86-58 3 11.0 -
149 149 Sunday, Oct 2 (1) CIN STL W 6 2 87-58 3 10.0 +
150 150 Sunday, Oct 2 (2) CIN STL W 4 0 88-58 3 10.0 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Monday, Oct 3 (1) CIN STL W 8 0 89-58 3 9.5 +++
152 152 Monday, Oct 3 (2) CIN STL W 7 5 90-58 3 9.5 ++++
153 153 Sunday, Oct 9 (1) CIN CLV W 12 5 91-58 3 10.5 +++++
154 154 Sunday, Oct 9 (2) CIN CLV T 6 6 91-58 3 10.5 +++++
155 155 Monday, Oct 10 CIN @ LOU L 3 6 91-59 3 11.5 -
156 156 Wednesday, Oct 12 (1) CIN @ LOU W 5 2 92-59 3 11.5 +
157 157 Wednesday, Oct 12 (2) CIN @ LOU L 1 4 92-60 3 11.5 5,000 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1897 / 1899 Schedule and Results