Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1896 Schedule and Results

1896 Cincinnati Reds

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1895 / 1897

77-50, Finished 3rd in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Buck Ewing (77-50)
Scored 783 runs, Allowed 620 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 77-50

Ballparks: League Park II · Attendance: 373,000 (1st of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 107, Pitching - 106 · one-year: Batting - 105, Pitching - 103


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1895 / 1897 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 77-50, Final Rank:3, GB: 12.0
Days in First43last on Thursday, Aug 20, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 59last on Aug 20, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead5last on Tuesday, Jul 28, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind12.5last on Tuesday, Sep 22, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50039last on Wednesday, Aug 19
Most Games under .5002last on Friday, Apr 17
Longest Winning Streak11Sunday, Jul 5 to Thursday, Jul 16
Longest Losing Streak11Thursday, Aug 20 to Tuesday, Sep 1
Most Runs Allowed21Saturday, Sep 19
Most Runs Scored20Monday, Jun 29
Times Shutout by Opponent1 
Times Opponent Shutout12 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 77 50 784 620 .606
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 51 15 451 292 .773
Road 26 35 333 328 .426
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 6 4 79 61 .600
May 16 10 175 111 .615
June 18 8 182 114 .692
July 21 7 179 132 .750
August 8 11 93 109 .421
September 8 10 76 93 .444
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 46 24 486 314 .657
Second Half 31 26 298 306 .544
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 11 12 99 100 .478
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 32 17 384 267 .653
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BLN 2 10 53 91 .167
BRO 10 2 81 47 .833
BSN 6 5 64 67 .545
CHC 6 4 55 37 .600
CLV 6 5 59 66 .545
LOU 9 3 88 44 .750
NYG 6 6 54 65 .500
PHI 8 4 87 53 .667
PIT 5 7 60 61 .417
STL 12 0 87 281.000
WHS 7 4 96 61 .636

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 16 CIN PIT L 1 9 0-1 7 1.0 -
2 2 Friday, Apr 17 CIN PIT L 7 10 0-2 9 2.0 --
3 3 Saturday, Apr 18 CIN PIT W 11 9 1-2 7 1.0 +
4 4 Sunday, Apr 19 CIN LOU W 12 3 2-2 6 0.5 ++
5 5 Tuesday, Apr 21 CIN CLV L 10 11 2-3 7 1.5 -
6 6 Wednesday, Apr 22 CIN CLV W 7 4 3-3 6 1.5 +
7 7 Friday, Apr 24 CIN CLV W 8 4 4-3 4 1.5 ++
8 8 Saturday, Apr 25 CIN CHC L 3 5 4-4 6 2.5 -
9 9 Sunday, Apr 26 CIN CHC W 11 3 5-4 3 2.0 +
10 10 Monday, Apr 27 CIN CHC W 9 3 6-4 3 1.0 ++
11 11 Saturday, May 2 CIN @ CLV L 1 2 6-5 6 3.0 -
12 12 Sunday, May 3 CIN @ LOU W 5 3 7-5 5 2.5 +
13 13 Monday, May 4 CIN BSN W 8 2 8-5 4 1.5 ++
14 14 Tuesday, May 5 CIN BSN L 3 8 8-6 5 2.0 -
15 15 Wednesday, May 6 CIN BSN W 6 0 9-6 4 2.0 +
16 16 Thursday, May 7 CIN BLN L 1 6 9-7 5 3.0 -
17 17 Friday, May 8 CIN BLN W 9 5 10-7 5 2.0 +
18 18 Saturday, May 9 CIN BLN L 5 6 10-8 5 3.0 -
19 19 Sunday, May 10 CIN WHS W 18 11 11-8 4 2.5 +
20 20 Monday, May 11 CIN WHS W 10 2 12-8 4 2.5 ++
21 21 Tuesday, May 12 CIN WHS L 4 6 12-9 6 2.5 -
22 22 Thursday, May 14 CIN BRO W 13 2 13-9 4 1.0 +
23 23 Saturday, May 16 CIN BRO W 2 1 14-9 3 0.5 ++
24 24 Sunday, May 17 CIN BRO W 16 10 15-9 1 Tied +++
25 25 Monday, May 18 CIN PHI W 9 5 16-9 1 Tied ++++
26 26 Tuesday, May 19 CIN PHI W 8 2 17-9 1 up 0.5 +++++
27 27 Wednesday, May 20 CIN PHI W 4 0 18-9 1 up 0.5 ++++++
28 28 Thursday, May 21 CIN NYG W 4 2 19-9 1 up 0.5 +++++++
29 29 Friday, May 22 CIN NYG L 1 4 19-10 1 up 0.5 -
30 30 Saturday, May 23 CIN NYG L 2 4 19-11 2 0.5 --
31 31 Sunday, May 24 CIN LOU W 6 0 20-11 1 Tied +
32 32 Tuesday, May 26 CIN @ WHS W 18 5 21-11 1 up 1.0 ++
33 33 Wednesday, May 27 CIN @ WHS W 10 6 22-11 1 up 1.0 +++
34 34 Friday, May 29 CIN @ BLN L 1 4 22-12 1 up 0.5 -
35 35 Saturday, May 30 (1) CIN @ BLN L 5 6 22-13 3 0.5 --
36 36 Saturday, May 30 (2) CIN @ BLN L 6 9 22-14 3 0.5 ---
37 37 Monday, Jun 1 CIN @ PHI W 8 4 23-14 2 0.5 +
38 38 Tuesday, Jun 2 CIN @ PHI W 14 3 24-14 2 0.5 ++
39 39 Wednesday, Jun 3 CIN @ PHI L 3 7 24-15 2 1.5 -
40 40 Thursday, Jun 4 CIN @ BRO W 6 0 25-15 2 0.5 +
41 41 Friday, Jun 5 CIN @ BRO L 1 10 25-16 3 1.0 -
42 42 Saturday, Jun 6 CIN @ BRO W 13 0 26-16 2 0.5 +
43 43 Monday, Jun 8 CIN @ NYG W 6 3 27-16 1 Tied ++
44 44 Tuesday, Jun 9 CIN @ NYG L 4 7 27-17 3 1.0 -
45 45 Wednesday, Jun 10 CIN @ NYG L 6 10 27-18 3 2.0 --
46 46 Thursday, Jun 11 CIN @ BSN L 1 9 27-19 3 2.0 ---
47 47 Friday, Jun 12 CIN @ BSN L 3 15 27-20 4 2.5 ----
48 48 Saturday, Jun 13 CIN @ BSN W 6 1 28-20 3 1.5 +
49 49 Monday, Jun 15 CIN STL W 7 1 29-20 3 0.5 ++
50 50 Tuesday, Jun 16 CIN STL W 3 2 30-20 3 0.5 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 17 CIN STL W 6 1 31-20 2 0.5 ++++
52 52 Saturday, Jun 20 CIN LOU W 13 7 32-20 3 1.0 +++++
53 53 Sunday, Jun 21 CIN @ CHC W 5 2 33-20 2 0.5 ++++++
54 54 Monday, Jun 22 CIN @ CHC L 1 3 33-21 2 1.5 -
55 55 Tuesday, Jun 23 CIN @ CHC L 5 7 33-22 3 2.5 --
56 56 Wednesday, Jun 24 CIN @ CHC W 4 2 34-22 3 2.0 +
57 57 Thursday, Jun 25 CIN @ STL W 5 3 35-22 3 1.5 ++
58 58 Friday, Jun 26 CIN @ STL W 16 4 36-22 3 0.5 +++
59 59 Saturday, Jun 27 CIN @ STL W 5 2 37-22 2 0.5 ++++
60 60 Sunday, Jun 28 CIN @ STL W 12 1 38-22 1 Tied +++++
61 61 Monday, Jun 29 CIN @ LOU W 20 8 39-22 1 Tied ++++++
62 62 Tuesday, Jun 30 CIN @ LOU W 9 2 40-22 1 Tied +++++++
63 63 Thursday, Jul 2 CIN STL W 7 5 41-22 1 Tied ++++++++
64 64 Friday, Jul 3 CIN @ PIT L 3 6 41-23 2 1.0 -
65 65 Saturday, Jul 4 (1) CIN @ PIT W 3 1 42-23 3 1.0 +
66 66 Saturday, Jul 4 (2) CIN @ PIT L 3 4 42-24 3 1.0 -
67 67 Sunday, Jul 5 CIN STL W 7 0 43-24 3 0.5 +
68 68 Monday, Jul 6 CIN PHI W 10 6 44-24 3 0.5 ++
69 69 Tuesday, Jul 7 CIN PHI W 14 4 45-24 2 0.5 +++
70 70 Wednesday, Jul 8 CIN PHI W 3 2 46-24 1 up 0.5 ++++
71 71 Friday, Jul 10 (1) CIN WHS W 9 6 47-24 1 up 1.0 +++++
72 72 Friday, Jul 10 (2) CIN WHS W 12 4 48-24 1 up 1.0 ++++++
73 73 Saturday, Jul 11 CIN WHS W 9 5 49-24 1 up 2.0 +++++++
74 74 Sunday, Jul 12 CIN BRO W 9 5 50-24 1 up 2.0 ++++++++
75 75 Monday, Jul 13 CIN BRO W 7 5 51-24 1 up 2.0 +++++++++
76 76 Tuesday, Jul 14 CIN BRO W 5 4 52-24 1 up 2.0 ++++++++++
77 77 Thursday, Jul 16 CIN BLN W 5 0 53-24 1 up 3.0 +++++++++++
78 78 Saturday, Jul 18 CIN BLN L 3 10 53-25 1 up 2.0 -
79 79 Sunday, Jul 19 CIN BLN L 6 14 53-26 1 up 1.0 --
80 80 Tuesday, Jul 21 (1) CIN NYG W 4 0 54-26 1 up 1.5 +
81 81 Tuesday, Jul 21 (2) CIN NYG W 4 2 55-26 1 up 1.5 ++
82 82 Wednesday, Jul 22 CIN NYG W 9 8 56-26 1 up 1.5 +++
83 83 Saturday, Jul 25 (1) CIN BSN W 10 5 57-26 1 up 3.0 ++++
84 84 Saturday, Jul 25 (2) CIN BSN W 3 2 58-26 1 up 3.0 +++++
85 85 Sunday, Jul 26 CIN CLV W 10 1 59-26 1 up 3.5 ++++++
86 86 Monday, Jul 27 CIN CLV W 3 2 60-26 1 up 4.0 +++++++
87 87 Tuesday, Jul 28 CIN CLV W 9 8 61-26 1 up 5.0 ++++++++
88 88 Wednesday, Jul 29 CIN CLV L 1 6 61-27 1 up 4.0 -
89 89 Thursday, Jul 30 CIN PIT L 4 8 61-28 1 up 3.0 --
90 90 Friday, Jul 31 CIN PIT L 7 9 61-29 1 up 2.0 ---
91 91 Sunday, Aug 2 CIN STL W 2 1 62-29 1 up 2.0 +
92 92 Thursday, Aug 6 CIN PIT W 4 2 63-29 1 up 1.0 ++
93 93 Saturday, Aug 8 CIN LOU W 5 2 64-29 1 up 0.5 +++
94 94 Sunday, Aug 9 CIN LOU W 5 4 65-29 1 up 1.0 ++++
95 95 Tuesday, Aug 11 CIN @ CHC L 0 6 65-30 2 0.5 -
96 96 Wednesday, Aug 12 CIN @ CHC T 3 3 65-30 1 Tied -
97 97 Thursday, Aug 13 CIN @ CHC W 7 0 66-30 1 up 0.5 +
98 98 Saturday, Aug 15 CIN STL W 7 3 67-30 1 up 0.5 ++
99 99 Sunday, Aug 16 CIN STL W 10 5 68-30 1 up 1.0 +++
100 100 Wednesday, Aug 19 CIN @ BSN W 9 7 69-30 1 up 0.5 ++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Aug 20 CIN @ BSN L 6 8 69-31 1 Tied -
102 102 Friday, Aug 21 CIN @ BSN L 9 10 69-32 2 1.0 --
103 103 Saturday, Aug 22 CIN @ WHS L 2 9 69-33 2 1.0 ---
104 104 Tuesday, Aug 25 (1) CIN @ WHS L 3 4 69-34 2 1.5 ----
105 105 Tuesday, Aug 25 (2) CIN @ WHS L 1 3 69-35 2 1.5 -----
106 106 Wednesday, Aug 26 CIN @ BLN L 3 14 69-36 2 2.5 ------
107 107 Thursday, Aug 27 CIN @ BLN L 3 9 69-37 2 3.5 -------
108 108 Friday, Aug 28 CIN @ BLN L 6 8 69-38 2 4.5 --------
109 109 Saturday, Aug 29 CIN @ PHI L 4 5 69-39 2 5.5 ---------
110 110 Monday, Aug 31 CIN @ PHI L 4 6 69-40 2 5.5 ----------
111 111 Tuesday, Sep 1 CIN @ PHI L 6 9 69-41 2 6.5 -----------
112 112 Wednesday, Sep 2 CIN @ NYG W 4 0 70-41 2 6.5 +
113 113 Thursday, Sep 3 CIN @ NYG L 5 10 70-42 2 7.0 -
114 114 Friday, Sep 4 CIN @ NYG L 5 15 70-43 2 8.0 --
115 115 Saturday, Sep 5 CIN @ BRO W 5 3 71-43 2 7.5 +
116 116 Monday, Sep 7 (1) CIN @ BRO L 1 6 71-44 2 9.0 -
117 117 Monday, Sep 7 (2) CIN @ BRO W 3 1 72-44 2 9.0 +
118 118 Thursday, Sep 10 CIN @ LOU L 2 3 72-45 3 11.5 -
119 119 Friday, Sep 11 CIN @ LOU L 2 3 72-46 3 11.5 --
120 120 Saturday, Sep 12 CIN @ LOU L 5 6 72-47 3 12.5 ---
121 121 Sunday, Sep 13 CIN CHC W 7 3 73-47 3 12.0 +
122 122 Monday, Sep 14 CIN @ PIT L 2 3 73-48 3 12.5 -
123 123 Wednesday, Sep 16 (1) CIN @ PIT W 11 0 74-48 3 11.0 +
124 124 Wednesday, Sep 16 (2) CIN @ PIT W 4 0 75-48 3 11.0 ++
125 125 Saturday, Sep 19 CIN @ CLV L 2 21 75-49 3 12.0 -
126 126 Sunday, Sep 20 CIN LOU W 4 3 76-49 3 11.5 +
127 127 Monday, Sep 21 CIN @ CLV L 1 4 76-50 3 12.5 -
128 128 Tuesday, Sep 22 CIN @ CLV W 7 3 77-50 3 12.5 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1895 / 1897 Schedule and Results