Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1959 Schedule and Results

1959 Chicago White Sox

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1958 / 1960

94-60, Finished 1st in American League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Al Lopez (94-60)
GM: Bill Veeck (Assumed GM duties in buying club March 1959), Charles Comiskey (Co-GM), Johnny Rigney (Co-GM)
Scored 669 runs, Allowed 588 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 86-68

Ballparks: Comiskey Park I · Attendance: 1,423,144 (3rd of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 99, Pitching - 98 · one-year: Batting - 98, Pitching - 96


BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1958 / 1960 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 94-60, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First76last on Sunday, Sep 27, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 94last on Sep 27, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead6.5last on Friday, Sep 4, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind4.5last on Friday, May 8, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50035last on Wednesday, Sep 9
Most Games under .500never
Longest Winning Streak8Saturday, May 9 to Saturday, May 16
Longest Losing Streak5Saturday, May 2 to Friday, May 8 and Tuesday, Jun 16 to Saturday, Jun 20
Most Runs Allowed16Saturday, May 23
Most Runs Scored20Wednesday, Apr 22
Longest Game (innings)18Thursday, Aug 6
Times Shutout by Opponent8 
Times Opponent Shutout13 
Walkoff Wins11 
Walkoff Losses3 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 94 60 669 588 .610
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 47 30 313 272 .610
Road 47 30 356 316 .610
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 10 6 89 80 .625
May 15 13 114 113 .536
June 14 14 106 110 .500
July 20 7 122 104 .741
August 21 9 135 94 .700
September 14 11 103 87 .560
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 43 35 342 337 .551
Second Half 51 25 327 251 .671
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 82 57 602 530 .590
ExtraInning 12 3 63 54 .800
Shortened 0 0 4 4 .000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 35 15 177 157 .700
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 21 14 214 175 .600
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 11 11 72 69 .500
BOS 14 8 94 85 .636
CLE 15 7 100 76 .682
DET 13 9 116 97 .591
KCA 12 10 105 115 .545
NYY 13 9 82 80 .591
WSH 16 6 100 66 .727

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Friday, Apr 10 boxscore CHW @ DET W 9 7 14 1-0 1 Tied Staley Mossi Rudolph 4:25 D 38,332 +
2 2 Saturday, Apr 11 boxscore CHW @ DET W 5 3 2-0 1 Tied Wynn Narleski 2:29 D 5,529 ++
3 3 Sunday, Apr 12 boxscore CHW @ DET W 5 3 3-0 1 up 0.5 Donovan Lary Shaw 2:42 D 11,228 +++
4 4 Tuesday, Apr 14 boxscore CHW KCA W 2 0 4-0 1 up 0.5 Pierce Terry 1:55 D 19,303 ++++
5 5 Wednesday, Apr 15 boxscore CHW KCA L 8 10 4-1 2 0.5 Grim Latman Gorman 2:49 D 4,713 -
6 6 Thursday, Apr 16 boxscore CHW KCA L 0 6 4-2 2 1.0 Garver Wynn 2:21 D 3,211 --
7 7 Friday, Apr 17 boxscore CHW DET W &H 6 5 5-2 2 1.0 Arias Narleski Lown 2:24 D 2,656 +
8 8 Saturday, Apr 18 boxscore CHW DET L 2 5 5-3 2 2.0 Hoeft Moore Morgan 2:42 D 7,159 -
9 9 Tuesday, Apr 21 boxscore CHW @ KCA L 3 8 5-4 3 2.5 Grim Pierce 1:57 N 6,569 --
10 10 Wednesday, Apr 22 boxscore CHW @ KCA W 20 6 6-4 3 2.5 Shaw Daley 3:12 N 7,446 +
11 11 Friday, Apr 24 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 4 6 6-5 3 4.0 Robinson Staley 3:12 N 28,498 -
12 12 Saturday, Apr 25 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 8 6 7-5 2 3.0 Lown Brodowski Shaw 2:39 D 7,290 +
13 13 Sunday, Apr 26 (1) boxscore CHW @ CLE W 6 5 8-5 2 1.0 Wynn Ferrarese Staley 3:19 D 0 ++
14 14 Sunday, Apr 26 (2) boxscore CHW @ CLE W 5 2 9-5 2 1.0 Pierce Bell 2:45 D 14,358 +++
15 15 Wednesday, Apr 29 boxscore CHW NYY L 2 5 9-6 2 1.5 Turley Moore 2:38 D 9,952 -
16 16 Thursday, Apr 30 boxscore CHW NYY W-wo 4 3 11 10-6 2 1.0 Pierce Duren 3:34 N 26,944 +
17 17 Friday, May 1 boxscore CHW BOS W 1 0 11-6 2 1.0 Wynn Brewer 2:46 N 13,022 ++
18 18 Saturday, May 2 boxscore CHW BOS L 4 5 11-7 2 2.0 Delock Latman Wall 2:48 D 7,718 -
19 19 Sunday, May 3 boxscore CHW BAL L 2 4 10 11-8 2 2.5 Loes Lown 2:32 D 11,208 --
20 20 Tuesday, May 5 boxscore CHW WSH L 3 8 11-9 2 3.5 Stobbs Pierce Clevenger 2:31 D 2,087 ---
21 21 Wednesday, May 6 boxscore CHW WSH L 4 6 11-10 4 3.5 Pascual Wynn Clevenger 2:26 D 1,710 ----
22 22 Friday, May 8 boxscore CHW CLE L 1 3 11-11 4 4.5 McLish Donovan 2:23 N 19,170 -----
23 23 Saturday, May 9 boxscore CHW CLE W 9 5 12-11 4 3.5 Moore Score 3:02 D 6,325 +
24 24 Sunday, May 10 (1) boxscore CHW CLE W-wo 5 4 11 13-11 2 1.5 Pierce Brodowski 2:59 D 0 ++
25 25 Sunday, May 10 (2) boxscore CHW CLE W 5 0 14-11 2 1.5 Wynn Garcia 2:37 D 24,346 +++
26 26 Tuesday, May 12 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 4 3 12 15-11 2 1.5 Arias Wall 4:23 N 22,012 ++++
27 27 Wednesday, May 13 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 4 0 16-11 2 1.0 Shaw Sullivan 2:19 D 4,787 +++++
28 28 Thursday, May 14 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 14 6 17-11 2 0.5 Wynn Hoeft Lown 3:08 D 3,554 ++++++
29 29 Friday, May 15 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 6 0 18-11 2 0.5 Pierce Ford 2:37 N 27,863 +++++++
30 30 Saturday, May 16 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 4 3 11 19-11 2 0.5 Lown Ditmar 3:48 D 26,899 ++++++++
31 31 Sunday, May 17 (1) boxscore CHW @ WSH L 2 4 19-12 2 0.5 Ramos Donovan 2:12 D 0 -
32 32 Sunday, May 17 (2) boxscore CHW @ WSH W 10 7 20-12 2 0.5 Shaw Fischer Lown 2:55 D 22,240 +
33 33 Monday, May 18 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 9 2 21-12 1 up 0.5 Wynn Stobbs 2:48 N 3,995 ++
34 34 Tuesday, May 19 boxscore CHW @ BAL L 1 2 21-13 2 0.5 O'Dell Pierce Walker 2:31 N 6,819 -
35 35 Wednesday, May 20 boxscore CHW @ BAL W 5 2 22-13 2 0.5 Donovan Harshman 2:30 D 16,026 +
36 36 Friday, May 22 boxscore CHW @ KCA W 2 1 23-13 2 0.5 Shaw Grim Lown 2:12 N 13,527 ++
37 37 Saturday, May 23 boxscore CHW @ KCA L 0 16 23-14 2 0.5 Daley Wynn 2:20 N 12,416 -
38 38 Sunday, May 24 boxscore CHW @ KCA L 6 8 23-15 2 1.0 Herbert Pierce 2:37 D 14,985 --
39 39 Tuesday, May 26 boxscore CHW CLE L 0 3 23-16 2 2.0 Ferrarese Donovan Perry 2:28 N 40,018 ---
40 40 Wednesday, May 27 boxscore CHW CLE W 5 1 24-16 2 1.0 Wynn Bell Staley 2:21 D 6,883 +
41 41 Friday, May 29 boxscore CHW DET L 1 4 24-17 2 1.0 Mossi Shaw 2:08 D 4,114 -
42 42 Saturday, May 30 (1) boxscore CHW DET L 2 4 24-18 2 1.0 Lary Pierce 2:44 D 0 --
43 43 Saturday, May 30 (2) boxscore CHW DET W-wo 4 3 25-18 2 1.0 Lown Morgan 2:55 D 23,621 +
44 44 Sunday, May 31 boxscore CHW KCA L 1 9 25-19 2 1.0 Garver Wynn 2:32 D 11,414 -
45 45 Monday, Jun 1 boxscore CHW KCA L 1 3 25-20 2 1.0 Daley Moore 2:13 N 8,221 --
46 46 Tuesday, Jun 2 boxscore CHW BAL L 2 3 25-21 3 1.0 Wilhelm Shaw 2:27 N 12,482 ---
47 47 Wednesday, Jun 3 boxscore CHW BAL W 6 1 26-21 1 Tied Pierce O'Dell 2:10 D 3,607 +
48 48 Thursday, Jun 4 boxscore CHW BAL W-wo 6 5 17 27-21 1 up 0.5 Shaw Walker 4:37 D 3,514 ++
49 49 Friday, Jun 5 boxscore CHW BOS W 5 2 28-21 1 up 1.5 Staley Wall Arias 3:01 N 32,321 +++
50 50 Saturday, Jun 6 boxscore CHW BOS L 2 4 28-22 1 up 1.5 Wills Moore Fornieles 2:36 D 10,301 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Sunday, Jun 7 (1) boxscore CHW BOS W 9 4 29-22 1 up 1.0 Donovan Delock Staley 2:55 D 0 +
52 52 Sunday, Jun 7 (2) boxscore CHW BOS L 2 4 29-23 1 up 1.0 Sullivan Pierce Fornieles 2:37 D 25,844 -
53 53 Tuesday, Jun 9 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 4 7 29-24 1 Tied Clevenger Lown 2:53 N 19,157 --
54 54 Wednesday, Jun 10 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 4 1 30-24 1 up 1.0 Wynn Woodeshick 2:23 N 9,121 +
55 55 Thursday, Jun 11 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 3 1 31-24 1 up 1.5 Pierce Pascual 2:28 N 6,738 ++
56 56 Saturday, Jun 13 boxscore CHW @ BAL L 4 6 31-25 1 up 0.5 Loes Staley 2:17 D 8,081 -
57 57 Sunday, Jun 14 (1) boxscore CHW @ BAL W 9 6 32-25 1 up 0.5 Wynn Zuverink Lown 2:57 D 0 +
58 58 Sunday, Jun 14 (2) boxscore CHW @ BAL W 3 2 10 33-25 1 up 0.5 Donovan O'Dell Arias 2:50 D 20,257 ++
59 59 Tuesday, Jun 16 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 1 5 33-26 2 1.0 Ditmar Pierce 2:02 N 31,016 -
60 60 Wednesday, Jun 17 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 3 7 33-27 2 1.5 Turley Moore Duren 2:56 D 14,392 --
61 61 Thursday, Jun 18 boxscore CHW @ NYY L-wo 4 5 10 33-28 2 1.5 Shantz Staley 2:54 D 17,882 ---
62 62 Saturday, Jun 20 (1) boxscore CHW @ BOS L 2 8 33-29 4 1.5 Brewer Wynn 2:42 D 12,997 ----
63 63 Saturday, Jun 20 (2) boxscore CHW @ BOS L 0 9 33-30 4 1.5 Casale Donovan 2:48 N 16,067 -----
64 64 Sunday, Jun 21 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 3 2 34-30 2 2.0 Pierce Wills 2:19 D 21,094 +
65 65 Tuesday, Jun 23 boxscore CHW WSH W 4 1 35-30 2 1.0 Wynn Fischer 2:23 N 16,300 ++
66 66 Wednesday, Jun 24 boxscore CHW WSH L 2 4 35-31 3 1.0 Clevenger Donovan Griggs 2:25 D 5,370 -
67 67 Thursday, Jun 25 boxscore CHW WSH W 4 1 36-31 2 1.0 Latman Ramos 2:15 D 4,848 +
68 68 Friday, Jun 26 boxscore CHW NYY L 4 8 36-32 3 2.0 Ditmar Pierce Duren 3:05 N 37,909 -
69 69 Saturday, Jun 27 boxscore CHW NYY W 5 4 37-32 2 1.0 Shaw Turley Staley 2:27 D 21,624 +
70 70 Sunday, Jun 28 (1) boxscore CHW NYY W 9 2 38-32 2 1.0 Wynn Ford 2:24 D 0 ++
71 71 Sunday, Jun 28 (2) boxscore CHW NYY W 4 2 39-32 2 1.0 Donovan Larsen Lown 2:29 D 42,121 +++
72 72 Tuesday, Jun 30 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 1 3 39-33 2 2.0 McLish Pierce 1:53 N 23,416 -
73 73 Wednesday, Jul 1 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 6 5 40-33 2 1.0 Latman Grant Lown 2:51 N 16,700 +
74 74 Thursday, Jul 2 boxscore CHW @ DET L 7 9 40-34 2 1.0 Mossi Shaw Sisler 3:00 N 29,312 -
75 75 Friday, Jul 3 boxscore CHW @ DET W 6 5 10 41-34 2 1.0 Lown Morgan 3:13 D 11,729 +
76 76 Saturday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore CHW @ KCA W 7 4 42-34 2 2.0 Shaw Grim 2:36 D 0 ++
77 77 Saturday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore CHW @ KCA L 3 8 42-35 2 2.0 Kucks Pierce 2:37 D 18,884 -
78 78 Sunday, Jul 5 boxscore CHW @ KCA W 4 3 10 43-35 2 2.0 Lown Garver 2:28 D 9,669 +
79 79 Thursday, Jul 9 boxscore CHW CLE W 4 3 44-35 2 1.0 Pierce Score 2:31 N 36,742 ++
80 80 Friday, Jul 10 boxscore CHW CLE L 4 8 44-36 2 2.0 McLish Wynn Bell 3:00 N 41,588 -
81 81 Saturday, Jul 11 boxscore CHW KCA W 8 3 45-36 2 2.0 Latman Garver 2:24 D 7,346 +
82 82 Sunday, Jul 12 (1) boxscore CHW KCA W 5 3 46-36 2 1.0 Moore Daley Staley 2:37 D 0 ++
83 83 Sunday, Jul 12 (2) boxscore CHW KCA W 9 7 47-36 2 1.0 Shaw Coleman Staley 2:51 D 18,426 +++
84 84 Tuesday, Jul 14 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 7 3 48-36 1 Tied Pierce Wills Lown 3:00 N 20,606 ++++
85 85 Thursday, Jul 16 (1) boxscore CHW @ BOS W 4 3 49-36 1 up 1.0 Donovan Brewer Staley 2:40 D 0 +++++
86 86 Thursday, Jul 16 (2) boxscore CHW @ BOS L 4 5 49-37 1 up 1.0 Fornieles Moore 3:00 D 17,285 -
87 87 Friday, Jul 17 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 2 0 50-37 1 up 1.0 Wynn Terry 2:37 N 42,168 +
88 88 Saturday, Jul 18 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 2 1 51-37 1 up 1.0 Shaw Larsen Staley 2:36 D 33,744 ++
89 89 Sunday, Jul 19 (1) boxscore CHW @ NYY L 2 6 51-38 1 Tied Ford Latman Duren 2:33 D 0 -
90 90 Sunday, Jul 19 (2) boxscore CHW @ NYY L 4 6 51-39 1 Tied Grba Pierce Duren 3:00 N 53,014 --
91 91 Tuesday, Jul 21 boxscore CHW BOS W 2 1 52-39 1 Tied Donovan Brewer 2:27 N 28,534 +
92 92 Wednesday, Jul 22 boxscore CHW BOS W-wo 5 4 53-39 1 up 1.0 Lown Kiely 3:15 D 11,847 ++
93 93 Friday, Jul 24 boxscore CHW BAL W-wo 2 1 54-39 1 up 0.5 Pierce Wilhelm 2:08 N 29,274 +++
94 94 Saturday, Jul 25 boxscore CHW BAL W-wo 3 2 17 55-39 1 up 0.5 Lown Loes 4:35 D 12,562 ++++
95 95 Sunday, Jul 26 (1) boxscore CHW BAL W 4 1 56-39 2 0.5 Wynn Portocarrero 2:34 D 0 +++++
96 96 Sunday, Jul 26 (2) boxscore CHW BAL L 0 4 56-40 2 0.5 Pappas Latman 2:23 D 35,207 -
97 97 Tuesday, Jul 28 boxscore CHW NYY W 4 3 57-40 1 up 0.5 Pierce Terry 2:22 N 43,829 +
98 98 Wednesday, Jul 29 boxscore CHW NYY T 4 4 6 57-40 1 up 1.0 1:45 N 43,599 +
99 99 Thursday, Jul 30 boxscore CHW NYY W 3 1 58-40 1 up 1.0 Wynn Grba 2:35 D 30,858 ++
100 100 Friday, Jul 31 boxscore CHW WSH W 7 1 59-40 1 up 1.0 Latman Ramos 2:28 N 24,278 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Aug 1 boxscore CHW WSH W-wo 2 1 60-40 1 up 2.0 Staley Hyde 2:33 D 12,376 ++++
102 102 Sunday, Aug 2 (1) boxscore CHW WSH W-wo 3 2 61-40 1 up 3.0 Lown Kemmerer 2:05 D 0 +++++
103 103 Sunday, Aug 2 (2) boxscore CHW WSH W 9 3 62-40 1 up 3.0 Shaw Kaat Staley 3:03 D 26,866 ++++++
104 104 Tuesday, Aug 4 boxscore CHW @ BAL L 2 3 62-41 1 up 2.0 Hoeft McBride Brown 2:24 N 11,746 -
105 105 Wednesday, Aug 5 (1) boxscore CHW @ BAL W 2 0 63-41 1 up 2.0 Latman Fisher 2:02 D 0 +
106 106 Wednesday, Aug 5 (2) boxscore CHW @ BAL L 1 7 63-42 1 up 2.0 Portocarrero Wynn 2:25 N 15,324 -
107 107 Thursday, Aug 6 boxscore CHW @ BAL T 1 1 18 63-42 1 up 1.5 4:00 N 8,707 -
108 108 Friday, Aug 7 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 4 1 64-42 1 up 1.5 Shaw Fischer 2:37 N 7,702 +
109 109 Sunday, Aug 9 (1) boxscore CHW @ WSH W 4 3 65-42 1 up 3.0 Staley Hyde 2:32 D 0 ++
110 110 Sunday, Aug 9 (2) boxscore CHW @ WSH W 9 0 66-42 1 up 3.0 Wynn Clevenger 2:27 D 17,472 +++
111 111 Tuesday, Aug 11 boxscore CHW @ DET L 1 8 66-43 1 up 2.5 Bunning Pierce 2:30 N 34,417 -
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 12 boxscore CHW @ DET W 11 6 67-43 1 up 2.5 Staley Burnside Lown 2:55 D 12,820 +
113 113 Thursday, Aug 13 boxscore CHW @ DET W 9 0 68-43 1 up 2.5 Wynn Mossi 2:17 D 9,894 ++
114 114 Friday, Aug 14 boxscore CHW @ KCA W 5 1 69-43 1 up 3.5 Shaw Kucks 2:02 N 11,477 +++
115 115 Saturday, Aug 15 boxscore CHW @ KCA L 1 2 69-44 1 up 3.5 Daley Pierce 2:30 N 14,497 -
116 116 Sunday, Aug 16 boxscore CHW @ KCA L 2 7 69-45 1 up 3.0 Garver Donovan 2:44 D 13,373 --
117 117 Tuesday, Aug 18 boxscore CHW BAL W 6 4 70-45 1 up 4.5 Staley Fisher 2:59 N 34,547 +
118 118 Wednesday, Aug 19 boxscore CHW BAL L 1 3 70-46 1 up 3.5 O'Dell Shaw Walker 2:47 D 14,310 -
119 119 Thursday, Aug 20 boxscore CHW BAL L 6 7 70-47 1 up 2.5 Wilhelm Latman Loes 3:14 D 11,084 --
120 120 Friday, Aug 21 boxscore CHW WSH W 5 4 71-47 1 up 2.5 Staley Stobbs Lown 2:52 N 37,986 +
121 121 Saturday, Aug 22 boxscore CHW WSH W 1 0 72-47 1 up 2.5 Latman Kemmerer 2:12 D 9,739 ++
122 122 Sunday, Aug 23 (1) boxscore CHW NYY L 1 7 72-48 1 up 1.5 Ditmar Wynn 2:27 D 0 -
123 123 Sunday, Aug 23 (2) boxscore CHW NYY W 5 0 73-48 1 up 1.5 Shaw Terry 2:16 D 44,520 +
124 124 Monday, Aug 24 boxscore CHW NYY W 4 2 74-48 1 up 2.0 Moore Larsen Lown 3:03 D 21,923 ++
125 125 Tuesday, Aug 25 boxscore CHW BOS W-wo 5 4 10 75-48 1 up 2.0 Lown Fornieles 3:10 N 27,002 +++
126 126 Wednesday, Aug 26 boxscore CHW BOS L 6 7 75-49 1 up 1.0 Monbouquette Wynn Fornieles 3:06 N 22,497 -
127 127 Thursday, Aug 27 boxscore CHW BOS W 5 1 76-49 1 up 1.5 Latman Baumann Staley 2:35 D 11,703 +
128 128 Friday, Aug 28 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 7 3 77-49 1 up 2.5 Shaw Grant 2:32 N 70,398 ++
129 129 Saturday, Aug 29 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 2 0 78-49 1 up 3.5 Donovan Perry 2:18 D 28,107 +++
130 130 Sunday, Aug 30 (1) boxscore CHW @ CLE W 6 3 79-49 1 up 5.5 Wynn McLish Staley 2:56 D 0 ++++
131 131 Sunday, Aug 30 (2) boxscore CHW @ CLE W 9 4 80-49 1 up 5.5 Latman Bell Lown 2:37 D 66,586 +++++
132 132 Tuesday, Sep 1 boxscore CHW DET L 0 4 80-50 1 up 5.0 Bunning Shaw 2:45 N 27,218 -
133 133 Wednesday, Sep 2 (1) boxscore CHW DET W 7 2 81-50 1 up 5.5 Donovan Lary Staley 2:16 N 0 +
134 134 Wednesday, Sep 2 (2) boxscore CHW DET W 11 4 82-50 1 up 5.5 Stanka Foytack Staley 2:42 N 43,237 ++
135 135 Friday, Sep 4 boxscore CHW CLE W 3 2 83-50 1 up 6.5 Wynn Perry Staley 2:20 N 45,510 +++
136 136 Saturday, Sep 5 boxscore CHW CLE L 5 6 83-51 1 up 5.5 McLish Shaw Bell 2:52 D 26,920 -
137 137 Sunday, Sep 6 boxscore CHW CLE L 1 2 83-52 1 up 4.5 Grant Donovan 2:30 D 34,269 --
138 138 Monday, Sep 7 (1) boxscore CHW KCA W 2 1 84-52 1 up 4.5 Pierce Garver Lown 2:03 D 0 +
139 139 Monday, Sep 7 (2) boxscore CHW KCA W 13 7 85-52 1 up 4.5 Staley Tomanek 2:51 D 26,368 ++
140 140 Tuesday, Sep 8 boxscore CHW KCA W-wo 3 2 10 86-52 1 up 5.0 Wynn Daley 2:19 N 28,238 +++
141 141 Wednesday, Sep 9 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 5 1 87-52 1 up 4.5 Shaw Clevenger 2:19 N 9,616 ++++
142 142 Thursday, Sep 10 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 2 8 87-53 1 up 4.5 Pascual Donovan 2:23 N 6,530 -
143 143 Friday, Sep 11 (1) boxscore CHW @ BAL L 0 3 87-54 1 up 4.0 Fisher Pierce 1:53 D 0 --
144 144 Friday, Sep 11 (2) boxscore CHW @ BAL L-wo 0 1 16 87-55 1 up 4.0 Walker Staley 3:47 N 22,305 ---
145 145 Saturday, Sep 12 boxscore CHW @ BAL W 6 1 88-55 1 up 4.0 Wynn O'Dell 2:27 D 11,904 +
146 146 Sunday, Sep 13 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 3 1 89-55 1 up 5.5 Shaw Sullivan Lown 2:15 D 26,720 ++
147 147 Monday, Sep 14 boxscore CHW @ BOS L 3 9 89-56 1 up 4.5 Monbouquette Donovan 2:36 D 3,676 -
148 148 Tuesday, Sep 15 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 4 3 90-56 1 up 5.5 Pierce Ford Shaw 2:24 D 9,108 +
149 149 Wednesday, Sep 16 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 1 3 90-57 1 up 5.5 Coates Wynn 2:08 D 7,550 -
150 150 Friday, Sep 18 boxscore CHW DET W 1 0 91-57 1 up 5.5 Shaw Bunning 2:12 N 37,352 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Saturday, Sep 19 boxscore CHW DET L 4 5 91-58 1 up 4.5 Foytack Donovan Narleski 2:31 D 17,287 -
152 152 Sunday, Sep 20 boxscore CHW DET L 4 5 91-59 1 up 3.5 Mossi Pierce Bunning 2:43 D 27,784 --
153 153 Tuesday, Sep 22 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 4 2 92-59 1 up 4.5 Wynn Perry Staley 2:43 N 54,293 +
154 154 Friday, Sep 25 boxscore CHW @ DET L-wo 5 6 92-60 1 up 3.0 Mossi Staley 2:11 D 3,386 -
155 155 Saturday, Sep 26 boxscore CHW @ DET W 10 5 93-60 1 up 4.0 Wynn Proctor Lown 2:14 D 9,814 +
156 156 Sunday, Sep 27 boxscore CHW @ DET W 6 4 94-60 1 up 5.0 Shaw Bruce McBride 1:56 D 13,985 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
WS Game 1 Thursday, Oct 1 boxscore CHW LAD W 11 0 1-0 Wynn Craig Staley 2:35 D 48,013
WS Game 2 Friday, Oct 2 boxscore CHW LAD L 3 4 1-1 Podres Shaw Sherry 2:21 D 47,368
WS Game 3 Sunday, Oct 4 boxscore CHW @ LAD L 1 3 1-2 Drysdale Donovan Sherry 2:33 D 92,394
WS Game 4 Monday, Oct 5 boxscore CHW @ LAD L 4 5 1-3 Sherry Staley 2:30 D 92,650
WS Game 5 Tuesday, Oct 6 boxscore CHW @ LAD W 1 0 2-3 Shaw Koufax Donovan 2:28 D 92,706
WS Game 6 Thursday, Oct 8 boxscore CHW LAD L 3 9 2-4 Sherry Wynn 2:33 D 47,653
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1958 / 1960 Schedule and Results