Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1940 Schedule and Results

1940 Chicago White Sox

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1939 / 1941

82-72, Finished 4th in American League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Jimmy Dykes (82-72)
Scored 735 runs, Allowed 672 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 83-71

Ballparks: Comiskey Park I · Attendance: 660,336 (5th of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 101, Pitching - 101 · one-year: Batting - 104, Pitching - 103


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1939 / 1941 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 82-72, Final Rank:4, GB: 8.0
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind12last on Wednesday, Jul 3, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50014last on Wednesday, Sep 18
Most Games under .5009last on Tuesday, Jul 2
Longest Winning Streak8Wednesday, Sep 11 to Sunday, Sep 15
Longest Losing Streak5Wednesday, Jun 12 to Sunday, Jun 16
Most Runs Allowed14Sunday, Jun 16
Most Runs Scored19Saturday, Jul 20
Longest Game (innings)13Thursday, Jul 11 and Friday, Aug 23
Times Shutout by Opponent7 
Times Opponent Shutout10 
Walkoff Wins1 
Walkoff Losses3 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 82 72 735 672 .532
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 41 36 357 363 .532
Road 41 36 378 309 .532
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 3 7 44 47 .300
May 13 14 134 138 .481
June 11 13 106 119 .458
July 19 10 183 137 .655
August 17 16 127 121 .515
September 19 12 141 110 .613
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 32 37 337 348 .464
Second Half 50 35 398 324 .588
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 77 59 657 581 .566
ExtraInning 5 10 64 67 .333
Shortened 0 3 14 24 .000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 31 32 248 248 .492
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 18 10 202 149 .643
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BOS 11 11 109 106 .500
CLE 6 16 67 92 .273
DET 13 9 108 88 .591
NYY 11 11 92 102 .500
PHA 16 6 126 81 .727
SLB 13 9 116 104 .591
WSH 12 10 117 99 .545

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 16 boxscore CHW CLE L 0 1 0-1 5 1.0 Feller Smith 2:24 14,000 -
2 2 Saturday, Apr 20 boxscore CHW @ SLB L 1 11 0-2 7 2.0 Auker Rigney 1:54 D 4,775 --
3 3 Sunday, Apr 21 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 6 2 1-2 7 1.5 Lyons Coffman 2:02 D 7,140 +
4 4 Monday, Apr 22 boxscore CHW DET L 5 6 1-3 7 2.0 Conger Brown Benton 2:46 D 5,009 -
5 5 Wednesday, Apr 24 boxscore CHW DET L 1 2 1-4 7 3.0 Bridges Rigney 1:50 D 1,500 --
6 6 Thursday, Apr 25 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 1 3 1-5 8 4.0 Feller Smith 2:15 4,000 ---
7 7 Friday, Apr 26 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 11 1 2-5 7 3.0 Lee Allen 2:10 7,000 +
8 8 Saturday, Apr 27 boxscore CHW SLB L 2 6 2-6 8 4.0 Kramer Eaves 2:44 D 1,500 -
9 9 Sunday, Apr 28 boxscore CHW SLB L 8 11 2-7 8 5.0 Harris Lyons Lawson 2:38 D 8,500 --
10 10 Tuesday, Apr 30 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 9 4 3-7 7 4.5 Rigney Dickman D +
11 11 Wednesday, May 1 boxscore CHW @ BOS L 4 12 3-8 8 4.5 Hash Eaves 2:14 D 6,800 -
12 12 Friday, May 3 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 4 8 3-9 8 5.5 Breuer Smith 2:13 D 11,291 --
13 13 Saturday, May 4 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 10 3 4-9 8 5.5 Lee Sundra 2:15 D 2,303 +
14 14 Sunday, May 5 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 6 5 5-9 8 5.0 Appleton Dean 2:07 D 16,174 ++
15 15 Monday, May 6 boxscore CHW @ PHA L 2 3 5-10 8 5.5 Potter Rigney 1:50 D 1,500 -
16 16 Tuesday, May 7 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 6 3 6-10 7 5.5 Knott Caster Appleton 2:28 D 4,500 +
17 17 Wednesday, May 8 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 6 3 7-10 5 5.5 Smith Chase Brown 2:17 D 3,000 ++
18 18 Thursday, May 9 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 4 8 7-11 7 6.5 Leonard Lee 2:02 D 2,500 -
19 19 Friday, May 10 boxscore CHW @ DET L 0 3 7-12 7 7.5 Newsom Rigney 1:42 D 4,342 --
20 20 Saturday, May 11 boxscore CHW @ DET W 1 0 8-12 6 7.5 Knott Bridges 1:58 D 24,525 +
21 21 Sunday, May 12 boxscore CHW @ DET W 4 3 9-12 5 6.5 Lyons Nelson 2:04 D 18,517 ++
22 22 Tuesday, May 14 boxscore CHW BOS L 6 7 10 9-13 7 7.5 Dickman Rigney D -
23 23 Friday, May 17 boxscore CHW NYY L 1 6 9-14 7 8.5 Breuer Smith 2:00 D 6,000 --
24 24 Saturday, May 18 boxscore CHW NYY L 0 3 9-15 8 9.0 Pearson Lee 1:50 D 6,000 ---
25 25 Sunday, May 19 boxscore CHW WSH L 10 12 9-16 8 9.5 Leonard Lyons 2:29 D 6,700 ----
26 26 Monday, May 20 boxscore CHW WSH W 5 4 10-16 7 8.5 Rigney Hudson Brown 1:42 D 3,134 +
27 27 Tuesday, May 21 boxscore CHW WSH W 9 8 11-16 7 8.5 Brown Carrasquel 2:26 D 2,000 ++
28 28 Wednesday, May 22 boxscore CHW PHA W 10 1 12-16 6 7.5 Smith Caster 2:23 D 2,500 +++
29 29 Thursday, May 23 boxscore CHW PHA W 13 4 13-16 4 7.0 Lee Babich 2:13 D 2,000 ++++
30 30 Friday, May 24 boxscore CHW DET W 2 1 14-16 4 6.5 Rigney Bridges 1:42 D 2,000 +++++
31 31 Saturday, May 25 boxscore CHW DET L 4 10 8 14-17 4 7.0 Trout Knott Benton 2:12 D 7,000 -
32 32 Monday, May 27 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 7 5 15-17 4 6.0 Lyons Kramer 2:02 D 733 +
33 33 Tuesday, May 28 (1) boxscore CHW @ SLB L 9 10 15-18 5 7.5 Kennedy Rigney Coffman D -
34 34 Tuesday, May 28 (2) boxscore CHW @ SLB L 5 7 15-19 5 7.5 Harris Knott Lawson 1:58 D 1,789 --
35 35 Wednesday, May 29 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 4 3 16-19 5 7.5 Dietrich Auker 1:52 D 879 +
36 36 Thursday, May 30 (1) boxscore CHW @ CLE L 1 3 16-20 5 8.5 Smith Smith -
37 37 Thursday, May 30 (2) boxscore CHW @ CLE L 1 3 16-21 5 8.5 Milnar Lee --
38 38 Saturday, Jun 1 boxscore CHW @ BOS L 1 2 16-22 5 9.5 Harris Knott D ---
39 39 Sunday, Jun 2 (1) boxscore CHW @ BOS W 6 0 17-22 5 9.5 Lyons Butland 1:59 D 0 +
40 40 Sunday, Jun 2 (2) boxscore CHW @ BOS L 8 10 17-23 5 9.5 Bagby Smith 2:25 D 33,500 -
41 41 Monday, Jun 3 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 7 4 18-23 5 8.5 Dietrich Ostermueller Brown 2:11 D 4,000 +
42 42 Tuesday, Jun 4 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 7 3 19-23 5 7.5 Smith Ruffing 2:03 D 6,650 ++
43 43 Wednesday, Jun 5 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 5 7 19-24 5 7.5 Pearson Lee Murphy 1:50 D 5,756 -
44 44 Thursday, Jun 6 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 4 3 20-24 5 7.5 Rigney Chandler Appleton 1:45 D 5,089 +
45 45 Friday, Jun 7 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 2 3 20-25 5 7.5 Leonard Knott 1:54 D 9,000 -
46 46 Saturday, Jun 8 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 12 6 21-25 5 7.0 Dietrich Chase Brown 2:20 D 6,000 +
47 47 Sunday, Jun 9 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 4 3 11 22-25 5 6.0 Rigney Haynes 2:06 D 7,000 ++
48 48 Tuesday, Jun 11 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 5 4 23-25 5 6.0 Rigney Heusser 2:15 N 10,114 +++
49 49 Wednesday, Jun 12 boxscore CHW @ PHA L 2 3 23-26 5 7.0 Potter Lee 1:31 D 10,000 -
50 50 Friday, Jun 14 boxscore CHW BOS L 1 5 23-27 5 8.0 Galehouse Rigney 2:02 N 40,104 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Saturday, Jun 15 boxscore CHW BOS L 2 5 23-28 5 9.0 Hash Dietrich 1:44 D 4,835 ---
52 52 Sunday, Jun 16 (1) boxscore CHW BOS L 3 4 12 23-29 5 11.0 Bagby Lyons 2:17 D ----
53 53 Sunday, Jun 16 (2) boxscore CHW BOS L 5 14 23-30 5 11.0 Wilson Knott D -----
54 54 Tuesday, Jun 18 boxscore CHW NYY W 5 3 24-30 5 10.0 Smith Donald 2:06 D 5,112 +
55 55 Wednesday, Jun 19 boxscore CHW NYY W 1 0 25-30 5 9.0 Lee Russo 1:43 D 8,126 ++
56 56 Thursday, Jun 20 boxscore CHW NYY T *T 1 0 11 25-30 6 9.0 D ++
57 57 Friday, Jun 21 boxscore CHW PHA L 1 12 25-31 6 10.0 Ross Knott 1:56 D 9,321 -
58 58 Tuesday, Jun 25 boxscore CHW WSH L 6 7 25-32 6 12.0 Hudson Rigney 2:03 N 21,233 --
59 59 Wednesday, Jun 26 boxscore CHW WSH W 7 6 26-32 6 11.0 Dietrich Haynes 2:19 D 3,000 +
60 60 Saturday, Jun 29 boxscore CHW CLE L 3 7 26-33 6 12.0 Feller Lee 2:04 8,001 -
61 61 Sunday, Jun 30 (1) boxscore CHW CLE L 5 7 26-34 6 12.0 Smith Lyons Allen 2:01 0 --
62 62 Sunday, Jun 30 (2) boxscore CHW CLE W 3 1 27-34 6 12.0 Smith Milnar 1:47 20,054 +
63 63 Monday, Jul 1 boxscore CHW @ DET L 1 3 27-35 6 12.0 Newsom Rigney 1:45 D 5,018 -
64 64 Tuesday, Jul 2 boxscore CHW @ DET L 9 10 27-36 6 12.0 Benton Brown McKain 2:37 D 4,663 --
65 65 Wednesday, Jul 3 boxscore CHW @ DET W 12 7 28-36 6 12.0 Knott Trout Rigney 2:32 D 5,171 +
66 66 Thursday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore CHW SLB W 7 3 29-36 5 11.0 Lee Niggeling 1:59 D 0 ++
67 67 Thursday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore CHW SLB W 8 5 30-36 5 11.0 Smith Lawson Brown 2:11 D 19,519 +++
68 68 Friday, Jul 5 boxscore CHW SLB W 10 8 31-36 5 10.5 Appleton Auker 2:15 D 4,000 ++++
69 69 Saturday, Jul 6 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 3 7 31-37 5 11.5 Harder Dietrich Allen 2:00 15,000 -
70 70 Sunday, Jul 7 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 3 1 32-37 5 11.0 Lyons Feller 1:55 18,813 +
71 71 Thursday, Jul 11 boxscore CHW @ BOS L-wo 2 3 13 32-38 5 11.5 Dickman Rigney 2:35 D 3,700 -
72 72 Saturday, Jul 13 (1) boxscore CHW @ BOS W 5 0 33-38 5 11.5 Lyons Bagby D +
73 73 Saturday, Jul 13 (2) boxscore CHW @ BOS W 7 0 34-38 5 11.5 Knott Wilson 2:10 D 16,700 ++
74 74 Sunday, Jul 14 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 0 4 34-39 5 11.5 Ruffing Lee 1:47 D 18,729 -
75 75 Monday, Jul 15 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 3 2 35-39 5 10.5 Smith Breuer Appleton 1:57 D 5,800 +
76 76 Tuesday, Jul 16 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 5 1 36-39 5 9.5 Rigney Russo 1:45 D 5,426 ++
77 77 Wednesday, Jul 17 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 2 5 36-40 5 9.5 Leonard Dietrich 1:50 D 2,500 -
78 78 Thursday, Jul 18 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 4 5 36-41 5 10.0 Carrasquel Knott 2:05 D 2,000 --
79 79 Friday, Jul 19 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 9 1 37-41 5 10.0 Lee Masterson 1:58 D 9,000 +
80 80 Saturday, Jul 20 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 19 7 38-41 5 10.0 Smith Caster Appleton 2:27 D 4,000 ++
81 81 Sunday, Jul 21 (1) boxscore CHW @ PHA W 10 8 39-41 5 10.0 Lyons Vaughan 2:00 D 0 +++
82 82 Sunday, Jul 21 (2) boxscore CHW @ PHA W 7 2 40-41 5 10.0 Rigney Potter 1:41 D 11,230 ++++
83 83 Tuesday, Jul 23 boxscore CHW BOS W 8 7 41-41 5 9.0 Appleton Wilson 2:37 D 4,810 +++++
84 84 Wednesday, Jul 24 boxscore CHW BOS W 12 10 42-41 5 9.0 Dietrich Galehouse Rigney 2:17 D 4,000 ++++++
85 85 Thursday, Jul 25 boxscore CHW BOS W 6 4 43-41 5 9.0 Knott Bagby Brown 1:57 D 4,581 +++++++
86 86 Friday, Jul 26 boxscore CHW NYY L 2 10 43-42 5 9.0 Chandler Smith 2:09 N 48,104 -
87 87 Saturday, Jul 27 boxscore CHW NYY W 6 5 12 44-42 5 9.5 Rigney Breuer 2:17 D 7,199 +
88 88 Sunday, Jul 28 (1) boxscore CHW NYY L 9 10 44-43 5 9.0 Hildebrand Lyons Murphy D -
89 89 Sunday, Jul 28 (2) boxscore CHW NYY W 8 4 45-43 5 9.0 Lee Hadley 2:02 D 39,537 +
90 90 Tuesday, Jul 30 boxscore CHW PHA W 3 1 46-43 5 7.5 Knott Ross Appleton 1:54 D 3,512 ++
91 91 Wednesday, Jul 31 boxscore CHW PHA L 3 4 46-44 5 8.5 Beckmann Rigney 1:38 N 22,923 -
92 92 Thursday, Aug 1 boxscore CHW PHA W 5 4 11 47-44 4 8.5 Brown Potter 2:26 D 3,105 +
93 93 Friday, Aug 2 boxscore CHW WSH W 10 2 48-44 4 7.5 Lee Hudson 1:39 D 4,331 ++
94 94 Saturday, Aug 3 boxscore CHW WSH W 7 6 49-44 4 8.0 Knott Monteagudo Brown 2:03 D 4,016 +++
95 95 Sunday, Aug 4 (1) boxscore CHW WSH L 3 4 10 49-45 4 8.5 Leonard Lyons Masterson 2:21 D 0 -
96 96 Sunday, Aug 4 (2) boxscore CHW WSH L 0 1 49-46 4 8.5 Chase Rigney 1:40 D 15,866 --
97 97 Monday, Aug 5 boxscore CHW CLE L 1 10 49-47 4 9.0 Harder Smith 2:05 3,128 ---
98 98 Tuesday, Aug 6 (1) boxscore CHW CLE W 5 1 50-47 4 9.5 Lee Milnar 1:38 0 +
99 99 Tuesday, Aug 6 (2) boxscore CHW CLE L 2 3 50-48 4 9.5 Allen Dietrich Feller 2:11 12,843 -
100 100 Wednesday, Aug 7 boxscore CHW CLE L 3 9 50-49 4 10.5 Smith Rigney Eisenstat 1:50 4,169 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Friday, Aug 9 boxscore CHW DET W-wo 3 2 51-49 4 9.5 Smith Benton +
102 102 Saturday, Aug 10 boxscore CHW DET L 2 5 5 51-50 4 10.5 Rowe Lee 1:06 D 17,247 -
103 103 Sunday, Aug 11 (1) boxscore CHW DET W 4 3 52-50 4 8.5 Lyons Hutchinson 2:26 D 0 +
104 104 Sunday, Aug 11 (2) boxscore CHW DET W 4 3 53-50 4 8.5 Brown Bridges 2:00 D 32,032 ++
105 105 Monday, Aug 12 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 6 5 54-50 4 8.5 Brown Trotter 2:34 N 4,454 +++
106 106 Tuesday, Aug 13 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 4 3 55-50 4 8.5 Appleton Kennedy 1:51 D 713 ++++
107 107 Wednesday, Aug 14 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 0 4 55-51 5 9.5 Smith Smith 1:42 59,086 -
108 108 Thursday, Aug 15 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 4 5 55-52 5 10.5 Allen Lee 1:59 5,600 --
109 109 Friday, Aug 16 boxscore CHW @ DET W 13 4 56-52 4 10.5 Rigney Bridges 2:00 D 10,013 +
110 110 Saturday, Aug 17 boxscore CHW @ DET W 9 5 57-52 4 9.5 Knott Trout Brown 2:40 D 13,706 ++
111 111 Sunday, Aug 18 boxscore CHW @ DET W 7 5 58-52 4 9.0 Lyons Benton 2:24 D 19,292 +++
112 112 Tuesday, Aug 20 (1) boxscore CHW @ PHA W 6 1 59-52 4 9.0 Smith Ross 1:59 D 0 ++++
113 113 Tuesday, Aug 20 (2) boxscore CHW @ PHA L 3 4 10 59-53 4 9.0 Heusser Lee 2:03 D 5,500 -
114 114 Wednesday, Aug 21 boxscore CHW @ PHA L 0 3 59-54 5 10.0 Beckmann Rigney D --
115 115 Friday, Aug 23 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 2 3 13 59-55 5 9.5 Chase Dietrich 3:05 D 10,000 ---
116 116 Saturday, Aug 24 (1) boxscore CHW @ WSH W 4 2 60-55 5 8.0 Knott Masterson Rigney D +
117 117 Saturday, Aug 24 (2) boxscore CHW @ WSH W 2 1 61-55 5 8.0 Smith Krakauskas 1:48 D 9,000 ++
118 118 Sunday, Aug 25 (1) boxscore CHW @ NYY W 1 0 62-55 5 7.5 Lyons Ruffing 1:55 D 0 +++
119 119 Sunday, Aug 25 (2) boxscore CHW @ NYY L 1 3 62-56 5 7.5 Bonham Lee 1:33 D 70,740 -
120 120 Tuesday, Aug 27 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 4 5 10 62-57 5 8.5 Murphy Rigney 2:17 D 6,942 --
121 121 Wednesday, Aug 28 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 3 2 63-57 5 8.0 Dietrich Heving 1:43 D 7,600 +
122 122 Thursday, Aug 29 boxscore CHW @ BOS L 3 4 63-58 5 8.5 Wilson Rigney 2:17 D 5,400 -
123 123 Friday, Aug 30 boxscore CHW CLE L 2 4 63-59 5 9.5 Feller Lee --
124 124 Saturday, Aug 31 boxscore CHW CLE L 4 5 12 63-60 5 10.5 Allen Brown 2:55 5,442 ---
125 125 Sunday, Sep 1 boxscore CHW CLE L 4 7 63-61 5 11.5 Dobson Lyons Feller 2:14 14,968 ----
126 126 Monday, Sep 2 (1) boxscore CHW DET W 2 1 64-61 5 9.5 Dietrich Newsom D +
127 127 Monday, Sep 2 (2) boxscore CHW DET W 4 0 65-61 5 9.5 Rigney Trout 1:51 D 27,654 ++
128 128 Tuesday, Sep 3 boxscore CHW DET W 10 2 66-61 5 9.0 Knott Hutchinson 2:09 D 2,681 +++
129 129 Wednesday, Sep 4 boxscore CHW SLB L 1 4 66-62 5 9.0 Harris Lee 1:47 D 2,184 -
130 130 Thursday, Sep 5 boxscore CHW SLB W 4 2 67-62 5 8.0 Smith Trotter 1:45 N 14,749 +
131 131 Friday, Sep 6 boxscore CHW SLB W 6 3 68-62 5 7.0 Rigney Auker D ++
132 132 Saturday, Sep 7 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 5 4 69-62 5 6.0 Dietrich Harder Brown 2:03 7,000 +++
133 133 Sunday, Sep 8 boxscore CHW @ CLE L-wo 4 5 10 69-63 5 7.0 Feller Lyons 2:19 15,671 -
134 134 Monday, Sep 9 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 2 1 70-63 5 6.5 Lee Eisenstat 1:39 2,500 +
135 135 Tuesday, Sep 10 boxscore CHW WSH L 2 5 70-64 5 6.5 Chase Knott 2:10 D 1,276 -
136 136 Wednesday, Sep 11 boxscore CHW WSH W 7 4 71-64 5 6.5 Rigney Leonard 1:37 D 866 +
137 137 Thursday, Sep 12 (1) boxscore CHW PHA W 1 0 72-64 4 6.0 Dietrich Ross 1:48 D 0 ++
138 138 Thursday, Sep 12 (2) boxscore CHW PHA W 4 3 73-64 4 6.0 Smith Babich 1:46 D 1,703 +++
139 139 Friday, Sep 13 (1) boxscore CHW PHA W 6 2 74-64 4 5.5 Lee Heusser 1:31 D 0 ++++
140 140 Friday, Sep 13 (2) boxscore CHW PHA W 8 4 75-64 4 5.5 Hallett Beckmann 1:53 D 2,767 +++++
141 141 Saturday, Sep 14 boxscore CHW PHA W 6 3 76-64 4 4.5 Knott Potter Brown 1:41 D 1,875 ++++++
142 142 Sunday, Sep 15 (1) boxscore CHW BOS W 5 1 77-64 4 4.0 Lyons Heving 1:40 D 0 +++++++
143 143 Sunday, Sep 15 (2) boxscore CHW BOS W 4 2 10 78-64 4 4.0 Rigney Hash 1:53 D 39,191 ++++++++
144 144 Monday, Sep 16 boxscore CHW BOS L 2 6 78-65 4 4.5 Wilson Dietrich 1:53 D 2,940 -
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 18 (1) boxscore CHW NYY W 6 3 79-65 4 5.0 Lee Chandler 1:50 D 0 +
146 146 Wednesday, Sep 18 (2) boxscore CHW NYY L 8 9 8 79-66 4 5.0 Sundra Brown Murphy 2:19 D 37,331 -
147 147 Thursday, Sep 19 boxscore CHW NYY L 1 10 79-67 4 6.0 Ruffing Knott 1:43 D 7,572 --
148 148 Friday, Sep 20 boxscore CHW @ SLB L 6 7 79-68 4 7.0 Newlin Hallett Trotter 2:05 N 7,572 ---
149 149 Saturday, Sep 21 boxscore CHW @ SLB L 2 3 79-69 4 8.0 Kennedy Brown 1:49 D 1,179 ----
150 150 Sunday, Sep 22 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 10 0 80-69 4 7.0 Lyons Harris 1:59 D 4,711 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Wednesday, Sep 25 (1) boxscore CHW @ DET L-wo 9 10 10 80-70 4 9.0 Newsom Brown 2:18 -
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 25 (2) boxscore CHW @ DET L 2 3 80-71 4 9.0 Newsom Rigney 2:04 --
153 153 Friday, Sep 27 boxscore CHW SLB W 4 3 10 81-71 4 9.0 Dietrich Harris 1:50 D 655 +
154 154 Saturday, Sep 28 boxscore CHW SLB W 5 1 82-71 4 8.0 Smith Kramer 1:52 D 1,341 ++
155 155 Sunday, Sep 29 boxscore CHW SLB L 1 2 82-72 4 8.0 Auker Rigney 1:35 D 2,931 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1939 / 1941 Schedule and Results