Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1919 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1919 Chicago White Sox

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1918 / 1920

88-52, Finished 1st in American League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Kid Gleason (88-52)
Scored 667 runs, Allowed 534 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 84-56

Ballparks: Comiskey Park I · Attendance: 627,186 (2nd of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 101, Pitching - 99 · one-year: Batting - 107, Pitching - 104

Postseason:  Lost World Series (5-3) to Cincinnati Reds


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1918 / 1920 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 88-52, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First112last on Sunday, Sep 28, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 147last on Sep 28, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead8last on Monday, Sep 15, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind3.5last on Tuesday, Jul 1, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50041last on Friday, Sep 19
Most Games under .500never
Longest Winning Streak10Friday, Aug 15 to Sunday, Aug 24
Longest Losing Streak4Sunday, Jun 1 to Tuesday, Jun 3, Saturday, Jun 21 to Tuesday, Jun 24, Saturday, Jul 26 to Wednesday, Jul 30 and Thursday, Sep 25 to Sunday, Sep 28
Most Runs Allowed15Thursday, Aug 14
Most Runs Scored17Thursday, Jul 3
Longest Game (innings)16Tuesday, Sep 2
Times Shutout by Opponent6 
Times Opponent Shutout14 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 88 52 667 534 .629
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 48 22 344 279 .686
Road 40 30 323 255 .571
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 6 1 47 29 .857
May 18 6 92 60 .750
June 11 16 86 94 .407
July 22 10 178 151 .688
August 18 9 140 110 .667
September 13 10 124 90 .565
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 47 26 339 250 .644
Second Half 41 26 328 284 .612
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 77 45 595 470 .631
ExtraInning 9 7 65 61 .563
Shortened 2 0 7 31.000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 30 19 188 177 .612
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 26 14 285 200 .650
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BOS 11 9 95 93 .550
CLE 12 8 103 73 .600
DET 11 9 101 79 .550
NYY 12 8 85 68 .600
PHA 17 3 113 61 .850
SLB 11 9 82 85 .550
WSH 14 6 88 75 .700

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Wednesday, Apr 23 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 13 4 1-0 1 Tied Williams Rogers D 15,000 +
2 2 Thursday, Apr 24 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 5 2 2-0 1 up 0.5 Cicotte Sothoron D ++
3 3 Friday, Apr 25 boxscore CHW @ SLB L 2 7 2-1 1 Tied Gallia Danforth D -
4 4 Saturday, Apr 26 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 9 4 3-1 1 up 0.5 Faber Davenport D +
5 5 Sunday, Apr 27 boxscore CHW @ DET W 6 4 4-1 1 up 0.5 Williams Dauss D 24 ++
6 6 Tuesday, Apr 29 boxscore CHW @ DET W 3 1 5-1 1 up 1.0 Cicotte Ehmke D 5,000 +++
7 7 Wednesday, Apr 30 boxscore CHW @ DET W 9 7 6-1 1 up 1.0 Kerr Erickson D ++++
8 8 Friday, May 2 boxscore CHW SLB L 4 11 6-2 1 up 1.0 Gallia Williams D 12,000 -
9 9 Sunday, May 4 boxscore CHW SLB W 4 2 5 7-2 1 up 1.5 Cicotte Sothoron D +
10 10 Tuesday, May 6 boxscore CHW DET W 3 1 8-2 1 up 2.0 Williams Boland D ++
11 11 Wednesday, May 7 boxscore CHW DET W 9 3 9-2 1 up 2.5 Faber Erickson D +++
12 12 Thursday, May 8 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 4 1 10-2 1 up 2.5 Cicotte Coveleski D ++++
13 13 Saturday, May 10 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 5 6 11 10-3 1 up 2.0 Phillips Cicotte D 4,000 -
14 14 Sunday, May 11 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 10 2 11-3 1 up 2.5 Williams Uhle D +
15 15 Monday, May 12 boxscore CHW SLB W 4 3 12-3 1 up 3.0 Shellenback Gallia D ++
16 16 Tuesday, May 13 boxscore CHW SLB L 1 2 12-4 1 up 2.5 Davenport Robertson D -
17 17 Wednesday, May 14 boxscore CHW BOS W 1 0 13-4 1 up 2.5 Cicotte Mays D 8,000 +
18 18 Thursday, May 15 boxscore CHW BOS L 5 6 12 13-5 1 up 1.5 Ruth Shellenback D -
19 19 Friday, May 16 boxscore CHW BOS W 7 4 14-5 1 up 2.0 Faber Caldwell D +
20 20 Saturday, May 17 boxscore CHW PHA L 0 1 14-6 1 up 1.5 Rogers Williams D -
21 21 Sunday, May 18 boxscore CHW PHA W 1 0 15-6 1 up 2.0 Cicotte Perry D 20,000 +
22 22 Tuesday, May 20 boxscore CHW PHA W 2 1 16-6 1 up 2.5 Faber Johnson D ++
23 23 Thursday, May 22 boxscore CHW NYY W 1 0 17-6 1 up 2.5 Williams Quinn D +++
24 24 Friday, May 23 boxscore CHW NYY W 5 0 18-6 1 up 3.0 Cicotte Shawkey D ++++
25 25 Saturday, May 24 boxscore CHW NYY L 1 2 18-7 1 up 2.0 Thormahlen Faber D 15,000 -
26 26 Sunday, May 25 boxscore CHW WSH W 6 5 19-7 1 up 2.0 Kerr Johnson Danforth D +
27 27 Monday, May 26 boxscore CHW WSH W 3 2 20-7 1 up 2.0 Williams Thompson D ++
28 28 Tuesday, May 27 boxscore CHW WSH W 4 3 21-7 1 up 2.0 Cicotte Johnson D +++
29 29 Friday, May 30 (1) boxscore CHW CLE W 4 1 22-7 1 up 4.0 Faber Bagby D 10,000 ++++
30 30 Friday, May 30 (2) boxscore CHW CLE W 3 2 23-7 1 up 4.0 Williams Uhle D 30,000 +++++
31 31 Saturday, May 31 boxscore CHW CLE W 5 2 24-7 1 up 5.0 Cicotte Phillips D ++++++
32 32 Sunday, Jun 1 boxscore CHW CLE L 3 5 24-8 1 up 4.0 Bagby Danforth D -
33 33 Monday, Jun 2 (1) boxscore CHW @ DET L 3 5 24-9 1 up 2.5 Ehmke Faber D --
34 34 Monday, Jun 2 (2) boxscore CHW @ DET L 1 2 24-10 1 up 2.5 Boland Williams D ---
35 35 Tuesday, Jun 3 boxscore CHW @ DET L 3 7 24-11 1 up 2.0 Dauss Lowdermilk D ----
36 36 Thursday, Jun 5 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 5 1 25-11 1 up 3.0 Cicotte Shore D 12,000 +
37 37 Saturday, Jun 7 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 4 6 25-12 1 up 2.0 Quinn Williams D -
38 38 Sunday, Jun 8 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 0 4 25-13 1 up 1.0 Shawkey Faber D 12,000 --
39 39 Tuesday, Jun 10 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 5 3 26-13 1 up 1.5 Cicotte Ruth D +
40 40 Wednesday, Jun 11 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 3 0 27-13 1 up 1.5 Williams Mays D ++
41 41 Thursday, Jun 12 boxscore CHW @ BOS L 0 4 27-14 1 up 0.5 Pennock Faber D -
42 42 Friday, Jun 13 boxscore CHW @ BOS L 1 6 27-15 1 up 0.5 Jones Shellenback D --
43 43 Saturday, Jun 14 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 6 3 14 28-15 1 up 0.5 Cicotte Rogers D +
44 44 Monday, Jun 16 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 5 1 29-15 1 up 1.0 Williams Seibold D ++
45 45 Tuesday, Jun 17 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 7 6 30-15 1 up 1.0 Kerr Johnson D +++
46 46 Wednesday, Jun 18 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 0 2 30-16 1 Tied Shaw Cicotte D -
47 47 Thursday, Jun 19 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 5 4 31-16 1 Tied Lowdermilk Whitehouse D +
48 48 Friday, Jun 20 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 5 2 32-16 1 up 0.5 Williams Harper D ++
49 49 Saturday, Jun 21 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 3 6 32-17 1 up 0.5 Johnson Faber D 10,000 -
50 50 Sunday, Jun 22 boxscore CHW @ DET L 4 5 32-18 1 up 0.5 Dauss Shellenback D 15 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Monday, Jun 23 boxscore CHW CLE L 2 3 32-19 3 0.5 Bagby Cicotte D ---
52 52 Tuesday, Jun 24 boxscore CHW CLE L 0 2 32-20 3 1.5 Coveleski Williams D ----
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 25 boxscore CHW CLE W 7 1 33-20 3 1.5 Lowdermilk Morton D +
54 54 Thursday, Jun 26 boxscore CHW @ SLB L 2 3 13 33-21 3 2.0 Sothoron Kerr D -
55 55 Friday, Jun 27 boxscore CHW @ SLB L 1 4 33-22 3 2.5 Weilman Cicotte D --
56 56 Saturday, Jun 28 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 3 2 34-22 2 2.0 Williams Shocker D 10,000 +
57 57 Sunday, Jun 29 boxscore CHW @ SLB L 3 5 34-23 2 2.0 Gallia Lowdermilk Sothoron D -
58 58 Monday, Jun 30 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 5 2 35-23 2 2.5 Cicotte Bagby D +
59 59 Tuesday, Jul 1 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 9 14 35-24 2 3.5 Jasper Williams D -
60 60 Wednesday, Jul 2 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 6 4 36-24 2 2.5 Danforth Uhle D +
61 61 Thursday, Jul 3 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 17 1 37-24 2 1.5 Williams Morton D ++
62 62 Friday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore CHW DET W 8 1 38-24 2 1.5 Cicotte Boland D +++
63 63 Friday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore CHW DET W 2 1 39-24 2 1.5 Kerr Love D ++++
64 64 Saturday, Jul 5 boxscore CHW DET L 3 6 39-25 2 2.0 Dauss Faber D -
65 65 Sunday, Jul 6 boxscore CHW DET W 4 1 40-25 2 1.0 Williams Leonard D +
66 66 Monday, Jul 7 boxscore CHW DET W 8 3 41-25 2 1.0 Cicotte Ehmke D ++
67 67 Wednesday, Jul 9 (1) boxscore CHW PHA W 8 7 42-25 1 up 0.5 Faber Rogers D +++
68 68 Wednesday, Jul 9 (2) boxscore CHW PHA W 6 2 43-25 1 up 0.5 Faber Johnson D ++++
69 69 Thursday, Jul 10 boxscore CHW PHA W 9 2 44-25 1 up 1.0 Williams Naylor D +++++
70 70 Friday, Jul 11 boxscore CHW PHA W 7 1 45-25 1 up 2.0 Cicotte Perry D ++++++
71 71 Saturday, Jul 12 boxscore CHW BOS L 4 12 45-26 1 up 2.0 Pennock Kerr D -
72 72 Sunday, Jul 13 boxscore CHW BOS W 14 9 46-26 1 up 3.0 Faber Mays Cicotte D +
73 73 Monday, Jul 14 boxscore CHW BOS W 9 3 47-26 1 up 4.0 Williams Jones D ++
74 74 Tuesday, Jul 15 boxscore CHW BOS W 3 1 48-26 1 up 4.5 Cicotte James D +++
75 75 Wednesday, Jul 16 boxscore CHW WSH L 1 11 48-27 1 up 4.5 Erickson Lowdermilk D -
76 76 Thursday, Jul 17 boxscore CHW WSH L 4 9 48-28 1 up 4.5 Shaw Faber D --
77 77 Friday, Jul 18 boxscore CHW WSH W 3 0 49-28 1 up 4.5 Williams Harper D 10,000 +
78 78 Saturday, Jul 19 boxscore CHW WSH W 6 5 11 50-28 1 up 4.5 Kerr Johnson D ++
79 79 Sunday, Jul 20 boxscore CHW NYY W 2 1 10 51-28 1 up 5.5 Cicotte Shore D 30,000 +++
80 80 Monday, Jul 21 (1) boxscore CHW NYY W 7 6 52-28 1 up 6.0 Kerr Quinn D 0 ++++
81 81 Monday, Jul 21 (2) boxscore CHW NYY W 5 4 10 53-28 1 up 6.0 Kerr Thormahlen D 18,000 +++++
82 82 Tuesday, Jul 22 boxscore CHW NYY L 1 6 53-29 1 up 5.0 Quinn Kerr D -
83 83 Thursday, Jul 24 boxscore CHW SLB W 1 0 10 54-29 1 up 6.0 Cicotte Sothoron D +
84 84 Friday, Jul 25 boxscore CHW SLB W 6 4 55-29 1 up 7.0 Kerr Gallia D ++
85 85 Saturday, Jul 26 boxscore CHW SLB L 2 5 55-30 1 up 6.0 Shocker Faber D -
86 86 Sunday, Jul 27 boxscore CHW SLB L 5 11 55-31 1 up 6.0 Sothoron Lowdermilk 2:15 D 20,000 --
87 87 Tuesday, Jul 29 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 1 10 55-32 1 up 5.5 Thormahlen Cicotte D 4,500 ---
88 88 Wednesday, Jul 30 (1) boxscore CHW @ NYY L 5 6 10 55-33 1 up 5.5 Shawkey Lowdermilk D 0 ----
89 89 Wednesday, Jul 30 (2) boxscore CHW @ NYY W 5 3 10 56-33 1 up 5.5 Faber Quinn D 25,000 +
90 90 Thursday, Jul 31 boxscore CHW @ NYY W 7 2 57-33 1 up 6.5 Kerr Shore D 5,000 ++
91 91 Saturday, Aug 2 (1) boxscore CHW @ BOS L 3 5 57-34 1 up 6.5 Russell Cicotte D 0 -
92 92 Saturday, Aug 2 (2) boxscore CHW @ BOS W 10 1 58-34 1 up 6.5 Williams Pennock D 31,500 +
93 93 Monday, Aug 4 boxscore CHW @ BOS L 1 2 58-35 1 up 5.5 Jones Faber D -
94 94 Thursday, Aug 7 (1) boxscore CHW @ PHA W 2 1 59-35 1 up 5.0 Cicotte Perry D +
95 95 Thursday, Aug 7 (2) boxscore CHW @ PHA L 2 3 59-36 1 up 5.0 Naylor Williams D -
96 96 Friday, Aug 8 (1) boxscore CHW @ PHA L 4 5 13 59-37 1 up 5.0 Kinney Kerr D --
97 97 Friday, Aug 8 (2) boxscore CHW @ PHA W 6 2 60-37 1 up 5.0 Lowdermilk Rogers D +
98 98 Saturday, Aug 9 boxscore CHW @ WSH L 6 11 60-38 1 up 4.0 Johnson Mayer D -
99 99 Sunday, Aug 10 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 1 0 12 61-38 1 up 4.5 Cicotte Shaw D +
100 100 Monday, Aug 11 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 7 4 62-38 1 up 4.5 Williams Harper D ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Aug 14 boxscore CHW BOS L 6 15 62-39 1 up 4.0 Russell Cicotte D -
102 102 Friday, Aug 15 boxscore CHW BOS W 6 5 11 63-39 1 up 4.0 Cicotte Jones D +
103 103 Saturday, Aug 16 boxscore CHW BOS W 7 6 64-39 1 up 4.0 Faber Jones D ++
104 104 Sunday, Aug 17 boxscore CHW PHA W 3 1 6 65-39 1 up 5.0 Lowdermilk Naylor 0:55 D 20,000 +++
105 105 Monday, Aug 18 boxscore CHW PHA W 11 6 66-39 1 up 5.0 Kerr Noyes 1:43 D ++++
106 106 Tuesday, Aug 19 boxscore CHW PHA W 8 7 67-39 1 up 5.0 Mayer Kinney Williams 2:02 D +++++
107 107 Wednesday, Aug 20 boxscore CHW WSH W 10 3 68-39 1 up 5.0 Cicotte Erickson 2:00 D ++++++
108 108 Thursday, Aug 21 boxscore CHW WSH W 11 4 69-39 1 up 5.0 Williams Zachary 1:55 D +++++++
109 109 Friday, Aug 22 boxscore CHW WSH W 3 0 70-39 1 up 5.0 James Shaw 1:45 D ++++++++
110 110 Saturday, Aug 23 boxscore CHW NYY W 10 2 71-39 1 up 5.0 Cicotte Shawkey D 20,000 +++++++++
111 111 Sunday, Aug 24 boxscore CHW NYY W 4 1 72-39 1 up 6.0 Williams Quinn 1:35 D 22,000 ++++++++++
112 112 Monday, Aug 25 boxscore CHW NYY L 5 6 72-40 1 up 6.0 Thormahlen James D -
113 113 Tuesday, Aug 26 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 4 3 10 73-40 1 up 7.0 Cicotte Sothoron D +
114 114 Wednesday, Aug 27 boxscore CHW @ SLB W 6 5 74-40 1 up 7.0 Williams Gallia D ++
115 115 Friday, Aug 29 boxscore CHW @ CLE W 3 2 75-40 1 up 8.0 Cicotte Caldwell D +++
116 116 Saturday, Aug 30 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 0 4 75-41 1 up 7.0 Myers James D -
117 117 Sunday, Aug 31 boxscore CHW @ CLE L 1 6 75-42 1 up 6.0 Coveleski Williams D --
118 118 Monday, Sep 1 (1) boxscore CHW @ DET W 6 0 76-42 1 up 7.0 Williams Dauss D 24 +
119 119 Monday, Sep 1 (2) boxscore CHW @ DET W 5 1 77-42 1 up 7.0 Cicotte Boland D 21 ++
120 120 Tuesday, Sep 2 boxscore CHW @ DET L 3 4 16 77-43 1 up 6.0 Ehmke Kerr D -
121 121 Friday, Sep 5 boxscore CHW CLE W 9 1 78-43 1 up 7.0 Cicotte Myers D 25,000 +
122 122 Saturday, Sep 6 boxscore CHW CLE L 2 11 78-44 1 up 6.5 Bagby Williams 2:05 D -
123 123 Sunday, Sep 7 boxscore CHW CLE W 8 3 79-44 1 up 7.5 Kerr Coveleski D 34,000 +
124 124 Tuesday, Sep 9 boxscore CHW @ WSH W 2 0 80-44 1 up 8.0 James Johnson D ++
125 125 Thursday, Sep 11 (1) boxscore CHW @ WSH L 3 4 80-45 1 up 7.5 Shaw Kerr D -
126 126 Thursday, Sep 11 (2) boxscore CHW @ WSH W 5 0 81-45 1 up 7.5 Williams Zachary D +
127 127 Friday, Sep 12 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 7 0 82-45 1 up 7.5 Wilkinson York D ++
128 128 Saturday, Sep 13 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 8 2 83-45 1 up 7.5 Lowdermilk Zinn D +++
129 129 Monday, Sep 15 boxscore CHW @ PHA W 11 10 84-45 1 up 8.0 Faber York D ++++
130 130 Wednesday, Sep 17 (1) boxscore CHW @ NYY W 2 0 85-45 1 up 7.5 Kerr Quinn D 0 +++++
131 131 Wednesday, Sep 17 (2) boxscore CHW @ NYY W 11 2 86-45 1 up 7.5 James Thormahlen D 15,000 ++++++
132 132 Thursday, Sep 18 boxscore CHW @ NYY L 4 6 86-46 1 up 6.5 Mays Mayer D 5,000 -
133 133 Friday, Sep 19 boxscore CHW @ BOS W 3 2 87-46 1 up 6.5 Cicotte Hoyt D +
134 134 Saturday, Sep 20 (1) boxscore CHW @ BOS L 3 4 87-47 1 up 4.5 Russell Williams D -
135 135 Saturday, Sep 20 (2) boxscore CHW @ BOS L 4 5 87-48 1 up 4.5 Pennock Kerr Russell D --
136 136 Wednesday, Sep 24 boxscore CHW SLB W 6 5 88-48 1 up 5.0 Kerr Sothoron D +
137 137 Thursday, Sep 25 boxscore CHW SLB L 1 3 88-49 1 up 5.0 Vangilder Williams D -
138 138 Friday, Sep 26 boxscore CHW DET L 7 10 88-50 1 up 4.5 Dauss Sullivan D --
139 139 Saturday, Sep 27 boxscore CHW DET L 5 7 10 88-51 1 up 3.5 Love Mayer D ---
140 140 Sunday, Sep 28 boxscore CHW DET L 9 10 88-52 1 up 3.5 Love Wilkinson D ----
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
WS Game 1 Wednesday, Oct 1 boxscore CHW @ CIN L 1 9 0-1 Ruether Cicotte 1:42 D 30,511
WS Game 2 Thursday, Oct 2 boxscore CHW @ CIN L 2 4 0-2 Sallee Williams 1:42 D 29,698
WS Game 3 Friday, Oct 3 boxscore CHW CIN W 3 0 1-2 Kerr Fisher 1:30 D 29,126
WS Game 4 Saturday, Oct 4 boxscore CHW CIN L 0 2 1-3 Ring Cicotte 1:37 D 34,363
WS Game 5 Monday, Oct 6 boxscore CHW CIN L 0 5 1-4 Eller Williams 1:45 D 34,379
WS Game 6 Tuesday, Oct 7 boxscore CHW @ CIN W 5 4 10 2-4 Kerr Ring 2:06 D 32,006
WS Game 7 Wednesday, Oct 8 boxscore CHW @ CIN W 4 1 3-4 Cicotte Sallee 1:47 D 13,923
WS Game 8 Thursday, Oct 9 boxscore CHW CIN L 5 10 3-5 Eller Williams 2:27 D 32,930
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1918 / 1920 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits