Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1981 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1981 Chicago Cubs

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1980 / 1982

First Half: 15-37, Finished 6th
Second Half: 23-28, Finished 5th
Overall: 38-65, Finished 6th in NL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Joey Amalfitano (38-65)
GM: Herman Franks (Interim GM May-Oct. 1981), Bob Kennedy (Fired May 1981), Scouting Dir: Vedie Himsl
Scored 370 runs, Allowed 483 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 39-64

Ballparks: Wrigley Field · Attendance: 565,637 (9th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 104, Pitching - 106 · one-year: Batting - 103, Pitching - 106

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1980 / 1982 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 38-65, Final Rank:6, GB: 21.5
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind21.5last on Sunday, Oct 4, for days on which they played
Most Games over .500never
Most Games under .50027last on Sunday, Oct 4
Longest Winning Streak4Sunday, Aug 23 to Wednesday, Aug 26 and Monday, Sep 7 to Friday, Sep 11
Longest Losing Streak12Sunday, Apr 12 to Sunday, Apr 26
Most Runs Allowed16Tuesday, Jun 2
Most Runs Scored14Sunday, Sep 27
Longest Game (innings)15Saturday, Aug 15
Times Shutout by Opponent17 
Times Opponent Shutout2 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 38 65 370 483 .369
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 27 30 239 254 .474
Road 11 35 131 229 .239
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 2 13 36 73 .133
May 8 20 104 141 .286
June 5 4 39 45 .556
August 11 10 76 86 .524
September 11 16 97 121 .407
October 1 2 18 17 .333
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 15 37 179 259 .288
Second Half 23 28 191 224 .451
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 33 57 306 413 .367
ExtraInning 5 8 64 70 .385
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 16 20 122 126 .444
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 8 21 91 171 .276
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 2 3 28 25 .400
CIN 1 5 17 32 .167
HOU 1 6 11 33 .143
LAD 6 4 28 38 .600
MON 4 7 33 57 .364
NYM 5 8 49 50 .385
PHI 2 10 53 65 .167
PIT 4 10 53 85 .286
SDP 3 3 29 30 .500
SFG 5 5 35 37 .500
STL 5 4 34 31 .556

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 9 boxscore CHC NYM L 0 2 0-1 4 1.0 Zachry Reuschel Allen 2:22 D 37,030 -
2 2 Saturday, Apr 11 boxscore CHC NYM W 3 1 1-1 2 0.5 Tidrow Hausman 2:37 D 12,114 +
3 3 Sunday, Apr 12 boxscore CHC NYM L 1 2 1-2 5 1.0 Allen Eastwick 3:00 D 7,475 -
4 4 Wednesday, Apr 15 boxscore CHC @ MON L 4 5 1-3 5 2.0 Bahnsen Tidrow 2:50 D 30,003 --
5 5 Thursday, Apr 16 boxscore CHC @ MON L 0 7 1-4 5 2.5 Sanderson McGlothen 2:55 D 11,602 ---
6 6 Friday, Apr 17 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 2 6 1-5 6 3.5 Christenson Kravec 2:47 N 21,948 ----
7 7 Saturday, Apr 18 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 3 4 10 1-6 6 4.5 Carlton Smith 2:50 N 27,780 -----
8 8 Sunday, Apr 19 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 3 7 1-7 6 5.5 Espinosa Reuschel 1:57 D 30,204 ------
9 9 Monday, Apr 20 boxscore CHC @ STL L 1 6 1-8 6 5.5 Forsch McGlothen Sutter 2:30 D 10,454 -------
10 10 Tuesday, Apr 21 boxscore CHC @ STL L 0 8 1-9 6 6.5 Rincon Kravec 2:22 D 11,559 --------
11 11 Wednesday, Apr 22 boxscore CHC @ STL L 0 3 1-10 6 7.5 Sorensen Krukow 2:17 D 10,588 ---------
12 12 Friday, Apr 24 boxscore CHC PHI L 4 6 1-11 6 8.0 Carlton Reuschel Reed 2:23 D 6,274 ----------
13 13 Saturday, Apr 25 boxscore CHC PHI L 5 7 1-12 6 9.0 Lyle Tidrow 2:24 D 10,990 -----------
14 14 Sunday, Apr 26 boxscore CHC PHI L 2 6 1-13 6 10.5 Bystrom Caudill 2:40 D 10,093 ------------
15 15 Wednesday, Apr 29 (1) boxscore CHC STL W 6 1 2-13 6 9.5 Krukow Rincon 2:17 D 0 +
16 16 Wednesday, Apr 29 (2) boxscore CHC STL T 2 2 11 2-13 6 9.5 2:54 D 4,067 +
17 17 Friday, May 1 boxscore CHC ATL L 1 2 2-14 6 10.5 Perry Caudill 2:38 D 2,656 -
18 18 Saturday, May 2 boxscore CHC ATL W 5 2 3-14 6 9.5 Martz Niekro Tidrow 2:30 D 16,936 +
19 19 Sunday, May 3 boxscore CHC ATL L 7 9 3-15 6 10.5 Hanna Kravec Camp 2:59 D 10,852 -
20 20 Monday, May 4 boxscore CHC HOU L 4 5 3-16 6 10.5 Andujar Krukow Sambito 3:02 D 2,941 --
21 21 Tuesday, May 5 boxscore CHC HOU L 3 4 3-17 6 11.5 Smith Smith 2:41 D 2,092 ---
22 22 Wednesday, May 6 boxscore CHC HOU W 2 1 11 4-17 6 10.5 Smith LaCorte 3:27 D 2,572 +
23 23 Thursday, May 7 boxscore CHC HOU L 0 6 4-18 6 11.5 Knepper Martz 2:40 D 3,112 -
24 24 Friday, May 8 boxscore CHC @ ATL L 3 4 11 4-19 6 11.5 Mahler Tidrow 3:11 N 19,433 --
25 25 Saturday, May 9 boxscore CHC @ ATL W 7 3 5-19 6 11.5 Reuschel Walk 2:33 N 14,365 +
26 26 Sunday, May 10 boxscore CHC @ ATL T 5 5 14 5-19 6 11.0 3:46 D 9,817 +
27 27 Tuesday, May 12 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 1 2 5-20 6 12.0 Soto Tidrow 2:41 N 12,016 -
28 28 Wednesday, May 13 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 3 8 5-21 6 12.0 Seaver Krukow 2:33 N 12,528 --
29 29 Thursday, May 14 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 1 6 5-22 6 13.0 Berenyi Reuschel 2:26 N 11,098 ---
30 30 Friday, May 15 boxscore CHC @ HOU L 0 5 5-23 6 13.0 Niekro Caudill 2:16 N 23,718 ----
31 31 Saturday, May 16 boxscore CHC @ HOU L 1 6 5-24 6 14.0 Ryan Martz Sambito 2:48 N 43,726 -----
32 32 Sunday, May 17 boxscore CHC @ HOU L 1 6 5-25 6 15.0 Knepper Krukow 2:34 D 34,068 ------
33 33 Tuesday, May 19 boxscore CHC CIN L 0 5 5-26 6 16.0 Seaver Reuschel Moskau 2:22 D 5,896 -------
34 34 Wednesday, May 20 boxscore CHC CIN L 7 10 5-27 6 16.0 Price Smith Hume 3:18 D 5,914 --------
35 35 Thursday, May 21 boxscore CHC CIN W 5 1 6-27 6 16.0 Martz Pastore 2:08 D 7,132 +
36 36 Friday, May 22 boxscore CHC MON L 3 6 6-28 6 16.0 Lea Krukow 2:26 D 6,071 -
37 37 Saturday, May 23 boxscore CHC MON W 6 4 7-28 6 16.0 Reuschel Burris Tidrow 2:28 D 15,981 +
38 38 Sunday, May 24 boxscore CHC MON W 6 2 8-28 6 15.0 Caudill Sanderson Tidrow 2:37 D 10,821 ++
39 39 Monday, May 25 boxscore CHC PIT W 10 9 11 9-28 6 14.0 Tidrow Cruz 4:06 D 18,506 +++
40 40 Tuesday, May 26 boxscore CHC PIT L 4 6 9-29 6 14.0 Tekulve Krukow Romo 2:41 D 6,988 -
41 41 Wednesday, May 27 boxscore CHC PIT L 2 3 9-30 6 14.0 Perez Reuschel 2:41 D 6,970 --
42 42 Thursday, May 28 boxscore CHC PIT L 4 9 9-31 6 14.5 Solomon Caudill 3:06 D 7,886 ---
43 43 Friday, May 29 boxscore CHC @ NYM L 1 6 9-32 6 15.5 Scott Martz 2:58 N 18,035 ----
44 44 Saturday, May 30 boxscore CHC @ NYM W 10 3 10-32 6 14.5 Krukow Harris 3:07 D 11,507 +
45 45 Sunday, May 31 boxscore CHC @ NYM L 2 3 10-33 6 15.5 Jones Reuschel Falcone 1:50 D 17,524 -
46 46 Tuesday, Jun 2 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 3 16 10-34 6 17.0 Solomon Caudill 2:53 N 6,437 --
47 47 Wednesday, Jun 3 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 2 3 10-35 6 17.0 Bibby Martz Romo 2:24 N 5,003 ---
48 48 Thursday, Jun 4 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 4 5 10 10-36 6 17.5 Tekulve McGlothen 2:46 N 6,740 ----
49 49 Friday, Jun 5 boxscore CHC LAD W 4 3 11-36 6 17.0 Reuschel Reuss Tidrow 2:23 D 7,815 +
50 50 Saturday, Jun 6 boxscore CHC LAD W 11 5 12-36 6 17.0 McGlothen Valenzuela 2:58 D 30,556 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Sunday, Jun 7 boxscore CHC LAD L 0 7 12-37 6 17.5 Welch Martz 2:35 D 20,024 -
52 52 Tuesday, Jun 9 boxscore CHC SFG W 2 1 13-37 6 18.0 Krukow Ripley Tidrow 2:01 D 4,735 +
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 10 boxscore CHC SFG W 7 4 14-37 6 18.0 Reuschel Alexander Tidrow 2:38 D 6,299 ++
54 54 Thursday, Jun 11 boxscore CHC SFG W 6 1 15-37 6 17.5 Martz Griffin 2:32 D 5,017 +++
55 55 Monday, Aug 10 boxscore CHC NYM L 5 7 13 15-38 6 17.5 Miller McGlothen Harris 3:30 D 7,551 -
56 56 Tuesday, Aug 11 boxscore CHC NYM L 2 4 15-39 6 18.5 Searage Smith Allen 3:02 D 10,250 --
57 57 Wednesday, Aug 12 boxscore CHC NYM L 4 7 10 15-40 6 18.5 Allen Tidrow 2:58 D 8,372 ---
58 58 Thursday, Aug 13 boxscore CHC NYM W 6 1 16-40 6 18.0 Bird Harris Griffin 2:27 D 7,412 +
59 59 Saturday, Aug 15 boxscore CHC PIT W 4 3 15 17-40 6 18.0 Martz Scurry 4:57 D 15,388 ++
60 60 Sunday, Aug 16 (1) boxscore CHC PIT L 3 4 11 17-41 6 18.0 Tekulve Smith Jackson 3:19 D 0 -
61 61 Sunday, Aug 16 (2) boxscore CHC PIT W 6 4 18-41 6 18.0 Howell Perez Martz 2:29 D 18,991 +
62 62 Monday, Aug 17 boxscore CHC LAD W 3 1 19-41 6 18.0 Bird Welch 2:23 D 10,153 ++
63 63 Tuesday, Aug 18 boxscore CHC LAD L 0 5 19-42 6 18.0 Hooton Griffin 2:33 D 15,973 -
64 64 Wednesday, Aug 19 boxscore CHC LAD W 4 3 20-42 6 18.0 Krukow Goltz Martz 2:27 D 26,860 +
65 65 Friday, Aug 21 boxscore CHC SFG L 3 4 20-43 6 18.0 Breining Tidrow Minton 2:42 D 12,826 -
66 66 Saturday, Aug 22 boxscore CHC SFG L 1 2 20-44 6 18.0 Blue Bird Minton 2:17 D 16,486 --
67 67 Sunday, Aug 23 boxscore CHC SFG W 6 5 21-44 6 18.0 Capilla Lavelle 3:16 D 14,737 +
68 68 Monday, Aug 24 boxscore CHC SDP W 9 8 11 22-44 6 18.0 Smith Lucas 3:19 D 7,068 ++
69 69 Tuesday, Aug 25 boxscore CHC SDP W 4 3 23-44 6 17.0 Kravec Lollar Hernandez 2:42 D 5,878 +++
70 70 Wednesday, Aug 26 boxscore CHC SDP W 9 7 24-44 6 17.0 Smith Curtis 3:00 D 9,944 ++++
71 71 Thursday, Aug 27 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 0 6 24-45 6 18.0 Valenzuela Martz 2:23 N 48,191 -
72 72 Friday, Aug 28 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 1 6 24-46 6 18.5 Welch Krukow Stewart 2:37 N 42,160 --
73 73 Saturday, Aug 29 boxscore CHC @ LAD W 3 1 25-46 6 19.0 Griffin Hooton Smith 2:35 N 47,424 +
74 74 Sunday, Aug 30 boxscore CHC @ LAD W 2 1 26-46 6 18.0 Bird Goltz Tidrow 2:19 D 34,284 ++
75 75 Monday, Aug 31 boxscore CHC @ SDP L 1 4 26-47 6 18.5 Mura Kravec 2:32 N 3,997 -
76 76 Tuesday, Sep 1 boxscore CHC @ SDP L 2 3 26-48 6 18.5 Wise Krukow Urrea 2:33 N 5,227 --
77 77 Wednesday, Sep 2 boxscore CHC @ SDP L 4 5 10 26-49 6 19.5 Lucas Tidrow 3:18 N 5,099 ---
78 78 Thursday, Sep 3 boxscore CHC @ SFG L 0 12 26-50 6 20.5 Alexander Bird 2:23 D 5,573 ----
79 79 Friday, Sep 4 boxscore CHC @ SFG L 2 3 10 26-51 6 21.5 Holland Tidrow 3:08 N 9,707 -----
80 80 Saturday, Sep 5 boxscore CHC @ SFG W 8 2 27-51 6 20.5 Krukow Hargesheimer 2:51 D 9,548 +
81 81 Sunday, Sep 6 boxscore CHC @ SFG L 0 3 27-52 6 20.5 Blue Griffin Minton 2:19 D 12,036 -
82 82 Monday, Sep 7 boxscore CHC @ STL W 10 0 28-52 6 19.5 Bird Sorensen 2:10 D 32,393 +
83 83 Tuesday, Sep 8 boxscore CHC @ STL W 4 3 12 29-52 6 18.5 Geisel Kaat Tidrow 3:24 N 11,341 ++
84 84 Wednesday, Sep 9 boxscore CHC @ STL W 7 3 30-52 6 17.5 Krukow Martin Martz 2:36 N 13,109 +++
85 85 Friday, Sep 11 boxscore CHC MON W 6 5 31-52 6 17.5 Griffin Burris Hernandez 2:50 D 7,204 ++++
86 86 Saturday, Sep 12 boxscore CHC MON L 0 2 31-53 6 18.5 Rogers Bird Reardon 2:36 D 18,124 -
87 87 Sunday, Sep 13 boxscore CHC MON L 6 10 31-54 6 19.5 Sanderson Krukow 2:54 D 14,589 --
88 88 Tuesday, Sep 15 boxscore CHC PIT L 2 8 31-55 6 20.0 Tiant Griffin 2:48 D 5,254 ---
89 89 Friday, Sep 18 boxscore CHC @ MON L 0 11 31-56 6 20.5 Sanderson Bird 2:47 N 23,606 ----
90 90 Saturday, Sep 19 boxscore CHC @ MON W 2 1 32-56 6 19.5 Krukow Lee Martz 2:05 D 30,099 +
91 91 Sunday, Sep 20 boxscore CHC @ MON L 0 4 32-57 6 19.5 Gullickson Griffin 2:22 D 40,851 -
92 92 Monday, Sep 21 boxscore CHC STL L 0 2 32-58 6 20.5 Andujar Kravec Sutter 2:33 D 3,635 --
93 93 Tuesday, Sep 22 boxscore CHC STL W 4 3 33-58 6 19.5 Martz Littell 2:27 D 4,531 +
94 94 Wednesday, Sep 23 boxscore CHC NYM W 2 1 34-58 6 18.5 Krukow Lynch Tidrow 2:06 D 2,754 ++
95 95 Thursday, Sep 24 boxscore CHC NYM W 10 9 35-58 6 17.5 Tidrow Orosco Eastwick 3:03 D 2,555 +++
96 96 Friday, Sep 25 boxscore CHC PHI L 2 9 35-59 6 17.5 Larson Kravec 2:30 D 4,482 -
97 97 Sunday, Sep 27 (1) boxscore CHC PHI L 2 5 35-60 6 18.5 Carlton Bird 2:00 D 0 --
98 98 Sunday, Sep 27 (2) boxscore CHC PHI W 14 0 36-60 6 18.5 Krukow Ruthven 2:31 D 18,783 +
99 99 Monday, Sep 28 (1) boxscore CHC @ PIT L 0 4 36-61 6 19.0 Rhoden Griffin 2:34 N 0 -
100 100 Monday, Sep 28 (2) boxscore CHC @ PIT W 3 1 37-61 6 19.0 Geisel Long Martz 2:49 N 3,698 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Tuesday, Sep 29 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 6 10 37-62 6 20.0 Romo Tidrow 3:15 N 3,439 -
102 102 Wednesday, Sep 30 boxscore CHC @ NYM L 1 2 37-63 6 20.0 Allen Martz 2:22 N 4,473 --
103 103 Thursday, Oct 1 boxscore CHC @ NYM T 2 2 37-63 6 20.5 2:25 N 3,553 --
104 104 Friday, Oct 2 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 7 9 37-64 6 20.5 Reed Tidrow 3:04 N 20,453 ---
105 105 Saturday, Oct 3 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 8 4 38-64 6 20.5 Howell Lyle Martz 3:04 N 35,169 +
106 106 Sunday, Oct 4 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 1 2 38-65 6 21.5 Ruthven Smith McGraw 2:05 D 21,912 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1980 / 1982 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits