Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1973 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1973 Chicago Cubs

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1972 / 1974

77-84, Finished 5th in NL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Whitey Lockman (77-84)
GM: John Holland, Farm Dir: Lou Klein, Scouting Dir: Vedie Himsl
Scored 614 runs, Allowed 655 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 76-85

Ballparks: Wrigley Field · Attendance: 1,351,705 (7th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 107, Pitching - 107 · one-year: Batting - 108, Pitching - 108

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1972 / 1974 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 77-84, Final Rank:5, GB: 5.0
Days in First75last on Sunday, Jul 22, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 92last on Jul 25, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead8.5last on Friday, Jun 29, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind6last on Thursday, Sep 6, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50016last on Friday, Jun 29
Most Games under .5009last on Tuesday, Sep 18
Longest Winning Streak7Tuesday, May 8 to Tuesday, May 15
Longest Losing Streak11Saturday, Aug 4 to Thursday, Aug 16
Most Runs Allowed15Wednesday, Aug 15
Most Runs Scored16Thursday, May 31
Longest Game (innings)18Wednesday, Jun 27
Times Shutout by Opponent13 
Times Opponent Shutout13 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 77 84 614 655 .478
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 41 39 327 356 .513
Road 36 45 287 299 .444
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 12 8 85 75 .600
May 18 11 146 101 .621
June 17 13 116 116 .567
July 8 19 99 136 .296
August 9 18 77 123 .333
September 13 14 87 98 .481
October 0 1 4 6 .000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 52 46 416 389 .531
Second Half 25 38 198 266 .397
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 69 78 563 605 .469
ExtraInning 8 6 51 50 .571
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 28 24 178 174 .538
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 16 17 169 176 .485
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
ATL 5 7 53 77 .417
CIN 8 4 58 45 .667
HOU 6 6 53 47 .500
LAD 5 7 35 53 .417
MON 9 9 61 63 .500
NYM 10 7 56 49 .588
PHI 10 8 72 70 .556
PIT 6 12 63 91 .333
SDP 7 5 65 41 .583
SFG 2 10 41 61 .167
STL 9 9 57 58 .500

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Friday, Apr 6 boxscore CHC MON W 3 2 1-0 1 Tied Locker Torrez 2:08 D 40,273 +
2 2 Saturday, Apr 7 boxscore CHC MON W 3 2 10 2-0 1 Tied Aker Marshall 2:38 D 22,562 ++
3 3 Sunday, Apr 8 boxscore CHC MON L 2 5 2-1 3 1.0 McAnally Hooton 2:24 D 12,963 -
4 4 Thursday, Apr 12 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 0 6 2-2 3 2.0 Moose Jenkins 2:04 N 3,764 --
5 5 Friday, Apr 13 boxscore CHC @ STL L 3 6 2-3 3 2.5 Wise Pappas Segui 2:11 N 10,083 ---
6 6 Saturday, Apr 14 boxscore CHC @ STL W 4 1 3-3 3 1.5 Reuschel Spinks Aker 2:30 D 14,305 +
7 7 Sunday, Apr 15 boxscore CHC @ STL W 8 6 4-3 3 1.5 Bonham Andrews Locker 2:31 D 14,087 ++
8 8 Tuesday, Apr 17 boxscore CHC @ NYM W 1 0 5-3 2 1.5 Jenkins Seaver 1:45 D 14,549 +++
9 9 Wednesday, Apr 18 boxscore CHC @ NYM W 1 0 6-3 2 1.5 Burris Matlack Aker 2:38 D 14,874 ++++
10 10 Thursday, Apr 19 (1) boxscore CHC @ NYM L 1 3 6-4 2 1.5 Koosman Reuschel 2:00 D 0 -
11 11 Thursday, Apr 19 (2) boxscore CHC @ NYM W 7 0 7-4 2 1.5 Hooton McAndrew 1:59 D 38,079 +
12 12 Saturday, Apr 21 boxscore CHC PIT W 10 9 8-4 2 0.5 Locker Briles 2:56 D 16,637 ++
13 13 Sunday, Apr 22 (1) boxscore CHC PIT L 4 10 8-5 2 0.5 Ellis Pappas Rooker 2:21 D 0 -
14 14 Sunday, Apr 22 (2) boxscore CHC PIT W 11 3 9-5 2 0.5 Gura Blass Bonham 2:23 D 28,271 +
15 15 Tuesday, Apr 24 boxscore CHC SFG L 2 4 10 9-6 2 0.5 Moffitt Locker 2:58 D 14,832 -
16 16 Wednesday, Apr 25 boxscore CHC SFG L 0 5 9-7 2 1.0 Marichal Jenkins 2:10 D 13,299 --
17 17 Thursday, Apr 26 boxscore CHC SFG L 3 7 9-8 3 1.5 Bryant Hooton 2:26 D 7,482 ---
18 18 Friday, Apr 27 boxscore CHC SDP W 10 2 10-8 2 1.0 Pappas Kirby Locker 2:48 D 6,532 +
19 19 Saturday, Apr 28 boxscore CHC SDP W 2 0 11-8 1 Tied Reuschel Norman Aker 2:08 D 12,294 ++
20 20 Sunday, Apr 29 boxscore CHC SDP W 10 4 12-8 1 Tied Jenkins Caldwell Locker 2:42 D 12,866 +++
21 21 Tuesday, May 1 boxscore CHC @ LAD W 9 5 13-8 1 up 0.5 Hooton John LaRoche 2:42 N 12,413 ++++
22 22 Wednesday, May 2 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 1 4 13-9 1 up 0.5 Sutton Pappas 2:01 N 13,120 -
23 23 Thursday, May 3 boxscore CHC @ LAD W 4 1 14-9 1 up 1.5 LaRoche Messersmith Aker 2:16 N 12,853 +
24 24 Friday, May 4 boxscore CHC @ SFG L 4 5 14-10 1 up 0.5 Sosa Jenkins Moffitt 2:25 N 7,181 -
25 25 Saturday, May 5 boxscore CHC @ SFG W 7 4 15-10 1 up 1.5 Hooton Bryant Aker 2:58 D 9,725 +
26 26 Sunday, May 6 (1) boxscore CHC @ SFG L &V 9 11 12 15-11 1 up 1.0 Carrithers Aker 4:06 D 0 -
27 27 Sunday, May 6 (2) boxscore CHC @ SFG L 3 4 15-12 1 up 1.0 Willoughby Gura McDowell 2:24 D 19,499 --
28 28 Monday, May 7 boxscore CHC @ SDP L 1 4 15-13 1 Tied Greif Reuschel 2:14 N 16,651 ---
29 29 Tuesday, May 8 boxscore CHC @ SDP W 3 2 12 16-13 1 up 1.0 Locker Ross Bonham 3:12 N 4,554 +
30 30 Wednesday, May 9 boxscore CHC @ SDP W 9 2 17-13 1 up 2.0 Hooton Corkins 2:36 N 5,276 ++
31 31 Friday, May 11 boxscore CHC PHI W 4 3 18-13 1 up 2.0 Locker Brett Aker 2:12 D 5,514 +++
32 32 Saturday, May 12 boxscore CHC PHI W 3 1 19-13 1 up 2.0 Reuschel Twitchell 2:24 D 15,095 ++++
33 33 Sunday, May 13 (1) boxscore CHC PHI W 4 2 20-13 1 up 2.5 Jenkins Carlton 2:02 D 0 +++++
34 34 Sunday, May 13 (2) boxscore CHC PHI W 9 3 21-13 1 up 2.5 Bonham Ruthven 2:21 D 19,242 ++++++
35 35 Tuesday, May 15 boxscore CHC NYM W 4 3 22-13 1 up 3.5 Hooton Koosman Aker 2:15 D 11,517 +++++++
36 36 Wednesday, May 16 boxscore CHC STL L 1 3 22-14 1 up 2.5 Foster Reuschel Folkers 2:03 D 8,899 -
37 37 Thursday, May 17 boxscore CHC STL L 4 6 22-15 1 up 2.0 Segui Aker Folkers 2:43 D 8,715 --
38 38 Friday, May 18 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 9 2 23-15 1 up 2.0 Jenkins Ruthven 2:40 N 10,067 +
39 39 Saturday, May 19 (1) boxscore CHC @ PHI L 0 3 23-16 1 up 2.5 Brett Hooton 2:08 N 0 -
40 40 Saturday, May 19 (2) boxscore CHC @ PHI W 7 6 24-16 1 up 2.5 Locker Lonborg Aker 3:06 N 27,569 +
41 41 Tuesday, May 22 boxscore CHC @ MON L 3 4 11 24-17 1 up 2.5 Marshall Aker 3:21 N 10,377 -
42 42 Wednesday, May 23 boxscore CHC @ MON W 4 2 10 25-17 1 up 3.0 Bonham Walker 2:55 N 11,318 +
43 43 Friday, May 25 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 7 2 26-17 1 up 3.5 Reuschel Gullett Locker 2:33 N 17,843 ++
44 44 Saturday, May 26 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 2 0 27-17 1 up 4.5 Pappas Grimsley Aker 2:02 D 24,402 +++
45 45 Sunday, May 27 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 6 0 28-17 1 up 5.5 Jenkins McGlothlin 2:03 D 35,484 ++++
46 46 Monday, May 28 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 5 6 28-18 1 up 5.5 Hall Locker 2:29 D 15,453 -
47 47 Tuesday, May 29 boxscore CHC HOU W 7 1 29-18 1 up 5.5 Reuschel Reuss 2:26 D 7,759 +
48 48 Wednesday, May 30 boxscore CHC HOU L 1 4 29-19 1 up 5.5 Forsch Pappas 2:17 D 7,807 -
49 49 Thursday, May 31 boxscore CHC HOU W 16 8 30-19 1 up 5.5 Jenkins Roberts Locker 2:30 D 10,696 +
50 50 Friday, Jun 1 boxscore CHC ATL L 7 8 30-20 1 up 4.5 Dobson Aker Niekro 2:44 D 10,626 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Saturday, Jun 2 boxscore CHC ATL W 4 3 31-20 1 up 4.5 Reuschel Schueler LaRoche 2:44 D 29,131 +
52 52 Sunday, Jun 3 boxscore CHC ATL W 3 0 32-20 1 up 5.5 Pappas Reed Locker 1:56 D 26,913 ++
53 53 Tuesday, Jun 5 boxscore CHC LAD L 1 10 32-21 1 up 6.0 Osteen Jenkins Richert 2:28 D 12,068 -
54 54 Wednesday, Jun 6 boxscore CHC LAD W 6 4 33-21 1 up 6.5 Hooton Sutton Aker 2:19 D 14,050 +
55 55 Thursday, Jun 7 boxscore CHC LAD L 0 4 33-22 1 up 6.5 Messersmith Reuschel 2:15 D 12,025 -
56 56 Friday, Jun 8 boxscore CHC CIN W 6 5 34-22 1 up 7.0 Aker Hall 2:31 D 17,678 +
57 57 Saturday, Jun 9 boxscore CHC CIN L 4 8 34-23 1 up 6.0 Borbon Gura Grimsley 2:52 D 32,081 -
58 58 Sunday, Jun 10 boxscore CHC CIN W 9 7 35-23 1 up 6.0 Bonham McGlothlin Locker 2:41 D 34,247 +
59 59 Tuesday, Jun 12 boxscore CHC @ HOU W 3 0 36-23 1 up 6.0 Reuschel Forsch 1:46 N 20,132 ++
60 60 Wednesday, Jun 13 boxscore CHC @ HOU L 1 6 36-24 1 up 5.0 Wilson Pappas Ray 2:18 N 13,685 -
61 61 Thursday, Jun 14 boxscore CHC @ HOU W 5 4 37-24 1 up 5.0 Jenkins Reuss 2:10 N 17,359 +
62 62 Friday, Jun 15 boxscore CHC @ ATL L 3 8 37-25 1 up 4.0 Harrison Bonham 2:41 N 10,590 -
63 63 Saturday, Jun 16 boxscore CHC @ ATL W 4 3 38-25 1 up 5.0 Reuschel Niekro Locker 2:27 N 21,613 +
64 64 Sunday, Jun 17 (1) boxscore CHC @ ATL W 9 3 39-25 1 up 5.5 Hooton Morton 2:44 D 0 ++
65 65 Sunday, Jun 17 (2) boxscore CHC @ ATL L 5 8 39-26 1 up 5.5 Schueler Pizarro House 2:30 N 23,888 -
66 66 Monday, Jun 18 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 1 3 39-27 1 up 5.5 Ellis Jenkins 2:00 N 11,470 --
67 67 Tuesday, Jun 19 (1) boxscore CHC @ PIT W 6 3 40-27 1 up 5.0 Gura Johnson Aker 2:20 N 0 +
68 68 Tuesday, Jun 19 (2) boxscore CHC @ PIT L 3 4 40-28 1 up 5.0 Giusti Locker 2:33 N 28,256 -
69 69 Wednesday, Jun 20 boxscore CHC @ PIT W 5 3 41-28 1 up 5.0 Reuschel Briles Aker 2:34 N 17,895 +
70 70 Friday, Jun 22 boxscore CHC @ STL L 0 3 41-29 1 up 4.5 Cleveland Hooton 1:44 N 34,973 -
71 71 Saturday, Jun 23 boxscore CHC @ STL L 2 3 11 41-30 1 up 4.5 Segui Aker 2:43 N 46,151 --
72 72 Sunday, Jun 24 boxscore CHC @ STL W 2 0 42-30 1 up 5.5 Pappas Murphy 2:12 D 41,517 +
73 73 Monday, Jun 25 boxscore CHC @ NYM W 3 2 43-30 1 up 7.0 LaRoche Matlack Bonham 2:29 N 31,984 ++
74 74 Tuesday, Jun 26 boxscore CHC @ NYM W 5 1 44-30 1 up 7.0 Hooton Koosman 2:19 D 18,861 +++
75 75 Wednesday, Jun 27 (1) boxscore CHC MON W 6 1 45-30 1 up 7.0 Jenkins Moore Bonham 2:22 D 0 ++++
76 76 Wednesday, Jun 27 (2) boxscore CHC MON L 4 5 18 45-31 1 up 7.0 Stoneman Hooton 4:50 D 32,238 -
77 77 Thursday, Jun 28 boxscore CHC MON W 4 2 46-31 1 up 8.0 Pappas Renko LaRoche 2:12 D 17,617 +
78 78 Friday, Jun 29 boxscore CHC NYM W 4 3 10 47-31 1 up 8.5 LaRoche Capra 3:08 D 22,293 ++
79 79 Saturday, Jun 30 boxscore CHC NYM L 1 2 47-32 1 up 7.5 Matlack Hooton 2:04 D 29,512 -
80 80 Sunday, Jul 1 (1) boxscore CHC NYM L 5 6 47-33 1 up 8.0 Koosman Jenkins McGraw 2:25 D 0 --
81 81 Sunday, Jul 1 (2) boxscore CHC NYM W 6 5 48-33 1 up 8.0 Aker McGraw 2:29 D 42,497 +
82 82 Tuesday, Jul 3 boxscore CHC PHI L 2 8 48-34 1 up 6.0 Lonborg Pappas 2:23 D 18,849 -
83 83 Wednesday, Jul 4 boxscore CHC PHI W 3 2 10 49-34 1 up 6.0 Aker Wilson 2:45 D 22,141 +
84 84 Thursday, Jul 5 boxscore CHC PHI L 4 7 49-35 1 up 6.0 Carlton Reuschel 2:10 D 24,849 -
85 85 Friday, Jul 6 boxscore CHC @ SDP W 8 5 50-35 1 up 6.0 Jenkins Kirby 2:27 N 7,768 +
86 86 Saturday, Jul 7 boxscore CHC @ SDP L 3 4 50-36 1 up 5.0 Greif Pappas Caldwell 2:24 N 17,695 -
87 87 Sunday, Jul 8 boxscore CHC @ SDP L 2 4 50-37 1 up 5.0 Jones Hooton 2:15 D 11,786 --
88 88 Tuesday, Jul 10 boxscore CHC @ SFG W 4 2 51-37 1 up 5.0 Reuschel Bryant 2:23 N 8,814 +
89 89 Wednesday, Jul 11 boxscore CHC @ SFG L 3 7 51-38 1 up 5.0 Barr LaRoche McMahon 2:30 D 7,729 -
90 90 Friday, Jul 13 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 0 5 51-39 1 up 4.5 John Jenkins 2:03 N 49,058 --
91 91 Saturday, Jul 14 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 3 7 51-40 1 up 3.5 Downing Hooton Brewer 2:23 N 53,870 ---
92 92 Sunday, Jul 15 boxscore CHC @ LAD L 3 9 51-41 1 up 2.5 Osteen Reuschel 2:18 D 42,975 ----
93 93 Tuesday, Jul 17 boxscore CHC SDP L 0 1 51-42 1 up 1.0 Arlin Pappas 2:06 D 22,194 -----
94 94 Wednesday, Jul 18 boxscore CHC SDP L 5 8 51-43 1 up 1.0 Kirby Jenkins Caldwell 2:29 D 18,354 ------
95 95 Thursday, Jul 19 boxscore CHC SDP W 12 5 52-43 1 up 2.0 Hooton Corkins Bonham 2:58 D 15,421 +
96 96 Friday, Jul 20 boxscore CHC SFG L 4 5 52-44 1 up 2.0 Marichal Reuschel Sosa 3:10 D 21,946 -
97 97 Saturday, Jul 21 boxscore CHC SFG L 1 3 52-45 1 up 1.0 Barr Gura 2:25 D 22,553 --
98 98 Sunday, Jul 22 boxscore CHC SFG L 1 4 13 52-46 1 Tied Sosa Locker McMahon 3:03 D 29,278 ---
99 99 Thursday, Jul 26 boxscore CHC PIT L 2 3 52-47 2 1.5 Ellis Reuschel Giusti 2:16 D 35,770 ----
100 100 Friday, Jul 27 boxscore CHC PIT L 6 10 52-48 2 1.5 Briles Gura Giusti 2:55 D 22,045 -----
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Jul 28 boxscore CHC STL L 2 7 52-49 2 2.5 Cleveland Jenkins Hrabosky 2:32 D 28,031 ------
102 102 Sunday, Jul 29 (1) boxscore CHC STL L 3 5 52-50 2 2.5 Pena Pappas Segui 2:53 D 0 -------
103 103 Sunday, Jul 29 (2) boxscore CHC STL W 5 4 53-50 2 2.5 LaRoche Folkers Locker 2:25 D 38,839 +
104 104 Monday, Jul 30 boxscore CHC STL W 3 1 54-50 2 1.5 Reuschel Gibson LaRoche 1:55 D 29,404 ++
105 105 Tuesday, Jul 31 (1) boxscore CHC @ PHI W 4 3 55-50 2 2.0 Jenkins Lonborg Locker 2:09 N 0 +++
106 106 Tuesday, Jul 31 (2) boxscore CHC @ PHI L 5 6 55-51 2 2.0 Brett Pappas 2:04 N 37,003 -
107 107 Wednesday, Aug 1 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 0 2 55-52 2 3.5 Twitchell Hooton 2:09 N 23,381 --
108 108 Thursday, Aug 2 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 1 4 55-53 2 3.5 Ruthven Bonham 2:31 N 16,855 ---
109 109 Friday, Aug 3 boxscore CHC @ MON W 3 0 56-53 2 2.5 Reuschel Renko 2:16 N 18,223 +
110 110 Saturday, Aug 4 boxscore CHC @ MON L 1 6 56-54 2 3.5 Rogers Jenkins 2:24 N 25,037 -
111 111 Sunday, Aug 5 boxscore CHC @ MON L 2 3 56-55 2 5.0 Torrez Hooton Marshall 2:12 D 31,019 --
112 112 Monday, Aug 6 boxscore CHC @ MON L 3 7 56-56 2 5.0 Moore Bonham Marshall 2:24 D 16,101 ---
113 113 Tuesday, Aug 7 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 0 1 56-57 2 5.0 Gullett Reuschel 1:53 N 33,452 ----
114 114 Wednesday, Aug 8 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 3 4 56-58 3 5.0 Norman Jenkins Hall 2:25 N 33,173 -----
115 115 Friday, Aug 10 boxscore CHC HOU L 4 6 56-59 4 4.5 Richard Hooton Forsch 2:48 D 18,785 ------
116 116 Saturday, Aug 11 boxscore CHC HOU L 4 6 56-60 4 4.5 Dierker Reuschel Forsch 2:57 D 21,818 -------
117 117 Sunday, Aug 12 boxscore CHC HOU L 2 3 56-61 4 4.5 Wilson Bonham Ray 2:33 D 22,010 --------
118 118 Tuesday, Aug 14 boxscore CHC ATL L 2 6 56-62 4 5.0 Morton Jenkins 2:27 D 24,553 ---------
119 119 Wednesday, Aug 15 boxscore CHC ATL L 1 15 56-63 4 5.0 Niekro Reuschel 2:24 D 21,652 ----------
120 120 Thursday, Aug 16 boxscore CHC ATL L 2 10 56-64 4 5.5 Niekro Locker Frisella 2:52 D 17,682 -----------
121 121 Friday, Aug 17 boxscore CHC LAD W 5 1 57-64 4 4.5 Bonham Messersmith Locker 2:09 D 13,987 +
122 122 Saturday, Aug 18 boxscore CHC LAD W 2 1 58-64 4 3.5 Hooton Osteen 2:09 D 24,893 ++
123 123 Sunday, Aug 19 boxscore CHC LAD L &V 1 2 58-65 4 4.5 Brewer Reuschel 2:17 D 25,266 -
124 124 Tuesday, Aug 21 boxscore CHC CIN W 6 4 59-65 3 3.5 Jenkins Tomlin 2:25 D 25,454 +
125 125 Wednesday, Aug 22 boxscore CHC CIN W 6 5 60-65 3 3.5 Pappas Norman Locker 2:21 D 24,502 ++
126 126 Thursday, Aug 23 boxscore CHC CIN W 4 3 10 61-65 3 3.0 Locker Carroll 2:48 D 17,090 +++
127 127 Friday, Aug 24 boxscore CHC @ HOU L 2 4 61-66 3 4.0 Reuss Hooton 2:32 N 13,768 -
128 128 Saturday, Aug 25 boxscore CHC @ HOU W 4 3 10 62-66 3 3.0 Locker Ray 2:48 N 17,103 +
129 129 Sunday, Aug 26 boxscore CHC @ HOU W 4 2 63-66 3 2.0 Jenkins Wilson Bonham 2:17 D 15,238 ++
130 130 Tuesday, Aug 28 boxscore CHC @ ATL W 9 6 64-66 3 2.5 Hooton Niekro Locker 2:44 N 7,566 +++
131 131 Wednesday, Aug 29 boxscore CHC @ ATL L 4 7 64-67 3 2.5 House Burris Harrison 3:22 N 6,238 -
132 132 Friday, Aug 31 (1) boxscore CHC @ PIT L 0 7 64-68 3 3.5 Rooker Reuschel 2:18 N 0 --
133 133 Friday, Aug 31 (2) boxscore CHC @ PIT L 2 5 64-69 3 3.5 Johnson Jenkins Hernandez 2:40 N 35,884 ---
134 134 Saturday, Sep 1 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 0 1 64-70 3 3.5 Giusti Hooton 2:01 D 13,484 ----
135 135 Sunday, Sep 2 boxscore CHC @ PIT W 5 3 65-70 3 3.5 Locker Hernandez 2:57 D 19,130 +
136 136 Monday, Sep 3 boxscore CHC @ MON L 2 5 65-71 4 4.0 Renko Pappas Marshall 2:44 N 20,165 -
137 137 Tuesday, Sep 4 boxscore CHC @ MON L 2 3 65-72 4 5.0 Rogers Jenkins Marshall 2:31 N 18,667 --
138 138 Thursday, Sep 6 boxscore CHC @ MON L 3 5 65-73 5 6.0 Taylor Reuschel 2:28 D 9,306 ---
139 139 Friday, Sep 7 boxscore CHC STL W 8 2 66-73 5 5.0 Hooton Wise 2:29 D 7,704 +
140 140 Saturday, Sep 8 boxscore CHC STL W 3 1 67-73 4 4.0 Pappas Cleveland Locker 2:22 D 28,471 ++
141 141 Sunday, Sep 9 boxscore CHC STL W 5 4 68-73 4 3.0 Locker Hrabosky 2:25 D 26,029 +++
142 142 Monday, Sep 10 boxscore CHC PIT L 3 11 68-74 5 3.5 Rooker Reuschel 2:44 D 7,255 -
143 143 Tuesday, Sep 11 boxscore CHC PIT W 2 0 69-74 4 2.5 Hooton Blass 2:02 D 8,516 +
144 144 Wednesday, Sep 12 boxscore CHC PIT L 2 4 69-75 5 3.0 Kison Paul Giusti 3:08 D 9,857 -
145 145 Thursday, Sep 13 boxscore CHC PIT L 1 6 69-76 5 4.0 Moose Pappas Hernandez 2:38 D 7,375 --
146 146 Saturday, Sep 15 (1) boxscore CHC @ NYM L 1 5 69-77 5 5.0 Stone Jenkins McGraw 2:17 D 0 ---
147 147 Saturday, Sep 15 (2) boxscore CHC @ NYM W 7 0 70-77 5 5.0 Reuschel Sadecki 2:19 N 25,553 +
148 148 Sunday, Sep 16 boxscore CHC @ NYM L 3 4 70-78 5 5.0 McGraw Hooton 2:30 D 25,681 -
149 149 Tuesday, Sep 18 (1) boxscore CHC PHI L 2 5 70-79 5 5.0 Lersch Locker Scarce 2:35 D 0 --
150 150 Tuesday, Sep 18 (2) boxscore CHC PHI W 3 2 71-79 5 5.0 Bonham Brett 1:54 D 2,757 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Wednesday, Sep 19 boxscore CHC MON W 8 6 72-79 5 4.0 Reuschel Marshall Locker 2:26 D 2,568 ++
152 152 Thursday, Sep 20 boxscore CHC MON W 5 4 73-79 5 3.0 Jenkins Renko Locker 2:26 D 1,957 +++
153 153 Friday, Sep 21 boxscore CHC MON W 3 1 74-79 5 2.5 Hooton Rogers Locker 2:00 D 2,540 ++++
154 154 Saturday, Sep 22 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 5 2 10 75-79 5 2.5 Bonham Scarce 2:43 N 22,273 +++++
155 155 Sunday, Sep 23 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 7 9 75-80 4 3.5 Brett Hooton Diorio 2:34 D 9,991 -
156 156 Tuesday, Sep 25 boxscore CHC @ STL W 4 3 76-80 3 3.5 Jenkins Hrabosky Locker 2:23 N 14,854 +
157 157 Wednesday, Sep 26 boxscore CHC @ STL L 0 1 76-81 4 3.5 Wise Bonham 2:08 N 14,379 -
158 158 Thursday, Sep 27 boxscore CHC @ STL L 0 2 76-82 5 4.0 Cleveland Hooton 1:40 N 13,014 --
159 159 Sunday, Sep 30 (1) boxscore CHC NYM W 1 0 77-82 5 4.0 Locker Matlack 2:26 D 0 +
160 160 Sunday, Sep 30 (2) boxscore CHC NYM L 2 9 77-83 5 4.0 Koosman Jenkins 2:20 D 21,432 -
161 161 Monday, Oct 1 boxscore CHC NYM L 4 6 77-84 5 5.0 Seaver Hooton McGraw 2:28 D 1,913 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1972 / 1974 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits