Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1938 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1938 Chicago Cubs

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1937 / 1939

89-63, Finished 1st in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Charlie Grimm (45-36) and Gabby Hartnett (44-27)
Scored 713 runs, Allowed 597 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 88-64

Ballparks: Wrigley Field · Attendance: 951,640 (1st of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 103, Pitching - 101 · one-year: Batting - 105, Pitching - 103

Postseason:  Lost World Series (4-0) to New York Yankees


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1937 / 1939 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 89-63, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First10last on Sunday, Oct 2, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 11last on Oct 2, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead2last on Sunday, Oct 2, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind9last on Saturday, Aug 20, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50027last on Saturday, Oct 1
Most Games under .500never
Longest Winning Streak10Thursday, Sep 22 to Thursday, Sep 29
Longest Losing Streak6Monday, Jul 4 to Tuesday, Jul 12
Most Runs Allowed14Tuesday, Jul 12
Most Runs Scored21Thursday, May 5
Longest Game (innings)15Sunday, Jul 24
Times Shutout by Opponent10 
Times Opponent Shutout16 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 89 63 713 597 .586
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 44 33 349 326 .571
Road 45 30 364 271 .600
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 8 4 79 54 .667
May 16 11 152 100 .593
June 11 14 89 95 .440
July 16 12 124 120 .571
August 16 15 129 127 .516
September 21 5 122 87 .808
October 1 2 18 14 .333
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 38 30 342 263 .559
Second Half 51 33 371 334 .607
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 78 54 624 511 .591
ExtraInning 9 9 78 78 .500
Shortened 2 0 11 81.000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 23 19 162 158 .548
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 25 13 252 170 .658
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BRO 11 9 87 81 .550
BSN 12 10 82 78 .545
CIN 11 11 97 112 .500
NYG 12 10 81 71 .545
PHI 18 4 136 67 .818
PIT 12 10 105 83 .545
STL 13 9 125 105 .591

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 19 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 8 7 1-0 1 Tied Root Davis Logan 2:25 D 34,148 +
2 2 Wednesday, Apr 20 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 10 4 2-0 1 Tied Dean Grissom Russell 1:59 D 6,552 ++
3 3 Thursday, Apr 21 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 2 6 2-1 2 1.0 Derringer Carleton 1:48 D 2,155 -
4 4 Friday, Apr 22 boxscore CHC STL L 5 6 2-2 3 2.0 Harrell Logan Bush 2:21 D 15,660 --
5 5 Saturday, Apr 23 boxscore CHC STL W 4 0 3-2 3 2.0 French Johnson 1:50 D +
6 6 Sunday, Apr 24 boxscore CHC STL W 5 0 4-2 3 2.0 Dean Macon 1:38 D 34,520 ++
7 7 Monday, Apr 25 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 6 8 4-3 3 3.0 Brown Logan 2:20 D 9,235 -
8 8 Tuesday, Apr 26 boxscore CHC @ PIT W 5 3 10 5-3 3 2.0 Carleton Swift 2:26 D 7,523 +
9 9 Wednesday, Apr 27 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 5 6 5-4 3 3.0 Brown French Klinger 1:59 D 9,537 -
10 10 Thursday, Apr 28 boxscore CHC CIN W 12 5 6-4 3 3.0 Lee Schott Bryant 2:11 D +
11 11 Friday, Apr 29 boxscore CHC CIN W 6 4 7-4 3 2.5 Russell Derringer Bryant 1:45 D 27,496 ++
12 12 Saturday, Apr 30 boxscore CHC @ STL W 11 5 8-4 3 2.5 Carleton Macon Root 2:19 D 5,699 +++
13 13 Sunday, May 1 boxscore CHC @ STL W 6 5 9-4 2 2.5 Russell Davis 2:07 D 19,814 ++++
14 14 Monday, May 2 boxscore CHC @ STL L 3 6 9-5 2 3.5 Warneke Lee 2:20 D -
15 15 Tuesday, May 3 boxscore CHC PHI W 5 2 10-5 2 2.5 Dean Walters Root 1:32 D +
16 16 Wednesday, May 4 boxscore CHC PHI L 4 6 10-6 2 3.5 Passeau French Smith 2:40 D -
17 17 Thursday, May 5 boxscore CHC PHI W 21 2 11-6 2 2.5 Epperly LaMaster 2:19 D +
18 18 Friday, May 6 boxscore CHC BSN W 13 9 12-6 2 2.5 Russell Errickson Root 2:46 D ++
19 19 Saturday, May 7 boxscore CHC BSN W 5 4 10 13-6 2 2.5 Carleton Turner 2:30 D +++
20 20 Sunday, May 8 boxscore CHC NYG L 2 4 13-7 2 3.5 Hubbell French 1:52 D -
21 21 Tuesday, May 10 boxscore CHC NYG L 1 5 13-8 2 4.5 Gumbert Lee 2:03 D --
22 22 Wednesday, May 11 boxscore CHC BRO L 0 7 13-9 2 5.5 Mungo Carleton 2:10 D ---
23 23 Thursday, May 12 boxscore CHC BRO W 9 5 14-9 2 5.0 Bryant Frankhouse 2:25 D +
24 24 Friday, May 13 boxscore CHC PIT L 1 4 10 14-10 2 5.5 Brown French 2:09 D -
25 25 Sunday, May 15 boxscore CHC PIT L 3 4 11 14-11 3 6.0 Swift Root 2:41 D 15,494 --
26 26 Tuesday, May 17 boxscore CHC @ NYG L 5 6 12 14-12 3 6.5 Coffman Bryant 3:10 D 19,315 ---
27 27 Wednesday, May 18 boxscore CHC @ NYG W &V 4 2 15-12 2 5.5 Root Hubbell 1:50 D 12,938 +
28 28 Thursday, May 19 boxscore CHC @ NYG W 1 0 10 16-12 2 4.5 Lee Gumbert 2:04 D 7,339 ++
29 29 Friday, May 20 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 16 7 17-12 2 3.5 Carleton Walters Russell 2:43 D +++
30 30 Saturday, May 21 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 10 1 18-12 2 2.5 French Passeau 2:04 D ++++
31 31 Sunday, May 22 boxscore CHC @ BSN L 1 2 11 18-13 2 3.5 Shoffner Bryant 2:26 D 20,181 -
32 32 Monday, May 23 boxscore CHC @ BSN W 4 1 19-13 2 2.5 Lee Fette 1:46 D +
33 33 Tuesday, May 24 boxscore CHC @ BRO W 10 4 20-13 2 2.5 Carleton Mungo 2:32 D 5,142 ++
34 34 Wednesday, May 25 boxscore CHC @ BRO W 7 2 21-13 2 2.5 French Pressnell 1:34 D 4,319 +++
35 35 Friday, May 27 boxscore CHC @ PIT W 5 0 22-13 2 2.0 Lee Klinger 1:45 D 3,010 ++++
36 36 Saturday, May 28 boxscore CHC @ PIT W 9 3 23-13 2 2.5 Bryant Bauers 1:51 D 4,014 +++++
37 37 Sunday, May 29 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 1 2 23-14 2 3.5 Lucas French 1:47 D 7,050 -
38 38 Monday, May 30 (1) boxscore CHC CIN L 3 7 23-15 2 2.5 Derringer Carleton 1:53 D 0 --
39 39 Monday, May 30 (2) boxscore CHC CIN W 3 0 24-15 2 2.5 Lee Weaver 1:48 D 41,216 +
40 40 Thursday, Jun 2 boxscore CHC BSN L 2 6 24-16 2 2.5 Lanning Bryant 2:03 D 8,405 -
41 41 Friday, Jun 3 boxscore CHC BSN W 4 0 25-16 2 1.5 Lee Fette 1:27 D +
42 42 Saturday, Jun 4 boxscore CHC PHI W 5 1 26-16 2 0.5 French Passeau 2:18 D 8,505 ++
43 43 Sunday, Jun 5 boxscore CHC PHI W 7 1 27-16 1 up 0.5 Carleton Mulcahy 1:53 D 17,311 +++
44 44 Monday, Jun 6 boxscore CHC PHI W 10 8 28-16 1 up 0.5 Root Walters Logan 2:15 D 2,906 ++++
45 45 Tuesday, Jun 7 boxscore CHC NYG W 4 2 29-16 1 up 1.5 Lee Melton 2:03 D 16,202 +++++
46 46 Wednesday, Jun 8 (1) boxscore CHC NYG L 2 4 10 29-17 2 0.5 Gumbert French 1:59 D 0 -
47 47 Wednesday, Jun 8 (2) boxscore CHC NYG L 1 4 29-18 2 0.5 Hubbell Bryant 2:10 D 43,000 --
48 48 Thursday, Jun 9 boxscore CHC NYG L 5 8 29-19 2 1.5 Brown Carleton 2:37 D 14,317 ---
49 49 Sunday, Jun 12 (1) boxscore CHC BRO W 9 3 30-19 2 2.0 Bryant Mungo 2:08 D 0 +
50 50 Sunday, Jun 12 (2) boxscore CHC BRO L 0 6 30-20 2 2.0 Fitzsimmons French 1:43 D 22,000 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Tuesday, Jun 14 boxscore CHC @ BSN W 5 2 31-20 2 2.0 Carleton Fette 2:00 D 3,954 +
52 52 Wednesday, Jun 15 boxscore CHC @ BSN L 0 2 31-21 2 2.0 MacFayden Bryant 1:44 D 3,165 -
53 53 Friday, Jun 17 (1) boxscore CHC @ BSN L 0 1 31-22 2 3.0 Turner Lee 1:30 D 12,845 --
54 54 Friday, Jun 17 (2) boxscore CHC @ BSN L 2 3 31-23 2 3.0 Lanning French Hutchinson 1:46 D 12,845 ---
55 55 Saturday, Jun 18 boxscore CHC @ BRO L 1 2 31-24 2 4.0 Fitzsimmons Carleton 1:47 D 5,423 ----
56 56 Sunday, Jun 19 (1) boxscore CHC @ BRO L 2 6 31-25 2 3.0 Pressnell French 1:50 D 0 -----
57 57 Sunday, Jun 19 (2) boxscore CHC @ BRO W 4 3 32-25 2 3.0 Bryant Frankhouse 2:00 D 28,013 +
58 58 Monday, Jun 20 boxscore CHC @ BRO W 5 1 33-25 2 2.5 Lee Hamlin 1:48 D 5,603 ++
59 59 Tuesday, Jun 21 boxscore CHC @ PHI W 4 3 34-25 2 1.5 Epperly Passeau Root 1:59 D 1,200 +++
60 60 Friday, Jun 24 boxscore CHC @ NYG L 3 5 34-26 3 2.5 Coffman Carleton 2:19 D 8,256 -
61 61 Saturday, Jun 25 boxscore CHC @ NYG W 5 0 35-26 2 1.5 Bryant Gumbert 1:48 D 18,914 +
62 62 Sunday, Jun 26 boxscore CHC @ NYG L 1 5 35-27 3 2.5 Hubbell French 1:42 D 15,919 -
63 63 Tuesday, Jun 28 boxscore CHC STL L 3 9 35-28 3 3.0 Warneke Carleton 2:00 D 9,830 --
64 64 Wednesday, Jun 29 boxscore CHC STL L 5 10 35-29 4 4.5 Weiland Lee 2:16 D 2,852 ---
65 65 Friday, Jul 1 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 11 4 36-29 3 5.0 Bryant Derringer 2:11 N 19,731 +
66 66 Sunday, Jul 3 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 4 3 37-29 3 5.0 Lee Vander Meer Root 2:14 D 2,246 ++
67 67 Monday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore CHC @ STL W 4 3 38-29 3 6.0 French Warneke Root 2:02 D 0 +++
68 68 Monday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore CHC @ STL L 3 4 38-30 3 6.0 Weiland Bryant McGee 2:08 D 24,460 -
69 69 Friday, Jul 8 boxscore CHC CIN L 6 7 10 38-31 3 7.0 Walters French 2:11 D --
70 70 Saturday, Jul 9 boxscore CHC CIN L 0 11 38-32 3 7.0 Walters Bryant 1:47 D 11,096 ---
71 71 Sunday, Jul 10 boxscore CHC CIN L 1 3 38-33 4 8.0 Vander Meer Lee 1:50 D ----
72 72 Monday, Jul 11 boxscore CHC PIT L 3 5 38-34 4 8.5 Tobin French Brown 2:12 D -----
73 73 Tuesday, Jul 12 boxscore CHC PIT L 6 14 38-35 4 8.5 Brandt Carleton Sewell 2:17 D ------
74 74 Thursday, Jul 14 (1) boxscore CHC PHI W 3 0 39-35 4 7.0 Bryant Passeau 1:36 D +
75 75 Thursday, Jul 14 (2) boxscore CHC PHI W 5 1 40-35 4 7.0 Lee Mulcahy 1:57 D ++
76 76 Friday, Jul 15 boxscore CHC PHI W 4 1 41-35 4 6.5 French LaMaster 1:51 D +++
77 77 Saturday, Jul 16 boxscore CHC BSN W 8 7 10 42-35 4 6.0 Russell Hutchinson 2:36 D ++++
78 78 Sunday, Jul 17 (1) boxscore CHC BSN W 3 1 43-35 3 5.0 Dean Turner 1:38 D 0 +++++
79 79 Sunday, Jul 17 (2) boxscore CHC BSN W 4 0 44-35 3 5.0 Lee MacFayden 1:48 D 35,623 ++++++
80 80 Monday, Jul 18 boxscore CHC BSN W 7 6 45-35 3 4.5 Bryant Reis 2:16 D +++++++
81 81 Tuesday, Jul 19 boxscore CHC BRO L 3 8 45-36 3 5.5 Tamulis French 2:02 D 7,642 -
82 82 Thursday, Jul 21 (1) boxscore CHC BRO W 5 2 46-36 3 6.0 Bryant Fitzsimmons 1:48 D 0 +
83 83 Thursday, Jul 21 (2) boxscore CHC BRO L 0 1 46-37 3 6.0 Hamlin Root 1:48 D 25,830 -
84 84 Saturday, Jul 23 (1) boxscore CHC NYG W 7 4 47-37 3 5.0 Lee Gumbert 2:04 D +
85 85 Saturday, Jul 23 (2) boxscore CHC NYG W 3 1 48-37 3 5.0 Dean Schumacher 1:39 D ++
86 86 Sunday, Jul 24 boxscore CHC NYG W 5 4 15 49-37 3 5.5 Lee Hubbell 3:57 D 35,078 +++
87 87 Tuesday, Jul 26 boxscore CHC @ BRO W 10 8 50-37 3 4.5 French Pressnell 2:22 D 8,207 ++++
88 88 Wednesday, Jul 27 boxscore CHC @ BRO L 2 3 50-38 3 5.5 Tamulis Bryant 2:06 N 34,414 -
89 89 Friday, Jul 29 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 4 5 12 50-39 3 7.0 Sivess French 2:30 D 3,000 --
90 90 Saturday, Jul 30 boxscore CHC @ PHI L 4 5 50-40 3 8.0 Passeau French 1:58 D ---
91 91 Sunday, Jul 31 (1) boxscore CHC @ PHI L 5 6 12 50-41 3 7.5 Johnson Lee 3:11 D ----
92 92 Sunday, Jul 31 (2) boxscore CHC @ PHI W 4 3 7 51-41 3 7.5 Root Mulcahy 1:55 D 15,000 +
93 93 Tuesday, Aug 2 boxscore CHC @ NYG W 7 0 52-41 3 6.5 Bryant Hubbell 1:55 D 9,627 ++
94 94 Wednesday, Aug 3 boxscore CHC @ NYG L 3 8 52-42 3 8.0 Gumbert Lee Coffman 2:09 D 7,172 -
95 95 Thursday, Aug 4 boxscore CHC @ NYG W 6 0 53-42 3 7.0 French Lohrman 1:56 D 5,921 +
96 96 Saturday, Aug 6 boxscore CHC @ BSN L 0 1 53-43 4 7.0 Fette Page 1:41 D 4,294 -
97 97 Sunday, Aug 7 (1) boxscore CHC @ BSN W 7 4 54-43 3 8.0 Bryant Lanning Root 2:14 D 0 +
98 98 Sunday, Aug 7 (2) boxscore CHC @ BSN L 0 5 54-44 3 8.0 Turner Lee 1:45 D 15,000 -
99 99 Tuesday, Aug 9 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 3 0 55-44 3 8.0 French Derringer 1:29 D 16,303 +
100 100 Wednesday, Aug 10 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 6 3 56-44 3 7.0 Page Vander Meer Root 2:00 D 6,000 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Aug 11 boxscore CHC @ CIN L 7 8 14 56-45 3 7.5 Schott French 2:47 D 3,460 -
102 102 Friday, Aug 12 boxscore CHC @ PIT W 9 3 57-45 3 6.5 Lee Tobin 1:48 D 14,962 +
103 103 Saturday, Aug 13 boxscore CHC @ PIT W 11 5 58-45 3 5.5 Dean Blanton Page 2:13 D 15,332 ++
104 104 Sunday, Aug 14 boxscore CHC @ PIT L 0 2 58-46 3 6.5 Bauers Root Brown 1:39 D 24,193 -
105 105 Monday, Aug 15 boxscore CHC STL L 4 8 58-47 3 6.5 Warneke Bryant 2:06 D --
106 106 Tuesday, Aug 16 (1) boxscore CHC STL W 5 4 11 59-47 3 7.0 Carleton Macon 2:43 D +
107 107 Tuesday, Aug 16 (2) boxscore CHC STL L 2 5 59-48 3 7.0 Davis French 1:41 N -
108 108 Wednesday, Aug 17 boxscore CHC CIN L 4 8 59-49 4 8.0 Walters Page Schott 1:58 D --
109 109 Thursday, Aug 18 boxscore CHC CIN L 1 9 59-50 4 8.0 Derringer Root 1:49 D 9,230 ---
110 110 Saturday, Aug 20 boxscore CHC PIT L 2 5 59-51 4 9.0 Lucas Dean Swift 1:49 D ----
111 111 Sunday, Aug 21 (1) boxscore CHC PIT W 6 4 60-51 3 7.0 Lee Blanton Russell 1:51 D 0 +
112 112 Sunday, Aug 21 (2) boxscore CHC PIT W 6 1 61-51 3 7.0 Carleton Bauers 1:51 D 40,402 ++
113 113 Monday, Aug 22 boxscore CHC PIT L 2 4 61-52 4 8.0 Tobin Bryant 2:06 D -
114 114 Tuesday, Aug 23 boxscore CHC NYG L 2 6 61-53 4 8.5 Gumbert French 2:28 D 14,538 --
115 115 Wednesday, Aug 24 boxscore CHC NYG W 6 1 62-53 4 8.5 Page Lohrman 1:53 D +
116 116 Thursday, Aug 25 (1) boxscore CHC BRO W 3 2 63-53 3 6.5 Lee Mungo 1:53 D 0 ++
117 117 Thursday, Aug 25 (2) boxscore CHC BRO W 5 4 64-53 3 6.5 Carleton LaMaster 2:26 D 40,402 +++
118 118 Friday, Aug 26 boxscore CHC BRO W 7 3 65-53 3 5.5 Bryant Posedel 1:55 D ++++
119 119 Saturday, Aug 27 boxscore CHC BRO L 1 4 65-54 3 6.5 Hamlin Root 1:47 D -
120 120 Sunday, Aug 28 (1) boxscore CHC PHI W 6 5 11 66-54 3 5.0 Bryant Sivess 2:19 D 0 +
121 121 Sunday, Aug 28 (2) boxscore CHC PHI W 3 1 67-54 3 5.0 Page Johnson 1:40 D 26,348 ++
122 122 Tuesday, Aug 30 boxscore CHC BSN L 1 8 67-55 2 6.5 Turner Carleton 1:53 D -
123 123 Wednesday, Aug 31 boxscore CHC BSN L 4 6 67-56 4 7.0 Shoffner Lee Errickson 2:12 D 10,416 --
124 124 Thursday, Sep 1 boxscore CHC BSN W 4 2 68-56 2 7.0 Bryant Lanning 2:17 D +
125 125 Saturday, Sep 3 (1) boxscore CHC @ CIN L 0 6 68-57 3 7.0 Derringer Page 1:30 D 0 -
126 126 Saturday, Sep 3 (2) boxscore CHC @ CIN L 5 7 68-58 3 7.0 Schott Russell 2:08 D --
127 127 Sunday, Sep 4 boxscore CHC @ CIN W 2 1 11 69-58 3 7.0 Root Schott 2:09 D 19,568 +
128 128 Monday, Sep 5 (1) boxscore CHC @ PIT W 3 0 70-58 3 5.0 Lee Brandt 1:43 D 0 ++
129 129 Monday, Sep 5 (2) boxscore CHC @ PIT W 4 3 71-58 3 5.0 Bryant Tobin 2:01 D 42,545 +++
130 130 Wednesday, Sep 7 boxscore CHC @ STL W 7 5 72-58 2 5.0 Page Macon Lee 1:51 D ++++
131 131 Thursday, Sep 8 boxscore CHC @ STL W 7 4 10 73-58 2 4.0 Russell Weiland 2:10 D +++++
132 132 Friday, Sep 9 boxscore CHC @ STL W 4 2 74-58 2 3.5 Bryant Warneke 2:08 D ++++++
133 133 Saturday, Sep 10 boxscore CHC CIN L 1 9 74-59 2 4.5 Walters Root 1:58 D -
134 134 Sunday, Sep 11 boxscore CHC CIN W 2 0 75-59 2 3.5 Lee Derringer 1:30 D +
135 135 Tuesday, Sep 13 boxscore CHC @ BSN L 2 5 75-60 2 4.0 Turner Bryant 1:51 D 2,197 -
136 136 Wednesday, Sep 14 boxscore CHC @ BSN W 6 3 76-60 2 2.5 Root Fette 2:07 D +
137 137 Saturday, Sep 17 (1) boxscore CHC @ NYG W 4 0 77-60 2 2.5 Lee Wittig 2:08 D ++
138 138 Saturday, Sep 17 (2) boxscore CHC @ NYG W 4 2 7 78-60 2 2.5 Bryant Lohrman 1:43 D 22,257 +++
139 139 Sunday, Sep 18 (1) boxscore CHC @ BRO L 1 4 78-61 2 3.5 Tamulis Root 1:50 D 0 -
140 140 Sunday, Sep 18 (2) boxscore CHC @ BRO T 3 3 5 78-61 2 3.5 1:26 D 3,000 -
141 141 Thursday, Sep 22 (1) boxscore CHC @ PHI W 4 0 79-61 2 3.5 Lee Butcher 1:50 D +
142 142 Thursday, Sep 22 (2) boxscore CHC @ PHI W 2 1 80-61 2 3.5 Bryant Passeau 1:33 D ++
143 143 Friday, Sep 23 (1) boxscore CHC @ PHI W 3 2 81-61 2 2.0 Russell Mulcahy 1:46 D 0 +++
144 144 Friday, Sep 23 (2) boxscore CHC @ PHI W 7 6 82-61 2 2.0 French Hollingsworth 1:45 D ++++
145 145 Saturday, Sep 24 boxscore CHC STL W 9 3 83-61 2 2.0 Page Warneke Root 2:24 D +++++
146 146 Sunday, Sep 25 boxscore CHC STL W 7 2 84-61 2 2.0 Bryant Weiland 1:49 D 30,014 ++++++
147 147 Monday, Sep 26 boxscore CHC STL W 6 3 85-61 2 1.5 Lee Davis 1:42 D 9,988 +++++++
148 148 Tuesday, Sep 27 boxscore CHC PIT W 2 1 86-61 2 0.5 Dean Tobin Lee 1:38 D 42,238 ++++++++
149 149 Wednesday, Sep 28 boxscore CHC PIT W 6 5 87-61 1 up 0.5 Root Brown 2:37 D 34,465 +++++++++
150 150 Thursday, Sep 29 boxscore CHC PIT W 10 1 88-61 1 up 1.5 Lee Bauers 2:15 D ++++++++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Friday, Sep 30 boxscore CHC @ STL T 7 7 88-61 1 up 1.5 2:38 D 5,080 ++++++++++
152 152 Saturday, Oct 1 (1) boxscore CHC @ STL L 3 4 88-62 1 up 2.0 Weiland Page 2:02 D 0 -
153 153 Saturday, Oct 1 (2) boxscore CHC @ STL W 10 3 89-62 1 up 2.0 Root McGee 2:14 D 12,726 +
154 154 Sunday, Oct 2 boxscore CHC @ STL L 5 7 89-63 1 up 2.0 Dean French Cooper 1:33 D 11,986 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
WS Game 1 Wednesday, Oct 5 boxscore CHC NYY L 1 3 0-1 Ruffing Lee 1:53 D 43,642
WS Game 2 Thursday, Oct 6 boxscore CHC NYY L 3 6 0-2 Gomez Dean Murphy 1:53 D 42,108
WS Game 3 Saturday, Oct 8 boxscore CHC @ NYY L 2 5 0-3 Pearson Bryant 1:57 D 55,236
WS Game 4 Sunday, Oct 9 boxscore CHC @ NYY L 3 8 0-4 Ruffing Lee 2:11 D 59,847
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1937 / 1939 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits