Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1909 Schedule and Results

1909 Chicago Cubs

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1908 / 1910

104-49, Finished 2nd in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Frank Chance (104-49)
Scored 635 runs, Allowed 390 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 109-44

Ballparks: West Side Grounds · Attendance: 633,480 (2nd of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 102, Pitching - 98 · one-year: Batting - 101, Pitching - 95


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1908 / 1910 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 104-49, Final Rank:2, GB: 6.5
Days in First9last on Saturday, May 29, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 15last on May 29, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead0.5last on Saturday, May 29, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind10last on Saturday, Sep 25, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50055last on Wednesday, Oct 6
Most Games under .5001last on Tuesday, May 4
Longest Winning Streak10Saturday, Jul 31 to Sunday, Aug 8
Longest Losing Streak5Thursday, Apr 29 to Tuesday, May 4
Most Runs Allowed9Monday, May 3
Most Runs Scored12Wednesday, Sep 1
Times Shutout by Opponent8 
Times Opponent Shutout32 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall104 49 635 390 .680
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 47 29 281 199 .618
Road 57 20 354 191 .740
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 8 5 54 41 .615
May 16 11 96 76 .593
June 14 6 81 54 .700
July 19 8 119 59 .704
August 22 8 125 74 .733
September 20 9 126 73 .690
October 5 2 34 13 .714
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 49 26 306 201 .653
Second Half 55 23 329 189 .705
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 25 15 117 107 .625
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 35 4 279 82 .897
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BRO 16 5 92 41 .762
BSN 21 1 125 47 .955
CIN 16 6 87 48 .727
NYG 11 11 69 60 .500
PHI 16 6 85 53 .727
PIT 9 13 68 78 .409
STL 15 7 109 63 .682

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Wednesday, Apr 14 CHC STL W 3 1 1-0 1 Tied +
2 2 Thursday, Apr 15 CHC STL W 10 4 2-0 1 up 0.5 ++
3 3 Friday, Apr 16 CHC STL L 1 3 2-1 2 0.5 -
4 4 Saturday, Apr 17 CHC STL L 1 4 2-2 4 1.5 --
5 5 Sunday, Apr 18 CHC PIT L 0 1 2-3 4 2.0 ---
6 6 Thursday, Apr 22 CHC @ STL W 7 3 3-3 4 2.0 +
7 7 Friday, Apr 23 CHC @ STL L 3 6 3-4 4 2.5 -
8 8 Saturday, Apr 24 CHC @ STL W 5 1 4-4 3 2.5 +
9 9 Sunday, Apr 25 CHC @ STL W 5 4 5-4 2 1.5 ++
10 10 Monday, Apr 26 CHC @ CIN W 6 2 6-4 2 0.5 +++
11 11 Wednesday, Apr 28 CHC @ CIN W 6 5 7-4 1 up 0.5 ++++
12 12 Thursday, Apr 29 (1) CHC @ CIN W 5 4 8-4 1 up 0.5 +++++
13 13 Thursday, Apr 29 (2) CHC @ CIN L 2 3 8-5 1 up 0.5 -
14 14 Sunday, May 2 (1) CHC PIT L 2 5 8-6 4 1.0 --
15 15 Sunday, May 2 (2) CHC PIT L 0 6 8-7 4 1.0 ---
16 16 Monday, May 3 CHC PIT L 2 9 8-8 5 1.5 ----
17 17 Tuesday, May 4 CHC PIT L 0 1 8-9 5 2.5 -----
18 18 Wednesday, May 5 CHC CIN W 5 2 9-9 5 2.0 +
19 19 Thursday, May 6 CHC CIN W 4 2 10-9 3 2.0 ++
20 20 Friday, May 7 CHC CIN W 5 0 11-9 3 2.0 +++
21 21 Saturday, May 8 CHC CIN W 6 3 12-9 3 1.0 ++++
22 22 Sunday, May 9 CHC STL L 2 5 12-10 4 1.5 -
23 23 Tuesday, May 11 CHC @ NYG W 4 3 13-10 2 1.5 +
24 24 Wednesday, May 12 CHC @ NYG L 2 3 13-11 3 1.5 -
25 25 Thursday, May 13 CHC @ NYG L 1 4 13-12 3 2.5 --
26 26 Friday, May 14 CHC @ NYG W 6 0 14-12 3 1.5 +
27 27 Saturday, May 15 CHC @ PHI W 3 0 15-12 2 1.5 ++
28 28 Monday, May 17 CHC @ PHI W 8 1 16-12 2 1.5 +++
29 29 Tuesday, May 18 CHC @ PHI W 3 2 17-12 2 1.5 ++++
30 30 Wednesday, May 19 CHC @ PHI L 2 4 17-13 2 1.5 -
31 31 Thursday, May 20 CHC @ BSN W 6 2 18-13 2 0.5 +
32 32 Friday, May 21 CHC @ BSN W 7 0 19-13 1 Tied ++
33 33 Monday, May 24 CHC @ BRO W 4 3 20-13 1 Tied +++
34 34 Tuesday, May 25 CHC @ BRO W 4 3 21-13 1 Tied ++++
35 35 Wednesday, May 26 CHC @ BRO W 2 0 22-13 1 Tied +++++
36 36 Saturday, May 29 CHC @ PIT W 8 3 23-13 1 up 0.5 ++++++
37 37 Sunday, May 30 (1) CHC PIT L 4 5 23-14 2 1.5 -
38 38 Sunday, May 30 (2) CHC PIT L 2 4 23-15 2 1.5 --
39 39 Monday, May 31 (1) CHC @ CIN L 1 4 23-16 2 2.5 ---
40 40 Monday, May 31 (2) CHC @ CIN W 3 2 24-16 2 2.5 +
41 41 Tuesday, Jun 1 CHC @ CIN W 9 3 25-16 2 2.0 ++
42 42 Thursday, Jun 3 CHC PHI W 4 3 26-16 2 2.5 +++
43 43 Saturday, Jun 5 CHC PHI W 2 0 27-16 2 2.5 ++++
44 44 Sunday, Jun 6 CHC PHI W 1 0 28-16 2 2.0 +++++
45 45 Tuesday, Jun 8 CHC NYG L 2 3 28-17 2 3.5 -
46 46 Thursday, Jun 10 CHC NYG W 5 0 29-17 2 3.5 +
47 47 Friday, Jun 11 CHC BSN L 2 4 29-18 2 4.5 -
48 48 Saturday, Jun 12 CHC BSN W 2 0 30-18 2 4.5 +
49 49 Sunday, Jun 13 CHC BSN W 9 7 31-18 2 4.0 ++
50 50 Wednesday, Jun 16 CHC BRO W 3 1 32-18 2 4.0 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Thursday, Jun 17 CHC BRO W 3 2 33-18 2 3.5 ++++
52 52 Saturday, Jun 19 CHC BRO W 10 5 34-18 2 4.0 +++++
53 53 Sunday, Jun 20 CHC BRO W 6 1 35-18 2 3.5 ++++++
54 54 Wednesday, Jun 23 CHC CIN L 4 6 35-19 2 5.0 -
55 55 Friday, Jun 25 CHC CIN W 7 0 36-19 2 5.0 +
56 56 Saturday, Jun 26 CHC CIN W 4 0 37-19 2 5.0 ++
57 57 Sunday, Jun 27 (1) CHC CIN L 1 2 37-20 2 6.0 -
58 58 Sunday, Jun 27 (2) CHC CIN L 3 7 37-21 2 6.0 --
59 59 Tuesday, Jun 29 CHC @ PIT L 1 8 37-22 2 7.5 ---
60 60 Wednesday, Jun 30 CHC @ PIT W 3 2 38-22 2 6.5 +
61 61 Friday, Jul 2 (1) CHC @ PIT W 8 0 39-22 2 6.5 ++
62 62 Friday, Jul 2 (2) CHC @ PIT L 2 4 39-23 2 6.5 -
63 63 Saturday, Jul 3 CHC @ PIT W 6 0 40-23 2 5.5 +
64 64 Sunday, Jul 4 CHC STL L 2 3 40-24 2 5.5 -
65 65 Tuesday, Jul 6 CHC STL W 4 1 41-24 2 6.5 +
66 66 Wednesday, Jul 7 CHC @ PIT L 2 6 41-25 2 7.5 -
67 67 Thursday, Jul 8 CHC @ PHI W 8 3 42-25 2 6.5 +
68 68 Friday, Jul 9 CHC @ PHI L 1 5 42-26 2 8.0 -
69 69 Saturday, Jul 10 CHC @ PHI W 10 1 43-26 2 8.0 +
70 70 Monday, Jul 12 CHC @ PHI W 3 0 44-26 2 7.5 ++
71 71 Tuesday, Jul 13 (1) CHC @ BSN W 3 2 45-26 2 7.0 +++
72 72 Tuesday, Jul 13 (2) CHC @ BSN W 8 0 46-26 2 7.0 ++++
73 73 Wednesday, Jul 14 CHC @ BSN W 8 2 47-26 2 7.0 +++++
74 74 Thursday, Jul 15 CHC @ BSN W 6 2 48-26 2 6.0 ++++++
75 75 Friday, Jul 16 CHC @ BSN W 4 1 49-26 2 5.5 +++++++
76 76 Saturday, Jul 17 (1) CHC @ BRO L 0 1 49-27 2 6.0 -
77 77 Saturday, Jul 17 (2) CHC @ BRO W 4 0 50-27 2 6.0 +
78 78 Monday, Jul 19 CHC @ BRO W 2 0 51-27 2 6.0 ++
79 79 Tuesday, Jul 20 CHC @ BRO L 5 6 51-28 2 6.0 -
80 80 Wednesday, Jul 21 CHC @ BRO W 3 2 52-28 2 5.0 +
81 81 Thursday, Jul 22 CHC @ NYG W 3 1 53-28 2 5.0 ++
82 82 Saturday, Jul 24 CHC @ NYG W 4 1 54-28 2 5.5 +++
83 83 Tuesday, Jul 27 CHC @ STL T 4 4 54-28 2 5.5 +++
84 84 Wednesday, Jul 28 (1) CHC @ STL W 6 1 55-28 2 6.0 ++++
85 85 Wednesday, Jul 28 (2) CHC @ STL L 4 5 55-29 2 6.0 -
86 86 Thursday, Jul 29 CHC @ STL W 6 3 56-29 2 6.0 +
87 87 Friday, Jul 30 CHC PHI L 2 5 56-30 2 7.0 -
88 88 Saturday, Jul 31 CHC PHI W 1 0 57-30 2 6.0 +
89 89 Sunday, Aug 1 (1) CHC PHI W 3 0 58-30 2 5.0 ++
90 90 Sunday, Aug 1 (2) CHC PHI W 7 6 59-30 2 5.0 +++
91 91 Tuesday, Aug 3 CHC BSN W 7 1 60-30 2 5.0 ++++
92 92 Wednesday, Aug 4 CHC BSN W 8 3 61-30 2 4.0 +++++
93 93 Thursday, Aug 5 (1) CHC BSN W 2 1 62-30 2 2.5 ++++++
94 94 Thursday, Aug 5 (2) CHC BSN W 4 0 63-30 2 2.5 +++++++
95 95 Friday, Aug 6 CHC BSN W 3 1 64-30 2 2.5 ++++++++
96 96 Saturday, Aug 7 CHC BRO W 3 2 65-30 2 3.0 +++++++++
97 97 Sunday, Aug 8 CHC BRO W 7 0 66-30 2 2.5 ++++++++++
98 98 Monday, Aug 9 CHC BRO L 0 2 66-31 2 3.5 -
99 99 Tuesday, Aug 10 CHC BRO W 8 1 67-31 2 3.5 +
100 100 Thursday, Aug 12 (1) CHC NYG L 2 5 67-32 2 5.0 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Aug 12 (2) CHC NYG L 0 3 67-33 2 5.0 --
102 102 Friday, Aug 13 CHC NYG L 2 6 67-34 2 6.0 ---
103 103 Saturday, Aug 14 CHC NYG L 2 5 67-35 2 6.0 ----
104 104 Sunday, Aug 15 CHC NYG W 9 0 68-35 2 5.5 +
105 105 Tuesday, Aug 17 CHC CIN W 2 0 69-35 2 5.5 ++
106 106 Wednesday, Aug 18 CHC CIN W 1 0 70-35 2 6.0 +++
107 107 Friday, Aug 20 CHC @ BSN W 5 3 71-35 2 6.5 ++++
108 108 Saturday, Aug 21 (1) CHC @ BSN W 8 3 72-35 2 5.0 +++++
109 109 Saturday, Aug 21 (2) CHC @ BSN W 3 2 73-35 2 5.0 ++++++
110 110 Monday, Aug 23 CHC @ BSN W 11 6 74-35 2 5.0 +++++++
111 111 Tuesday, Aug 24 CHC @ PHI W 1 0 75-35 2 4.5 ++++++++
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 25 CHC @ PHI L 2 4 75-36 2 4.5 -
113 113 Thursday, Aug 26 CHC @ PHI L 7 8 75-37 2 5.5 --
114 114 Friday, Aug 27 CHC @ NYG W 8 6 76-37 2 5.5 +
115 115 Saturday, Aug 28 CHC @ NYG W 6 1 77-37 2 6.0 ++
116 116 Monday, Aug 30 (1) CHC @ NYG W 2 0 78-37 2 6.5 +++
117 117 Monday, Aug 30 (2) CHC @ NYG L 0 5 78-38 2 6.5 -
118 118 Tuesday, Aug 31 CHC @ NYG W 2 0 79-38 2 6.5 +
119 119 Wednesday, Sep 1 CHC @ BRO W 12 0 80-38 2 6.0 ++
120 120 Thursday, Sep 2 CHC @ BRO L 1 3 80-39 2 6.5 -
121 121 Friday, Sep 3 CHC @ BRO W 10 4 81-39 2 6.0 +
122 122 Saturday, Sep 4 CHC @ CIN W 3 0 82-39 2 6.0 ++
123 123 Sunday, Sep 5 CHC PIT L 1 5 82-40 2 7.0 -
124 124 Monday, Sep 6 (1) CHC @ PIT W 3 1 83-40 2 5.0 +
125 125 Monday, Sep 6 (2) CHC @ PIT W 6 3 84-40 2 5.0 ++
126 126 Tuesday, Sep 7 CHC @ PIT L 2 6 84-41 2 6.0 -
127 127 Wednesday, Sep 8 CHC @ PIT W 4 2 85-41 2 5.0 +
128 128 Thursday, Sep 9 CHC STL W 2 1 86-41 2 5.0 ++
129 129 Friday, Sep 10 (1) CHC STL W 3 1 87-41 2 4.5 +++
130 130 Friday, Sep 10 (2) CHC STL W 9 3 88-41 2 4.5 ++++
131 131 Saturday, Sep 11 CHC STL W 10 4 89-41 2 4.5 +++++
132 132 Sunday, Sep 12 CHC @ CIN W 5 0 90-41 2 4.5 ++++++
133 133 Monday, Sep 13 CHC @ CIN L 1 3 90-42 2 5.5 -
134 134 Tuesday, Sep 14 CHC @ CIN W 4 0 91-42 2 5.0 +
135 135 Thursday, Sep 16 CHC NYG L 1 2 91-43 2 6.5 -
136 136 Friday, Sep 17 CHC NYG L 1 4 91-44 2 7.5 --
137 137 Saturday, Sep 18 CHC NYG L 0 2 91-45 2 8.5 ---
138 138 Sunday, Sep 19 CHC NYG T 4 4 91-45 2 8.5 ---
139 139 Monday, Sep 20 CHC NYG W 3 2 92-45 2 8.5 +
140 140 Thursday, Sep 23 (1) CHC BRO L 1 4 92-46 2 10.0 -
141 141 Thursday, Sep 23 (2) CHC BRO W 4 1 93-46 2 10.0 +
142 142 Friday, Sep 24 CHC BSN W 9 1 94-46 2 10.0 ++
143 143 Saturday, Sep 25 CHC BSN W 7 4 95-46 2 10.0 +++
144 144 Sunday, Sep 26 CHC BSN W 3 2 96-46 2 9.5 ++++
145 145 Monday, Sep 27 CHC PHI W 4 1 97-46 2 9.0 +++++
146 146 Tuesday, Sep 28 CHC PHI L 2 3 97-47 2 9.0 -
147 147 Wednesday, Sep 29 (1) CHC PHI W 5 4 98-47 2 7.5 +
148 148 Wednesday, Sep 29 (2) CHC PHI W 6 3 99-47 2 7.5 ++
149 149 Saturday, Oct 2 CHC PIT W 3 1 100-47 2 6.5 +++
150 150 Sunday, Oct 3 CHC PIT L 1 4 100-48 2 7.5 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Monday, Oct 4 CHC PIT W 8 2 101-48 2 6.5 +
152 152 Tuesday, Oct 5 (1) CHC @ STL W 6 1 102-48 2 7.5 ++
153 153 Tuesday, Oct 5 (2) CHC @ STL L 3 4 102-49 2 7.5 -
154 154 Wednesday, Oct 6 (1) CHC @ STL W 8 0 103-49 2 6.5 +
155 155 Wednesday, Oct 6 (2) CHC @ STL W 5 1 104-49 2 6.5 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1908 / 1910 Schedule and Results