Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1897 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:Offseason Updates

1897 Chicago Colts

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1896 / 1898

59-73, Finished 9th in National League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Cap Anson (59-73)
Scored 832 runs, Allowed 894 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 62-70

Ballparks: West Side Grounds · Attendance: 327,160 (4th of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 104, Pitching - 103 · one-year: Batting - 100, Pitching - 101


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1896 / 1898 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 59-73, Final Rank:9, GB: 34.0
Days in Firstnever
 
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind34.5last on Monday, Sep 27, for days on which they played
Most Games over .500never
Most Games under .50016last on Monday, Sep 27
Longest Winning Streak5Friday, Aug 6 to Tuesday, Aug 10
Longest Losing Streak7Friday, Aug 20 to Friday, Aug 27
Most Runs Allowed20Saturday, Jul 17
Most Runs Scored36Tuesday, Jun 29
Times Shutout by Opponent4 
Times Opponent Shutout2 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 59 73 832 895 .447
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 36 30 444 406 .545
Road 23 43 388 489 .348
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 2 6 38 41 .250
May 9 16 158 168 .360
June 9 13 152 162 .409
July 17 12 177 182 .586
August 13 11 162 158 .542
September 7 14 121 171 .333
October 2 1 24 13 .667
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 29 38 436 438 .433
Second Half 30 35 396 457 .462
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 17 23 226 232 .425
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 18 23 291 336 .439
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BLN 3 9 60 100 .250
BRO 6 6 83 97 .500
BSN 4 8 65 107 .333
CIN 5 7 57 53 .417
CLV 4 8 64 84 .333
LOU 6 6 94 58 .500
NYG 5 7 66 86 .417
PHI 5 7 83 90 .417
PIT 6 6 81 77 .500
STL 8 4 93 62 .667
WHS 7 5 86 81 .583

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 22 CHC @ CIN L 7 8 0-1 7 1.5 -
2 2 Friday, Apr 23 CHC @ CIN L 3 4 0-2 9 2.5 --
3 3 Saturday, Apr 24 CHC @ CIN L 3 4 0-3 10 3.5 ---
4 4 Monday, Apr 26 CHC @ STL W 9 2 1-3 9 3.0 +
5 5 Tuesday, Apr 27 CHC @ STL L 4 10 1-4 10 4.0 -
6 6 Wednesday, Apr 28 CHC @ STL W 6 5 2-4 9 4.0 +
7 7 Thursday, Apr 29 CHC @ LOU L 4 5 2-5 10 4.0 -
8 8 Friday, Apr 30 CHC @ LOU L 2 3 2-6 10 5.0 --
9 9 Saturday, May 1 CHC @ LOU T 5 5 2-6 11 5.5 --
10 10 Tuesday, May 4 CHC STL W 5 2 3-6 8 5.0 +
11 11 Wednesday, May 5 CHC STL L 7 9 3-7 10 5.0 -
12 12 Thursday, May 6 CHC @ CLV L 1 5 3-8 11 6.0 --
13 13 Friday, May 7 CHC @ CLV L 5 6 3-9 11 7.0 ---
14 14 Saturday, May 8 CHC @ CLV L 6 7 3-10 12 8.0 ----
15 15 Sunday, May 9 CHC CIN W 5 2 4-10 12 7.5 +
16 16 Monday, May 10 CHC CIN L 5 7 4-11 12 7.5 -
17 17 Tuesday, May 11 CHC CIN L 5 6 4-12 12 8.5 --
18 18 Wednesday, May 12 CHC CIN W 8 1 5-12 11 8.5 +
19 19 Saturday, May 15 CHC BRO W 6 4 6-12 10 9.0 ++
20 20 Sunday, May 16 CHC BRO L 4 5 6-13 10 10.0 -
21 21 Monday, May 17 CHC BSN L 1 10 6-14 10 11.0 --
22 22 Tuesday, May 18 CHC BSN W 11 5 7-14 10 11.0 +
23 23 Wednesday, May 19 CHC BSN L 6 7 7-15 10 12.0 -
24 24 Thursday, May 20 CHC WHS L 14 16 7-16 10 12.0 --
25 25 Saturday, May 22 CHC WHS W 3 1 8-16 10 10.5 +
26 26 Sunday, May 23 CHC WHS L 12 16 8-17 10 11.0 -
27 27 Monday, May 24 CHC NYG L 1 4 8-18 11 11.5 --
28 28 Tuesday, May 25 CHC NYG L 0 8 8-19 11 12.5 ---
29 29 Wednesday, May 26 CHC NYG W 6 2 9-19 11 12.5 +
30 30 Thursday, May 27 CHC PHI W 6 3 10-19 10 11.5 ++
31 31 Friday, May 28 CHC PHI L 7 11 10-20 10 12.0 -
32 32 Saturday, May 29 CHC PHI L 10 11 10-21 11 13.0 --
33 33 Sunday, May 30 CHC BLN W 9 3 11-21 10 12.0 +
34 34 Monday, May 31 (1) CHC BLN L 4 6 11-22 10 13.0 -
35 35 Monday, May 31 (2) CHC BLN T 6 6 11-22 10 13.0 -
36 36 Wednesday, Jun 2 CHC @ WHS W 6 5 12-22 10 13.0 +
37 37 Friday, Jun 4 CHC @ WHS W 8 5 13-22 10 12.5 ++
38 38 Saturday, Jun 5 CHC @ NYG W 10 4 14-22 10 11.5 +++
39 39 Monday, Jun 7 CHC @ NYG L 6 10 14-23 10 12.5 -
40 40 Thursday, Jun 10 (1) CHC @ PHI L 4 7 14-24 10 13.5 --
41 41 Thursday, Jun 10 (2) CHC @ PHI W 10 7 15-24 10 13.5 +
42 42 Friday, Jun 11 CHC @ PHI L 7 10 15-25 10 14.5 -
43 43 Saturday, Jun 12 CHC @ BRO W 6 5 16-25 10 14.5 +
44 44 Monday, Jun 14 CHC @ BRO L 4 15 16-26 10 15.5 -
45 45 Tuesday, Jun 15 CHC @ BRO W 8 4 17-26 10 15.5 +
46 46 Wednesday, Jun 16 CHC @ BSN L 3 14 17-27 10 16.5 -
47 47 Thursday, Jun 17 CHC @ BSN L 7 19 17-28 10 17.0 --
48 48 Saturday, Jun 19 CHC @ BSN L 3 7 17-29 11 17.5 ---
49 49 Monday, Jun 21 CHC @ PIT W 6 2 18-29 11 16.5 +
50 50 Tuesday, Jun 22 CHC @ PIT L 3 7 18-30 11 17.0 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Wednesday, Jun 23 CHC @ PIT L 5 6 18-31 11 17.5 --
52 52 Thursday, Jun 24 CHC CLV L 2 5 18-32 11 18.5 ---
53 53 Saturday, Jun 26 CHC CLV W 9 3 19-32 11 18.0 +
54 54 Sunday, Jun 27 CHC CLV L 0 5 19-33 11 18.5 -
55 55 Monday, Jun 28 CHC LOU L 2 7 19-34 11 19.5 --
56 56 Tuesday, Jun 29 CHC LOU W 36 7 20-34 11 19.5 +
57 57 Wednesday, Jun 30 CHC LOU L 7 8 20-35 11 20.5 -
58 58 Thursday, Jul 1 CHC PIT W 13 5 21-35 11 20.5 +
59 59 Friday, Jul 2 CHC PIT W 7 4 22-35 11 20.0 ++
60 60 Saturday, Jul 3 CHC PIT L 2 8 22-36 11 21.0 -
61 61 Sunday, Jul 4 CHC WHS W 16 7 23-36 11 20.5 +
62 62 Monday, Jul 5 (1) CHC WHS W 6 4 24-36 11 21.5 ++
63 63 Monday, Jul 5 (2) CHC WHS L 0 4 24-37 11 21.5 -
64 64 Thursday, Jul 8 CHC BSN W 2 1 25-37 10 21.0 +
65 65 Friday, Jul 9 CHC BSN W 8 7 26-37 10 20.0 ++
66 66 Saturday, Jul 10 CHC BSN W 8 7 27-37 10 19.0 +++
67 67 Sunday, Jul 11 CHC BRO L 2 7 27-38 10 19.5 -
68 68 Monday, Jul 12 CHC BRO W 13 9 28-38 10 19.5 +
69 69 Tuesday, Jul 13 CHC BRO W 11 4 29-38 9 18.5 ++
70 70 Wednesday, Jul 14 CHC BRO L 7 15 29-39 9 18.5 -
71 71 Thursday, Jul 15 CHC BLN W 5 3 30-39 9 18.5 +
72 72 Friday, Jul 16 CHC BLN L 1 2 30-40 9 18.5 -
73 73 Saturday, Jul 17 CHC BLN L 2 20 30-41 9 19.5 --
74 74 Sunday, Jul 18 CHC BLN W 6 3 31-41 9 19.0 +
75 75 Monday, Jul 19 CHC PHI W 7 6 32-41 9 19.0 ++
76 76 Tuesday, Jul 20 CHC PHI L 6 9 32-42 8 19.5 -
77 77 Wednesday, Jul 21 CHC PHI L 8 10 32-43 10 20.5 --
78 78 Thursday, Jul 22 CHC NYG W 4 3 33-43 10 20.5 +
79 79 Friday, Jul 23 CHC NYG W 14 3 34-43 9 19.5 ++
80 80 Saturday, Jul 24 CHC NYG L 3 7 34-44 10 20.5 -
81 81 Sunday, Jul 25 CHC LOU W 1 0 35-44 8 20.0 +
82 82 Tuesday, Jul 27 CHC CIN W 4 3 36-44 8 18.5 ++
83 83 Wednesday, Jul 28 CHC CIN L 3 6 36-45 8 19.5 -
84 84 Thursday, Jul 29 CHC PIT L 6 12 36-46 8 20.0 --
85 85 Friday, Jul 30 CHC PIT L 5 7 36-47 8 21.0 ---
86 86 Saturday, Jul 31 CHC PIT W 7 6 37-47 8 21.0 +
87 87 Monday, Aug 2 (1) CHC STL W 10 1 38-47 8 20.0 ++
88 88 Monday, Aug 2 (2) CHC STL W 9 5 39-47 8 20.0 +++
89 89 Tuesday, Aug 3 CHC STL W 7 2 40-47 8 19.5 ++++
90 90 Wednesday, Aug 4 CHC STL L 12 13 40-48 8 20.0 -
91 91 Friday, Aug 6 CHC CLV W 7 5 41-48 7 19.5 +
92 92 Saturday, Aug 7 CHC CLV W 9 8 42-48 7 19.5 ++
93 93 Sunday, Aug 8 CHC CLV W 7 6 43-48 6 19.0 +++
94 94 Monday, Aug 9 CHC @ LOU W 3 2 44-48 6 18.0 ++++
95 95 Tuesday, Aug 10 CHC @ LOU W 16 6 45-48 6 18.0 +++++
96 96 Wednesday, Aug 11 CHC @ LOU L 4 5 45-49 6 19.0 -
97 97 Thursday, Aug 12 CHC @ LOU L 5 6 45-50 6 20.5 --
98 98 Friday, Aug 13 CHC @ CIN W 2 0 46-50 6 19.5 +
99 99 Saturday, Aug 14 CHC @ CIN W 10 9 47-50 6 18.5 ++
100 100 Sunday, Aug 15 CHC @ CIN L 2 3 47-51 6 19.0 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Aug 19 CHC @ WHS W 10 4 48-51 6 19.5 +
102 102 Friday, Aug 20 (1) CHC @ WHS W 6 2 49-51 6 20.0 ++
103 103 Friday, Aug 20 (2) CHC @ WHS L 1 11 49-52 6 20.0 -
104 104 Saturday, Aug 21 CHC @ WHS L 4 6 49-53 6 21.0 --
105 105 Tuesday, Aug 24 (1) CHC @ BLN L 2 3 49-54 6 22.5 ---
106 106 Tuesday, Aug 24 (2) CHC @ BLN T 5 5 49-54 6 22.5 ---
107 107 Wednesday, Aug 25 CHC @ BLN L 1 3 49-55 6 23.0 ----
108 108 Thursday, Aug 26 CHC @ NYG L 6 19 49-56 6 23.0 -----
109 109 Friday, Aug 27 (1) CHC @ NYG L 3 9 49-57 6 23.5 ------
110 110 Friday, Aug 27 (2) CHC @ NYG L 0 6 49-58 6 23.5 -------
111 111 Saturday, Aug 28 CHC @ NYG T 6 6 49-58 6 24.0 -------
112 112 Monday, Aug 30 CHC @ NYG W 7 5 50-58 6 24.0 +
113 113 Tuesday, Aug 31 CHC @ BSN T 8 8 50-58 6 24.0 +
114 114 Wednesday, Sep 1 CHC @ BSN L 4 7 50-59 6 25.0 -
115 115 Friday, Sep 3 (1) CHC @ BSN L 3 6 50-60 6 27.0 --
116 116 Friday, Sep 3 (2) CHC @ BSN L 1 9 50-61 6 27.0 ---
117 117 Saturday, Sep 4 CHC @ BRO L 3 7 50-62 6 28.0 ----
118 118 Monday, Sep 6 (1) CHC @ BRO L 7 14 50-63 6 28.0 -----
119 119 Monday, Sep 6 (2) CHC @ BRO W 12 8 51-63 6 28.0 +
120 120 Wednesday, Sep 8 CHC @ PHI W 6 5 52-63 7 28.0 ++
121 121 Thursday, Sep 9 CHC @ PHI L 4 5 52-64 7 29.0 -
122 122 Friday, Sep 10 CHC @ PHI W 8 6 53-64 7 29.0 +
123 123 Saturday, Sep 11 CHC @ BLN T 3 3 53-64 7 29.5 +
124 124 Monday, Sep 13 (1) CHC @ BLN L 2 4 53-65 8 31.0 -
125 125 Monday, Sep 13 (2) CHC @ BLN L 4 11 53-66 8 31.0 --
126 126 Tuesday, Sep 14 CHC @ BLN L 8 15 53-67 8 32.0 ---
127 127 Wednesday, Sep 15 CHC @ BLN L 2 13 53-68 8 33.0 ----
128 128 Saturday, Sep 18 CHC LOU W 4 2 54-68 9 33.0 +
129 129 Sunday, Sep 19 CHC LOU W 5 2 55-68 9 32.5 ++
130 130 Tuesday, Sep 21 CHC @ CLV L 7 8 55-69 9 33.0 -
131 131 Wednesday, Sep 22 CHC @ CLV L 7 18 55-70 9 33.5 --
132 132 Thursday, Sep 23 CHC @ CLV L 4 8 55-71 9 34.0 ---
133 133 Saturday, Sep 25 CHC @ PIT W 8 1 56-71 9 33.5 +
134 134 Monday, Sep 27 CHC @ PIT L 4 5 56-72 9 34.5 -
135 135 Tuesday, Sep 28 CHC @ PIT W 15 14 57-72 9 34.0 +
136 136 Saturday, Oct 2 CHC @ STL W 8 2 58-72 9 34.0 ++
137 137 Sunday, Oct 3 (1) CHC @ STL L 9 10 58-73 9 34.0 -
138 138 Sunday, Oct 3 (2) CHC @ STL W 7 1 59-73 9 34.0 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1896 / 1898 Schedule and Results