Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Franchise Encyclopedia > 1978 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

1978 Boston Red Sox

Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1977 / 1979

99-64, Finished 2nd in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Don Zimmer (99-64)
GM: Haywood Sullivan (Appointed 10/24/1977), Scouting Dir: Eddie Kasko
Scored 796 runs, Allowed 657 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 96-67

Ballparks: Fenway Park · Attendance: 2,320,643 (2nd of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 112, Pitching - 110 · one-year: Batting - 109, Pitching - 108

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1977 / 1979 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 99-64, Final Rank:2, GB: 1.0
Days in First108last on Sunday, Oct 1, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 127last on Oct 1, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead10last on Saturday, Jul 8, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind3.5last on Saturday, Sep 16, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50037last on Wednesday, Aug 30
Most Games under .5002last on Monday, Apr 10
Longest Winning Streak9Friday, Jun 9 to Saturday, Jun 17
Longest Losing Streak5Thursday, Jul 20 to Monday, Jul 24 and Tuesday, Sep 12 to Saturday, Sep 16
Most Runs Allowed15Thursday, Sep 7
Most Runs Scored13Saturday, Jun 10
Longest Game (innings)17Wednesday, Aug 2
Times Shutout by Opponent5 
Times Opponent Shutout15 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 99 64 796 657 .607
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 59 23 445 334 .720
Road 40 41 351 323 .494
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 11 9 116 99 .550
May 23 7 146 95 .767
June 18 7 140 88 .720
July 13 15 122 124 .464
August 19 10 151 119 .655
September 14 15 112 127 .483
October 1 1 9 5 .500
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 57 26 454 322 .687
Second Half 42 38 342 335 .525
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 87 57 705 576 .604
ExtraInning 11 7 83 80 .611
Shortened 1 0 8 11.000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 32 25 225 218 .561
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 29 11 276 171 .725
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 8 7 55 47 .533
CAL 9 2 59 35 .818
CHW 7 3 56 31 .700
CLE 7 8 81 88 .467
DET 12 3 68 51 .800
KCR 4 6 26 40 .400
MIL 10 5 88 60 .667
MIN 9 2 55 37 .818
NYY 7 9 77 91 .438
OAK 5 5 53 47 .500
SEA 7 3 59 40 .700
TEX 3 7 42 46 .300
TOR 11 4 77 44 .733

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Friday, Apr 7 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 5 6 0-1 5 1.0 LaGrow Drago 2:54 D 50,754 -
2 2 Saturday, Apr 8 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 5 6 0-2 6 2.0 Torrealba Campbell LaGrow 2:36 D 11,832 --
3 3 Sunday, Apr 9 boxscore BOS @ CHW W 5 0 1-2 5 2.0 Lee Wood 2:29 D 30,794 +
4 4 Monday, Apr 10 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 4 5 1-3 6 2.5 Kern Cleveland 2:43 D 4,177 -
5 5 Wednesday, Apr 12 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 6 3 2-3 4 3.0 Torrez Garland Drago 2:34 D 6,234 +
6 6 Friday, Apr 14 boxscore BOS TEX W 5 4 10 3-3 3 2.0 Drago Barker 3:11 D 34,747 ++
7 7 Saturday, Apr 15 boxscore BOS TEX W 12 4 4-3 3 1.0 Lee Ellis 2:30 D 18,624 +++
8 8 Sunday, Apr 16 boxscore BOS TEX W 8 6 5-3 3 1.0 Stanley Umbarger Burgmeier 2:48 D 22,168 ++++
9 9 Monday, Apr 17 boxscore BOS MIL W 9 2 6-3 2 1.0 Torrez Stein 2:45 D 26,075 +++++
10 10 Tuesday, Apr 18 boxscore BOS MIL W 7 6 7-3 2 0.5 Tiant Rodriguez 2:49 D 18,928 ++++++
11 11 Thursday, Apr 20 boxscore BOS MIL W 10 4 8-3 1 Tied Lee Haas 2:35 D 16,238 +++++++
12 12 Friday, Apr 21 boxscore BOS CLE W 9 7 9-3 1 up 0.5 Drago Kern 2:35 N 25,401 ++++++++
13 13 Saturday, Apr 22 boxscore BOS CLE L 4 13 9-4 2 0.5 Wise Ripley 2:52 D 36,005 -
14 14 Sunday, Apr 23 (1) boxscore BOS CLE W 6 3 10-4 2 0.5 Campbell Kinney 2:53 D 0 +
15 15 Sunday, Apr 23 (2) boxscore BOS CLE L 7 10 11 10-5 2 0.5 Kern Stanley Kinney 3:46 N 36,246 -
16 16 Tuesday, Apr 25 boxscore BOS @ MIL W 4 3 11-5 2 1.0 Lee Augustine Drago 2:17 N 9,051 +
17 17 Wednesday, Apr 26 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 4 6 11-6 2 1.0 Caldwell Torrez McClure 2:31 N 8,724 -
18 18 Friday, Apr 28 boxscore BOS @ TEX L 4 5 11 11-7 2 2.0 Cleveland Campbell 3:12 N 29,731 --
19 19 Saturday, Apr 29 boxscore BOS @ TEX L 1 4 11-8 2 3.0 Ellis Eckersley 2:32 N 34,101 ---
20 20 Sunday, Apr 30 boxscore BOS @ TEX L 1 2 11-9 2 3.0 Jenkins Campbell 2:06 D 22,554 ----
21 21 Monday, May 1 boxscore BOS BAL W 9 6 12-9 2 2.5 Torrez Briles Stanley 3:21 N 18,710 +
22 22 Tuesday, May 2 boxscore BOS BAL L 1 3 12-10 3 3.5 Martinez Ripley 2:43 N 19,930 -
23 23 Wednesday, May 3 boxscore BOS MIN W 11 9 13-10 3 3.5 Burgmeier Johnson Stanley 3:36 N 16,403 +
24 24 Thursday, May 4 boxscore BOS MIN W 8 1 14-10 2 3.0 Eckersley Thormodsgard 2:19 N 15,784 ++
25 25 Saturday, May 6 (1) boxscore BOS CHW W 6 4 10 15-10 2 2.0 Stanley Willoughby 3:16 D 0 +++
26 26 Saturday, May 6 (2) boxscore BOS CHW W 3 0 16-10 2 2.0 Wright Barrios 2:11 N 32,238 ++++
27 27 Sunday, May 7 boxscore BOS CHW W 5 0 17-10 2 2.0 Torrez Torrealba 2:00 D 30,921 +++++
28 28 Monday, May 8 boxscore BOS KCR W 8 4 18-10 2 1.5 Stanley Leonard 2:26 N 25,891 ++++++
29 29 Tuesday, May 9 boxscore BOS KCR W 4 3 19-10 2 0.5 Eckersley Colborn 2:09 N 22,369 +++++++
30 30 Wednesday, May 10 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 2 3 19-11 2 1.0 Flanagan Burgmeier 2:21 N 10,023 -
31 31 Thursday, May 11 boxscore BOS @ BAL W 5 4 20-11 2 0.5 Lee Martinez Drago 3:18 N 14,950 +
32 32 Saturday, May 13 boxscore BOS @ MIN W 4 2 21-11 1 up 1.0 Torrez Zahn Burgmeier 2:42 D 7,914 ++
33 33 Sunday, May 14 boxscore BOS @ MIN W 6 2 22-11 1 up 1.0 Eckersley Thormodsgard Burgmeier 2:50 D 7,008 +++
34 34 Monday, May 15 boxscore BOS @ KCR L 1 3 22-12 1 Tied Gale Ripley 2:27 N 34,166 -
35 35 Tuesday, May 16 boxscore BOS @ KCR W 3 2 23-12 1 Tied Lee Splittorff 2:10 N 23,474 +
36 36 Friday, May 19 boxscore BOS @ DET L 5 7 23-13 2 1.0 Sykes Torrez Hiller 2:30 N 48,817 -
37 37 Saturday, May 20 boxscore BOS @ DET W 6 5 24-13 1 Tied Campbell Foucault 2:53 D 30,856 +
38 38 Sunday, May 21 (1) boxscore BOS @ DET L 1 2 24-14 1 Tied Wilcox Lee 2:27 D 0 -
39 39 Sunday, May 21 (2) boxscore BOS @ DET W 9 3 25-14 1 Tied Tiant Rozema 2:53 N 52,368 +
40 40 Monday, May 22 boxscore BOS @ TOR W 5 4 26-14 1 up 0.5 Ripley Clancy Stanley 2:32 D 25,054 ++
41 41 Tuesday, May 23 boxscore BOS @ TOR L 1 2 12 26-15 1 up 0.5 Jefferson Campbell 3:00 N 14,578 -
42 42 Wednesday, May 24 boxscore BOS @ TOR W 8 2 27-15 1 up 1.0 Torrez Lemanczyk 2:15 N 28,825 +
43 43 Thursday, May 25 boxscore BOS @ TOR W 9 5 28-15 1 up 1.0 Eckersley Underwood Drago 2:41 N 17,197 ++
44 44 Friday, May 26 boxscore BOS DET W 6 3 29-15 1 up 1.0 Lee Wilcox 2:21 N 33,431 +++
45 45 Saturday, May 27 boxscore BOS DET W 1 0 30-15 1 up 2.0 Tiant Morris 2:31 D 33,335 ++++
46 46 Sunday, May 28 (1) boxscore BOS DET W 4 3 10 31-15 1 up 2.0 Stanley Hiller 2:45 D 0 +++++
47 47 Sunday, May 28 (2) boxscore BOS DET W 4 3 32-15 1 up 2.0 Wright Slaton Drago 2:19 D 34,672 ++++++
48 48 Monday, May 29 boxscore BOS TOR W 5 4 33-15 1 up 2.0 Torrez Underwood 2:14 D 25,935 +++++++
49 49 Tuesday, May 30 boxscore BOS TOR W 4 0 34-15 1 up 3.0 Eckersley Garvin 2:17 N 25,853 ++++++++
50 50 Wednesday, May 31 boxscore BOS TOR L 2 6 34-16 1 up 3.0 Clancy Lee 2:33 N 27,945 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Friday, Jun 2 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 6 1 35-16 1 up 3.5 Tiant Ryan Drago 2:39 N 31,324 +
52 52 Saturday, Jun 3 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 5 4 36-16 1 up 4.5 Torrez Hartzell Campbell 2:17 N 34,228 ++
53 53 Sunday, Jun 4 boxscore BOS @ CAL L 2 4 36-17 1 up 4.5 Tanana Eckersley LaRoche 2:38 D 29,911 -
54 54 Monday, Jun 5 boxscore BOS @ OAK L 7 9 36-18 1 up 4.5 Broberg Ripley Sosa 2:56 N 36,463 --
55 55 Tuesday, Jun 6 boxscore BOS @ OAK L 1 7 36-19 1 up 4.5 Renko Lee 2:28 N 7,914 ---
56 56 Friday, Jun 9 boxscore BOS @ SEA W 3 2 37-19 1 up 4.0 Tiant Mitchell 2:39 N 11,677 +
57 57 Saturday, Jun 10 boxscore BOS @ SEA W 13 1 38-19 1 up 5.0 Torrez Pole 2:34 N 15,910 ++
58 58 Sunday, Jun 11 boxscore BOS @ SEA W 5 3 39-19 1 up 6.0 Eckersley McLaughlin Campbell 2:23 D 18,626 +++
59 59 Monday, Jun 12 boxscore BOS CAL W 10 9 40-19 1 up 6.0 Campbell LaRoche 3:15 N 31,652 ++++
60 60 Tuesday, Jun 13 boxscore BOS CAL W 5 0 41-19 1 up 6.0 Wright Knapp 2:12 N 26,539 +++++
61 61 Wednesday, Jun 14 boxscore BOS OAK W 9 0 42-19 1 up 6.0 Tiant Broberg 2:10 N 29,690 ++++++
62 62 Thursday, Jun 15 boxscore BOS OAK W 7 3 43-19 1 up 6.0 Torrez Lacey 2:55 N 32,281 +++++++
63 63 Friday, Jun 16 boxscore BOS SEA W 6 3 44-19 1 up 7.0 Campbell Pole 2:41 N 31,519 ++++++++
64 64 Saturday, Jun 17 boxscore BOS SEA W 5 4 45-19 1 up 7.0 Stanley Montague 2:13 D 32,551 +++++++++
65 65 Sunday, Jun 18 boxscore BOS SEA L 2 3 45-20 1 up 6.5 Abbott Wright 2:46 D 28,961 -
66 66 Monday, Jun 19 boxscore BOS NYY W 10 4 46-20 1 up 7.0 Burgmeier Gossage 2:48 N 33,163 +
67 67 Tuesday, Jun 20 boxscore BOS NYY L 4 10 46-21 1 up 6.0 Gullett Torrez 3:13 N 32,643 -
68 68 Wednesday, Jun 21 boxscore BOS NYY W 9 2 47-21 1 up 7.0 Eckersley Beattie 2:38 N 32,459 +
69 69 Friday, Jun 23 boxscore BOS BAL W 5 2 48-21 1 up 7.5 Lee Palmer 2:19 N 34,582 ++
70 70 Saturday, Jun 24 boxscore BOS BAL W 8 3 49-21 1 up 8.5 Tiant McGregor 2:42 D 32,213 +++
71 71 Sunday, Jun 25 boxscore BOS BAL W 4 1 50-21 1 up 8.5 Torrez Martinez 2:48 D 33,526 ++++
72 72 Monday, Jun 26 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 4 1 51-21 1 up 9.5 Eckersley Messersmith Campbell 3:01 N 52,124 +++++
73 73 Tuesday, Jun 27 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 4 6 14 51-22 1 up 8.5 Lyle Drago 4:08 N 55,132 -
74 74 Thursday, Jun 29 boxscore BOS @ BAL W 4 3 52-22 1 up 9.0 Ripley Martinez 2:57 N 28,899 +
75 75 Friday, Jun 30 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 2 3 11 52-23 1 up 8.0 Stanhouse Tiant 3:01 N 33,034 -
76 76 Saturday, Jul 1 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 2 3 11 52-24 1 up 7.0 Briles Torrez 3:24 N 38,542 --
77 77 Monday, Jul 3 boxscore BOS NYY W 9 5 53-24 1 up 8.5 Eckersley Figueroa 2:54 N 34,722 +
78 78 Wednesday, Jul 5 boxscore BOS @ CHW W 9 2 54-24 1 up10.0 Lee Stone Stanley 2:36 N 26,434 ++
79 79 Thursday, Jul 6 boxscore BOS @ CHW W 7 6 10 55-24 1 up10.0 Campbell Willoughby 3:15 N 29,330 +++
80 80 Friday, Jul 7 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 9 10 55-25 1 up 9.5 Spillner Campbell 3:28 N 19,543 -
81 81 Saturday, Jul 8 (1) boxscore BOS @ CLE W 12 5 56-25 1 up10.0 Eckersley Paxton 2:41 N 0 +
82 82 Saturday, Jul 8 (2) boxscore BOS @ CLE W 3 2 57-25 1 up10.0 Wright Clyde Stanley 2:20 N 41,859 ++
83 83 Sunday, Jul 9 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 1 7 57-26 1 up 9.0 Wise Ripley 2:35 D 41,394 -
84 84 Thursday, Jul 13 boxscore BOS TEX L 7 12 57-27 1 up 8.0 Ellis Tiant 2:49 N 33,995 --
85 85 Friday, Jul 14 boxscore BOS TEX L 3 4 57-28 1 up 8.0 Jenkins Torrez Cleveland 2:45 N 32,899 ---
86 86 Saturday, Jul 15 boxscore BOS MIN W 5 4 58-28 1 up 8.0 Lee Jackson Stanley 2:49 D 32,861 +
87 87 Sunday, Jul 16 (1) boxscore BOS MIN W 5 3 59-28 1 up 8.5 Eckersley Harrison Campbell 2:59 D 0 ++
88 88 Sunday, Jul 16 (2) boxscore BOS MIN W 3 2 60-28 1 up 8.5 Wright Erickson Stanley 2:22 N 35,589 +++
89 89 Monday, Jul 17 boxscore BOS MIN W 3 2 10 61-28 1 up 8.5 Campbell Marshall 3:17 N 33,233 ++++
90 90 Wednesday, Jul 19 boxscore BOS @ MIL W 8 2 62-28 1 up 9.0 Torrez Sorensen 2:25 N 45,332 +++++
91 91 Thursday, Jul 20 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 6 8 62-29 1 up 8.0 Rodriguez Lee McClure 2:45 N 35,044 -
92 92 Friday, Jul 21 boxscore BOS @ KCR L 0 9 62-30 1 up 7.0 Splittorff Eckersley 2:18 N 39,841 --
93 93 Saturday, Jul 22 boxscore BOS @ KCR L 5 6 10 62-31 1 up 6.0 Hrabosky Drago 3:08 D 37,538 ---
94 94 Sunday, Jul 23 boxscore BOS @ KCR L 3 7 62-32 1 up 5.0 Pattin Wright 2:30 D 39,425 ----
95 95 Monday, Jul 24 (1) boxscore BOS @ MIN L 4 5 62-33 1 up 5.5 Jackson Drago Marshall 2:36 D 0 -----
96 96 Monday, Jul 24 (2) boxscore BOS @ MIN W 4 2 63-33 1 up 5.5 Hassler Zahn Stanley 3:01 N 21,580 +
97 97 Tuesday, Jul 25 boxscore BOS @ MIN L 2 5 63-34 1 up 5.5 Erickson Lee Marshall 2:52 N 18,608 -
98 98 Wednesday, Jul 26 boxscore BOS @ TEX L 0 2 63-35 1 up 5.5 Medich Eckersley 2:27 N 21,671 --
99 99 Thursday, Jul 27 boxscore BOS @ TEX L 1 3 63-36 1 up 4.5 Matlack Tiant 2:06 N 29,684 ---
100 100 Friday, Jul 28 boxscore BOS KCR L 0 4 63-37 1 up 4.5 Gale Torrez 2:29 N 35,348 ----
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Saturday, Jul 29 boxscore BOS KCR W 1 0 64-37 1 up 5.5 Wright Leonard 2:21 D 35,098 +
102 102 Sunday, Jul 30 boxscore BOS KCR L 1 2 64-38 1 up 4.5 Splittorff Lee Hrabosky 2:31 D 34,626 -
103 103 Monday, Jul 31 boxscore BOS CHW W 9 2 65-38 1 up 5.5 Eckersley Kravec 2:56 N 28,858 +
104 104 Tuesday, Aug 1 boxscore BOS CHW L 2 5 65-39 1 up 5.0 Proly Tiant 2:22 N 30,020 -
105 105 Wednesday, Aug 2 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 7 5 17 66-39 1 up 5.0 Stanley Clay 5:00 N 52,701 +
106 106 Thursday, Aug 3 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 8 1 7 67-39 1 up 6.0 Torrez Beattie 2:15 N 53,379 ++
107 107 Friday, Aug 4 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 2 6 67-40 1 up 5.0 Sorensen Lee 2:10 N 52,562 -
108 108 Saturday, Aug 5 boxscore BOS @ MIL W 8 1 68-40 1 up 6.0 Eckersley Rodriguez 2:31 D 52,968 +
109 109 Sunday, Aug 6 boxscore BOS @ MIL W 4 0 69-40 1 up 7.0 Tiant Travers 2:30 D 48,444 ++
110 110 Tuesday, Aug 8 boxscore BOS CLE W 9 7 70-40 1 up 8.0 Stanley Freisleben 2:46 N 34,485 +++
111 111 Wednesday, Aug 9 boxscore BOS CLE L 1 5 70-41 1 up 7.5 Wise Lee Kern 2:38 N 33,285 -
112 112 Thursday, Aug 10 boxscore BOS CLE W 6 5 13 71-41 1 up 7.5 Stanley Spillner 4:38 D 33,541 +
113 113 Friday, Aug 11 boxscore BOS MIL L 5 10 71-42 1 up 6.5 Rodriguez Tiant 3:29 N 35,142 -
114 114 Saturday, Aug 12 (1) boxscore BOS MIL W 3 1 72-42 1 up 8.0 Wright Travers 2:14 D 33,092 +
115 115 Saturday, Aug 12 (2) boxscore BOS MIL W 11 4 73-42 1 up 8.0 Stanley Caldwell 2:25 N 27,030 ++
116 116 Sunday, Aug 13 boxscore BOS MIL W 4 3 10 74-42 1 up 9.0 Torrez Castro 3:18 D 34,460 +++
117 117 Monday, Aug 14 boxscore BOS MIL L 3 4 74-43 1 up 8.0 Sorensen Lee McClure 2:41 N 33,766 -
118 118 Tuesday, Aug 15 boxscore BOS @ CAL L 2 5 74-44 1 up 7.0 Tanana Eckersley 2:23 N 41,144 --
119 119 Wednesday, Aug 16 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 4 2 75-44 1 up 7.0 Tiant Ryan 3:06 N 37,535 +
120 120 Thursday, Aug 17 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 8 6 76-44 1 up 7.5 Stanley Griffin 3:28 N 30,486 ++
121 121 Friday, Aug 18 boxscore BOS @ OAK W 6 3 77-44 1 up 7.5 Torrez Renko Drago 2:44 N 12,730 +++
122 122 Saturday, Aug 19 boxscore BOS @ OAK L 4 8 77-45 1 up 7.5 Johnson Lee Lacey 2:41 D 11,806 -
123 123 Sunday, Aug 20 boxscore BOS @ OAK W 4 2 78-45 1 up 8.5 Eckersley Keough 2:32 D 13,411 +
124 124 Tuesday, Aug 22 boxscore BOS @ SEA L 2 5 78-46 1 up 7.0 Abbott Tiant 2:06 N 21,486 -
125 125 Wednesday, Aug 23 boxscore BOS @ SEA L 3 5 78-47 1 up 6.0 McLaughlin Torrez Romo 2:22 N 22,718 --
126 126 Friday, Aug 25 boxscore BOS CAL W 6 0 79-47 1 up 7.5 Eckersley Aase 2:28 N 33,583 +
127 127 Saturday, Aug 26 boxscore BOS CAL W 7 1 80-47 1 up 7.5 Wright Hartzell 2:18 D 33,531 ++
128 128 Sunday, Aug 27 boxscore BOS CAL W 4 3 12 81-47 1 up 7.5 Stanley Miller 4:14 D 34,216 +++
129 129 Monday, Aug 28 boxscore BOS SEA W 10 9 82-47 1 up 7.5 Stanley Romo 3:01 N 24,301 ++++
130 130 Tuesday, Aug 29 boxscore BOS SEA W 10 5 83-47 1 up 7.5 Drago McLaughlin Burgmeier 2:36 N 32,393 +++++
131 131 Wednesday, Aug 30 (1) boxscore BOS TOR W 2 1 84-47 1 up 7.0 Eckersley Kirkwood 2:15 N 0 ++++++
132 132 Wednesday, Aug 30 (2) boxscore BOS TOR L 6 7 84-48 1 up 7.0 Cruz Stanley 3:07 N 32,825 -
133 133 Friday, Sep 1 boxscore BOS OAK L 1 5 84-49 1 up 6.5 Keough Tiant 2:59 N 30,156 --
134 134 Saturday, Sep 2 boxscore BOS OAK L 3 4 84-50 1 up 5.5 Langford Torrez Heaverlo 2:36 N 33,051 ---
135 135 Sunday, Sep 3 boxscore BOS OAK W 11 6 85-50 1 up 5.5 Stanley Broberg 3:01 D 29,029 +
136 136 Monday, Sep 4 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 3 5 85-51 1 up 5.0 McGregor Eckersley Stanhouse 2:37 N -
137 137 Tuesday, Sep 5 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 1 4 85-52 1 up 4.0 Palmer Sprowl Stanhouse 2:58 N 15,644 --
138 138 Wednesday, Sep 6 boxscore BOS @ BAL W 2 0 86-52 1 up 4.0 Tiant Martinez 2:20 N 11,251 +
139 139 Thursday, Sep 7 boxscore BOS NYY L 3 15 86-53 1 up 3.0 Clay Torrez 3:09 N 34,119 -
140 140 Friday, Sep 8 boxscore BOS NYY L 2 13 86-54 1 up 2.0 Beattie Wright 2:55 N 33,134 --
141 141 Saturday, Sep 9 boxscore BOS NYY L 0 7 86-55 1 up 1.0 Guidry Eckersley 2:26 D 33,611 ---
142 142 Sunday, Sep 10 boxscore BOS NYY L 4 7 86-56 1 Tied Figueroa Sprowl Gossage 2:57 D 32,786 ----
143 143 Monday, Sep 11 boxscore BOS BAL W 5 4 87-56 1 up 0.5 Stanley Kerrigan 2:44 N 28,575 +
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 12 boxscore BOS BAL L 2 3 87-57 1 up 0.5 Martinez Torrez 2:36 N 28,924 -
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 13 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 1 2 87-58 2 0.5 Clyde Eckersley Kern 2:15 N 5,568 --
146 146 Thursday, Sep 14 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 3 4 87-59 2 1.5 Paxton Wright Kern 2:28 N 4,479 ---
147 147 Friday, Sep 15 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 0 4 87-60 2 2.5 Guidry Tiant 2:24 N 54,901 ----
148 148 Saturday, Sep 16 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 2 3 87-61 2 3.5 Hunter Torrez 2:38 D 55,091 -----
149 149 Sunday, Sep 17 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 7 3 88-61 2 2.5 Eckersley Beattie Stanley 2:40 D 55,088 +
150 150 Monday, Sep 18 boxscore BOS @ DET W 5 4 11 89-61 2 2.5 Hassler Baker 3:22 N 13,849 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Tuesday, Sep 19 boxscore BOS @ DET W 8 6 90-61 2 1.5 Campbell Morris Hassler 3:03 N 15,901 +++
152 152 Wednesday, Sep 20 boxscore BOS @ DET L 2 12 90-62 2 2.0 Rozema Torrez 2:53 N 16,689 -
153 153 Thursday, Sep 21 boxscore BOS @ DET W 5 1 91-62 2 2.0 Eckersley Wilcox 2:24 N 15,213 +
154 154 Friday, Sep 22 boxscore BOS @ TOR L 4 5 91-63 2 2.0 Murphy Hassler 2:40 N 22,172 -
155 155 Saturday, Sep 23 boxscore BOS @ TOR W 3 1 92-63 2 1.0 Tiant Jefferson 2:53 D 30,059 +
156 156 Sunday, Sep 24 boxscore BOS @ TOR W 7 6 14 93-63 2 1.0 Drago Buskey 4:56 D 33,618 ++
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 26 boxscore BOS DET W 6 0 94-63 2 1.0 Eckersley Rozema 2:38 N 27,078 +++
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 27 boxscore BOS DET W 5 2 95-63 2 1.0 Tiant Wilcox Stanley 2:18 N 26,035 ++++
159 159 Thursday, Sep 28 boxscore BOS DET W 1 0 96-63 2 1.0 Torrez Young 2:21 N 26,774 +++++
160 160 Friday, Sep 29 boxscore BOS TOR W 11 0 97-63 2 1.0 Stanley Clancy 2:23 N 29,626 ++++++
161 161 Saturday, Sep 30 boxscore BOS TOR W 5 1 98-63 2 1.0 Eckersley Jefferson 2:09 D 32,659 +++++++
162 162 Sunday, Oct 1 boxscore BOS TOR W 5 0 99-63 1 Tied Tiant Kirkwood 2:11 D 29,201 ++++++++
163 163 Monday, Oct 2 boxscore BOS NYY L 4 5 99-64 2 1.0 Guidry Torrez Gossage 2:52 D 32,925 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1977 / 1979 Schedule, Box Scores and Splits