Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1977 Schedule and Results

1977 Boston Red Sox

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1976 / 1978

97-64, Finished 2nd in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Don Zimmer (97-64)
GM: Dick O'Connell (Fired 10/24/1977), Farm Dir: Ed Kenney
Scored 859 runs, Allowed 712 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 94-67

Ballparks: Fenway Park · Attendance: 2,074,549 (2nd of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 113, Pitching - 111 · one-year: Batting - 118, Pitching - 117

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1976 / 1978 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 97-64, Final Rank:2, GB: 2.5
Days in First44last on Monday, Aug 22, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 49last on Aug 22, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead5last on Thursday, Jun 23, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind4.5last on Sunday, Sep 18, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50034last on Friday, Sep 30
Most Games under .5004last on Wednesday, Apr 13
Longest Winning Streak11Thursday, Jul 28 to Wednesday, Aug 10
Longest Losing Streak9Friday, Jun 24 to Sunday, Jul 3
Most Runs Allowed19Sunday, Apr 10
Most Runs Scored17Saturday, May 28
Longest Game (innings)11Thursday, Apr 7, Monday, May 16, Friday, Jun 24 and Sunday, Jul 10
Times Shutout by Opponent6 
Times Opponent Shutout13 
Walkoff Wins3 
Walkoff Losses6 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 97 64 859 712 .602
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 51 29 495 407 .638
Road 46 35 364 305 .568
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 9 9 91 90 .500
May 15 12 152 153 .556
June 17 10 136 90 .630
July 17 12 159 146 .586
August 17 12 148 126 .586
September 22 8 166 99 .733
October 0 1 7 8 .000
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 51 38 470 419 .573
Second Half 46 26 389 293 .639
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 91 62 811 671 .595
ExtraInning 6 2 48 41 .750
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 24 21 192 189 .533
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 24 16 287 221 .600
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 8 6 89 79 .571
CAL 7 3 45 46 .700
CHW 3 7 46 56 .300
CLE 8 7 79 84 .533
DET 9 6 76 54 .600
KCR 5 5 48 45 .500
MIL 9 6 92 85 .600
MIN 4 6 42 59 .400
NYY 8 7 76 54 .533
OAK 8 3 48 31 .727
SEA 10 1 84 42 .909
TEX 6 4 39 36 .600
TOR 12 3 95 41 .800

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 7 boxscore BOS CLE L 4 5 11 0-1 4 1.0 LaRoche Campbell 3:20 D 34,790 -
2 2 Sunday, Apr 10 boxscore BOS CLE L 9 19 0-2 5 2.0 LaRoche Campbell 3:57 D 14,931 --
3 3 Tuesday, Apr 12 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 2 5 0-3 6 2.0 Brett Wise Hamilton 2:19 D 34,612 ---
4 4 Wednesday, Apr 13 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 3 7 0-4 6 3.0 Johnson Jenkins LaGrow 2:20 D 5,344 ----
5 5 Saturday, Apr 16 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 8 4 1-4 4 3.0 Tiant Garland Stanley 2:43 D 51,165 +
6 6 Sunday, Apr 17 (1) boxscore BOS @ CLE W 4 1 2-4 5 3.5 Cleveland Fitzmorris 2:45 D 0 ++
7 7 Sunday, Apr 17 (2) boxscore BOS @ CLE L 5 10 2-5 5 3.5 Bibby Murphy LaRoche 2:23 D 15,439 -
8 8 Monday, Apr 18 boxscore BOS DET W 5 3 3-5 5 3.0 Jenkins Arroyo Willoughby 2:26 D 30,059 +
9 9 Tuesday, Apr 19 boxscore BOS DET W 11 3 4-5 4 3.0 Stanley Bare 2:28 N 16,941 ++
10 10 Wednesday, Apr 20 boxscore BOS DET L 2 3 4-6 4 3.0 Ruhle Tiant Hiller 2:17 N 20,289 -
11 11 Thursday, Apr 21 boxscore BOS DET L 0 8 4-7 5 3.5 Rozema Cleveland 2:10 D 24,903 --
12 12 Sunday, Apr 24 boxscore BOS @ TOR W 9 0 5-7 5 3.5 Jenkins Singer 2:24 D 29,303 +
13 13 Monday, Apr 25 (1) boxscore BOS @ TOR L 3 4 5-8 5 3.5 Vuckovich Campbell 2:25 D 0 -
14 14 Monday, Apr 25 (2) boxscore BOS @ TOR W 6 5 6-8 5 3.5 Willoughby Vuckovich 2:38 D 15,016 +
15 15 Tuesday, Apr 26 boxscore BOS @ MIL W 3 1 7-8 3 2.5 Wise Augustine Campbell 2:41 N 12,676 ++
16 16 Wednesday, Apr 27 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 2 4 7-9 5 3.5 Castro Cleveland 2:23 N 10,646 -
17 17 Friday, Apr 29 boxscore BOS OAK W 7 4 8-9 4 3.5 Jenkins Ellis Campbell 2:09 N 17,411 +
18 18 Saturday, Apr 30 boxscore BOS OAK W 8 4 9-9 4 2.5 Tiant Norris 2:45 D 22,999 ++
19 19 Sunday, May 1 boxscore BOS OAK W 6 4 10-9 4 2.0 Campbell Bahnsen 2:34 D 22,053 +++
20 20 Tuesday, May 3 boxscore BOS SEA L 8 10 10-10 4 3.5 Montague Wise Pagan 3:07 N 12,422 -
21 21 Wednesday, May 4 boxscore BOS SEA W 5 2 11-10 4 2.5 Cleveland Thomas Campbell 2:25 N 11,408 +
22 22 Thursday, May 5 boxscore BOS SEA W 5 2 12-10 3 1.5 Jenkins Segui 2:15 N 10,358 ++
23 23 Friday, May 6 boxscore BOS CAL L 4 8 12-11 4 1.5 Ryan Tiant Hartzell 3:03 N 24,301 -
24 24 Saturday, May 7 boxscore BOS CAL W 3 0 13-11 4 1.5 Stanley Tanana 2:16 D 28,426 +
25 25 Sunday, May 8 boxscore BOS CAL W 4 3 14-11 4 1.5 Willoughby Ross 2:17 D 20,864 ++
26 26 Monday, May 9 boxscore BOS @ OAK L 1 2 14-12 4 2.0 Blue Cleveland 2:13 N 17,290 -
27 27 Wednesday, May 11 boxscore BOS @ OAK L 1 3 14-13 3 2.0 Medich Jenkins 2:14 D 3,183 --
28 28 Friday, May 13 boxscore BOS @ SEA W 7 5 15-13 3 1.5 Willoughby Romo Campbell 2:33 N 20,523 +
29 29 Saturday, May 14 boxscore BOS @ SEA W 8 4 16-13 3 1.5 Stanley Thomas Campbell 2:29 N 52,485 ++
30 30 Sunday, May 15 boxscore BOS @ SEA W 5 4 17-13 3 1.0 Lee Jones Campbell 2:50 D 47,353 +++
31 31 Monday, May 16 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 8 7 11 18-13 1 Tied Campbell Hartzell 2:51 N 11,714 ++++
32 32 Tuesday, May 17 boxscore BOS @ CAL L 2 6 18-14 2 0.5 Simpson Jenkins Hartzell 2:18 N 13,883 -
33 33 Friday, May 20 boxscore BOS MIL L 7 15 18-15 3 1.0 Augustine Tiant 2:48 N 25,991 --
34 34 Saturday, May 21 boxscore BOS MIL W-wo 10 9 19-15 2 0.5 House Castro 3:07 D 25,405 +
35 35 Sunday, May 22 (1) boxscore BOS MIL W 14 10 20-15 2 0.5 Campbell Folkers 3:14 D 0 ++
36 36 Sunday, May 22 (2) boxscore BOS MIL L 0 6 20-16 2 0.5 Rodriguez Jenkins 2:45 N 29,653 -
37 37 Monday, May 23 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 4 3 21-16 2 0.5 Lee Figueroa Campbell 2:20 N 31,261 +
38 38 Tuesday, May 24 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 5 6 21-17 2 1.5 Tidrow Tiant 2:16 N 27,013 -
39 39 Wednesday, May 25 (1) boxscore BOS MIN L 5 13 21-18 3 2.5 Goltz Stanley Burgmeier 3:15 N 0 --
40 40 Wednesday, May 25 (2) boxscore BOS MIN L 4 9 21-19 3 2.5 Thormodsgard Paxton 2:53 N 24,686 ---
41 41 Friday, May 27 boxscore BOS KCR W 10 1 22-19 3 2.5 Jenkins Leonard 2:23 N 23,472 +
42 42 Saturday, May 28 boxscore BOS KCR W 17 12 23-19 2 2.5 Campbell Pattin 3:21 D 26,126 ++
43 43 Sunday, May 29 boxscore BOS KCR L 0 3 23-20 3 2.5 Colborn Stanley Littell 2:40 D 26,920 -
44 44 Monday, May 30 boxscore BOS NYY L 4 5 23-21 3 3.5 Torrez Lee 2:24 N 35,521 --
45 45 Tuesday, May 31 boxscore BOS NYY W 5 1 24-21 3 2.5 Cleveland Patterson 2:04 N 30,102 +
46 46 Wednesday, Jun 1 boxscore BOS @ TEX W 7 5 25-21 2 1.5 Paxton Alexander Campbell 2:44 N 11,731 ++
47 47 Thursday, Jun 2 boxscore BOS @ TEX L 1 3 25-22 3 1.5 Knowles Jenkins 2:37 N 12,158 -
48 48 Friday, Jun 3 boxscore BOS @ MIN L 2 6 25-23 3 2.5 Goltz Stanley 2:26 N 11,852 --
49 49 Saturday, Jun 4 boxscore BOS @ MIN W 5 2 26-23 3 2.0 Lee Thormodsgard 2:12 D 15,290 +
50 50 Sunday, Jun 5 boxscore BOS @ MIN W 5 1 27-23 3 1.0 Cleveland Burgmeier Campbell 2:35 D 37,756 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Monday, Jun 6 boxscore BOS @ KCR W 1 0 28-23 3 1.0 Tiant Leonard Campbell 2:53 N 25,881 +++
52 52 Tuesday, Jun 7 boxscore BOS @ KCR L-wo 4 5 28-24 3 1.0 Littell Paxton 2:36 N 21,184 -
53 53 Wednesday, Jun 8 boxscore BOS BAL W 14 5 29-24 2 1.0 Wise Martinez 3:18 N 22,943 +
54 54 Thursday, Jun 9 boxscore BOS BAL W 7 3 30-24 2 1.0 Lee Palmer Campbell 2:46 N 24,064 ++
55 55 Sunday, Jun 12 (1) boxscore BOS TEX W-wo 3 2 31-24 2 0.5 Cleveland Devine 2:29 D 0 +++
56 56 Sunday, Jun 12 (2) boxscore BOS TEX W 2 0 32-24 2 0.5 Tiant Briles 2:27 D 31,038 ++++
57 57 Monday, Jun 13 boxscore BOS CHW W-wo 5 4 10 33-24 1 up 0.5 Campbell Anderson 2:45 N 23,114 +++++
58 58 Tuesday, Jun 14 boxscore BOS CHW W 7 1 34-24 1 up 0.5 Wise Knapp Campbell 2:05 N 27,147 ++++++
59 59 Thursday, Jun 16 boxscore BOS CHW L 3 7 34-25 2 0.5 Stone Tiant LaGrow 2:35 N 32,031 -
60 60 Friday, Jun 17 boxscore BOS NYY W 9 4 35-25 1 up 0.5 Stanley Clay Campbell 2:27 N 34,557 +
61 61 Saturday, Jun 18 boxscore BOS NYY W 10 4 36-25 1 up 1.5 Cleveland Torrez Campbell 2:38 D 34,603 ++
62 62 Sunday, Jun 19 boxscore BOS NYY W 11 1 37-25 1 up 2.5 Jenkins Figueroa 2:23 D 34,750 +++
63 63 Monday, Jun 20 boxscore BOS @ BAL W 4 0 38-25 1 up 3.5 Wise May 3:03 N 23,815 ++++
64 64 Tuesday, Jun 21 boxscore BOS @ BAL W 7 0 39-25 1 up 4.5 Tiant Martinez 2:27 N 24,174 +++++
65 65 Wednesday, Jun 22 boxscore BOS @ BAL W 7 4 40-25 1 up 4.5 Paxton Palmer Campbell 2:22 N 27,134 ++++++
66 66 Thursday, Jun 23 boxscore BOS @ BAL W 7 3 41-25 1 up 5.0 Jenkins Flanagan 2:42 N 27,810 +++++++
67 67 Friday, Jun 24 boxscore BOS @ NYY L-wo 5 6 11 41-26 1 up 4.0 Lyle Hernandez 2:50 N 54,940 -
68 68 Saturday, Jun 25 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 1 5 41-27 1 up 3.0 Torrez Tiant 2:14 D 47,481 --
69 69 Sunday, Jun 26 boxscore BOS @ NYY L-wo 4 5 41-28 1 up 2.0 Lyle Campbell 2:50 D 55,039 ---
70 70 Monday, Jun 27 boxscore BOS @ DET L 1 4 41-29 1 up 2.0 Roberts Wise 2:09 N 14,433 ----
71 71 Tuesday, Jun 28 boxscore BOS @ DET L-wo 2 3 41-30 1 up 1.5 Crawford Campbell 2:14 N 13,403 -----
72 72 Wednesday, Jun 29 boxscore BOS @ DET L 2 7 41-31 1 up 1.0 Fidrych Lee 2:13 N 51,745 ------
73 73 Friday, Jul 1 boxscore BOS BAL L 2 8 41-32 1 up 0.5 Palmer Tiant 2:52 N 33,481 -------
74 74 Saturday, Jul 2 boxscore BOS BAL L 2 5 41-33 2 0.5 Flanagan Cleveland 2:18 N 32,987 --------
75 75 Sunday, Jul 3 boxscore BOS BAL L 8 12 41-34 2 1.0 Martinez Wise Drago 3:14 D 31,081 ---------
76 76 Monday, Jul 4 boxscore BOS TOR W 9 6 42-34 2 1.0 Campbell Hartenstein 2:46 D 21,073 +
77 77 Wednesday, Jul 6 boxscore BOS TOR W 9 5 43-34 3 1.0 Campbell Vuckovich 2:58 N 34,956 ++
78 78 Thursday, Jul 7 boxscore BOS TOR W 5 2 44-34 2 1.0 Stanley Jefferson Campbell 2:26 N 32,641 +++
79 79 Friday, Jul 8 boxscore BOS @ MIL W 7 3 45-34 2 1.0 Cleveland Slaton 2:29 N 31,663 ++++
80 80 Saturday, Jul 9 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 2 3 45-35 2 1.0 Augustine Jenkins Castro 2:03 D 25,372 -
81 81 Sunday, Jul 10 (1) boxscore BOS @ MIL W 8 5 11 46-35 1 up 0.5 Campbell Rodriguez 4:17 D 0 +
82 82 Sunday, Jul 10 (2) boxscore BOS @ MIL W 7 3 47-35 1 up 0.5 Wise Caldwell 2:46 N 28,887 ++
83 83 Monday, Jul 11 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 2 1 48-35 1 up 0.5 Stanley Bibby 2:06 N 12,573 +++
84 84 Tuesday, Jul 12 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 1 7 48-36 1 up 0.5 Eckersley Cleveland 2:20 N 14,425 -
85 85 Wednesday, Jul 13 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 9 7 10 49-36 1 up 0.5 Campbell Kern Lee 3:15 N 18,524 +
86 86 Thursday, Jul 14 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 7 4 50-36 1 up 0.5 Paxton Fitzmorris Hernandez 3:07 N 15,451 ++
87 87 Friday, Jul 15 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 7 9 50-37 2 0.5 Wood Stanley LaGrow 2:44 N 41,597 -
88 88 Saturday, Jul 16 boxscore BOS @ CHW W 4 3 51-37 2 0.5 Wise Barrios Campbell 2:40 N 36,007 +
89 89 Sunday, Jul 17 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 2 3 51-38 2 0.5 Stone Cleveland LaGrow 2:28 D 27,235 -
90 90 Thursday, Jul 21 (1) boxscore BOS CLE W 11 4 52-38 2 0.5 Tiant Garland 2:53 D 20,173 +
91 91 Thursday, Jul 21 (2) boxscore BOS CLE L 2 8 52-39 2 0.5 Bibby Stanley Kern 2:32 N 29,059 -
92 92 Friday, Jul 22 boxscore BOS CLE W 3 0 53-39 1 up 0.5 Wise Fitzmorris 2:41 N 34,030 +
93 93 Saturday, Jul 23 boxscore BOS CLE L 8 9 53-40 1 up 0.5 Kern Campbell 3:16 D 35,592 -
94 94 Sunday, Jul 24 boxscore BOS CHW L 6 9 53-41 2 1.0 Barrios Jenkins 2:46 D 34,490 --
95 95 Monday, Jul 25 boxscore BOS CHW L 7 8 53-42 2 2.0 LaGrow Campbell 2:54 N 27,505 ---
96 96 Tuesday, Jul 26 boxscore BOS MIL W 4 3 54-42 2 1.0 Aase Sorensen 2:15 N 30,950 +
97 97 Wednesday, Jul 27 boxscore BOS MIL L 5 14 54-43 2 2.0 McClure Stanley 3:27 N 31,417 -
98 98 Thursday, Jul 28 boxscore BOS MIL W 12 0 55-43 2 1.0 Paxton Hinds 2:25 D 34,705 +
99 99 Friday, Jul 29 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 6 5 10 56-43 2 1.0 Campbell Miller 2:25 N 23,542 ++
100 100 Saturday, Jul 30 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 3 0 57-43 2 1.0 Tiant Ryan Stanley 2:37 N 32,662 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Sunday, Jul 31 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 1 0 58-43 1 Tied Aase LaRoche 2:29 D 19,514 ++++
102 102 Tuesday, Aug 2 boxscore BOS @ SEA W 3 2 10 59-43 1 Tied Campbell Montague 3:07 N 24,344 +++++
103 103 Wednesday, Aug 3 boxscore BOS @ SEA W 12 4 60-43 1 Tied Paxton Wheelock 3:06 N 21,152 ++++++
104 104 Thursday, Aug 4 boxscore BOS @ OAK W 3 1 61-43 1 up 0.5 Jenkins Blue 2:01 N 13,326 +++++++
105 105 Friday, Aug 5 boxscore BOS @ OAK W 1 0 62-43 1 up 1.5 Tiant Coleman 2:12 N 7,163 ++++++++
106 106 Saturday, Aug 6 boxscore BOS @ OAK W 2 1 63-43 1 up 2.5 Aase Torrealba Campbell 2:19 D 6,331 +++++++++
107 107 Sunday, Aug 7 boxscore BOS @ OAK W 5 2 64-43 1 up 3.5 Wise Langford Campbell 2:59 D 7,586 ++++++++++
108 108 Wednesday, Aug 10 boxscore BOS CAL W 11 10 65-43 1 up 2.5 Willoughby Miller 3:07 N 34,869 +++++++++++
109 109 Thursday, Aug 11 boxscore BOS CAL L 3 7 65-44 1 up 1.5 Hartzell Aase 2:28 N 35,691 -
110 110 Friday, Aug 12 boxscore BOS SEA W 7 2 66-44 1 up 1.5 Wise Mitchell 2:55 N 27,005 +
111 111 Saturday, Aug 13 boxscore BOS SEA W 13 6 67-44 1 up 2.5 Jenkins Galasso 2:41 D 34,095 ++
112 112 Sunday, Aug 14 boxscore BOS SEA W 11 1 68-44 1 up 2.5 Paxton Wheelock 2:36 D 31,223 +++
113 113 Monday, Aug 15 boxscore BOS KCR W 2 1 69-44 1 up 3.5 Cleveland Colborn Campbell 2:45 N 33,424 ++++
114 114 Tuesday, Aug 16 boxscore BOS KCR W 5 3 70-44 1 up 3.5 Campbell Bird 2:28 N 35,748 +++++
115 115 Wednesday, Aug 17 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 3 5 70-45 1 up 3.0 Sorensen Wise 2:16 N 13,692 -
116 116 Thursday, Aug 18 boxscore BOS @ MIL W 8 4 71-45 1 up 3.5 Jenkins Caldwell 2:51 D 15,862 +
117 117 Friday, Aug 19 boxscore BOS @ KCR L 3 9 71-46 1 up 2.5 Colborn Paxton 2:40 N 36,725 -
118 118 Saturday, Aug 20 boxscore BOS @ KCR L 2 5 71-47 1 up 1.5 Littell Tiant Bird 2:43 N 40,502 --
119 119 Sunday, Aug 21 boxscore BOS @ KCR L 4 6 71-48 1 up 0.5 Bird Campbell 2:41 D 31,199 ---
120 120 Monday, Aug 22 boxscore BOS @ MIN L-wo 4 5 71-49 1 up 0.5 Johnson Lee 2:34 N 22,805 ----
121 121 Tuesday, Aug 23 boxscore BOS @ MIN L 0 7 71-50 2 0.5 Goltz Jenkins 2:32 N 32,346 -----
122 122 Wednesday, Aug 24 (1) boxscore BOS TEX L 0 3 71-51 2 2.0 Perry Paxton Devine 2:26 N 0 ------
123 123 Wednesday, Aug 24 (2) boxscore BOS TEX L 3 6 71-52 2 2.0 Barker Cleveland 3:01 N 31,784 -------
124 124 Thursday, Aug 25 boxscore BOS TEX W 9 6 72-52 2 2.0 Willoughby Knowles Campbell 3:04 N 30,186 +
125 125 Friday, Aug 26 boxscore BOS MIN L 4 6 72-53 2 3.0 Johnson Kreuger 2:25 N 33,415 -
126 126 Saturday, Aug 27 boxscore BOS MIN W 7 5 73-53 2 2.0 Lee Schueler Willoughby 2:23 D 34,636 +
127 127 Sunday, Aug 28 boxscore BOS MIN W 6 5 74-53 2 2.0 Paxton Schueler Campbell 2:35 D 31,619 ++
128 128 Monday, Aug 29 boxscore BOS OAK L 7 8 74-54 2 3.0 Bair Campbell 3:24 N 29,750 -
129 129 Tuesday, Aug 30 boxscore BOS OAK W 7 2 75-54 2 3.0 Tiant Langford Cleveland 2:31 N 27,264 +
130 130 Wednesday, Aug 31 boxscore BOS CLE L 3 4 75-55 2 4.0 Kern Stanley 3:15 N 29,226 -
131 131 Thursday, Sep 1 boxscore BOS CLE W 3 1 76-55 2 3.5 Lee Eckersley Cleveland 2:38 D 31,736 +
132 132 Friday, Sep 2 boxscore BOS @ TEX L 4 6 76-56 3 4.5 Blyleven Jenkins Moret 2:59 N 18,883 -
133 133 Saturday, Sep 3 boxscore BOS @ TEX W 2 1 77-56 2 4.5 Paxton Ellis Campbell 2:32 N 36,852 +
134 134 Sunday, Sep 4 boxscore BOS @ TEX W 8 4 78-56 2 4.5 Wise Perry Campbell 3:15 N 27,794 ++
135 135 Monday, Sep 5 (1) boxscore BOS @ TOR W 8 0 79-56 2 2.5 Aase Byrd 2:26 N 0 +++
136 136 Monday, Sep 5 (2) boxscore BOS @ TOR W 6 0 80-56 2 2.5 Cleveland Clancy 2:15 N 30,373 ++++
137 137 Tuesday, Sep 6 boxscore BOS @ TOR W 11 2 81-56 2 2.5 Lee Darr 2:43 N 17,666 +++++
138 138 Wednesday, Sep 7 boxscore BOS @ TOR L 2 3 81-57 2 3.5 Lemanczyk Jenkins 2:14 N 31,684 -
139 139 Thursday, Sep 8 boxscore BOS @ TOR W 7 2 82-57 2 3.5 Paxton Jefferson 2:24 N 19,163 +
140 140 Friday, Sep 9 (1) boxscore BOS DET W 5 1 83-57 2 3.0 Tiant Rozema Campbell 2:35 N 0 ++
141 141 Friday, Sep 9 (2) boxscore BOS DET W 8 6 84-57 2 3.0 Wise Ruhle Campbell 3:03 N 34,581 +++
142 142 Saturday, Sep 10 boxscore BOS DET W 7 1 85-57 2 2.0 Aase Wilcox 2:39 D 26,782 ++++
143 143 Sunday, Sep 11 boxscore BOS DET W 6 2 86-57 2 1.5 Lee Arroyo 2:23 D 34,325 +++++
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 13 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 2 4 86-58 2 2.5 Guidry Paxton 2:36 N 55,269 -
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 14 boxscore BOS @ NYY L-wo 0 2 86-59 3 3.5 Figueroa Cleveland 2:23 N 54,365 --
146 146 Thursday, Sep 15 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 7 3 87-59 2 2.5 Tiant Lyle 2:36 N 55,218 +
147 147 Friday, Sep 16 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 1 6 87-60 3 3.5 Palmer Aase 2:27 N 29,736 -
148 148 Saturday, Sep 17 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 2 11 87-61 3 4.5 Martinez Lee 2:51 D 26,324 --
149 149 Sunday, Sep 18 boxscore BOS @ BAL W 10 4 88-61 3 4.5 Stanley McGregor Campbell 2:58 D 51,798 +
150 150 Monday, Sep 19 boxscore BOS NYY W 6 3 89-61 2 3.5 Cleveland Figueroa 2:16 N 34,346 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Wednesday, Sep 21 boxscore BOS NYY W 3 2 90-61 3 2.5 Willoughby Torrez Campbell 2:33 N 30,212 +++
152 152 Thursday, Sep 22 boxscore BOS @ DET L 4 5 90-62 3 3.0 Arroyo Willoughby Foucault 2:27 N 3,507 -
153 153 Friday, Sep 23 boxscore BOS @ DET W 5 1 91-62 3 3.0 Lee Sykes 2:11 N 11,344 +
154 154 Saturday, Sep 24 boxscore BOS @ DET W 6 2 92-62 3 2.5 Paxton Wilcox Campbell 2:16 D 9,245 ++
155 155 Sunday, Sep 25 boxscore BOS @ DET W 12 5 93-62 2 3.0 Cleveland Glynn 2:56 D 12,707 +++
156 156 Tuesday, Sep 27 (1) boxscore BOS TOR W 6 5 94-62 2 3.0 Aase Byrd Campbell 2:17 N 0 ++++
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 27 (2) boxscore BOS TOR W 5 1 95-62 2 3.0 Tiant Lemanczyk Campbell 2:33 N 23,952 +++++
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 28 boxscore BOS TOR L 2 3 95-63 2 4.0 Vuckovich Lee 2:18 N 20,362 -
159 159 Thursday, Sep 29 boxscore BOS TOR W 7 3 96-63 2 3.0 Stanley Garvin 2:30 D 12,240 +
160 160 Friday, Sep 30 boxscore BOS BAL W 11 10 97-63 2 2.0 Campbell McGregor Stanley 3:26 N 28,553 ++
161 161 Saturday, Oct 1 boxscore BOS BAL L 7 8 97-64 2 2.0 Flanagan Willoughby Briles 2:51 D 29,107 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1976 / 1978 Schedule and Results