Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1970 Schedule and Results

1970 Boston Red Sox

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1969 / 1971

87-75, Finished 3rd in AL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Eddie Kasko (87-75)
GM: Dick O'Connell, Farm Dir: Ed Kenney, Scouting Dir: Neil Mahoney
Scored 786 runs, Allowed 722 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 87-75

Ballparks: Fenway Park · Attendance: 1,595,278 (1st of 12)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 108, Pitching - 107 · one-year: Batting - 112, Pitching - 111

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1969 / 1971 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 87-75, Final Rank:3, GB: 21.0
Days in First1last on Tuesday, Apr 7, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 1last on Apr 7, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Leadnever led
Farthest Behind21.5last on Tuesday, Sep 15, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50013last on Tuesday, Sep 29
Most Games under .5006last on Wednesday, May 27
Longest Winning Streak7Wednesday, Sep 16 to Tuesday, Sep 22
Longest Losing Streak5Sunday, May 10 to Friday, May 15, Wednesday, May 20 to Sunday, May 24 and Friday, Sep 11 to Tuesday, Sep 15
Most Runs Allowed22Sunday, May 31
Most Runs Scored21Sunday, Aug 30
Longest Game (innings)16Monday, May 11
Times Shutout by Opponent4 
Times Opponent Shutout8 
Walkoff Wins5 
Walkoff Losses10 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 87 75 786 722 .537
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 52 29 455 382 .642
Road 35 46 331 340 .432
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 11 8 80 70 .579
May 9 17 109 138 .346
June 14 11 122 123 .560
July 18 13 153 120 .581
August 16 14 162 150 .533
September 19 12 160 121 .613
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 44 41 383 378 .518
Second Half 43 34 403 344 .558
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 83 66 729 653 .557
ExtraInning 4 8 55 66 .333
Shortened 0 1 2 3 .000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 23 25 192 194 .479
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 20 15 239 200 .571
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 5 13 67 96 .278
CAL 5 7 56 53 .417
CHW 8 4 92 88 .667
CLE 12 6 79 62 .667
DET 9 9 100 78 .500
KCR 7 5 57 47 .583
MIL 5 7 57 60 .417
MIN 7 5 53 53 .583
NYY 10 8 86 81 .556
OAK 7 5 49 47 .583
WSA 12 6 90 57 .667

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 7 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 4 3 1-0 1 Tied Peters Stottlemyre Lee 2:19 D 21,379 +
2 2 Thursday, Apr 9 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 3 4 1-1 3 1.5 Peterson Culp Aker 2:04 D 7,039 -
3 3 Friday, Apr 10 boxscore BOS @ WSA W 4 1 2-1 2 1.5 Lonborg Coleman Lyle 2:51 N 12,026 +
4 4 Saturday, Apr 11 boxscore BOS @ WSA L 3 4 2-2 2 2.5 Bosman Siebert Knowles 2:21 N 9,669 -
5 5 Sunday, Apr 12 boxscore BOS @ WSA L 5 6 2-3 4 2.5 Cox Peters Pina 2:27 N 20,133 --
6 6 Tuesday, Apr 14 boxscore BOS NYY W 8 3 3-3 3 2.0 Culp Peterson 2:30 D 34,002 +
7 7 Wednesday, Apr 15 boxscore BOS NYY W 6 2 4-3 2 1.5 Lonborg Burbach Lyle 2:15 D 7,906 ++
8 8 Thursday, Apr 16 boxscore BOS NYY W 8 5 5-3 2 0.5 Stange Aker Romo 2:40 D 8,217 +++
9 9 Friday, Apr 17 boxscore BOS @ DET L-wo 2 3 11 5-4 3 1.0 Lasher Brett 2:55 D 7,390 -
10 10 Saturday, Apr 18 boxscore BOS @ DET L 1 5 5-5 3 2.0 Lolich Lee 2:29 D 19,461 --
11 11 Monday, Apr 20 boxscore BOS BAL L 2 3 6 5-6 3 2.5 Palmer Culp 1:39 D 29,000 ---
12 12 Wednesday, Apr 22 boxscore BOS BAL W 5 2 6-6 4 3.0 Romo McNally 2:34 D 25,660 +
13 13 Saturday, Apr 25 (1) boxscore BOS MIL L 4 10 6-7 3 3.0 Krausse Stange Locker 2:43 D 0 -
14 14 Saturday, Apr 25 (2) boxscore BOS MIL W 3 0 7-7 3 3.0 Peters Bolin 2:04 D 22,004 +
15 15 Sunday, Apr 26 boxscore BOS MIL L 3 5 7-8 3 3.5 Brabender Culp Locker 2:24 D 19,811 -
16 16 Monday, Apr 27 boxscore BOS OAK W 4 3 8-8 3 3.0 Romo Hunter Lyle 1:59 D 5,085 +
17 17 Tuesday, Apr 28 boxscore BOS OAK W 2 1 9-8 3 3.0 Lee Downing Lyle 2:04 N 14,941 ++
18 18 Wednesday, Apr 29 boxscore BOS OAK W 5 3 10-8 3 3.0 Siebert Dobson Lyle 2:54 N 14,297 +++
19 19 Thursday, Apr 30 boxscore BOS OAK W 8 7 11-8 3 2.0 Peters Roland Lyle 2:19 D 6,225 ++++
20 20 Friday, May 1 boxscore BOS CAL W 8 3 12-8 3 2.0 Culp Murphy 2:19 N 23,292 +++++
21 21 Saturday, May 2 boxscore BOS CAL L 4 8 12-9 3 2.0 Garrett Jarvis Tatum 2:56 D 26,144 -
22 22 Tuesday, May 5 boxscore BOS @ MIL W 6 0 13-9 2 1.5 Siebert Brabender 2:13 N 6,780 +
23 23 Wednesday, May 6 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 3 4 13-10 3 2.5 Bolin Phillips Gelnar 2:03 N 5,320 -
24 24 Thursday, May 7 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 1 5 13-11 3 3.5 Krausse Culp Gelnar 2:05 N 8,194 --
25 25 Friday, May 8 boxscore BOS @ OAK L 1 7 13-12 3 4.5 Dobson Lonborg 2:12 N 6,815 ---
26 26 Saturday, May 9 boxscore BOS @ OAK W 5 3 14-12 3 4.5 Siebert Segui 2:10 D 33,203 +
27 27 Sunday, May 10 boxscore BOS @ OAK L 4 7 14-13 3 6.0 Fingers Peters 2:25 D 10,972 -
28 28 Monday, May 11 boxscore BOS @ CAL L-wo 1 2 16 14-14 4 6.5 LaRoche Brett 4:14 N 6,794 --
29 29 Tuesday, May 12 boxscore BOS @ CAL L-wo 5 6 14-15 4 7.5 Garrett Lyle 3:06 N 7,806 ---
30 30 Wednesday, May 13 boxscore BOS @ CAL L 3 5 14-16 4 7.5 Tatum Stange 2:32 N 9,852 ----
31 31 Friday, May 15 boxscore BOS CLE L 0 3 14-17 4 8.5 McDowell Peters 1:57 D 23,102 -----
32 32 Saturday, May 16 boxscore BOS CLE W 6 2 15-17 4 8.5 Culp Higgins 2:10 D 19,485 +
33 33 Tuesday, May 19 boxscore BOS DET W-wo 5 4 16-17 3 8.0 Lonborg Lasher 3:13 N 18,415 ++
34 34 Wednesday, May 20 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 2 7 16-18 4 8.0 McDowell Siebert 2:33 N 4,930 -
35 35 Thursday, May 21 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 7 10 16-19 4 8.5 Miller Lee Ellsworth 2:52 N 4,073 --
36 36 Friday, May 22 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 4 7 16-20 4 9.5 Hall Peters 2:27 N 16,904 ---
37 37 Saturday, May 23 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 0 3 16-21 4 10.5 Palmer Culp 2:06 D 11,819 ----
38 38 Sunday, May 24 (1) boxscore BOS @ BAL L-wo 1 2 10 16-22 5 10.5 Watt Lyle 2:37 D 0 -----
39 39 Sunday, May 24 (2) boxscore BOS @ BAL W 4 3 17-22 5 10.5 Siebert Phoebus 2:23 N 22,681 +
40 40 Monday, May 25 boxscore BOS WSA W 5 3 18-22 4 10.5 Lee Bosman Stange 2:42 D 14,825 ++
41 41 Tuesday, May 26 boxscore BOS WSA L 5 7 18-23 5 11.5 Grzenda Peters Cox 2:10 N 12,647 -
42 42 Wednesday, May 27 boxscore BOS WSA L 5 7 18-24 5 12.5 Knowles Culp 2:42 N 16,867 --
43 43 Friday, May 29 boxscore BOS CHW W-wo 4 3 19-24 5 12.5 Lonborg Wood 2:31 N 22,737 +
44 44 Saturday, May 30 boxscore BOS CHW W 7 5 20-24 5 11.5 Romo Crider Lyle 2:34 N 21,026 ++
45 45 Sunday, May 31 boxscore BOS CHW L 13 22 20-25 5 11.5 Weaver Peters 3:26 D 21,952 -
46 46 Tuesday, Jun 2 boxscore BOS MIN W 5 1 21-25 5 11.5 Culp Perry 2:37 N 19,080 +
47 47 Thursday, Jun 4 boxscore BOS MIN W 5 1 22-25 5 10.0 Siebert Kaat 2:28 D 19,098 ++
48 48 Friday, Jun 5 boxscore BOS KCR W 4 2 23-25 3 10.0 Nagy Butler Romo 2:30 N 19,412 +++
49 49 Sunday, Jun 7 (1) boxscore BOS KCR W 7 4 24-25 3 9.0 Stange Burgmeier Brett 2:55 D 0 ++++
50 50 Sunday, Jun 7 (2) boxscore BOS KCR W 5 2 25-25 3 9.0 Romo Fitzmorris Lyle 2:30 D 30,434 +++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Tuesday, Jun 9 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 2 4 25-26 3 9.0 Janeski Siebert 2:03 N 6,981 -
52 52 Wednesday, Jun 10 boxscore BOS @ CHW W 7 6 14 26-26 3 9.0 Romo Wood Stange 3:56 N 6,887 +
53 53 Friday, Jun 12 boxscore BOS @ MIN L 2 5 26-27 4 9.5 Perry Peters Perranoski 2:55 N 18,489 -
54 54 Saturday, Jun 13 boxscore BOS @ MIN W 6 4 27-27 4 8.5 Culp Kaat Lyle 2:40 D 19,815 +
55 55 Sunday, Jun 14 boxscore BOS @ MIN L 2 10 27-28 4 9.5 Blyleven Siebert Williams 2:55 D 27,434 -
56 56 Monday, Jun 15 boxscore BOS @ KCR L-wo 6 7 27-29 4 9.5 Monteagudo Koonce 3:10 N 7,324 --
57 57 Tuesday, Jun 16 boxscore BOS @ KCR W 7 5 28-29 4 9.0 Peters Butler Santiago 2:50 N 7,666 +
58 58 Wednesday, Jun 17 boxscore BOS @ KCR W 3 1 29-29 4 8.0 Brett Morehead 2:30 N 9,493 ++
59 59 Thursday, Jun 18 boxscore BOS NYY L 2 3 29-30 4 8.5 Waslewski Culp McDaniel 2:25 N 26,305 -
60 60 Friday, Jun 19 boxscore BOS NYY W 7 4 30-30 4 9.0 Siebert Bahnsen Lyle 2:22 N 32,311 +
61 61 Saturday, Jun 20 boxscore BOS NYY L 3 8 30-31 4 10.0 Stottlemyre Nagy 2:28 N 30,789 -
62 62 Sunday, Jun 21 boxscore BOS NYY L 10 14 11 30-32 4 11.0 McDaniel Santiago 3:54 D 31,073 --
63 63 Monday, Jun 22 boxscore BOS BAL L 8 9 30-33 4 12.0 Hall Lyle Watt 3:07 N 22,676 ---
64 64 Tuesday, Jun 23 boxscore BOS BAL W 5 1 31-33 4 11.0 Culp Palmer 2:14 N 23,798 +
65 65 Wednesday, Jun 24 boxscore BOS BAL W 6 5 32-33 4 10.0 Wagner Watt Romo 2:55 N 25,003 ++
66 66 Thursday, Jun 25 boxscore BOS BAL L 8 13 14 32-34 4 11.0 Drabowsky Santiago 5:00 D 20,548 -
67 67 Saturday, Jun 27 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 4 0 33-34 4 10.5 Peters Waslewski 2:18 D 21,801 +
68 68 Sunday, Jun 28 (1) boxscore BOS @ NYY W 5 3 34-34 4 10.0 Brett Stottlemyre Lyle 2:09 D 0 ++
69 69 Sunday, Jun 28 (2) boxscore BOS @ NYY L 2 8 34-35 4 10.0 Bahnsen Culp 2:14 D 56,412 -
70 70 Tuesday, Jun 30 boxscore BOS WSA L 1 3 34-36 4 10.5 Bosman Siebert Knowles 2:26 N 19,797 --
71 71 Wednesday, Jul 1 boxscore BOS WSA W 6 5 35-36 4 10.5 Nagy Coleman Lyle 2:44 N 22,218 +
72 72 Thursday, Jul 2 boxscore BOS WSA W 5 0 36-36 4 9.5 Peters Such 2:19 D 15,593 ++
73 73 Friday, Jul 3 (1) boxscore BOS CLE W 2 1 37-36 4 9.0 Culp Hennigan 2:12 N 0 +++
74 74 Friday, Jul 3 (2) boxscore BOS CLE W 5 4 38-36 4 9.0 Wagner Ellsworth Lyle 2:57 N 27,395 ++++
75 75 Saturday, Jul 4 boxscore BOS CLE W 5 1 39-36 4 8.0 Siebert Dunning 2:24 D 14,246 +++++
76 76 Sunday, Jul 5 boxscore BOS CLE W 8 4 40-36 4 8.0 Nagy Austin Romo 2:39 D 21,690 ++++++
77 77 Monday, Jul 6 boxscore BOS @ DET L 3 6 40-37 4 8.5 Cain Peters Patterson 2:55 N 29,417 -
78 78 Tuesday, Jul 7 (1) boxscore BOS @ DET W 8 4 41-37 4 9.0 Culp Wilson Lyle 2:34 N 0 +
79 79 Tuesday, Jul 7 (2) boxscore BOS @ DET L-wo 3 4 10 41-38 4 9.0 Kilkenny Koonce 2:29 N 30,873 -
80 80 Wednesday, Jul 8 boxscore BOS @ DET L-wo 2 3 41-39 4 10.0 Lolich Phillips 2:32 N 14,801 --
81 81 Thursday, Jul 9 boxscore BOS @ DET L 3 7 41-40 4 10.0 Patterson Wagner 2:27 N 23,746 ---
82 82 Friday, Jul 10 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 7 1 42-40 4 9.0 Peters Hand 2:40 N 13,136 +
83 83 Saturday, Jul 11 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 1 3 42-41 4 10.0 McDowell Brett 2:26 D 13,251 -
84 84 Sunday, Jul 12 (1) boxscore BOS @ CLE W 6 2 43-41 4 9.0 Culp Dunning 2:27 D 0 +
85 85 Sunday, Jul 12 (2) boxscore BOS @ CLE W 8 2 44-41 4 9.0 Siebert Lasher Lyle 2:43 D 30,821 ++
86 86 Thursday, Jul 16 boxscore BOS MIL W-wo 6 5 10 45-41 4 9.0 Romo Bolin 2:59 D 20,484 +++
87 87 Friday, Jul 17 boxscore BOS MIL W 8 2 46-41 4 8.0 Siebert Brabender Koonce 2:59 N 27,114 ++++
88 88 Saturday, Jul 18 boxscore BOS MIL L 5 10 46-42 4 8.0 Krausse Lyle Sanders 2:48 D 22,723 -
89 89 Sunday, Jul 19 boxscore BOS OAK W 9 4 47-42 4 7.5 Culp Fingers 2:16 D 28,464 +
90 90 Monday, Jul 20 boxscore BOS OAK L 2 3 47-43 4 8.5 Dobson Brett Grant 2:37 N 22,888 -
91 91 Tuesday, Jul 21 boxscore BOS CAL L 6 10 47-44 4 9.5 Wright Nagy Tatum 2:51 N 21,194 --
92 92 Wednesday, Jul 22 (1) boxscore BOS CAL W 7 4 48-44 4 9.0 Peters Bradley Lyle 2:47 D 28,996 +
93 93 Wednesday, Jul 22 (2) boxscore BOS CAL W 8 3 49-44 4 9.0 Siebert Queen Koonce 2:43 N 23,916 ++
94 94 Thursday, Jul 23 boxscore BOS CAL L 1 4 49-45 4 10.0 Tatum Brett 3:01 D 25,658 -
95 95 Friday, Jul 24 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 4 8 49-46 4 10.0 Krausse Culp 2:09 N 20,294 --
96 96 Saturday, Jul 25 boxscore BOS @ MIL L 2 6 49-47 4 11.0 Pattin Nagy 2:30 D 22,199 ---
97 97 Sunday, Jul 26 boxscore BOS @ MIL W 12 5 50-47 4 11.0 Peters Lockwood Wagner 2:55 D 29,117 +
98 98 Tuesday, Jul 28 boxscore BOS @ OAK L 4 6 50-48 4 11.5 Dobson Romo Grant 2:18 N 8,914 -
99 99 Wednesday, Jul 29 boxscore BOS @ OAK W 4 1 51-48 4 10.5 Culp Segui 2:14 N 8,883 +
100 100 Thursday, Jul 30 boxscore BOS @ OAK L 1 2 51-49 4 11.0 Hunter Koonce Grant 2:11 N 8,082 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Friday, Jul 31 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 2 0 52-49 4 11.0 Siebert Murphy 2:13 N 36,160 +
102 102 Saturday, Aug 1 boxscore BOS @ CAL W 8 0 53-49 4 11.0 Peters Garrett 2:12 N 15,240 ++
103 103 Sunday, Aug 2 boxscore BOS @ CAL L 3 8 53-50 4 12.0 Bradley Romo Queen 2:21 D 11,036 -
104 104 Tuesday, Aug 4 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 2 5 53-51 4 13.0 McNally Culp 2:10 N 39,011 --
105 105 Wednesday, Aug 5 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 0 3 53-52 4 14.0 Palmer Siebert 2:01 N 16,747 ---
106 106 Thursday, Aug 6 boxscore BOS @ WSA L 2 5 53-53 4 14.5 Cox Peters Knowles 2:03 N 12,558 ----
107 107 Friday, Aug 7 boxscore BOS @ WSA W 3 1 54-53 4 13.5 Koonce Hannan Brett 2:28 N 14,905 +
108 108 Saturday, Aug 8 boxscore BOS DET L 5 6 54-54 4 14.5 Patterson Hartenstein Timmermann 2:35 N 32,551 -
109 109 Sunday, Aug 9 boxscore BOS DET W 7 4 55-54 4 14.0 Culp Lolich Wagner 2:21 D 27,188 +
110 110 Monday, Aug 10 boxscore BOS DET W 11 10 56-54 4 13.5 Siebert Niekro Hartenstein 2:57 D 21,959 ++
111 111 Wednesday, Aug 12 (1) boxscore BOS KCR W 7 4 57-54 4 14.5 Peters Rooker 2:24 N 0 +++
112 112 Wednesday, Aug 12 (2) boxscore BOS KCR L 3 4 57-55 4 14.5 Abernathy Brett 2:33 N 23,450 -
113 113 Thursday, Aug 13 boxscore BOS KCR L 3 11 57-56 4 14.5 Fitzmorris Romo 2:45 D 17,252 --
114 114 Friday, Aug 14 boxscore BOS MIN W 8 1 58-56 4 13.5 Culp Zepp 2:30 N 27,962 +
115 115 Saturday, Aug 15 (1) boxscore BOS MIN W 5 3 59-56 4 13.0 Siebert Perry 2:32 D 25,270 ++
116 116 Saturday, Aug 15 (2) boxscore BOS MIN W 11 7 60-56 4 13.0 Wagner Perranoski 3:05 N 23,277 +++
117 117 Sunday, Aug 16 boxscore BOS MIN L 6 9 60-57 4 14.0 Blyleven Peters Williams 2:59 D 24,670 -
118 118 Monday, Aug 17 boxscore BOS CHW W 7 2 61-57 4 14.0 Koonce Johnson Lyle 2:26 D 12,658 +
119 119 Tuesday, Aug 18 boxscore BOS CHW W 8 4 62-57 4 14.0 Brett Miller 2:40 N 25,592 ++
120 120 Wednesday, Aug 19 boxscore BOS CHW L 5 13 62-58 4 15.0 Wood Culp 2:32 D 17,113 -
121 121 Friday, Aug 21 boxscore BOS @ KCR L-wo 1 2 12 62-59 4 16.0 Abernathy Brett 2:59 N 12,050 --
122 122 Saturday, Aug 22 boxscore BOS @ KCR W 8 1 63-59 4 15.0 Peters Rooker 2:25 N 9,884 +
123 123 Sunday, Aug 23 boxscore BOS @ KCR L 3 4 63-60 4 16.0 Johnson Lyle 2:02 D 11,992 -
124 124 Tuesday, Aug 25 boxscore BOS @ MIN W 1 0 64-60 4 16.0 Brett Hall Wagner 2:58 N 17,697 +
125 125 Wednesday, Aug 26 boxscore BOS @ MIN L 0 7 64-61 4 17.0 Blyleven Culp 2:24 N 19,993 -
126 126 Thursday, Aug 27 boxscore BOS @ MIN L 2 5 64-62 4 18.0 Perry Siebert 2:18 D 16,042 --
127 127 Friday, Aug 28 boxscore BOS @ CHW W 5 4 65-62 4 17.5 Peters John Wagner 2:25 N 12,479 +
128 128 Saturday, Aug 29 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 9 13 65-63 4 18.5 Miller Hartenstein Wood 2:57 D 6,032 -
129 129 Sunday, Aug 30 (1) boxscore BOS @ CHW W 21 11 66-63 4 17.0 Brett Janeski Lyle 3:06 D 0 +
130 130 Sunday, Aug 30 (2) boxscore BOS @ CHW W 4 1 67-63 4 17.0 Nagy Magnuson 1:57 D 8,552 ++
131 131 Monday, Aug 31 boxscore BOS DET W 4 2 68-63 4 17.0 Culp Lolich Lyle 2:30 N 22,339 +++
132 132 Tuesday, Sep 1 boxscore BOS DET L 9 10 68-64 4 17.0 Patterson Siebert Timmermann 3:00 N 18,794 -
133 133 Wednesday, Sep 2 (1) boxscore BOS DET L 4 6 68-65 4 16.5 Patterson Lyle 2:43 D 14,704 --
134 134 Wednesday, Sep 2 (2) boxscore BOS DET W 10 1 69-65 4 16.5 Koonce Cain 2:49 N 18,938 +
135 135 Thursday, Sep 3 boxscore BOS DET W 5 2 70-65 4 16.5 Brett Niekro Romo 2:13 N 14,998 ++
136 136 Friday, Sep 4 boxscore BOS BAL L 6 8 70-66 4 17.5 Drabowsky Hartenstein Watt 2:56 N 22,735 -
137 137 Saturday, Sep 5 boxscore BOS BAL L 2 3 70-67 4 18.5 Hall Culp 2:21 D 18,790 --
138 138 Sunday, Sep 6 boxscore BOS BAL W-wo 9 8 11 71-67 4 17.5 Lyle Richert 3:34 D 24,580 +
139 139 Monday, Sep 7 (1) boxscore BOS @ CLE W 4 3 72-67 4 17.0 Peters McDowell Lyle 3:04 D 0 ++
140 140 Monday, Sep 7 (2) boxscore BOS @ CLE L 2 8 72-68 4 17.0 Chance Koonce Colbert 2:20 D 17,837 -
141 141 Tuesday, Sep 8 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 4 3 73-68 4 17.0 Brett Hargan Wagner 2:30 N 3,194 +
142 142 Wednesday, Sep 9 boxscore BOS @ DET W 4 1 74-68 3 17.0 Nagy Kilkenny 2:33 N 8,395 ++
143 143 Thursday, Sep 10 boxscore BOS @ DET W 14 0 75-68 3 17.0 Culp Cain 2:50 N 8,146 +++
144 144 Friday, Sep 11 boxscore BOS @ BAL L-wo 2 3 13 75-69 3 18.0 Watt Lyle 3:01 N 15,799 -
145 145 Saturday, Sep 12 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 1 5 75-70 3 19.0 Phoebus Peters 2:17 N 14,054 --
146 146 Sunday, Sep 13 boxscore BOS @ BAL L 2 13 75-71 3 20.0 Cuellar Brett 2:06 D 12,063 ---
147 147 Tuesday, Sep 15 (1) boxscore BOS @ NYY L 6 8 75-72 4 21.5 Bahnsen Culp McDaniel 2:32 N 0 ----
148 148 Tuesday, Sep 15 (2) boxscore BOS @ NYY L-wo 2 3 75-73 4 21.5 Kline Nagy 2:05 N 10,134 -----
149 149 Wednesday, Sep 16 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 3 1 76-73 4 20.5 Moret Peterson 1:54 N 6,966 +
150 150 Thursday, Sep 17 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 5 4 10 77-73 3 19.5 Bolin Aker Romo 2:44 D 4,985 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Saturday, Sep 19 (1) boxscore BOS WSA W 7 3 78-73 3 18.5 Brett Coleman Wagner 2:20 D 17,285 +++
152 152 Saturday, Sep 19 (2) boxscore BOS WSA W 11 3 79-73 3 18.5 Nagy Hannan 2:32 N 14,858 ++++
153 153 Sunday, Sep 20 boxscore BOS WSA W 3 1 80-73 3 18.5 Culp Shellenback 1:54 D 21,275 +++++
154 154 Monday, Sep 21 boxscore BOS CLE W 2 1 81-73 3 18.5 Siebert Hand Bolin 2:34 N 10,010 ++++++
155 155 Tuesday, Sep 22 boxscore BOS CLE W 8 2 82-73 3 18.5 Peters McDowell 2:25 N 11,959 +++++++
156 156 Wednesday, Sep 23 boxscore BOS CLE L 2 5 82-74 3 19.0 Hargan Brett 2:35 D 3,334 -
157 157 Thursday, Sep 24 boxscore BOS @ WSA W 4 3 83-74 3 19.0 Romo Hannan Bolin 2:29 N 3,660 +
158 158 Friday, Sep 25 boxscore BOS @ WSA W 5 1 84-74 3 19.0 Culp Shellenback 2:10 N 5,354 ++
159 159 Saturday, Sep 26 boxscore BOS @ WSA W 6 3 85-74 3 19.0 Siebert Gogolewski Wagner 2:44 N 6,871 +++
160 160 Sunday, Sep 27 boxscore BOS @ WSA W 10 1 86-74 3 19.0 Peters Bosman 2:08 D 4,978 ++++
161 161 Tuesday, Sep 29 boxscore BOS NYY W-wo 5 4 87-74 3 19.5 Bolin Kline 2:40 N 14,254 +++++
162 162 Wednesday, Sep 30 boxscore BOS NYY L 3 4 87-75 3 20.5 Peterson Nagy McDaniel 2:11 N 16,255 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1969 / 1971 Schedule and Results