Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1939 Schedule and Results

1939 Boston Red Sox

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1938 / 1940

89-62, Finished 2nd in American League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Joe Cronin (89-62)
Scored 890 runs, Allowed 795 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 83-68

Ballparks: Fenway Park · Attendance: 573,070 (4th of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 104, Pitching - 102 · one-year: Batting - 108, Pitching - 106


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1938 / 1940 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 89-62, Final Rank:2, GB: 17.0
Days in First4last on Tuesday, May 9, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 7last on May 9, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead0.5last on Saturday, May 6, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind17.5last on Thursday, Sep 21, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50031last on Wednesday, Aug 23
Most Games under .5001last on Monday, Apr 24
Longest Winning Streak12Tuesday, Jul 4 to Sunday, Jul 16
Longest Losing Streak6Monday, Sep 4 to Saturday, Sep 9
Most Runs Allowed17Tuesday, May 30
Most Runs Scored18Tuesday, May 16, Friday, Jun 9 and Tuesday, Jul 4
Longest Game (innings)16Wednesday, Sep 20
Times Shutout by Opponent8 
Times Opponent Shutout4 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 89 62 890 795 .589
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 42 32 458 445 .568
Road 47 30 432 350 .610
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 5 3 43 36 .625
May 16 9 160 137 .640
June 12 12 147 134 .500
July 23 10 201 176 .697
August 18 14 176 154 .563
September 15 14 163 158 .517
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 43 25 425 357 .632
Second Half 46 37 465 438 .554
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 81 57 813 716 .587
ExtraInning 6 3 59 59 .667
Shortened 2 2 18 20 .500
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 24 16 191 183 .600
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 27 21 364 310 .563
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
CHW 8 14 104 136 .364
CLE 11 11 109 116 .500
DET 10 12 119 140 .455
NYY 11 8 93 97 .579
PHA 18 4 162 105 .818
SLB 16 6 168 111 .727
WSH 15 7 135 90 .682

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Thursday, Apr 20 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 0 2 0-1 6 1.5 Ruffing Grove 1:47 D 30,278 -
2 2 Friday, Apr 21 boxscore BOS PHA W 9 2 1-1 4 1.0 Bagby Parmelee 1:51 D 15,000 +
3 3 Saturday, Apr 22 boxscore BOS PHA W 5 2 2-1 2 0.5 Rich Ross 2:00 D 10,300 ++
4 4 Sunday, Apr 23 boxscore BOS PHA L 8 12 2-2 4 1.0 Smith Heving Parmelee 2:55 D 12,000 -
5 5 Monday, Apr 24 boxscore BOS WSH L 9 10 10 2-3 4 2.0 Haynes Bagby 2:53 D 2,000 --
6 6 Tuesday, Apr 25 boxscore BOS WSH W 6 5 11 3-3 4 2.0 Heving Krakauskas 2:53 D 4,000 +
7 7 Saturday, Apr 29 boxscore BOS @ PHA W 3 2 4-3 2 1.0 Wilson Parmelee Ostermueller 2:20 D 8,000 ++
8 8 Sunday, Apr 30 boxscore BOS @ PHA W 3 1 5-3 1 Tied Bagby Caster 1:49 D 10,000 +++
9 9 Wednesday, May 3 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 5 1 6-3 2 0.5 Auker Hudlin 1:59 D 5,000 ++++
10 10 Thursday, May 4 boxscore BOS @ DET W 7 6 7-3 2 0.5 Heving Lawson 2:25 D 5,550 +++++
11 11 Friday, May 5 boxscore BOS @ DET W 4 1 8-3 1 up 0.5 Rich Rowe 1:45 D 8,592 ++++++
12 12 Saturday, May 6 boxscore BOS @ DET W 5 4 9-3 1 up 0.5 Grove Gill 1:58 D 14,802 +++++++
13 13 Sunday, May 7 boxscore BOS @ SLB L 3 6 9-4 2 0.5 Newsom Auker 2:12 D 8,205 -
14 14 Tuesday, May 9 boxscore BOS @ SLB W 10 8 10 10-4 1 Tied Heving Cole Wilson 2:51 D 1,589 +
15 15 Thursday, May 11 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 2 3 10-5 2 1.5 Lyons Rich 1:53 D 4,000 -
16 16 Sunday, May 14 boxscore BOS @ WSH W 5 4 12 11-5 2 1.5 Grove Carrasquel Heving 2:56 D 17,000 +
17 17 Monday, May 15 boxscore BOS @ WSH W 9 2 12-5 2 1.5 Ostermueller Chase 1:56 D 3,000 ++
18 18 Tuesday, May 16 boxscore BOS CHW W 18 4 13-5 2 1.5 Rich Rigney 2:07 D 5,800 +++
19 19 Wednesday, May 17 boxscore BOS CHW L 3 6 10 13-6 2 2.5 Dietrich Wilson Brown 2:05 D 5,200 -
20 20 Thursday, May 18 boxscore BOS CHW W 5 3 14-6 2 2.5 Auker Whitehead Heving 1:55 D 3,500 +
21 21 Friday, May 19 boxscore BOS SLB W 15 7 15-6 2 2.5 Bagby Gill 2:10 D 7,800 ++
22 22 Saturday, May 20 boxscore BOS SLB L 5 9 15-7 2 3.5 Kramer Galehouse 2:29 D 9,800 -
23 23 Sunday, May 21 boxscore BOS DET W 8 3 16-7 2 3.5 Grove Bridges 2:10 D 24,000 +
24 24 Tuesday, May 23 boxscore BOS DET L 2 7 16-8 2 4.5 Newsom Rich 2:10 D 2,500 -
25 25 Wednesday, May 24 boxscore BOS CLE L 2 6 16-9 2 4.5 Hudlin Wilson 1:51 D 4,000 --
26 26 Thursday, May 25 boxscore BOS CLE L 0 11 16-10 2 5.5 Feller Auker 2:05 D 5,600 ---
27 27 Friday, May 26 boxscore BOS WSH W 4 2 17-10 2 5.5 Rich Leonard Heving 1:46 D 4,800 +
28 28 Saturday, May 27 (1) boxscore BOS WSH W 11 4 18-10 2 5.5 Grove DeShong 2:00 D 0 ++
29 29 Saturday, May 27 (2) boxscore BOS WSH W 7 6 19-10 2 5.5 Wilson Appleton 1:53 D 12,000 +++
30 30 Sunday, May 28 boxscore BOS WSH W 12 7 20-10 2 5.5 Galehouse Haynes 1:59 D 12,000 ++++
31 31 Monday, May 29 boxscore BOS NYY L 1 6 20-11 2 6.5 Hadley Bagby Murphy 2:10 D 17,000 -
32 32 Tuesday, May 30 (1) boxscore BOS NYY W 8 4 21-11 2 6.5 Weaver Ruffing 2:00 D 0 +
33 33 Tuesday, May 30 (2) boxscore BOS NYY L 9 17 21-12 2 6.5 Pearson Wilson Murphy 2:22 D 35,000 -
34 34 Thursday, Jun 1 boxscore BOS @ DET W 14 5 22-12 2 6.5 Auker Newsom 2:34 D 6,871 +
35 35 Friday, Jun 2 boxscore BOS @ DET L 5 8 22-13 2 7.5 Benton Galehouse Bridges 2:19 D 3,914 -
36 36 Sunday, Jun 4 (1) boxscore BOS @ CLE L 2 10 22-14 2 8.5 Feller Bagby 2:25 D 0 --
37 37 Sunday, Jun 4 (2) boxscore BOS @ CLE W 7 1 23-14 2 8.5 Grove Hudlin 2:09 D 22,936 +
38 38 Monday, Jun 5 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 5 7 23-15 2 8.5 Allen Ostermueller 2:04 D 1,300 -
39 39 Tuesday, Jun 6 boxscore BOS @ CLE L 7 8 23-16 2 8.5 Zuber Heving 2:05 D 2,000 --
40 40 Thursday, Jun 8 boxscore BOS @ SLB W 8 7 24-16 2 9.0 Dickman Whitehead 2:16 D 1,000 +
41 41 Friday, Jun 9 (1) boxscore BOS @ SLB W 4 3 25-16 2 8.0 Ostermueller Kennedy 1:55 D 0 ++
42 42 Friday, Jun 9 (2) boxscore BOS @ SLB W 18 7 26-16 2 8.0 Wilson Kramer Weaver 2:35 D 876 +++
43 43 Sunday, Jun 11 (1) boxscore BOS @ CHW L 5 7 26-17 2 9.0 Lyons Grove 1:43 D 0 -
44 44 Sunday, Jun 11 (2) boxscore BOS @ CHW W 4 3 27-17 2 9.0 Auker Dietrich 1:53 D 10,000 +
45 45 Wednesday, Jun 14 (1) boxscore BOS DET L 8 9 27-18 2 9.5 Thomas Dickman 2:18 D 0 -
46 46 Wednesday, Jun 14 (2) boxscore BOS DET L 2 6 27-19 2 9.5 Trout Galehouse Newsom 2:00 D 7,000 --
47 47 Thursday, Jun 15 boxscore BOS DET L 3 6 27-20 2 10.5 Bridges Wilson 2:16 D 3,300 ---
48 48 Friday, Jun 16 boxscore BOS DET L 7 8 27-21 2 11.5 Benton Auker Walkup 2:10 D 3,200 ----
49 49 Sunday, Jun 18 (1) boxscore BOS CLE W 5 4 28-21 2 10.5 Ostermueller Feller 2:34 D 0 +
50 50 Sunday, Jun 18 (2) boxscore BOS CLE W 5 3 8 29-21 2 10.5 Grove Hudlin 1:45 D 32,000 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Tuesday, Jun 20 boxscore BOS SLB W 8 1 30-21 2 11.0 Auker Kimberlin 1:40 D 1,500 +++
52 52 Wednesday, Jun 21 boxscore BOS SLB L 0 6 30-22 2 12.0 Kramer Heving 1:51 D 3,400 -
53 53 Thursday, Jun 22 boxscore BOS SLB W 7 3 31-22 2 12.0 Wilson Whitehead 1:54 D 2,400 +
54 54 Saturday, Jun 24 boxscore BOS CHW L 6 14 31-23 2 13.0 Marcum Bagby 2:22 D 5,500 -
55 55 Monday, Jun 26 boxscore BOS @ WSH W 3 0 32-23 2 12.0 Grove Haynes 1:42 D 3,500 +
56 56 Tuesday, Jun 27 boxscore BOS @ WSH W 8 0 33-23 2 11.5 Auker Kelley 2:30 D 1,500 ++
57 57 Thursday, Jun 29 boxscore BOS PHA L 6 8 33-24 2 13.0 Potter Wilson Pippen 2:01 D 2,000 -
58 58 Saturday, Jul 1 boxscore BOS NYY W 5 3 34-24 2 12.5 Ostermueller Russo 1:58 D 12,000 +
59 59 Sunday, Jul 2 (1) boxscore BOS NYY W 7 3 35-24 2 12.5 Grove Gomez 1:53 D 0 ++
60 60 Sunday, Jul 2 (2) boxscore BOS NYY L 3 9 35-25 2 12.5 Hadley Auker 2:00 D 35,000 -
61 61 Tuesday, Jul 4 (1) boxscore BOS @ PHA W 17 7 36-25 2 11.5 Heving Pippen 2:31 D 0 +
62 62 Tuesday, Jul 4 (2) boxscore BOS @ PHA W 18 12 37-25 2 11.5 Galehouse Dean 2:30 D 22,030 ++
63 63 Wednesday, Jul 5 boxscore BOS @ PHA W 6 4 38-25 2 11.5 Auker Potter Ostermueller 1:59 D 8,000 +++
64 64 Friday, Jul 7 boxscore BOS @ NYY W 4 3 39-25 2 10.5 Dickman Ruffing 2:09 D 6,588 ++++
65 65 Saturday, Jul 8 (1) boxscore BOS @ NYY W 3 1 40-25 2 8.5 Ostermueller Hildebrand 2:00 D 27,539 +++++
66 66 Saturday, Jul 8 (2) boxscore BOS @ NYY W 3 2 41-25 2 8.5 Galehouse Russo 1:53 D 27,539 ++++++
67 67 Sunday, Jul 9 (1) boxscore BOS @ NYY W 4 3 42-25 2 6.5 Dickman Pearson 2:11 D 0 +++++++
68 68 Sunday, Jul 9 (2) boxscore BOS @ NYY W 5 3 43-25 2 6.5 Wilson Hadley Heving 2:55 D 47,652 ++++++++
69 69 Thursday, Jul 13 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 6 5 10 44-25 2 5.5 Heving Harder Rich 1:53 D 35,000 +++++++++
70 70 Saturday, Jul 15 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 9 5 45-25 2 6.0 Dickman Broaca 1:55 D 12,000 ++++++++++
71 71 Sunday, Jul 16 (1) boxscore BOS @ DET W 9 2 46-25 2 6.0 Grove Benton 1:58 D 0 +++++++++++
72 72 Sunday, Jul 16 (2) boxscore BOS @ DET W 3 0 47-25 2 6.0 Galehouse Trout 1:39 D 48,152 ++++++++++++
73 73 Monday, Jul 17 boxscore BOS @ DET L 6 13 47-26 2 7.0 Newsom Rich 2:21 D 5,860 -
74 74 Tuesday, Jul 18 (1) boxscore BOS @ CHW W 13 10 48-26 2 8.0 Heving Dobernic 2:33 D 0 +
75 75 Tuesday, Jul 18 (2) boxscore BOS @ CHW L 5 8 48-27 2 8.0 Brown Dickman 2:33 D 7,000 -
76 76 Wednesday, Jul 19 (1) boxscore BOS @ CHW L 1 4 48-28 2 9.0 Knott Wade 2:10 D 13,000 --
77 77 Wednesday, Jul 19 (2) boxscore BOS @ CHW L 0 8 48-29 2 9.0 Rigney Ostermueller 2:23 D 13,000 ---
78 78 Thursday, Jul 20 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 0 4 48-30 2 10.0 Lee Galehouse 1:46 D 5,000 ----
79 79 Friday, Jul 21 boxscore BOS @ SLB W 6 5 11 49-30 2 9.0 Ostermueller Gill 2:25 D 714 +
80 80 Saturday, Jul 22 boxscore BOS @ SLB W 6 3 50-30 2 8.5 Wilson Kramer 2:02 D 3,016 ++
81 81 Sunday, Jul 23 (1) boxscore BOS @ SLB W 13 5 51-30 2 7.5 Heving Kennedy 2:13 D 0 +++
82 82 Sunday, Jul 23 (2) boxscore BOS @ SLB W 11 3 52-30 2 7.5 Dickman Kramer 2:12 D 4,106 ++++
83 83 Tuesday, Jul 25 (1) boxscore BOS CHW W 3 2 53-30 2 7.0 Grove Knott 1:57 D 20,000 +++++
84 84 Tuesday, Jul 25 (2) boxscore BOS CHW W 6 5 10 54-30 2 7.0 Dickman Brown 2:16 D 20,000 ++++++
85 85 Wednesday, Jul 26 (1) boxscore BOS CHW L 1 8 54-31 2 7.5 Dietrich Wilson Brown 2:13 D 21,000 -
86 86 Wednesday, Jul 26 (2) boxscore BOS CHW W 6 5 55-31 2 7.5 Heving Lee 2:02 D 21,000 +
87 87 Thursday, Jul 27 boxscore BOS CHW L 7 12 55-32 2 8.0 Brown Galehouse 2:20 D 4,600 -
88 88 Friday, Jul 28 boxscore BOS SLB L 6 11 55-33 2 9.0 Trotter Auker 2:00 D 3,000 --
89 89 Saturday, Jul 29 boxscore BOS SLB L 3 4 55-34 2 9.5 Kramer Wade Mills 2:32 D 4,600 ---
90 90 Sunday, Jul 30 boxscore BOS SLB W 6 4 56-34 2 9.0 Galehouse Harris Dickman 2:05 D 9,000 +
91 91 Tuesday, Aug 1 boxscore BOS CLE W 7 5 57-34 2 8.0 Grove Feller 2:10 D 11,000 ++
92 92 Wednesday, Aug 2 (1) boxscore BOS CLE L 2 8 57-35 2 7.5 Harder Wilson 2:15 D 22,000 -
93 93 Wednesday, Aug 2 (2) boxscore BOS CLE W 5 4 58-35 2 7.5 Heving Hudlin 1:58 D 22,000 +
94 94 Thursday, Aug 3 boxscore BOS CLE W 17 6 59-35 2 7.5 Wade Allen Dickman 2:25 D 5,000 ++
95 95 Saturday, Aug 5 boxscore BOS DET L 4 16 59-36 2 9.0 Bridges Auker 2:25 D 11,000 -
96 96 Sunday, Aug 6 (1) boxscore BOS DET L 1 10 59-37 2 8.0 Hutchinson Galehouse 2:03 D 0 --
97 97 Sunday, Aug 6 (2) boxscore BOS DET W 8 3 60-37 2 8.0 Wilson Trout 1:47 D 35,000 +
98 98 Tuesday, Aug 8 boxscore BOS PHA W 9 2 61-37 2 7.0 Grove Joyce 1:55 D 3,300 ++
99 99 Wednesday, Aug 9 (1) boxscore BOS PHA W 5 3 62-37 2 6.5 Galehouse Ross 2:03 D 8,500 +++
100 100 Wednesday, Aug 9 (2) boxscore BOS PHA W 6 5 63-37 2 6.5 Ostermueller Potter 2:02 D 8,500 ++++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Thursday, Aug 10 boxscore BOS PHA W 7 5 64-37 2 5.5 Wilson Nelson Dickman 1:52 D 4,000 +++++
102 102 Saturday, Aug 12 boxscore BOS WSH W 9 5 65-37 2 6.0 Dickman Krakauskas 2:15 D 9,500 ++++++
103 103 Sunday, Aug 13 (1) boxscore BOS WSH W 9 1 66-37 2 6.0 Ostermueller Haynes 2:15 D 0 +++++++
104 104 Sunday, Aug 13 (2) boxscore BOS WSH L 3 6 8 66-38 2 6.0 Carrasquel Galehouse 2:10 D 30,000 -
105 105 Tuesday, Aug 15 boxscore BOS @ PHA L 0 3 66-39 2 7.0 Nelson Wilson 1:50 N 22,188 --
106 106 Thursday, Aug 17 boxscore BOS @ PHA W 7 1 67-39 2 7.5 Grove Reninger 1:58 D 12,000 +
107 107 Friday, Aug 18 boxscore BOS @ WSH W 6 2 68-39 2 7.5 Ostermueller Carrasquel 1:55 D 10,000 ++
108 108 Saturday, Aug 19 (1) boxscore BOS @ WSH W 8 6 69-39 2 7.5 Heving Appleton Dickman 2:00 D 7,000 +++
109 109 Saturday, Aug 19 (2) boxscore BOS @ WSH L 1 2 69-40 2 7.5 Chase Wade 1:40 D 7,000 -
110 110 Sunday, Aug 20 (1) boxscore BOS @ WSH L 0 2 69-41 2 7.5 Leonard Wilson 1:44 D 0 --
111 111 Sunday, Aug 20 (2) boxscore BOS @ WSH W 10 5 70-41 2 7.5 Wagner Krakauskas Heving 1:55 D 25,000 +
112 112 Tuesday, Aug 22 boxscore BOS @ SLB W 10 3 71-41 2 7.5 Galehouse Trotter 2:02 D 997 ++
113 113 Wednesday, Aug 23 boxscore BOS @ SLB W 9 1 72-41 2 8.0 Ostermueller Kramer 2:09 D 790 +++
114 114 Thursday, Aug 24 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 1 3 72-42 2 9.0 Rigney Auker 1:46 N 20,000 -
115 115 Friday, Aug 25 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 2 9 72-43 2 10.5 Knott Dickman Brown 2:13 D 18,000 --
116 116 Saturday, Aug 26 boxscore BOS @ CHW L 4 5 72-44 2 11.5 Dietrich Wilson Brown 2:15 D 7,000 ---
117 117 Sunday, Aug 27 (1) boxscore BOS @ CLE L 0 1 72-45 2 13.0 Feller Galehouse 2:15 D 0 ----
118 118 Sunday, Aug 27 (2) boxscore BOS @ CLE L 3 5 72-46 2 13.0 Hudlin Ostermueller 2:05 D 23,540 -----
119 119 Monday, Aug 28 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 6 5 73-46 2 13.0 Auker Harder Wilson 2:15 D 2,000 +
120 120 Tuesday, Aug 29 boxscore BOS @ CLE W 7 4 74-46 2 12.0 LeFebvre Eisenstat Heving 2:10 D 1,500 ++
121 121 Wednesday, Aug 30 boxscore BOS @ DET L 6 7 74-47 2 12.0 Coffman Wilson Newsom 2:05 D 6,316 -
122 122 Thursday, Aug 31 boxscore BOS @ DET L 4 11 74-48 2 12.5 Trout Grove Benton 2:16 D 6,247 --
123 123 Friday, Sep 1 boxscore BOS @ DET L 10 14 74-49 2 13.5 Rowe Auker McKain 2:20 D 5,741 ---
124 124 Saturday, Sep 2 boxscore BOS NYY W 12 7 75-49 2 12.5 Ostermueller Ruffing Heving 2:00 D 12,000 +
125 125 Sunday, Sep 3 (1) boxscore BOS NYY W 12 11 76-49 2 11.5 Auker Murphy Heving 2:28 D 0 ++
126 126 Sunday, Sep 3 (2) boxscore BOS NYY T 5 5 7 76-49 2 11.5 2:06 D 27,000 ++
127 127 Monday, Sep 4 (1) boxscore BOS WSH L 6 7 76-50 2 13.5 Haynes Wade Carrasquel 2:00 D -
128 128 Monday, Sep 4 (2) boxscore BOS WSH L 4 6 76-51 2 13.5 Appleton LeFebvre 2:00 D --
129 129 Wednesday, Sep 6 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 1 2 76-52 2 14.5 Gomez Grove 1:58 D 11,715 ---
130 130 Thursday, Sep 7 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 2 5 76-53 2 15.5 Pearson Ostermueller Hildebrand 1:52 D 9,379 ----
131 131 Friday, Sep 8 boxscore BOS @ NYY L 1 4 7 76-54 2 16.5 Ruffing Galehouse 1:20 D 8,475 -----
132 132 Saturday, Sep 9 boxscore BOS @ PHA L 1 2 76-55 2 17.5 Ross Auker 1:42 D 5,000 ------
133 133 Sunday, Sep 10 (1) boxscore BOS @ PHA W 10 7 77-55 2 17.5 Wagner Beckmann Dickman 2:01 D 0 +
134 134 Sunday, Sep 10 (2) boxscore BOS @ PHA W 5 1 78-55 2 17.5 Heving Nelson 1:30 D 23,285 ++
135 135 Monday, Sep 11 boxscore BOS @ PHA W 11 9 79-55 2 17.0 Bagby Page 2:29 D 500 +++
136 136 Tuesday, Sep 12 boxscore BOS DET W 2 1 80-55 2 16.0 Galehouse Bridges 1:49 D 1,800 ++++
137 137 Wednesday, Sep 13 boxscore BOS DET W 1 0 81-55 2 15.0 Grove Hutchinson 1:36 D 2,400 +++++
138 138 Thursday, Sep 14 boxscore BOS CLE L 7 8 81-56 2 15.0 Allen Auker Eisenstat 2:05 D 2,400 -
139 139 Friday, Sep 15 boxscore BOS CLE L 1 7 81-57 2 16.0 Hudlin Ostermueller 2:05 D 2,300 --
140 140 Saturday, Sep 16 boxscore BOS CLE L 1 2 81-58 2 17.0 Harder Wagner 1:42 D 3,400 ---
141 141 Sunday, Sep 17 (1) boxscore BOS CHW L 1 6 81-59 2 16.0 Lee Galehouse 1:48 D 0 ----
142 142 Sunday, Sep 17 (2) boxscore BOS CHW W 11 7 82-59 2 16.0 Bagby Marcum 2:31 D 12,000 +
143 143 Tuesday, Sep 19 boxscore BOS SLB W 6 2 83-59 2 16.5 Wilson Trotter 1:52 D 1,100 ++
144 144 Wednesday, Sep 20 boxscore BOS SLB L 8 11 16 83-60 2 17.5 Harris Ostermueller 3:36 D 1,100 -
145 145 Thursday, Sep 21 boxscore BOS SLB W 6 2 84-60 2 17.5 Galehouse Kramer 2:05 D 600 +
146 146 Friday, Sep 22 boxscore BOS PHA W 7 5 85-60 2 17.0 Wagner McCrabb Dickman 1:55 D 1,000 ++
147 147 Saturday, Sep 23 boxscore BOS PHA W 10 8 86-60 2 17.0 Wilson Page Ostermueller 2:13 D 2,100 +++
148 148 Sunday, Sep 24 boxscore BOS PHA W 9 4 87-60 2 17.0 Dickman Nelson Ostermueller 2:05 D 4,600 ++++
149 149 Thursday, Sep 28 (1) boxscore BOS @ WSH W 4 2 88-60 2 17.0 Grove Carrasquel 1:40 D 5,000 +++++
150 150 Thursday, Sep 28 (2) boxscore BOS @ WSH L 1 6 88-61 2 17.0 Leonard Ostermueller 1:30 D 5,000 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Saturday, Sep 30 (1) boxscore BOS @ NYY L 4 5 88-62 2 17.0 Murphy Bagby 1:55 D 7,501 --
152 152 Saturday, Sep 30 (2) boxscore BOS @ NYY W 4 2 7 89-62 2 17.0 Wilson Sundra 1:15 D 7,501 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1938 / 1940 Schedule and Results