Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1903 Schedule and Results

1903 Boston Americans

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1902 / 1904

91-47, Finished 1st in American League (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Jimmy Collins (91-47)
Scored 708 runs, Allowed 504 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 90-48

Ballparks: Huntington Avenue Baseball Grounds · Attendance: 379,338 (3rd of 8)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 105, Pitching - 102 · one-year: Batting - 112, Pitching - 107

Postseason:  Won World Series (5-3) over Pittsburgh Pirates


BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1902 / 1904 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 91-47, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First88last on Monday, Sep 28, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 122last on Sep 28, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead15.5last on Monday, Sep 21, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind3.5last on Friday, May 22, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50044last on Monday, Sep 28
Most Games under .5002last on Saturday, May 2
Longest Winning Streak11Thursday, May 28 to Monday, Jun 8
Longest Losing Streak3Monday, Apr 20 to Thursday, Apr 23, Wednesday, Jul 29 to Saturday, Aug 1 and Tuesday, Sep 22 to Wednesday, Sep 23
Most Runs Allowed15Wednesday, Jul 29
Most Runs Scored14Wednesday, Jul 29, Wednesday, Sep 16 and Thursday, Sep 17
Times Shutout by Opponent7 
Times Opponent Shutout20 
Walkoff Wins0 
Walkoff Losses0 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall 91 47 708 504 .659
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 49 20 395 266 .710
Road 42 27 313 238 .609
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 4 6 48 59 .400
May 15 9 119 92 .625
June 19 7 136 76 .731
July 16 9 120 97 .640
August 18 9 124 87 .667
September 19 7 161 93 .731
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 45 25 345 260 .643
Second Half 46 22 363 244 .676
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 19 16 111 108 .543
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 39 13 370 205 .750
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
CHW 14 6 116 80 .700
CLE 12 8 127 89 .600
DET 10 9 74 87 .526
NYY 13 7 119 71 .650
PHA 13 6 98 69 .684
SLB 14 6 84 48 .700
WSH 15 5 90 60 .750

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Monday, Apr 20 (1) BOS PHA W 9 4 1-0 1 Tied +
2 2 Monday, Apr 20 (2) BOS PHA L 7 10 1-1 1 Tied -
3 3 Wednesday, Apr 22 BOS @ PHA L 1 6 1-2 5 1.0 --
4 4 Thursday, Apr 23 BOS @ PHA L 4 7 1-3 6 2.0 ---
5 5 Friday, Apr 24 BOS @ PHA W 2 1 2-3 5 1.5 +
6 6 Saturday, Apr 25 BOS @ PHA W 4 0 3-3 3 1.5 ++
7 7 Monday, Apr 27 BOS @ WSH L 3 6 3-4 5 2.5 -
8 8 Tuesday, Apr 28 BOS @ WSH W 11 4 4-4 4 1.5 +
9 9 Wednesday, Apr 29 BOS @ WSH L 5 9 4-5 5 2.5 -
10 10 Thursday, Apr 30 BOS PHA L 2 12 4-6 7 3.0 --
11 11 Friday, May 1 BOS PHA W 4 2 5-6 5 2.0 +
12 12 Saturday, May 2 BOS PHA L 0 3 5-7 6 3.0 -
13 13 Monday, May 4 BOS WSH W 6 4 6-7 5 2.5 +
14 14 Wednesday, May 6 BOS WSH W 6 3 7-7 4 3.0 ++
15 15 Thursday, May 7 BOS NYY W 6 2 8-7 3 3.0 +++
16 16 Friday, May 8 BOS NYY L 1 6 8-8 4 3.0 -
17 17 Saturday, May 9 BOS NYY W 12 5 9-8 3 3.0 +
18 18 Monday, May 11 BOS @ CLE L 5 6 9-9 4 2.5 -
19 19 Tuesday, May 12 BOS @ CLE W 10 5 10-9 3 2.5 +
20 20 Wednesday, May 13 BOS @ CLE L 1 2 10-10 3 2.5 -
21 21 Thursday, May 14 BOS @ CLE W 10 4 11-10 3 2.5 +
22 22 Friday, May 15 BOS @ DET L 6 8 11-11 4 3.5 -
23 23 Saturday, May 16 BOS @ DET W 9 6 12-11 3 3.5 +
24 24 Monday, May 18 BOS @ DET L 1 12 12-12 4 3.0 -
25 25 Tuesday, May 19 BOS @ DET W 3 2 13-12 3 2.5 +
26 26 Wednesday, May 20 BOS @ SLB L 3 4 13-13 5 2.5 -
27 27 Friday, May 22 BOS @ SLB L 4 6 13-14 6 3.5 --
28 28 Saturday, May 23 BOS @ CHW W 4 1 14-14 5 2.5 +
29 29 Sunday, May 24 BOS @ CHW W 7 0 15-14 4 1.5 ++
30 30 Tuesday, May 26 BOS @ CHW L 2 3 15-15 5 2.5 -
31 31 Thursday, May 28 BOS WSH W 5 4 16-15 4 2.5 +
32 32 Friday, May 29 BOS WSH W 7 2 17-15 2 2.5 ++
33 33 Saturday, May 30 (1) BOS WSH W 3 2 18-15 2 0.5 +++
34 34 Saturday, May 30 (2) BOS WSH W 4 0 19-15 2 0.5 ++++
35 35 Monday, Jun 1 BOS @ NYY W 8 2 20-15 1 up 0.5 +++++
36 36 Tuesday, Jun 2 BOS @ NYY W 9 0 21-15 1 up 0.5 ++++++
37 37 Wednesday, Jun 3 BOS @ NYY W 9 3 22-15 1 up 0.5 +++++++
38 38 Thursday, Jun 4 BOS CHW W 10 3 23-15 1 up 1.0 ++++++++
39 39 Friday, Jun 5 BOS CHW W 10 8 24-15 1 up 1.0 +++++++++
40 40 Saturday, Jun 6 BOS CHW W 10 2 25-15 1 up 1.5 ++++++++++
41 41 Monday, Jun 8 BOS DET W 6 1 26-15 1 up 1.5 +++++++++++
42 42 Tuesday, Jun 9 BOS DET L 3 7 26-16 1 up 0.5 -
43 43 Wednesday, Jun 10 BOS DET L 0 5 26-17 1 Tied --
44 44 Thursday, Jun 11 BOS SLB W 2 0 27-17 1 up 1.0 +
45 45 Saturday, Jun 13 BOS SLB W 7 0 28-17 1 up 0.5 ++
46 46 Tuesday, Jun 16 BOS CLE L 0 7 28-18 2 1.0 -
47 47 Wednesday, Jun 17 (1) BOS CLE L 1 3 28-19 2 1.5 --
48 48 Wednesday, Jun 17 (2) BOS CLE W 6 1 29-19 2 1.5 +
49 49 Thursday, Jun 18 BOS @ CLE L 4 5 29-20 2 2.0 -
50 50 Friday, Jun 19 BOS @ CLE W 5 3 30-20 2 1.0 +
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Saturday, Jun 20 BOS @ CLE W 5 4 31-20 2 1.0 ++
52 52 Sunday, Jun 21 BOS @ CLE W 12 7 32-20 1 Tied +++
53 53 Tuesday, Jun 23 BOS @ DET W 1 0 33-20 1 up 1.0 ++++
54 54 Wednesday, Jun 24 BOS @ DET L 1 2 33-21 1 up 1.0 -
55 55 Thursday, Jun 25 BOS @ SLB W 7 1 34-21 1 up 1.0 +
56 56 Saturday, Jun 27 BOS @ SLB W 6 0 35-21 1 up 2.5 ++
57 57 Sunday, Jun 28 (1) BOS @ SLB W 1 0 36-21 1 up 3.0 +++
58 58 Sunday, Jun 28 (2) BOS @ SLB W 3 0 37-21 1 up 3.0 ++++
59 59 Monday, Jun 29 BOS @ CHW W 7 2 38-21 1 up 3.0 +++++
60 60 Tuesday, Jun 30 BOS @ CHW L 3 10 38-22 1 up 3.0 -
61 61 Wednesday, Jul 1 BOS @ CHW W 1 0 39-22 1 up 3.0 +
62 62 Thursday, Jul 2 BOS @ CHW L 2 6 39-23 1 up 3.0 -
63 63 Saturday, Jul 4 (1) BOS SLB W 4 1 40-23 1 up 4.0 +
64 64 Saturday, Jul 4 (2) BOS SLB W 2 0 41-23 1 up 4.0 ++
65 65 Monday, Jul 6 BOS SLB W 8 6 42-23 1 up 4.0 +++
66 66 Tuesday, Jul 7 BOS SLB L 2 3 42-24 1 up 4.0 -
67 67 Wednesday, Jul 8 BOS CHW W 6 1 43-24 1 up 4.0 +
68 68 Thursday, Jul 9 BOS CHW W 5 3 44-24 1 up 4.0 ++
69 69 Friday, Jul 10 BOS CHW L 4 8 44-25 1 up 4.0 -
70 70 Saturday, Jul 11 BOS CHW W 8 5 45-25 1 up 5.0 +
71 71 Tuesday, Jul 14 BOS CLE L 3 4 45-26 1 up 4.0 -
72 72 Wednesday, Jul 15 (1) BOS CLE W 4 3 46-26 1 up 3.0 +
73 73 Wednesday, Jul 15 (2) BOS CLE L 2 4 46-27 1 up 3.0 -
74 74 Thursday, Jul 16 BOS CLE W 11 4 47-27 1 up 4.0 +
75 75 Friday, Jul 17 BOS DET W 1 0 48-27 1 up 4.0 ++
76 76 Saturday, Jul 18 BOS DET W 5 3 49-27 1 up 4.5 +++
77 77 Monday, Jul 20 BOS DET L 2 3 49-28 1 up 4.5 -
78 78 Thursday, Jul 23 (1) BOS @ NYY W 6 1 50-28 1 up 2.5 +
79 79 Thursday, Jul 23 (2) BOS @ NYY L 2 4 50-29 1 up 2.5 -
80 80 Friday, Jul 24 BOS @ NYY W 8 2 51-29 1 up 3.5 +
81 81 Saturday, Jul 25 BOS @ NYY W 7 5 52-29 1 up 4.5 ++
82 82 Monday, Jul 27 BOS NYY W 5 0 53-29 1 up 4.5 +++
83 83 Tuesday, Jul 28 BOS NYY W 3 0 54-29 1 up 4.5 ++++
84 84 Wednesday, Jul 29 BOS NYY L 14 15 54-30 1 up 4.0 -
85 85 Thursday, Jul 30 BOS NYY L 1 12 54-31 1 up 2.5 --
86 86 Friday, Jul 31 BOS @ WSH T 4 4 54-31 1 up 3.0 --
87 87 Saturday, Aug 1 (1) BOS @ WSH L 0 1 54-32 1 up 3.5 ---
88 88 Saturday, Aug 1 (2) BOS @ WSH W 5 1 55-32 1 up 3.5 +
89 89 Monday, Aug 3 BOS @ WSH L 2 5 55-33 1 up 2.5 -
90 90 Wednesday, Aug 5 BOS @ PHA W 3 0 56-33 1 up 3.5 +
91 91 Thursday, Aug 6 BOS @ PHA L 3 4 56-34 1 up 2.5 -
92 92 Friday, Aug 7 BOS @ PHA W 11 3 57-34 1 up 3.5 +
93 93 Saturday, Aug 8 BOS PHA W 11 6 58-34 1 up 4.5 ++
94 94 Monday, Aug 10 BOS PHA W 7 2 59-34 1 up 5.5 +++
95 95 Tuesday, Aug 11 BOS PHA W 5 1 60-34 1 up 6.5 ++++
96 96 Thursday, Aug 13 (1) BOS @ DET W 3 1 61-34 1 up 6.0 +++++
97 97 Thursday, Aug 13 (2) BOS @ DET L 1 10 61-35 1 up 6.0 -
98 98 Friday, Aug 14 BOS @ DET W 6 3 62-35 1 up 7.0 +
99 99 Saturday, Aug 15 BOS @ DET W 6 3 63-35 1 up 7.0 ++
100 100 Monday, Aug 17 BOS @ CLE L 3 9 63-36 1 up 7.0 -
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Tuesday, Aug 18 BOS @ CLE W 10 2 64-36 1 up 7.0 +
102 102 Wednesday, Aug 19 BOS @ CHW W 4 3 65-36 1 up 7.5 ++
103 103 Thursday, Aug 20 BOS @ CHW L 5 9 65-37 1 up 8.0 -
104 104 Friday, Aug 21 BOS @ CHW W 11 3 66-37 1 up 8.5 +
105 105 Saturday, Aug 22 BOS @ SLB L 1 2 66-38 1 up 7.5 -
106 106 Sunday, Aug 23 (1) BOS @ SLB W 5 3 67-38 1 up 8.5 +
107 107 Sunday, Aug 23 (2) BOS @ SLB W 4 2 68-38 1 up 8.5 ++
108 108 Monday, Aug 24 BOS @ SLB L 1 5 68-39 1 up 7.5 -
109 109 Wednesday, Aug 26 BOS @ PHA W 3 0 69-39 1 up 8.0 +
110 110 Thursday, Aug 27 BOS @ PHA W 4 2 70-39 1 up 8.5 ++
111 111 Saturday, Aug 29 (1) BOS @ WSH W 3 2 71-39 1 up 9.5 +++
112 112 Saturday, Aug 29 (2) BOS @ WSH T 1 1 71-39 1 up 9.5 +++
113 113 Monday, Aug 31 (1) BOS @ WSH L 1 2 71-40 1 up 9.5 -
114 114 Monday, Aug 31 (2) BOS @ WSH W 5 2 72-40 1 up 9.5 +
115 115 Tuesday, Sep 1 BOS @ WSH W 2 1 73-40 1 up 9.5 ++
116 116 Thursday, Sep 3 BOS PHA W 6 5 74-40 1 up10.0 +++
117 117 Saturday, Sep 5 BOS PHA W 12 1 75-40 1 up11.5 ++++
118 118 Monday, Sep 7 (1) BOS @ NYY W 4 0 76-40 1 up11.0 +++++
119 119 Monday, Sep 7 (2) BOS @ NYY L 0 5 76-41 1 up11.0 -
120 120 Tuesday, Sep 8 BOS @ NYY L 0 1 76-42 1 up10.0 --
121 121 Wednesday, Sep 9 (1) BOS WSH W 9 4 77-42 1 up11.0 +
122 122 Wednesday, Sep 9 (2) BOS WSH W 3 2 78-42 1 up11.0 ++
123 123 Thursday, Sep 10 BOS WSH W 3 0 79-42 1 up11.5 +++
124 124 Friday, Sep 11 BOS WSH W 2 1 80-42 1 up12.0 ++++
125 125 Saturday, Sep 12 BOS NYY W 10 1 81-42 1 up11.5 +++++
126 126 Monday, Sep 14 BOS NYY L 2 4 81-43 1 up11.0 -
127 127 Tuesday, Sep 15 BOS NYY W 12 3 82-43 1 up11.5 +
128 128 Wednesday, Sep 16 BOS CLE W 14 7 83-43 1 up12.5 ++
129 129 Thursday, Sep 17 BOS CLE W 14 3 84-43 1 up13.5 +++
130 130 Friday, Sep 18 BOS CLE W 7 6 85-43 1 up14.5 ++++
131 131 Saturday, Sep 19 BOS CHW W 13 3 86-43 1 up15.5 +++++
132 132 Monday, Sep 21 BOS CHW W 4 3 87-43 1 up15.5 ++++++
133 133 Tuesday, Sep 22 BOS CHW L 0 7 87-44 1 up14.5 -
134 134 Wednesday, Sep 23 (1) BOS DET L 4 5 87-45 1 up14.0 --
135 135 Wednesday, Sep 23 (2) BOS DET L 2 8 87-46 1 up14.0 ---
136 136 Thursday, Sep 24 BOS DET W 8 2 88-46 1 up14.0 +
137 137 Friday, Sep 25 BOS DET T 6 6 88-46 1 up13.5 +
138 138 Saturday, Sep 26 (1) BOS SLB L 2 6 88-47 1 up13.5 -
139 139 Saturday, Sep 26 (2) BOS SLB W 8 2 89-47 1 up13.5 +
140 140 Monday, Sep 28 (1) BOS SLB W 8 7 90-47 1 up14.0 ++
141 141 Monday, Sep 28 (2) BOS SLB W 6 0 91-47 1 up14.0 +++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1902 / 1904 Schedule and Results