Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1997 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:Offseason Updates

1997 Atlanta Braves

Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia: 1996 / 1998

101-61, Finished 1st in NL East (Schedule and Results)
View League Standings and Leaders
Manager: Bobby Cox (101-61)
GM: John Schuerholz
Scored 791 runs, Allowed 581 runs. Pythagorean W-L: 103-59

Ballparks: Turner Field · Attendance: 3,464,488 (2nd of 14)
Park Factors  Over 100 favors batters, under 100 favors pitchers.
  multi-year:
Batting - 102, Pitching - 99 · one-year: Batting - 101, Pitching - 99

BaseballAmerica.com: Franchise Executives
News & ViewsThinkFactory
BR Bullpen: Find or enter more info for this team (what's this?)


1996 / 1998 Schedule and Results

Game Results

Height of bar is margin of victory up to 10 runs  · Mouseover bar for details  · Click for box score  · Grouped by Month

Game Results

Season Summary 101-61, Final Rank:1, GB: 0.0
Days in First151last on Sunday, Sep 28, counts only the days a team played and was in first at the end of the day
 169last on Sep 28, counts all days of the season including off days
Biggest Lead9last on Sunday, Sep 28, for days on which they played
Farthest Behind2last on Thursday, Apr 3, for days on which they played
Most Games over .50042last on Friday, Sep 26
Most Games under .5002last on Wednesday, Apr 2
Longest Winning Streak7Saturday, Apr 12 to Saturday, Apr 19 and Friday, May 16 to Friday, May 23
Longest Losing Streak4Wednesday, Jun 11 to Sunday, Jun 15
Most Runs Allowed12Wednesday, Sep 3
Most Runs Scored15Monday, Apr 14, Thursday, Jul 3 and Saturday, Aug 30
Longest Game (innings)13Friday, May 16 and Wednesday, Aug 27
Times Shutout by Opponent6 
Times Opponent Shutout17 
Walkoff Wins12 
Walkoff Losses7 

Team Win/Loss Splits

Overall
SplitWLRSRAWP
Overall101 61 791 581 .623
Home/Road
SplitWLRSRAWP
Home 50 31 378 302 .617
Road 51 30 413 279 .630
Month by Month
SplitWLRSRAWP
April 19 6 140 73 .760
May 17 11 121 99 .607
June 16 12 156 117 .571
July 17 11 138 108 .607
August 16 11 123 86 .593
September 16 10 113 98 .615
By Season Half
SplitWLRSRAWP
First Half 57 30 450 304 .655
Second Half 44 31 341 277 .587
Extra-Innings
SplitWLRSRAWP
9-Inning Games 90 51 712 499 .638
ExtraInning 10 10 77 82 .500
Shortened 1 0 2 01.000
One-Run Games
SplitWLRSRAWP
One Run 33 20 198 185 .623
Blowouts (5+ Runs)
SplitWLRSRAWP
Blowout 32 10 339 160 .762
Inter-League Play
SplitWLRSRAWP
Inter-Lg 8 7 71 51 .533
Opponent
SplitWLRSRAWP
BAL 0 3 10 15 .000
BOS 3 0 31 61.000
CHC 9 2 56 30 .818
CIN 9 2 77 34 .818
COL 5 6 58 56 .455
DET 1 2 11 16 .333
FLA 4 8 34 50 .333
HOU 7 4 40 36 .636
LAD 6 5 47 40 .545
MON 10 2 59 32 .833
NYM 5 7 79 68 .417
NYY 2 1 5 2 .667
PHI 10 2 73 46 .833
PIT 5 6 45 35 .455
SDP 8 3 60 37 .727
SFG 7 4 48 39 .636
STL 8 3 44 27 .727
TOR 2 1 14 12 .667

Team Game-by-Game Schedule and Results

Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
1 1 Tuesday, Apr 1 boxscore ATL @ HOU L 1 2 0-1 4 1.0 Reynolds Smoltz Wagner 2:29 N 44,618 -
2 2 Wednesday, Apr 2 boxscore ATL @ HOU L 3 4 0-2 4 2.0 Hampton Maddux Wagner 2:34 N 16,308 --
3 3 Thursday, Apr 3 boxscore ATL @ HOU W 3 2 1-2 3 2.0 Glavine Kile Wohlers 2:38 N 17,963 +
4 4 Friday, Apr 4 boxscore ATL CHC W 5 4 2-2 3 1.0 Clontz Adams Wohlers 2:54 N 45,044 ++
5 5 Saturday, Apr 5 boxscore ATL CHC W 11 5 3-2 2 1.0 Smoltz Casian 2:47 N 45,698 +++
6 6 Sunday, Apr 6 boxscore ATL CHC W 4 0 4-2 2 1.0 Maddux Mulholland 1:47 D 41,318 ++++
7 7 Tuesday, Apr 8 boxscore ATL HOU W 4 2 5-2 2 1.0 Glavine Hampton Wohlers 2:48 N 31,064 +++++
8 8 Wednesday, Apr 9 boxscore ATL HOU W-wo 4 3 12 6-2 2 0.5 Embree Lima 3:48 N 33,986 ++++++
9 9 Thursday, Apr 10 boxscore ATL HOU L 3 5 6-3 2 1.5 Holt Smoltz Hudek 2:58 N 33,637 -
10 10 Saturday, Apr 12 boxscore ATL @ CHC W 2 1 7-3 2 1.0 Bielecki Patterson Wohlers 2:30 D 23,944 +
11 11 Sunday, Apr 13 boxscore ATL @ CHC W 6 4 8-3 1 Tied Clontz Wendell Wohlers 3:25 D 21,244 ++
12 12 Monday, Apr 14 boxscore ATL CIN W 15 5 9-3 1 up 0.5 Neagle Schourek 3:22 N 31,427 +++
13 13 Tuesday, Apr 15 boxscore ATL CIN W 3 0 10-3 1 up 1.5 Smoltz Mercker 2:12 N 31,962 ++++
14 14 Wednesday, Apr 16 boxscore ATL CIN W 7 1 11-3 1 up 1.5 Byrd Smiley 2:16 D 38,411 +++++
15 15 Friday, Apr 18 boxscore ATL @ COL W 14 0 12-3 1 up 2.0 Glavine Wright 2:48 N 48,070 ++++++
16 16 Saturday, Apr 19 boxscore ATL @ COL W 8 7 13-3 1 up 3.0 Neagle Ritz Bielecki 3:06 D 48,065 +++++++
17 17 Sunday, Apr 20 boxscore ATL @ COL L 2 9 13-4 1 up 3.0 Holmes Smoltz 2:43 D 48,155 -
18 18 Tuesday, Apr 22 boxscore ATL @ SFG W 4 0 14-4 1 up 4.0 Maddux VanLandingham 2:31 N 18,404 +
19 19 Wednesday, Apr 23 boxscore ATL @ SFG L-wo 3 4 14-5 1 up 4.0 Henry Embree 2:37 D 17,050 -
20 20 Friday, Apr 25 boxscore ATL SDP W 5 4 15-5 1 up 4.0 Neagle Cunnane Wohlers 2:53 N 43,376 +
21 21 Saturday, Apr 26 boxscore ATL SDP W-wo 3 2 10 16-5 1 up 4.0 Wohlers Hoffman 2:56 N 45,473 ++
22 22 Sunday, Apr 27 boxscore ATL SDP W 2 0 5 17-5 1 up 4.0 Maddux Valenzuela 1:16 D 36,399 +++
23 23 Monday, Apr 28 boxscore ATL LAD W 14 0 18-5 1 up 4.0 Glavine Martinez 2:48 N 28,357 ++++
24 24 Tuesday, Apr 29 boxscore ATL LAD L 2 6 18-6 1 up 3.0 Park Wade 3:10 N 35,442 -
25 25 Wednesday, Apr 30 boxscore ATL @ CIN W 12 3 19-6 1 up 4.0 Neagle Mercker 2:41 N 18,278 +
26 26 Thursday, May 1 boxscore ATL @ CIN W 4 2 20-6 1 up 5.0 Smoltz Burba Wohlers 2:22 D 19,991 ++
27 27 Friday, May 2 boxscore ATL PIT L 2 3 20-7 1 up 5.0 Peters Bielecki Loiselle 2:26 N 37,577 -
28 28 Saturday, May 3 boxscore ATL PIT L 0 3 20-8 1 up 4.0 Loaiza Glavine Rincon 2:37 N 46,602 --
29 29 Sunday, May 4 boxscore ATL PIT W 3 1 21-8 1 up 5.0 Wade Cordova Wohlers 2:39 D 42,037 +
30 30 Monday, May 5 boxscore ATL @ STL W 2 1 22-8 1 up 5.0 Neagle Benes Wohlers 2:42 N 26,113 ++
31 31 Tuesday, May 6 boxscore ATL @ STL L 3 4 22-9 1 up 5.0 Mathews Bielecki Eckersley 2:30 N 28,620 -
32 32 Wednesday, May 7 boxscore ATL @ FLA W 3 2 10 23-9 1 up 5.5 Byrd Powell Bielecki 2:56 N 26,838 +
33 33 Thursday, May 8 boxscore ATL @ FLA L 1 5 23-10 1 up 5.0 Saunders Glavine 2:26 N 32,088 -
34 34 Friday, May 9 boxscore ATL @ PIT L 0 9 23-11 1 up 4.0 Cordova Wade 2:29 N 18,006 --
35 35 Saturday, May 10 boxscore ATL @ PIT W 9 3 24-11 1 up 5.0 Neagle Lieber 2:36 N 34,143 +
36 36 Sunday, May 11 boxscore ATL @ PIT W 8 2 25-11 1 up 5.0 Smoltz Cooke 2:38 D 29,895 ++
37 37 Monday, May 12 boxscore ATL @ PIT W 10 2 26-11 1 up 5.0 Maddux Schmidt 2:40 N 12,114 +++
38 38 Tuesday, May 13 boxscore ATL FLA L 5 11 26-12 1 up 4.0 Saunders Wade 2:55 N 38,365 -
39 39 Wednesday, May 14 boxscore ATL FLA L 3 4 26-13 1 up 3.0 Brown Bielecki Nen 2:56 N 38,902 --
40 40 Friday, May 16 boxscore ATL STL W-wo 1 0 13 27-13 1 up 3.0 Borowski Frascatore 4:09 N 46,626 +
41 41 Saturday, May 17 boxscore ATL STL W 11 6 28-13 1 up 3.0 Smoltz Morris 2:37 N 48,366 ++
42 42 Sunday, May 18 boxscore ATL STL W 5 1 29-13 1 up 3.0 Glavine Benes 2:14 N 35,046 +++
43 43 Monday, May 19 boxscore ATL STL W 7 3 30-13 1 up 3.5 Neagle Stottlemyre 2:35 N 33,497 ++++
44 44 Tuesday, May 20 boxscore ATL MON W 4 2 31-13 1 up 3.5 Wade Hermanson Wohlers 2:58 N 38,278 +++++
45 45 Wednesday, May 21 boxscore ATL MON W-wo 3 2 32-13 1 up 4.5 Maddux Urbina 2:28 D 41,528 ++++++
46 46 Friday, May 23 boxscore ATL @ LAD W 4 2 33-13 1 up 5.5 Smoltz Astacio Wohlers 2:32 N 38,735 +++++++
47 47 Saturday, May 24 boxscore ATL @ LAD L 3 10 33-14 1 up 4.5 Martinez Glavine 2:26 N 49,074 -
48 48 Sunday, May 25 boxscore ATL @ LAD L 0 2 33-15 1 up 3.5 Valdez Neagle Worrell 2:29 D 40,417 --
49 49 Monday, May 26 boxscore ATL @ SDP W 12 5 34-15 1 up 4.5 Borowski Worrell 3:18 N 17,265 +
50 50 Tuesday, May 27 boxscore ATL @ SDP W 9 2 35-15 1 up 4.5 Maddux Hamilton 2:47 N 18,231 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
51 51 Thursday, May 29 boxscore ATL SFG L 2 4 35-16 1 up 4.5 Estes Smoltz Beck 2:53 N 38,844 -
52 52 Friday, May 30 boxscore ATL SFG W-wo 3 2 36-16 1 up 4.5 Wohlers Henry 3:14 N 45,181 +
53 53 Saturday, May 31 boxscore ATL SFG L 4 6 36-17 1 up 4.5 Poole Borowski Beck 3:16 N 46,445 -
54 54 Sunday, Jun 1 boxscore ATL SFG W 4 3 37-17 1 up 5.5 Bielecki Poole Wohlers 2:35 D 46,501 +
55 55 Monday, Jun 2 boxscore ATL SDP L 4 5 37-18 1 up 4.5 Murray Maddux Hoffman 2:42 N 33,659 -
56 56 Tuesday, Jun 3 boxscore ATL SDP L 2 5 37-19 1 up 4.5 Smith Wohlers Hoffman 3:10 N 41,902 --
57 57 Wednesday, Jun 4 boxscore ATL @ MON W 6 3 38-19 1 up 4.5 Glavine Juden 2:26 N 16,429 +
58 58 Thursday, Jun 5 boxscore ATL @ MON W 9 0 39-19 1 up 5.5 Neagle Hermanson 2:56 D 12,212 ++
59 59 Friday, Jun 6 boxscore ATL @ SFG W 9 5 40-19 1 up 6.0 Byrd Roa 3:20 N 16,948 +++
60 60 Saturday, Jun 7 boxscore ATL @ SFG W 5 2 41-19 1 up 6.0 Maddux Henry Wohlers 2:16 D 30,440 ++++
61 61 Sunday, Jun 8 boxscore ATL @ SFG L 3 5 41-20 1 up 5.5 Poole Smoltz Beck 2:44 D 36,689 -
62 62 Monday, Jun 9 boxscore ATL @ COL L 3 8 41-21 1 up 5.5 Bailey Glavine 2:53 N 48,047 --
63 63 Tuesday, Jun 10 boxscore ATL @ COL W 8 3 42-21 1 up 5.5 Neagle Ritz 2:53 N 48,103 +
64 64 Wednesday, Jun 11 boxscore ATL @ COL L 6 9 42-22 1 up 4.5 Thomson Clontz 2:50 D 48,633 -
65 65 Friday, Jun 13 boxscore ATL BAL L 3 4 42-23 1 up 3.5 Key Maddux Myers 2:30 N 48,334 --
66 66 Saturday, Jun 14 boxscore ATL BAL L 4 6 12 42-24 1 up 3.0 Rhodes Borowski Myers 4:54 D 47,344 ---
67 67 Sunday, Jun 15 boxscore ATL BAL L 3 5 10 42-25 1 up 2.5 Mathews Wohlers Myers 3:06 D 48,088 ----
68 68 Monday, Jun 16 boxscore ATL @ TOR W 3 0 43-25 1 up 2.5 Neagle Clemens 2:15 N 34,409 +
69 69 Tuesday, Jun 17 boxscore ATL @ TOR W 8 7 44-25 1 up 2.5 Maddux Andujar Wohlers 2:45 N 31,356 ++
70 70 Wednesday, Jun 18 boxscore ATL @ TOR L 3 5 44-26 1 up 2.5 Williams Smoltz Timlin 2:34 N 31,717 -
71 71 Friday, Jun 20 boxscore ATL @ PHI W 4 1 45-26 1 up 2.5 Glavine Leiter 2:26 N 20,648 +
72 72 Saturday, Jun 21 boxscore ATL @ PHI W 9 8 46-26 1 up 3.5 Clontz Blazier Wohlers 3:19 N 24,309 ++
73 73 Sunday, Jun 22 boxscore ATL @ PHI W 12 5 47-26 1 up 3.5 Maddux Stephenson 2:50 D 25,534 +++
74 74 Monday, Jun 23 boxscore ATL @ NYM L 2 3 47-27 1 up 3.5 Reed Smoltz 2:17 N 22,193 -
75 75 Tuesday, Jun 24 boxscore ATL @ NYM L-wo 5 6 47-28 1 up 2.5 McMichael Wohlers 3:23 N 26,663 --
76 76 Wednesday, Jun 25 boxscore ATL @ NYM W 14 7 48-28 1 up 2.5 Glavine Jones 2:58 D 27,980 +
77 77 Thursday, Jun 26 boxscore ATL PHI W 5 4 49-28 1 up 3.5 Neagle Beech Wohlers 2:38 N 41,762 ++
78 78 Friday, Jun 27 boxscore ATL PHI W 7 1 50-28 1 up 4.5 Maddux Stephenson 2:08 N 48,234 +++
79 79 Saturday, Jun 28 boxscore ATL PHI W 9 1 51-28 1 up 4.5 Smoltz Schilling 2:50 N 48,557 ++++
80 80 Sunday, Jun 29 boxscore ATL PHI W 6 5 52-28 1 up 4.5 Bielecki Brewer Wohlers 3:03 D 47,902 +++++
81 81 Monday, Jun 30 boxscore ATL @ NYY L-wo 0 1 10 52-29 1 up 3.5 Stanton Bielecki 3:19 N 39,887 -
82 82 Tuesday, Jul 1 boxscore ATL @ NYY W 3 1 53-29 1 up 4.5 Neagle Mendoza Wohlers 2:51 N 39,596 +
83 83 Wednesday, Jul 2 boxscore ATL @ NYY W 2 0 54-29 1 up 4.5 Maddux Gooden 2:09 D 36,606 ++
84 84 Thursday, Jul 3 boxscore ATL @ MON W 15 2 55-29 1 up 4.5 Smoltz Bullinger 2:37 N 18,064 +++
85 85 Friday, Jul 4 boxscore ATL @ MON W 6 3 56-29 1 up 5.5 Clontz Urbina Wohlers 2:49 N 19,939 ++++
86 86 Saturday, Jul 5 boxscore ATL @ MON W 5 3 57-29 1 up 6.5 Glavine Martinez Wohlers 2:44 N 24,788 +++++
87 87 Sunday, Jul 6 boxscore ATL @ MON L 2 6 57-30 1 up 6.5 Juden Neagle 2:08 D 21,316 -
88 88 Thursday, Jul 10 boxscore ATL NYM L 7 10 57-31 1 up 5.5 McMichael Bielecki Franco 3:24 N 47,685 --
89 89 Friday, Jul 11 boxscore ATL NYM L 7 9 57-32 1 up 5.5 Lidle Glavine Franco 3:10 N 40,094 ---
90 90 Saturday, Jul 12 boxscore ATL NYM W 7 4 58-32 1 up 6.0 Maddux Clark Wohlers 2:52 D 48,091 +
91 91 Sunday, Jul 13 boxscore ATL NYM L 6 7 10 58-33 1 up 5.0 McMichael Bielecki Franco 3:18 N 42,111 -
92 92 Monday, Jul 14 boxscore ATL PHI W 10 6 59-33 1 up 5.0 Millwood Brewer Wohlers 3:22 N 38,118 +
93 93 Tuesday, Jul 15 boxscore ATL PHI L 1 8 59-34 1 up 5.0 Stephenson Smoltz 2:08 N 39,494 -
94 94 Wednesday, Jul 16 boxscore ATL COL W 2 1 60-34 1 up 5.0 Glavine Dipoto Wohlers 2:30 N 48,400 +
95 95 Thursday, Jul 17 boxscore ATL COL W 8 2 61-34 1 up 5.0 Maddux Swift 2:43 N 48,024 ++
96 96 Friday, Jul 18 boxscore ATL LAD W 4 1 62-34 1 up 6.0 Neagle Reyes Wohlers 2:30 N 48,721 +++
97 97 Saturday, Jul 19 boxscore ATL LAD L 1 4 62-35 1 up 5.0 Astacio Millwood Radinsky 2:36 D 49,758 -
98 98 Sunday, Jul 20 boxscore ATL LAD L 3 8 62-36 1 up 5.0 Park Smoltz 2:50 D 48,414 --
99 99 Monday, Jul 21 boxscore ATL LAD W-wo 5 4 10 63-36 1 up 6.0 Embree Dreifort 2:59 D 49,318 +
100 100 Tuesday, Jul 22 (1) boxscore ATL @ CHC W 4 1 64-36 1 up 6.5 Maddux Gonzalez 2:07 D 0 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
101 101 Tuesday, Jul 22 (2) boxscore ATL @ CHC L 4 5 64-37 1 up 6.5 Bottenfield Cather Rojas 2:44 D 31,804 -
102 102 Wednesday, Jul 23 boxscore ATL @ CHC L 1 3 64-38 1 up 5.5 Tapani Millwood Rojas 2:29 D 34,230 --
103 103 Friday, Jul 25 boxscore ATL @ CIN W 7 3 65-38 1 up 5.5 Smoltz Schourek 2:17 N 34,931 +
104 104 Saturday, Jul 26 boxscore ATL @ CIN L-wo 6 7 11 65-39 1 up 5.5 Shaw Wohlers 3:49 D 33,115 -
105 105 Sunday, Jul 27 boxscore ATL @ CIN W 3 2 66-39 1 up 6.5 Maddux Burba Wohlers 2:37 D 30,167 +
106 106 Monday, Jul 28 boxscore ATL CHC W 6 0 67-39 1 up 7.0 Neagle Tapani 2:13 N 47,266 ++
107 107 Tuesday, Jul 29 boxscore ATL CHC W 7 2 68-39 1 up 7.5 Millwood Trachsel 3:03 N 44,131 +++
108 108 Wednesday, Jul 30 boxscore ATL CHC W-wo 6 5 69-39 1 up 7.5 Embree Rojas 3:33 N 43,090 ++++
109 109 Thursday, Jul 31 boxscore ATL @ FLA L 0 1 69-40 1 up 6.5 Saunders Byrd Nen 2:51 N 18,409 -
110 110 Friday, Aug 1 boxscore ATL @ FLA L-wo 2 3 12 69-41 1 up 5.5 Powell Cather 3:29 N 40,669 --
111 111 Saturday, Aug 2 boxscore ATL @ FLA W 4 2 70-41 1 up 6.5 Neagle Leiter Wohlers 3:16 N 41,643 +
112 112 Sunday, Aug 3 boxscore ATL @ FLA L 4 8 70-42 1 up 5.5 Fernandez Millwood 2:40 D 41,193 -
113 113 Monday, Aug 4 boxscore ATL @ PIT W 6 0 71-42 1 up 5.5 Smoltz Cooke 2:35 N 21,609 +
114 114 Tuesday, Aug 5 boxscore ATL @ PIT L 4 5 71-43 1 up 4.5 Schmidt Glavine Loiselle 2:30 N 20,069 -
115 115 Wednesday, Aug 6 boxscore ATL STL W-wo 4 3 72-43 1 up 4.5 Wohlers Petkovsek 2:33 N 46,880 +
116 116 Thursday, Aug 7 boxscore ATL STL W 3 0 73-43 1 up 5.5 Neagle Stottlemyre Wohlers 2:55 N 46,687 ++
117 117 Friday, Aug 8 boxscore ATL FLA L 4 6 73-44 1 up 4.5 Fernandez Byrd Nen 3:08 N 49,335 -
118 118 Saturday, Aug 9 boxscore ATL FLA W 4 3 74-44 1 up 5.5 Smoltz Stanifer Wohlers 2:58 D 47,552 +
119 119 Sunday, Aug 10 boxscore ATL FLA L 2 4 10 74-45 1 up 4.5 Powell Bielecki Nen 3:09 D 47,649 -
120 120 Monday, Aug 11 boxscore ATL FLA W-wo 2 1 75-45 1 up 5.5 Wohlers Heredia 2:31 N 47,870 +
121 121 Tuesday, Aug 12 boxscore ATL PIT L 2 5 75-46 1 up 5.5 Sodowsky Wohlers Loiselle 3:25 N 42,435 -
122 122 Wednesday, Aug 13 boxscore ATL PIT L 1 2 75-47 1 up 4.5 Lieber Smoltz Loiselle 2:30 N 40,793 --
123 123 Friday, Aug 15 boxscore ATL @ STL L-wo 2 3 12 75-48 1 up 3.5 King Cather 3:34 N 43,863 ---
124 124 Saturday, Aug 16 boxscore ATL @ STL W 5 3 76-48 1 up 4.5 Maddux Morris Wohlers 2:32 D 47,229 +
125 125 Sunday, Aug 17 boxscore ATL @ STL L 1 3 76-49 1 up 3.5 King Neagle Eckersley 2:42 N 40,968 -
126 126 Tuesday, Aug 19 boxscore ATL @ HOU W 4 3 77-49 1 up 4.0 Smoltz Hampton Wohlers 2:46 N 32,145 +
127 127 Wednesday, Aug 20 boxscore ATL @ HOU W 3 1 78-49 1 up 4.0 Glavine Reynolds Wohlers 2:46 N 25,593 ++
128 128 Friday, Aug 22 boxscore ATL CIN W 6 2 79-49 1 up 5.0 Maddux Remlinger 2:42 N 48,937 +++
129 129 Saturday, Aug 23 boxscore ATL CIN W 10 3 80-49 1 up 5.0 Neagle Tomko 2:54 D 48,499 ++++
130 130 Sunday, Aug 24 boxscore ATL CIN L 4 6 10 80-50 1 up 4.0 Shaw Fox Belinda 2:49 D 45,577 -
131 131 Tuesday, Aug 26 boxscore ATL HOU W-wo 7 6 11 81-50 1 up 4.5 Clontz Wagner 3:47 N 37,313 +
132 132 Wednesday, Aug 27 boxscore ATL HOU L 4 6 13 81-51 1 up 3.5 Hudek Byrd Lima 4:28 N 33,019 -
133 133 Thursday, Aug 28 boxscore ATL HOU W 4 2 82-51 1 up 4.5 Neagle Kile Wohlers 2:32 N 37,849 +
134 134 Friday, Aug 29 boxscore ATL @ BOS W 9 1 83-51 1 up 4.5 Smoltz Sele 2:59 N 32,577 ++
135 135 Saturday, Aug 30 boxscore ATL @ BOS W 15 2 84-51 1 up 4.5 Millwood Wakefield 2:42 D 32,865 +++
136 136 Sunday, Aug 31 boxscore ATL @ BOS W 7 3 85-51 1 up 4.5 Glavine Avery 2:54 N 33,147 ++++
137 137 Monday, Sep 1 boxscore ATL DET L 2 4 85-52 1 up 3.5 Moehler Maddux Jones 2:39 N 38,950 -
138 138 Tuesday, Sep 2 boxscore ATL DET W 5 0 86-52 1 up 3.5 Neagle Keagle 2:18 N 32,308 +
139 139 Wednesday, Sep 3 boxscore ATL DET L 4 12 86-53 1 up 2.5 Blair Smoltz 2:46 D 36,556 -
140 140 Thursday, Sep 4 boxscore ATL @ SDP W 8 7 11 87-53 1 up 3.0 Wohlers Worrell 3:53 N 12,804 +
141 141 Friday, Sep 5 boxscore ATL @ SDP L 2 6 87-54 1 up 3.0 Ashby Glavine 2:41 N 21,492 -
142 142 Saturday, Sep 6 boxscore ATL @ SDP W 9 1 88-54 1 up 4.0 Maddux Hitchcock 2:18 N 32,099 +
143 143 Sunday, Sep 7 boxscore ATL @ SDP W 4 0 89-54 1 up 5.0 Neagle Hamilton 2:19 D 21,052 ++
144 144 Tuesday, Sep 9 boxscore ATL @ LAD W 4 3 90-54 1 up 5.5 Smoltz Valdez Wohlers 3:01 N 37,270 +++
145 145 Wednesday, Sep 10 boxscore ATL @ LAD W 7 0 91-54 1 up 6.5 Glavine Martinez 2:37 N 41,564 ++++
146 146 Friday, Sep 12 boxscore ATL COL L 1 3 91-55 1 up 6.5 Munoz Wohlers Dipoto 2:28 N 47,772 -
147 147 Saturday, Sep 13 boxscore ATL COL L 6 10 91-56 1 up 5.5 Holmes Cather DeJean 3:15 N 49,097 --
148 148 Sunday, Sep 14 boxscore ATL COL L 0 4 91-57 1 up 4.5 Astacio Smoltz 2:42 D 46,245 ---
149 149 Monday, Sep 15 boxscore ATL SFG W-wo 5 4 92-57 1 up 5.5 Ligtenberg Beck 2:46 N 38,641 +
150 150 Tuesday, Sep 16 boxscore ATL SFG W 6 4 93-57 1 up 5.5 Millwood Alvarez 2:48 D 37,661 ++
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
151 151 Wednesday, Sep 17 boxscore ATL NYM W 10 2 94-57 1 up 6.0 Maddux Jones 2:37 N 40,974 +++
152 152 Thursday, Sep 18 boxscore ATL NYM W 11 4 95-57 1 up 6.0 Byrd Isringhausen 2:42 N 41,373 ++++
153 153 Friday, Sep 19 boxscore ATL MON W 2 1 96-57 1 up 6.0 Smoltz Perez 2:10 N 47,156 +++++
154 154 Saturday, Sep 20 boxscore ATL MON W 3 1 97-57 1 up 7.0 Glavine Martinez 2:00 N 48,147 ++++++
155 155 Sunday, Sep 21 boxscore ATL MON L 1 7 97-58 1 up 7.0 DeHart Neagle 2:52 D 47,179 -
156 156 Monday, Sep 22 boxscore ATL MON W-wo 3 2 11 98-58 1 up 8.0 Cather Bennett 3:38 N 41,268 +
157 157 Tuesday, Sep 23 boxscore ATL @ PHI W 6 0 99-58 1 up 8.0 Millwood Leiter 2:32 N 14,264 ++
158 158 Wednesday, Sep 24 boxscore ATL @ PHI L 1 5 99-59 1 up 7.0 Stephenson Byrd 2:15 N 16,772 -
159 159 Thursday, Sep 25 boxscore ATL @ PHI W 3 2 10 100-59 1 up 8.0 Cather Spradlin Clontz 2:56 N 15,030 +
160 160 Friday, Sep 26 boxscore ATL @ NYM W 7 6 11 101-59 1 up 9.0 LeRoy Rojas Ligtenberg 3:12 N 21,864 ++
161 161 Saturday, Sep 27 boxscore ATL @ NYM L-wo 1 2 101-60 1 up 9.0 Crawford Wohlers 2:30 D 31,472 -
162 162 Sunday, Sep 28 boxscore ATL @ NYM L 2 8 101-61 1 up 9.0 Acevedo Neagle 2:33 D 27,176 --
Rk Gm# Date Tm   Opp W/L R RA Inn W-L Rank GB Win Loss Save Time D/N Attendance Streak
NLDS Game 1 Tuesday, Sep 30 boxscore ATL HOU W 2 1 1-0 Maddux Kile 2:15 D 46,467
NLDS Game 2 Wednesday, Oct 1 boxscore ATL HOU W 13 3 2-0 Glavine Hampton 3:06 D 49,200
NLDS Game 3 Friday, Oct 3 boxscore ATL @ HOU W 4 1 3-0 Smoltz Reynolds 2:35 D 53,688
NLCS Game 1 Tuesday, Oct 7 boxscore ATL FLA L 3 5 3-1 Brown Maddux Nen 3:04 N 49,244
NLCS Game 2 Wednesday, Oct 8 boxscore ATL FLA W 7 1 4-1 Glavine Fernandez 2:51 D 48,933
NLCS Game 3 Friday, Oct 10 boxscore ATL @ FLA L 2 5 4-2 Hernandez Smoltz Nen 2:59 N 53,857
NLCS Game 4 Saturday, Oct 11 boxscore ATL @ FLA W 4 0 5-2 Neagle Leiter 2:48 N 54,890
NLCS Game 5 Sunday, Oct 12 boxscore ATL @ FLA L 1 2 5-3 Hernandez Maddux 2:27 D 51,982
NLCS Game 6 Tuesday, Oct 14 boxscore ATL FLA L 4 7 5-4 Brown Glavine 3:10 N 50,446
Rank and Games Back are always at the end of all games played on that date.

1996 / 1998 Schedule and Results