Comments on: Margin of Victory http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402 This and that about baseball stats. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:01:55 +0000 hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.6 By: SJBlonger http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402/comment-page-1#comment-11037 Thu, 04 Feb 2010 01:46:58 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=4402#comment-11037 I can't believe this is even being debated. The only way extra runs score is on a home run.

]]>
By: dukeofflatbush http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402/comment-page-1#comment-11019 Wed, 03 Feb 2010 06:04:18 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=4402#comment-11019 Robin Ventura's walk-off, extra inning, grand slam that was a one run victory.

]]>
By: DoubleDiamond http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402/comment-page-1#comment-11014 Wed, 03 Feb 2010 01:02:59 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=4402#comment-11014 I remember reading somewhere that the only way multiple walk off runs can score is by a home run. In other words, no ground rule doubles, and no awarded bases on overthrows. As an example of the latter, suppose there are runners on second and third with the score tied with two out in the bottom of the ninth or an extra inning. A lefthanded batter is at the plate, so the second baseman is between first and second. The batter hits a ground that the second baseman fields but throws way too hard to get the batter at first, and the ball goes into the stands or dugout. Normally, everyone involved would be able to advance two bases - both runners would score, and the batter would go to 2nd - but here, only the runner on third gets to score.

A lot of times, I see a walk-off hit bounce over the fence because the winning run has scored from third or even second, and there's no effort made to catch the ball because it's not going to save the game. This is technically the behavior of a ground rule double, but under almost every other circumstance, an outfielder would have caught this particular hit before it reached the fence.

And somehow, I just know that that long "d" word I dislike so much was going to turn up here. I believe an easier way to say it is "one run difference".

]]>
By: bdunc8 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402/comment-page-1#comment-11008 Tue, 02 Feb 2010 21:27:21 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=4402#comment-11008 I couldn't find a game with a walk-off ground rule double in a tie game where 2 runs scored. However, I did come across this game. I'm assuming this game got called because of rain. With the bases loaded and the score tied at 5 in the bottom of the 5th, Wayne Tolleson hit a bases clearing double to give the Rangers an 8-5 lead. That turned out to be the last play of the game.

http://www.baseball-reference.com/boxes/TEX/TEX198404070.shtml

Also, Robin Ventura's "grand slam single" has to be mentioned here. I wish the play-by-play actually said "R. Ventura, single over center field wall".

http://www.baseball-reference.com/boxes/NYN/NYN199910170.shtml

]]>
By: Mark http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402/comment-page-1#comment-11006 Tue, 02 Feb 2010 20:20:56 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=4402#comment-11006 Yes, with a ground rule double with the bases loaded, two runs "can" score, as long as the batter progresses to second base and actually touches the bag. The only reason I know this arcane tidbit is that Hector Lopez, playing for the Yankees in the early 60s, had this exact situation and did not progress to second. He was therefore only credited with one RBI.

]]>
By: Andy http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402/comment-page-1#comment-11005 Tue, 02 Feb 2010 18:25:44 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=4402#comment-11005 I think that the margin of victory can be more than one in those situations also if it's a ground-rule double or triple. I am pretty sure I saw a game end in the bottom of en extra inning when the batter hit a ground-rule double with the bases loaded and two runs were scored. I'm not 100% sure about that, though. Certainly, if it were a ball that were NOT a ground rule double but would normally be a double, only one run would be counted.

]]>
By: Atlas http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402/comment-page-1#comment-11004 Tue, 02 Feb 2010 18:21:42 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=4402#comment-11004 One run is all you need to break a tie. So in the ninth or in extras, I imagine it's pretty frequent for a team to score a run with multiple runners on base who could score, but are not so credited. Only the winning run is credited with scoring in the bottom half of an inning from the ninth on, unless it's a walk-off homer, correct?

]]>
By: Andy http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402/comment-page-1#comment-11003 Tue, 02 Feb 2010 15:23:49 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=4402#comment-11003 As soon as I wrote that above, I had the same thought as you, JT. I am just running the numbers right now and it turns out that 3-2 and 4-3 are roughly the same and the most common, followed by 5-4, then 6-5. It has changed some over the years but that is generally accurate.

]]>
By: Johnny Twisto http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/4402/comment-page-1#comment-11002 Tue, 02 Feb 2010 15:17:16 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=4402#comment-11002 I'd guess the most common 1-run victory is more like 4-3 or 5-4, since that's closer to the average run-scoring level.

]]>