Comments on: Bunt Doubles http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099 This and that about baseball stats. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:01:55 +0000 hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.6 By: Baseball-Reference Blog » Blog Archive » Bunt Doubles - An Update http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8409 Sun, 09 Aug 2009 05:11:57 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8409 [...] Last week I posted a list of all the bunt doubles in the majors since 1988. Included in that list was a peculiar bunt-double by John Vander Wal which was described as : “Double to LF/Bunt (Bunt Line Drive to Deep LF)” [...]

]]>
By: tomepp http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8380 Thu, 06 Aug 2009 17:51:26 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8380 Okay, error on the responder (me), not the pitcher. Would that be an E0? 😉 You can learn something new - especially obscure Major League Baseball rules - every day.

]]>
By: Raphy http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8375 Thu, 06 Aug 2009 04:34:41 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8375 Tomepp

Application of rule 7.05(c) which awards three bases for touching a ball with a thrown glove results in a triple not an error. You can see an example in the bottom of the 7th of this game:
http://www.baseball-reference.com/boxes/ARI/ARI200505280.shtml

You can find a description of the play listed under May 28th in this article:
http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0FCI/is_2_65/ai_n26776158/

]]>
By: tomepp http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8374 Thu, 06 Aug 2009 04:01:25 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8374 Gerry: Are you sure it was scored a triple and not a single with an error on the pitcher? Sometimes people use language casually and use the term "triple" simply to mean that the batter made it to third base, not that it was scored a three-base hit. Seems to me that a player throwing a glove at a ball should be ruled an error, not extra bases on the hit.

]]>
By: josh24 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8365 Wed, 05 Aug 2009 22:07:27 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8365 Gerry: Possibly the one on 9/2/1964 in the top of the 3rd or the other on 4/22/1965, bottom of the 4th. All the other Howard's triples give the location(CF, LF or RF).

]]>
By: gerry http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8356 Wed, 05 Aug 2009 06:42:09 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8356 According to one of Dom Forker's trivia books, Frank Howard once hit a bunt triple. The pitcher couldn't get it, and in frustration threw his glove at the ball, which led to a rulebook triple. No date or other details given in the book. There appears to be a bunt home run at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXrudbegAJI

]]>
By: josh24 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8354 Wed, 05 Aug 2009 04:54:18 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8354 Willie McCovey vs Woodie Fryman in the 1st on 5/3/1970, PHI @ SF
Don Wilson(pitcher) vs Jim Bunning in the 2nd on 5/7/1971, HOU @ PHI
Jack Brohamer vs Vic Albury in the 3rd on 5/13/1975, CLE @ MIN
Bobby Murcer vs Darold Knowles driving in the tying run in the 9th on 7/21/1976, CHC @ SF
Miguel Dilone vs Allen Ripley leading off the game on 6/5/1978, BOS @ OAK
Darrell Porter(the catcher) vs Dick Drago in the 10th on 6/12/1979, BOS @ KC
Frank Taveras vs Bob Shirley in the 1st on 7/21/1979, NYM @ SD
Alfredo Griffin did it against Jose Guzman in the 4th on 6/21/1987, TEX @ OAK

]]>
By: JohnnyTwisto http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8337 Tue, 04 Aug 2009 17:12:14 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8337 Phil Rizzuto probably had a couple. He was well known as a bunting maestro, and if he saw an infielder charging hard, probably had the ability to push or slap it over his head and possibly into an area where he could reach second.

This also reminds me of Bernie Williams's double to catcher (albeit on a full swing) in the 4th inning of this game: http://www.baseball-reference.com/boxes/NYN/NYN200605210.shtml

]]>
By: Yankeefan25 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8335 Tue, 04 Aug 2009 16:39:33 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8335 I do not know how you can bunt and hit doubles thats pretty amazing, they must somehow get the bat in a certain position to hit the ball hard, but again, how can they do that?

]]>
By: Raphy http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/2099/comment-page-1#comment-8333 Tue, 04 Aug 2009 16:35:18 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=2099#comment-8333 A lot of the play description info for 1985 is incomplete. It doesn't say where the doubles were just that they happened. My guess is that is the reason why the splits only go back to '88.

In any case Duncan also had a bunt double on May 26, 1985.
http://articles.latimes.com/1985-05-27/sports/sp-6355_1

]]>