Comments on: Lance Lynn and intentionally walking the only batter you face http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031 This and that about baseball stats. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:01:55 +0000 hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.6 By: Jim http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-177252 Wed, 26 Oct 2011 19:58:52 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-177252 @Chris

Good point. The DP really wasn't the point of the scenarios though. Let's say you were intentionally walking a big bat instead to load the bases and those scenarios occurred.

Would the pitcher be credited with a 2nd batter faced if he picked the runner off before throwing a pitch to the second batter?

And would the IBB count if the runner on 3rd was thrown out trying to advance on a wild pitch on ball 4?

]]>
By: Chris http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-177101 Wed, 26 Oct 2011 14:34:03 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-177101 @Jim

Why are you intentionally walking somebody to set up a double play when you have two outs already?

]]>
By: nightfly http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-177094 Wed, 26 Oct 2011 14:17:14 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-177094 I don't care if Pujols is the MLB leader in GIDP... he still hits more homers than double plays.

]]>
By: Jim http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-176897 Wed, 26 Oct 2011 03:43:12 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-176897 I have 2 scenarios but I'm not sure if either counts.

#1) Runners on 2nd & 3rd & two outs. Ground ball specialist comes in and intentionally walks a batter to set up the DP. Before throwing a pitch to the next batter, he picks the guy off of 1st that he just walked. Does it count as a 2nd batter faced even though he never pitched to him?

#2) Runners on 2nd & 3rd & two outs. Ground ball specialist comes in and intentionally walks a batter to set up the DP. Intentional ball 4 gets away from the catcher, guy on 3rd gets thrown out trying to score. Pitcher intentionally walked the batter, but runner was caught advancing after ball 4, presumably before the batter gets to first. Does the walk still count?

]]>
By: Rick http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-176829 Wed, 26 Oct 2011 00:17:30 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-176829 Does this make Lynn an intentional walk specialist?

]]>
By: Doug http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-176739 Tue, 25 Oct 2011 20:31:38 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-176739 @26, Pete.

#2 on Andy's list fits your scenario of using a LOOGY to issue an IBB so that he can be removed if the the following batter is pinch-hit for. Lefty Allen Watson left the game after one hitter and the next hitter was pinch-hit for. Except Watson doesn't appear to have been a LOOGY - faced a single batter in only one of his 21 appearances for the Yankees that year.

#5 also fits, except that Billy Pierce also was definitely not a LOOGY.

One game where we do have a LOOGY (at least as much as LOOGies existed at the time) might be this one:

1973, game 5, Mets batting, leading 1-0 with 2 outs in the 6th, man on 3rd. Darold Knowles enters and issues an IBB to the #8 hitter and then strikes out Mets pitcher Koosman who hits for himself. Knowles is removed for a pinch-hitter in the following inning. Can only speculate what happens if Koosman is pinch-hit for, but it had to have occurred to Dick Williams when he brought in Knowles that there was at least a chance that the Mets would pinch-hit for their pitcher.

]]>
By: Doug http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-176697 Tue, 25 Oct 2011 19:15:52 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-176697 @26.

That's very clever, Pete. Very good use of the IBB as the only batter faced.

If I can figure out how to use the Event finder, I'll see if I can find that scenario.

]]>
By: Pete R http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-176692 Tue, 25 Oct 2011 19:04:36 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-176692 Here's another scenario (I don't think anyone's quite mentioned it).

Your starting pitcher (right-handed) is tiring. He is about to intentionally walk one last batter (A) to get to a weaker, left-handed hitter (L). You plan to send in a LOOGY to retire L. But, looking ahead, you think "what if as soon as I announce LOOGY, they send in a right-handed pinch-hitter (R)? The rules say that LOOGY has to face at least one batter, but he's terrible against righties." You with me?

The solution...send in LOOGY right now, to give up the intentional walk to A. Then if they do send in R to pinch hit, you're allowed to take out LOOGY because he's already faced his one batter.

]]>
By: John http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-176685 Tue, 25 Oct 2011 18:50:11 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-176685 Bobby Valentine might finish a close second to Tony LaRussa in pitching changes based on match ups... In game 5 (grand slam single) of the 1999 NLCS vs Atlanta Bobby Valentine took Turk Wendell out with a 2-0 count on Brian Jordan and brought in Dennis Cook. Dennis Cook threw 2 intentional balls to finish the walk... when Bobby Cox put up righty Brian Hunter to hit for lefty Ryan Klesko, Valentine went back to the mound and took Cook out in favor of righty Pat Mahomes. Dennis Cook threw just two pitches and never officially got credit for facing a batter as the walk was credited to Turk Wendell. By bringing in Cook mid-batter it allowed Valentine to take him out to get the righty-righty matchup he wanted even if it did mean wasting a pitcher in what would turn out to be a 15-inning game.

]]>
By: Kahuna Tuna http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/16031/comment-page-1#comment-176679 Tue, 25 Oct 2011 18:46:34 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=16031#comment-176679 @23: The Rangers also tied the World Series record for most intentional walks issued in a game, with four. The other two teams that issued four IBBs in one Series game are the Braves, in their 1991 Game 7 loss to the Twins, and the Cardinals, in a 1946 Game 5 loss to the Red Sox.

]]>